Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1521]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Magoosh GMAT Review
March 01 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Miles2015 joined: March 1, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I signed up for the Magoosh Premium package a few months back and used it pretty much exclusively during my GMAT Studies. I really liked the video format for learning material, specifically the quant videos, which were great. The verbal section of Magoosh did not appeal to me and I found the videos to be boring, but verbal has always been my strong area so that did not bother me. The best part of the Magoosh product is their question bank which provides hundreds of GMAT type problems of various difficulty levels. Overall I think Magoosh was a great product, and while it did not get me to the 700 level, it gave me a good base to continue to improve upon.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Pretty good course and worth every penny
February 27 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By sivaram joined: February 6, 2012 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I registered for verbal online course few months back. As a non-native speaker, I feel the course really helped me in getting basics right and prepare better for the test. While the videos on various topics are very detailed, the structured approach helped in learning every topic without much of hastles.
I also had a chance to try out e-gmat scholaranium (meant to identify strengths and weaknesses. I must say the questions are really good and i feel this course can help a serious test taker in identifying the weak spots and thus enable him/her to prepare better for the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Economist GMAT Tutor
February 27 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By cezar9 joined: October 29, 2012 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
I have used GMAT prep products from several companies including MGMAT(purchased all the verbal and quant books), Knewton(online GMAT course), Magoosh(quant and verbal). My current GMAT score is 680; however, I thought that I could do better and decided to use Economist's score guarantee and give the exam another try. So far, I have completed about half of the course and I see some pros and cons. I will start with the cons. I use their app a lot because I like to study on my iPad but I don't see a functionality in the app to ask a tutor about the specific question that I am currently working on ( this feature is available if you are studying on regular PC) and after I move on I can't go back to the same specific question so if I accidentally press the continue button I won't be able to go back and revisit the question. A big con for me is that I can not go back if I wanted to revisit a specific question or topic. Also, for someone who already scored 680, most of the course so far is a waste of time because I had to go through some very basic material. Another big thing for me is the lack of video instructions which I find very useful when studying. Overall, If you scored 620 or less you will find this course very helpful and will most likely see an improvement in your score if you complete the required curriculum. If you get a question wrong, the software will keep giving you similar questions until you master the topic and start getting the questions right. Customer service so far has been top notch and I have always received responses to my questions very promptly. I have also received several email reminders from tutors regarding the progress of my study plan. Overall, if you have the money to spend I believe that you can get a lot out of their platform. It is also nice that they have money back guarantee promise. However, I can not speak for the ease of getting a refund because I have not taken the exam yet and I have not been through the process of asking for a refund yet. Also, I am still not completely convinced that it worth that premium compared to some of the cheaper prep platforms such as Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep - A worthy investment!
February 27 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By r5 joined: April 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I started my preparations an year back. I had OG 12 edition with me and i was looking for an online course specifically for Verbal section. Being an engineer i backed myself in regards to mathematics portion. I came across few options and decided to go with e-GMAT verbal Live prep course.
I would like to state my observations regarding the course:
1) Simplicity: The language with which the course has been explained throughout is easy to understand. Its well paced and balanced.
2) Structure: Entire portion of Verbal in GMAT is segmented nicely into little chunks, thereby making it easy for anyone to gauge the course level and one's standing at it.
3) Complete Coverage: I was particularly impressed by noticing that if i complete the course as its designed,i would not miss out on any concept. The course entails entire syllabus divided into little chunks. for example- The third topic in e GMAT SC course is Subject Verb agreement. the SV sections consists of-
a) SV- Makes sense
b) SV-Agree in number
c) SV-Always singular subjects
d) SV-Words that change number
e) SV- Concept Quiz
f) SV- Application File
g) SV- Practice File
h) SV- OG Quiz
One can easily make out the sheer length and breadth e-GMAT course covers.
4) OG Solved in Detail- All the questions of Official guide(more than 400) have been solved in the course with detailed explanation. This means if i apologize for stating the obvious- if you solve e GMAT verbal Live prep questions you will have automatically solved OG.
5) Practice Tests: Sheer number of practice tests is something which stands out. There is a practice test at the end of every topic.
6) Significant Increase in verbal scores of GMAT practice test:
My GMATPrep1 score-640
CAT1 score-620
after almost an year of using the material the scores:
GMATPrep2 - 700
CAT2 score- 690

I am still in pursuit of a good GMAT score.My test date is in a months time.
Hope this post helps!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
GREAT COURSE
February 26 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By chillyboy joined: February 26, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Brajesh
I was looking for a private tutoring option in order to prepare for the GMAT and had come across various online tutoring options which seemed too expensive without any convincing performance record of their students. I was looking for an economic package and some best in class tutors to coach me and prepare for the test and that is when I came across Optimus Prep whose past record showed than most of their course participants had improved their scores by 110 points. They offered a lot of private tutoring packages at economic prices to choose from and I enrolled in their 12 hour private tutoring package.

I loved the structured way in which my tutors planned my GMAT prep, the first thing they made me do was to take a diagnostic test after which they designed a study plan for me based on my test performance. Optimus tutors themselves come across as GMAT experts, they share a lot of best practices and different test strategies. My tutors had scored in the 99th percentile on the GMAT and so were the scores of all other tutors at Optimus.

Learning from them already feels like studying in one of the premier business schools. Discussing doubts with tutors, following the study plan custom designed for me, taking diagnostic tests gave me a great training ground to prepare for the test and I finally scored 700 in the final test. I recommend Optimus Prep for all those aspirants, especially who are confused about what needs to be fixed in order to beat the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Verbal Live Prep
February 25 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By gmattoiimahd joined: February 25, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
The Verbal live course from e-GMAT is an excellent course for any person preparing for GMAT verbal. It’s especially designed for non-native speakers.
The approach it follows is very user friendly. It clearly explains you each and every concept in a very detailed yet simple way supported by examples wherever required. The detailed explanation of each answer choice and the process it follows develops an in depth understanding. The way to approach any problem, the steps required and the method to eliminate wrong answers are absolutely fabulous.
Really loved the course and the adopted methodology. Great work done in creation of this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
February 24 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By pentek123456 joined: May 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I decided to give e-GMAT course a try after reading many positive reviews and improvements in verbal section of the Gmat on this forum. My weakest section was sentence correction. On average my accuracy was only 40-50% before taking the course. With the help of e-GMATs guided approach I was able to increase my accuracy to 70-80% in sentence correction. I started off with sentence correction section and followed up with SC live sessions. Live sessions were incredible since it helped me clear all my doubts. I followed up with SC practice to strengthen my SC skills. The critical reasoning section also helped me strengthen my score in critical reasoning. Critical reasoning accuracy increased from 75% to 90%.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Cool Product for Ipad
February 24 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 24, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I used to work long hours at work and was of the opinion that I would excel at my career by directing my effort and hard work in the direction of further studies like an MBA. I researched for some time and decided to take the GMAT and apply for some of the top management schools is Asia. It took me a lot of time to get used to the idea of studying every day since I had quit studies long ago. After a month and a half I started scoring about 590 on the simulation tests. I wasn’t sure about how and what needed to be done in order to elevate my scores and at that time I decided to take guidance from a GMAT prep institute and took an On Demand Package from Optimus Prep for $299 as it seemed the best deal both in terms of features and cost. The course offered a whole bunch of features to help me prepare for the test. I used to study for about 3 hours each day and religiously followed the syllabus provided by Optimus Prep.

It is important to solve all types of questions as the GMAT test is a tricky one and the questions in the test keep getting tougher based on your performance on the previous ones. This is the main difference from the type of tests we are used to, in schools and colleges as the adaptive nature messes with your time management, if you are not well prepared. The course included a set of 5500 questions on the verbal, quant and IR section of GMAT and trust me it is kind of impossible to solve all of those then forget resorting to any other medium for more questions. One extremely unique features of these courses is that they offer you a lot of edge of time. I could access the videos on my smart phone as at times due to long working hours there wasn’t enough opportunity for me to study at home. There are 30 video lessons that explain the concepts and fundamentals and they really help in solving the GMAT prep questions. After every lesson I gained a clearer understanding of the formula and concepts and I could see the improvement in my simulation test results.

The On Demand course offers unlimited opportunity to create and practice as many quizzes that one wants as per the level of ones prep. I loved this feature as I took at least one quiz a day and kept customising it based on the level of my GMAT prep. They also provided a tool that helped me track my performance and was extremely helpful as I could keep a track of my performance and see how my scores were trending. I didn’t need any more books to prepare for the test. I gained clarity about my strengths and weaknesses in no time and used the features of this course in a strategic manner to prepare for the test. I scored 710 on the test and practicing from the On Demand course contents mad it really systematic and added a lot of structure to my GMAT prep. I strongly recommend Optimus On Demand Course to all of you who need the right resources and tools to prepare for GMAT at an excellent value for money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course!
February 23 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By ATaparia joined: August 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Shraddha Jaiswal
e-gmat verbal live preparation is a great course specially for non native users. This course starts with the basic concepts of english grammar and then moves onto the advanced concepts. The course is well organized into modules like SC, RC & CR. The study plan is well divided into concept files, application quiz and practice quiz that allows you to first grab the concepts and then practice it allowing you to cement the concepts learned.This course is not only helpful from GMAT perspective, but also helps you to avoid common mistakes specially in verbal/written communication in professional career. I would definitely recommend this course to any users who would like to score well in the Verbal Section.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Quant Live Prep was really helpful in regaining my confidence!!!
February 23 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By manujichaubey joined: July 22, 2014 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Japinder Singh
Hi,

Before starting with the review, let me tell you about the circumstances in which I opted for e-GMAT Quant Live Prep.

I am an 34 yr old Engineer, who last spent times with books some 7 yrs.back. While I decided to take the GMAT exam, I was not sure whether my maths fundamentals are still strong.

I enrolled for Verbal Live prep in July 2014 (Quant Live prep was not launched by that time). I was so impressed with the methodology adopted by e-GMAT that I subscribed for QLP, as soon as it was launched.

What I had observed that many of more worried about our Verbal Score and take the Quant section for granted. Some of my friends stuck to Q46-Q47, while scoring a decent V40. Had they invested a little time on Quant, their GMAT score had boosted by 30-40 points. Since, I did not wanted to take a chance, I opted for QLP.

The first session with Rajat Sir was an eye opener. The session started with some warm up question and continuosly the difficulty level kept going up. The course seriously targets for 49-51 in Quant section.

Most of the classes were taken by Ms. Japinder, who was quite patient with students, even after marathon sessions of 3 hrs.

Over the time QLP kept on adding more n more question in every section. The assement section, which includes Advance Test really tests your nerves.

All in all, QLP is really good to start from scratch and to reach at the toughest level the GMAT tests.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings