Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [738]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Great interactive preparation course
November 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
Although the following review can be seen as a result of the economist´s incentive to review its course on this site (online vouchers), I can fully recommend the course to anyone who has a limited time available and prefers an interactive course over books.

pros:
+ interactive course layout
+ point forecast
+ essay review
+ 1 on 1 sessions
+ 24/7 availability

cons:
- sometimes answers to questions about the GMAT take more than 24 hours
- permanent internet connectivity
- not really useful apps

All in all, a really good preparation software that is better, more adaptive and innovative than the books currently available. Compared to one-on-one sessions the course is cheaper but still more expensive than good preparation books.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Grabbing a 720 with ease
November 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 9, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
I consider myself fairly average in academics and the GMAT seemed daunting initially. I took it up to score the best i could however, i didnt want to sit down for courses and classes. GMATPILL seemed like a great solution - fastpaced, simple and flexible to suit one's necessities. It gave me insight and approaches that changed the game. I studied for a total of 1.5 months, 3-4 hours a day and scored a 720.
My advice - CR seems easy? take the table top method seriously, it definitely changes your perspective which is as important than the number of right answers.

I give these guys a lot of credit and definitely recommend for anyone who wants to ace this gmat without a lot of effort.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great adaptive learning
November 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep | Location:   Online  |
The adaptive learning aspective of the review was especially helpful. I learned as though I was consistantly being testing, with each question just at a level of difficultly that just pushed my limits. Accordingly, I didn't waste lots of time practicing questions that were too easy for me, a common flaw with many other prep courses/books.

Jane was my tutor and she was great. Via Skype, she was able to walk me through the problems that I most needed help with - the combination, permutation, probability, and other upper-level math questions.

Additionally, the score forecaster offered motivation and created a sense of competition against my own efforts. Overall - the course helped me remain driven towards my goal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Course
November 16 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Given my work schedule, I knew that it would be fairly difficult to commit to a regular, in-person class schedule, so a course that enabled me to study at my own pace was essential. The Economist GMAT Tutor course's individual modules and adaptive style was exceptionally effective and helpful in reviewing the material. Because it forces you to stay actively engaged in the course, rather than passively teaching you information, this had a strong, positive impact on my retention and understanding of the material.

The course information was extremely well laid out, with numerous great practice questions and examples, and it certainly didn't hurt that there was a fair amount of humor embedded as well to keep things engaging. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Impressive approach and good material
November 16 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 6, 2013 | 19 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
The approach is impressive and it focuses on learning by doing. I mean you will learn a small section in sentence correction, for example, and then you will some questions to practice.

Thanks to the economist, I learned how to tackle reading section correctly. At least, I do not have to spend more than 3 minutes to read all a passage anymore. I usually do initial reading of a short passage in 1.5 mins and of long passage in 2 mins. You can apply initial reading method of the economist to LSAT reading too. Now although I read part of a passage, I still find out purpose and expect contend of each paragraph.

I think the CR section is very good because you will have a lot of questions to practice.

However, I find some part of sentence correct course confused since it sometimes contradicts to knowledge I have got from manhattan SC book. I am not sure which course is totally correct but in many case I find manhattan SC book explain more properly.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Perfect for self-starters
November 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I scored 750, and I felt the software fit my learning style very well. I had only a few months to prepare for the GMAT, and I wanted a course that gave me a lot of freedom to work on my own time, and that adapted to my level of learning. The Economist's course was perfect for me because it estimated my level of learning and began at that point. The practice questions it gave me were very challenging, and I felt that the practice exams were pretty well representative of the real experience.

I liked that the program tracks your progress, and estimates your score based on how you’ve been doing (this feature only becomes available after completion of 10-15% of the course). I also liked that the cost was the lowest of the online options I found.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Magoosh a big help for 3rd Time Test Taker
November 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By gej2013 joined: August 27, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I took the GMAT the first time after several months of sales, but I tried to "know" everything. Bombed it.

Second time I took it I used some strategy but focused almost solely on verbal. Did much better but still not where I wanted to be.

I purchased Magoosh after reading several reviews and looking at the trade offs for cost. I have found it was great in reviewing general concepts. The biggest thing for me has been the strategy review videos. I like that I can break down my performance by several criteria. To have the specific videos that deal with questions I got wrong has helped quite a bit.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
V30 to V41 - Thank you e-GMAT
November 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By sarmisthadatta joined: February 12, 2013 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I chose e-GMAT at an early stage of preparation and I am glad I did so. The course is very comprehensive and it sticks to a single “process”. What I like about the course is that it keeps things simple and there is no need to memorize rules.

The e-GMAT process (3-step in SC, Prethinking in CR, and Reading Strategies in RC) is extremely useful under the exam conditions. It shows that the PROCESS NEVER FAILS even when we are under pressure.

The Live sessions are fantastic – they start from where the Concept Files have ended and take you to that 750+ level.

The workshops are real eye openers – they show you where you are lagging and help you to achieve your dream score.

The faculty is of top quality and always ready to help you. Whenever I had a doubt I could get it cleared by e-GMAT experts. The replies were well researched and thoroughly explained.

Overall, I owe a lot to e-GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Thanks Magoosh
November 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Well, I heard about Magoosh from my friend and I tried the trial pack for a week and found it to be really good.

I went on to purchase the premium package and the videos in that were fantastic. It helped me understand a lot of topis in a better way,the critical reasoning part was fabulous.I'm planning to give the Gmat a crack by the end of december 2013 and it hope I come up with a good score. I've been doing the practice tests under the Beta feature in Magoosh and it gives us the experience of taking an actual Gmat test sans the IR and AWA.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Achieved the score I needed !
November 12 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By erinkiang88 joined: August 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  |
Like most immigrants, I came to America with the intention of achieving a better life for myself and my family. However, when I got off the plane in 2006, I did not speak a lick of English. After 4 years of high school ESL classes, and 2 years of community college, I realized that my reading skills were still not up to par with the average scores for Kellogg School of Management. It seemed as if, no matter how hard I tried, I could not understand the basis of what I was reading.

The reading pills were definitely a step in the right direction, as I began to think like Zeke. It was nice to see him dissect the passage, sentence by sentence, and word for word. Eventually I got used to this kind of mindset and saw a tremendous change in my scores. I'm hoping that this score, alongside the rest of my application will get me into Kellogg! Best of luck to you all!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings