Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [832]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
ON DEMAND COURSE
February 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I can recommend the on-demand course from this company. It covers many concepts and helped me to think in a different way. By that I mean that I am sure that the GMAT tries to trap students in most questions. If you understand the way they think, you know how to answer and which mistakes to avoid. These videos are definitely great. I decided to buy an on-demand course, because I prefer to watch videos and study on my own whenever I have time and feel like learning. It helped me also a lot to make notes from every video and learn them by heart.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A conscious approach
February 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sethiprashant joined: October 21, 2012 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Chasing 720, I first nailed the GMAT with an official score of 680. Momentarily, I thought I was good, close and just little unlucky but after thorough preparation my score fell to 650 (official score) on the next attempt with verbal part being the case.
That's when I regained my senses and opted for verbal e-GMAT online course, the course is especially for non natives who are not able to grasp the intentions of questions in a short time limit. It gave me the clear picture on how to ease my speed and accuracy in the time constrained paper. I thank the e-GMAT team for transforming my gut oriented approach to a conscious effort.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT comes to my rescue
February 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By srgunti joined: May 9, 2013 | 6 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Every GMAT test taker has a story to tell, a story that begins with an aspiration to graduate from an ivy league Business School, a story that involves chapters of toil, strategies, intense preparation and a positive attitude to retake the test to hit the target score. My story is no different and involves a six yearlong aspiration to graduate from one of the good Business schools.
I have always been comfortable with Quant and my English was “not bad” to say the least and I was confident of a 700, but little did I realize that GMAT was a different ball game all together. The first time I prepared for my GMAT in May 2013, I was scoring well in Quant – as I had expected, but I learnt that verbal in GMAT was the area that will pose hurdles in me achieving the target score.
I took 20+ mock tests and was consistently scoring in the range of 620 – 680 but not close enough to warrant a call from a good school. My Quant scores were pretty good at 47-49 but my verbal scores were very disappointing (20-29), this pulled down the overall scores drastically.
After 3 months of hard work on the test day, I knew what my score would be (based on what I had been scoring in the mock tests). I had scored 640 (Q-48, V-30) and it took me into a state of depression that I might never be able to study at my dream school. I took a month’s break and decided to put more focused efforts in improving my verbal scores. I needed to start with basics, understand the pattern and have a methodology to answer the questions and not rely on my instinct or guesses. I approached my friends who could suggest a good course or material for verbal, many options came up – Kaplan, Manhattan, Princeton and e-GMAT. Even on the blogs including GMAT club, I saw that several people recommended e-GMAT for non-natives.
In August 2013, I took a leap of faith and subscribed to the Verbal Online course by e-GMAT. The subscription was for 6 months which was good enough time for me to master the concepts. I was determined to study harder, focus on the all the concepts of verbal and try to score at least 39 in verbal. However owing to personal emergency, which required my personal attention, I could not continue my preparation until January 2014. My subscription was due to expire in February 2014 and I was in despair as I had not even started my preparation. I was making frantic efforts to finish the modules in a rush, but I wasn’t sure if I was learning anything at all.
I finally decided to write to the e-GMAT team requesting for an extension of my subscription detailing the reasons. I waited for a week, checking my mails every day to see if they had responded. One fine day, I received a mail from e-GMAT team granting me an extension for 2 months. This kind gesture of e-GMAT surely made my day and hopefully helps me improve my verbal scores. There was no way I could have afforded to pay for a renewal but now they have given me a ray of hope to pursue my aim again.
I am planning on giving the second attempt of GMAT test in early May and have started accessing the e-GMAT modules. As I progressed through the course, I realized why e-GMAT is highly recommended for non-natives of English. The entire Verbal content is categorized into sections, and each section is further divided into 2 -3 levels. As you progress through these levels, you are introduced to more and more complicated concepts. The layout of the modules is so structured that the journey through the course is seamless and easy to comprehend. I haven’t started the RC yet, but from what I have seen of SC and CR; e-GMAT has made some of the trickiest topics very simple. The application files at the end of each module take the challenge to another level and expose you to 650+ type questions. I am not a big fan of surprises, even if they are good ones; so these application files ensure that I am not taken aback in the final test.
I hope to complete the remaining modules soon and practice enough that I reach my target score of 39+ in verbal. I totally understand the agony of test takers when they are constantly working at improving their scores but never breach the 650 mark. I wish everyone good luck and highly recommend e-GMAT for non-natives like me who are unable to up their verbal scores.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Go for it..You won't be disappointed
February 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ramkum9 joined: November 6, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I wanted a good and crash course for my GMAT studies. I was searching online for a course that is worth my $$. I came to know about Magoosh and tried the videos. Awesome!! Immediately I was impressed with the quality of the videos online. I could hear and learn anytime anywhere..not only on my laptop but also on my iPhone. So I decided to take the premium package and it was at a discounted price that time. So I took it with confidence. The pace is good, and the course was easy to understand and showed a lot of quick tips. I love it.. I am cracking GMAT definitely.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
A Fantastic Product
February 06 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
Veritas Prep's on demand product helped me significantly increase my score in the GMAT. The lead instructor, Brian Galvin, did a fantastic job of helping me build my skills in all areas. However, Brian Galvin's biggest contribution is the depth of knowledge he imparts on test-taking strategies. As a seasoned veteran of the GMAT, Brian helped me develop strategies that enabled me to look at every GMAT problem, no matter the level of difficulty, and swiftly attack it. Brian helps students get over the "intimidation hump" on GMAT problems. Initially, I would freeze up when I saw very tough problems. However, after taking the course, I developed an approach to getting started on problems that I really did not know how to solve. Brian taught me to dive into what I did know about a problem, and then build from there.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Muat have
February 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By bapun11 joined: March 21, 2012 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took the e-GMAT on line course. This is a great course every non native should have. I improved a lot in verbal by using this course. Their three-step process to solving sentence correction questions is very unique. it first makes you learn the meaning then grammar. My accuracy reaches up to 80% in official guide questions. The total package for verbal online is very lucrative. In CR I took time but ASSUMPTION live session is amazing to build core skills. As a whole this course is awesome.
In RC particularly, steps on how to answer inference question are very helpful. I also recommend verbal workshops.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Decent course
February 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By akpkjun joined: February 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I think this is a very decent course. It teaches concepts very well. It claims to adapt according to your learning and present you with more practice on weaker areas. Without boring you I will summarize my experience.

Pros:
1. Very good stable website. No speed issues. Very clean interface.
2. Good walk-through concepts.
3. You get a one-week free trial so that will give you good idea if course works for you.

Cons:
1. Terrible "talk to tutor" program. First of all, it takes a while to make an appointment. Appointments available in the middle of night for me (pacific time zone).
2. I don't think tutors were helpful at all. They came unprepared. It was a waste of time that I took only two classes.
3. I didn't like the fact that you do not have an option to choose the topic to practice questions. I think they have some "choose your topic" but it is very limited and didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excited!!!!
February 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mom6sri joined: June 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
For 9 months I was unsure of what to study and what not to study...I was fed up!!! I wanted to join a course....When I looked them up I found Magoosh was offering its Premium Course for only $99. It's very helpul for the students who are looking for cost savings. And, the reviews for Magoosh are exciting too...I was very excited to go ahead with the GMAT Preparation with Magoosh so I signed up for their Premium Course :) :)...Thanks Magoosh Team I am hoping to learn very good strategies/tactics from Magoosh...I'll keep you posted.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Verbal Online-The way to go for Non-Natives
February 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Cosmas joined: April 10, 2012 | 45 | 17 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I bought the Verbal Online after having come across recommendations on GMATCLUB and I am pleased to say that even though I haven't taken the test yet, this is one of the best investments I have ever made. I paid for verbal courses before which have disappointingly become mere English lessons but with e-GMAT Verbal Online, I can structure my studies to suit my schedule. The content is excellent and I am glad that after taking the official test and scored a mere V23, I am now scoring in the high 30s. I am hoping that with one more push at RC, I will take my ability to around V40-V43. I also get access to the free live sessions conducted by Payal and Rajat. These are just awesome.

I am really glad that you guys at e-GMAT took your time to structure such a comprehensive course which I will gladly recommend to any non-native aiming for a high score on the GMAT.

I even had not used my subscription and contacted e-GMAT. The company instantly extended my subscription, showing the high customer service standards they uphold. I am really grateful to e-GMAT.

I will shortly be taking my test and am really hoping to nail the GMAT once and for all!

Thanks e-GMAT!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Simple & Versatile
January 31 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By shawnstevees joined: December 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
Within the GMAT world, GMAT Pill is quite known throughout the forums. After all, could this "super deal" be too good to be true? Although priced at roughly $400, the overall package is worth much more. This is great, especially since most college kids, myself included, are spending most of their money on ramen packs. Everything about the product is well organized and detailed. If you know you are struggling with the critical reasoning section, then you can break down the question into different question types. After all, you may only be struggling with "helps explain questions", rather than the entire section. I noticed that this was the case for me. When I was first lured into the product with a free practice test, my critical reasoning section had the lowest grade. However, I was able to answer most of the questions efficiently. The problem lied in the fact that I kept getting the "helps explain" questions wrong. With a simple platform, GMAT Pill makes it easier to pinpoint where you should assess your weaknesses.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings