Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [748]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Going Great With Economist GMAT Tutor
November 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By prakashbharati joined: November 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I am really amazed & enthralled the way Tutor has been designed - its simple, flexible & very effective to learn to attack the GMAT problems. As I am going along with this, my confidence level is getting boost. Before this, I never ever thought of such online tutor which can taught you in a way as you wish to be. Tutor explain each & every question ans which will give you fair idea why one is correct and other is not. I strongly recommend Tutor for GMAT prep. For me, it is a kind of innovation in the field of GMAT prep course. Simply Great & Effective!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A must have for non-natives attempting an 80+ %ile
November 06 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By rhtnr joined: June 29, 2013 | 18 | 25 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
Intro: I'm an entrepreneur based out of India and I am applying to the Top 5 US programs. My aim was to get a 700+ score.

I scored a 730 (Q50, V39) on the GMAT recently (Oct 09 2013) and I can't thank the e-GMAT course enough.

I had started my preparation a little late for R1 and first decided to go for a quick fire preparation method and chose the GMAT pill but saw absolutely no improvement in my performance (from GMAT Prep 1 to GMAT Prep 2) and that's when I started looking for alternate verbal programs . I specifically needed a Verbal program because I'd scored V29 in my GMATPrep.

After reading the great reviews of e-GMAT on GMAT Club, I enrolled for the Sentence Correction Course on e-GMAT.
I must say, in less than 4 days , I noticed a difference in my accuracy while attempting the OG '13 questions.

After finishing just 2 levels of the Sentence Correction, my Verbal scores jumped by around 5 points and I was extremely pleased as the number of SC mistakes per mock test dropped from 8 per test to less than 4 per test.

With the improvement I saw in SC, I quickly upgraded to the LIVE Course (I got a top up for $99 as it was the end of the month special).

The CR course really helped get my thought process right and fixed my CR basics problem. I had fortunately analyzed that I made 70% of my mistakes in the Weaken and Inference CR questions and I dedicated my CR preparation to these particular modules.

Another advantage with the CR approach of e-GMAT is that it REALLY helps you think through the AWA part of the GMAT as well and I was fortunate to score a 6.0

(I didn't bother with the RC as I'm a firm believer than RC can't improve overnight.)

The Integrated Reasoning section of e-GMAT is extremely detailed and covers a large number of problems of varied types but I would personally advise you to use it only if you specifically have issues with a particular type of problem. Otherwise, the GMAT prep questions are more than enough (I scored an 8).

Also, the e-GMAT Customer support is great and they are very quick to respond to emails and clarifications.

I suggest you use the course (watch the videos and attempt the pre and post tests) to get your basics right and practice from the Official Guide.

Overall, I would highly recommend the e-GMAT course to EVERY non-native . It's a great investment for a high Verbal score and I am sure you can easily have an 8+ point improvement in Verbal using their course.

Thanks
Rohit..
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Magoosh helped me go from 640 to 720!
November 05 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ei2138 joined: July 28, 2013 | 1 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I decided to go with Magoosh because I needed a low cost GMAT prep option (I had barely any money to spend on GMAT prep). I had tried self study for a few months with no discernible progress, so I knew it was time to take another route. I signed up for Magoosh premium after a friend suggested the program to me and I began my study using 2 of the three month study plans offered by Magoosh. I did a combo of the 'Version B: Math Focused' plan and the 'Version D: For Advanced Students' plan. The Advanced study plan called for use of the MGMAT complete set of strategy books and the OG 13, so I used those as well. Between these three resources, I spent a grand total of roughly $275 on my GMAT prep.

Overall, I found Magoosh to be an awesome investment. For $99, I got a full year's access to a whole tome of videos on all the subject matter covered by the GMAT, all the way down from the most basic frameworks up to the 700+ level concepts and strategies. For me this was priceless, since I came to my study very rusty on Quant and needed a refresher bootcamp type of prep. I was already very strong on Verbal, having previously taken the LSAT (basically GMAT Verbal on steriods), so I didn't use that part of the Magoosh offering too much.

In any case, to improve on Quant, I watched all of the math videos, per the Magoosh study plan, and was able to re-acquaint myself with these math concepts that I have not seen since high school. Magoosh was helpful for me personally as someone with a short attention span and a busy schedule because the videos are short and to the point. No long drawn out explanations; instead, the material is practical and concise. Just the way I need it. What is more, Magoosh has an iPad app. This allowed me to conveniently study on the go. No need to lug heavy books around all the time; I could just use my iPad on the train or whenever I had a quick moment (the other advantage of having short videos).

I must say, I spent a lot of time studying, usually about 4 hours per day for about 8 weeks, over 200 hours total. This was in part because I was using two study plans at once. It was a lot of work but it was what I needed to excel. Magoosh was great because, again, the material is super digestible, so I rarely felt lost (which was one of my concerns when deciding whether to do an online course--what if I have question or get lost, who will answer my concerns?) Even if I did get lost or fail to understand something, the Magoosh response team is AMAZING. They reply straight away, usually within a few hours of submitting a question and they answer in a way that really makes sense. Most of the time when I had a question, even if it was a complex inquiry, someone from the Magoosh team would respond in a way where I didn't need to do a lot of back and forth follow up to understand the response provided.

If you are like me, someone who does not have thousands to spend on GMAT prep, but who is motivated to achieve a 700+ score, I would definitely recommend the Magoosh offering. It is HIGHLY ECONOMICAL (1 year access for $99!!!) and user friendly. Simply put, it is well worth the investment.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Live Online Course Review
November 04 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rmend joined: November 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Taking the live online course through Veritas was a great way to start my journey towards taking the GMAT. The way the course is outlined and the study material that is provided helps you develop the skills that are needed for the exam. I also had an amazing instructor - Ravi Sreerama. He has a great personality and kept the class engaged and excited during our 6 weeks with him. He sent us emails and took the time during class to private chat with us to make sure we understood each concept, or ask us questions that would get us thinking if we were on the wrong track. Ravi gave the class great test prep tips and insight that we wouldn't have had through a traditional online course. I highly recommend the Veritas Live Online course and specifically, Ravi Sreerama as your instructor!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT course extremely useful for GMAT Verbal
November 04 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By suprabhat18 joined: June 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
During my preparation, I was planning to join a course for GMAT verbal. e-GMAT focused on the verbal part and is highly effective because of the teaching methodology. I joined the course in June and started with the SC part. The course content covers the important topics and the illustrated examples on various concepts are instrumental in scaling up the knowledge of SC.
CR tutorials train to analyze the argument meticulously and consider various possible assumptions, thereby minimizing the chances of errors. The RC passages could be more rich in content with more difficult questions like the ones in Manhattan GMAT tests. Nevertheless they are a good source of practice.
The discussions in online sessions were helpful in clearing most of the common doubts. I especially remember the CR session on Boldface questions where some of the most challenging problems were discussed and it helped significantly improve my approach to solve such questions.
But I would like to point out that the voice in some part of the tutorials is not very clear and the time management in some of the online sessions would have helped us learn more.
Overall, I found the course to be really useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommended
November 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I used the GMAT Tutor Complete Package to prepare for the GMAT and found it to be very good preparation for the test. My results on the real GMAT were 49 quant, 45 verbal and 8 IR. Here are the three things that were strengths of this online course.

First, it was excellent preparation for the format and timing of the real exam. The course is computer-based and adaptive, just like the GMAT, so it’s much better practice than studying using books or a non-adaptive website. When I took the live GMAT, my timing and pacing were just right thanks to the way the program forced me to hone my time management skills. I was able to work through the real exam calmly and methodically because I had had so much realistic practice. The real exam was automatic for me.

Second, the quant part of the course was very effective for me. I studied engineering, but it had been years since I’d taken a course or test and the course presented all of the math topics for me to revise. After working through the explanations of, for example, rate problems, I then had the chance to work exam-type problems increasing in difficulty as I proved I could do the easier ones. I never had to spend much time doing easy problems and was able to quickly move onto doing lots of practice at the right level for me. The quant problems were very similar to the level and type of problems I got on the real GMAT.

Finally, I thought the progress chart and score forecaster were very motivating. I enjoyed seeing my progress line increase week on week. The score forecaster was introduced later in the course for me (perhaps they just rolled it out). The score forecaster was very accurate for me. It predicted my GMAT score as 750-760 and I got 760 on the live GMAT.

I don’t think the Reading Comprehension was as good as the other components. In the program, you read a passage and then answer a single question, unlike the real exam, which presents a passage followed by about 4 questions. I mentioned this to the customer service and they were not defensive at all – they said they knew about this and were going to change the RC I believe. The SC and CR practice was very good.

I was definitely impressed by the course, especially the adaptive nature of it and the way it zeroed in on problems at the right level of difficulty for me at each point of the course. It’s easily the best online study tool I’ve come across.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Awesome Tutor
October 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By annamitra joined: July 26, 2013 | 1 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I started off my prep for GMAT by solving questions from the OG, Kaplan, etc. Everything seemed okay but one thing that was missing was the absence of the adaptive nature of questions, which is so inherent in GMAT. As I spent more time with the GMAT Tutor it adapted itself to my level. I began to realize that the questions aren't that simple anymore. Moreover, it guided step by step, in a way that could be understood and implemented. That's a perfect way to up your level. Your level will increase at a faster rate than it would have. In short, GMAT Tutor is not only the perfect place but actually the ideal way to accelerate your preparation. Awesome...kudos Economist team.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ravi Sreerama from Veritas was an excellent instructor !
October 31 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By nctc11 joined: October 31, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
At first I was hesistant about taking a live online course and spending so much money for it, but it was the only course I could take as my schedule is complicated and could not commit to going to a class every week. The online format was awesome and my instructor, Ravi Sreerama, was great as well. It was a small class about 12 of us and we had a lot of one-on-one help via the private chat. Ravi also would check up on us periodically via email and gave great advice in prepping for the GMAT and in general about admissions. The study guides added to my learning, and I have yet to complete all the questions offered. Would recommend to anyone who is serious about taking the GMAT !
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent program and great teacher: Ravi Sreerama
October 30 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 11, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I’ve just completed the Full Online Course and I fully recommend it. Veritas’ methodology allows you to attack the GMAT by a logical approach and to avoid memorization of thousands and thousands of rules. I think they have the best methodology in the market, for different reasons:

The course is composed of 12 lessons, each having a skillbuilder session/quiz that must be completed before class; you can review all videos related to the different subjects (in quant and verbal) and all your classes/lessons, at any time you want; you dispose of 15 practice tests; you dispose of a vast number of problems in your homework sections, with which I recommend using together with the OG 13 problems – nothing is better than the official problems.

The professionalism of Veritas’ team members is very high. The teacher, Ravi Sreerama, was just exceptional. Ravi is very enthusiastic and highly skilled. For every single problem he knows how to attack it within the allowed time. He will give you tips and tricks to solve GMAT problems in an efficient way. For sure, the best GMAT teacher I have had.

Of course, in my opinion, Veritas Prep has some improvements to do in some homework explanations (including more videos in the webpage, for instance), but you always have the option to use the Homework help if you have any further question concerning the problems.

I recommend Veritas Prep for everyone preparing seriously to beat the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Better than any class room coaching institutes.
October 29 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By pavanpaone joined: November 16, 2012 | 44 | 9 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I am Pavan. Before subscribing for e-GMAT I took class room coaching from Manhattan Review which is not up to the mark. The difference between the way e-GMAT teaches and class room coaching institutes is very huge. Class room coaching institutes teach only tricks but not concepts. e-GMAT strikes right at the head of the nail with necessary concepts.

e-GMAT will definetly help students who are very poor in English...the approach is long lasting.

Pro's
1.Good website
2.Good content
3.Good teaching

Con's
1.Very few number of practice excercises.
2.Same examples in all online classes (topic wise)
3.Should include more practice examples.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings