Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [832]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Economist GMAT Tutor
January 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By fredbear joined: January 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I received a score of 610 after using GMAT Tutor from the Economist. I only completed 30% of their course. Most of the course beginning focuses on fundamentals that can be applied to many of the most common question types.

Initially I began to prep on my own, but I didn't have a very good workflow. More time spent studying does not necessarily equate to success. You need 1.) overall strategy and 2.) techniques to shortcut success for various problem types. Economist Tutor accomplishes these things.

I decided to purchase GMAT Tutor from Economist to utilize during my winter break (I am a current student). Over a 3.5 week period I studied 6-8 hours a day using their tool. The sessions go in order and gradually things are revealed to you in an order that crawls first, then walks, then walks some more, then runs. I never felt lost and could see their reasoning of the order of lessons when looking back on my experience.

Their system is very well designed and a was a truly good find for me. The strategy session I scheduled via 1-on-1 via skype was a big help. Very good suggestions. Overall the GMAT Tutor team from the Economist was personable, professional, and extremely knowledgable. Very helpful indeed.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
One of the best course available in market
January 21 | 2014

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2010 | 186 | 13 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Chris Kane
This is the one of the best course available on the market. You can go through the course as per your pace and finish it accordingly. The lessons are explained very nicely and you get tons of material to practice on. Also you get more than 10 CATs to take!

I don't have much to say about Veritas books also as those are next best to MGMAT.

This online account provides you with access to all of your Veritas Prep resources, including:

Practice tests
Online problem sets and solutions
Pre-recorded lessons (Veritas Prep On Demand)
Instructor email support and live online office hours
MBA Admissions Workshops
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Magoosh really helped my GRE score and now using for GMAT
January 20 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By EAG2MyBiQ joined: December 10, 2013 | 2 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I really like Magoosh. Definitely the best bang for the buck I found in terms of test prep. I have not taken the GMAT yet, but Magoosh GRE took my Quant from 65-pct to 75pct and my Verbal from 87-pct to 97-pct.

I am looking forward to a similar improvement on the GMAT.

I highly recommend Magoosh. Compared to other test prep software I purchased, Magoosh provided the greatest improvement per dollar cost. The videos are very helpful the quizzes are highly customizable for your specific needs, and the simulated tests do a very nice job of imitating the actual test feeling. Try Magoosh!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Disappointed but might work for some
January 20 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By jgriffin055 joined: November 17, 2013 | 2 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Overall, I could not recommend this GMAT course. The adaptive format and accessibility are nice and this is about where the positives stop for me.

After completing more than 75% of the course over 100+ hours of studying, I took the real test and was quite disappointed with my score to say the least. While I felt prepared and was scoring in the 600s on the OG tests, I do not hold this program solely accountable.

Some of my frustrations include the inability to select specific lessons, the "tutor" sessions, the score forecast, and the IR preparation. First, as many people have said before, it is not possible to select a certain problem area you are struggling with for review. There isn't even a search feature to go through the small summary tidbits the program does have. Searching for topics is annoying. I gave up and just came to the forums for supplemental info. Another program feature that I found useless was the score forecaster. After completing 75% of the program and completing all 3 simulation tests, my score forecast had a range of 90 points. 90 points on the GMAT is huge and provides no value. Third, the program never introduced me to the IR content. I feel its ridiculous that after 75% of the course this was not discussed.

One of the major disappointments for me was the one-on-on tutoring sessions. 3 of my 4 sessions were USELESS. And I mean completely useless. I spent the 50 minutes watching the tutors solve problems. After asking questions the tutors responded with minutes of "ummmmmm, uhhhhh, hmmmmmm". When an answer was given and I continued to ask questions, sometimes they were answered, other times they weren't. On a specific topic I asked a few follow questions on the tutor said, "I have explained it perfectly. I don't know why you don't understand and I can't do it any other way". Thank you for being helpful and hard working!! The last straw for me was when one of the tutors answered my question by telling me to look in the online forums for the answers. This is unacceptable and a joke. I hope that I just had bad experiences.

These are just some of my negative feelings about the course. Some people have found it helpful and the ability to use the course anywhere is a plus. However, I would recommend using a different course as I am.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Good prep with a few growing pains.
January 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By lukep joined: July 9, 2012 | 11 | 27 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I signed up for The Economist GMAT Tutor because I prefer to learn by reading rather than watching videos, and it seemed more convenient to do an online prep program than have to worry about hauling MGMAT books around with me everywhere.

In general I was quite happy with the course. Explanations for concepts are well done, and I felt that I got good practice with the concepts.

A few points to consider:
The real value from the course comes, I think, from being able to ask instructors questions about individual questions or concepts. In the beginning, responses to my questions took a long time…in one case I waited over a week for a response. However, this improved and for the last several months I was getting answers within 24 hours…in some cases, the responses came in less than an hour. So, once the slow response problem was solved, I was quite happy with it.

Something that could be improved is automatically reviewing past concepts. As I worked through the course, some review questions were included, but mostly we worked on new concepts. I guess I needed to individually select the concepts I wanted to work on…but if I'm paying for a program based upon a "smart" algorithm, I feel like it should do it for me. Part of why I paid for the course was so I wouldn't have to make decisions for myself about my prep. Perhaps they could include an option to choose between a "review" session and a "learning" session.

In sum, I was quite happy with the course and would recommend it, but (like pretty much everything) it isn't perfect. I still found myself supplementing the course with work from the OGs or from MGMAT, so for me the course wasn't truly all-inclusive.

I will update this review once I've sat the exam and have my score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
a must-have course for scoring high in verbal
January 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By shreedharsingh joined: August 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I started the course some 5 months ago but started taking it seriously just two months ago. I would give it 5 stars for the presentation of each topic.
I would like to state the following:
1. the course is structured level wise and explained in a very lucid and simple manner.
2. questions/explanations given at Level 1 start at a very basic concept level and keep your drive perfect to complete and gradually move to the next topic.
3. the explanations are such that you do not get confused and due to audio visual lectures it gets into your brain easily.
4. you have to score a minimum marks to qualify for the next level, so there is no question of having a false perception about oneself.
5. the e-GMAT course made me analyse the complete sentence first and find the errors and then move to solutions. Earlier, I used to approach a question in just the opposite fashion.
6. the POE is so well explained that I can vouch that e-GMAT has the best presentations and explanations.
7. the level exercises, exercises which need to be done with a minute qualifying score for next level, have questions very similar to real GMAT exam and are timed, so you can feel the improvement in your score and feel confident day by day.

To finish, I would like to say thanks to e-GMAT as it has helped me a lot, made me gain confidence and would recommend it for GMAT test takers as I feel it has helped me a lot.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Hidden Stone
January 18 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By terrychanster joined: July 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
GMAT Pill is the hidden jewel of prep. It offers so much at the cost of so little. With roughly 400 dollars you get convenience, practice and results.

The product is so convenience that you can take it anywhere you want. At home with a laptop? Download the software. On the go? Download the app. I'm not sure about everyone else but I would much rather carry around my phone then my book.

The product also offers practice. There's a selection of questions to choose there, with explanations for all of them. If there isn't an explanation, you can message Zeke and he'll reply within a day.

Last but not least, you can see results. And that's what everyone is after right?
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-GMAT - best VA course for non-natives
January 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By shyamnair07 joined: January 18, 2013 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I wrote the GMAT on 16th of July and scored a 640 QA 48 V30.

I decided to focus on VA completely. After going through a lot of good reviews, I joined the e-GMAT verbal live prep course with their 4 point improvement guarantee.

The e-GMAT adopts unique strategies to approach SC,CR and RC type questions. My rating of their courses will be SC=CR>RC

The SC course is awesome. The number of questions which can be solved correctly by understanding the meaning of the sentence is inspiring. MEANING+IDENTIFY ERRORS+ELIMINATION is the forte of the SC course.

Same goes with CR. Pre-thinking is another concept which has helped me improve in CR .The course emphasizes the importance of understanding the logical structure and how the conclusion is reached upon and then prethinking before going to the answer choices. This saves a lot of time indeed.

I haven't gone through the RC course completely but it is in similar lines to RC - ie understanding of passage/authors tone/paragraph summary before going to questions.

I have been able to drastically improve my SC scores in mocks after going through the course.

SC skills are helpful in CR and RC and hence overall VA score improvement.

The live sessions are also very comprehensive and analytical.

I would like to recommend the course to anyone who is not able to improve his score in VA from 27-30 to 34-36 or even more.

I will take my GMAT in the next 1-2 months and am hoping to apply the techniques I learned in here...!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Economist GMAT
January 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By karajdahl joined: January 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
So far, I have been quite happy in my experience with the economist GMAT Prep.

Full disclosure: I just took the test for the first time after using the Economist Prep course for about a month. I was not satisfied with my score and plan to take it again after competing the full Economist Prep course.

Pros:
- The course leads the way for you and it feels like you are having an interactive session.
- You can choose the length of the lessons based on how much time you have.
-It really does feel like the course has been specifically tailored to your individual learning style.
-Breaks data sufficiency down in a way that understandable to everyone.

Cons:
-If by the time you take the test, you haven't hit on certain sections of the material, you really can't skip ahead for a brief overview of things you know are going to be on the GMAT. I understand the reason behind this, but it still a slight hindrance not to be able to get to the topics you want in time for your test.

Overall I really value this course. It works for me and my learning style. It's important to note though that if you don't have a full 3 months to devote to GMAT study, you will not get through all the course material. As I said, I'm also not happy with my score yet but I don't really hold the Economist responsible for that.

I will provide further feedback after I take the test again and complete the full course.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-GMAT
January 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
The course offer by e-GMAT is one of the best course in the market compared to other online courses. I took the verbal online course of e-GMAT. Their way of teaching is very pleasant & helped me to get a good score on the verbal section. The Online session & the technique provided by the e-GMAT team is really awesome. This course helped me solve CR questions in less than 2 minutes with 80 - 90 % accuracy. I would recommend a non native English speaker to take on this course while preparing for the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings