Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [748]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Revolutionary, just not my cup of tea
October 23 | 2013

1 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 23, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Very interesting concept based on Artificial Intelligence. If you do not solve a problem correctly, it will continue to drill you with more problems until you get it right a number of times. On the left hand side of the tool bar, you see all of the topics that you will eventually cover. It's similar to one large test bank with AI/CAT mentality. The student also has the option of asking a number of questions to a tutor, with fast response time, take a couple of practice exams, submit essays for review, and schedule live tutor sessions. You also get a free one week trial.

The Cons, you cannot specifically choose a topic to cover on your own, it feeds you what it assumes you should learn. You have the option to choose Verbal, Quant, or both, with a time limit up to one hour a session. You also have the option to choose a lesson plan yourself, but I noticed this was limited to not cover every topic.

If you do not have your foundations MASTERED, you are flat out of luck. It will take off without you, giving the impression of a course filled with tricky concepts to memorize and "ballpark" strategies.

After 30 + hours, Data Sufficiency was not even covered. Another draw back is not having a table of contents, a syllabus, or textbook resources. Everybody should have the foundations mastered (eventually), and I don't believe the Economist assumes you are completely fresh on the topics, but this course does not offer a review of the material at all.

This was the first of it's kind, revolutionary in a sense, but I don't think it was well thought out. Not having a specific strategy, a table of contents, or additional resources can get very frustrating for a student with exam deadline pressure. To improve the course I would suggest The Economist GMAT add a syllabus and additional resources in the form of textbooks and questions that relate directly back to the test itself.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great value for money
October 21 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By sidmishra joined: September 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I started using Economist tutor for trial and was impressed by its ease of use, content, test strategies and chance for regular interaction with the tutors. The verbal section has been very well put together. It is a good blend of concepts and application of concepts through many thought-provoking questions.
Later on, I went for the full-fledged course and didn't regret it even once. The learning platform is very stable(hardly any bugs). Most of all it was a great value for me in India as it covers every aspect of the GMAT test at a very reasonable fee. It is adaptive and tutors help you along the way to guide you on how to plan your study.

One thing that also deserves mention is the quality of questions. Most of the questions are difficult and push you to raise the bar. A lot of them try to trick you, like the actual GMAT so you get the feel of the actual test while preparing for the exam.

All in all, I am happy with the decision to opt for the Economist Tutor
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great course, Ravi was an awesome teacher!
October 18 | 2013

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After looking at different options for GMAT prep, I decided on Veritas and I was not dissapointed.
I liked how the course was structured: first you work on basic content through the skill builder, during class you learn strategies, and afterwards you practice with homework and practice tests. The material was easy to read and well explained. They focus on higher order thinking, rather than on one-time tricks.
The classes with Ravi were really dynamic. He always found alternative ways to explain and to solve the problems.
I enjoyed this class and it really prepared me to score in the +700.
I highly recommend it!
P.S. I can't comment on score improvement, since I had not taken the GMAT before the course. My final score was 710.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Tutor
October 17 | 2013

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Kelsa031 joined: October 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I started using the GMAT Tutor about 2 months ago and have really been impressed with how much I have learned from it all being an online program. It makes sure to explain each step and then test you on that step. Whenever you choose a wrong answer it doesn't just tell you its wrong it gives a detailed explanation of why that answer choice you chose was wrong and an explanation on the topic to help you choose the next answer choice correctly. Even when you choose the correct answer choice it gives you a breakdown on both the verbal and quantitative section of how that comes to be the right answer.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
The best course!!
October 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
No one can teach you all the best strategies as GMAT Tutor does, because there’s no such teacher for all subjects and strategies!! I took Veritas before and there’s no comparison…Veritas’ books still use “old-fashioned” GMAT questions…DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME & MONEY!!
GMAT Tutor dissected Math & Verbal sections and will not teach you unnecessary stuff.
Pros:
• Strategy oriented
• Learn by practicing (a lot!)
• Know your weaknesses (and the course will give you lots of questions to fix them)
• Teachers are usually great in only 1 subject, but this virtual tutor is amazing for both
• Created for those who want a really high score…plenty of hard questions
• Questions are done the same way GMAC does, and updated, which most of the materials in the market (including Official Guide) is not that much
• You don’t need to plan studies, the tutor makes everything for you 

Cons:
• There’s no additional discount as promised for this site
• You CANNOT review what you’ve done, so save screen shots with questions that it will be interesting to review later…nobody memorizes everything that is learned at once and it’s not true that you’ll see similar questions later!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Probably the best verbal course out there in the market.
October 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By alphaalpha joined: January 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I used the e-GMAT verbal online course and was able to score a 750 (Q-50, V-40, IR-8). The e-GMAT course is methodical and very scientific. It made the whole process of learning objective and therefore leave very little scope for mistakes. I had tried to learn all the rules for SC correction but that was an unnecessary overkill. The course gave me direction and I was able to channel my time efficiently. The videos are clear and concise and the quiz at the end of each videos hammers the concept into your brain.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone reading this review. The least you could do is buy the SC and IR course. A 200$ investment in this course will definitely benefit you and I am sure with this course coupled with your hard work, you will be able to achieve a high score.

And a special mention needs to be given to Rajat and his team. They always responded within 24 hours to my mails and addressed my queries in a timely manner.

The only major drawback I could find with this course is the glitches in the software.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
So far so good
October 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By kamilg joined: October 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I have completed around 40% of my course and it has been really good so far. The course is very intuitive and presents simple explanations for math and verbal problems. It also helps you with getting your timing right. What I really like about the course is that you just set the time you want to study and the course will do the rest for you. It will arrange the questions according to your level and increase the difficulty as you make progress. I highly reccomend this course to anybody. The score guarantee makes the course risk free. For me it was money well spent.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Economist gmat tutor: source of motivation
October 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 14, 2013 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I am extremely happy about the Economist GMAT Tutor.

The Verbal section is very well done. It gives you perfect tips that are useful for the reading comprehension, it corrects in a very easy and concise way the sentence correction mistakes, and it explains how to solve critical reasoning questions in the simplest way.

As for the quant section (the one I am worst at) I love that if you answer questions wrong, it presents some other questions of the same type again and again until you get them. It motivates you to keep on going! What I love is in the motivation this program indirectly provides you. With books or other stuff you have to have LOTS of motivation, especially when you see that you answer questions wrong and there is no one to explain why you answered them wrong. With GMAT Economist there is someone ALWAYS explaining to you why you answered that wrong, and telling you how to answer that right, anywhere and anytime and you don't need to wait for the weekly class in order to have your answer (in the case of those attending GMAT classes).

I really like the program overall, it somehow makes studying for the GMAT more enjoyable. It gives you a lot of tips which you may find on the web but they are sparse here and there.

The only thing I think needs improvement is the tutor assistance, it'd be great to have some sort of live chatroom to directly ask questions to a tutor without having to wait 12/48 hours.

In one month I feel as if I have made a good improvement, especially in the Verbal section! I still haven't taken a second test since the first time I tried one (right after I signed up to the program, so with no preparation yet), therefore I cannot state how much my score might improve. In any case I would definitely suggest it to anyone out there.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
excellent
October 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By siwen joined: August 8, 2012 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
This package gave me supreme knowledges to face the GMAT.

Before using this, I thought I had acquired adequate experiences to take the test. However, the result of my first GMAT test didn't go well. I tried to figure out what could be done to enhance my result. Then one day I encountered a recommendation from friend.

Economist GMAT doesn't really push you to "buy" the program at the beginning. Instead, the GMAT Tutor gave students almost 1 week to try it. And what's most important is that GMAT Tutor teaches you, not the content, but the way of thinking to tackle the GMAT questions. After 3 days of the free trial, I decided to buy the App.

Teaching you from the right concept, offering you adequate practical questions and explaining the reasons, this GMAT Tutor is the ONLY application you need.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very Good!
October 13 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Viktorijakm joined: September 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I got myself the premium package and I was surprised how very well instructed the lessons were. Of course, some lessons were too easy for me, because I still remember all those basic things, but it was very useful to remember everything from the start. As for a non-native speaker, it takes more time for me to process each question, and I still have some difficulties in Math, this part is more problematic for me. As long as I am watching these classes, I am starting to get used to the process and calculation techniques. Magoosh taught me very helpful tricks for faster calculations in math and sentence correction in verbal sections.
I will definitely recommend Magoosh to my friends.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings