Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [891]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Fantastic Course! Bit pricey but worth it
August 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By viini joined: August 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ryan Starr
I took the Live Online course in preparationg for my first (and only) time taking the GMAT. The class was great - the teachers were engaging and they cover a lot of material. Manhattan GMAT itself has a lot of resources on the website: PDFS, flashcards, practice exams, forums, bonus questions, etc.. They honestly had more resources than I could use and I found the books and the timed practice exams extremeley helpful. I'm very satisfied with the course and my GMAT score - I took the GMAT 3 weeks after my class ended.

Overall, definitely consider taking a course with Manhattan GMAT - it's extremeley pricey (the only reason I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5) but it's worth it in the end.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Pill improved my score from 490 to 630 in 25 days!
August 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ajgentner joined: July 4, 2014 | 3 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
Hello all,

I would like to share my GMAT story for those who are under stress and have limited time to study, which is the situation for most people. At the start of last May I planned to study for 3 months straight in order to take the GMAT at the end of July. However, a few days later my mom was diagnosed with cancer so I spent much of my time in May and June taking my mom to chemotherapy treatments and closely taking care of her at home. July rolled around and I contemplated cancelling my test date but I decided to give it a last ditch effort. I am applying to Master of Accounting programs so I need about a 600 to get in to the programs I am looking at.

On July 4th I installed GMAT Prep and scored a dismal 490 on my first practice test. I knew I had a lot of work to do in 25 days so I bought the GMAT Pill full course and the Official Guide. I used the GMAT Pill's one month study plan and condensed the plan in to 25 days. I received an email each morning from GMAT Pill telling me exactly what I needed to study that day. I strictly followed the plan starting with SC, which I think helped my score the most. I found the explanation videos from the GMAT Pill the most helpful. I also enjoyed the practice pill section of the course because Zeke has created many questions that are very similar to the OG and therefore similar to the GMAT.

On July 28th, the day before the test, I drove all the way to my test location to get comfortable with the drive. I ended up going into the test location and asked the receptionist a few questions. She told me I could take my test earlier than 4 pm, however I recommend those who are taking the test to not change their time the night before.

On July 29th, I drove to the test location and was a bit nervous but the nerves went away after arriving 45 minutes early. I recommend arriving 45 minutes before your scheduled test time so you can use the bathroom, or eat a snack before entering the test location 30 minutes before your test.

During the quant section of the test, I knew I was not doing my best and I knew I needed to keep my composure for the verbal section. Honestly if I could give one piece of advice, it would be to stay as calm throughout the test as you can regardless of how you are doing. If you feel you are doing poorly on the quant section then remind yourself that the verbal section is scaled higher so you can really boost your score by doing well on verbal.

I was pleased to see that I earned a 630 score with Q39 and V38, 5 on integrated reasoning and 5.5 on AWA. Looking back on my summer in regards to helping my mom fight through cancer and then study for the GMAT, I am happy with this score.

I want to give a big thanks to this forum! I couldn't have done it without you guys! Also I couldn't be more thankful for GMAT Pill! Your online prep course increased my score 140 points in 25 days!

AJ


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Low or negative ROI in improving Verbal score
August 05 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 12, 2013 | 1 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I signed up e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep in June 2013. The main reason that I chose it was because of very positive reviews. "Best course for non-native speakers", "Huge improvement in verbal scores" etc. These advertisements and reviews really attracted my attention. I'm a non-native English speaker and I want to improve my verbal score. So I decided to buy the course. Having tried the course, taken the GMAT and later tried another source (MGMAT Verbal Prep Set), I feel I have to offer another side of story amid so many positive reviews here. Let's talk about the Pros and Cons:

Pros:
1. Provides a very well structured study plan with concepts and quizzes for each section. (This may be useful for anyone who lacks discipline)
2. Comes with free mock exams that can generate performance analytical reports. (However, the timer doesn't work well, leading to wrong timings of your response time)
3. The e-GMAT time was kind enough to extend my course when I couldn't finish it in time. (The login was valid for about 6 months and they extended it for 2 months)

Cons:
1. Repetition in both contents and methods. I completed the whole course and took notes diligently. At the end I found some similar notes appeared multiple times--some contents were repeated here and there. The few e-GMAT methods used to solve Verbal questions were heavily repeated.

2. Methods don't work. In theory they sound good. But after studying the course for 8 months, I found these methods very time consuming and mentally draining in practice. They just don't work well in mock/real GMAT exams.

3. The course is very inflexible. This inflexibility, coupled with the fact that the course is extremely content heavy, makes it very time consuming to finish the whole course. It took me 8 months to finish (I work full time). I can't control my pace. Some contents are easy for me and repeated too much. The repetition plus sheer volume of contents buries the important areas which I may be weak at. It feels as if you read a whole library of books within 8 months. At the end, your mind goes blank. Maybe you remember a little here and there but nothing stands out. ROI is just so low: you spent so much time reaping so little improvement in your verbal skills.

4. The online lectures are a COMPLETE waste of time (and money). This was very obvious. In a 2 hour lecture, the instructors would spend the first ~30 minutes advertising their course. Because there are many attendees, the instructor can sometimes spend half an hour just to explain one question and answer all the questions. I may have just one doubt on a question and managed to get a few minutes of the instructor's time to answer it. Often, I'm still confused after he/she answers it. Then the rest of the time was wasted on listening to him/her explaining things that I have already known. After 1 or 2 lectures, I decided to just watch the recording and found myself frequently fast-forward the videos. In a 2 hour lecture, maybe only 15 minutes was useful.

In mock exams, I could score between 690 and 730. After 6 months of running the e-GMAT marathon, my course was going to expire. e-GMAT team was kind enough to extend it by another 2 moths. I finally made my first attempt at GMAT and only scored 700 (Q50, V33, AWA 5.5, IR 8). It was a huge disappointment. e-GMAT team's kindness to extend my course may have only backfired: I felt I wasted another 2 months on a course with near zero ROI. I spent so much time (8 months) on e-GMAT yet I didn't feel my verbal improved at all.

After that I decided to try MGMAT Verbal Prep set. I had very good discipline and took just 1.5 months to finish the whole set. Took GMAT again and scored 760 (Q51, V41, AWA 6.0, IR 8). I was even surprised by myself that I could improve so much with MGMAT. I also have to credit MGMAT for its Quant. My quant was pretty solid and I didn't spend too much time on it. However, the "Advanced GMAT Quant" by MGMAT was really good on methods & tricks for the more difficult quant questions. That did help keep my quant score high.

So in summary I feel e-GMAT is a course that costs an enormous amount of time to complete and only gives you negative to marginal positive improvements on your verbal score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great GMAT preparation course and great Instructor Ravi Sreerama
August 04 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By malli1992 joined: July 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
About 3 months ago I decided to take part in a GMAT Online Preparation Course in order to help me study for my exam and one of my friends recommended Veritas Prep to me. I am very happy about my decision to take part in the Online Course mostly because Ravi Sreerama was an incredibly talented and interesting instructor. Not only did he teach the course content in a very efficient manner but he actually was able to make everyone understand the content instantly by being patient, being constantly available for everybody to contact him and being able to provide great examples to make the at times difficult content easy to understand. Soon we were able to learn the content more efficiently and to use the strategies he gave us to tackle the GMAT problems in a better way. But most importantly, he made us enjoy studying and the overall volume of the content bearable and interesting, which is in my opinion even harder considering the fact that it is an online course. I am proud to say that I significantly improved my performance and that I owe it to Ravi Sreerama that it improved in such as short period of time. Everybody should be happy to have him as an instructor since he will be one great asset in your corner when it comes to fighting against the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
GMAT prep using Veritas
August 04 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By victororeskovich joined: August 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I signed up for the Veritas prep course after researching different courses online. I absolutely loved the online platform. Twice a week, from the comfort of your own home, you're able to sign in for an interactive lesson. I wasn't sure how this would work out, but I'm so happy I chose the online interactive class instead of having to physically drive somewhere on the weekend or after work etc.

Ravi was a terrific teacher. He genuinely cared about how we were performing and wanted us to get the absolute most out of each session. The Course was structured very well, focusing on pertinent information. I just wrote my official GMAT this past Saturday and I was ecstatic with my score. The course provides everything you need to succeed, and Ravi was a phenomenal teacher. The on demand lessons are great too in case you can't make a lesson. I used these in conjunction with Ravi's scheduled sessions.

The practice tests were also great, and very similar to the real test. Before I went and wrote, I was researching online how practice exams correlate to the real test. Mine were virtually identical to what I was scoring on the Veritas mock exams.

Veritas was a great experience and I'm thrilled I chose them. I would absolutely recommend the course to anyone looking to improve their GMAT score!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing Course (online)
August 04 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By zeusccn joined: August 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
It is all about Ravi Sreerama, he truly cares about his students (he is funny too). I was a little skeptical in the beginning because this is my first online course, but after the first class, I knew I was in good hands.

The classes are pretty simple. You have to do a skillbuilder before class to learn the basics though. During class the professor went straight to business:

*Class outline
*Examples (usually skillbuilder examples)
*Chapter 1 + (practice problems), 2 + ('''')... + summaries of every chapter
*Q&A between examples and chapters (via chat or private chat)
*Jokes, goodbyes, and some words of encouragement + (he was always telling us to use the office hours for questions and tutoring)

You get tons of practice problems, quizzes, and exams. I honestly recommend this course. Read the reviews online and see for yourself.

P.S.

Use the office hours and private chats (if you take it online)!!! The professors are there to help you! And do the homework!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very Helpful
August 04 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
At first I was hesitant when taking an online course, however in the end it was a great experience. It was very beneficial and helped me improved my knowledge on how to tackle GMAT. Not to mention the instructor, Ravi, made the class fun and a great learning experience at the same time. It was most certainly an enjoyable experience. Although the course can be fast paced but if you keep up with the homework and pre-work you should be fine. Take the class you wont be disappointed. I am planning on taking the GMAT test in a month so hopefully I perform well. To everyone who is taking the GMAT test I wish you the best of luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The Economist prep - the only course that forces you to be 100% concentrated!
August 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Isaac
I have been using the Economist gmat prep for a month now, and so far I love it!
I am not a native english speaker, so I was a little afraid at first of taking an online course, and the Gmat perp courses in my country did no seem good enough to prepare me well...
Fortunately, The Economist Gmat Prep offered a 7 days trial (with full excess to the course!), and after this period ended - I had no doubts.
This prep is excellent, thus it goes over everything you need to be ready! Also, they created a super cool program, which is both keeping you focus and adaptive to your pace!
For me it's great. But- You must have a butt for it ;)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Only Verbal course to GMAT success!!
August 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By priyonko joined: June 8, 2013 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
This course is tailored made for non-natives. Verbal live prep course gives all the ingredients to succeed in GMAT provided one follows by heart the key processes and applications taught during the course. The interactive online classes with the best of faculties in the respected fields and the detailed study plan make the content of the course worthwhile. For someone who feels that verbal is not his cup of tea, this course will surely change his view.
E-gmat has a wonderful 3steps process to attack and solve each question from SC, CR, RC. Mastering this process is the sure shot to success in verbal. This process has changed my approach of finding the correct answer in the options only. E-gmat taught me to prethink an answer before going through the options. This approach has shot up my accuracy level in CR and RC level tremendously. Moreover the meaning based approach to attack SC problems is the key to ace SC.
E-gmat teaches to select the right answer and eliminate the wrong answer choices for the right reasons.
Also the constant support from the support team has helped me to clarify my doubts.
This course is the one stop solution to ace in GMAT verbal.
I would highly recommend GMAT aspirants to take the Verbal live prep course of E-gmat to succeed in GMAT Verbal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Overall extremely detailed
August 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By bradleychristian13 joined: November 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
It was not too long ago when I was preying through GMAT Club to find the best prep for my studies. Although I was told about GMAT Pill, I didn't believe the reviews to be accurate. After all, it was a small fish in a sea of big sharks like Kaplan and Princeton. However, as I scrolled through the site, I saw nothing but great reviews.

Getting started with GMAT Pill is quite intricate. In order to optimize your studies, they recommend the purchase of the official GMAT study guide, which is understandable of course. For certain questions throughout the book, there are video explanations that go into great detail, that the guide does not. The email help that Zeke provide the same quality of work. Every explanation is clear and straight to the point.

One of the great things about GMAT Pill is that they do not simply teach you how to solve a problem. They completely revamp your style of learning. Take the RC section for example. Every sentence is dissected so you can take the full breadth of what is being explained. Once you understand the passage, everything will come easy.

The DS section is also explained extremely well. It can be quite complicated since you have to figure out how the statements correlate with each other. Is one true? Are both true? Do you know one to help solve the other? Overall, I am extremely content with my time I spent prepping with GMAT Pill.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings