Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [972]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
In verbal you can think like maths using E-GMAT course.
October 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Amit9687 joined: October 3, 2013 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
For 6 months, I had prepared using MGMAT and other popular text books such as Powerscore,Aristotal 99 RC etc, but when I gave my mock I could not even cross 650 mark. After analysing my mocks I realized that I was doing lot of mistakes in SC, specially in the area of modifier and comparison. Even after doing MGMAT for 3 times I could not figure out the root cause, which made me frustrated.
Then I came across E-GMAT course. I initially purchased only SC part as this was the area dreading me the most. After going through foundation and SV module,I realized that I learned application of lot of concepts ,which I saw somewhere in MGMAT books but did not knew how to use them.The best part of E-GMAT is that they teach how to approach in a step by step process ,which is very helpful and make you feel confident while marking answer choice during exam. Also all their videos are short, lucid, interactive and teach how to apply their 3 step process so that your brain start functioning in a structure manner. I have almost finished my SC course and to be very honest I have now start enjoying solving SC problem, which dreaded me at one time, like maths problem .My accuracy has also improved a lot.
I was so tempted by my SC progress that I upgraded my course to verbal live. So far I have done Foundation and Inference concept ,resulting in a very good understanding of structure of CR passages . Also Live sessions are very helpful as you can practice how to apply concepts taught in modules. In Live sessions you also get a chance to attend workshop ,which provide a very good analysis of your weak areas and provide ways to improve over them.
Overall E-GMAT course has given me a confidence that with right approach and sufficient practice I can score well in verbal .
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A perfect course for Non-natives
October 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rajsinghal71 joined: July 28, 2013 | 3 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Dear all,

To start with my background, I did my schooling from Hindi medium. Last year, I decided to write the GMAT exam so I registered for classroom program from ThePrincetonreview. In Dec 2013, I wrote the exam and I ended up with a score of 580( q-51, v-19). I was shocked with my verbal score.I realized that Princeton program was of little help for me as it does not provide any approach for verbal questions. I did prepare for CAT so quant was like a cake walk for me.

We , Indians love the word “free” so before writing the exam, I registered for E-gmat free classes and attended free sessions. Though, I loved their strategies for Cr-prethinking, SC- 3 step and RC- 7 points but I did not follow the same in the exam . After the exam, I knew where do I need to improve and how.
I registered for e-gmat verbal live prep course. I must admit that this course has been very useful for me in all three types of questions.

Reading- Before registering for the course, I was not an active reader. The RC strategy sessions taught me how should we read effectively . Today, I read all leading magazines such as TheEconomist, Scientific American etc. I just love their strategy so much that today, whenever, I read any articles from these magazines , I just follow RC strategy. Now, the strategy has been part of my reading style. It has not only improved my comprehension skills but also reading speed.

Sentence correction- Before writing the exam, I used to think that sc is all about grammer rules. Once you learn all grammar rules, you can master in sc but after the blunder in exam and after following e-gmat sc-meaning based approach , I realized that I was wrong. Grammer based approach might work in easy sc questions, but once you are getting tougher questions, most of the questions will be based on meaning and here, E-gmat sc course will help you , not Manhattan sc book.

Critical reasoning- I would strongly recommend e-gmat –prethinking approach if one wants to do good in CR. It has not only improved my accuracy but also solved timing issue.
I will be writing Gmat next month and I aim for 760. My sincerely thanks to E-GMAT team for coming up
Such an effective and useful course for non-natives.

Regards,
Rajan
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Why e-GMAT~
October 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By vikingh joined: June 15, 2013 | 1 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I joined this course because it guaranteed a quant score up to Q50. I was scoring Q46-48 before I took this course. So thought of giving it a try to see I could better my quant score further. I must admit that, this course has been the best guidance that I could have ever got to achieve Q49 and better. I took 3 mock tests in past few days and I have scored Q48(Veritas Prep),Q50(Kaplan) and Q51(Kaplan) respectively.

e-gmat quant course focused on different approaches to solve a problem, will help one in thinking smart rather than just asking to mug up a list of formulas and strategies. After attending NP1 and NPII live sessions I understood how rusty my number properties concepts were but with their clear and detailed explanations I was able to understand the Hard DS questions easily. I will rate the course 9/10. Hope to see a lesson on DS concepts :)

Thanks Team e-GMAT for all your efforts.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Structured Approach Leads To Fantastic Results
October 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By solerenegade joined: July 16, 2011 | 56 | 36 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I had written the GMAT twice and both times, I had come up short in the Verbal section. I considered myself fairly good at English and was reluctant to seek help or spend money on a prep course. However, when planning my third take, I decided to check out the free videos from different companies, just so to have a good pool of resources at my disposal. My biggest needs from a verbal prep point of view, were to change my approach and be regimented, as I needed to write the exam in 2 months' time. I tried video lessons offered by e-gmat, Magoosh and GMAT Pill. I was very happily surprised by the style of tutoring on the e-gmat video. Hesitant though I was, after exchanging a few e-mails with Rajat, one of the founders of e-gmat, and attending a free webinar hosted by him, I gave in to the idea of purchasing the Verbal Live Prep Course. Along with the course, I also got access to GMAT CLUB Tests, which I used extensively for Quant, and 800 score tests, which I did not use at all.

The e-gmat verbal Live Prep Course is divided into sections - CR, RC and SC. Each section is further divided into modules covering a specific concept. The concept/lessons in each module are video/slide lessons with a voice over, and can last up to 30 minutes. There are intermittent quizzes in between as well to gauge your progress. On weekends, 'live sessions' or classes are conducted by an e-gmat expert on an interactive webinar. A schedule is already given in advance which details all the modules that need to be completed before attending the live session.

The first thing that I realized while studying on the e-gmat course was that the Verbal section is not a test of English skills; it is majorly a test of logic and understanding the importance of clear and concise communication. The course builds on this foundation in a very structured manner.

I used the CR and SC section the most as RC was never an issue for me. The live sessions are a very good place to clear any lingering doubts while refreshing and consolidating the concepts learned. A very good feature of the course is the Live Workshop - which simulates a test like environment and tries to pin point areas where more focus is needed.
I completed the course, or rather portions of the course (since I did not touch RC) in about 1.5 months. Since the subscription is valid for 6 months, I used the course for revisions during the last 2 weeks of my prep. By the time I was done, I was able to implement the 'pre-thinking' and 'meaning' frame work on CR and SC questions quite easily.

I think the course really helped me 'un-learn' my old approach and learn a new way to tackle the Verbal section. I was able to get my score up from 35 to 42 and all credit must go to e-gmat. I have even incorporated some of the concepts in my day to day work as well while writing emails, and conversing with people, as colloquial English is 'error ridden' and does not necessarily follow the rules of the language.

I chose the course not because I am a 'non-native' but because I really liked the step by step structured approach that e-gmat offered. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to do well on the Verbal section of the GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
BEST
October 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By adityasomani555 joined: October 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh is very helpfull because of its simplicity and to the point explanation.Diagnostic test is best as we can set the number of question we want in the test.Magoosh take care of our improvement task bar time to time and update it immediately to boost our morale.During the video we can add notes for future refrence is simply awesum.
Magoosh is best in both way,For Scoring & also it take cares economicaly.Premium course of magoosh is best so go for it guys and best of luck for the preperation.Make it your weapon to drill Gmat exam well.Best of Luck
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Go for Veritas online and choose Ravi Sreerama
October 01 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I postponed the gmat for about 5 years as I had always been scared by the difficulty of the test and the amount of study, even if I have always truly wanted to apply for an MBA.
A friend had positive feedback on Veritas and when I finally found the courage to do it, I did some research on the course and the different options out there. After all of the positive reviews, I decided to sign up. I started off disappointed because my live class was canceled and they offered an online one. The initial disappointment faded away when I realized I got lucky to get Ravi Sreerama as teacher and Charles Frederick as TA.
Ravi was crystal clear (even for someone like me that hadn't open a math book in a decade) in showing how to avoid all the crazy calculation and think like the test-maker - I appreciated his style of teaching "study smart, not around the clock". Plus, he organized the course in a way that it was not a burden - but actually quite interesting and stimulating - to spend 3hours on a Saturday and Sunday....yes, absolutely his energy and sense of humor helped as well!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Ravi Sreerama of VeritasPrep is an exceptional GMAT instructor!
September 30 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
- Ravi Sreerama maintained steadfast enthusiasm throughout the 3 hours for each of the 12 GMAT sessions
- The best part about Ravi’s teaching style were the tips, tricks, and short-cuts to solve difficult problems
- His persistent encouraging style imparted a personal touch in ensuring that his students understood the material
- In a class of 54 students in the online class, Ravi took extra effort to send private chat messages to respond to each student’s questions.
- Ravi’s teaching gave me great confidence to do very well on the GMAT
- Overall, he is the best instructor I have had for an online or in-person class!
- Ravi’s supporting instructor Chris Speck is also fantastic; he provided tips for the problems during the class and gave excellent advice on GMAT preparation after the classes.
- Veritas Prep course materials are very thorough and easy to follow. They were extremely accommodating in letting me attend alternate make up sessions and also send me recordings of classes I had missed.
- For anyone wanting to prepare for GMAT, I would 100% recommend Veritas Prep and 1000% instructor Ravi!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The Best course for non-natives
September 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ankushsml joined: March 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
This is the best course one can get for verbal preparation. I was not scoring well in verbal specially in SC. I took the complete course for verbal. I was able to increase the accuracy in SC to 80% in just 15 days.
The team support is excellent. I really suggest people to join this course or join e-Gmat free session. One will get to know about the course and the way their instructors teach. The course helped me alot in RC section also. The strategy they told was excellent and easy to apply. The Strategy is very similar in SC and RC, so it saves time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Ravi: the man, the myth, the legend
September 29 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I was pretty skeptical about taking a live online course but was pleasantly surprised at how convenient yet effective it ended up being. Ravi is the one who made this class worthwhile. From day one, it is apparent that he truly cares about your success on an individual level, and is excellent at explaining all concepts from verbal to quant. I found it amazing that he would start right on time and end right on time all while covering the vast expanse of the topic of the day. Not only that, but he messages you one on one in a live online class of 30+ people, which I though was amazing. The class uses timed polls which makes it interactive and GMAT-like. I would highly recommend this course, but more-so Ravi S. My test is in November and I have a lot more studying to do, but Ravi definitely pointed me in the right direction! Take this course with him and you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep On-Demand
September 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
I highly recommend the Veritas Prep On-Demand course. It is a very flexible study program that you can adjust to fit your schedule, areas of most need, and timeline. It is a very comprehensive approach to studying with a skillbuilder lesson to brush up on basic skills, a video class to explain more about the logic and reasoning behind taking the exam, and then a large set of homework problems with detailed answers to test your knowledge. The practice exams also come with very detail analysis and recommendations for how to adjust your study time to your needs. Highly recommend Veritas On-Demand
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings