Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [738]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent Coverage and Resources
February 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mihiragrawal joined: February 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat,Payal,Archana
I am in the middle of my GMAT prep and assure you that the verbal live prep course offers some of the best resources for GMAT verbal section. The course is designed to provide a good mix of conceptual understanding coupled with GMAT-level practice questions. The teaching methodology involves self study of basic concepts and regular practice throughout the week followed by live classes over the weekends to strengthen all concepts and applications. Even though there are various students attending the online class from different parts of the world, none of the questions asked remain unanswered. The team also provides a daily timetable that help you track progress and in case of an absence there are multiple ways to make up.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The Unique GMAT Verbal Course...
February 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Honeybee81 joined: June 4, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
It was the final quarter of last year when I seriously considered pursuing an MBA and, as a first step, I started preparing for the GMAT. I got help from the well-known GMAT books. However, within a few days, I understood that I needed some external help, especially in the verbal section, to perform well on this test. I came to know about e-GMAT courses while browsing through the net and I started with its free sessions. These sessions were so well crafted that they impressed me a lot and I decided to register myself in its paid courses. As per e-GMAT's instructions, I began with its Sentence Correction section - a module which is so well designed that if someone sincerely studies the Articles, Concept Files and Pratice quizzes in it, as well as follows the study plan supplied by e-GMAT, he/she is bound to do well on the GMAT SC section. The knowledge of SC helps immensely in the other sections - Criticl Reasoning and Reading Comprehension - as well because one can easily understand the argument structure in CR and complex passages in RC, using the basic Sentence Structure lessons learnt in the SC course. Very recently I have upgraded my course to Verbal Live, where the e-GMAT instructors take live sessions and clarify most of the doubts during or after these sessions. e-GMAT's internal forum is another place where e-GMAT students are allowed to post their questions/queries which are promptly answered by the instructors. Though English is not my mother-tongue, I started learning English from childhood as a part of my regular curriculum. Even after that when I started GMAT preparation, I realized that knowing the English language very well doesn't guarantee a good score on GMAT. One needs to know the things that are frequently tested on GMAT and accordingly prepare strategically for doing well in this test. This is where I found e-GMAT really helpful, even to the native speakers, as it actually guides its students on the tactics and strategies of this time-bound test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Fantastic Product - 10pt Quant Improvement!
February 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill Quant Combo Pill Package (PS & DS) | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
I signed up for the Quant Combo Pill--data sufficiency and problem solving--three weeks before my test date. I spent the first week watching all of the videos and let the knowledge soak in. Zeke is very practical and emphasizes the importance of breaking each problem down into its component parts, which was the big thing that I had been missing in all of my other prep work. After the first week of solid review I started doing practice problems and taking practice tests, and noticed a steady improvement in my accuracy as time went on.

I scored a 720 on the GMAT (44Q/45V) when I took it, up from 660 (35Q/45V) a few months ago. I attribute this boost solely to the GMAT Pill product.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Course
February 17 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By s4sehgal joined: February 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
Repairing for the GMAT exam, I was lost where to start until I was pointed to Veritas preparation through google search. Although I am from technical background, but was totally rusty with high school maths skills . On top of that, the verbal section made no sense to me when I looked up official GMAT study guide.

Luckily surfing internet on how to prepare for GMAT in a short time, I ended up on Veritas GMAT introduction class. From the very first sentence Brian (the course instructor) made a lot of sense behind the GMAT methodology and how to approach the test logically.

After going through the Veritas on demand course, I can recommend it to anybody who has limited time and resources to prepare for the test. The course content is excellent. It is divided between Quantitative, Verbal, Analytical and Integrated as expected on real test. Each section is sub divided into major components and is complemented with skill builder sections, reviews and section quiz. Most importantly, I really admire the way Veritas instructors explains the logic behind the questions and aid with useful tips to approach the questions strategically and in timely manner.

All in all, I am one satisfied client and am sure there are thousands other like me. One useful tip though: Make sure you practise the GMAT simulated exams before appearing in real one. I lacked this component but will do better on my next try.


Good Luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT CR and SC helped me improve from verbal 16 to 35
February 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By kingb joined: August 24, 2012 | 129 | 32 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took my GMAT last year and scored a disastrous 540. My verbal score was 16. I mostly relied on my ear to catch errors in GMAT SC and on my gut feeling to catch errors on GMAT Cr sections. After my dismal performance in my first attempt I took some time out and analyzed my performance.

First I analyzed my quant preparation. Though I am good at basics, I fail at application in an GMAT exam. So I went through the GMAT club forum and found some useful tips to improve in GMAT quant above 40.
As I am a non-native, I am week in the verbal section of GMAT. I found from many reviews of non-native members of GMAT club who breached the 700 barrier of GMAT that e-GMAT helped them on the verbal part. First I checked out their free lessons to check if they suited my style of learning. After exhausting all the free lessons I am convinced that the e-GMAT course will help me to improve in my verbal score, I signed up for their verbal online course.
I am planning to take the GMAT again in March. After going through the e-GMAT verbal online course, I am constantly scoring over 35-40 in my mocks--I have improved my verbal score from 16 to 35-40 range. This improved my confidence and made me believe that I, too, can cross the coveted 700 mark on the GMAT.
e-GMAT has great Sentence Correction tutorials. The different levels of tests helped me judge my performance from time to time. Examples varying from basics to the most advanced SC concepts helped me understand the various types of errors in sentences.
The sentence-correction course is great for non-natives. e-GMAT's 3-step approach for sc and their emphasis on importance of meaning in sc solving helped me to approach GMAT sc in a organized way which I was missing before.
I highly recommend the e-GMAT course for non-natives who are struggling on the verbal part of the GMAT.

Thank you e-GMAT!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fantastic Experience. A must for Non-Natives
February 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By khadoosbaby joined: October 11, 2010 | 27 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat,Payal,Archana
I was contemplating a verbal course since the time I planned to go for GMAT, but the cost made me think twice. However, when I compared e-GMAT's price with some other courses, I had no choice but to go for e-GMAT and I was pleasantly surprised with the structure of the course. It was paced well and combined with live sessions making it the best course around.
Though I have not attempted the GMAT yet, I am now redoing the entire course and am already seeing mighty improvements. I am quite confident that I will score above V35 come March. I started with V26 3 months ago.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
ON DEMAND COURSE
February 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I can recommend the on-demand course from this company. It covers many concepts and helped me to think in a different way. By that I mean that I am sure that the GMAT tries to trap students in most questions. If you understand the way they think, you know how to answer and which mistakes to avoid. These videos are definitely great. I decided to buy an on-demand course, because I prefer to watch videos and study on my own whenever I have time and feel like learning. It helped me also a lot to make notes from every video and learn them by heart.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A conscious approach
February 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sethiprashant joined: October 21, 2012 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Chasing 720, I first nailed the GMAT with an official score of 680. Momentarily, I thought I was good, close and just little unlucky but after thorough preparation my score fell to 650 (official score) on the next attempt with verbal part being the case.
That's when I regained my senses and opted for verbal e-GMAT online course, the course is especially for non natives who are not able to grasp the intentions of questions in a short time limit. It gave me the clear picture on how to ease my speed and accuracy in the time constrained paper. I thank the e-GMAT team for transforming my gut oriented approach to a conscious effort.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT comes to my rescue
February 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By srgunti joined: May 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Every GMAT test taker has a story to tell, a story that begins with an aspiration to graduate from an ivy league Business School, a story that involves chapters of toil, strategies, intense preparation and a positive attitude to retake the test to hit the target score. My story is no different and involves a six yearlong aspiration to graduate from one of the good Business schools.
I have always been comfortable with Quant and my English was “not bad” to say the least and I was confident of a 700, but little did I realize that GMAT was a different ball game all together. The first time I prepared for my GMAT in May 2013, I was scoring well in Quant – as I had expected, but I learnt that verbal in GMAT was the area that will pose hurdles in me achieving the target score.
I took 20+ mock tests and was consistently scoring in the range of 620 – 680 but not close enough to warrant a call from a good school. My Quant scores were pretty good at 47-49 but my verbal scores were very disappointing (20-29), this pulled down the overall scores drastically.
After 3 months of hard work on the test day, I knew what my score would be (based on what I had been scoring in the mock tests). I had scored 640 (Q-48, V-30) and it took me into a state of depression that I might never be able to study at my dream school. I took a month’s break and decided to put more focused efforts in improving my verbal scores. I needed to start with basics, understand the pattern and have a methodology to answer the questions and not rely on my instinct or guesses. I approached my friends who could suggest a good course or material for verbal, many options came up – Kaplan, Manhattan, Princeton and e-GMAT. Even on the blogs including GMAT club, I saw that several people recommended e-GMAT for non-natives.
In August 2013, I took a leap of faith and subscribed to the Verbal Online course by e-GMAT. The subscription was for 6 months which was good enough time for me to master the concepts. I was determined to study harder, focus on the all the concepts of verbal and try to score at least 39 in verbal. However owing to personal emergency, which required my personal attention, I could not continue my preparation until January 2014. My subscription was due to expire in February 2014 and I was in despair as I had not even started my preparation. I was making frantic efforts to finish the modules in a rush, but I wasn’t sure if I was learning anything at all.
I finally decided to write to the e-GMAT team requesting for an extension of my subscription detailing the reasons. I waited for a week, checking my mails every day to see if they had responded. One fine day, I received a mail from e-GMAT team granting me an extension for 2 months. This kind gesture of e-GMAT surely made my day and hopefully helps me improve my verbal scores. There was no way I could have afforded to pay for a renewal but now they have given me a ray of hope to pursue my aim again.
I am planning on giving the second attempt of GMAT test in early May and have started accessing the e-GMAT modules. As I progressed through the course, I realized why e-GMAT is highly recommended for non-natives of English. The entire Verbal content is categorized into sections, and each section is further divided into 2 -3 levels. As you progress through these levels, you are introduced to more and more complicated concepts. The layout of the modules is so structured that the journey through the course is seamless and easy to comprehend. I haven’t started the RC yet, but from what I have seen of SC and CR; e-GMAT has made some of the trickiest topics very simple. The application files at the end of each module take the challenge to another level and expose you to 650+ type questions. I am not a big fan of surprises, even if they are good ones; so these application files ensure that I am not taken aback in the final test.
I hope to complete the remaining modules soon and practice enough that I reach my target score of 39+ in verbal. I totally understand the agony of test takers when they are constantly working at improving their scores but never breach the 650 mark. I wish everyone good luck and highly recommend e-GMAT for non-natives like me who are unable to up their verbal scores.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Go for it..You won't be disappointed
February 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ramkum9 joined: November 6, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I wanted a good and crash course for my GMAT studies. I was searching online for a course that is worth my $$. I came to know about Magoosh and tried the videos. Awesome!! Immediately I was impressed with the quality of the videos online. I could hear and learn anytime anywhere..not only on my laptop but also on my iPhone. So I decided to take the premium package and it was at a discounted price that time. So I took it with confidence. The pace is good, and the course was easy to understand and showed a lot of quick tips. I love it.. I am cracking GMAT definitely.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings