Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1207]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Very good course
December 23 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took the online course, because I didn't want the hassle of having to go to class even though there were classes offered nearby. I also saw so many amazing reviews of Ravi Sreerama's classes that I especially waited for him to be available to take his class. Thankfully, I was not disappointed.

Ravi obviously knows the stuff cold, but what I, personally, liked about him was his honesty and his down-to-earth mentality. He was pretty blunt when he had to be, and always insisted on the idea that working more is not necessarily working smart. He gives very good studying tactics and is very good at pointing out what are the typical mistakes people make and how to avoid them.

I had a few technical issues with Veritas at the beginning, but they were quite accommodating for the most part. Their system for online courses is not bad, but I think there are some improvements coming up that will make the online course even better. Another thing about Veritas is that they allow you to pay in installments without any extra fees. I don't know if other programs do this as well, but this was helpful to me.

I haven't taken the GMAT yet, and I have not taken any other prep courses, so I can't compare to the others, but I am quite satisfied with what I got so far... My score in the practice tests went up 100 points easily since before the I started the course. Granted, I hadn't studied for a second before my first practice exam... But still, scoring 100 points more on the second try only half way through the course has got to mean something.

I wanted also to point out that I'm pretty sure that the online access is available for a year, so that gives you more than enough time to make use of it even after a few attempts at taking the exam. Also, there are on demand videos of the lessons as well which is nice. For review or in case you want a different perspective of what you've already learned in the course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent material - Make your own Plan
December 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nsaikrishna joined: November 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
First of all, I would say that the Magoosh Gmat Course is fantastic.

The video lessons
1. are easy to understand
2. are correctly paced
3. use simple examples
4. provide practice questions
5. gives us a lot of insight into the subject

The exercises
1. are slightly more difficult than the actual test
2. help you practice as much as you want to
3. have video explanations that exactly tell us where we went wrong
4. direct us to the corresponding lessons that we might need to retake for better understanding

How to use the 3 month study plan:

Before taking the magoosh lessons, I took up one of the two practice tests given by GMAC. I scored 580.

I had less than 3 weeks left for the GMAT and I went through the 1 month study plan, which said do 5 lessons a day etc. I felt it was not organized well enough for me. So, I took the quantitative focused 3 month study plan. I made a complete list of all exercises available in magoosh. Then I referred to the study plan and marked each of the lessons with week, day and order within the day. I was happy to see that the first iteration of the entire set of lessons was completed in 6 weeks. The total length of the videos were approximately 23 hours (you may want to add a few hours for practice problems within videos and after every section). I targeted to complete lessons worth one week everyday. I actually ended up taking 8 days to complete the entire set of lessons.

On the 9th day, after revising my notes I gave the next practice test from GMAC and I scored 590. Yes, only a 10 point increase, but the reality was when I scored 580, I did not know the answers to many of the questions, but this time, it was my time management that led to a poor score.

After this, I did not take any other complete test. I had one week left and I decided to not postpone my test date. In the one week, the first day, I took 5 questions per session in quiz mode for each topic. Whether I got it correct or wrong, I viewed the explanation videos. I also kept a tab on how my pace was compared to others. I completed the entire set of subjects in 3 days. After that I followed the same strategy, but only for my weaker/slower areas (Statistics, Counting, Probability).

I followed a similar approach for verbal, but did not view all lessons. I just browsed through a few lessons and mainly the strategy lessons but I kept practicing and viewing video answers.

On test day I spent an hour in the morning going through my notes. I did 10 minutes of cardio and spent a relaxing 20 minutes in the steam room.

In the test, I struggled a bit for time, but not majorly. I ended up with a score of 680, which happens to be a 100 points improvement from nearly 3 weeks back.

I definitely recommend Magoosh for your GMAT prep. However, before purchasing and even before starting your trial, please spend a week working out problems from gmatclub for atleast 1 hour everyday. If you are successful with that, then go for the trial for the next 7 days and try to spend atleast 2 hours everyday. Try watching some videos and take up some problems from that section, to see how your learning helps. I am sure you will be happy with your practice. If you are, then buy the premium version. Be sure to make a plan before you start watching videos.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great course for Verbal
December 23 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By piura22 joined: April 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
Before enrolling into the e-gmat verbal course I had wasted a lot of time going through other verbal prep courses, especially for sentence correction. I was very frustrated. I have to admit that the approach used by e-gmat team is very clear and concise, which makes things easier if you are a non-native english speaker like me. In addition, going through the whole sentence correction course should be feasible in less than 2 weeks, unlike the other courses that do not offer a clear and concise strategy for each item being evaluated in the exam. I remember that one of the other courses that I tried, provided a ~400 page book that was impossible to "digest" ! By the time I was on page 400, I had already forgotten most of what I had previously read. This was not the case with e-gmat: their platform is user friendly and you are tested as you cover each section. I found this really helpful.
I really enjoyed preparing my gmat sentence correction section with e-gmat and I strongly recommend it not only to non-native speakers but also to native speakers. You will save a lot of time during your preparation !
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very easy to utilize and worth the price
December 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By bulubung joined: November 20, 2013 | 2 | 19 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I am based in a Southeast Asian country. When I started my MBA journey last year, I could not find an affordable and reliable GMAT prep course, so I decided to study by myself. I practiced using the 700-800 level questions listed in GMAT Club Forum, I printed them out and practiced whenever I have free time . It was all ok until I found it hard to do practice questions and check the correct answer and explanation with this method. Some of the answer key did not even have explanation. So I decided to find another source.

After comparing reviews and prices, I finally chose Magoosh. For $99 a year, I think this is very economical. I only used my account for 2 months, but then I could let my friends use my account after I was done with my test.

I love that you can choose the difficulty of your practice questions. I tried to only do hard and very hard questions to push myself. I always checked for the solution and explanation whenever I got something wrong. They are doing a very good job in their explanation videos.
The video lessons are very succinct and clear. I like the way they divide the lesson topic and make each video so short.
I watched 2-3 videos in the morning, 1-2 during lunch, 2-3 before bed. I learned a lot by doing this yet it did not feel overwhelming.
The site also worked well on my smartphone, so I could do my practice using my phone anytime and any where I have free time.

I have improved from 590 to 740 in 2 months. I believe that there were also other things that helped me to get there, but Magoosh was definitely one of the most influential factors.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas prep--awesome
December 22 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
Veritas was a really really effective GMAT prep course. Both the lessons and the sample test sections were a big help, as were the diagnostic/analytic components of the online test (e.g., data on pacing, etc).

Would highly recommend it! The materials were really really helpful, and I found that it gave me the exact kind of preparation I wanted in advance of taking the course. Moreover, the multiple practice tests gave me plenty of opportunities to perfect my test-taking strategy (pacing, emphasis placed on easier vs harder questions).

There are some slight drawbacks to doing an online course rather than a live one, but I don't think the extra benefits of doing it live merit spending the extra money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best investment for an MBA
December 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By akonwar joined: February 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I am a non-native speaker so basically i faced a lot of problems while preparing for GMAT and CAT(an indian entrance test for mba). As an engineering grad,the main encumbrance for me was my verbal. After extensive research i choose to try out E-gmat live courses.

The e-gmat SC and CR courses are one of the best. The best thing about e-gmat was its quizzes and its focus on only the main points. The 3-step process for SC was one of the best trick to solve any SC question.After completing the SC course,my accuracy increased greatly.
The RC was great too but could have been better.

I would highly recommend this course to any non-native GMAT aspirant as well as CAT aspirant who wants to improve their SC skills.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great for supplementing your prep
December 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ae71386ae joined: September 11, 2012 | 17 | 9 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh is a great way to review GMAT material on-the-go or under-the-radar while at work. The platform lends itself well to putting 10 minutes aside and doing 5 questions in the middle of the workday. I can't think of any other platforms where one is able to do this so it's a no-brainer to sign up. It's also very inexpensive compared to other products. The instructional videos that they offer are also quite helpful though I wouldn't depend on them exclusively. Magoosh is best used as a supplement to Manhattan GMAT (the most thorough prep available in my opinion).

My only complaint about Magoosh is that their higher level quant is not very difficult. They could used more questions in the 720+ range. Otherwise I highly recommend signing up for Magoosh.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great & Affordable Product
December 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 4, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
The Magoosh GMAT study program has been an amazing resource in preparing for the GMAT's. I have already increased my practice score by 50 points and hope to raise it another 30-50 before my exam. The video based learning system is brilliant as it really allows visually based learners to excel. I would wholeheartedly recommend Magoosh to anyone studying for any standardized tests. Magoosh tutors also provide answers to any questions that may nor be clear as you prepare. The 3-Month study guide has also been invaluable in setting up a schedule that is manageable. Before Magoosh, I was enrolled in Manhattan GMAT. I must say that their program is much more expensive and not as engaging as Magoosh's. Manhattan GMAT offers a very traditional base of learning where as I feel that the Magoosh process really provides a fun/ interactive & memorable learning experience. You will have to put in time and practice, but this program has changed my approach to and understanding of the GMAT drastically!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
eGMAT Course Material
December 20 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I had subscribed to the eGMAT course in the month of August but have been able to start my preparation in full swing from the month of October only. I have taken the Verbal and Quant courses and I find both the courses very detailed and extremely well explained with lot of examples. I began with RC, followed by CR and then SC (ongoing) and I find a lot of improvement in my approach to the problems especially the lengthy RC passages by using eGMAT's methods and the tough CR questions where I always got lost between the conclusion and the premise in a lengthy passage and I have improved on that using the concepts stated in the course. I will be giving my exam in another 3 months and I surely am getting more positive on the Verbal part. I feel Quant 2.0, which was launched recently is also very detailed and gives a perspective of solving problems from GMAT's perspective. I would recommend eGMAT course to any GMAT aspirant. I surely would provide more updates once I finish my exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
gmat review
December 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 22, 2014 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
overall magoosh is very helpful, as there are tons of online resources, and tips.
havent dont the gmat yet, however planning for 2015.

I shopped around before selecting my GMAT course and I am glad I finally selected magoosh. If you are disciplined, fairly smart and capable of putting into practice what these guys teach you then you will get a great score. Attending the course doesn't circumvent any of the hard work you must put in (in your own time) but it does mean the work you do will the efficient. The online resources they provide are great, but attending the course in tandem really helps the key concepts anchor in you mind.


thanks magoosh
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings