Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [738]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
A Fantastic Product
February 06 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
Veritas Prep's on demand product helped me significantly increase my score in the GMAT. The lead instructor, Brian Galvin, did a fantastic job of helping me build my skills in all areas. However, Brian Galvin's biggest contribution is the depth of knowledge he imparts on test-taking strategies. As a seasoned veteran of the GMAT, Brian helped me develop strategies that enabled me to look at every GMAT problem, no matter the level of difficulty, and swiftly attack it. Brian helps students get over the "intimidation hump" on GMAT problems. Initially, I would freeze up when I saw very tough problems. However, after taking the course, I developed an approach to getting started on problems that I really did not know how to solve. Brian taught me to dive into what I did know about a problem, and then build from there.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Muat have
February 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By bapun11 joined: March 21, 2012 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
I took the e-GMAT on line course. This is a great course every non native should have. I improved a lot in verbal by using this course. Their three-step process to solving sentence correction questions is very unique. it first makes you learn the meaning then grammar. My accuracy reaches up to 80% in official guide questions. The total package for verbal online is very lucrative. In CR I took time but ASSUMPTION live session is amazing to build core skills. As a whole this course is awesome.
In RC particularly, steps on how to answer inference question are very helpful. I also recommend verbal workshops.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Decent course
February 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By akpkjun joined: February 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I think this is a very decent course. It teaches concepts very well. It claims to adapt according to your learning and present you with more practice on weaker areas. Without boring you I will summarize my experience.

Pros:
1. Very good stable website. No speed issues. Very clean interface.
2. Good walk-through concepts.
3. You get a one-week free trial so that will give you good idea if course works for you.

Cons:
1. Terrible "talk to tutor" program. First of all, it takes a while to make an appointment. Appointments available in the middle of night for me (pacific time zone).
2. I don't think tutors were helpful at all. They came unprepared. It was a waste of time that I took only two classes.
3. I didn't like the fact that you do not have an option to choose the topic to practice questions. I think they have some "choose your topic" but it is very limited and didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excited!!!!
February 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mom6sri joined: June 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
For 9 months I was unsure of what to study and what not to study...I was fed up!!! I wanted to join a course....When I looked them up I found Magoosh was offering its Premium Course for only $99. It's very helpul for the students who are looking for cost savings. And, the reviews for Magoosh are exciting too...I was very excited to go ahead with the GMAT Preparation with Magoosh so I signed up for their Premium Course :) :)...Thanks Magoosh Team I am hoping to learn very good strategies/tactics from Magoosh...I'll keep you posted.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Verbal Online-The way to go for Non-Natives
February 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Cosmas joined: April 10, 2012 | 44 | 17 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I bought the Verbal Online after having come across recommendations on GMATCLUB and I am pleased to say that even though I haven't taken the test yet, this is one of the best investments I have ever made. I paid for verbal courses before which have disappointingly become mere English lessons but with e-GMAT Verbal Online, I can structure my studies to suit my schedule. The content is excellent and I am glad that after taking the official test and scored a mere V23, I am now scoring in the high 30s. I am hoping that with one more push at RC, I will take my ability to around V40-V43. I also get access to the free live sessions conducted by Payal and Rajat. These are just awesome.

I am really glad that you guys at e-GMAT took your time to structure such a comprehensive course which I will gladly recommend to any non-native aiming for a high score on the GMAT.

I even had not used my subscription and contacted e-GMAT. The company instantly extended my subscription, showing the high customer service standards they uphold. I am really grateful to e-GMAT.

I will shortly be taking my test and am really hoping to nail the GMAT once and for all!

Thanks e-GMAT!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Simple & Versatile
January 31 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By shawnstevees joined: December 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
Within the GMAT world, GMAT Pill is quite known throughout the forums. After all, could this "super deal" be too good to be true? Although priced at roughly $400, the overall package is worth much more. This is great, especially since most college kids, myself included, are spending most of their money on ramen packs. Everything about the product is well organized and detailed. If you know you are struggling with the critical reasoning section, then you can break down the question into different question types. After all, you may only be struggling with "helps explain questions", rather than the entire section. I noticed that this was the case for me. When I was first lured into the product with a free practice test, my critical reasoning section had the lowest grade. However, I was able to answer most of the questions efficiently. The problem lied in the fact that I kept getting the "helps explain" questions wrong. With a simple platform, GMAT Pill makes it easier to pinpoint where you should assess your weaknesses.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Online GMAT Weekend Crash Course - Optimus Prep
January 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By petrapetra joined: January 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep GMAT Weekend Course | Location:   Online  |
I took the online weekend crash course and found the teachers to be very professional and patient. All topics were covered and explained. If someone had questions the teacher explained them in detail. We had many example questions which helped a lot to understand the concepts. I did besides the course several hundreds homework questions and four practice tests. Thus I was well prepared but still learned a lot of useful strategies for timing and how to exclude wrong answers. After the course all my open questions were answered by email. I am satisfied with Optimus Prep because the course was compared fairly priced and I learned a lot of useful methods.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Source for GMAT Preparation
January 28 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By absolvte joined: November 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh is simply amazing. Magoosh provides well-organized lecture videos for every concept tested in GMAT, alongside with problem sets with full video explanation for every problem. These video solutions are my favorite part of Magoosh, since I not only get a chance to test my newly learned concepts, but also learn the most efficient way to approach every problem type. Magoosh also gives you other external resources, such as 1 month, 3 month, math-heavy, verbal heavy study schedules, numerous booklets with essential information, and many more. I've picked up the Premium package, and I sincerely believe that you will get the most bang for your buck if you go with Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Perfect for busy self directed individuals
January 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By anayapc12@gmail.com joined: January 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
The Veritas Prep GMAT on Demand Course is perfect for someone with a busy or unpredictable schedule that makes it hard to attend a live class. The course comes with 12 books divided by sections that come with a skill builder section to practice concepts you should know coming into the course, a lesson section, and homework problems to put together everything you learned. Since there are multiple small books as opposed to a huge one, its easy to carry one around. The on demand videos do an excellent job at explaining the various concepts learned in each lesson and the strategies that should be used for the different question types. Since there are no fixed deadlines (you get a year's access to the online videos) it does require you be more self directed than if you were sitting in on a classroom weekly.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
VLP - A Verbal Savior
January 28 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By gmatmarathon joined: November 25, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took the GMAT on December 2, 2012, and scored 610(44Q, 30V). I realized that if I were going to retake the GMAT, I would need to boost my quant score but would have to work very hard on verbal. During my preparation before taking the GMAT, I was stuck between V28-V30 and didn't know how to improve my verbal score. I did my research online and after reviewing trial files I came to the conclusion that e-GMAT's VLP was the best course available. Contents in VLP have been classified and prepared very meticulously.

SC:
Initially, I didn't get my desired results from e-GMAT's 3-step process on SC questions but persisted for a while and I started to improve my accuracy. After level 2, my accuracy was 70% and after level 3 my accuracy is 85%. This is an amazing improvement for me - a real confidence booster. You can revisit the concepts and quizzes as many times as you want.

CR:
Before coming to e-GMAT, I didn't follow a process to attack a CR question and hence couldn't improve CR much. After e-GMAT's CR course, my accuracy has increased to 70% from 50%. I would like to mention that their Inference and Prethinking sessions are wonderful. Both the sessions help you to align your thinking on the right path for your further CR journey.
Improvement: VLP's CR live sessions are not as elaborate as SC sessions are. E.g. In CR-Inference session, instructors should answer math-based questions more thoroughly as many students don't get how to relate equations/calculations with the stimulus.

RC:
I have attended e-GMAT's RC live sessions and started attempting OG-13 RCs. I can see my accuracy is increasing after every 8-10 passages. If I get inference question incorrect in 4-5 passages, I revisit the concept and session recordings. This approach has helped me to improve my accuracy to 65% from 50%.

If one is diligent and can use e-GMAT's solutions, recordings, forums, and quizzes judiciously, he/she will definitely improve the verbal score to a desired level. I will definitely recommend VLP course to all non-natives.

I have surely gained confidence in verbal and am going to take the GMAT in a month. Wish me luck. :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings