Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [838]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
A fantactic program for a GMAT re-taker
May 12 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By twehner joined: February 22, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
When I started the Economist program, it was 2-3 months after I had taken my first GMAT. For that first test, I studied my way through the Manhattan book series at my own pace and did some of the OG practice problems. I felt like I didn’t achieve my full potential that time around, since my GMAC practice tests were in the 730 ballpark, but my actual test came out a 690.

I started the Economist prep trial software in January out of curiosity, at that point, not entirely intent on re-taking the test at any given time. However, I was drawn into the platform of the program, which combines adaptive teaching (to what extent, I’m not sure) with progress tracking and score prediction. The fact that the program offered a score increase guarantee of 50 points (with conditions, of course) in a certain period of time (in this case, 3 months) felt like the right kind of commitment I needed – finite time-wise with a very specific goal. After the one-week trial period, in which I appeared to have completed around 10% of the program, I decided to go all the way.

I purchased the program in February and got started with a practice exam (my program included 3 of them). I scored 710 on that exam, meaning, I could base my score improvement on that first score (assuming I met the other conditions, one of which is to complete 90% of the course) – 760 guaranteed? Awesome.

Over the next two months, I spent 5-7 hours per week going through the lessons and practice problems. At times it was annoying to have to click through topics I already knew, but the interspersion of practice problems with new topics is a great feature of the program and constantly keeps you practicing and refreshing your knowledge of previously taught topics.

I felt like the verbal section was particularly strong in the program. It teaches really solid rules for sentence correction (I think this made the biggest difference for me) and guidelines for reading comprehension that helped me save a lot of time. When feeding me verbal practice questions, it seemed to give me mostly SC problems, which I suppose mimics the composition of the real test, but it would have been nice, after I had answered 20 consecutive SC questions correctly (no exaggeration) that it would have given me some critical reasoning or reading comprehension questions. Anyhow, I breezed my way through the bulk of the verbal section in the first two months, spending 1/2 to 2/3 of the time that I spent on quant. I noticed my verbal score on the practice tests (I did official and Manhattan practice tests on the side) making marked improvements, from 38-40 to 42-44. At the end of two months, I had finished all of the lessons in the verbal section (between 70-75% completion, as the program tracks it), leaving only practice problems.

Throughout the program, I had mixed feelings about the way quant is taught. As a detail-oriented person, I was a little annoyed that they were teaching ballparking as a fundamental skill. However, this approach is actually very helpful in brushing off seemingly insurmountable problems without over-dedicating. I learned some new approaches to solving quant problems (both problem solving and data sufficiency) that I think were especially helpful. There were not any remarkable ways of re-learning the fundamental math behind the problems, but the repetitive drilling of practice questions helped a lot to get formulas memorized. While this program may not be as strong as others in teaching test-takers to correctly answer the super-difficult quant questions, I thought it did a good job overall in preparing me for the quant section as a whole, considering all the questions, strategy and timing. At the end of the first two months, I had only finished around half of the quant part of the program, despite having spent significantly more time on it.

Throughout the first two months, I used 3 of the 4 tutoring sessions included in the program. The session basically consists of a 45-minute Skype conversation with a tutor to review an area of your choice. I chose the areas that had been weak in practice tests. While we were not able to cover many questions in that time, as compared with the GMAT practice problems, I found it helpful to discuss in detail the elements of the problems and to learn new strategies for dealing with questions. I don’t consider the tutoring sessions to be a crucial part of the program, but it’s definitely a nice bonus to have.

At the start of my third and final month of the program, I took some time to assess what I needed to do to get where I wanted to go. I had a goal of 760 (within the program, anyway) and needed to complete approximately 40% of the quant and 15% of the verbal in order to meet the 90% threshold for The Economist’s score guarantee. I did notice that progress beyond a certain point (somewhere in the 60-70% range) becomes significantly more difficult to achieve. At some points, I would work diligently for an hour, only to get less than one percent progress. I think this has to do with concept mastery, which makes sense. If I hadn’t mastered the concepts, I should only be able to progress so far. Anyway, it is important to note that progress within this program is not linearly correlated with time spent. I spent 35-40 hours on practice sessions (not including practice tests, of which I took about 8 during the same time period) in the third month, and did not come close to the 90% milestone. However, my practice test results were promising – I had scored in the 740-750 range on the last two Economist tests and a 760 on one official (practice) test. I figured I’d go ahead with my early-May GMAT (my prep program ended in April) and see how it goes, with no score guarantee.

I submitted one practice AWA for review and comment (I still don’t think I’ve received any feedback on it, three weeks later). The program supposedly includes 3 AWA reviews, but I didn’t make use of it to any significant degree. I wrote a few AWAs as part of the practice tests I did leading up to the real test, so felt sufficiently prepared.

I did not come across any integrated reasoning sections as part of the GMAT practice prep. I think there is a short section at the end of the quant lessons (which I did not reach). Anyhow, I didn’t worry too much about it, as I had aced IR on my first GMAT.

So, I went in to take my test on May 3, with a reasonable level of confidence. I had meditated the night before and went for a short run a couple hours before test time. I may not have finished the prep program, but I had a solid foundation and was in the right state of mind. I managed to breeze through the essay (and even have time to review – not normal for me). I felt good about my performance on IR, and although I didn’t finish, I wanted to stay focused on the “important” parts. Quant went as smoothly as it could have. For the more conventional problems, I could quickly pull out the needed weapon (their use fresh in my memory from all the drills and practice tests), strike the problem down, and proceed to the next; for the more exotic quant beasts, I was able to gauge within a reasonable amount of time whether I was worthy of the foe or should take a cheap shot and flee (and live to see another day). I think this this ability to assess quant problems before getting knee-deep in them was what I gained most from the program. For the verbal section, it was more like the last few miles of a marathon than a series of battles. In my first GMAT, I faced mental exhaustion in the verbal section, unable to focus after spending so much energy previously. This time, not so – I managed to pace myself through to the end, finishing in the last 10 seconds. With the solid verbal practice that I gained from The Economist’s program, the challenge was just to stay calm and focused.

Half dreading and half elated about what my result could be, I took the maximum amount of time during the survey questions. The result came up, and it was a 750 (49Q 44V). Phew. I’ll take it.

While I didn’t achieve the 760 that I wasn’t guaranteed by The Economist, I am in every way satisfied with my results (minus the drop in IR score, small matter) and I found it a great way to achieve real results in a set amount of time. It is also far more flexible and cost effective than receiving tutoring from a human. That isn’t to say that personal tutoring isn’t valuable, but for the cost of the program, the amount of information and practice I got is phenomenal.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent course taught by Ravi Sreerama
May 12 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By banerje3 joined: May 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The Veritas Prep online course was a great way to learn how to tackle the GMAT, especially for me who didn't have much preparation before I started taking the class. I learned a lot of techniques and approaches that worked to raise my score from 660 into the 700s. Ravi Sreerama is a phenomenal teacher who put Veritas over the top. He makes a dedicated effort to connect with every student in his class. Each class was heavy with material but Ravi enthusiastic style of teaching kept everyone focused and involved, helping everyone achieve their best score. The coursework was rigorous and extensive, but it ensured that I didn't fall behind in my studies. Finally, all of the study resources were really helpful. The books are pretty long but easy to follow and have a lot of problems to work through. Overall, I would recommend the class to anyone who isn't familiar with the GMAT. There are plenty of other resources out there, but I don't know if I would have done as well without Veritas.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Ravi Sreerama a great instructor
May 11 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By interceptor77 joined: September 23, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The Veritas GMAT Preparation Course is a precious tool for the Quantitative and Verbal Sections and above all for any portion of the test. I chose a Veritas On Line Classroom with my instructor Ravi Sreerama who has a unique way to teach, Ravi is a truly master in developing an higher order thinking, he gives you the opportunity to understand every type of problem from any angle with multiple strategies and methods to solve the questions efficiently and quickly. The lessons in class are animated, Ravi is available also to respond to each student in real time and provides you tricks and suggestions for the exam, he also mails you in private in order to know how the things are going for improving your results on the different sections! If you have conflicts schedule or you cannot join the on line classrooms for business reasons or personal matters you have also the opportunity to record the lesson and listen it during your free time. The customer service is attentive and always available, you have also the opportunity to join every day of the week the Live On Line Office Hours. I still have to continue to work hard after the course but if you want to take a Gmat on line classroom I really suggest you to take it with Ravi Sreerama.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
very convenient video format makes it easy to learn concepts
May 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
the e-gmat course is definitely a very good starting point for your gmat prep as it explains all the concepts very clearly.. the audio visual format is very useful to understand and learn the concepts. There are timed and untimed tests at the end of each concept which help you test your understanding to ensure you have grasped the points. The layout and structure of the training is very good. 20 - 30 minute lessons are a good length and convenient to suit you schedule.

My English score has improved greatly due to e-gmat however I did feel that combining it with Manhattan was very effective as there were few points which e-gmat has missed out which were there in the Manhattan guides.

I would definitely recomment this for your g-mat prep, their IR section is very good as well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Egmat online learning is the best for Verbal
May 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By deepikapurple joined: November 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I signed up for the Verbal Live Prep program from eGmat and was immediately bowled over by the fantastic videos which cover every topic which is tested on the GMAT for Verbal.
I started with a VA score of 29 a month ago and have now reached 36, and this increase in score I completely attribute to Egmat videos and live sessions. I have not referred to any books but completely rely only on egmat for Verbal.
I have a low attention span and have suffered a lot due to this throughout my school and college studies. Egmat is awesome for people like me who get bored with studying from a traditional text book. Add to this that, now I am a working professional who has to put in close to 14-15 hours in a stressful IT job everyday, the very thought of books and getting back to grammer fundamentals is enough to make me miserable.
I am devoting an hour everyday after work in reviewing the Egmat lessons and I like the fact that this single prep course takes care of all my Verbal needs of RC, SC and CR along with IR too.
The video lessons are available on every concept and I like that it gives me a diagnostic test and then works on the concept with examples and then finally gives me a test at the end of the lesson, which actually tells me how much I have actually understood and can apply to a question. I work on questions from OG 13 after completing a concept and I am thrilled to say that SC , CR and RC is finally starting to make sense.
Thank you eGMAT for launching the Verbal course for natives like me who had earlier relied on just whether a sentence sounded correct to answer SC questions.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Verbal for Non Natives
May 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By adityagupta27 joined: September 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
As the Tag line says Verbal for Non-Natives

I was a below avg student in English, I always used to wonder what is this argument, reasoning, etc. After I got enrolled for e-Gmat Verbal Online course all my basic were cleared and was able to understand difficult text in easier way. It not only helped me improve my Gmat score but also improved my overall English.

As per sections

The critical reasoning was very good.
The sentence correction tutorials were exceptional.
The reading comprehension was also very good.

I would recommend this course for all as it helped me improve my verbal in every aspect.

Thanks e-Gmat Team!
Cheers
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very useful practice CATs
May 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By shubhamp joined: May 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GMAT Advantage On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I found the 9 practice CATs you get as part of this course very useful. Helped me get better at timing, and also improved my confidence.
You also get to take one of the CATs at a Pearson testing center. I found this quite useful as well - helped me alleviate test-day jitters.
I did find that the verbal section of the Kaplan tests harder than what I actually saw on the GMAT.
When I started the course, I took my first practice test and scored a 640. Towards the end, I was scoring around 700. On the actual GMAT, I scored 760.
As long as you're able to self-study effectively, the on-demand course is quite good.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Completed only 60% of course
May 06 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By medeslan joined: May 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  |
The online course, along with the material, is quite demanding. However, each segment significantly improved my comprehension of the GMAT. I particularly walked in the second time around confident I could do the verbal portion, whereas the first time, before I took the course, I was dazed and confused. Most study books don't break down all the hidden gems and traps to look for. They leave you to assess your own mess, but Veritas helped to cut down the time in figuring out what I didn't know. I only completed 60% of the course and it still helped me achieve the score I needed, which was above 500. Had I completed everything, I'm confident I would have scored above 600.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent product
May 04 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I did the 7-day trial and I used just two out of the seven days. At the beginning the way the course was showed seemed very odd, but as I spent one more hour on it I immediately made the purchase. Now I know that I did the best choice. The course is very intuitive and easy to keep you on track. You don't feel lost, because you just have to follow the course. They made a very good mix between practice and lessons. As a non-native speaker I feel that I am improving a lot, specially on Sentence Correction.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
650 (Q48,V32) to 730 (Q49,V41)
May 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nanz236 joined: February 7, 2013 | 14 | 12 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Hey guys. I took my GMAT again last week and scored a 730 (Q49,V41). A neat improvement compared to my dismal first attempt 650 (Q48,V32)

Unlike the 2 month or 2 week success stories, mine spanned across 1 full year. I started prep last February, and took GMAT 1 in August. I took a break for a couple of months and started preparing again from November to December.

I signed up for MGMAT class for my first attempt and signed up for e-GMAT for my second. E-GMAT was a crucial factor that helped me to V41. The beautiful SC course and its meaning based approach, helped me master SC and cut down overall time taken to answer the questions. I went through the SC course quite a few times before the process became ingrained.

Critical reasoning (pre-thinking) also helped a lot although I did not attend more than two session (too many distractions in the class), but their online course is nice.

some pointers:
e-GMAT works for non-natives. I was quite doubtful seeing so many good reviews, but now that I have experienced it I would say go for it if verbal is pulling you down.

Some feedback for the e-GMAT team : I found the online sessions were long and way too many distractions in-terms of questions that were asked. With limited prep time for folks, you might want to focus on content delivery as a separate class and a followup tutorial to address questions. That said, the online prep material is perfect and effective.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings