Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [836]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Taking up prep course does make a huge difference
April 30 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By AmiGMAT joined: October 8, 2013 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took up Veritas course under the instructor, Ravi Sreerama in February 2014. Before taking up the course I was skeptical about online preparation courses. But Ravi changed my views. He is a phenomenal teacher. He knows how to make the student learn with fun. He makes his class very interactive and develops a sense of healthy competition among the students.
Moreover, Veritas provides with a full set of course material and a huge number of practice problems on each topic. Additionally, you get 15+ CAT practice tests which are exact simulation of actual GMAT. Also it gives you 2 hours of homework help daily when you can clear your doubts from the instructors.
Most importantly, this course gives equal stress on both quants and verbal. They guide us for IR and AWA too.
Another good experience with Veritas was its customer service. They are always ready to help you whenever you need them and even they call you themselves to know about your feedback.
When i prepared on my own my GMAT score was 590(Q=49,V=23. After taking up the Veritas course my score increased to 650(Q=46,V=34). My quants score dropped due to my over-confidence, otherwise my score would have been still better.
Overall my experience with Veritas was very satisfactory and I would definitely recommend this course to everyone who want to shine on GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT SC course
April 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By aditir joined: September 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took my GMAT exam in September 2013 & was not happy with my score. I’m fairly good at Quant, but to score well in verbal, I needed a good Sentence Correction (SC) score. My friends from my GMAT Preparatory Coaching Institute recommended the SC course of e-gmat.
I am a non-native speaker of English & certain nuances of the language have always escaped me for some reason under the pressure of time constraints. I read the Manhattan GMAT Sentence Correction book, and found it very useful, but it could not match the Audio-Visual (AV) approach of e-gmat.
In my view, e-gmat is an excellent course, mainly due to the AV approach of teaching, which is akin to a classroom environment. Sections in any AV module or lesson could be stopped and played again numerous times at any moment for fortifying the conceptual understanding of the topic. Also, examples when played out in an AV format tend to get embedded with the concept better, as compared with classroom study or self-study. Moreover, all topics are summarised in brief PDF’s for quick reviews before exam day.
I recommend anyone having problems in understanding SC concepts to first do e-gmat. For more advanced topics, the Manhattan GMAT sentence correction book can be referred, as one would have already acquired a solid foundation to tackle the advanced topics.​
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
The on demand videos are recommendable
April 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
Once I was done with the self-study using standard books, I switched over to the on-demand sessions that are available online. I did some analysis by comparing feedback from forums and features and prices from the websites. My weakness was mostly on the verbal section, as is common for most non-native speakers, and I felt Optimus would suit my needs for mainly this reason and also for breaking the barrier on price.

The online sessions are presented by three expert tutors for each field, each of whom is a 99%iler and a celebrity in the world of GMAT tutoring...talk about creme de la creme. In the 30 extremely informative sessions they basically went through each page in the manual, covered the underlying concepts and explained how to work through each problem, quant and verbal. Even though I had answered most of the questions correctly, watching how they attacked each problem was a real eye opener.

Manhattan, Veritas, Princeton, Knewton and Kaplan - the five corners of the star known as GMAT Prep did not realize that another entrant was gearing up to shake things. After each session, there are sets of additional problems to be done on your own. The student has unlimited access to the content, which is surprisingly refreshing, compared to the big 5. The icing on the cake is access to 8 complete GMAT CATs. Add to it the score improvement or money back policy, and you have a clear winner. No wonder this course has been rated as the best in GMATClub, whose discount reduces the price of this course to an extremely competitive $299, whereas the other prep companies charge in the range of $350 to $1150 for a similar product.

The downloadable course material is a compendium of the necessary Quant & Verbal topics. This covers all the basics pretty well, and has loads of practice questions after every sub topic, which works great. I hate reading piles and piles of material before being able to apply it, so this was a treat. After every few pages, there's a drill consisting of several questions. This format meant that I breezed through the material and finished it in no time. The book covered RC really well, nothing too detailed, just the essentials, and in just the right dose. I had been out of school for several years, but after a few hours into the sessions I felt as if I was back to those good old days.

I had been studying for some other office related courses too, and I know the feeling of studying non-stop. Sometimes it felt like my head was about to explode. The GMAT on demand courses really helped. Optimus prep has great strategies and study tips that can help you optimize your studying time.

The GMAT score, while only one part of business school admissions application, can be the difference between getting accepted or rejected at your first-choice school. I suggest you think carefully regarding the implications of choosing the wrong prep course. I can absolutely recommend Optimus on demand videos. They did great for me, if you consider 740 a good score!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great if you have limited time for study
April 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Vizy joined: March 30, 2014 | 4 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
My profile: non-native, didn't any math in a long time.
It took me 2.5 months to complete 92% of the course. So there is a lot of material and a good question bank especially for math. Math questions were very alike original stuff with theory covering everything from the bottom. With adaptive system quant was great, I think I started with less than 40 in the quant and now I hit 50 on average.
Verbal didn't felt that good for me. There is a good pack of theory, especially for SC. I didn't actually finish verbal part and didn't get my hands on harder questions but original thing felt way harder. Questions definitely hammer basics into you but it probably wasn't enough for my level.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
eGMAT's VLP - Most comprehensive course
April 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By thoufique joined: September 28, 2013 | 18 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
After getting a 570 in my first attempt, I started looking for a comprehensive course which would help me crack the GMAT verbal, which was my weakest part. I was recommended to join eGMAT's VLP course by my friend who was also struggling with Verbal. I went through all the free links provided by eGMAT and decided to go with it.

eGMAT's verbal live prep is the best course for non-natives. I am glad I took this course. While answering sentence-correction questions I never used to be confident . After applying the 'Meaning' based approach, I got the right answers very quickly. More importantly I need not think about the previous answers while answering the new questions. Such
is the confidence given by this approach.

In CR questions I never heard of a concept called 'Pre-Thinking'. eGMAT is the first company to introduce this. Using this concept one can pre-think the correct answer choice without even looking at answer choices. After arriving at an answer choice one needs to only look for that choice in the given 5 choices. This reduces the time consumed by CR questions.

The RC course helped me to master the most challenging passages. It helped me to keep focus and discussed all types of question types involved. Once the process is followed, everything seems easy.

Initially it takes some time to develop an expertise in these approaches. But once these approaches are mastered, answering the questions will be a cake-walk. I found tremendous improvements in both my accuracy and time-management using this.

It also has Live sessions, which helped me to solidify the concepts and clarify any doubts. Sessions are conducted every week and the instructors make the concepts crystal clear. I liked Rajat, Payal, Shraddha, Chiranjeev and Krishna.
These sessions are also recorded, one can view them any time.

I forgot to mention that VLP has workshops too. These workshops ared designed to take the preparation to upper levels. They help to maximize the score. It also gives access to EDVENTO and 800score.com's mocks. IR is also taken care by this course.

As I said earlier, VLP is the most comprehensive course available. I have scheduled my exam in July and I am confident I'll get to a great score this time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Concise Math Review
April 26 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ankitas87 joined: March 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I've began studying for the GMAT not too long ago and I come from a zero math background. I began with the Manhattan materials, along with Veritas, and I found that I was in vast sea of information ... wondering around aimlessly. Magoosh helped me narrow down on the topics I absolutely needed to master to Ace the GMAT. The easy to understand lesson videos and the quick after every section provided me with a structure to my learning process.
However, I did think much of the math topics were overly simplified. I felt that topics such as Inequalities, absolute values, word problems lacked focus.
Hence, if I would not recommend Magoosh to be a student's one and only source to learn the basics from and jump into the OG questions. I would highly recommed for Magoosh to provide additional videos for people who lack a Mathematical background on certain topics.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-gmat verbal a wonderful online course !!
April 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Dear Friends,
I started preparing for GMAT about 10 months back.
Just as any other individual, I decided to give it a shot by reading the official guides for verbal.
Though, I was a good English student, I was not able to actually arrive at the right answers, just by virtue of my own guess work.
I knew, it required a structured approach to actually get to the right answer.
I tried to search the Internet for the best way to get a good hold of the verbal part. (as my quantitative aptitude was decent.)
I stumbled upon e-GMET verbal online course and went ahead and enrolled for the course.

The critical reasoning was very good.
The sentence correction tutorials were exceptional.
The reading comprehension was also very good.

Now I really feel confident while answering the questions.
The best part is for most of the questions, right away, I become very sure of how to eliminate the wrong answers.
Then, based on the course, the right answer becomes very obvious and I feel confident on selecting it.

There are other nice points, I would like to add.
1) e-GMAT online support team is really good, to reply back to any of the queries we have for them.
2) the turn-around time from their side is really marvellous.
3) Also along with the subscritpion confimation mail, we get, they also send us a wonderful study plan. Try and follow it.


Overall, I feel that the e-GMAT verbal online course is a really good course and do recommend it to the GMAT takers !!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent course!
April 24 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By dk87390 joined: April 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi, the instructor, was great! Given the range of topics and problems that need to be reviewed, Ravi was effective and efficient with the use of our time. The course allowed me to engage each problem with more confidence.

The course was comprehensive and broken down by fundamentals, strategy, and homework. As long as the student puts in the time and effort, his/her results will improve! Bottom line, this course will truncate the amount of time you will need to study on your own and expedite results.

My score increase from 590 to 660 on the practice test!

I would highly recommend Veritas Prep to a friend.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Comprehensive and excellent for studying on the go
April 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By DaithiT joined: December 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I initially chose the Economist GMAT tutor based on favorable online reviews and the fact that it has an iPad app as I don't always have access to a laptop/pc.

I have been very impressed however by the layout and logical layered approach followed by the course. Questions are posed during and after each topic and even timed to reflect real testing scenarios. I would go so far as saying that I have found studying for the GMAT using the Economist Tutor app to be a very painless and surprisingly enjoyable experience.

Being able to study in segments for as little as 15 and offline have allowed me to continuously study even when I'm busy and travelling which I do a lot. I highly recommend this course.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Megan Kucik at Veritas helped me get into the 700s!
April 22 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By cmcdonald joined: April 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Megan Kucik
After spending nearly 8 months preparing on my own using the standard GMAT prep books, I took the GMAT and walked out with a 650. I was very discouraged because I felt that I had done all that I could do to prep myself, but was not even close to my target score (700+). I knew I needed help.

I began to research GMAT prep courses and decided to go with Veritas for a number of reasons: schedule flexibility, their score-improvement guarantee, and the fact that they offered a discount for military personnel (I fall into this category). I could not be happier with my choice!

Luckily, Megan Kucik was slotted to teach my class. I cannot say enough good things about Megan as an instructor. She is extremely knowledgeable, is a superb communicator, patient, and consistently demonstrates a real passion for helping her students. After a long day at work, it was always refreshing to log into class and feel the positive energy that Megan brings to each and every lesson!

I thought the course curriculum flowed very well and did a great job at breaking down the seemingly insurmountable GMAT into easy to conquer pieces. It offered a comprehensive review of all the basic skills necessary for success on the GMAT. Aside from test content, the course taught me great test taking strategies, which I found to be the key to making the leap into the 700s.

After the course, I took the GMAT again and came away with a 710! I could never have done it without Megan and the rest of the Veritas team! I highly recommend them if you are looking to tackle the GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings