Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1702]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Gold Package keeps what it promises
June 09 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: June 9, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  170 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
Thank you so much Optimus Prep for helping me! The online on demand videos were so useful and thorough, I don’t know why I didn’t start with this in the first place. I wasted almost 2 months studying on my own (inefficiently it turns out, my tutor showed me that) and didn’t see almost any improvement at all. If anything I got lost behind all the technical question types and was so turned around that I didn’t even know what I was supposed to be looking for. The videos organized everything for me and took me through it all step by step, and the time with the private tutor cleared up any more questions that I had. Probably the biggest help from the tutor was the diagnostic the he did. It showed me where my weaknesses were so we didn’t waste our 5 hours together going over material that wouldn’t help me so much. I finally reached my target score and I couldn’t be happier! When I started with my prep I achieved only 500 points in the diagnostic test. Finally I scored 670 points on the GMAT...Thank you again!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magood Review
June 08 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By DvdBonan joined: March 2, 2013 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I really enjoyed using Magoosh and the online videos were extremely helpful. What I enjoyed most about Magoosh was the ability for it to estimate your quant and verbal score (which was very accurate). I loved the dashboard, comparing your pace to the average pace, as well as the average number of questions you get right.

The videos were really detailed and informative. They are broken down into the different sections of question types you will experience when taking your test (i.e. critical reasoning, reading comprehension, and sentence correction are all broken down even further).

Although the questions and videos were helpful, i found I was only able to improve my GMAT score by 20 points.

I do think it is great value for someone who has not used any other tools and the price is the most reasonable compared to other companies.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
The best Verbal Prep out there!
June 08 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: December 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
Getting a great verbal score in GMAT is tough and that is why I had spent a lot of time researching the market for the best course. E-GMAT verbal online prep makes it extremely simple to understand the material. It explains the basic concept in such an effortless manner that their implementation becomes very easy. The tricks and techniques that it teaches to solve difficult critical reasoning or sentence correction questions are very helpful. Whilst I am still preparing for my exam I feel very confident with the way my understanding and performance has improved since I have taken this course. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is looking to get a competitive score in GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent learning experience from a world class instructor
June 08 | 2015

       By sivakumarvp joined: May 27, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Chris Kane
I have not scored good score in my first attempt by preparing by myself. After that I had analyzed all leading GMAT prep courses based on the information available in websites and forums. I had next listen to sample videos before choosing Veritas prep.
I would like to provide my review in four key areas.

Skill builder: After 15 years in the industry, preparing for GMAT is not easy. The way materials were written and depth of the content are excellent such that anyone can understand without much effort and provide nice platform before the class.

Home work problems and online support: There are so many problems for practice and excellent online support so that you never feel that you have been left off.[SP:] Veritas support is second to none.

Online class room: I was worried before choosing online class as there might not be that much interaction with the instructor. At the same time, I have to drive 90 mins to attend face to face classes. I travel for business during the week. I thought I will try online class once. After attending the classes, I, now confidently recommend anyone to Veritas prep online class. The best thing is everyone can interact with instructor at the same time through live chat. One of main reason is the instructor.
Instructor:
Chris is very thorough in GMAT content and Veritas prep materials. He answered all the questions and explained everything including the problems received from outside materials clearly. He don't even waste single minute of three hours class. Even during the five minutes break, he gave a problem to solve. He watches everyone while choosing answer choices and switching between the answer choices and explain the thought process went in students mind exactly. He motivates people as well as tells the reality. He also helps students to set a realistic targets. I recommend anyone who would like to prepare for GMAT to attend Chris's class. Chris also recommends outside books as necessary and those are excellent. I learned a lot. Thank you Chris!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
I recommend e-GMAT Verbal
June 06 | 2015

       By SirishaS joined: June 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I'm positively impressed by the quality of e-GMAT test prep. The course and study plan are well structured and this helped me a lot in developing my verbal score. I now feel more confident handling the verbal section, and the tips and hints provided are easier to understand and significantly reduced the time required to answer each question. Verbal grammar study starts with very basics and there are short assessments before the start and end of each module / topic and hence you know which topics you need a detailed study/guidance. I would highly recommend e-GMAT course for all non-native speakers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course
June 06 | 2015

       By alphonsa joined: July 22, 2014 | 117 | 113 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
E-GMAT verbal course - Simply amazing. It made verbal very easy for me.

I would recommend this course highly for non-natives.
The sentence correction course is outstanding.
Thank you e-gmat for the wonderful course.

The course is balanced with each of SC, RC and CR. The video courses are concise and designed for beginners and helped me focus on the core. I am greatly impressed by the sentence correction strategies in the module. The logical approach to solve SC questions is excellent.

During my 20 days preparation, I realized how good the verbal online course is. Special mention for SC, because I think this is the best course which anybody can take and become comfortable with nuances of SC- sentence structure,meaning and spotting the errors.SC is structured in very easy to understand mode . Moreover, the articles written for SC is superb.In CR, Structure and pre-thinking steps gives a solid understanding of the argument. In RC, solution technique for Inference question was best.But the best part is verbal workshop. I recommend everyone to attend it,because it gives you the points where you have to focus (even you have studied full and getting a good score in mocks).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great prep software
June 06 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ghmaps joined: June 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
Using empowerGMAT to study to retake the GMAT and so far it has been awesome. Great video explanations, TEST IT strategies, etc.

Rich's explanation of TEST IT and Test the Answers and other empower tactics have been very helpful as I prepare for round 2 of taking the GMAT.

I used empowerGMAT before but I sucked at pacing myself, so this time around I'm using the score booster lesson to beat my official score and focus on pacing.

I've recommended empowerGMAT to others because it is at your ow pace, the modules are self-explanatory and there are videos for every question in the book. Really great resource if you want to become a GMAT assassin.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good course for a very fair price
June 06 | 2015

       By nuray1982 joined: June 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
The self-studying course from optimus prep was the most affordable option for me…
I didn’t want to/could not spend all the money for a private tutor. But it turned out that the videos were super informative. All the problems that I had during practice tests I’ve done with other companies were addressed in the opt prep videos. The tutors in the video were easy to understand and the quality of the gmat material and the actual video were both really nice. I felt like I had my own private tutor whenever I watched the video, but maybe even better because I could do it completely at my own pace. If you are trying to raise your score and don’t want to spend a fortune for help, optimus prep on demand is a great solution.
I scored 530 in the diagnostic and finally 680 in the test center!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas/Chris K - the only way to go!
June 05 | 2015

       By AJC2014 joined: October 29, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Chris Kane
When I first started studying for the GMAT, I was reluctant to pay for a course. But after self-directed study, I had a 670 and a Quant score that just wouldn't budge from the basement. When I was waitlisted at two schools, I knew I had to change that score. So I did some research, found Veritas' popular reviews, and signed up for a live online course with Chris Kane.

I wish I hadn't wasted so much time before taking it!

A few days after I enrolled, a small library of prep books arrived on my doorstep. The Veritas curriculum is super-thorough and easy to follow. For each topic segment, it refreshes all your relevant skills from high school, builds on them during a live lesson, and then leaves you with loads of homework problems to practice with. The online solutions and videos are a great aid in sorting through problems and identifying what you're doing wrong, and the timed practice quizzes help you gradually build a sense of pacing.

The class itself was awesome. To be honest, I was worried that I would get bored with an online class and would become disengaged. Not the case. Chris is a great instructor who really 'gets' the underlying logic of the GMAT (even wrote some of the curriculum!) and is able to teach it to you in a way that is accessible. That's really an important point! The GMAT is a stressful test that's really good at freaking people out. Chris was able to dissolve that intimidation, and made GMAT study conquerable and - dare I say it - fun. Chris made himself available for Q&A's, email, phone calls - whatever we needed to get a grasp on the material.

So if you're still on the fence, here's your answer: SIGN UP NOW (and take Chris, because he's basically the bees' knees).

Veritas is a great company, and its program really prepares you to dismantle any problem into bite-sized, solvable pieces - an invaluable skill on test day. The course is a bit of work, but it's worth it. My only regret is that I waited this long to take a Veritas course: my score improved from a 670 to 730!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Class
June 05 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By jg95 joined: May 31, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The class was great, the material covered is essential to know in order to well on the test, and the strategy that is taught makes the test much easier. The teacher really cared about his students and would answer any questions students had. Veritas Prep also has a second teacher on stand-by strictly to answer any questions. The course was very helpful and I improved my score to where I wanted it to be! The course helps you point out your weaknesses and allows you to focus on those areas. The skillbuilders and homework are crucial in order to get the most out of the course, the class alone will is not enough. There are also office hours and several online resources that come with the course that are extremely helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings