Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1778]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
AWESOME SELF STUDY COURSE
July 17 | 2015

       By vinayavasu joined: June 17, 2014 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I have taken many courses but i haven't had a great improvement of scores. Den i came across the free session of e gmat verbal live prep . On taking that alone , i began to change the way i used to attempt the questions . That gave a leap of score to me. So i decided to join the full sessions in detail , But on taking the verbal live prep , i could see drastic improvements on my score wherein i was able to correct small mistakes which i had been making and not knowing about it in detail.I could feel the difference in each section Thank you egmat :) :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep Online Course
July 17 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By austinp629 joined: July 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehill
I took the Veritas Prep Online course that met on Saturdays and Sundays. The course was a great way to improved my GMAT skills and also learn some helpful strategies. I feel that the course was very beneficial and provided a good foundation for my GMAT preparation. Ethan was a great instructor and was able to keep the class engaged throughout the lessons. He was very knowledgeable and helpful whenever a student asked a question. He had various "E-file" tips and strategies that went above and beyond the Veritas Prep provided material. I would recommend Veritas Prep and Ethan to anyone beginning to study for the GMAT or looking to improve their score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Poorly Designed
July 17 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By chadmg joined: July 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
While the course could be great, the lack of structure costs it big. The website needs a defined course to help students learn the proper material. It also depends far too heavily on outside material (OG Guide, Manhattan Prep, etc.)

Overall, the lack of study guidance coupled with the courses poor structure led me to this review. I invested hours upon hours of studying into this course with no improvement to my score. Even though the price is so low, one would still expect some amount of a score increase.

I would strongly recommend a more robust course for those seeking a moderate score improvement.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best of online GMAT courses
July 16 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By indranathdaw joined: July 1, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I had taken a classroom coaching before enrolled for e-gmat. I was not satisfied with the Verbal section as a non native I had serious grammar related problems. I searched for various courses on GMATCLUB forum and found e-gmat as most recommended course. I now realised the basic concepts are very clear for me, thanks to e-gmat for wonderful content creation & design. Newly launched Scholaranium is good as it tried to replicate the Gmatprep test pattern with advantage of demonstrating individual areas of weakness, especially on various concepts, and TAKT time measurement. Live sessions are good for learning with peers, sessions are additional resources for strategy for answering hard questions.
The most important aspect of the course is the care taken by experts to answer all my queries in timely manner, even if they are silly in some instances.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Best instructor ever!
July 16 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ishanie joined: July 15, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took the Live online course. While I must admit that I was apprehensive about an online course, Ravi's teaching style totally blew me away! There was one day that I couldn't attend one of Ravi's live sessions, and signed up for a make up session in another instructor's course. I don't mean to throw anyone under the bus, but I could see the difference in what sets Ravi apart! His classes are so engaging that you almost forget that you're actually sitting through a 3 hour long session! All in all, I would definitely recommend this course by Veritas - and try to get into Ravi's session!
Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by stephyw on August 19, 2015
Hi Ishanie, Do you mind if I ask how your score improved? I am thinking about signing up with Ravi this fall. I have taken several practice tests and have been studying on my own for a serious 4 months. I have hit a plateau around 650, I know I can come close to that 700. I'm wondering if this is the best method, of it private tutoring is a better option. Thanks, Stephanie
 
excellent
July 15 | 2015

       By bharani44 joined: October 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
i got a 690 first time , i did not have much time to use e-gmat then. I am taking my second test on july 27th and hoping to break the 700 barrier. E-gmat will be helpful here.

Material used
1. e gmat
2. gmat prep
3. OG books

stay away from MGMAT as it just demotivates people.

Practice tests are the key to success, take a minimum of 5 - 6 tests before the real exam.

I signed up for Verbal CR and SC sections in e - GMAT and it helped me tremendously in CR section.

My weakest section on the test day was SC and i am putting in more effort on that topic to improve my score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Bang on for Gmat Verbal
July 15 | 2015

       By JasonClark joined: November 20, 2014 | 1 | 2 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
Egmat verbal online course is bang on to those who want to improve their verbal score.
It is quite handy for those who are stuck at 20-25 verbal score and want to push it to 38 and beyond.
Be it SC or CR or RC, they have a systematic approach to each and every question type.

Course Details:
The course has pre-recorded videos and a self assessment tool called "Scholaranium" .
After every topic, there will be an assessment quiz to test your understanding of the topic. The Scholaranium tool is an advanced analytics tool to assess one's weaknesses and strengths. They use a unique technique called Tackt time for timing strategies.

My Experience:
For me CR was a major improvement area. I would always jot down to 2 options and get the incorrect choice marked.
With the Pre-thinking strategy of egmat, I knew where I was going wrong. This strategy helped me in going from 5-6 wrong CR questions to 1-2.
Egmat SC has the simplest way of approach. This approach made me realize that GMAT afterall is an adaptive test and If you get to know the nuances of it, anyone cross the barrier of 700 score.

I personally liked the verbal course, considering the fact that I was a non-native speaker and from engineering background.
I would highly recommend this course for verbal score improvement. This course is a perfect ROI :P

And not to forget that the Egmat team is always there to clarify doubts and answer any queries regarding the test as such.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas A+
July 14 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By jayjones25 joined: June 1, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Before I took this class I was struggling to find a solid approach to best attack the GMAT. Part of my problem was finding the right materials. I wont say that the other materials I bought were a waste, but I did not use them much after I started using the Veritas study materials.

Materials I bought were Kaplan (just a book), Princeton (just a book), Official GMAT (will actually use these questions for practice), and the entire Manhattan Series (only used sentence correction because I am terrible at that but if you want something really basic to start out with and get your feet wet I would get both the manhattan foundation books, even though all of this was covered in Veritas skillbuilders).

Veritas Prep breaks the class into 3 sections.
Skillbuilders - teach you the essential skills for the GMAT
Class - Teaches you specific strategies
Problems - Lets you practice both of them

The skillbuilders were videos and made it 1000x easier for me to stay focus and actually enjoy learning the skills. The actual class was great because my instructor Ravi made it enjoyable to learn strategies and them apply them and kept me on track. The were so many practice problems and I feel I will have enough practice by the time I sit for my test (gave myself a month for extra help after the class).

Overall this class was a blast and kept me on track and taught me enough to succeed on this exam! I would really recommend Veritas Prep as your study course and esp take it with Ravi if his time slots match up well with yours. It is a very fast paced course so prepare to give it your all!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Non-native English Speaker
July 14 | 2015

       By Saswat89 joined: November 1, 2014 | 5 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I am a non native English speaker and hence verbal is my weak area on GMAT. Hence I was looking for a course on Verbal only. I scouted for few days and then after lot of research, it was e-gmat. Though i am a working professional, i don't get much of time to prepare, but no excuses,started preparing seriously and verbal online of e-gmat is really helpful.I hope i will score a 40 plus in verbal. And then i want to continue with my next review once i complete my GMAT on October 14th. One thing to note, e-gmat team are really helpful. With no doubt you can opt their verbal online course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great for Non native speakers
July 13 | 2015

       By mytokarpieu joined: July 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
As a non native speaker, I learned a lot of tips that I would have otherwise not have seen in other prep courses.
I recommend that you make sure to have enough time to strengthen your foundations in grammar, vocabulary, idioms etc. The course is dedicated to provide you with the best strategy for the verbal section.

The material was also good, though it emphasized the strategy. It taught me how to approach the verbal section and question types which I would not have learned without this resource.

This is a great course. I was very surprised at how interactive the online class format was. It is great learning experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings