Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [992]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Perfect GMAT Prep Course!
August 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By clkell36 joined: April 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Steve Odabashian
The Veritas Prep Live Online Course was the perfect combination of convenience and challenge that I have been striving to obtain. My specific class only had at most four students and at times only two so that almost one on one attention was very attainable with this course. Not only was the teacher great at explaining problems he also made sure we would understood them by getting our consent. He also stayed later for a bit after class just in case we had any questions. I really felt as though he cared and always gave his honest opinion and feedback. The way they mix up the classes are great too because one class will be dedicated to quant while the next class will be dedicated to verbal. The way that they transcend from one to another really builds upon what you've learned from the previous class and makes perfect sense.

The tools that are also provided on the website are such a great help and provide the perfect practice problems with detailed solutions that always help me to understand how to solve any specific problems. The best part is that if you still don't understand the problem you are able to email homework help and they always email you back within a reasonable amount of time with the best explanations. You are given year to have full access to the website and Im am sad to say that my year will be up in about three months. I would recommend this program to anyone who needs help in quant, verbal, or both!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent On-Demand Prep Course
August 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I'm very satisfied with my Optimus prep experience. I decided on the on-demand video format because I live in a city that does not offer the in-person classes, and I'm so happy I went with it. The course is very well structured and extremely organized, and really builds upon your knowledge in a logical manner. I've always been apprehensive about online courses, feeling that I'd get the most bang for my buck if I was physically in a classroom. I found the instructors I spoke with were very caring and helpful, and on many occasions the instructors wouldn't hesitate to spend an extra few minutes past the half hour time slot to finish up a problem I had trouble with whenever I needed to touch base with them.
The Optimus materials are just excellent. I had written the GMAT once prior to this course and received a score of 620, which I was unhappy with. I had previously tried out one prep book from another company, and when I started with the Optimus videos, I was completely amazed by how detailed and coherent the information was. The Number Properties and Sentence Correction videos, in particular, were very impressive. All of the videos really offered many unique and effective strategies, such as back solving and number picking, I had never previously heard well of, and really seemed to touch upon everything. I was amazed at how easily digestible the information was presented.

What I also loved about the course is the adaptive feature and that it recognizes the competency level by the amount of correct answers. One can build as many own customized GMAT practice tests as you wish, you can also practice only certain GMAT concepts in these practice tests, 9 full GMAT practice tests, over 5000 questions with explanations, the course gives you instructions and recommendations how to proceed and which areas to study again. The various test generator functions are a great value add for practicing strategy for the real test. I felt that the practice exams were on par with level of difficulty of the actual exam, so that was excellent preparation. I chose to use the detailed study organizer excel, so each day had scheduled reading that I could choose to stay on top of. I felt my heart pound as I saw my unofficial score at the Pearson testing center... 760 99th Percentile. Thank you Optimus prep for bringing a big smile to my face. Big leap from my earlier score. I had many friends recommend various GMAT prep classes, but in the end decided to do Optimus prep GMAT. I could not have been more pleased with my choice. The videos were fantastic and feedback (analytics) was beneficial. I exceeded my target score by 30 points and have Optimus GMAT to thank. Without the on-demand prep, I would not have been able to score as well as I did. I highly recommend the Optimus GMAT program to anyone interested in taking a prep course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Magoosh review
August 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 10, 2013 | 5 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I had already used Magoosh for my GRE Prep and was very satisfied with the product scope so I decided to use it for my GMAT Prep again.

I come from Germany and I am confident about my quant skills so the Verbal section was of special importance to me.

The video lectures were extremely helpful and supported me in adjusting my feeling for English grammar to the GMAT standards. I improved a lot and scored frequently high on the mock exams.

Unfortunately, I was not able to convey these to the full extent to the real exam and scored 39. Still I am satisfied with the score which I achieved with the great Magoosh lessons.

Thank you guys!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep course – A launch pad to score 700+ on the GMAT
August 23 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By avkamat joined: December 8, 2010 | 3 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
It is rightly said "Choice of the right coaching class is the most valuable gift that you can give to yourself" and e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep course, indeed, is the most valuable gift a GMAT aspirant, especially the one who is struggling with the verbal section, can give to himself / herself.

Well, I stumbled upon e-GMAT.com while I was exploring gmatclub.com. The positive reviews about e-GMAT left me with no option, but to join e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep course. To begin with, I still ensured the course offerings by subscribing to e-GMAT free trial in SC, CR & RC section covering videos, articles and live online session. The free trial experience was exactly the same as it was mentioned in the reviews that I had already read. I immediately subscribed to the Verbal Live Prep course. To my surprise, the course not only included SC, CR and RC section, but also included Integrated Reasoning (IR) section which is extremely organized as well like SC, CR and RC section.

Sentence Correction (SC)
-----------------------------------
The SC course inculcates in you a logical procedure/process to approach SC questions by using three-step process. The emphasis on spending majority of time on understanding the sentence meaning followed by the error analysis makes the last step of eliminating the wrong answer choices a cake walk. Therefore, meaning first approach is crucial especially when you are solving 700+ level questions. Trust me; you will immediately start seeing positive results using the e-GMAT's three-step process to crack SC questions.

Critical Reasoning (CR)
-------------------------------
The CR course inculcates in you a logical procedure/process to approach the CR questions by using pre-thinking technique. To begin with, the explanations to the key terms, which build the CR argument, such as Premise, Conclusion, Counter-Premise, Intermediate-Conclusion help in clear understanding of the complex CR arguments. Furthermore, creating logical structures & pre-thinking helps in quickly eliminating the wrong answer choices.

Reading Comprehension (RC)
----------------------------------------
The RC course inculcates in you a logical procedure/process to approach the RC questions by using reading strategies concepts. The course is perfectly organized covering explanations to all the types of RC questions that one encounters on the GMAT such as Main Point, Inference, etc.

Overall the Verbal Live Prep is unique and one-of-a-kind course with following key advantages:
- Extremely organized course curriculum for SC, CR & RC section including study plan, practice questions & its explanations
- High quality videos with detailed explanations
- Live sessions to interact with faculty/experts & see how they approach 700+ level problems using e-GMAT process
- Interactive forums to discuss queries
- 247 email support from the e-GMAT team

I highly recommend Verbal Live Prep course to all GMAT aspirants who are looking to improve accuracy and timing in verbal section.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent course to improve your Verbal accuracy
August 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By coolparthi joined: November 10, 2013 | 12 | 7 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I can not emphasize more about this course and the instructors: Payal and Rajat are awesome! After joining this live course, my SC accuracy increased from 70% to 90%. E-gmat strategy for pre-thinking is equally good (Pre think at least one assumption before jumping on to the answer choices). CR accuracy increased from 65% to 80%. This course streamlined my process of answering SC/CR questions; I started emphasizing on the meaning of the sentence for SC and on the argument structure/pre thinking after joining the verbal live course. Verbal live course is on the tougher side and emphasizes more on the harder questions.

Strengths:
• Covers key areas in sentence correction for the GMAT
• Re-enforces the lesson with quizzes
• Can use at your own pace
• Different levels to complete before moving to next one

I recommend e-gmat course for non-natives.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I increased 80 points because of this course
August 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By carlobou joined: August 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I took one of the exams from the GMAT Prep Software before I started the program and scored 640 (I don't remember my quant score but I got a 32V and 6/8 in IR). After 9 CAT exams and 2 months training with the The Economist GMAT app I achieved 720 on my actual GMAT (49Q, 38V, 8/8 IR, 5.0/6 AWA). The app helped a lot with my Verbal skills, I even got a 42V on my CAT exams but had fever on the day of the exam and could barely finish it on the test day. I would also recommend the program for your essay (AWA) training. Whenever you submit an essay you'll a really harsh review as feedback but don't feel let down because I got a 3.0-3.5, 4.0-4.5 and even 2.5-3.0 and on my test I got 5.0. The essay reviews may not be realistic on the way they evaluate you but the way they teach how to write the AWA is pretty easy and intuitive. I did not use the app for my IR training, I didn't train for that but the Math training is pretty straight-forward and it's even more difficult than what you'll actually find on your test. Don't over-train yourself with other programs. I definitely recommend you this program. I took because I had not much choices living in Peru (South America for those who don't know it) and helped me a lot!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
effective course for GMAT verbal
August 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Babar28 joined: November 11, 2013 | 8 | 8 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Since i am a Non-native, verbal portion of GMAT was a riddle for me. Also, my work routine did not allow me to devote full time to GMAT studies. As a result, GMAT preparation was a challenge for me. However, i found E-GMAT on internet. I subscribed to the course and found the lessons very effective. While i was in the middle of VLive course, i solved a gmat test and saw an improvement of 6 points (FROM 21 TO 28). All the concepts in E-GMAT videos are very well explained. Even the minute concepts of SC are very well addressed. I salute the E-GMAT team for designing such a wonderful Verbal course. It is because of E-GMAT that i scored 34 points in verbal in actual GMAT.

Thankyou E-GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent product !!!!
August 21 | 2014

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By adgaonkar joined: September 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Am a non-native speaker. When I decided to take my GMAT, I enrolled myself at GMATClub. I then started reviewing the courses on GC as well as on websites of courses. I have also started the trial subscriptions of almost all leading courses. Along with my trial experience and review on GC, I have decided to enroll for e-Gmat. Stil,l for second opinion, I asked one of my friends for his suggestion of good online learning tool. He said that blindly go for e-gmat.

That's how I joined the e-gmat's verbal online prep course. Its concept are very systematically organized and are followed by quizzes. Considering my good experience of learning with verbal online prep. I have upgraded my package to another wonderful course VERBAL-LIVEPREP.
Verbal liveprep in combination with verbal online gives a perfect blend of self-study and classroom experience. LivePrep sessions are conveniently arranged on weekends and are very interactive. These sessions are gives us an idea of depth of our preparation and areas of improvement. We also come to know our level of preparation relative to other batchmates. Price, when compared to other preps is also a plus-point for this course.

One more good thing about e-gmat is their support team, whenever I had a query, I received response to my mail promptly and needless to say positively !

Thus, I recommend Verbal liveprep course to all GMAT takers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great experience with the exception of CAT exams
August 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rss92 joined: July 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Brett Kimball
Overall I had a great experience with Manhattan GMAT. I took a 9-week, online class with Brett Kimball, and actually enjoyed attending class sessions. He did a great job tailoring the class material to our level. I was very nervous about the "online" nature of the class beforehand, because I've never been great at learning off of a computer. However, the software MGMAT uses for the online sessions is truly fantastic, and I had no trouble remaining engaged in the course.

The course materials were incredibly comprehensive. I've heard of other people studying for the GMAT mix and matching materials from a variety of test prep companies, but I felt that I was 100% prepared with the materials that Manhattan GMAT made available.

One of the most worthwhile features of Manhattan GMAT, for me, were all the materials on the website. GMAT Navigator is a great program for answering prep questions, and the tools to analyze results/progress are really helpful. In addition, the online workshops are great for a deeper dive into a concept at your own pace. I especially liked the one for the Integrated Reasoning section. The question banks were also really helpful, as I was able to really ascertain what my mistakes were in regards to specific topics, and I was able to note what to make sure not to do when I saw those types of questions again. Finally, I found the online forum to be really helpful, especially since the instructors are very active in answering questions.

However, I feel that MGMAT could definitely improve its CAT exam experience, specifically with the Quant section. I found MGMAT's CAT exams' Quant section to be much harder than the real thing, and I ended up having a severe confidence issue with the test because of it. I probably ended up studying much harder and for the wrong topics because of the difficulty gap. I also wasn't able to practice timing properly as I was struggling so much with the difficulty level. I would have really appreciated if MGMAT would have been more upfront about the difficulty level of their exams, especially since I have heard of many people feeling the same way about their CAT Exams as I did. Otherwise, if MGMAT does not want to let its students know that its CAT exams aren't fully accurate, then they should fix the types of questions generated to make them more representative of the actual test. As a testament to this difficulty gap, my best score on a MGMAT CAT was a 720, but on the real thing I scored a 770 (which was comparable to my GMATPrep scores).

Overall, I wouldn't have been able to score as well as I did without the class and resources Manhattan GMAT provided. However, I do feel the inaccurate difficulty of Manhattan GMAT's CAT exams did hurt me in some way. Regardless, I do highly recommend Manhattan GMAT, but advise that when doing their CAT exams you keep in mind this point about difficulty.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-Gmat - The Best
August 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By saurabhgoel joined: May 31, 2010 | 99 | 24 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
e-Gmat is the best course that I found for my Verbal preparation. This course really understand the need of a GMAT aspirant.
In my previous GMAT attempt, in last two weeks I purchased SC online course and found good difference of more than 4 points in my GMAT results.
But because of exam pressure I screwed my Quant section and scored very low 0f 620. I knew I can do better than this both in Verbal and Quant and impressed by SC course I purchased VERBAL Live prep which includes CR, SC , RC etc.

The best which I liked in e-Gmat approach is there approach to solve the questions. The 3 Step process for SC and Pre-thinking concept has given a big boost towards my accuracy. Especially for RC,where my accuracy level was around 50% , I am now solving with more than 80% accuracy.

Also, the e-gmat concept of dealing with Mocks is also very userful. TAKT time concept and on what basis to skip questions is very helpful. I realized GMAT is not only about solving questions but attending GMAT test with a strategy. I can easily notice atleast a 30 points improvements by changing my test strategy of skipping questions.

I can personally recommend e-Gmat to everyone as the best investment in GMAT preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings