Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1521]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Egmat Verbal Live Prep Review
April 03 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
I am a GMAT re-taker and was struggling at verbal section from quite a long time. In my first attempt, 600(Q51,V21). I Scored pretty good at Maths as I always did, but at the same time struggled at Verbal. And then I came across e-gmat's verbal live prep course from forums. I attended 2 free live sessions and found them really amazing.
The live sessions and concept classes are so comprehensive that they do not miss a concept.The advantage in E-GMAT is that the course starts with basic level and moves to advanced level once you gain proficiency in the basic level.
Since the time I started with this course, I could see a huge improvement in my approach to attempt verbal questions. I really believe that this time I should get a good score in verbal.
Hence, I recommend E-GMAT verbal live prep to each and everyone who is looking for improvement in their verbal sections.
Thanks E-GMAT for the wonderful course and all the help provided.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-gmat verbal online is an essential tool for non-natives
April 01 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By abhigyansmit joined: January 4, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
E-gmat verbal online course was very useful during my GMAT preparations. I improved my overall verbal score by 5 points even after not doing exactly as i planned on test date. The SC part of verbal online is brilliant especially the emphasis on the meaning of the sentence. The questions in exercises were challenging and GMAT-like. The CR course was challenging with some good questions and the approach of pre-thinking and understanding the logical structure of the argument was very helpful to me. I have not tried the quant part but i have heard that its very challenging and good for some 700 level practice. Overall, the course is great value for money and it really gives u a strong foundation and practice for the GMAT verbal section.
Regards,
Abhigyan
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Verbal LIVE PREP
March 31 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
Being a non-native and struggling with Verbal part of the GMAT, looked at most of the GMAT blogs for the best GMAT Verbal training provider within a reasonable price. I found e-GMAT Verbal Liveprep, attended the free sessions and it was a no brainer to go ahead and purchase the Verbal LIVE prep Couse. It took some time to get familiar with e-gmat format, e.g.: custom dashboard and other resources. Once I got used to the format, it was very interesting to learn the essential concepts in SC, RC and CR sections of their course. This helped me to pace up and instill confidence with handling the SC questions. In a short amount of time, I was able to make progress with Level I, II & III concepts by following through a number of the SC videos in the course. After going through the courses a few times, I'm able to follow the process (e.g.: pre-thinking) and make the right choice for the right reason. This is very important with Sentence Correction and saves times for CR & RC as well.

Another added advantage with e-GMAT Verbal LIVE PREP is the free access to Grockit GMAT full membership for a year. This helps to practice both Quant & Verbal questions and able to set up a study plan and measure the performance. I am yet to attempt the GMAT and hoping to score 700+ with a good verbal score. Overall, e-GMAT team makes every attempt to provide the best Verbal training starting from basic concepts with lucid explanation.

Thanks
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ravi is an amazing teacher!
March 31 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I was very hesitant to register for this live, online course at first because of the cost; but I'm so glad I went for it. The course is very well structured and you have several ways to get help from instructors. I've been out of school for about 5 years and English is not my first language, so I needed a lot of help. Ravi is honestly the best teacher I've ever had. He was so great at teaching, and he speaks very clearly! He teaches his students how to think more critically/logically and how to solve problems faster and efficiently, which exactly what you need to know. He made difficult problems look so easy! He is always very engaging in every class. With his class, we also had two other instructors in each session to interact with if you have any questions while Ravi is on camera. They're very professional, smart, and friendly. I highly recommend Ravi. I think he also does private tutoring. I'm very happy with my Veritas experience, and I feel a lot more confident about taking my GMAT test now.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
very helpful for self-studying
March 31 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By ryanair joined: March 31, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
hello,

my name is ryan and would like to share my experience with optimus prep.

I bough their GMAT on demand course some time ago and prepared from my iPad. I liked their interface and features from the beginning and started watching the video lessons. they gave me a good and solid understanding of the material and the recommended assignments were great to practice the material.

after i finsihed all video lessons I started to use the custom GMAT quizzes which helped a lot to practice certain areas. Their system helped me in identifying my weakness areas thanks to the included analytic features.

i also liked that integrated reasoning was covered and that the price was acceptable compared to other options.

the only negative point is that this package is purely self-studying package with no tutors. however, they also offer prep options were tutoring is included for extra charge.

this is a cool course and you should try them!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good value prep, but not the best around
March 31 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By alexau joined: November 12, 2014 | 85 | 48 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Overall the course was good for the amount paid. $99 is not a ton to spend on test prep and if you are looking to prep for the GMAT on a budget I would definitely recommend Magoosh.

The video explanations to every question were a nice feature that I had not seen from other test prep companies.

The Verbal questions from Magoosh can be very difficult (more difficult than the actual exam). Some of the RC passages were way too long but overall I think it prepped me a decent amount.

Quant questions were about average. Probably at the level of difficulty one could expect to see on the actual exam.

IR had a horrible format, would avoid these on Magoosh and use GMATPrep for IR stuff.

The score predictor and adaptive setting on Magoosh is way off. This is probably the area where most improvement is needed. The one practice test is just a combination of questions from their question bank and I felt that the adaptive algorithm wasn't very accurate. Score predictor gave me a predicted score well below all of my other practice exams and actual score.

Overall, good product for $99. There are better prep companies out there, but be prepared to spend way more money.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Trust the system
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By sodesa joined: February 9, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
When I first started reviewing the GMAT material (official GMAC guide), I didn't know where to begin. I did some diagnostic tests and was disheartened - rusty maths and couldn't get the verbal section right. I thought "maybe the GMAT isn't for me". I looked at the various material - manhattan, kaplan, khan academy, anything I could get my hands on - and felt daunted by the sheer amount of resources available. There's so much material you don't know where and how to begin.

I came across empowerGMAT and made a calculated decision to follow their modules and recommended sequence. Don't doubt, don't second-guess, just go through the material as per suggested. Important point - I made sure I had committed enough time to give myself a shot (80-100 hours) and went through the course, trusting the system.

As the hours racked up and I did practice CATs, I found my score steadily increasing... I think I did about 15 hours and 1 week between each CAT.

To my absolute joy, the best score I recorded was during the actual GMAT test itself. I hit my target score and am now awaiting the results from a couple of the best B-schools.

If you put in the required hours and trust the EmpowerGMAT system, I assure you that your score WILL improve dramatically - trust the system.

I highly recommend EmpowerGMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A good course
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Dipika123 joined: January 7, 2014 | 19 | 8 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I had joined this course as I was very weak in sentence correction. After confusing myself,using multiple sources to learn the rules, I choose to devote one complete week on exclusively using e-gmat. My hardwork paid off and I choose to rely on e-gmat, along with the official guide+ GMATPrep official question bank to build on my skills. I used e-gmat primarily to learn SC rules and used the official guide to build on my CR and RC skills. A good course for IR as well. Without getting into too much jargons, the course teaches you what you need to know


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
E-gmat verbal review
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 6, 2014 | 3 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
e-gmat SC is no doubt one of the best online course. The concepts are in a proper order and question seem to be upto the standards. This helped me in cementing the SC concepts learnt from other popular book. The visual effects created to build up the SC concepts are awesome. Moreover, the exercises at the end of the concepts are more useful. And, it has list of all the questions from topic wise for all questions from VR2 and OG13. The supporting staff is very helpful.


CR course is also very close to real gmat.
Best thing about the course is the answer explanation.

My initial score was too bad 510.
I improved to 650.
I have GMAT lineup next month, I am confident of improved score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E GMAT review
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By kuntal25 joined: May 23, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I am yet to write GMAT and planning to write on May but the course has helped me to improve my SC and RC preparation
The course is highly recommended for anyone who is unable to improve in SC and RC. E gmat has recently introduced scholarinium which helps to know where one stands in terms of improvement in verbal ability. I have also used escholar platform which has questions of different difficulty levels and helped me to understand my areas of weakness
I hope e gmat comes up with more innovative ideas to help non natives for more effective GMAT preparation
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings