Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [745]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Want to Ace the GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT makes it a lot easier.
January 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By arvindr1234 joined: November 25, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Prior to enrolling with e-GMAT, I had spent approximately $1,000 on test prep with very poor results.
Mock scores: - Before e-GMAT- V28. After e-GMAT- V36

I stumbled upon on e-GMAT through the GMATclub forums. I read the reviews, was impressed by them, yet was skeptical about signing up with them. I then signed up for a free trail and after 3hrs of learning, I decided to sign up with e-GMAT. (The free trial consists of 1/5th of their course. )

Here are the reasons why e-GMAT is the best prep company for GMAT Verbal.

1). Most cost effective

2). Limits the use of Jargon's to almost NIL.

3). Audio Visual and interactive mode of learning. Reading a SC guide of 300 pages can get really boring and retention post that, not much. With the amount of jargon's used in these guides, learning can get really frustrating.

4) The e-GMAT way to acing Verbal is more about following a structured process that with practice makes solving verbal questions much easier and in lesser time than about memorizing a bunch of rules.

5) Modules are designed in such a way that you first learn a concept and then you learn to apply those concepts. The concepts are broken into levels that are in increasing order of difficulty. After each level your given OG problems pertaining that level to solve. This ensures more practice and review, and helps one clarify doubts pertaining to that level.

6)Exceptional customer and after sale service. Every doubt and query is answered in <24hrs.

7) Verbal workshop at the end of your prep to diagnose where you currently and stand and assess your weakness and strength

8)The 3 live sessions on Meaning and Structure, Pre-thinking and the tactical strategy sessions are very useful and insightful.
A lot of gmat myth's are debunked in the sessions. Moreover, they are free. For the value add one gets from these sessions, its definitely worth the time.

9) Approximately 45 days of using e-GMAT and my verbal raw score has improved by 8 points to V36. A week more and I am sure I'll the V40+ score range.

Hope this helps people decide on choosing the right course, and hands down e-GMAT is by far ahead of competition in Verbal Prep. Moreover, compared with other test prep courses, e-GMAT is most cost effective and requires the least investment.

Cheers,
Arvind.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh GMAT Review
January 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By gyamasak joined: August 27, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh is an awesome tool to prepare for the GMAT. They have video lectures, as well as video explanations that are quite helpful in figuring out why you got a problem wrong.

Overall a great course, but here is my constructive criticism:
The only downside I found was that the daily study plans weren't too organized. They talk about doing the "next 20 problems in the OG" so you really have to keep track of what number you were on. I also think there is a bug in regards to there problems -- once you redo your incorrect problems they show up as correct and boost your overall score. A lot of little things can be improved, but the overall concept is good!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Thank You e-GMAT
January 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By roban22j joined: May 17, 2013 | 6 | 7 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took the GMAT on Jan 17th, 2014, and scored a 680 (q 48 v 36 IR 6 AWA 5.5 ).
It's a considerable improvement from my previous attempt ( 620 ) last year in April.

I improved my verbal score by 9 points from my previous attempt and a significant credit in my verbal score improvement goes to e-GMAT. With the help of this superb verbal online course I could go up from V 27 to V 36.

The verbal online course really helped me to understand my areas of weakness.
RC was my major area of concern in Verbal during my first attempt. I used to get about 40% of the answers correct earlier but after going through the e-GMAT RC course my accuracy improved to 80%. I rigorously followed e-GMAT's reading process on about 100 essays to improve my reading skills.

The SC & CR courses are equally effective and engaging.
The e-GMAT 3 step process for SC is an effective tool for finding flaws in GMAT sentence corrections & predicting the correct answer even before looking at the options.
The prethinking process in CR along with the instructions to identify incorrect choices is great for students!

Thank you e-GMAT team for creating an awesome course for the entire verbal section of GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great GMAT prep course!
January 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  David Newland
Veritas Prep is a great GMAT prep course! I took the online class and enjoyed being able to take the course from wherever I was located. The instructor was fantastic and used his experience from taking the GMAT in the class and offered additional help that wasn't in the study prep materials. The materials they provide are extremely helpful but it was all the extra material you receive that makes it so much better. I'm re-taking the GMAT and really needed Veritas to help increase my score and improve my GMAT test taking strategy. So thank you Veritas for all the help and tips/strategies.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Economist GMAT Tutor
January 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By fredbear joined: January 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I received a score of 610 after using GMAT Tutor from the Economist. I only completed 30% of their course. Most of the course beginning focuses on fundamentals that can be applied to many of the most common question types.

Initially I began to prep on my own, but I didn't have a very good workflow. More time spent studying does not necessarily equate to success. You need 1.) overall strategy and 2.) techniques to shortcut success for various problem types. Economist Tutor accomplishes these things.

I decided to purchase GMAT Tutor from Economist to utilize during my winter break (I am a current student). Over a 3.5 week period I studied 6-8 hours a day using their tool. The sessions go in order and gradually things are revealed to you in an order that crawls first, then walks, then walks some more, then runs. I never felt lost and could see their reasoning of the order of lessons when looking back on my experience.

Their system is very well designed and a was a truly good find for me. The strategy session I scheduled via 1-on-1 via skype was a big help. Very good suggestions. Overall the GMAT Tutor team from the Economist was personable, professional, and extremely knowledgable. Very helpful indeed.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
One of the best course available in market
January 21 | 2014

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2010 | 176 | 13 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Chris Kane
This is the one of the best course available on the market. You can go through the course as per your pace and finish it accordingly. The lessons are explained very nicely and you get tons of material to practice on. Also you get more than 10 CATs to take!

I don't have much to say about Veritas books also as those are next best to MGMAT.

This online account provides you with access to all of your Veritas Prep resources, including:

Practice tests
Online problem sets and solutions
Pre-recorded lessons (Veritas Prep On Demand)
Instructor email support and live online office hours
MBA Admissions Workshops
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Magoosh really helped my GRE score and now using for GMAT
January 20 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By EAG2MyBiQ joined: December 10, 2013 | 2 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I really like Magoosh. Definitely the best bang for the buck I found in terms of test prep. I have not taken the GMAT yet, but Magoosh GRE took my Quant from 65-pct to 75pct and my Verbal from 87-pct to 97-pct.

I am looking forward to a similar improvement on the GMAT.

I highly recommend Magoosh. Compared to other test prep software I purchased, Magoosh provided the greatest improvement per dollar cost. The videos are very helpful the quizzes are highly customizable for your specific needs, and the simulated tests do a very nice job of imitating the actual test feeling. Try Magoosh!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Disappointed but might work for some
January 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By jgriffin055 joined: November 17, 2013 | 2 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Overall, I could not recommend this GMAT course. The adaptive format and accessibility are nice and this is about where the positives stop for me.

After completing more than 75% of the course over 100+ hours of studying, I took the real test and was quite disappointed with my score to say the least. While I felt prepared and was scoring in the 600s on the OG tests, I do not hold this program solely accountable.

Some of my frustrations include the inability to select specific lessons, the "tutor" sessions, the score forecast, and the IR preparation. First, as many people have said before, it is not possible to select a certain problem area you are struggling with for review. There isn't even a search feature to go through the small summary tidbits the program does have. Searching for topics is annoying. I gave up and just came to the forums for supplemental info. Another program feature that I found useless was the score forecaster. After completing 75% of the program and completing all 3 simulation tests, my score forecast had a range of 90 points. 90 points on the GMAT is huge and provides no value. Third, the program never introduced me to the IR content. I feel its ridiculous that after 75% of the course this was not discussed.

One of the major disappointments for me was the one-on-on tutoring sessions. 3 of my 4 sessions were USELESS. And I mean completely useless. I spent the 50 minutes watching the tutors solve problems. After asking questions the tutors responded with minutes of "ummmmmm, uhhhhh, hmmmmmm". When an answer was given and I continued to ask questions, sometimes they were answered, other times they weren't. On a specific topic I asked a few follow questions on the tutor said, "I have explained it perfectly. I don't know why you don't understand and I can't do it any other way". Thank you for being helpful and hard working!! The last straw for me was when one of the tutors answered my question by telling me to look in the online forums for the answers. This is unacceptable and a joke. I hope that I just had bad experiences.

These are just some of my negative feelings about the course. Some people have found it helpful and the ability to use the course anywhere is a plus. However, I would recommend using a different course as I am.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Good prep with a few growing pains.
January 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By lukep joined: July 9, 2012 | 11 | 26 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I signed up for The Economist GMAT Tutor because I prefer to learn by reading rather than watching videos, and it seemed more convenient to do an online prep program than have to worry about hauling MGMAT books around with me everywhere.

In general I was quite happy with the course. Explanations for concepts are well done, and I felt that I got good practice with the concepts.

A few points to consider:
The real value from the course comes, I think, from being able to ask instructors questions about individual questions or concepts. In the beginning, responses to my questions took a long time…in one case I waited over a week for a response. However, this improved and for the last several months I was getting answers within 24 hours…in some cases, the responses came in less than an hour. So, once the slow response problem was solved, I was quite happy with it.

Something that could be improved is automatically reviewing past concepts. As I worked through the course, some review questions were included, but mostly we worked on new concepts. I guess I needed to individually select the concepts I wanted to work on…but if I'm paying for a program based upon a "smart" algorithm, I feel like it should do it for me. Part of why I paid for the course was so I wouldn't have to make decisions for myself about my prep. Perhaps they could include an option to choose between a "review" session and a "learning" session.

In sum, I was quite happy with the course and would recommend it, but (like pretty much everything) it isn't perfect. I still found myself supplementing the course with work from the OGs or from MGMAT, so for me the course wasn't truly all-inclusive.

I will update this review once I've sat the exam and have my score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
a must-have course for scoring high in verbal
January 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By shreedharsingh joined: August 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I started the course some 5 months ago but started taking it seriously just two months ago. I would give it 5 stars for the presentation of each topic.
I would like to state the following:
1. the course is structured level wise and explained in a very lucid and simple manner.
2. questions/explanations given at Level 1 start at a very basic concept level and keep your drive perfect to complete and gradually move to the next topic.
3. the explanations are such that you do not get confused and due to audio visual lectures it gets into your brain easily.
4. you have to score a minimum marks to qualify for the next level, so there is no question of having a false perception about oneself.
5. the e-GMAT course made me analyse the complete sentence first and find the errors and then move to solutions. Earlier, I used to approach a question in just the opposite fashion.
6. the POE is so well explained that I can vouch that e-GMAT has the best presentations and explanations.
7. the level exercises, exercises which need to be done with a minute qualifying score for next level, have questions very similar to real GMAT exam and are timed, so you can feel the improvement in your score and feel confident day by day.

To finish, I would like to say thanks to e-GMAT as it has helped me a lot, made me gain confidence and would recommend it for GMAT test takers as I feel it has helped me a lot.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings