Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [992]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
E-gmat - Verbal online
August 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By shrikant37 joined: November 18, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
E-GMAT is an excellent source of Verbal for non-native speakers. It covers not only the technical (grammer) concepts but provide strategies to tackle each type of questions. Having practiced these strategies
helps in gaining accuracy and speed during examination.

SC - All modules are well structured. Having application files and concept quiz in each module help in improving understanding of concept.
Earlier i was memorizing the concepts but after going through e-gmat modules i am able ot understand the logic behind each rule (such as due to vs because, Like vs As, ed and ing modifiers). Importance of meaning and 3 step process of tackling SC questions helped me in solving question with confidence.I have reduced guessing questions from 8 to 3
CR - Creating logical structure of arguments helps in identifying the flow of premise and conclusion. It helps in identifying the assumptions. Creating logical structure and PreThinking Concept in CR's are the real game changers.
Before looking for answers I know what I am looking for. It helps in isolating deceptive answer choices
RC - Following reading strategies, identifying types of a question and then pre-thinking give me enough confidence during RC questions. It was one of my weak area. After following e-gmat's strategies, i am able to increase my efficiency and accuracy
In nutshell, e-gmat is one stop solution if you want to score high in gmat verbal
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The Three step process in SC rocks
August 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By satishv80 joined: August 3, 2013 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
When I started preparing for my GMAT exam I planned to register for an online coaching especially on Verbal. I gathered the list of some reputed online courses and was unable to decide the one and went through all the reviews available in the GMAT club and I was pretty impressed on the e-GMAT verbal online course reviews and opted for the e-GMAT online course. I found that all the topics are planned very well and covered from basics to the in depth with examples. I liked the 3 step error analysis in sentence correction questions and it helped me a lot in solving such questions. I strongly recommend that e-GMAT are worth every penny spent on it.

Thank you.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Prep Course!
August 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
I had Travis Morgan as my live online prep course instructor. He was awesome, patient, and positive. He really broke down each section by giving a set of tools to tackle the GMAT question types. In addition, he provided strategy tips to answer those daunting tougher questions. I really enjoyed this prep course because not only was it engaging, but it was also organized so that I could focus on the specific sections that I had the hardest time understanding. Overall, I highly recommend this course, and I am confident that with a little bit more studying, I will be extremely prepared for the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great fundamentals
August 06 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By GmatReview800 joined: August 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Going into this course I knew nothing about the GMAT. From day one I found this course to have everything I needed for a good understanding of what I needed to do to be where I wanted to be. The online course gave me a structure and a schedule that easily fit my life. The work load is intense and you will learn the fundamentals of the GMAT and how to improve your score. Ravi is a great teacher, every lesson was great. Veritas has a great system of pre-class work, the lesson and then homework to follow. If you are looking for a GMAT course, this one is for you!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Well structured and insightful course
August 05 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By arepeczky joined: August 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I signed up for Ravi's 6 week online course after reading reviews from his previous students and upon recommendations from friends that Veritas is the best prep course out there. Ravi's course exceeded my expectations from day 1 as he has the unique ability to simplify seemingly difficult questions and concepts. I would highly recommend Ravi's class, as it is well structured, engaging and the tricks and methods learned have greatly helped me with my studying. I just finished the class and haven't taken the GMAT yet but I am confident that I will score much higher than my first practice test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fantastic Course! Bit pricey but worth it
August 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By viini joined: August 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ryan Starr
I took the Live Online course in preparationg for my first (and only) time taking the GMAT. The class was great - the teachers were engaging and they cover a lot of material. Manhattan GMAT itself has a lot of resources on the website: PDFS, flashcards, practice exams, forums, bonus questions, etc.. They honestly had more resources than I could use and I found the books and the timed practice exams extremeley helpful. I'm very satisfied with the course and my GMAT score - I took the GMAT 3 weeks after my class ended.

Overall, definitely consider taking a course with Manhattan GMAT - it's extremeley pricey (the only reason I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5) but it's worth it in the end.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
GMAT Pill improved my score from 490 to 630 in 25 days!
August 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ajgentner joined: July 4, 2014 | 3 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
Hello all,

I would like to share my GMAT story for those who are under stress and have limited time to study, which is the situation for most people. At the start of last May I planned to study for 3 months straight in order to take the GMAT at the end of July. However, a few days later my mom was diagnosed with cancer so I spent much of my time in May and June taking my mom to chemotherapy treatments and closely taking care of her at home. July rolled around and I contemplated cancelling my test date but I decided to give it a last ditch effort. I am applying to Master of Accounting programs so I need about a 600 to get in to the programs I am looking at.

On July 4th I installed GMAT Prep and scored a dismal 490 on my first practice test. I knew I had a lot of work to do in 25 days so I bought the GMAT Pill full course and the Official Guide. I used the GMAT Pill's one month study plan and condensed the plan in to 25 days. I received an email each morning from GMAT Pill telling me exactly what I needed to study that day. I strictly followed the plan starting with SC, which I think helped my score the most. I found the explanation videos from the GMAT Pill the most helpful. I also enjoyed the practice pill section of the course because Zeke has created many questions that are very similar to the OG and therefore similar to the GMAT.

On July 28th, the day before the test, I drove all the way to my test location to get comfortable with the drive. I ended up going into the test location and asked the receptionist a few questions. She told me I could take my test earlier than 4 pm, however I recommend those who are taking the test to not change their time the night before.

On July 29th, I drove to the test location and was a bit nervous but the nerves went away after arriving 45 minutes early. I recommend arriving 45 minutes before your scheduled test time so you can use the bathroom, or eat a snack before entering the test location 30 minutes before your test.

During the quant section of the test, I knew I was not doing my best and I knew I needed to keep my composure for the verbal section. Honestly if I could give one piece of advice, it would be to stay as calm throughout the test as you can regardless of how you are doing. If you feel you are doing poorly on the quant section then remind yourself that the verbal section is scaled higher so you can really boost your score by doing well on verbal.

I was pleased to see that I earned a 630 score with Q39 and V38, 5 on integrated reasoning and 5.5 on AWA. Looking back on my summer in regards to helping my mom fight through cancer and then study for the GMAT, I am happy with this score.

I want to give a big thanks to this forum! I couldn't have done it without you guys! Also I couldn't be more thankful for GMAT Pill! Your online prep course increased my score 140 points in 25 days!

AJ


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Low or negative ROI in improving Verbal score
August 05 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 12, 2013 | 1 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I signed up e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep in June 2013. The main reason that I chose it was because of very positive reviews. "Best course for non-native speakers", "Huge improvement in verbal scores" etc. These advertisements and reviews really attracted my attention. I'm a non-native English speaker and I want to improve my verbal score. So I decided to buy the course. Having tried the course, taken the GMAT and later tried another source (MGMAT Verbal Prep Set), I feel I have to offer another side of story amid so many positive reviews here. Let's talk about the Pros and Cons:

Pros:
1. Provides a very well structured study plan with concepts and quizzes for each section. (This may be useful for anyone who lacks discipline)
2. Comes with free mock exams that can generate performance analytical reports. (However, the timer doesn't work well, leading to wrong timings of your response time)
3. The e-GMAT time was kind enough to extend my course when I couldn't finish it in time. (The login was valid for about 6 months and they extended it for 2 months)

Cons:
1. Repetition in both contents and methods. I completed the whole course and took notes diligently. At the end I found some similar notes appeared multiple times--some contents were repeated here and there. The few e-GMAT methods used to solve Verbal questions were heavily repeated.

2. Methods don't work. In theory they sound good. But after studying the course for 8 months, I found these methods very time consuming and mentally draining in practice. They just don't work well in mock/real GMAT exams.

3. The course is very inflexible. This inflexibility, coupled with the fact that the course is extremely content heavy, makes it very time consuming to finish the whole course. It took me 8 months to finish (I work full time). I can't control my pace. Some contents are easy for me and repeated too much. The repetition plus sheer volume of contents buries the important areas which I may be weak at. It feels as if you read a whole library of books within 8 months. At the end, your mind goes blank. Maybe you remember a little here and there but nothing stands out. ROI is just so low: you spent so much time reaping so little improvement in your verbal skills.

4. The online lectures are a COMPLETE waste of time (and money). This was very obvious. In a 2 hour lecture, the instructors would spend the first ~30 minutes advertising their course. Because there are many attendees, the instructor can sometimes spend half an hour just to explain one question and answer all the questions. I may have just one doubt on a question and managed to get a few minutes of the instructor's time to answer it. Often, I'm still confused after he/she answers it. Then the rest of the time was wasted on listening to him/her explaining things that I have already known. After 1 or 2 lectures, I decided to just watch the recording and found myself frequently fast-forward the videos. In a 2 hour lecture, maybe only 15 minutes was useful.

In mock exams, I could score between 690 and 730. After 6 months of running the e-GMAT marathon, my course was going to expire. e-GMAT team was kind enough to extend it by another 2 moths. I finally made my first attempt at GMAT and only scored 700 (Q50, V33, AWA 5.5, IR 8). It was a huge disappointment. e-GMAT team's kindness to extend my course may have only backfired: I felt I wasted another 2 months on a course with near zero ROI. I spent so much time (8 months) on e-GMAT yet I didn't feel my verbal improved at all.

After that I decided to try MGMAT Verbal Prep set. I had very good discipline and took just 1.5 months to finish the whole set. Took GMAT again and scored 760 (Q51, V41, AWA 6.0, IR 8). I was even surprised by myself that I could improve so much with MGMAT. I also have to credit MGMAT for its Quant. My quant was pretty solid and I didn't spend too much time on it. However, the "Advanced GMAT Quant" by MGMAT was really good on methods & tricks for the more difficult quant questions. That did help keep my quant score high.

So in summary I feel e-GMAT is a course that costs an enormous amount of time to complete and only gives you negative to marginal positive improvements on your verbal score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great GMAT preparation course and great Instructor Ravi Sreerama
August 04 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By malli1992 joined: July 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
About 3 months ago I decided to take part in a GMAT Online Preparation Course in order to help me study for my exam and one of my friends recommended Veritas Prep to me. I am very happy about my decision to take part in the Online Course mostly because Ravi Sreerama was an incredibly talented and interesting instructor. Not only did he teach the course content in a very efficient manner but he actually was able to make everyone understand the content instantly by being patient, being constantly available for everybody to contact him and being able to provide great examples to make the at times difficult content easy to understand. Soon we were able to learn the content more efficiently and to use the strategies he gave us to tackle the GMAT problems in a better way. But most importantly, he made us enjoy studying and the overall volume of the content bearable and interesting, which is in my opinion even harder considering the fact that it is an online course. I am proud to say that I significantly improved my performance and that I owe it to Ravi Sreerama that it improved in such as short period of time. Everybody should be happy to have him as an instructor since he will be one great asset in your corner when it comes to fighting against the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT prep using Veritas
August 04 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By victororeskovich joined: August 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I signed up for the Veritas prep course after researching different courses online. I absolutely loved the online platform. Twice a week, from the comfort of your own home, you're able to sign in for an interactive lesson. I wasn't sure how this would work out, but I'm so happy I chose the online interactive class instead of having to physically drive somewhere on the weekend or after work etc.

Ravi was a terrific teacher. He genuinely cared about how we were performing and wanted us to get the absolute most out of each session. The Course was structured very well, focusing on pertinent information. I just wrote my official GMAT this past Saturday and I was ecstatic with my score. The course provides everything you need to succeed, and Ravi was a phenomenal teacher. The on demand lessons are great too in case you can't make a lesson. I used these in conjunction with Ravi's scheduled sessions.

The practice tests were also great, and very similar to the real test. Before I went and wrote, I was researching online how practice exams correlate to the real test. Mine were virtually identical to what I was scoring on the Veritas mock exams.

Veritas was a great experience and I'm thrilled I chose them. I would absolutely recommend the course to anyone looking to improve their GMAT score!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings