Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [748]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
very good videos
January 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By vikram4689 joined: June 30, 2011 | 275 | 18 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill SC | Location:   Online  |
this is a very good course. i like the way zeke has all the concept under one roof and uses simple method to make us understand. i am sure you would love his method and would use it to help in your prep for the gmat. sc is an important section and many struggle but after this you will find it better to understand concepts and exceptions (although you need to work for them on your own) this is with every course and this one is not exception. if you need exceptional score work hard and beat the odds. goodluck folks


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good review
January 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By vikram4689 joined: June 30, 2011 | 275 | 18 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Good course, covers most verbal well but to get to good 700++, this won't suffice. however, this is the case will all courses. so all in all, good one. i wanted to gain firm grasp on verbal and this was a good cusion for same. i learned and applied same principals to learn advanced concepts. Math is fine . i did not care much about it because math is fine for me from starting. you need to see what you need. in fact, you may count on this course for almost all your prep. but remember if you need very good score then you need to add much effort for same.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very versatile
January 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nicoleyugee joined: October 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
The GMAT Pill platform offers a variety of skill set, that proves to be extremely effective. With a step by step video tutorial, they teach you how to "think" and answer the question. It's quite brilliant, to be honest. Although it took a while to get used to, multiple choice questions are much more approachable now. However, the help doesn't just end there. GMAT Pill also provides MBA help after you get the GMAT score. When it's time to apply for graduate school, they will help you edit your resume and your essay to the best of their abilities. It's incredible to see your work polished up right before your eyes! Usually resume help can run up to a few thousand dollars but the GMAT Pill provides this service for a few hundred dollars! Definitely take it if you have the money!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-GMAT!!! MBA Starts Here...
January 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By AMITAGARWAL2 joined: July 6, 2013 | 120 | 9 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I thought about GMAT in March 2013 and I had no idea where to start. I bought a Kaplan book from Barnes and Noble. After studying for 2 months, I took the GMAT and got 500. Big disappointment!!! I thought, "What should I do? Give up and go back to doing I what I do or try again?" With that thought I started doing Google searches and GMAT Club popped up. I registered for it and got an email from e-GMAT. I took the free online session on “As Vs Like” and there went the light bulb. I realized I had been wasting my time for the last 4 months. I immediately signed for online courses but not for VLP. I studied all the material for another 3 months. At the same time I continued doing the Quant practice on GMATclub. During my mock tests I was getting 650s and I was confident that I would get the same score on the GMAT since I was planning for evening programs, which do not need high scores. I got 620. I was happy and sad at the same time. Happy because I improved with the effort I put in but sad because 620 was still low for evening programs. I did deep thinking for one day on what should be my next step. Since I had time to apply for admissions, I decided to go for it one more time. I signed up with e-GMAT VLP right away and took all October sessions. I studied for the month of October and took a one-month vacation in November. I studied a little during flights, airports, etc., but no mock tests. I got back in December and re focused on the study material and even practiced with a timer. I took my last GMAT on Dec. 21st and got 700. So this what I did differently than previous attempts-
1. Follow the study plan provided by e-GMAT
2. As Rajat says – reviewed Mock test thoroughly for both the right and wrong answers
3. Practice GMAT Club questions with a timer on
4. Did as many GMAT Prep and official questions as possible.
Here is why I would recommend e-GMAT-
1. True learning guide- I feel that e-GMAT takes you on the path of learning concepts and does not try to teach you shortcuts to get score. Once you learn the concept, you get better scores as virtue of it.
2. Study Plan – In my personal opinion, e-GMAT study plan is unmatched to any other courses available. If you follow the study plan as put out for all sections, there is no chance that you will not improve wherever you are.
3. Official Guide Questions – e-GMAT excellent explanations for OG 12 questions. It is a must to go through them and understand the 3 steps concept of e-GMAT SC Method.
4. UGE questions – This is another set of great new questions which help you cement your concept and help you identify your mistakes.
5. Follow e-GMAT on GMAT Club. Time to time, so many great articles keep coming that you cannot afford to miss.
6. VLP classes – Amazing! You have to come with eagerness to study and pay attention to how questions are being solved.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Magoosh Rocks
January 08 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh is a great website for someone starting from absolute scratch. If you are rusty on math and verbal, this is a good website to brush up on and get the basics back. Magoosh's website is definitely the most clean and user friendly. Each lesson is categorized by topic and subtopic, making it easy to navigate and focus on areas of weakness. Each section then has a quiz after to test your understanding.

The lessons are easy to grasp, extremely clear, and short - so you can really go at your own pace. Also, Magoosh covers every topic on the GMAT - including AWA and the essay. You can personalize your practice, from a pool of over 1000 questions, EACH of which have a video and text explanation. Overall, I was really happy with this site. It's organized, has great resources, and even has different study plans you can choose from. The staff is always there to help and answers emails right away. The blog is also an excellent source. Magoosh rocks!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very useful
January 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 2, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I think one sure way of getting a high score is by using Manhattan GMAT guides and regularly reading Ron Purewal's blogs. I learned a lot just by reading his blogs where he explains concepts with a lot of details.

The Manhattan GMAT books are comprehensive and I believe the verbal sections helped me a lot. I think the SC book is by far the best book in the market for cracking the SC questions in the actual exam.

The tests were pretty accurate and the explanations for the answers were useful. Though I think the tests are slightly harder than the real exam they were useful in that they motivated me to study even harder for the actual test! In the actual test I scored about 30 points more than the diagnostic test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
The Econonomist GMAT - A must have
January 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By dmenciot joined: January 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I'm a working student and have always been fascinated in getting an MBA sooner or later.
Being able to dedicate no more than 6-7 hours/week due to my workload, it was difficult for me to keep up with my studies. Therefore I decided to use a prep course.

I looked around for a while and finally found the application in the The Economist Tutor.

It's a self-adaptive course, which means the type of questions and the difficulty level vary depending on your learning curve: it's impressive how the software keeps on presenting you with the same types of problem until you crack it! It's like having a teacher in front of you..you can't escape!

Moreover, the best part of the program is exactly when you fail in a problem: books explain the correct answer (and sometimes take the explaination as an occasion to confuse the student even more). The Economist GMAT Tutor goes straight to the point, both showing you the way to the right answer and going through the wrong answers too, guessing what drove you to choose them.

In addition, whenever you require more support beyond the explaination, the "ask a tutor" function will let you get in touch with a teacher ready to remove any doubt with a very very detailed explaination sent by email within 24 hours. Impressive!

All in all, I believe it's a must have for any GMAT student because it's really well done. On the other side, given the architecture of the software, I wouldn't suggest it to those who are already quite advanced in GMAT and need to focus their preparation on a few topics only: in these cased I think one to one lessons with a real teacher is the best method to optimize your time and learning curve.

Overall completion of the program is estimated in 100 hours more ore less.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-Gmat course again!
January 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By pawan82 joined: November 4, 2006 | 132 | 4 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat,Payal,Archana
I had selected the e-GMAT team in 2012 to help me with my GMAT prep. Unfortunately, I was unable to secure a higher score at that time. I was so impressed with the course though that I sought their help when I retook the GMAT in 2013.

The verbal component of the course is just phenomenal. I particularly needed help on sentence correction and I went through every page of Manhattan guide but returned as confused as I was in the begining. The course's focus on the essential part of Verbal section is rather than explaining grammar is what makes it better than the rest.

The continuous enhancements the team undertakes to make the course more relevant is commendable.

Lastly, one thing that not a lot of reviews speak about is the IR section that the course provides. The concepts are explained in a methodical and easy to understand manner.

The Live prep sessions held every weekend provides students with an excellent way to resolve their doubts with the teachers.

If you are looking to enhance your verbal score look no further than e-GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent course for non natives !!
January 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ashkul123 joined: July 4, 2013 | 55 | 14 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I opted for e-GMAT after being stuck at 30-31 levels in V section on my mocks. I remember the time when I had completed the MGMAT SC guide from cover to cover twice and was still struggling with SC. The problem was it all made sense while reading the book and doing the exercises at the end of the chapter, however I just couldn’t apply the rules while doing the questions under the exam conditions.

I attended a couple of free sessions and found the methodology interesting. After going through some of the reviews & debriefs on the GMATClub, I decided to take a chance with e-GMAT and that turned out to be a real wise investment.

The strength of e-GMAT lies in their methodology. Their audio-visual method of teaching makes learning so much easier and the application and concept files make sure that by the time you are done with all the exercises, you have a solid grasp of the fundamentals. Another advantage is that the course starts with basic concepts and gradually builds up the complexity levels. The quizzes are created accordingly and thus help in learning the application of multiple concepts simultaneously.

I really benefited from their CR and SC course. RC was never a problem for me so I never really concentrated on that part. Finally it was the workshops that really did the trick for me. That was the first time I was attempting the questions under timed conditions with a few of the fellow applicants and that created additional stress. Somehow that stress was missing from the mocks even though I had simulated the exam conditions. The experience of attending the workshops did help me in the final test.

I would recommend e-GMAT to anyone who is looking to improve his/her score in Verbal and especially the non-natives.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The economist GMAT tutor is impressive
January 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rwbuie joined: December 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
The economist GMAT tutor is impressive, but can be frustrating.

Economist GMAT tutor is an adaptive automated course that does an excellent job of identifying the user’s competency with the presented topic, and presenting tests of the needed skills. Incorrect answers are normally rewarded with explanations of why, and correct answers with explanations of how. The types of questions, and methods taught for approaching them are heavily framed within the context of passing the GMAT, and less on mastering the skill involved.

The adaptive part of the program largely takes the following format:
Provide a discussion of a skill, followed by a few very simple questions isolating the skill involved. Accurate answers moves on to GMAT type questions using the skill, inaccurate answers lead to further discussion and practice using simpler non GMAT styled questions. After some time (10-20 minutes of work) the skill focus will shift and the questions change. This shift may be to any other skill set, closely related or quite distant. If the skill is new, it will always start with a discussion of the skill, otherwise the user will simply encounter a question similar to the last one completed when practicing that skill.
In practice, this means that you may spend 10 minutes working happily on sufficiency questions, and get fractions thrown into the mix. Then, 15 minutes later, on to verbal grammar questions.

You do not choose which skill you want to focus on, but rather let the adaptive system choose. This does have the benefit of being stacked. There are skills you will have practiced a lot before being introduced to later ones that build on it.

I believe the focus on GMAT taking skills is sometimes impairment. Sometimes the software spends little time on actually teaching the desired knowledge skills, either assuming mastery (by providing difficult problems) too early, or pushing the user to the designers preferred method of approaching the problem with only a very narrow appreciation of why or how, an appreciation that is often required to really understand discussions on question answers in the tutor program itself.

The assumption of mastery can leave you two or three questions into a skill, and facing problems that confuse (often intentionally as per the GMAT) you before you have really cemented the new skill. This means having to think flexibly early on, but it also means more time bogged down in one question and I often found myself feeling unpracticed, and suddenly on to another skill.

The emphasis on the designer’s method of approaching a question is an obvious limit of a scripted tutor. If you prefer a method not discussed in the text reviewing your response choice to the question, there is a chance you will find the review text worthless, and so have little benefit over simply buying a book of questions.

I do not believe there is a net positive way to surmount these frustrations. They are inherent to the design choices made, and can only be removed at the cost of important benefits. However, I think the product would be benefited by providing a kind of syllabus or map, perhaps accompanied by an introduction to the course that really nails the thinking of the designers. (There is some of this work accomplished already in the FAQ.)

The rest of the program is test taking and the ability to ask live tutors questions.

The test taking is excellent. The software provides a high level of feedback for scoring. And you can view a discussion on every question and answer choice in the test. Essays may also be submitted, and are graded and commented on by a human.

I found the ability to ask questions somewhat useless. Answers are highly competent, but the delay is over 48 hrs. In this time, a simple google search will answer most questions, and there are more active forums where more intricate questions could be posed.

Overall, the GMAT Tutor is a solid product, offering a consistent and superior experience. It is clear that a lot of expertise went into it. If you want an online learning method, I am not sure there is better. It would be quite difficult to coordinate this with other learning tools, but it is, basically, a complete solution to GMAT prep. Is it worth the price? I am not so sure. They no longer offer the 1 year contract, and so I am inclined to say that it is overpaying. But, the quality is there, and combined with the focused nature of adaptive technology and their philosophy of how to approach the GMAT, it certainly is a solution that will prepare you, and give you feedback so you KNOW you are prepared.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings