Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [830]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
620 to 710
April 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By natashk joined: April 4, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
I decided to take the GMAT in late October 2013 with the aim of taking it on January 31st. I signed up for Kaplan On Demand given my upcoming work schedule and the holidays I took my first diagnostic the first week of November and got a 480. I was shocked and honestly pretty discouraged. But after talking to friends and they all assured me they were in a similar boat when they first started. The first go around I just watched the lessons did the practice questions, rinsed and repeated. I think I completed every module and supplementary module possible. After a few weeks of studying I took my first practice test and improved to a 580, pretty encouraged I kept on the same path. Next practice test got a 600. Then studied more, did more practice tests and was consistently getting in the 640 range. In talking to my friends they had all mentioned they were in a similar situation and ended up faring much better on the actual test. So by test day...Feb 6th, I went in and took the test. It was like an out of body experience, I could feel myself losing concentration and it was not a good experience - which was definitely reflected in my score....620. The first thing I did when I got one was sign up to take it again....March 10th. From the actual exam, I knew exactly what I had to do. I took the weekend off (plus a few more days), did a little research and stumbled upon GMAT pill. I was weary of spending an additional $400 on course materials, but I figured it's worth a try....Kaplan seemed to be lacking some things I needed and GMAT pill had a money back gaurantee, so I signed up. I knew I didn't need to study that much more, so over the next 3 weeks of so I really focused on areas I need to improve on (Quant - number properties, algebra; Verbal - sentence correction and reading comprehension). I did the required studying, took some practice tests - honestly my scores didn't change much from before. On test, I knew what to expect....went through the first 2 sections feeling good, got to quant it didn't go terribly, finally seemed to breeze through verbal. When I got my score, I was in SHOCK.....wow....it really did pay off. I think my biggest piece of advice is believe in yourself, it's a test that can be mastered by anyone with practicing in the right way. If I was being honest, I wouldve been okay with anything over 650...I didn't think 700 was achievable, but it is...just find the course that works for you.

GMAT Pill was great, I wanted the SC pill probably 5 times and throughout the test I could hear Zeke's voice talking through the mechanics. It really worked for me and I think it's a straightforward approach to mastering the GMAT. I honestly never dreamt of breaking 700, but I think GMAT pill was exactly what I needed to get there.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Online private tutoring! Very good.
April 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By JeffersonTB joined: April 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
Hi,

I took an online private tutoring package of Optimus Prep and would like to discuss my thoughts here. First of all, I found them on gmatclub and didn’t know them. I compared their offers with other test prep companies and decided to give it a shot.

I took 34 hours of online private tutoring because I wanted to crack 700. It is a lot of money though it is by far cheaper than what others charge. I got an email with instructions and how to continue to get access to the video recordings. They were really comprehensive and I printed out more than 100 pages of course material. I started to watch the lessons at home and found them great. They gave me on overview over all important topic areas you have to know to master the GMAT. The practice questions were really great to train the learned concepts. During the private tutoring lessons I discussed my questions with the tutor and it was really great that I watched the lessons in advance because we were able to spend the time much better. I knew the concepts already and he could help me to fine tune my knowledge. The GMAT practice tests were also good because they gave me the feeling of the real GMAT.

Overall I am very satisfied with online private tutoring and I hope that on test day it pays off.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Optimus Prep`s Recorded On Demand Course Review.Fabulous Product.
April 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
A friend told me that Optimus Prep’s video online course is great stuff and I should give it a try for my GMAT preparation. I took the GMAT once a few months ago and failed (only 550 pointsL ). You can’t imagine how disappointed I was and when my friend said that they have a score improvement or money back guarantee I recognized that I had nothing to lose…

I bought it and started to watch the lessons the very same day. Each day I watched one to two lessons and did all the required assignments. It was really great to see how quickly I became better and better. I just followed the schedule and found it to be logical and well structured. My practice test results were always around 670-710 and I decided to take 12 hours of online private tutoring. This was obviously a good decision since my tutor helped me to get rid of my main weakness (reading comprehension). At least I scored better than before in this area…

Finally I scored a 690 in the test center and I am very happy since I improved by 140 points! I am sure that I can score even better when I will study a bit more!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great verbal prep course for non-natives
April 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By apurv04012014 joined: June 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
e-GMAT courses provide a structured approach for gmat preparation. The study plan provides a great outline on how to split time between grasping concepts vs practicing concepts on problems. For those trying to prepare without a live classroom program from any other test prep company, the study plan will prove to be an invaluable guide. The plan also specifies which questions from the OG should one practice after completion of concept lessons.

I had used the MGMAT and Princeton study guides previously for my previous take but I have now come to feel that the Official Guide, GMAT Prep tests and any one of the courses from eGMAT should be sufficient for the test.

Even though the techniques (reading for the meaning on SC questions or process of pre-thinking for CR) for approaching various sections of the Verbal portion seem rather simplistic, they are instrumental in correctly answering the moderate to higher difficulty level questions. These two approaches take some time to inculcate esp. if one has not done before but eventually help hit the bullseye.

Attending any of the free sessions that eGMAT hosts is a great way to witness (or even gauge) the commitment, effort and passion that the faculty has with the students in the course.

No matter how I do on the re-take in the next few months, I would say that the e-GMAT’s course pedagogy and the faculty commitment are exceptional for a course that is delivered completely online.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
An amazing course!! Go for it without second thought!
April 02 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Abhyany joined: September 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Well I started my GMAT preparation journey by going through the Manhattan GMAT guides and the 3 OG's , though they definitely helped me improve my baseline and work on my weaknesses, I felt that to build up on my vocab score I needed something better. Something that was more in depth and user friendly. My sentence correction was especially bad and I was not getting much help from the guide books, so I tried to find an alternative online. Here I came across E-GMAT which had some very good reviews applauding it, so I thought about giving its SC course a try. Earlier I was quite apprehensive of the whole online tutoring format but surprisingly I found e-gmat to be very user friendly and structured. It was neatly sub-divided into groups topic wise ranging in difficulty and had very good quizzes to test your concepts. I found the support team to be very enthusiastic in giving quick replies and clearing all doubts in depth. Needless to say I was very happy with the investment I made to join this course and built my whole SC base on the tips and tricks provided by this SC course. I am happy to report I got a 690 score on my first try and I owe a great deal of it to E-GMAT. I also got so impressed by the SC course that I also subscribed to its IR course, and benefited immensely by it.
E-GMAT verbal is a great course, and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to boost up his verbal by a high margin.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
From a referral
April 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By arielleyuan12 joined: September 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
I selected GMAT Pill as my plan of attack for the exam based on a referral from my friend. He was taking one of their free practice tests and used me to unlock his score. After getting an invitation, I looked around the website and saw that it was very well developed. Coming from a computer science background, I can attest to the amount of time and effort invested into making the product and the platform.

I must say purchasing the pill combo provides a huge return value, especially since other companies mark up their prices by several hundred dollars more for fewer questions. I even got some money back by referring some of my friends. With a refund guarantee, there really isn't a reason why you shouldn't consider this product.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Good materials for the GMAT...Useful resource!
March 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I bought the on demand course for just $249 due to a newsletter promotion. The course is all you need for a good and solid GMAT preparation. It covers all the stuff you need to know and does it in an easy way. The lessons are hold by 3 different teachers and each of them is an expert in his/her field.

The included practice tests were really worth the money. They gave me a constant objective view on my current knowledge level. The support was always there when I had a question.

The lessons were always about 2-3 hours long and covered one certain concept and illustrated it with some example questions. Homework assignments were given to practice the learned material.

For students who want to do self study it gives everything you need. I would even say a bit more because I did not watch all lessons ;-)

Great product for a more than fair price.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thank you Veritas Prep and Ravi Sreerama!
March 31 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ortizangel56 joined: March 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I was a little hesitant to take an online course, but the price was within my budget and the Saturday and Sunday classes worked great with my busy schedule. After doing some research, Veritas Prep appealed the most to me. I just completed a Full Live Online GMAT prep course with Ravi Sreerama. I definitely got my money's worth! Ravi is a great instructor and doesn't waste time. From day 1 he gets right into the nitty-gritty and gives great advice and tips along the way. I took the course to improve my GMAT score and feel I am better prepared to battle the exam. I highly recommend Veritas Prep and especially Ravi!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
60 hours video course! Excellent and fantastic product!
March 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nancybency joined: March 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
Hey there,

I want to share what I think of Optimus Prep and their video course. First of all, I bought the course about a month or so ago. I compared the course options and found their offer good. E-verbal covers only verbal, Magoosh did not impress me somehow and I was really thinking between O.P. and Knewton.

I made the payment via Paypal and received soon the log in instructions. Everything went fine and I started soon to watch the first lessons. I liked that there are different teachers for every test part. That made the course not too boring and the order of the lessons were also great. The content of videos was very comprehensive and it helped me a lot to prepare for the GMAT. The homework questions were great to practice the learned material and the GMAT CATs were also of great value.

Overall I would rate this course really good and can recommend it heavily. Think about it, for $300 you get everything you need and you can access the course from anywhere in the world. GREAT JOB!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT verbal live Prep - A very structured course for Verbal Section
March 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
In my preparation for GMAT, I was struggling on Verbal. I had even taken classroom courses from leading India coaching institute, even though I did not seem to get the verbal fear out of my mind. My score tends to be around 25.
This is when I came across e-GMAT. I did take a few free tutorials from them and found this to be interesting.
I first purchased the verbal online from them and instantly hit off of with SC session. Now the concepts which I have been trying to understand for last 3 months started to make sense.
The first strategy session from Rajat was very good and helped build up a study plan. The emphasis on focusing on your strength was a very good reminder of the common mistakes most engineers do. Thinking that Qunat is easy for them, they ignore it and I was doing the same.
Soon I upgraded to Verbal Live prep. The live sessions are very helpful. They further help in cementing the concepts and few tricks which are covered there help build the necessary skills to effectively tackle the GMAT like questions.
Intially, I had difficulty following the process and used to think of the e-GMAT process as lengthy and time consuming. But as I started to do more and more practice, the process started to help solving even tricky questions and that too within stipulated time.

Practicing e-GMAT’s process more helped me in improving my hit rate. The number of correct answers increased as I started using their concepts and methods. Their stress on giving importance to meaning of the sentence in SC questions, breaking the argument in CR questions, pre-thinking, forming a logical structure etc really helped in the process of elimination.

The way e-GMAT has divided the whole SC and CR into small concepts is very good for structured learning. It helps you to find out your weak areas and improve on it before moving to the next concept. The video / audio is very good. Audio worked wonders for me. I used to re-listen to all the concepts which helped in strengthening the concept more.

The IR Section is very comprehensive too.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings