Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [738]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Magoosh Premium Review
January 04 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Enyi joined: September 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I took the Magoosh Premium Course in preparation for a GMAT retake. I definitely chose Magoosh because of the price ($99 special) and the score guarantee (50+ pts). Even though I did not improve much, I did appreciate the Magoosh course and would easily choose it again.

Overall, I think the course is great for those aiming to score in the high 600s. But the lecture videos (particularly verbal) does not cover advanced level 700-plus concepts sufficiently. The math section was great and comprehensive, especially as it really simplified difficult concepts such as permutations and combinations. However, I was surprised by the breadth of videos available for math, while the verbal videos were less dense.

For me, the practice questions and dashboard review had the most value, as I could focus on very hard problems and accurately access my strengths and weaknesses. Another critical aspect of the course is the note taking function provided at the end of lecture videos and question explanations. Instead of re-watching videos, I could simply look at notes I took to recall key problem types.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best verbal course.
January 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 25, 2010 | 6 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I am verbal live prep student of e-GMAT and I found e-GMAT very helpful and effective. e-GMAT offers highly-rated verbal course for students. It provides audio visual content for sentence correction, integrated reasoning, critical reasoning and reading comprehension. e-gmat is more detailed in teaching both SC and CR. It teaches you the application, not just the rules. For RC and CR, it focuses on pre-thinking, which is another important and effective methodology to achieve higher accuracy.

I'm already seeing an improvement in my verbal accuracy. Thanks to e-gmat! My next GMAT exam is three weeks away, I'll continue to spend time going through their content! I recommend to first do e-gmat.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Gives structure but slow going….
January 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By dlukex joined: October 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Overview
The Economist Tutor is a strong online prep tool - if you can work alone it does provide a sufficient structure and content to put a lot of hours in.

Pros
-24/7 Access
-Large content
-Sim tests realistic
-One 2 One tutor session was constructive

Cons
-Not intelligent, the tool does not react to you rather just gives more hard questions once you are stuck.
-Gets bogged down in certain subjects when you may want to move on as you would not answer that level of question.
-AWA debrief was generic
-Ask the tutor reviews/answers can look like 'cut and paste'

Conclusion
This product will suit some learning styles but without the human face to face interaction you will spend a lot of time banging your head against the monitor once you are stuck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh
January 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
So far this has been a good product and I am happy with my purchase. The one downside is I subscribed to it thinking it would contain everything I need to study for the GMAT (Tests, Books, etc) however when I went in to look at its study plans they rely on you to buy the MGMAT series, and the GMAC official guide which end up being about $200 extra. However had I known this before I still probably would have bought the subscription.

I like its structure. The price of this program is still much cheaper than any in person class, which I am not sure is necessary for all test takers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Dmitry at MGMAT helped me increase my score from 650 to 760
January 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 2, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   MGMAT Guided Self Study Plus | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Dmitry Farber
After independently studying for months, I took the GMAT for the first time and scored a 650 – about 70 points lower than my goal. I approached Manhattan GMAT for tutoring, desperate since I was planning to take the GMAT again a month later, and requested to be paired up with Dmitry Farber since a friend of mine had had success with him.

Dmitry taught me as much about mental preparation for the GMAT (something I largely had ignored before) as about effective approaches to problems. I had overstressed before taking the GMAT the first time, and exhausted myself mentally by taking too many practice tests in the weeks leading up. Dmitry really nailed in for me how important it was to have a relaxed but alert mind coming into the test. Further, after analyzing some of my practice tests, he provided me new methods for tackling problems that I was spending too much time on so that I was more efficient in the test.

Several tutoring sessions later, and not TOO much extra study or practice tests, I felt much more confident and prepared to tackle the test and came out with a 760 – far beyond what I had targeted. I simply could not have done it without Dmitry’s insightful perspectives and practical help.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Helpful!
December 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 14, 2013 | 2 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I think that the Economist GMAT Tutor is great and very helpful program. It is quite flexible and allows you to practice anytime you can find some free time. The GMAT Tutor private sessions were also great. Additionally, I found the essay marking is a great service that the Economist GMAT provides. I got immediately response (within 24 hours) with some practical and grammar tips, which were very helpful.

Economist GMAT Tutor comes with a free trial. Before you decide to purchase it, I recommend that you take the 7-day free trial and see whether you like it.

I wish you good luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very convenient!
December 25 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By troysuy joined: October 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
As an individual that spends most of his days at the gym, I find it very hard to sit down and study for long periods of time. Fortunately, for the GMAT Pill study app, I was able to study in between 3 minutes of rests for each set. Talk about productivity haha.

However, if you're more interested in studying at home, GMAT Pill provides that as well. There are plenty of video explanations available online as well. For example, there are video explanations for several questions on the OG 13 study book, which is great if you ever need the additional practice. After all, practice makes perfect!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Totally worth it, if your tutor is Ravi!
December 24 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Before enrolling for Veritas Prep Live Online Course, I did a little self prep using materials I obtained through another prep center. I had a chance to go through different GMAT concepts and I thought I was good to go. But, when I attempted a couple of full-length diagnostic tests I realized how weak I was in verbal. I got an 'ok' quant score but I knew I could do better than that. The most difficult part was I couldn't identify where I was going wrong. Since, the self-prep method didn't work too well for me, I decided to give the assisted prep method a shot. I needed someone to guide me in the right direction so that I could think in the right way.

That's when I decided to take up the Veritas Prep Live Online Course and my decision was based on its great online reviews. Ravi Sreerama was my instructor for the course. Ravi not only taught some good GMAT strategies but also, taught some valuable 'transferable tips'. His teaching helped me think in a more structured and organized manner. He also, taught the importance of being skeptical and thinking critically when attacking GMAT problems. His tips on RC and DS areas are priceless. The Algebra and Arithmetic classes gave me some life-lessons. In short, Ravi is wonderful with numbers and he is a great teacher.

The Veritas prep course material is highly advanced and extremely strategic. In order to make use of the materials to the fullest, a thorough understanding on basic concepts is mandatory. The curriculum covers the basic concepts just like any other test prep material, but, if you really want to reap a benefit out of the whole deal, you got to reach a certain level to understand and implement the advanced strategy level tips.

I am generally, not a big fan of live online teaching but, to my surprise I thoroughly enjoyed the live online learning experience at Veritas Prep.

I am yet to take my GMAT exam, so I cannot comment on that aspect now. But, my confidence levels have gone really high after I took this programme.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
E-GMAT course review
December 23 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By tanujab joined: June 20, 2012 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I was preparing for the Gmat for quite a long time though I could not continuously devote time. I saw my scores too be hovering around 630-640 range no matter how much I studied. My maths section was quite ok as I was scoring around 49. But my verbal would hardly improve.

So, I decided to sign up for the E-Gmat live prep course and it has helped me tremendously. Previously I was not sure of even the correct answers that I would mark in SC, But now I can identify the mistakes and be confident about a correct answer. In CR also the pre-thinking method has really helped me. I would do really bad in RC too, but now I feel much comfortable using the E_GMAT steps.

E-GMAT has really helped me boost up my Verbal prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I would not select Kaplan again
December 22 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By tigersnark joined: December 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GMAT Advantage Online Course | Location:   Online  |
Though the book was thorough enough, the online aspects of the course seemed particularly lacking. For no apparent reason, some of the online components would not load on my home computer. I contacted Kaplan's customer service about the problem and received no response. Despite this setback, I still managed to do well on my GMAT but Kaplan had little to do with it.

The book does provide very detailed explanations of all of the question types but the number of practice problems provided, both in the book and online, were not sufficient. I sought out free practice problems from other online services and found these products to be more useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings