Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1433]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent course - Specially for non natives
February 15 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By popov joined: January 18, 2014 | 12 | 4 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I am a non native speaker. As I was planning for MBA, I had given one GMAT in the month of Feb'14, without taking any course. The first attempt was good for Maths, having scored 49, while my Verbal took a hit, with score of just 27. In order to improve the Verbal, I had to improve in all sections SC, RC and CR, with more emphasis on SC and RC.

This is a typical challenge for non natives. I decided to retake GMAT with the help of E-GMAT Verbal Online. After taking this course, I realized most of the gaps that I might have had in the beginning of the year. I went through the well designed SC sections from e-GMAT, and improved significantly on that. The depth and granular details on e-GMAT SC is something outstanding. Its ing vs "ed" logic, the approach to SC question solving is a big help for not only non natives, such as myself, but perhaps also for natives. The detailed practive questions with explanatory videos something of cutting edge.

The approach and explanation for RC is also something that helped me improve upon my score. The time pacing, the skimming, key words logic, word meaning interpretation all these key approach points mentioned by e-GMAT for RC is something of much needed for non natives.

On the third section CR was also of significant help. Especially bold questions, Strengthen and weaken questions. The key tackle points mentioned within this sections are really good to know.

With all these I managed to improve verbal score from 27 to 34 within just 2 months of purchasing this course. It is really worth it and I thank e-GMAT for making this possible for non natives such as myself.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas is the Truth
February 14 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By bgatewood joined: February 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
I took the GMAT in January and didn't really care for my score (690, 40Q, 44V). I gave myself one month to study and pull it up and also decided to get some help. I chose Veritas Prep because they just seem like decent people who are in business to help folks like me. The best thing about VP GMAT Prep on demand is the practice tests. The feel was incredibly realistic, and the scoring was perfectly on point. The video lessons and skill builders are good tools if you need classroom learning, but I liked to jump in and just work problems like mad. While working hundreds of problems in the question bank and doing all of the prescribed exercises, I made time (roughly) once a week to sit through a full-length practice test.

One month, four practice tests, and literally hundreds of problems later I pulled my score up by 80 points and went from the waitlist to weighing scholarship offers... thanks VP!!!

... 770, 50Q, 44V


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
The Perfect Companion
February 14 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By bgatewood joined: February 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Math | Location:   Online  |
This is an amazing product. I used Magoosh quant as a companion in concert with another prep product, but it could probably stand just as well on its own. I purchased magoosh on Jan 23 and dove in immediately. Over the course of TWO WEEKS, I worked every problem (500+) many of them more than once. The problems were terrifically realistic and perfectly inline with actual GMAT exam problems. What makes it even better is that there is a video explanation for every problem. You really get a great look at how to tackle difficult problems accurately and quickly.

The beauty of a computer adaptive test is that you should know whether or not you're doing well based on the questions you're getting... during my GMAT I knew I was getting the toughest questions the exam could throw at me, and I had the confidence and skill to move quickly through the exam. Thanks magoosh. I improved my score by 80 points overall with all of the improvement coming in the quant section (where Magoosh quant helped me raise my raw score 10 points in a single month.)

... 770 (50Q, 44V)


Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by tdotmba on March 10, 2015
This is an incredible jump -- congrats!
 
eGMAT VLP works magic for me
February 14 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By ebbeatgmat joined: December 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
eGMAT VLP works magic for me. I was able to improve my Verbal score by 11 months from 24(34th percentile) to 35(76th percentile) within a matter of some few weeks. I plan to improve further by retaking and looking forward to a score improvement to 90+ percentile on Verbal. The have a great support team who a dedicated and not money oriented as many test prep companies out there are. I will always recommend eGMAT especially for non-natives given the flexibility in learning, the style and above all the great support. Many thanks for all the help from eGMAT and looking forward to achieving that 90+ percentile score in Verbal soon.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Manhattan GMAT
February 13 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 13, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  160 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Joe Lucero
My review of Manhattan is best summed up in three words - 540 to 700. I improved over 160 points from my initial practice test to the day I got my official score from the test center. The instructors, curriculum and materials all work in concert to help you get the score you want.

One word of warning though - Manhattan GMAT is not a silver bullet. Raising my score from the 50th percentile to the 90th percentile took months of hard work and consistent study, but Manhattan gave me to the tools and resources to be able to execute the study plan that allowed me to get the score I needed to get into a top 10 program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A Happy Customer of eGMAT
February 13 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By beniat18 joined: April 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  MEGHNA MUDALIAR
I thought of doing MBA sometime during the last semester of my college. My initial belief that GMAT would be easy lasted only till i took a mock test. It was only then that i realized that my verbal skills were weak.

And hence I decided to focus on the verbal section. However I was not sure which test prep company i should go for until i got a chance to attend a free online class conducted by eGMAT.
Once i was done with that class, i had made up my mind on the test prep company.

I don't have scores to show at the moment, as i have not written my GMAT (delay being due to the pressure at work) . I am looking forward to writing the GMAT in March.

However, I would recommend eGMAT to any aspirant (especially non native speakers)looking to crack the GMAT. The method used at eGMAT will ensure that you can confidently pick the correct answer. Also the courses are fairly priced.

Try it... You will not regret!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Its a blessing and I love it
February 13 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By somshripatnaik joined: January 20, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Reason for selecting Magoosh - I watched the trail/free contents first and found the lessons easy to understand.
Syllabus - All the topics that are required to be covered for GMAT have been dealt with in detail, complete with practice questions. The basics are covered first and then advance concepts are explained with a lot of illustrations.
User Interface - Very simple and a no nonsense user interface makes planning and execution a breeze
Video Lessons - The videos run smoothly even with my slow internet speed. The voice in the videos is crystal clear and is accompanied by text so you learn with your eyes and ears both
Lessons - Lessons are interactive i.e. you will be asked to pause the video and try the solution yourself first and then the solutions will be discussed.
Practice questions - There are multiple filters by which you can customize your practice questions. Every single practice question has a video explaining its solution. Also each question has been rated based on its difficulty level.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep Online Course -- You Get What You Pay For
February 12 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  David Newland
Veritas Prep, in general and in detail, has figured out the GMAT. Much like medical students in their first year work with cadavers in their education of the human body, Veritas Prep has sectioned out each part of the exam, dissected it, studied it's most integral parts and determined the best approaches and systematic principles to overcome hurdles to learning.

As a student, the confidence of the instructors is calming and paves the way to a relaxed learning environment. The energy and positive demeanor of my instructor (David Newland) kept each of the 12 3-hr sessions on target with a measured tempo. There were no luls in teaching. There was no looking at the clock to see when class would be over. If you want to learn, if you want to grow, then I highly recommend Veritas Prep and David Newland.

The material is dense, but so is the exam. There is no escaping that. However, David cuts through that with a sense of humility and nerdy humor combined with a solid respect for great movie comedies. When you need to get serious, it's time to get serious and dissect a problem and figure out why the answer was A or B, etc. But when you need to laugh it off, and at some point in the 36hours you will, it's nice to know that you can take a breather.

You get what you pay for and I must add that you get what you put into it. Show up to class prepared and you will breeze through the standard questions and give yourself a puncher's chance as you navigate high percentile level questions. The key, as David points out, is to learn from your mistakes.

I'd pay it all over again, but don't worry because Veritas Prep let's you repeat the course free of charge! Take Veritas Prep and enjoy making a positive and influential change in your life.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
An efficient way to study for the GMAT
February 12 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  David Newland
I was a bit apprehensive about spending money to study for the GMAT, but I'm glad I did! Taking the course, especially online, was super-efficient for my full-time work schedule. They really help you to focus your attention on the areas that are tested and the areas that you need to brush up on. I improved my practice scores by over 100 points from pre-course to post-course. David Newland was a really great instructor. He kept things light, but more importantly, he really helped me to think about the test in a way so that I feel more confident and even a little bit excited about studying and taking the test. I'm so glad that I took the class! It's definitely worth the cost and the time!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great experience with Veritas Prep
February 12 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  David Newland
I recently completed the Live Online course with Dave as my instructor and Chris Speck as my TA. As a college senior, I'm only a few years out from high school math and though that this would be a great time to knock out the GMAT. Taking this course helped me stay on task and keep up with the work. I had a built in schedule, an arranged date I couldn't cancel on. I feel that the course is valuable in that I learned lots of skills and strategies. I already was strong in quant and verbal heading into the course (scoring a 680 on my practice tests before taking the course) but Veritas has really helped me navigate the challenging questions. I've been able to understand what the test takers are truly asking and how to find the appropriate answer. Some of the other individuals in my class were at least 10 years out from college and I believe that the course was more valuable to them as a refresher on math skills. I needed it more for the strategy.

Great retake policy for Veritas - if you don't feel comfortable or ready for the exam, you can retake the course any time within the year. This is what separated Manhattan from Veritas for me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings