Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1520]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
490 to 770 - Empowergmat Made Me A GMAT Killer!
March 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By joshcmba joined: March 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
I studied with Empowergmat for 3 months and was able to accomplish something that I never thought was possible. I’ve never been a great tester, but with Rich’s and Max’s guidance I went from a 490 to a 770. On my official GMAT, I felt like Neo in The Matrix. I was ready for everything, used my training and even dumped 4 questions on purpose. There are so many little secrets that you’ll learn with this course that you really just have to stay calm, follow the lessons and do enough practice. Empower has literally changed my life. I’m looking at scholarships and getting really excited to apply this fall. If I can do it, anyone can do it!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT Review
March 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By ptej joined: August 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I Found it really very useful. It was regular like the Princeton courses. I wish i get a more practice questions not only from official guide but from other books too. I have practised the Official guide twice, so i am aware of the answers well.

Overall, other the above suggestion, i am able to get completely thorough with the course. The Sentence correction section was very simple and understanding. The Reading Comphrension was understanding but expected more analysis on it. The most interesting to me is the critical reasoning section. I really had interesting topics while going through the section. As told earlier, the practice questions are from the same official guide which i have already practised a couple of times.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very Satisfied
March 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By ayellis joined: August 10, 2014 | 13 | 7 | native speaker
Improvement:  160 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Thus far I have been very happy with the Economist GMAT course. I paid $500 and have thus far been using it for several weeks - I am around 45% complete with the quantitative section and 35% done with verbal. I am very solid with my verbal knowledge, and have been happy with the focus thus far on the quantitative work. My only small complaint is that while its adaptive technology is touted upon purchase, there is little evidence of it actually being put in use. Is the adaptiveness actual or in name only? I'd like to see more information on that. Overall I have been happy with the content and with the communications I have been receiving. I have yet to take the GMAT, but am hoping this will be the key to a good performance the first time around. Highly recommended for those who have an on-the-go lifestyle, can afford it, and believe they'd benefit from a course that does the work for them (at least supposedly!).

UPDATE: After taking the official GMAT, I ended up with a 160 point improvement from my first practice test to the actual GMAT, going from 550 to 710. I was shooting for 720 - though I guess I was happy with anything over 700, and really I should be thankful to have made it as far as I did. There were some things emphasized by The Economist that were not included in the GMAT at all, but overall I feel like it was well worth the money and my time was used wisely. I was also featured on their blog - so check out more of my thoughts, as edited by them, here: https://gmat.economist.com/blog/student-stories/how-andrew-conquered-gmat-full-time-job


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Quant & SC Good, Verbal Not so Good
March 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By HamzaSyed joined: February 8, 2015 | 3 | 2 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Quant:

Great. Explanations come in two forms: video, text. FOR ALL questions. So you can learn while feeling relaxed and not putting strain on eye (reading). Explanations are good and corresponding video lessons are attached!!!

SC:

Good. Points out and explains every split and thing and again, corresponding videos are attached with EVERY QUESTION...JUST LIKE IT IS IN QUANT!!!

RC:

I found the passages to be way too long, convoluted, rich with weird words and dates. Couldn't learn much.

CR:

Could not learn much here. Very boring and frustrating. Explanations are not well enough. Wrong answer types are not explained.

(CR and RC also have very limited video lessons as compared to SC and Quant. My rough guess is that they together account for arround 10% of total video lessons. This is also because of nature of these two sections.)

Practice Review: Very well detailed and customizable. You can look into and compare results based on question type, topic/subject, average timing taken to solve the questions, when the question was taken, flagged, etc. Very good.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very good teaching
March 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 18, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Hi All,
I recently purchased magoosh after a lot of online research about which course is the best. I check a lot of them like Kaplan, veritas, gmat pill etc. Magoosh is the best one that i have seen till date.
The best part is, after each question there is a video about the solution.In the solution video the instructor solves it in real time in front of us, this not only helps us to find the solution but also helps us on how to approach the problem in a super fast manner.

One More thing that they have are the filters after every test that you take. Lot of filters. You can find flagged questions, incorrect questions, questions in which you took more time and a lot of other stuff.

All of this only @ $99. This is the cheapest by far.

Great Work from Magoosh
Thanks
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Much better than expected.
March 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Milind joined: November 8, 2009 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Positives -
1. Video explanations for each and every concept really helps to understand the concept in detail.
2. Great content - besides the subject related videos, the strategy videos in relevant sections are literally the game changer.
3. Practice questions - powered by some great practice questions.
4. Dashboard provides great insight of your preparation.
5. Another great feature is the timer for each question, that compares your average time with the general average. So you get to know, how much one needs to improve.
Not so positive -
1. Probably, there could be more than one full length practice.
By 5-6 practice tests the entire package will become at par (if not better) than the best in the business.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Cheap is good
March 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By clapo93 joined: February 8, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I've heard about magoosh on this forum and at the beginning I was a bit diffident because of the so little price, but I have only two month to prepare and it seems to me the quickest online course.
Now that I've tried magoosh and I've done the GMAT I have to say that it has been a very powerful tool in my preparation.
The best part is the quantitative one very detailed and well explained with a clear voice.
Also verbal part is good but maybe designed for native speaker.
The only negative thing to underline are the CATs that in my opinion are not very similar to the official ones.
Thus I really suggest this course to people who have little time and don't want to spend much money.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
eGMAT Verbal Live Prep
March 17 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By poonia001 joined: December 24, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Shraddha Jaiswal
Dear All,

I have used the services of eGMAT through their Verbal Live Prep Program. Verbal Live Prep Program is one of the world's most comprehensive prep program for the GMAT prep.

Before taking the Verbal Live Prep Program, I had written the GMAT once. Now, looking back to how prepared or rather under-prepared I was to tackle the Verbal Section of the GMAT, I am not surprised that I had not prepared well for my first attempt.

Specifically, the Verbal Live Prep Program focuses on building strong concepts or fundamentals in the beginning of the course. The regular webinars encourage one to practice well and to overcome conceptual challenges that one may be facing. There is a strong focus on following the eGMAT process, which is the key to scoring high on the actual GMAT.

The latest product, Scholaranium is going to be the game changer for the test prep industry. Rajat's focus on assessing one's ability pays rich dividends when it comes to focusing on specific areas of improvement.

Overall, the Verbal Live Prep Program is highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Empower GMAT Testimonial- Crush the GMAT!
March 17 | 2015

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Racer87 joined: March 16, 2013 | 13 | 11 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
Hello All,

I posted a similar version of this message back in October, but I am excited to see Empower as an official GMAT Club partner so I am re-posting my review of the course in hopes to help others think of alternative study options to reach their score potential!

Summary of my background:

Undergrad: Top 50 school on East Coast
Major: Communications (i.e. non quant or STEM)
Career: A few years in financial services and currently working in education management

Final GMAT Score (September 2014)
Total: 700
Quant: 47
Verbal: 39
IR: 6/8
AWA: 6/6

I literally studied for the GMAT for over a year. I originally signed up for a big test prep company (Manhattan GMAT) late in the summer of 2013 and took the full live course. I went to every session and tried to follow all the homework, but didn't feel like their course was the most appropriate learning technique for me. It was very formulaic and the concepts weren't breaking through for me. Nothing against my Manhattan instructor (he was excellent), I just felt like the group classes weren't the best learning environment for me as everyone in the class was at very different stages/ability levels at the time. In January of 2014 I scored a 600 on my first attempt (Q35, V37). Although not bad for a first attempt, I knew that this score wasn't really good enough to get into any of my dream schools in the top-15. While my verbal was in the 80%, my quant was really weak only in the 30th percentile range.

I took a month or two off and then started studying again in March. This time I tried to self-study and then use a professional "tutor" for some one-on-one instruction via Skype. Quant was my major weak area, and I tried to spend most of my time studying this section, but it seemed like I couldn't break through even with the tutors help. My approach to word problems was shaky and I didn't feel confident at all on DS. I took the exam for the 2nd time in June and scored a 610 (Q35 V38). I was devastated and started to think that a top GMAT score just wasn't in the cards for me.

Around the same time, I heard about EmpowerGMAT through a good friend of mine. She raved about the course so I decided to take the plunge and give it a shot as a sort of a last resort (I had already spent a lot of $$$ on GMAT Prep so I was very skeptical). I signed up in July 2014 and used Empower for approximately 3 months until I took my exam at the end of September 2014.

The Empower Quant modules literally changed everything for me! I finally started to understand how to approach and ATTACK problems. I finally got the idea that I needed to write everything on the pad and stop trying to do Math in my head.

Empower teaches you tactics of how to approach all types of problems to maximize efficiency on test day. Furthermore, it really goes into a lot of detail about question types and which ones really matter (in terms of your score) and which ones likely count for very little. This was huge for me as I was able to focus on the Quant topics that accounted for the highest point proportion and prioritize my studying time. This also gave me a much better idea of which questions I should be strategically eliminating on test day to remain on time as I always had a pacing problem on Quant as well. For the first time on Test Day, I was able to fully complete the Quant section without rushing to pick random answers at the end. I know this was huge in terms of my overall score on the section. As you can see I jumped from Q35 to Q47 in one exam which is a massive improvement.

The Verbal sections were very solid also. I was already pretty strong in this area, but I thought their SC framework helped me get sharper on identifying splits and errors. And they have a good fundamental approach to CR questions which I think is really valuable to those who may be struggling in that area of the test.

I knew from my practice that my scores would trend up but still wasn't expecting a 700 to be honest. I think that besides the actual tactical approach to the exam, I realized how important the mental aspect was. I started looking at the test as a challenge to attack! One of the best things Empower taught me is how to be MENTALLY FIT during the exam, ready to attack the test. I sat up straight, kept good posture, took my breaks, and did a few breathing exercises during the exam to keep me calm. To use Empower's line, I starting to think like an "assassin". I realized that although these small tricks may seem trivial, everything counts when you are trying to maximize your performance on a high-stakes exam such as the GMAT! As they say, luck is when preparation meets opportunity. I am a true believer of that after my GMAT journey.

I'm sharing my testimonial in hope that it convinces some of you to KEEP PUSHING and DON'T GIVE UP. I spent over a year studying for this exam and there were definite moments of serious self-doubt about whether I could do this (even though I have always done well in school). This exam for many is more about perseverance and dedication rather than luck and natural intelligence.

I hope you all continue to keep fighting on your journey and please consider using EMPOWER GMAT for your preparation (especially if you are someone like me who used other prep resources to no avail). EMPOWER was literally a GAME CHANGER for me and I know it can be for some others.

I applied to schools in the 2nd round this year and so far here are my results:

Yale (admitted with scholarship)
Michigan (admitted with scholarship)
Berkeley (admitted)
Kellogg (still TBD)

All the best in your journey!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Egmat Verbal review
March 17 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 17, 2012 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
Hi Guys,
I heard lot of good reviews about the course so I took this course.
I have started doing this E- Gmat verbal course, though I have not taken the full course till now but whatever I have done. I feel confident about the course. The way video and exercise are made, they are self explanatory ( Easy to understand) . It also covers all the topic. Yes this course is definitely good for non native speakers

I hope, I will improve on my verbal part after this course. Will definitely write my full review once everything is done. Keeping my finger crossed.

Thanks and regards
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings