Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1036]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Worth it
September 09 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
The Veritas Prep On-Demand course gave me the ability to study at my own pace while offering high quality content.

While the videos and lessons were great, I found the practice questions and tests to be particularily useful in helping to prepare for the actual exam. I would recommend doing as many practice problems as possible and to have completed several full length practice tests before taking the real exam.

I was able to increase my score by 80 points, and would likely be able to increase it even more if I had had more time. I would definitely recommend Veritas Prep to anyone who is seeking to dramatically improve their GMAT score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
On Demand Course - A lot of practice questions - Scored 720 points
September 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I am non-native speaker and till my school level, the medium of instruction was Hindi. So, in GMAT my weakest area was verbal. I prepared with standard study material such as Manhattan GMAT and Official Guide and even taken a local coaching to improve my verbal score. But I had a lot of doubt which remained as doubt.

I always believed in self-study instead of tutor, classes and all. After taking some MGMAT mock CATs, I realized that verbal score was not improving, and it was always vacillating between 28 and 32. My GMAT was just a few weeks away, and I thought of taking a GMAT prep test. It was a real bummer and scored 28 on verbal. I knew that I could not change 28 to 38 in 2 weeks’ time, but did not want to change the exam date either, so took advice from a few colleagues who had already gone with Optimus Prep on Demand, and I purchased that and started working on it.

I was simply blown away with the change in experience in transition from books to online video format. While traveling, I would take on a few videos and then a few on the way back. When I got bored, I would watch a movie or listen to songs. The ability to carry the study material and consume it in tiny chunks was of immense use to me. I am not used to study, so sitting for long hours was difficult. The material has been created in such a way that anyone can start studying and build pace on his own according to capacity. I am one of the slower learners and this style of material helped me.

The adaptive tests are highlight of this course, along with the CAT tests as they really tell you where you are respect to what is required of you. Within 2 weeks, I was able to observe a drastic change in my way of approach to answering questions. I don’t mean just the techniques, but an overall perception shift towards the GMAT, somewhat like Neo in the Matrix, I could "see" GMAT very differently than before and more holistically than before.
Once I went through a concept, I tried using the test Generator of Optimus Prep on Demand and practice a few questions related to the concept. After that, I reviewed my mistakes and updated the online error log. Few days later, I reviewed the concept in which I made mistakes, practiced more problems in the areas that I made mistakes in. Once I was confident, I moved on to the next concept and so on.

Most people focus majorly on the verbal, but this does not mean you can slack on quant. Once I went through the videos, I practiced a lot of tests and constantly checked that my level on quant was maintained. The quant in OG is way too easy, but with Optimus on Demand, the level is balanced. Thankfully, due to the adaptive nature of the tests I was able to hold on to my quant level, and focus on the verbal. Thank you Optimus, and now I move ahead to the next stage having scored a competitive 720.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent video lectures and practice questions for non native spealer
September 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I got to know about the e-GMAT verbal online course through a friend who seemed pretty impressed by the course. After I took the free trial i knew that this course is meant for me (non native speakers). Their video lectures explained all grammar rules for SC in a very simple manner, and with a lot of examples and practice questions. This definitely helped me improve my grasp on SC.

Earlier I was referring to MGMAT books for Verbal, but I felt that i was not able to understand and absorb so many SC rules and I needed someone to explain all these rules in a simple way and e-GMAT was the solution to my problem.

Anyone who can complete their course with dedication will definitely get 36 in Verbal. The take care of all the fundamentals which are essential to getting atleast 36.

To score more, you will have to take a lot of difficult mock tests so that you become familiar with tricky verbal questions which can help you score above 40.

I would definitely recommend this course to non native speakers who can absorb more through video lectures than through books.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
highly recommended
September 07 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ancavelicu joined: November 15, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
From the very beginning I had a good experience with veritas. They were very prompt and helpful in advising me on the various course and tutoring options.
Once I enrolled and because there was not enough time for the books to arrive, they sent me the books for the first two classes in pdf form.
After reading several reviews, I opted for Ravi's course. And I did not regret it for a second. He has the skills of a great teacher: he speaks clearly, explains the content very well and pushes students to improve.

As for veritas prep books: they are very well organized and provide the necessary foundations for each chapter; but more than that, they provide valuable strategy advice.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT is a smashing hit
September 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
This is my third attempt at GMAT. I am still at my GMAT dream score yet, but the good side is that my Verbal score has definitely improved. I have gone from a V33 to a V37. The kudos go to e-GMAT course.
I thought I could never take on Verbal, but this team makes English questions sound and appear logical and the answer obvious. They teach you ways to spot the answer that has always been staring you in the face, but you just did not know how to look for it.
We all know what Prethinking is. However, this team has the ability to ingrain a process in your head with which answers come naturally to you and you are sure of the answer as opposed to second guessing yourself.
Thank you e-GMAT team. You guys make me believe in me.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very good on demand course!
September 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I took the on demand course of Optimus Prep and was very satisfied with the product. I wanted a self study option where I can get access to many questions, explanations and video lessons. That was exactly what the course was all about. I took many GMAT practice tests and followed the approach learning by doing. I liked the analytics software which told me where my weaknesses were. It was great that I could practice questions filtered among difficulty level. The support of Optimus Prep was also great and their live chat was always willing to help. The price is also fair if I compare them to other test prep companies. The course was great and I can really recommend it to others! I hope to score well when I take the GMAT in one week.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great source to learn how to beat the GMAT test
September 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I enrolled at Optimus Prep on Demand course after I scored a 660 in my first shot at GMAT. I'm was much more confident for the exam day the second time around than I was at the first time. Couldn't recommend the course more! There were a lot of moments when I thought to give up and to concentrate on my job. I like to mention that I am an engineer so I was good in quant but verbal was not my cup of tea. I took the official GMAT before signing up for Optimus Prep On Demand. This was the best decision. Had I not found this company and their product offerings, I would not have improved my score. I studied by myself with OG books and did not perform as well as I would like. After watching the videos to my convenience and studying the material and taking regular tests on their site using the amazing test generator, I became confident in my work. I was able to watch the videos in my free time despite my full work and study course load. I increased my official score by 70 points and am well on my way to get admitted to the graduate school of my choice (fingers crossed). I would recommend this series to anyone! The course fits me quite well because it goes straight to the point, teaching you how to think logically. The videos are a good form to learn, as I often lose focus when reading something for too long.

Optimus can be useful because after each lesson there are practice tests to complete. The tests re-enforce the lessons. I am a native speaker and I thought the course would be useful but after using Optimus I purchased Aristotle Grail, which added more value now that my concepts are clear from Optimus. I found the CR videos pretty nifty as well, especially the pre thinking portions. The homework exercises are pretty good and reflect the difficult level of the actual exam. The adaptive nature of tests and also the practice tests is really something. There are around 6000 questions in the bank and the DIY test creation options for students are really great. You can choose to take the untimed tests for any section you want, and once you are confident, you can time your tests. There is an online error log which tracks what you are getting wrong, which you can cover using videos, clarify concepts and have a go at it again. Quant section can have more difficult exercises, but overall level is pretty good. The 9 GMAT CATs are just what you need when you are just a few weeks away from the actual thing.

Also, this course is good for the wallet, if you compare the other test prep companies and what they charge for their courses. Plus there is discount GMAT Club members can avail of and that knocks the prices off by half. I will recommend this course to everyone not just Non Native speakers since we cannot go wrong in the final exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The God of GMAT prep
September 03 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By RKOOuttaNowhere joined: August 31, 2014 | 10 | 7 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Isaac
Well, after abandoning my GMAT coaching in 2010, after 4 years I finally decided to take up the mammoth task (or so it seemed) again! And boy, was I nervous! I really did not want to attend coaching classes that use mass teaching techniques, rip you off and give you little time for personal attention.

Browsing randomly through the internet, I came upon a gold mine - The Economist GMAT Tutor.

The product has me hooked since the free trial period and I can actually see results coming out fast. Their simulation software is mind blowing and I am pretty sure they invested a lot in AI to get this level of detail.
The biggest difference from other coaching classes is in the approach that they take to teach you concepts. It is simple, easy to follow and reinforced to you through practice questions. You can always Ask a Tutor for any doubts.

I have found their approach to questions in Sets (AXA table vs Venn diagrams) far superior, their approach to RCs ridiculously easy to follow and finally a perfect record of your progress to help you monitor your advancement.

Before this course I had given an impromptu sample GMAT at Princeton without studying a damned thing and got a 570 (very average). After 5 days of free trial study, I got a 650. And a 650, only when I had covered 17% of the syllabus!

That speaks for itself!

My latest session with my instructor Isaac was also very fruitful as he guided me in the best way possible, using back end analytics to tell me where was i SPECIFICALLY good or bad, and boy was it a reinforcement!

And most of all, since I have to travel in my work a lot, I can log in from anywhere and just start solving stuff. Kudos to The Economist for making such a great prep software!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Awesome Course, Even Better Instructor
September 02 | 2014

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By allllaann joined: September 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehi
The Veritas Prep curriculum and course were great. They thoroughly teach you the material and then enforce it through practice problems and skillbuilder quizzes. There are additional practice problems that can be done and they also offer the most practice tests out of any prep company out there.

Ethan was awesome. He came into each class with energy and made problem explanations understandable for the entire class. He was always available for further questions and you could tell he really cared about the well-being of our class.

Planning to do a bit of self-study now that the course is over and then sign up for the actual exam. I feel confident with the tools that Veritas has armed me with.

Would definitely recommend Veritas over the other prep companies out there.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The e-GMAT Verbal live
September 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rathsurya joined: February 28, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I am a verbal live prep customer of e-GMAT. Before e-GMAT I had joined a well-recognized (indian) GMAT coaching institute. During my previous attempt I had gone through numerous materials form different sources. For my fellow GMAT aspirants I would like to highlight some strong areas of e-GMAT SC so that it will be helpful for you.
SC: Before e-GMAT I thought that you need to a grammarian in order to do well on SC, and people like us (non natives) can’t do well on SC. However, after going though e-GMAT live classes and online materials, I found that if you follow the procedure and crack the meaning, you can achieve 90-100% accuracy. The few things I like the most about e-GMAT SC
. Focus on meaning
. use of sentence structure for comprehension and error detection
. The 3-steps process.
I am yet to give my second attempt. Once I am done, I will let you know the e-GMAT impact with more details….
Cheers
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings