Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1623]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
720 GMAT from 470: Verbal Crushed!
April 28 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By marketingnut joined: April 27, 2015 | 3 | 7 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
A note about me: I'm a brand marketing strategist, and I'd like to pursue an MBA from either Kellogg, or Wharton. I had a window of time between projects to "knock the GMAT", but it's just not that simple. I totally underestimated this thing at first.
The naive early days: I bought the 2015 GMAT Official Guides and thought that would be enough. The OG questions are obviously the best quality questions, but the explanations are usually insultingly useless. Here's an example: "(D) is awkward and ungrammatical". Are you kidding me? How about an explanation why? Why is it awkward, specifically? Why is it ungrammatical, specifically? So frustrating.
Result: 480 Diagnostic test with GMAT Prep free software.
Early conclusion: I needed a more comprehensive plan, with more structure, and most importantly, I knew there just had to be a more methodical way. I realized the importance of having a clear tactic to take with each question type, and the importance of really great explanations for every question type on the GMAT.

From there, he's what worked!
Some people might be able to self-prep, and that's fine for them, but getting the right MBA is too important to me to take chances. My thinking is if I'm going to spend $200,000 getting an MBA, I can afford to spend a few hundred dollars to help get in to the right school. I checked out sample videos for every course I could to get a sense for the best style, including e-GMAT, Magoosh, GMAT Pill, on and on. I liked EMPOWERgmat. It seemed to have the best teaching style. Here's where I went to compare all of the samples in one place, and I think you'll see what I mean: http://gmatclub.com/forum/free-trials-master-list-of-all-free-gmat-course-trials-196374.htm
How I used EMPOWERgmat: I downloaded the 2 Month Study Plan PDF (you can download it here: https://www.empowergmat.com/the-course/ ), and signed up. EMPOWERgmat was excellent, and here's specifically why;
• There are video explanations for every question, including the GMAT Official Guide. Even though I already did the official questions, doing them again and watching these videos was night and day. The explanations are super, super thorough and helpful. It's like getting inside of the brain of a GMAT Jedi. It just clicked for me.
• The course doesn't just emphasize content, or tactics, it emphasizes both. Having gone through the process, I don't think it's possible to beat the GMAT with only one. You need both. The course got me up to speed on the content (arguments, proper reading techniques, geometry, math rules, SC rules, etc.), and blew me away with how powerful the tactics are (the RC ladder, triage, test it, the CR box, the 5 second scan, etc.). I'd say that the content probably got me up to a 550 or so, and the tactics helped me secure the 720.
• It's on demand, so I was able to train on my terms
• The price is ridiculous. $99 per month is crazy reasonable. I was even thinking about spending $1000 for a course. In retrospect, that probably would have been throwing money down the drain
• Important: I committed to exactly following the study plan, and I think it's really important to follow the plan exactly as laid out. I'm not sure it would have worked as well had I deviated, especially on verbal.
Realistic practice GMATs: As per Rich and Max's advice, I always took full practice GMATs with the AWA and IR sections, at 8 AM to match the same time of day as my real test. I always took my practice GMATs on a Sunday morning so I could practice Saturday, and then review the test Sunday afternoon with the EMPOWERgmat Mistake Tracker tool. I found the tracker indispensable to help isolate and target patterns in my mistakes. My scores hovered in the mid-500s for a while, then I shot through the 600s. My best practice GMAT was a 730, so I was right in line on the real thing.

All said and done: Even though I didn't end up clobbering quant, I'm OK with the results, especially hitting the 96th percentile on verbal and the 94th percentile overall. It was good to know that I could beat one of these tests. I didn't score at that percentile on the ACT. All said and done, it feels supremely good to have the GMAT behind me now. Once you beat this test, it can change not only your professional outlook, but it also just feels good, you know? To be able to say "I did it", it's worth everything I put into it.

To those still prepping: go get your big GMAT score. I can tell you first hand that you can do it. You just need the right mind set to welcome the tactical training, commitment to a good study plan, and the right resources.

Compare the other video courses. It's not even a fair fight. EMPOWERgmat is amazing, and it was instrumental in helping me beat the GMAT.

Cheers everyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good course but requires additional content
April 28 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 14, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I used the Economist GMAT prep software and thought it did an excellent job at teaching overall strategy to approach the sections / question types and giving explanations to each question. The explanations for each question are worth their weight in gold in terms of helping increase learning speed.

The course is weighted more towards logic and logical reasoning; so I found it useful to use the MGMAT materials as well in order to get more exposure to tougher calculation questions. Deducting one star for the need to use other materials and other CATs that are less logic focused.

Overall I scored 750 on the real GMAT (Q47, V47).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
An Amazing Experience
April 28 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 9, 2014 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I had an amazing experience with EGMAT.I love the live sessions.
The entire course deals with methods and process which is the essence of cracking the gmat.The SC section is simply superb.The live sessions are an added pearl to this course.The concepts in CR and strategies in RC are also really explained very well.
The entire course is very well structured.There's a new section of SCHOLARINIUM(free with this course!!) which further helps to organize the chapter in quizzes and helps us prepare in advance for the tests.
The online classes are an Asset.We get a wonderful chance to clear our doubts.The gmatclub tests together with Egmat are a real great tool.This course is simply amazing!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
verbal review
April 28 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
i came across the egmat verbal course through gmatclub. I started with the trial course on SC and the concepts presented on 'modifiers ' were very simple and easy to comprehend. The concepts on CR (strengthen) and RC (main point) were equally impressive. I subscribed to the full verbal online course. All the concepts presented in the course are easy to comprehend and remember. It has given me a lot of confidence in tackling gmat questions.

As compared to the other courses, i find this course easy to understand and apply. Additionally the frequent online sessions are an add advantage. The complete course is a good package for preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Verbal Live Prep - V30 to V40
April 28 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By chinmayasrivastava joined: September 19, 2014 | 2 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I joined e-GMAT as I really liked the way they explain concepts without using grammatical jargons. The live classes and also the visual study material make it extremely easy to comprehend concepts and relate to GMAT Concepts. For example usage of terms like verb-ing and verb-ed was simply amazing.

I would recommend this course to everybody who dreads GMAT Verbal. E-GMAT simplifies things for one's understanding beyond imagination. I would say 4 point guarantee should be removed as it quantifies the guarantee but experience was much more beautiful. Thank you Rajat, Payal , Neeti, Megha and if I am missing anybody apologies for the same but I have nothing else to say but Thank You E-GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by 3274K on May 01, 2015
Thanks Chinmaya! I'm a non-native speaker, have given GMAT twice, stuck in the 700-710 range (Q49, V34-38). Do you think the e-GMAT verbal course covers advanced concepts/problems that can help me cross the 740+ barrier?
2 Commented by chinmayasrivastava on May 01, 2015
Hi I would suggest you to attend a few free sessions and then take a call. I can say for myself that I improved a lot as you can see from my score. Hope that helps Chinmaya
 
Quant course is worth the money!!
April 28 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By arunkramesh joined: May 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
Initially i had a go at the MGMAT books and I was able to score 46 in my quants. After that I was unable to boost my scores past 46. I was stuck and on reviewing the wrong choices i understood that I was not clear with certains basics especially with Probability , Exponents and Numbers. I tried reading the books again and still I found it not helping me out. Then I signed up for the Quant prep course in e-gmat, which was a very good one. I already had signed up for the verbal and hence I wanted to try the quants course as well. The course really helped me to understand the concepts better. The course is segregated into five major topics and sub topics under each major topic. I ran through the concepts that I already knew and then i focused on the topics that i was not confident enough. I even found the Number properties section really helpful. I then tried to test myself using the gmat club tests and I was able to score a 50, 49 and 50 in consecutive three tests which i took on three different days. I was scoring 46 in my earlier tests in the gmat club tests. I also took two free tests in GMat prep and scored 50 in both. So, I thought of sharing this with others and i definitely know that there are others who are struggling to boost their scores into the 50's. I hope my review will be useful to them.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Worth the time and money!!
April 28 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By destinyboy joined: May 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
I took e-gmat's live course. It was worth every penny. I think the best way to utilize the course was to target my weak areas for me they were SC and CR. Ensure you complete the pre requisites before you go for the Live modules and you are done.I think it helped me a lot because it is all compartmentalize so you don't have to go though each and every concept file.
Also the level of support during the class OR over the E mail has been really good with majority of queries being resolved in legitimate time and to satisfaction.

It's totally worth it, you won't find any other test prep company with such a package.

Follow "the process"and I am sure you will excel !

Without an iota of doubt I recommend e-GMAT verbal live to every GMAT aspirant.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Preparation for GMAT Quantitative Part
April 27 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By reshmarazzak joined: December 4, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I am using the e-gmat quant live review for the preparation of my GMAT quantitative section. I found it really useful and amazing and it boosts my confidence.
The trainer knows exactly where we fall short and addresses those issues. I recommend skimming through the reading before attending the review session. In that way....no one will have any issue with the fundamental understanding of the related concepts after the review session. And after the review session, you would only need to practice a few questions to solidify your understanding.
I would recommend anyone to attend this course and bet that they should be able to score at their 90th percentile.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Egmat verbal online course review
April 25 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 22, 2013 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
Egmat Verbal online course helped me immensely in improving my verbal concepts. All the three courses i.e SC, CR and RC are top notch in terms of content and delivery. There are many aspects of these courses I liked, however the most striking aspect is that all courses emphasise upon the process that needs to be rigorously followed for each question type. Before enrolling to Egmat course, I used to blindely solve verbal questions, without doing any why-why analysis (this is jargon word used in manufacturing) i.e. why selected answer choice was correct and why selected answer choice was incorrect. If you map each verbal question of OG to the Egmat process then you will get to know the difference between right and wrong answers.
The course also has a live sessions which are immesnsely helpful. All instructors are very thorough in the concepts and they will go extra mile to solve any of your queries related to course contents.

Overall if I were to rate this course out of 5, I would give the rating 4.9. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve his or her verbal score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Coach Ravi and Veritas for the Win!
April 25 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Masterdrey joined: July 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After taking the GMAT for the first time and being discouraged with the outcome. I knew that if I was going to put in the time and effort I should use a top prep program. After doing some research on the available programs I was overwhelmed with all the different prep course program offerings. Consequently, I narrowed my search down based on how I would prefer to prepare for the test. Specifically, I wanted a weekend only online course.
However, even with such a narrow criteria I still had to choose from a select few programs. I decided to go with Veritas because it was consistently ranked as one of the top prep programs on various sites that I searched on. Furthermore, I specifically chose Ravi as my instructor because he was the top rated instructor on the GMATClub forums.
After taking the course, I can confirm that Ravi is indeed an excellent teacher. He has great charisma and keeps you focused through the 3 hour long lectures. However, most importantly Ravi consistently discussed critical areas of study, while emphasizing that GMAT is a logic test and showing how logic is key in all problems of the exam.
Overall, I felt that the course was taught at a good pace and I was consistently challenged. In fact, I was frustrated more than a few times after incorrectly answering certain problems on topics discussed in class. Nonetheless Ravi’s and Varitas’s approach of dissecting problems helped me learn from my mistakes and ultimately get a 700+ score on test day. THANKS COACH RAVI!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings