Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1697]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Chris Kane - Veritas - Excellent
May 19 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: May 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Chris Kane
I completed a Veritas Prep Course (Live Online) that was taught by Chris Kane. My score increased from a 710 to a 760 thanks to the Veritas materials and instructors. Chris is incredibly familiar with the Veritas readings and homework assignments, since he co-authored the Veritas books. Chris also made the lectures enjoyable by telling some great stories and by spending time after class answering questions. Chris took the time to give me personal advice via email and over the phone after the class concluded. Although I have not completed any other GMAT courses, I find it hard to believe that anyone does a better job than Chris. He is a genuinely nice guy, and I highly recommend him!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent product for verbal if you're targeting 720+
May 19 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: November 11, 2014 | 7 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
e-GMAT is one of the best courses I have purchased in a long time and I have purchased many. Especially for CR, this course is a one stop shop for your preparation, right from concept to that final stage of 'exam ready prep'.

I would recommend e-gmat for their approach towards the topics. After some browsing, I realized that most of the verbal courses in the market classify the subject into similar categories. e-gmat shines in the strategies it recommends for each category and also in the way it helps you apply each strategy.

Each section (be it SC,RC or CR) has been thoughtfully divided into introductory section, approach, application and summary.
(note that these are not the exact titles, I'm only recollecting from memory).
This type of classification helped me considerably in the end, as it made revision and note taking very easy.

The quizzes, assessment tests helped me affirm my understanding of each topic or in some cases, realize that I needed to revisit the concept.

The course also provides a list of OG questions at the end of each topic. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to go past 700.


-Re-enforcement is done via the quizzes and post-assessment tests
-For topics that are difficult, you can hit the pause and rewind buttons and go over them multiple times.
-Modular: Each video is short (no more than 15-20 minutes) which is the ideal length to ensure you don't lose focus

Weakness:
-Quizzes are not adaptive. But I read a recent mail about an adaptive test offering coming soon.
-Number of questions in the quizzes can be increased.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep - The best verbal Course
May 19 | 2015

       By veenasan joined: July 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
I have subscribed to e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep .
Background : I gave my first GMAT attempt on Nov 3rd 2014 and ended up with a score of 610 :( with split of Q45 V28 or so Needless to say , I was too disappointed , more so because I have always been an above average student and believed that my calibre was 700+ . I had prepared for about 4 months for my first attempt .
I decided to give another try , but sad part for me was , I was unable to figure how to improve on Verbal .I knew that I had to imporve on verbal , but didnt know exactly how . Unable to decide my next course of action , I decided to consult a few friends who had scored a decent GMAT score and am glad I did this . One of my friend who had taken up this course , vouched so much for e-GMAT VLP course, in fact he told me that the course is worth every penny . The very next day I subscribed for e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep and believe me this has been the best thing I did .

Best things about this course :
> The most important thing is " There is a Process " for solving questions . Believe me it makes life soo simple . All you have to do is follow the step by step process and does not require you to be a genius
> The concepts are soo well explained in audio and slides that , one wont get bored / tired .
> Its coverage / material is enough . No other material is required
> All OG problems are classified under respective subjects and e-GMAT process is applied for solving same
> Most importantly the Saturday & sunday Live sessions are just amazing . You can actually solve the questions live with the instructor and ask your queries live .
> My Most favourite part -- RC course . ( Yes ! believe me , you can improve on RC too !!! )
> Needless to mention - the dreaded MODIFIERS are soo simplified as VERB ING / ED modifiers ( Prior to this I didnt know when the modifer modified the preceeding clause and when it modified the noun )
> You get Free IR course - each type of IR is soo well explained
> Your queries are always addressed . Most of the times , I used to get replies to my query mails within the same hour .
> Free GMAT CLub tests

Studying with E-GMAT VLP , I now can easily identify the SC erros , drastically improved in RC .
Just before my GMAT second attept I averaged about 39 in verbal in my mock tests ( 37 , 40 , 44 ). My accuracy in RC reached 90% .

However in my actual GMAT second attempt , due to anxiousness I again ended up doing badly . 640 ( Q 44 , V34 ) .
But needless to say , I improved about 6 points in Verbal and am 110% sure I can easily get it to 38+ . So now on my prep for my 3rd attempt .

Happy with the course , I have also subscribed to their quant individual courses.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ace Verbal Section
May 19 | 2015

       By tushardashing1234 joined: December 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
Hello Everyone,

I started my preparation for GMAT in November last year. Being good with Quant Section, mostly my focus was on Verbal section where in i was continuously making mistakes. After reading a lot of reviews and recommendation from a friend i bought GMAT Verbal Online course and it has helped me immensely.
The Course structure and the approach are well thought and easy to adapt to. The 3-Step process for solving SC question is brilliant and has helped me not only understand the question and solve it quickly but also arrive at the correct answer with correct reasoning.The course has helped me in improving my speed and accuracy.
The course structure of Verbal Online course is so well thought that it has covered every topic and highlights the common traps present and mistakes made by the test takers.
The CR Sections covers all the types of CR questions and the same can be said for RC. One of the biggest benefits that you get after taking a E-GMAT course if their Scholaranium which consists of more than 600 questions and helps you in analyzing your mistakes, weak areas & accuracy.
I am thankful to the E-GMAT team for presenting such a great course which is helping me to ace the verbal section.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Overview of e-Gmat Courses
May 18 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: July 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I liked e-GMAT course very much. I tried some other sources to improve my verbal GMAT part but must admit that e-GMAT was the best one. I highly appreciate sentence correction part as it was the hardest part for me. But logical structure of the course helped me to improve my SC part from 30% to 80-90% of correct answers. I recommended this course to some of my friends and they admit that their verbal score is improving rapidly. For instance, my friend improved his verbal score from 29 to 39 and got his 700 points on the whole test. Thank you e-GMAT preparers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Feel SC like MATH
May 18 | 2015

       By subratdash86 joined: April 23, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
Like most indians I am strong in maths , but for Verbal section , I was really struggling. I was thinking of how to memorize all typical grammar concepts, and how to apply all the concepts for each SC questions.But after the E-Gmat SC Online Course I can only say just like math formulas I can now apply particular concepts to specific SC problems.Even if in complete confusion state these concepts will help in getting the correct answer by eliminating the other wrong answers. Its has given me the confidence of atleast scoring more from my previous score.

I have also bought the CR online course , its also very effective in its approach.Specially the Prethinking approach.

I would definitely say this online courses are much more effective than the books.

Best Regards,
Subrat
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Experience
May 15 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
       By AtxBoone joined: May 15, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Having no idea what to expect from the GMAT, I decided that it would be best to sign up for an online course. After a week or two of research I decided to sign up for Ravi's class after watching a recorded class of his. Through the six week course Ravi went through aspects of the GMAT that I had no clue about. I quickly learned that the GMAT is nothing to fear and that there are tactics that will make your life so much easier. The way Ravi taught the course helped me understand material that was very foreign to me. He and Megan, his teachers assistant, were always quick to thoroughly explain any subjects that I was not able to grasp at first. It is a very fast paced course so you must be prepared to put in the time outside of the class to prepare and review what was learned. Veritas has great support outside of the class and helped me on many issues I needed to shore up. I would strongly recommend a course with Ravi. Many thanks to Ravi and Megan!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome prep course
May 15 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: May 15, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
This is a top quality for a good price and has the flexibility that any full-time worker needs: it is online and you can study as much as you can and wherever you prefer. One doesn't have to worry about choosing lessons or worry if whether one will finish on time. The Economist GMAT does all this for you, choosing lessons for you and showing your progress in a visual graph. Additionally, it does not let you cheat and it gives you as many problems on any particular subject until you really understand it.

More importantly, I could feel there were people in the back of the program supporting me. I received a "get ready" support email two days before my actual test and I really appreciated it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
MAGOOSH- How it helps
May 15 | 2015

       By ddg joined: April 4, 2015 | 7 | 6 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Well Although I haven't given the GMAT Exam yet. I've scheduled it to be taken in Aug 1st week this year. I am writing this review to lessen the confusion about preparation and what courses to take when there is so much to choose from.

How I came to know of Magoosh:
Frankly I searched the net, seriously, no one recommended me anything cause none of my friends had taken GMAT before. I found magoosh's methodology to be simple and the layout to be effective at first sight. Also, the pricing was highly affordable. So i went for it.

Start of Preparation:
I have a MS in Chemistry and frankly used more calculus oriented calculations throughout my course. So, high school math was out of my brain though I scored well in my 10th (100/100) and 12th exams (91) [I'm based in India, hence the 10th and 12th std]. But I had forgotten almost everything. I know, sounds weird. But I did.

Although I had bought the course in Dec 2014, I started my prep in march 2015. Its 1.5 months through, and I find Magoosh Quant to be really helpful, more so cause I am focusing on Quant prep right now. I gave several mocks (only quant section - there's no issue, you can always reset question pool) as follows:

March end - GMAT Club free tests (Manhattan Prep Challenge Set #1) - score Q40
April mid - GMAT Club free tests (Manhattan Prep Challenge Set #2) - Q42
May beginning - GMAT Club free tests (GMAT Club challenge Quant set) - messed up here cause despite a 60% i scored Q39 cause i made mistakes in 500 level questions. (it is my own silly mistakes)

I realised I needed review of concepts and also more practice. I went through Magoosh's quant videos again and little practice (not much really, I m still preparing). I gave mocks as follows:

1. GMAT Club Free tests - Manhattan Prep Challenge set #3 - Q45
2. Magoosh Practice Test - Q47
3. GMATPrep Question Bank - Practice Exam - Q46

Also, as part as verbal is concerned, Magoosh's SC Module is impeccable. Seriously. RC and CR needs more detailing. But SC is wonderful.

So all in all: in a preparatory stage, I suggest everyone to take up Magoosh, its going to be your closest companion and walk you through simple and advanced concepts like cakewalk. Also, practice can never be substituted. I hope to score well in Aug exam. Luck definitely plays a role, but with a companion like Magoosh, hard-work can get you through.

Hope this helps. :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Saviour
May 14 | 2015

       By Raghuramgmat joined: August 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
It was september 2014 and i was feeling so bad that i no longer wanted to take GMAT again. I just put in my best effort so far and yet i did miserably in GMAT, especially in Verbal. Long before starting my preparation one of my friend suggested me to take a course for atleast verbal section. But i being complacent didnt give any heed. Later after doing so badly i felt i should have gone for a Verbal course. So i decided to enrolll for a verbal course this time around. After reading a lot of success debriefs in GMATclub.com, i understood e-gmat offers the best verbal course and also a 4 point guarantee. But still i wasnt 100% convinced and thats when i read one of the testimonials in their website. It was by one of my friend who too did poorly in his first attempt and scored a 700 in his 2nd attempt by improving drastically in verbal. The very next day i enrolled for the E-gmat verbal live prep course without thinking twice.

Pros:
1. Affordable
2. Value for money
3. 3-step process for sectence correction and the prethinking approach for CR is amazing.
4. Course doesnt just cater to GMAT but also helps improve overall verbal ability.
5. Scholaranium is an awesome tool that helps one to practice with timing and helps asses one's ability & accuracy.
6. Live sessions really help in leveraging one's understanding of each concepts.

Cons:
Software glitches when viewing the course in Ipad.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings