Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [967]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Great Course and Even Better Instructor! (Ravi)
July 01 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi, my instructor, was passionate and extremely knowledgeable about the material. He actually cares about your progress and personally checked in through email to make sure that I was on track. Even more important though, he really knows his stuff! It is clear he is an experienced instructor.

The Veritas Prep Online course was perfect for my needs. They offered online courses on the weekends so the class would not interfere with my work schedule and the course format, in which you started with a skill builder prior to the lesson and then followed up with a plethora of homework problems, fit my learning style. One of the features that was particularly useful was the availability of homework problems online so that I could track my progress, incorrect responses, and time spent on each problem. This came in handy the month after the course ended when I reviewed all the problems on my own.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The course is good. But can be improved.
July 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Digvijay01 joined: October 26, 2013 | 30 | 19 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
So late in Oct last year, I decided to enroll in a course to streamline my GMAT prep. I researched a bit and after trying Eco-Gmat's free trial for 2-3 days, I decided to enroll in their course.

I liked their system and other support that they provide. In the end, I couldn't get the results I was aspiring for , but I can't blame that on this course. I did improved in mocks, but failed to deliver in real time.

Nevertheless, I am providing brief review of each section of the course that might help other people to evaluate this course.

Essays: The template and the tips provided were awesome. My course had option of submitting 4 essays and getting feedback on them. I received good feedback from the instructors. I scored 5 and 5.5 on real tests using same template and tips.

QA: Quant was pretty good. It helped me review all topics and provided good tips to tackle certain kind of Qs in shortest of time. The approach to DS was awesome. It helped me attack DS Qs with Max accuracy.

VA: Verbal section is pretty decent. Their processes are quite good. One need to internalize the processes and other ways of tackling certain Qs to get maximum results. Their RC section helped me a lot. Their approach to the passage and Qs is simple and intuitive and is focused on getting max result in min. time. Only drawback was one has to read an RC passage again and again to answer Qs which pop-out randomly. It sometimes gets irritating.

SimTests: Simtests were alright. They share a lot of Qs pool with the course you attempt. As I attempted these after completing 70-80% , I couldn't get much out of these. Also, they only contain QA and VA section and no IR or Essay sections. These tests should be taken as more of practice tests and not mocks.

Support and Interface: Interface was pretty nice. I liked its interactive nature. Also, they have a feature where you can ask a Qs for some practice problem or a concept and tutors will get back to you in 24 hours. I got my doubts cleared on time. Only drawbacks are--you can't skip and focus on your weak areas, you don't have Qs bank, you can't review a concept in its entirety although summaries are available.

All in all, its still a good course and can be bought if someone is starting out. Also, non-natives might not benefit much from VA section of this. So, reiterating the my title--The course is good, but can be improved.

Hope this helps. Kindly let me know if you have any Qs.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
EGMAT Live Prep Course
June 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By TripleB joined: May 25, 2010 | 2 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
My dream of going to a top B school started some 4yrs back. I bought OG 12 and few other books for my preparation initially. But I left my preparation in between.

Before EGMAT I followed few books and I clearly missed important things during the prep and my approach towards SC was so different that I used to hit around 50% questions right.Since a score of 700 on GMAT is so common now. I felt like I should beat the GMAT and I joined EGMAT Live Prep in Jan 2014 after scrutinizing the reviews in GMAT Club.
Now I feel Its my Best Buy.

I feel that e-gmat is more detailed in teaching both SC and CR & You get to know the nuances to beat the GMAT verbal. It teaches you the application with no grammar jargon s

The SC live sessions are unbeatable. After each live session I felt more and more confident and comfortable with the application.In Short SC live session is the best in the market for Non Natives like me.

Session on "Prethinking" in CR and "how to takle with Large complex passages" in RC are eye openers.

Integrated reasoning is too good. You just need to complete EGMAT course work with no extra effort.

The main advantages of EGMAT
1) Exceptional Instructors - They are just a mail away and they are best in what they do.After Shradda's SC live sessions.. SC is a cake walk.. Thanks Shradda.
2)Online Course work- Highly interactive,assessment at every level of preperation and can be taken at any point of time.


Few recommendations/requests
1) EGMAT should start Quants too.
2) CR & RC OG verbal explanation videos inclusion would be of great help.

I am taking the GMAT next month and I will get back with the score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Two Month is Good
June 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By dianepolitin joined: July 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill Verbal Pill Combo (SC, CR, RC) | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
I've been using GMAT Pill for quite some time now, close to a year. I'm the type of person that plans ahead so I can be the utmost prepared for any situation. However, using the one month study plan, close to 12 times, I realized that I may have over planned. In all honesty I felt pretty solid with the material after two months with the platform. As a result, we had a bit of an on and off relationship. It's a good thing that they provide access to all questions after a one time payment. The people at GMAT Pill are frequently adding new questions much to my delight. You'll be getting every bang for your buck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Score Improved by only 2 points in Verbal
June 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By soumya165 joined: August 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
In enrolled for this course after seeing its advertisement on the various GMAT forums. I was impressed by its claims that it's a course designed for non-native speakers.
The course structure is good but I didn't had much improvement on my scores. The reason being lack of GMAT type questions. I was doing well in the course but during the actual GMAT Exam the questions seemed totally new to me. In order to improve the student's reading skills, the course should advise the them to read articles from magazines The Economist.

Another thing that I didn't like about the course is that after the Exam I had dropped a mail to its founder asking for some advice since I didn't see much improvement on my score. I didn't receive any reply.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best Course for Verbal Preparation
June 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By JShiva joined: December 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
The e-GMAT verbal live prep course exceeded my expectations. Course (including study plan) is very well laid out. Concept files include detailed explanation of every topic with examples. With all the application files, you can practice the process learned in concept files. Live sessions are very engaging and helpful. Also the recordings available allowed me to take the course within my schedule. My favorite part is the workshop, which not only helped me focus on my weaknesses but also gave me a strategy to improve. And no doubt the staff is very helpful and active in replying to the queries. I highly recommend anyone taking the GMAT to take e-GMAT Verbal Live prep course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great course with a personal touch
June 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By feuerzeug joined: June 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Steve Odabashian
I had just over a month to prep for the GMAT, so time and options for a course were limited. I had downloaded Veritas' app, and found the videos useful, so after little research I opted to take their online course. Twice a week for 3 hours, I was in a virtual classroom with other students. The lessons weren't that much different from the videos; the real value came from the instructor Steve. He answered all my questions, helped me decide where to focus my studies, and showed us some really helpful ways to look at quant problems. He also made himself available for questions by email after hours, and was happy not only to discuss the course but also about the GMAT and business school in general.

The other great thing about Veritas is the online resources you get with your account, especially the practice questions and tests. Everything that is in the books is online, in a better, easier-to-use format. If you sign up with them, you'll be doing yourself a great disservice if you don't explore and use every section of your account. The skillbuilder videos were especially useful to me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great place to learn how to beat the GMAT
June 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
I have entered the GMAT before I studied just for one month and got 580. Because I have an engineering background I can easily handle the quantitative part however, as l am not native English speaker my verbal score is to low. Thats why I decided to get professional help from the bests in the market. Then I chose Economist GMAT tutor and I am very lucky and happy to have found them and study with their style. For just one and a half months I increased my score to total 670. Economist also helped improve my quantitative skills as well as verbal.

I feel lucky to reach them and I believe if I have more time for studying, such as 3-4 months, I will easily reach 700+

The teaching system and the topics are extreamly GREAT. I have never seen something like that. I do not need any more tudor sessions, or lessons on-site. I handle all my work with myself online.

THANKs Economist GMAT Tudor.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-gmat a great way to boost your verbal score
June 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By san10 joined: July 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Honestly till I took the e-gmat Verbal online course, verbal was always a bit of a struggle. Initially I thought it was only SC that I had a problem with but thanks to this course I figured out how to make my CR & RC stronger as well.

With SC I could never understand the answer explanations given in the Og & was constantly perplexed. In my first gmat attempt I decided to approach SC on the basis of what sounded right (after all English is my first language) & got a V27. Shattered & wondering how to improve this score I stumbled upon gmat club and read about the verbal online course & decided to give it a try.

The verbal online course has an extensive explanation on all the essential rules you need to know in SC along with a detailed video explanations of verbal review. Understanding the rules and then seeing them logically applied in solving each SC question really helped strengthen my basics.

The CR & RC though not as detailed provides you with good tips on how to approach questions and deeply ingrains the concept of pre-thinking. In fact thanks to pre-thinking my accuracy in CR has also improved.

All in all on practice test my score now ranges from V33 to V37.

Now am getting ready for another go at the gmat exam all thanks to e-gmat
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Course - bang for your buck!
June 24 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By priya2priya joined: February 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After lot of deliberation, I decided investing in Veritas Gmat full course and do not regret to do so. I went in for online course with Ravi Sreerama.
I am getting back to math after a gap of 20 years, my basics was simply rustic and GMAT prep was a herculean task for me. Making this task approachable is what Veritas course does. The course is well structured with tools to improve your weak points. Coupled with this are the instructors who help you see your weaker areas.

Ravi is a not only a wonderful instructor, but a great motivator. What surprises and impresses me most is in a class of 25 -30; Ravi keeps a tab on his student; guides you, manages to pinpoint your weaker areas (I was awful with algebra) and suggests methods to improve your weak areas. His words "are you here to help me?", "dumb it down", "play devil's advocate", "think like a test maker" still echoes in my ears while I am stuck solving any problems.

I would highly recommend Veritas course with Ravi as instructor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings