Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [738]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Great course to study for GMAT
December 06 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Maaritt joined: December 6, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
The first time I did my GMAT test, I did terrible. I did not know how to improve more so I looked online how I could improve my score. On the beatthegmat site i saw several online courses. I decided to try this one first, because the first week is for free. In this week I experienced the course in a positive manner, therefore I decided to give it a go.

A nice aspect of the course is that it adapts to your abilities. So for me, that meant that I got many questions with powers, since I find those very hard. In this way you practice quite a lot on the subjects you find difficult.

The explanation of the subjects are very practical, they focus on how you can easily handle a question in a logical way. Not in a difficult mathematical way, which i do not like, but in a practical way.
Between the lessons they give all kind of tips how the interpreter the (strange) GMAT questions.

A tip; start in time with this course because it takes a lot of hours to finish it. I needed one hour for 1%.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly recommend it to all the students appearing for GMAT
December 05 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By ROckHIsT joined: September 30, 2013 | 20 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I think Magoosh has one for the best resources available to prepare for GMAT. It has more than 800 questions to practice for types of level and topics, which provides much needed flexibility for preparing for a particular topic initially.

I was surprised to see the awesome level of RC questions especially the ones of very high difficulty. Sentence correction section has some great insight on to look out for errors in the stem before going through the answers. They also have great support team, which gets back to you whenever you contact them.

If you're lost and don't know where to start from, I would recommend Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
veritas prep on demand.
December 05 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By prateekbhatt joined: June 28, 2011 | 890 | 138 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
I have completed veritas prep on demand and i am really impressed by this course.

Things that i liked about this course...

1- True track- Its a place where you can ask doubts and get reply from the instructors, i have posted a lot of silly doubts and got reply each time.

2- Course structure- Like the way they have mixed and matched quant and verbal, this way no section can become rusty.

3- Home work- I am a fan of veritas home work sectin questions, they are really close to official questions

4- 1 AWA section is graded for free.

5- Brian is a genius, i really admire the way he teaches.

6- Mocks- 15 mocks(10 veritas+ 5 800score.com) you dont need any other mock, they are deadly accurate.

7- High quality videos.

8- Comfort of studying at your own pace.

Overall full on value for money course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent online course, if you make the Etime for it
December 05 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By sarujan joined: November 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Excellent course if you make the time for it. It is fairly structured so there aren't a lot of shortcuts that you can take. If you are only trying to focus on specific topics, this may no the most efficient method. If you are looking to generally run through most topics and improve your score, this course is excellent.

The topics and answers are very well explained.

The tutors are also very helpful during the 1:1 sessions. I generally had to book at least a week in advance. Don't expect to get a meeting in a moments notice.

I think the Complete package is good enough for most people. I'm not convinced the more expensive packages are necessary. I think you are better off buying the Kaplan book and doing the sample tests fro there if your primary reason is the extra exams.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Magoosh Helped me Break 700!
December 05 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By dhudson88 joined: August 6, 2013 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I signed up for Magoosh for several reasons. First, it was discounted to $100, a very attractive price for such a comprehensive program. The next thing that brought me to Magoosh was the 50 point score increase. Little did I know that I not only would exceed the 50 point guarantee, but that I would also break 700!

With Magoosh, I increased my official GMAT from 630 to 700 in just under 6 weeks!

Magoosh was absolutely instrumental in my prep. I've always considered myself a pretty strong math and verbal guy, but the GMAT was a different monster. Magoosh's videos were very engaging and the instructors clearly explained all topics. If you are around the 40 range for your quant score, I would highly suggest buying Magoosh, if only for the fantastic math videos. I scored a 40 on my initial GMAT, and with Magoosh I was consistently registering 47-48 on practice exams (and that was with only about 4/5 of the math videos watched).

The verbal is also highly educational. I am a native speaker, but the Sentence Correction videos especially provided many aha! moments that helped me break the 90th percentile (40V).

The videos were short enough so that you could easily sit down and crank a few out if you are crammed for time after class or work. I would highly recommend buying a notebook to take notes on all of the video lessons to review later. Watching just 10 videos a day and working about 15 problems a day was exponentially helpful to my 70 point score increase.

I can not recommend Magoosh enough. Thank you Magoosh!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good for the Working Student
December 04 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
As someone that did not have the time and flexibility in my schedule to take a traditional in-person course, The Economist’s GMAT course seemed like an exceptional alternative. I had heard about the course from a close friend that had taken the GMAT, but had taken a traditional in-person course and heard this was the best online course available.

The overview of each sections was easy to follow and I was able to take quality notes. I especially liked the fact that the online course was quite interactive, since sections ask you to respond after each reading/problem solving/etc. you stay engaged. If you can get past the poor humor, it was entertaining at some points.

Another plus was that you can put in the amount of time that you wish to send on each section if you are at a crunch for time, this was also helpful when I used The Economist’s GMAT course app on my iPhone.

I would recommend this course, but there were a few downfalls as well.

Although, I did appreciate the practice tests. They did not cover all sections timed at once. This I would have really liked to see. I wish also there were sections that I could review and print out if there was no access to internet, as I could only rely on my notes.

All in all, good for someone working full time that wants an engaging course without having to pay the absorbent prices of a GMAT course and study on their own time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
So much better than the books!
December 04 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By imaqtbuddy joined: December 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I am 25% complete with this program and I could not be a bigger fan. I have yet to take a practice test since starting, but I have a feeling I will be receiving much improved results.

For anyone wondering if the cost of this program is worth it, IT IS! I was really struggling with keeping focus with studying by paper books and I do not have the time to commit to a face to face class. This program is the perfect compromise. It keeps me focused, disciplined, and most of all it makes learning fun!

I highly recommend this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great practice program for intermediate
December 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I started using Magoosh after unsuccessfully using another competitor's program. What I really liked about Magoosh is the in-depth question bank, as well as the video explanations. I really do think that's what makes a difference - being able to see a visual explanation of the problem makes it easier to understand and remember the problem, and steps taken to derive at the solution (at least IMO). overall, I would recommend this program and for only $99, you can't really beat that price...definitely well worth the price!

The only negative thing I will add about the program is that I didn't find that the problem sets had enough geometry and critical reasoning questions...
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very Helpful
December 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By arrielmarie joined: December 3, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I didn't know where to start studying when it came to prepping for the GMATs. The Economist helped guide my study strategy and also helped me solve problems more logically. I would recommend to anyone who is prepping for the test!

The reading study tools helped me to prioritize what portion of the questions to read and what parts would be useful in getting me to the right answer.

The math portion helped to refresh my math skills that were a little rusty and helped me to think more logically on how I could achieve the right answer, not through using algebraic expressions, easy problem solving (process of elimination, 3x3 tables, etc)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Works great with the official guide
December 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By alexandermaksumov joined: October 5, 2013 | 4 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  |
One of the first recommendations that GMAT Pill make when you start their product, is to buy the official GMAT guide. In conjunction with GMAT pill's OG video explanations, there is so much that you'll be able to learn. Also, if you need any help, Zeke is readily available through email. There is also a software you can download from the website to track your progress. This is a great self-study utensil, especially from those on a budget. I understand that as a young college student, money can be tight. However, if you have the drive, GMAT Pill is definitely an affordable way to ace the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings