Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1697]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Best Verbal online tutorials for all
July 23 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By sharmasourabh25 joined: October 13, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I took the eGMAT verbal online course as I wanted to improve my verbal scores. I personally feel that eGMAT verbal is the most comprehensive and effective online learning tool. The course is designed in such a way that it covers all kind of concept from where questions can be asked in a GMAT exam. So being a Non Native speaker it helped me with to start with basics and build foundation which is must for prep. Also the tutorial is organized in a manner to clearly marks the flow in which one should approach his learning. I believe this is the best online tutorial and the best option for the one's who cannot attend live sessions and who wish to improve their GMAT scores.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
EMPOWERgmat Rules GMAT Test Prep
July 22 | 2015

       By gladimdone joined: July 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
EMPOWERgmat changed everything for me. I used to be terrified of the quantitative section. I'd look at a question and be absolutely stumped and wonder if I was ever going to get a score that would get me into one of my target business schools. I was looking at UCLA, USC and Berkeley, and at one point I even thought about giving up altogether.

Initially, I took another course, and I don't want to be mean so I want to say the name, but I felt like it did nothing for me other than drain my bank account by $1000.

Somebody at work told me that they use EMPOWERgmat and said I was a fool for not using it. I finally gave it a shot, and as funny as it is to say the EMPOWERgmat literally changed my life.

Rich Cohen is a larger-than-life personality. And that personality comes through in the recordings in the EMPOWERgmat course. The course is broken down into 5 stages and by the time I was done with stage 1 I already I knew that things were entirely different. Stage 1 teaches you the tactics tested and test the answers in triage, that alone laid a foundation that started to change my score immediately.

I have to say the hardest thing was actually getting in the habit of not being so boneheaded about the questions and actually putting the tactics to work. Changing habits is a lot easier said than done so that's where I spend a lot of my time but it made such a difference. My quantitative score went from 39 to 49, and keep in mind I'm not an engineer or financial analyst. I'm still in shock that I was able to make it happen. EMPOWERgmat I can't thank you enough!!!

I'm a 100% convert, and am talking just like my buddy at work. DON'T BE A FOOL! Take EMPOWERgmat!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
VLP course review
July 22 | 2015

       By Jenitta joined: May 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  MEGHNA MUDALIAR
After scoring a shocking 570 in my first attempt in Nov last year, I started hunting for a course that will improve my score. With lots of R&D on how to improve GMAT score, I compared many test preps course and finally decided to go for eGMAT VLP for 2 reasons:
1. High positive reviews by non-native retakers
2. Impressed after attended free live sessions

Since then I have learnt several new things that i was not aware of during my earlier preparation. Among all the courses they offer, my favorites are Live sessions, workshops, and SC course and its OG audio/visual explanation.

I would recommend VLP to anyone who is weak in verbal section and wants to improve it. Instructors at eGMAT are very patient and they try their best to clear your doubts. You can always approach them in several internal forums and learn many more things from there.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT Verbal course is the best in market
July 22 | 2015

       By prosenjitsaha88 joined: August 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
Before I take e-GMAT verbal course I tried couple of other Prep courses. But I'm feeling much confident after taking e-GMAT course. Specially the sentence correction section is better than any other prep courses. The trainers are well experienced and the online sessions are too good.

I've taken GMAT before I start preparing with e-GMAT. My verbal score was too bad. But the e-GMAT approaches helped me a lot to put my thought process together. The meaning analysis approach for sentence correction is really helpful to answer tough GMAT questions.

Thanks e-GMAT!! I highly recommend this course for all GMAT aspirants.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas Prep Full Live Online Course: Chris Kane
July 22 | 2015

       By gtoddyt5 joined: July 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Chris Kane
The Veritas Prep online GMAT course was an excellent resource in preparing to take the GMAT exam. The sheer quality of the overall learning experience is immediately evident in the way the course and related materials are presented. Chris Kane's passion for teaching is quite clear in the way that he delivers the course content. He keeps the class engaged, while discussing topics that may not always be the most exciting. I'd like to emphasize the insight that he provided that cannot be found in any text. The VP course is backed by highly-experienced individuals with a goal of constant improvement. The course is thoughtfully architected, delivering a robust experience that included: live chat, excellent textbooks in both physical and digital formats, online problem sets, online practice tests, office hours and full support. In addition to all of this, students receive support for six months after taking the course. I have already recommended it to colleagues and I recommend it to you as well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
eGMAT Verbal training is a very Organized
July 21 | 2015

       By jarlinus joined: July 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
My first mock test assessed me below par in verbal session. I was upset with my scores and then started analysing some on-line courses which could help me in improving my verbal scores. My analysis resulted in eGMAT on-line Verbal Live prep.I enrolled in eGMAT in the month of Jan'15. All 3 verbal sessions are well organized and the explanation are very clear. Tutors are expertise and are open handed to help us in any moment. And now I'm glad that my verbal scores are improving day by day. Right now, I'm confident in cracking the GMAT with my dream score. I take this moment to thank eGMAT for helping me in verbal preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
I am very satisfied and got a lot of value
July 21 | 2015

       By Illya joined: July 21, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I took the GMAT after several weeks of preparing with Optimus Prep’s online “On Demand” course. I got the basic level without the added hours of private tutoring, but I was still surprised at how effective it was for my score, which rose dramatically. My favorite part of the package was the customizable GMAT tests that came with it. I was able to change the difficulty level of the questions so that I could progress step-by-step and not simply be overwhelmed by more advanced problems. I could also change the question types to the ones that I had more trouble with, for example the idiomatic phrases in the sentence correction, or the parallelism (the two hardest for me!). Overall I’m just really impressed with how easy Optimus Prep made the process and pleased with myself for the huge improvement I made. One less thing to worry about now when looking for universities : )
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-GMAT Verbal Live Prep - My Experience so far
July 21 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By agodre joined: March 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  MEGHNA MUDALIAR
Before I took this class I was struggling to find a solid approach to best attack the GMAT. Part of my problem was finding the right materials. I wont say that the other materials I bought were a waste, but I did not use them much after I started using the E-GMAT materials.
The on-demand course is great for anyone who is able to motivate themselves to study independently. The amount of time I have put so far comes very close to 100, so definitely make sure you're okay with putting 2 - 3 hours in per night before signing up. If you do sign up, you'll find that this course is extremely engaging, fun, and effective. The virtual instructors have somewhat quirky personalities that make it easy to remember the GMAT lessons long after you finish the course. E-GMAT teaches you tactics of how to approach all types of problems to maximize efficiency on test day. Furthermore, it really goes into a lot of detail about question types and which ones really matter (in terms of your score) and which ones likely count for very little.
I am yet to take the GMAT and feel will write a detailed review once I am done taking it. But I have to say that overall, this course gives you just about everything you would get from a live course. You get all the recorded videos and skillbuilder exercises to watch whenever you want. It fits in much better to my hectic schedule versus having to be available for a scheduled class time. The course in general is extremely thorough and really focuses on teaching you how to think like the GMAT test makers. It really opened my eyes to the strategy that is required to do well on this test instead of just studying and memorizing content. I would recommend any version of this course through E-GMAT to those looking for a GMAT Prep course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
E-GMAT Quant Live Prep - My experience so far
July 21 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By agodre joined: March 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Japinder Kaur
I literally studied for the GMAT for over a year. I originally signed up for two big test prep company (Veritas Prep GMAT and Manhattan GMAT) late in 2014 and took the full live courses. I went to every session and tried to follow all the homework, but didn't feel like their courses presented the most appropriate learning technique for me. They were very formulaic and the concepts weren't breaking through for me. Nothing against my Veritas instructor (he was excellent), I just felt like the group classes weren't the best learning environment for me as everyone in the class was at very different stages/ability levels at the time. In January of 2014 I scored a 590 on my first attempt. Although not bad for a first attempt, I knew that this score wasn't really good enough to get into any of my dream schools in the top-15. While my verbal was in the 70%, my quant was really weak only in the 50th percentile range.

Around the same time, I heard about e-GMAT through a good friend of mine. He raved about the course so I decided to take the plunge and give it a shot as a sort of a last resort (I had already spent a lot of money on GMAT Prep so I was very skeptical). I signed up in January 2014 and have used E-gmat for approximately 1 months so far.

The E-GMAT Quant modules literally changed everything for me! I finally started to understand how to approach and ATTACK problems. I finally got the idea that I needed to write everything on the pad and stop trying to do Math in my head.
The quant lessons are engaging, and have helped me truly understand what the GMAT is designed to assess - higher order thinking. Learning how and why the GMAT is a completely different ball game is absolutely critical to scoring well. The study materials really helped me understand the concepts and think like the test maker. I reviewed the lesson books many times after the course as I prepared for the exam.

The online format (Live Prep) far exceeded my expectations with its online chat panel. Another instructor is online to help out with queries if the main instructor doesn't have time to answer them all. Surprisingly, there was much more participation than a normal classroom and I learned as much from the other students as I did from the instructor. The flexibility was another huge plus- being able to watch it from home or watch a recorded version if I miss the class was super helpful as I have a demanding job.

E-GMAT is the complete package and overall, far exceeded my expectations and what I love most is that the instructors are genuinely interested in the students' progress and experience. I received a number of follow-up emails during the course to see how I was tracking. All this being said, I am yet to take the GMAT which I have scheduled in a month from now – so a lot of work still needs to be done. I will post a detailed review once I am done taking the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A helpful supplemental resource
July 20 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By avik629 joined: March 30, 2013 | 95 | 30 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill SC | Location:   Online  |
The course was less of a course but more of a practice platform. You don't get much in the way of lessons. The straight away give you the 10 frameworks, which are golden mind you, but you are supposed to learn them without questioning or understanding the basis (compared to other courses).

Then comes the practice questions. Boy they have the best platform, high number of question with difficulty levels and the best performance tracker in the market. As I believe, even with a smaller question set, re-doing questions pays dividends. They do a good job of providing video explanations. They demonstrate really well how its possible to solve each SC question under a minute. Then again, the narrator, sometimes goes through problems as he understands them, nit necessarily nice for a person who does not have the entire 10 frameworks on the tip of his tongue.

All in all a very very good practice resource.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings