Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [996]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Very helpful to gain confidence quickly
October 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mbaonmymind joined: March 28, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I had previously enrolled for the Verbal Live package - great content but lacked the personal touch. Upon recommendation of a couple of folks who had taken the GMAT recently, I upgraded to the Verbal Live prep which I found immensely useful. Rajat and Payal really help you with your thought process in a simplistic manner in SC.

The CR course really helped get my thought process right and fixed my CR basics problem.

Waiting to get my hands on the their workshops and polish my SC and CR skills further. Will write in a detailed review post my attempt scheduled for later this month.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great product
October 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Excellent preparation. I don't like the videos because sometimes I think they are toos low and I get bored, sometimes too quick and I need to hear it again; here I can really go as fast or slow as I need, even just stop practicing if something else needs addressing, and it doesn't go on without me.

Plus the methods and explanations are great. I would like to have such an assistant for everything I want to learn !!

I did not pass the real GMAT yet but I firmly believe this preparation will improve my score. I really recommend it to anyone interested
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Economist-Better Stick to What they are good at-magazines
October 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By vivekrajan87 joined: June 8, 2014 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep | Location:   Online  |
I had enrolled for the Economist GMAT tutor with the hope of raising my GMAT score by 50 points or more. The course offered a guarantee in these lines and after taking the free 7 day trial period I enlisted for the same. But unfortunately my decision to trust one of the leading economic magazine in America bombed and I wish to share my opinions and experiences so that prospective test-takers can evaluate their requirements and my experiences before taking up the course.

I had bought the ultimate prep plan with the economist GMAT tutor which guaranteed a 70 point improvement on march -2014.Before taking up the course I was hovering around mid 600 range with the official GMAT prep test and I felt I needed a course to help me breach the 700 mark.
I worked with the software for around 160 hours and at the end of the day my official GMAT score was at the same place where I had started. After dedicating almost 4 months on the program I was greatly disgruntled that not one of the various promises made by the company were held true and I had run around circles thanks to the program.
I list out the various cons of the program in my opinion:

1.Simulation tests & Scoring Estimate:-
The simulation tests(6 nos) are a very poor indicator/simulator of your actual test scores/conditions. In some of the tests that I took the quant section literally had more than 20-25 data sufficiency questions. No matter how poor a student may be in that particular question type, it is no reason for a simulation exam to keep throwing the same type of question.
There was no IR or AWA section which means you will not get a actual feel of the exam and the stamina needed if only the verbal and quant section provided in the tests are taken.(I used to gather AWA questions from MBA website and IR question from the GMAT Prep software before taking the tests)
The scoring estimate provided was very illogical where in certain tests I had 8-9 questions wrong intermittently were scored equally to those where I had scored 15-16 questions wrong continuously. And when questioned on the logic of these estimate the people in charge send a standard text copied from their website. There were also cases where the question types were wrongly labeled. I had a data sufficiency/problem solving question label in Verbal section.

2.No timing or difficulty level available.
Although there are a number of practice questions available, a very few of them are timed and there is no indication of difficulty level(the no of people who got it right/wrong or the range to which the question belongs to).Since the program is adaptive, you cannot go back to these questions later on as there is no simple way to archive the questions.
If you want to analyze your performance and timing there are no tools with the software that help you to analyze your strengths and weakness.

3.No new or innovative strategies:
Once the program identifies your weak areas it keeps throwing questions on the same area with the repeat of the basics . It does not provide any new or innovative strategies or tactics to overcome your weakness and the foundation lessons can be found in any high school textbook. Especially for quant which was my weak area prior to taking up the course remained so till the test day.

4.Bogus money back guarantee:
The money back guarantee offered may seem attractive to many at first. What I felt was the money back guarantee is just a gimmick to get people enrolled to test the bugs in the program and streamline it for the future. Also there are many wordings in the fine print which people may miss such as a compulsory session with an instructor on strategy for the exam that has to be taken 7-14 days before the tests. But the Economist tutor people have written it in such a manner that users may understand that all sessions have to be taken at least 7-14 days before the tests. So if you take the strategy session 15 days before the actual test you lose your qualification for money back.
A 45 minute session a week before your exam with an instructor can work wonders and gain you a 70 point increment than the 160 hours you spent with the program is what is being implied by such a guarantee.

5.Proof Reading:
The questions though numerous in quantity were poor qualitatively with a number of typo errors. This coming from a tutor program owned by one of the supposedly best business magazine in the united states made me wonder about the quality of the program itself and the credibility of the question makers.

6.NO IR section:
The program for its cost could have provided a comprehensive IR section with the question types tested so far in the GMAT. But the theory covered is very meager and literally of no use when you take up the original test.

There were a few pros too in the program
1.The verbal section was comprehensive and covered most of the questions asked in the GMAT till date. I found the Sentence correction especially good.
2.Highy flexible with regards to timing as it is a online program where you can schedule a session based on your availability. However, at least two to four half an hour sessions a day with the program will be helpful than a number of 10 minutes sessions.
3.The AWA grading done by experts is especially useful in identifying weakness in your reasoning and style and the pointers provided are genuinely helpful.

All in all I would not recommend the program to re-takers as I believe you already have got the basics right and need to work on either your test taking tactics or on advanced topics. Both of the mentioned points are not covered by the program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT Verbal Online Review & My Experience -
October 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By CrackTheGMAT750 joined: October 8, 2012 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
In my first GMAT attempt, I scored good on Quant but failed to get the right score to be close to 90th percentile. In my search of the right GMAT verbal material for me, after 3 hops, I decided to give a try to eGMAT Verbal Online course. I had read about its speciality for non natives and since the course team was from my home country, I was optimistic, it would correctly tune to help me achieve confidence and correct answers in GMAT verbal. As I started through the course, I began to appreciate the way it is designed and was convinced this is the right one for me.
Areas I liked about the course -
a. Audio Visual concepts - helps me decide the pace and gives me time flexibility.
b. Detail course - The basics are covered in good detail. This forms a good base, required to approach SC.
c. Good team support - e-GMAT team is very courteous and responds promptly for all email inquiries.
d. Continuous Improvements - Recently they launched a new version of the Verbal course and it is definitely an improvement and also has good number of new questions.

In my opinion, the key is to find the right material for you and not just the best one in the market. e-GMAT is one of the best courses for Verbal and also has a comprehensive section for IR.

One area of improvement is they should add mock GMAT tests and I believe they are working on it.

I am happy to enrol into this course and would strongly recommend it, especially to non natives.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
E-Gmat - Great improvement in SC CR & RC
October 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By swadhin joined: July 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
After appearing in mock test to see check my level, I found that in GMAT verbal I was scoring around 23-25. I had decent 48-49 scores in quants, so I knew that in quants I had to improve only in the areas where I make mistakes, which I could do by myself. The main difference in my score was because of failure to score consistently on SC and CR. My RC was decent right from the beginning. After scoring a disastrous 610 in my first GMAT I bought e-gmat Verbal Online. I had heard about e-gmat and had read a lots of positive reviews. As a non-native speaker I found that I needed to strengthen my basics in SC and CR.

I am going to appear in the GMAT exam for the second time in a month's time. After preparing from e-gmat Verbal Online, I can see a tremendous increase in my speed and accuracy in both SC and CR. The SC has gone from 60% accuracy to >90%. The CR has gone from 50% to >80%. My RC accuracy is >80%. With this accuracy, more practice, and increased speed, I hope to score 700+ in my upcoming exam in a month. Now my verbal score is 30+. My target is to score 40 in verbal.

After one finishes the basic contents of the material, I would advise all the test takers to not only practice harder materials from other sources such as 800-score and GMATClub, but also keep on revising the basics from e-gmat, which is the key for firm grasp of the basics. Having proactive basics in verbal always helps in decreasing the time to solve the problem.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-GMAT best verbal course for non-natives
October 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By viveknitw joined: June 24, 2011 | 1 | 10 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I was very confused for Sentence Correction. One of my friends had advised me Better Englist book by Norman Lewis . I did try that. Then I tried my so acquired knowledge on OG 13, Past first twenty questions , I could not get all correct answers. I got worried. I tried reading advices on gmatclub and came across e-gmat Verbal Course. I started doing all the videos and made notes on my pad. Each video was very concise and took just one page of my notebook. By the end of this course I had pad full of notes. I also did Manhattan Sentence Correction videos. It was like a revision of what I had already done on SC videos of e-gmat.


Verbal 2nd Edition was perfect to complete the preparation. I used all the tricks I had learned earlier from the eGMAT tutorials. I also downloaded from youtube videos by e-gmat for all 113 questions. Each video was 5-6 mins long but was really very helpful. In a week time I had marked all useful tips on the book pertinent to each question. This is the best video tutorial you are going to find on net and very to the point.


For Critical Reasoning I also did the same thing. Took notes from the tutorials and later when I started doing Powerscore CR, It was all like a revision for me. All the concepts started to be used.

I also got GMAT Club free membership and access to around 1300 question with this which was really helpful and basic for me excelling in GMAT Quant.

To be honest Verbal Online is really helpful for Verbal Preperation Speically in Sentence Correction and Critical Reasoning.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Thank you for all the help
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By dennispark12 joined: September 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
Before I go into depth about my own experience with GMAT Pill, I just want to start off with the many advantages I've received since joining
-access to countless practice problems and video explanations
-rapid fast email replies
-affordable prices
-easy to follow scheduling

Although it may not seem like much, finding a product that offers all these factors in high caliber is pretty astonishing. I started off with GMAT Pill in early September, not because of the 6 Pill Combo Course, but because of the MBA pill. I wanted to know what it would take to get into my target schools. After some back and forth recommendations, I had a pretty solid resume. However, the only problem I had left was actually getting into the school. Of course, one of the biggest obstacles in my way was the GMAT exam. Fortunately, Zeke was ale to offer me a fast alternative. The 6 Pill Combo hits all 6 sections that is covered on the exam with a variety of practice problems. Of course, I was a bit skeptical. After all, why shouldn't I try a big company like Kaplan or Princeton Review? Fortunately, the practice platform allowed me to try out questions without making any payments. After playing around, I realized that platform was incredibly solid. Then I took a practice test, which wasn't on par with my expectation. Wanting to know what else the product would offered, I signed up.

I must say that the structured frameworks was the best part of the deal. It's hard to change the way you think or how you reason, but Zeke was specific, with one train of thought leading to the next. It definitely improved my reading comprehension. The DS section is also very similar because you need to understand the relationship between two statements. I cannot thank Zeke and the staff of GMAT Pill enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great value
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By brunora joined: September 5, 2013 | 3 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Pros
- great value
- ideal for self-studying
- 800+ questions segmented by difficulty and topic make it easy to focus on your weakness.
- great statistics based on your answers, easy to identify where to focus.
- lessons covering all possible topics
- mobile app (great to watch classes in the gym or in the bus)
- questions are slightly harder than the official gmat, which is good for training

Cons
- Score prediction has a very wide range and still missed my score on both quant and verbal
- No IR or AWA questions (just lessons)
- No practice exam
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT - A different approach to GMAT verbal section
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nishantrathor2 joined: July 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I am a non-native speaker. I am preparing for my GMAT that is scheduled next month. I was really struggling to find a way to improve my verbal preparation. I started searching for an online course because I am doing a full time job. I have a family to take care. Then fortunately, I came across the e-GMAT course. Attended a free GMAT session arranged by e-GMAT team(Rajat Sadana).

The first thing I felt was that this team is really serious about helping students like us(Non-native). As suggested, I tried the free material provided by e-GMAT. Immediately I decided to buy the course.

Reason to buy the course:

SC (Best compared to any other course I know till now):
1. Organized in an excellent manner.
2. Concepts about reading long sentences by breaking them in clauses. (My English reading has improved in general)
3. Verb-ed and Verb-ing modifiers. Actually whole modifier concept has been unmatched.
4. Practice quiz & Practice file after each topic
5. Great articles written on modifiers, 'that' usage etc....a lot more
6. Enough stress on 'Understanding the meaning of sentence'. This only will have huge impact while preparing SC.
7. Stress to follow the process.
8. I can’t forget the words from 'Rajat Sadana' that ability comes first, before worrying about timing.

CR:

1. Another excellent material.
2. Process oriented -
3. Logical flow for each CR type.
4. After this course, I am master in handling ‘Bold Face’ questions.
5. Practice file after each topic.
6. My confidence has increased after practicing all the quizzes.

RC:
1. Good way to approach RC.
2. Follow Step by step process to handle RC.
3. Best advice in the course - Recognize change in direction of passage through keywords.
4. Applying the knowledge of Sentence structure to understand long sentences.

Weakness :

Software is a bit slow. Loading of files takes few seconds.

I do not know what score I am going to get, but one thing is sure. My confidence and way of handling Verbal qns has changed. I follow a process diligently to solve a Verbal qn.

I would recommend this e-GMAT course to anybody who is looking to improve in verbal area. Just follow the course and follow the process suggested. Its definitely going to help.

Best Regards
Nishant
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
good product... still miles to go
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By prabhakarsharma joined: June 3, 2013 | 30 | 2 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Hi guys,

I have already given GMAT once and my first attempt crashed like a plane w/o wings, yet am again geared up and would be writing my second attempt soon.

E-gmat verbal online was cornerstone for my verbal prep and though i did really bad in verbal, i dont have any hard feelings against the course.

The course is really good and for non natives like me , the teaching style suits really well.

All concepts are nicely lined up and you really get hang of things while you are going through the course.

The only point of improvement would be adding few mock cats and real time gmat like questions which would be testing all the concepts.
This is the only area which e-gmat seems to lack and i think they are definately working on this front too.

Overall a nice course and good to have for absolute beginners like me.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings