Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [919]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent product
May 04 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I did the 7-day trial and I used just two out of the seven days. At the beginning the way the course was showed seemed very odd, but as I spent one more hour on it I immediately made the purchase. Now I know that I did the best choice. The course is very intuitive and easy to keep you on track. You don't feel lost, because you just have to follow the course. They made a very good mix between practice and lessons. As a non-native speaker I feel that I am improving a lot, specially on Sentence Correction.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
650 (Q48,V32) to 730 (Q49,V41)
May 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nanz236 joined: February 7, 2013 | 14 | 12 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Hey guys. I took my GMAT again last week and scored a 730 (Q49,V41). A neat improvement compared to my dismal first attempt 650 (Q48,V32)

Unlike the 2 month or 2 week success stories, mine spanned across 1 full year. I started prep last February, and took GMAT 1 in August. I took a break for a couple of months and started preparing again from November to December.

I signed up for MGMAT class for my first attempt and signed up for e-GMAT for my second. E-GMAT was a crucial factor that helped me to V41. The beautiful SC course and its meaning based approach, helped me master SC and cut down overall time taken to answer the questions. I went through the SC course quite a few times before the process became ingrained.

Critical reasoning (pre-thinking) also helped a lot although I did not attend more than two session (too many distractions in the class), but their online course is nice.

some pointers:
e-GMAT works for non-natives. I was quite doubtful seeing so many good reviews, but now that I have experienced it I would say go for it if verbal is pulling you down.

Some feedback for the e-GMAT team : I found the online sessions were long and way too many distractions in-terms of questions that were asked. With limited prep time for folks, you might want to focus on content delivery as a separate class and a followup tutorial to address questions. That said, the online prep material is perfect and effective.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Optimus Prep On Demand Course for GMAT!
May 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
Although I am used to numbers at work, I was not in touch with high school math for over 7 years. At first I was hesitant that the absence of a live instructor would make the learning process more difficult, especially on topics such as inequalities, probability, DS etc. On top of that, I did not quite connect with the verbal section when I looked up official GMAT study guide. Having used other prep companies and materials, I still was missing the point.

By brushing the basics, I was able to push the scores from 500s to 600s with ease. The trouble started when the scores started hovering around 650. Just below the general thinking hid the dreaded specifics which I was somehow not able to fathom. The scores would not budge no matter how hard I tried and how many hours I worked. One fine day, after weeks of unrewarded labor I had an epiphany. I remembered Einstein’s quote which states that the definition of insanity was repeating an action and expecting different results. Was the pressure of a 700+ driving me insane? I was probably following the wrong strategy.

My search for a mentor/course tailored to my needs led me to Optimus Prep on demand course. This course made what was turning out to be a nightmare a manageable task. Optimus Prep On Demand includes a range of different learning materials to help the student through the course content via his/her preferred learning style and teaches the student how to think like the GMAT test makers. The clarity of thinking the teacher showcases is very impressive given the lack of opportunity to innovate in such a saturated market.

The course content is excellent. It is divided among Quantitative, Verbal, Analytical and Integrated as expected on real test. Each section is sub divided into major components and is complemented with skill builder sections, reviews and section quizzes. Further, the quality of the videos, and the presenters' humor, creates a fun environment from which one walks away with a thorough and deep-rooted understanding of both the content and challenges of the GMAT, and the tools to tackle even the hardest GMAT questions. It really opened my eyes to the strategy that is required to do well on this test instead of just studying and memorizing formulae and techniques.

Optimus on demand gave me just about everything I wanted from a course. I got all the recorded videos and skill building exercises to watch whenever I wanted to. It fit in much better to my hectic schedule versus having to be available for a scheduled class time, and in a way was much better than a live classroom course, though the commitment and ownership required from the student is much more than compared to that of a live course.
I would absolutely recommend Optimus Prep on demand to anyone looking to prepare for the GMAT. The instruction is very clear and deliberate and you are exposed to every concept that appears on the GMAT. The strategies are sound and the information provided is extremely helpful for the real test.

Thank you Optimus Prep for helping me cross the dreaded 700 barrier. Now I can move on to the next part (essays) with a lot of confidence.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Pill First Impressions
April 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rushco22 joined: April 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
I purchased the program 5 days ago, but I am finding it extremely helpful so far. I have only gone through the sentence correction pill at this point, and I purchased all of them, but I feel much more confident in my SC skills now. I went through MGMAT, and even though I have yet to take the actual test, I feel like GMAT Pill is a far better product for actually improving scores. I felt like MGMAT was almost too concerned with teaching concepts, while GMAT Pill teaches you how to actually do the questions, which I am finding much more applicable and useful. I'm definitely glad I bought this program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Taking up prep course does make a huge difference
April 30 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By AmiGMAT joined: October 8, 2013 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took up Veritas course under the instructor, Ravi Sreerama in February 2014. Before taking up the course I was skeptical about online preparation courses. But Ravi changed my views. He is a phenomenal teacher. He knows how to make the student learn with fun. He makes his class very interactive and develops a sense of healthy competition among the students.
Moreover, Veritas provides with a full set of course material and a huge number of practice problems on each topic. Additionally, you get 15+ CAT practice tests which are exact simulation of actual GMAT. Also it gives you 2 hours of homework help daily when you can clear your doubts from the instructors.
Most importantly, this course gives equal stress on both quants and verbal. They guide us for IR and AWA too.
Another good experience with Veritas was its customer service. They are always ready to help you whenever you need them and even they call you themselves to know about your feedback.
When i prepared on my own my GMAT score was 590(Q=49,V=23. After taking up the Veritas course my score increased to 650(Q=46,V=34). My quants score dropped due to my over-confidence, otherwise my score would have been still better.
Overall my experience with Veritas was very satisfactory and I would definitely recommend this course to everyone who want to shine on GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT SC course
April 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By aditir joined: September 2, 2013 | 1 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took my GMAT exam in September 2013 & was not happy with my score. I’m fairly good at Quant, but to score well in verbal, I needed a good Sentence Correction (SC) score. My friends from my GMAT Preparatory Coaching Institute recommended the SC course of e-gmat.
I am a non-native speaker of English & certain nuances of the language have always escaped me for some reason under the pressure of time constraints. I read the Manhattan GMAT Sentence Correction book, and found it very useful, but it could not match the Audio-Visual (AV) approach of e-gmat.
In my view, e-gmat is an excellent course, mainly due to the AV approach of teaching, which is akin to a classroom environment. Sections in any AV module or lesson could be stopped and played again numerous times at any moment for fortifying the conceptual understanding of the topic. Also, examples when played out in an AV format tend to get embedded with the concept better, as compared with classroom study or self-study. Moreover, all topics are summarised in brief PDF’s for quick reviews before exam day.
I recommend anyone having problems in understanding SC concepts to first do e-gmat. For more advanced topics, the Manhattan GMAT sentence correction book can be referred, as one would have already acquired a solid foundation to tackle the advanced topics.​
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
The on demand videos are recommendable
April 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
Once I was done with the self-study using standard books, I switched over to the on-demand sessions that are available online. I did some analysis by comparing feedback from forums and features and prices from the websites. My weakness was mostly on the verbal section, as is common for most non-native speakers, and I felt Optimus would suit my needs for mainly this reason and also for breaking the barrier on price.

The online sessions are presented by three expert tutors for each field, each of whom is a 99%iler and a celebrity in the world of GMAT tutoring...talk about creme de la creme. In the 30 extremely informative sessions they basically went through each page in the manual, covered the underlying concepts and explained how to work through each problem, quant and verbal. Even though I had answered most of the questions correctly, watching how they attacked each problem was a real eye opener.

Manhattan, Veritas, Princeton, Knewton and Kaplan - the five corners of the star known as GMAT Prep did not realize that another entrant was gearing up to shake things. After each session, there are sets of additional problems to be done on your own. The student has unlimited access to the content, which is surprisingly refreshing, compared to the big 5. The icing on the cake is access to 8 complete GMAT CATs. Add to it the score improvement or money back policy, and you have a clear winner. No wonder this course has been rated as the best in GMATClub, whose discount reduces the price of this course to an extremely competitive $299, whereas the other prep companies charge in the range of $350 to $1150 for a similar product.

The downloadable course material is a compendium of the necessary Quant & Verbal topics. This covers all the basics pretty well, and has loads of practice questions after every sub topic, which works great. I hate reading piles and piles of material before being able to apply it, so this was a treat. After every few pages, there's a drill consisting of several questions. This format meant that I breezed through the material and finished it in no time. The book covered RC really well, nothing too detailed, just the essentials, and in just the right dose. I had been out of school for several years, but after a few hours into the sessions I felt as if I was back to those good old days.

I had been studying for some other office related courses too, and I know the feeling of studying non-stop. Sometimes it felt like my head was about to explode. The GMAT on demand courses really helped. Optimus prep has great strategies and study tips that can help you optimize your studying time.

The GMAT score, while only one part of business school admissions application, can be the difference between getting accepted or rejected at your first-choice school. I suggest you think carefully regarding the implications of choosing the wrong prep course. I can absolutely recommend Optimus on demand videos. They did great for me, if you consider 740 a good score!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great if you have limited time for study
April 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Vizy joined: March 30, 2014 | 4 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
My profile: non-native, didn't any math in a long time.
It took me 2.5 months to complete 92% of the course. So there is a lot of material and a good question bank especially for math. Math questions were very alike original stuff with theory covering everything from the bottom. With adaptive system quant was great, I think I started with less than 40 in the quant and now I hit 50 on average.
Verbal didn't felt that good for me. There is a good pack of theory, especially for SC. I didn't actually finish verbal part and didn't get my hands on harder questions but original thing felt way harder. Questions definitely hammer basics into you but it probably wasn't enough for my level.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
eGMAT's VLP - Most comprehensive course
April 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By thoufique joined: September 28, 2013 | 18 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
After getting a 570 in my first attempt, I started looking for a comprehensive course which would help me crack the GMAT verbal, which was my weakest part. I was recommended to join eGMAT's VLP course by my friend who was also struggling with Verbal. I went through all the free links provided by eGMAT and decided to go with it.

eGMAT's verbal live prep is the best course for non-natives. I am glad I took this course. While answering sentence-correction questions I never used to be confident . After applying the 'Meaning' based approach, I got the right answers very quickly. More importantly I need not think about the previous answers while answering the new questions. Such
is the confidence given by this approach.

In CR questions I never heard of a concept called 'Pre-Thinking'. eGMAT is the first company to introduce this. Using this concept one can pre-think the correct answer choice without even looking at answer choices. After arriving at an answer choice one needs to only look for that choice in the given 5 choices. This reduces the time consumed by CR questions.

The RC course helped me to master the most challenging passages. It helped me to keep focus and discussed all types of question types involved. Once the process is followed, everything seems easy.

Initially it takes some time to develop an expertise in these approaches. But once these approaches are mastered, answering the questions will be a cake-walk. I found tremendous improvements in both my accuracy and time-management using this.

It also has Live sessions, which helped me to solidify the concepts and clarify any doubts. Sessions are conducted every week and the instructors make the concepts crystal clear. I liked Rajat, Payal, Shraddha, Chiranjeev and Krishna.
These sessions are also recorded, one can view them any time.

I forgot to mention that VLP has workshops too. These workshops ared designed to take the preparation to upper levels. They help to maximize the score. It also gives access to EDVENTO and 800score.com's mocks. IR is also taken care by this course.

As I said earlier, VLP is the most comprehensive course available. I have scheduled my exam in July and I am confident I'll get to a great score this time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Concise Math Review
April 26 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ankitas87 joined: March 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I've began studying for the GMAT not too long ago and I come from a zero math background. I began with the Manhattan materials, along with Veritas, and I found that I was in vast sea of information ... wondering around aimlessly. Magoosh helped me narrow down on the topics I absolutely needed to master to Ace the GMAT. The easy to understand lesson videos and the quick after every section provided me with a structure to my learning process.
However, I did think much of the math topics were overly simplified. I felt that topics such as Inequalities, absolute values, word problems lacked focus.
Hence, if I would not recommend Magoosh to be a student's one and only source to learn the basics from and jump into the OG questions. I would highly recommed for Magoosh to provide additional videos for people who lack a Mathematical background on certain topics.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings