Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [880]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
e-GMAT verbal live Prep - A very structured course for Verbal Section
March 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
In my preparation for GMAT, I was struggling on Verbal. I had even taken classroom courses from leading India coaching institute, even though I did not seem to get the verbal fear out of my mind. My score tends to be around 25.
This is when I came across e-GMAT. I did take a few free tutorials from them and found this to be interesting.
I first purchased the verbal online from them and instantly hit off of with SC session. Now the concepts which I have been trying to understand for last 3 months started to make sense.
The first strategy session from Rajat was very good and helped build up a study plan. The emphasis on focusing on your strength was a very good reminder of the common mistakes most engineers do. Thinking that Qunat is easy for them, they ignore it and I was doing the same.
Soon I upgraded to Verbal Live prep. The live sessions are very helpful. They further help in cementing the concepts and few tricks which are covered there help build the necessary skills to effectively tackle the GMAT like questions.
Intially, I had difficulty following the process and used to think of the e-GMAT process as lengthy and time consuming. But as I started to do more and more practice, the process started to help solving even tricky questions and that too within stipulated time.

Practicing e-GMAT’s process more helped me in improving my hit rate. The number of correct answers increased as I started using their concepts and methods. Their stress on giving importance to meaning of the sentence in SC questions, breaking the argument in CR questions, pre-thinking, forming a logical structure etc really helped in the process of elimination.

The way e-GMAT has divided the whole SC and CR into small concepts is very good for structured learning. It helps you to find out your weak areas and improve on it before moving to the next concept. The video / audio is very good. Audio worked wonders for me. I used to re-listen to all the concepts which helped in strengthening the concept more.

The IR Section is very comprehensive too.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Prep Course w/ Ravi Sreerama
March 30 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I recently completed the GMAT veritas prep course, and it was a great experience. I took the class online, due to my schedule, and it was just as interactive as a regular class would be. The instructor Ravi Sreerama was fantastic and always kept the class engaged.
He emphasized understanding the psychology of the exam, and getting in the head of the test makers themselves. He explained how to avoid pitfalls and choosing the "sucker answer" or booby trap, that tries to get the test taker to select the wrong answer. This continuous practice, allowed me to really understand how to approach each question, and to be cautious, when a question appeared to be too easy, or too difficult.
The course was absolutely great, and I am thrilled that I have access to all the recordings of the classes, so I can refer to them if need be. The resources that come with Veritas Prep, are also very useful, and last for about a full year!. The Veritas Prep course, comes with skillbuilder exercises (allowing you to fully brush up on old content), as well as numerous practice exams, and online office hours.
Basically, the Veritas Prep Course, coupled with the instruction of the brilliant Ravi Sreerama (the GMAT terminator), is a sure path to significant results and success!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
GMAT Economist Tutor doesn't honor money back guarantee
March 30 | 2014

6 out of 11 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By hej joined: February 12, 2013 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
Money back guarantee
My biggest concern. I completed every one of the requirements to comply with the conditions of the score guarantee, which was explicitly acknowledged by customer service. Yet I didn’t get the full amount that I was entitled to and even after contacting the customer service several times over the course of two months they just ignored my emails and requests. I am currently looking for the appropriate customer rights agency to raise a formal complaint.

Progress charts
Be careful here! They are tricky. You have a decent progress until about 75% of the program, where you run out of new materials and enter into question-answering mode. Your progress flatlines and you need an enormous amount of time to get to 90% completion, which is a criteria for the money back guarantee. So your early progress is absolutely misleading in terms of the required time to complete the course.

"Intelligent" application
Definitely the best feature of the program. It does a good job explaining new concepts and making you practice them. However, it does not learn at all – I had to complete dozens of practice questions in areas that I was already good at and didn’t get any questions on areas that I really needed the improvement on. Also, by focusing on the quantity, the quality of the questions suffered – there were obvious patterns that I had to recognize and learn once.

1-to-1 sessions
Waste of time. My tutors failed to show up at the Skype sessions two times and when they did, they wanted to get rid of me as quickly as possible. They were slow and insisted on explaining to me everything that I already knew and asked them to skip.

Ask-a-tutor
Completely useless. I found that 9 out of 10 responses are not helpful at all in understanding anything.

Reading comprehension
I don’t understand why this question type is totally messed up in the application. Instead of the GMAT format where you have one piece of text and a couple of related questions, this program insists on presenting you with one question per text. In the practice tests it totally messes up your time management.

IR section
That’s a joke.

Practice tests
They are not bad at all, but have the same problems as the rest of the program (messed up reading comprehension questions, no IR section, repetitive questions).

Essay correction
I failed to get a decent score from these guys, and I got 5.5 on the GMAT. Enough said.

UPDATE:
After having posted this and a similar review on another forum, I was contacted by someone from the team. I was informed that a temporary issue in their system caused delays in properly processing payments for the money back guarantee. Elizabeth, the person taking on my case, has made it “her personal goal” to help me out and she was indeed very helpful and kind. I believe the issue with the repayments is now cleared and hopefully new students won’t have to worry about anything similar. I still don’t like the fact that my multiple emails had been entirely ignored before I posted on a public forum, but I was impressed with and thankful for the help I got after that. I think this service needs more Elizabeths.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Great Class!
March 29 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By tlitterio joined: March 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi really thoroughly goes through the material and teaches you how to correctly break down the questions and answer them quickly. The class is structured in the best way to retain the material. Prior to taking this class I was not aware of the level of trickery that goes into making this test!

Vertias Prep also provides a large number of practice questions and practice tests. The practice tests help by letting you know where you stand and they help to build confidence. Since taking the class I have increased my score on the practice tests by 120 points. I have not taken the real test yet but am feeling much more confident about it thanks to Ravi and Veritas Prep!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Good Course!
March 28 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By zohebm joined: March 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Awesome course (lasted from Feb 9th, 2014 - March 20th, 2014). The online program needed for the in-class instruction is very easy to use. Veritas even provides a checkilist so you can keep track of your progress. They have about 600-700 total homework questions (with solutions). Be sure to do the homework questions online, rather than in the book. This way you can get used to looking at a computer screen to do your problems (you wont be able to "mark" on questions during test day). I learned lots of new techniques! I suggest taking Ravi Sreerama as your instructor..he knows knows how to teach gmat skills and is an awesome motivator! Spend your hard earned money on Veritas! Trust me, you will appreciate it! Good luck to everyone on the GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Tough Love, Terrific Experience
March 28 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By joeljohn joined: March 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi Sreerama is one heck of a GMAT instructor. If you sign up for Veritas Prep, or any other course for that matter, seriously consider the reviews about this guy - because they are valid.

He doesn't mince words about his expectations of his students: he wants us to be in the 99th percentile and he says it from day one. His office hours are always open and no matter how many times you get it wrong, he wants you to grow. He'll teach you to THINK about how to tackle the GMAT rather than just get through it. Pay close attention to his tips and tricks because it will help.

In summary, if anything, keep Veritas Prep as a choice of GMAT prep because of Ravi. He'll show you where you need to be.

Cheers,

Joel
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
On Demand Course! Great way to prepare yourself!
March 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By maximillianniki joined: March 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
This course is a cheap and great way to prepare for the GMAT. For 300 USD you get everything you need to prepare yourself for the test. All concepts, tips and tricks necessary to know are included in this one single course. The best is you can access it from anywhere in the world. All you need is an Internet connection and a computer. The course has included practice tests and you can see your progress at any time.

There are numerous practice questions given to each topic and if you have questions the online support of Optimus Prep was of great help to me.

I can recommend this course to anyone who is looking for an intensive low budget GMAT preparation. I am sure that if you at least party familiar with some of the concepts you can score very well just by watching this course! Thank you for this course
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Product! Highly recommended! 60 hours On Demand!
March 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I did intensive research on the best adaptive or video course solutions on GMAT Club. I compared all the offers, did some trials and asked former test takers by PM. I do not have a high paid job, my GMAT preparation is not only very important for my entire future life but also a high investment. I took finally Optimus Prep’s course because it was very comprehensive and had more than 60 hours of material, 8 practice tests and numerous homework assignments. Their service is also good because they have a live chat and replied to my questions always within 3-12 hours. The price of $299 is cheap because they cover both test parts intensively. When I did the payment I was welcomed by email and received the log in instructions and which website to visit. It seems they cooperate with another test prep company or so. I downloaded the material of more than 100 pages and followed the instructions from the website. On day 1 I did the diagnostic test and watched the first video. I made notes and tried to answer questions before the explanation was presented (as the tutor suggests during the videos). I liked how the material was presented and how homework assignments were given. The course proved to be of great overall quality. I was afraid a bit because there was no sample lesson of the course on Optimus Prep’s website. However, my expectations were met and I was very happy with my choice. It takes a while to watch all the videos, do all the GMAT practice tests and homework assignments but it is worth it. Take this time and get a great preparation.

Next week is my GMAT scheduled and I will write in the forum about my score. I hope I achieve my practice test levels.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Instrumental.
March 26 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
As anyone who has taken a GMAT prep course knows, the quality of your instructor can make a world of difference. Such was the case with my experience with Veritas Prep. Undoubtedly, the various companies who offer GMAT preparation courses all have a solid value proposition. However, what set the Veritas Prep course apart for me was not the breadth of the texts (which were very good, for the record), but rather the quality of my instructor, Ravi Sreerama.

To say that Ravi was instrumental in my preparation is an understatement. The GMAT, more than any other standardized test, is ultimately about strategy. Most people signing up for the GMAT already have the skill set to answer a majority of questions. It is the strategy which really sets apart a 500 level score from a 700 score. And the hope of better understanding that strategy is how I justified the cost of the course. Ravi's teaching style truly exceeded my expectations. Ravi has an ability to break down a question not only to find the right answer, but perhaps more importantly to understand why a question is worded the way it is, to identify the trap answers, and ultimately to demonstrate why you should have been able to save 20 seconds answering it.

I have been previously very disappointed by the quality of MOOC's and my biggest concern in signing up for Veritas prep was that I was only able to take an online version of the course with my work schedule. Looking back, I think I even had a better experience because I took the online version of the course - and again, I'm going to have to credit Ravi. One must remember in the classroom, they don't necessarily receive the personal attention of the instructor. In taking the online course with Ravi, I received constant feedback - even in my class of 25. As I mentioned above, his ability to illuminate patterns in my errors - always falling for trap answers in combinatorics problems for example or consistently spending too much time on geometry questions - really helped me guide my studying accordingly.

In short, the ROI from this course came down to the quality of instructor - and Ravi is the real deal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT delivers what it commits to deliver
March 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By radhika88 joined: November 29, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
As I had consistently been a top scorer in English, both at school and university, I always thought that I had a good command over the language & was very confident. My confidence was clearly shaken when I took the GMAT for the first time and scored way below my expectations. Around the same time I heard about e-GMAT and how they focused only on Verbal for non-natives unlike most test prep companies. I attended a few trial sessions and loved the methodology that they employed to not only ensure that you learn the concepts fast but also to recall & use it when the time comes. I bought the Verbal Live Prep program and was offered access to a few other question pools too.
They are crisp & clear in communication and one can attend many sessions as they wish to, to get the concepts right. The faculty is available offline too and often just an email away. Most importantly they know and address the most common problems that all non-natives face while attacking Verbal.
Due to a hectic work commitment, I had to take a break in my preparation. When I told them about this, they offered to extend my program too.
If you are a non-native and wish to ace the Verbal, this is definitely the place to be in.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings