Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [978]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent Course - bang for your buck!
June 24 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By priya2priya joined: February 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After lot of deliberation, I decided investing in Veritas Gmat full course and do not regret to do so. I went in for online course with Ravi Sreerama.
I am getting back to math after a gap of 20 years, my basics was simply rustic and GMAT prep was a herculean task for me. Making this task approachable is what Veritas course does. The course is well structured with tools to improve your weak points. Coupled with this are the instructors who help you see your weaker areas.

Ravi is a not only a wonderful instructor, but a great motivator. What surprises and impresses me most is in a class of 25 -30; Ravi keeps a tab on his student; guides you, manages to pinpoint your weaker areas (I was awful with algebra) and suggests methods to improve your weak areas. His words "are you here to help me?", "dumb it down", "play devil's advocate", "think like a test maker" still echoes in my ears while I am stuck solving any problems.

I would highly recommend Veritas course with Ravi as instructor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Focused,Invested and Authentic.
June 24 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By KaptainCrunch joined: June 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi has all of the ideal characteristics of what a GMAT instructor should have. He cares about all of his students and brings forth an authentic passion to his GMAT lessons. If you want to exceed on the GMAT but are unsure where to start, then Ravi is your man. He can bring anyone, no matter what their background, to the 99% percentile!

No matter where you weaknesses may be, Ravi will find a way to make those weaknesses become your strengths. Ravi breaks the GMAT down into its most simplistic form and gives students the confidence to thrive during the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Getting a fresh start
June 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By juvaldez07 joined: June 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
I can tell you that nothing is harder than trying to get back to school in your mid 30s. With work and the struggles of every day life, how are you possibly going to find time to learn high school math? Fortunately the solution came in the form of an email referral from GMAT Pill. One of my girlfriends was in the same situation in me. With a goal for a better life, she signed up for the GMAT and used this very same platform. I guess I owe much of my future success to her because GMAT Pill made the entire study process easier. I can listen to tutorials, watch explanatory videos and message Zeke for help. I downloaded the app on my phone and the software tracker on my laptop. Having all this access makes everything more convenient and flexible. It is also great for those strapped on cash! You can even save a few through referrals haha. Best of luck to you all!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
All possible content covered
June 23 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
This online course is comprehensive and includes over 80 hours of content and practice (at least that was my experience with the course). There is ample hardcopy material also mailed to you along with test materials such as the laminated yellow paper.

The course significantly improved my quantitative section, which, as they acknowledge, cannot just be picked up at full speed and must be studied. Approximately 50 hours of online video time. Skillbuilder lessons are also helpful at practicing with a guide, and are supported by hardcopy textbooks that accompany each lesson. Very through coverage of the GMAT topics. Highly recommend for people looking to learn at their own pace.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Good Course
June 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Isaac
The course is nice in terms of quality of the content. The best part is that it apparently adapts to your pace and accuracy. I am about 3 weeks into the course and find it pretty good. I`ve used the mobile apps which works flawlessly. The ask-the-tutor feature is up to the mark and a tutor responds within 5-6 hours usually. I also, tried the tutoring session and Isaac gave a very honest feedback about my performance. One drawback is that you can`t revisit a topic and take the session again. However, you can always get a overview of the session, any number of times later.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Program...Easily the best I have seen
June 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By smduncan joined: June 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
After taking the gmat once and achieving a mid-600 score after studying various hard copy books, I decided to go in a different route. I spoke with my admissions consultant and she suggested the Economist GMAT Tutor. I am taking the test again next month so I have a month to complete the 100+ hour course and less than halfway through I can wholeheartedly tell you that it is worth every penny. I am much more confident with my verbal and quant, and am able to study on my own time via the ipad app which works perfectly for people that travel often like myself. Highly recommended, will touch base again with my results in a few weeks! Thanks Economist GMAT tutor!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent Instructor (Ravi Sreerama) Leading an Excellent Course
June 21 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By chrisasmar joined: May 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After deciding that I wanted to take a GMAT prep course to help me prepare for the exam, I did plenty of research on the different GMAT prep companies, and decided to go with Veritas Prep. The overall reviews of Veritas were extremely positive, and I realized that one specific instructor, Ravi Sreerama, is regarded highly by so many Veritas Prep students that took his course. I checked to see the next online prep course that Ravi was leading, and I realized that he had an upcoming course that was to take place Saturdays and Sundays from 12:00PM – 3:00PM. I was a bit disappointed, because with working full time, this specific course was going to take up a decent chunk of time right in the middle of the two days that I don’t work, plus I was going to have class on both Mother’s Day and Father’s Day. I went back to the forums and kept reading different reviews, and the ridiculously high numbers of amazing reviews for Ravi led me “suck it up” and take the Saturday/Sunday online course with him.

Before taking the course, Veritas Prep asks its students to take a practice GMAT (GMAT Prep practice test 1), and I scored a 590. I was a bit discouraged, knowing that I had a long way to go in order to reach my goal. I did my best to stay positive, hoping that once I took the prep course, my score would improve significantly (50-70 points), and at that point, self studying would get me the additional 40-60 points to reach my goal of 700+.

The first class was on Saturday, May 10.

Ravi made his goal clear from day one: he wants everyone that takes his course to score in the 99th percentile, and he is willing to do whatever is needed to make that happen.

The Veritas Prep course requires that you complete pre-class “homework” called “Skillbuilders” before taking each class. This is great, because instead of wasting precious time teaching his students content, such as exponent rules or what makes a triangle isosceles, Ravi is able to focus on teaching us how to beat the GMAT. Ravi does an amazing job of teaching his students different test-taking strategies and how to think like the testmaker. I began to notice that even when I had no idea how to start a problem, using Ravi’s advice often allowed me to eliminate answer choices right off the bat, significantly increasing my chances of choosing the correct answer if there was ever an instance where I just needed to guess and move on to the next question. The GMAT is an exam in which there are extreme time pressures – the questions aren’t impossible, and a lot of people would ace the exam if it wasn’t timed; Ravi stresses this fact a lot, and his instruction does wonders with increasing speed while maintaining accuracy.

I have taken two exams since starting the Veritas Prep Course, one after class 10 of 12 and the other after the class was completed; I scored a 700 and a 740 on these! I never dreamed of 110-150 point increases without studying on my own after the class had completed. These increases are certainly attributable to the Veritas Prep course, but even more so they are attributable to Ravi Sreerama, one of the best instructors that I have ever had (including high school, 4 years of undergrad at The University of Michigan, and 2 years of medical school). With about 3 weeks left before my scheduled GMAT, I’m confident that I’ll be able to repay Ravi by helping him achieve his goal – having another one of his students score in the 99th percentile.

Take a Veritas Prep course with Ravi Sreerama. It was undoubtedly one of the best decisions that I have ever made, and I am certain that you will feel the same.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I was ready to quit pursuing my MBA until I took Ravi Sreerama's class from Veritias Prep!
June 21 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Craigory joined: June 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
My track record with standardized tests has been mediocre throughout my life, so the only reason why I kept holding off on pursuing my MBA is because of the GMAT.

After my company generously offered to pay for my MBA, I finally made the decision this year to go back to school. But given that I last took a math class back in 2001 during my freshman year of college (and it was “business calculus”), I didn’t even know where to begin with my GMAT preparation. Like most people, I started off just buying a book from Amazon to get a feel for the test, and I tried one practice exam.

How did it go? Well, let me put it this way - my reaction after reading the first quantitative question was, “wait…what the heck is an integer?” And it didn’t get much better after that first question.

My score range according to the Kaplan prep book was from 480-510, and I was frustrated, scared, and ready to quit pursuing my MBA only because of the GMAT. But after thinking about it for a few days, I realized I would be the biggest idiot for not trying to improve my lifestyle just because of one test.

After spending countless hours doing my research (lurking on many GMAT message boards, reading testimonials, sampling a few lessons, etc), I was the most impressed with Veritas Prep. I then read the bios of all the instructors, and Ravi Sreerama stood out because of his 5 star rating. I even decided to sacrifice my weekends just to be in Ravi’s class, and it was the best decision I’ve made so far during my MBA journey. If it’s possible to give him 6 stars, I would!

Here is why you must sign up for Ravi’s class under Vertias Prep:
- He knows his material better than most. He has scored consistently in the 99th percentile on both the quant and verbal sections. He also has both a JD and MBA from top schools, but he became a full time GMAT instructor because he enjoys working with students. That speaks volumes about his true passion.
- Great communication style that is easy to follow - Ravi’s communication style is very clear and concise, and he also makes each 3 hour class enjoyable with his great sense of humor and words of wisdom. Those 3 hours fly by, and at the end of each lesson, you feel like you have a much better understanding of the topic.
- Motivation - He will push you hard and will give you tough love because he wants you to do well.
- Hands on approach - Ravi always takes the time to reach out to each of his students. Any time I was struggling or had questions, he was always very helpful. I always wondered how it was even possible for him to juggle 30 plus private chat windows while still teaching the class…

Overall, Veritas Prep is the perfect blend of a great live classroom led by one of the best instructors out there, a full volume of top notch prep books, and plenty of online resources that include about 15 computer adaptive practice tests. After each practice test, you even get a complete analysis of the test, such as areas you should focus on and how you can improve your pacing. I’ve never felt better about going into the GMAT thanks to Veritas Prep, specifically Ravi Sreerama. I highly recommend Vertitas Prep, and I encourage you to sign up for Ravi's class if that works with your schedule. You won't regret it!

BTW, from what I’ve read, each practice exam is a very good indicator of the actual GMAT, and I’m pleased to say that I’ve been consistently breaking 700. Not bad considering I couldn’t even remember the definition of an integer when I first started this process…
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
100 Points Improvement: From 630 to 730
June 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
The first GMAT I took gave me a score of 630. Decent, but not perfect. I had only three weeks to prepare with the official GMAT guide (and nothing else). I knew I could do better with a more systematic approach. I decided to prepare on the computer and went for the Economist GMAT Tutor.

Why? Well, I hate personal tutoring. I have my own pace and I don't like wasting my time with things I have already understood. I like written instructions so that I can take my time to understand them. The Economist Tutor offers me to set my own pace and has an AI that understands how well I understand the GMAT material. The better I am, the harder the questions get and the faster the GMAT Tutor rushes through the topics. I loved it!
Once I completed the GMAT Tutor, I had two weeks to solve some tricky questions from the original book and sharpen my Integrated Reasoning skills with Manhattan GMAT. (Concerning IR, the Economist GMAT Tutor is poor whereas Manhattan Interact is superb).
Still, a poor IR part does not justify taking away a star – therefore, the GMAT Tutor receives a full score. Mine was 730.

But beware: If you consider yourself as someone who needs personal assistance, then the GMAT Tutor might not be right for you. You have to cope with a computer screen that explains you everything. No doubt, the explanations and approaches are beyond perfect. There is even a glimpse of irony that will make you laugh here and then. But if you really need someone “holding your hand” and if you like 1:1 discussions, then perhaps you could sign up for a real-life course (especially when you are in the US). Of course, the GMAT Tutor also includes personal tutoring sessions, but they cannot replace an in-depth personal assistance. None of those online tutorings can.
But if you choose an internet course, choose the Economist!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Believe all the reviews, Ravi Sreerama is really a wonderful teacher!
June 20 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 16, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After doing a lot research on GMAT prep classes I decided to go with Veritas Prep as they seemed to really specialize in the test and their instructors had great reviews. I took the Full Classroom course first and found that to be very helpful and a great introduction to the test. The instructor had taught with other test prep companies and was really good at sharing all the techniques that he knew. He was also very insistent that we purchase and use the Official Guide as well as the Veritas Prep materials. After the course, I took the test and under-performed in the Quant section (which was already my weakness). As a result, I decided to retake the class and, due to class scheduling, opted for the live online class with Ravi Sreerama.

Initially, I was pretty hesitant on taking an online class as I was worried that I would not be as engaged. However, this really was not the case. First of all, Ravi was really helpful about helping me set goals for my test retake. I sent him a very detailed email about my GMAT history and MBA application as a whole and he responded thoroughly and thoughtfully, giving me study structure advice - which I really needed! During the onlne course itself, Ravi really broke the Math problems down and helped me understand the correct thought-process from start to finish. In the end, I was able to raise my GMAT score from a 630 to a 690 and I couldn't be more pleased considering that I've never been a natural "test-taker".


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings