Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1327]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Value for money! : 510 to 620
December 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mehtajay93 joined: July 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I signed up for Magoosh after reading about it on this very website. For 99 dollars, I got access to all the videos and practice questions. Going by the rate, this deal was a steal!

Coming to the content, I think Magoosh's practice questions are perfect. They reflect the actual GMAT exam content.

The Quant videos are bang on. They've managed to cover almost everything. The videos are short, minimal in nature and very easy to understand.

Their Verbal videos are great too, but I feel they should work more on the Critical Reasoning section. It is one of the most difficult parts of the GMAT, and students could do a lot more with explanations of that topic.

In addition to all this, their blog is a treat for all GMAT students. Study Plans, book reviews, tips and tricks. You name it, and they have it.

All in all, a great product. Be rest assured, I'm going to be recommending this to anyone I come across who needs help with preparation for the GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT debrief; e-GMAT verbal online
December 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By harshaiit joined: February 22, 2014 | 28 | 8 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
Hello Folks,

I appeared for GMAT on 9th Dec '14. I scored 710 (Q51 V34 AWA 6.0 and 5 on that section I can't remember the name). Anyways, this debrief will layout the resources I used, time I spent and my opinion about the whole thing.

Resources:
MGMAT Math books - Very useful to refresh the basics
GMAT Club - Quizzes - extremely useful - Highly recommended
e-GMAT Verbal Online - Highly recommended for non-native speakers. I will write a separate note about this.
800 Tests: Recommended to get into the groove. Take these tests seriously but not the scores, don't worry about what you score
OG 13 - Cover to cover
Verbal Review 2ed - Cover to cover
Quant Review 2ed - Cover to cover
Time:
I started my preparation in Aug '13 and the first thing I did was to purchase the OG'13 book from Amazon, got it shipped and slept over it till Feb '14 (work issues). The next thing I did was to get serious about my goals and buy MGMAT set of 10 books and slept over again till July '14. I should remind that I was preparing on and off in an unstructured way. I signed up for e-GMAT in May'14 and attended a few sessions run by Rajat, Payal and team. I wasn't aware of the details behind verbal. I realized it is not run of the mill test and got serious about verbal prep and went over each and every online lesson till Sept'14. I been working for about 9 years now and my attention span is of a 2-year old (largely due to emails, projects and the life on fast track during my work days). The training that e-GMAT provided was a life changing experience. I left all the grammar, reasoning, RC habits during the course of my work (who cares about grammar anyways while writing emails or preparing a presentation, RC? I don't know of anyone reading more than 2 liner emails, forget about 700 word paragraphs, reasoning? nobody cares - Ok, enough of the rant about work). e-GMAT helped me update my verbal skills and I was back in form (the last time I gave any serious test was in 2003 - GRE, CAT etc). I was consistently scoring around 40 in all my tests.

Needless to say, Math was a cakewalk.

Test Day: 3:30 PM - worst possible slot. AWA was cool. I used the template by chineseburned (take a bow). Next up was that awful topic and my score reflected my liking for it.
Math - was damn hard. The tests and quizzes were no where near the difficulty level I faced. I thought I screwed it up badly. I used the whole 75 mins allotted for Quant. A point to note is that I never used more than 45 mins to complete the 37 questions during my mock tests. So, considering that, I felt humbled and sad after those stressful 75 mins.
Took the 8 min break. My advise - take it. Take a walk, stretch, eat something, smoke etc.
Verbal - I don't know what to say, I never imagined I would score 34. One thing I learned is that the algorithm can't be beaten (sorry beat the gmat), it finds out your skills that you acquired over your lifetime (thanks Liam Neeson) and puts you where you are supposed to be.

Final Words:
Anyways, it has been a great learning experience and I was able to get over something that I have been procrastinating for over 6 months. Now that GMAT is out of the way, I am off to the next step - lengthy essays and application forms. I hate this aspect of the application process. I wish there was one form that I could fill for all colleges and get over it. Okay, I think I rambled enough.

Thanks GMATCLUB and e-GMAT. I wish all the future applicants great success.

To the GMATClub team: I am hiding my name and personal details on my score card. Hope that is okay.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Magoosh GMAT Prep (Premium Subscription)
December 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By hotfla5h joined: July 22, 2014 | 1 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
You can use this link to sign up yourself and I'll get a referral bonus!
--> http://gmat.magoosh.com/invite/U7SHSD

I tried the free trial of Magoosh when I joined the GMAT Club in preparation of my upcoming GMAT exam. I found the videos extremely helpful, short and sweet, each one about 10 minutes in length. The lessons are laid out very logically and the flow is easy to follow. Quizzes are at the ends of the groups of lessons and are a great way to gauge how much information you are absorbing. I particularly like the ability to take notes in each of the lessons, practice lots of varied questions, complete flash cards (great app for your phone is available), and log onto Magoosh from anywhere and it is all saved. I'd recommend using this software to help review major topics, practice questions and get 2 more practice exams.

Also, Magoosh is great with asking for feedback and responding to it. I was having some trouble and emailed them, got a response back on a Sunday!

You can use this link to sign up yourself and I'll get a referral bonus!
--> http://gmat.magoosh.com/invite/U7SHSD

Hope this was helpful :)


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Backbone of your self-study regimen
December 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ggggmmmaat joined: July 21, 2014 | 6 | 6 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online  |
I bought all of the MGMAT self-study books, although I only had enough time and energy to get through quant (my main problem area). There is A LOT of information to get through, so prioritize your weaknesses or commit to a LONG study period.

I suggest you combine these with the official question book and an overall GMAT strategy guidebook. I used GMAT Clarity, although I wasn't entirely impressed with it.

Read the MGMAT books to get a refresher on the math concepts, use the official question book to test (and re-test) your knowledge, and use the strategy guidebook to help you break down and organize the questions by concept.

The practice tests are harder than the actual GMAT, which is beneficial in my mind.

The true strength(s) of the self-study course are the strategies for educated guessing. Seriously, they are invaluable and they just might save you.

I can't imagine scoring a 740 on my first try without Manhattan. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Fantastic Instructor
December 29 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I spent a lot of time researching the GMAT prep course options available online and decided to go with Veritas Prep. I could not have asked for a better course or Instructor. Veritas Prep subscribers have numerous tools available to them at their convenience and my Instructor, Ravi Sreerama, was both knowledgeable and helpful. He responded to my questions outside of class in a prompt manner and kept our classes engaging. This course and Ravi are definitely worth the price. I'd recommend this course to individuals who are looking for quality content and convenience. I feel very prepared to take the GMAT and could not have done as well on my own.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
From 580 to 660 only because of e-GMAT
December 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By AnjaliRawat joined: December 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
I took my GMAT exam on 10-Dec-14 and scored 660.Though my score still falls below my expectations, it shows a vast improvement from my earlier score.

I took my first GMAT exam in Apr-14 & scored a dismal score of 580. This was without any test prep guidance. After reading couple of reviews on GMAT Club of various test prep companies, I decided to go ahead with e-GMAT. Most of the non-natives have expressed their utmost satisfaction with this course.
I really found this course to be excellent. I also took e-GMAT's Quant course. In my opinion it is also a well designed course. However nothing beats its verbal course. I have been told earlier that there is nothing one can do about RC, but I am glad to say that if one follows e-GMAT process significant improvement in RC is possible. The process technique of e-GMAT is the most novel technique. The instructors team is one of the most diligent team I have ever seen.

Thanks e-GMAT team for all your endeavours & such an excellent course.

Anjali
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
GMAT Magoosh Prep material
December 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By devikagupta001 joined: November 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh GMAT prep material is something which I was really looking forward too!! Previously I was only referring to GMAT official guides and going to coaching intitute in Pune, India. But was not satisfied with the material!! There was always something which I felt I was missing. Later, one of my friend who was already pursuing GRE Magoosh Prep recommended me. I enrolled in for a week demo classes which helped me in identifying my lacking!!,,I'm really happy with the material they have provided especially of verbal section. The customized practice is the best feature of the software. The way the questions are been segregated according to difficulty gives one a chance to hone grey areas.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Surpassed my expectations
December 26 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By toez89 joined: December 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I hadn't really taken any standardized test before (not even the SAT because I am Canadian) so I was kind of lost on how to prepare for standardized tests. I started with books alone and self-study but found I was not really able to gauge my ability and was therefore not able to hone in on my weaknesses. I was initially hesitant to drop more than $1000 on a course because lets be real, its a lot of money, but the course surpassed my expectations and in the grand scheme of things its worth it and easy to justify.

Both Veritas and Ravi take test preparation to a whole new level. The veritas website provides more resources than you could ever use. There are homework questions on each subject tested and there are real computer adaptive tests that simulate test day, increase your confidence and hone in on your weaknesses. I had follow up questions on some of the homework and online tests and the instructors got back to me in less than 24 hours with great answers.

Those resources were great but Ravi is the real reason I would recommend Veritas. He provides the tough love that many of us need to do well on this course. His belief is that anyone can get 99th percentile on this test so he pushes you to achieve that level of mastery. You find out as prepare that test taking strategies are extremely important once you have mastered the material and Ravi coaches you through all of them. Also, its hard to beat hard to beat an instructor that is better qualified on paper. I believe he holds an MBA, a JD and a 99th percentile on the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
No prep to 770 in 1.5 months
December 26 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 26, 2014 | 8 | 6 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
I was very satisfied with Veritas Prep's online services. I went from never having looked at the GMAT to getting a 770 (50Q, 45V, 8 IR, 6.0 AWA) in only about a month and a half of preparation. I read the prep books (available in hard copy which I liked for writing out math problems or crossing out verbal answers and soft copy which I liked for reading on my iPad and not having to drag around lots of books) cover-to-cover and took 6 of the 10 online practice tests the service offered.

I also like how I get supplementary services I never realized that I signed up for like admissions guides for top MBA programs and a personalized candidacy review. These are major bonuses that my friends who signed up for other in-person courses didn't receive.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Love this product!!
December 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By IVIE1982 joined: September 26, 2014 | 8 | 2 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Math | Location:   Online  |
It allows you to focus on subject areas and then you can customize the questions. It has detailed video explanation and let you know if you're answering easy, hard, or medium questions. I love Magoosh. I NEVER took a Geometry class. I had no idea about Geometry till I tried Magoosh. I am now solving Geometry questions. I love this!! I highly recommend this product to anyone who is looking to learn the fundamentals or for brush ups. The exam bank alone makes this worth the investment. I haven't taken the GMAT exam yet but it beats having to study out of a book. I feel like I am in a class with a professor teaching me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings