Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1386]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Strategic thinking
January 11 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 29, 2014 | 19 | 4 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I undertook the full Veritas online course last from August to Sept last year. It was my first try at GMAT so I had very little knowledge about the test content. I found its course books very clear, especially the Quant materials. The verbal books gave a good overview of verbal test strategies, invaluable for test takers.

My online course experience was much better than expected. Before I committed to/paid the course I called the company to check what the online learning experience would be like - I was told that the course would be very collaborative. When I joined my first class the following week, it became clear that I was indeed in for a very collaborative/practical experience.

Ravi Sreerama was my online lecturer - he was extremely knowledgeable about all GMAT content. I was impressed by the way he ensured each student was following the content ok. For example, I was struggling with a few subjects thus couldn't answer some of the practice questions during class - Ravi noticing this messaged me to see how he could help. I am also extremely (x2) impressed by Chris Speck, Ravi's TA. I had a lot of questions in and out of class and Chris always managed to respond quickly with clear explanations (thanks very much and appreciate your patience Chris).

Please note: I took my 1st GMAT in Dec 2014 and I am actually going to retake it again because I'm not happy with my score. This has nothing to do with Veritas however - I've been out of school for over a decade and need to spend more time to practice more questions. Another thing I learned is that it's often not about one course being better than another course - as a student each of us need find a course (more courses) that best suite our own learning style. For example, I started with Veritas I found is fantastic in teaching strategic thinking - you need this if you are aiming for 700+. However, I knew I needed more foundational and practical guidance thus I also enrolled with GMAT Pill which I feel is very strong at showing me practical skills. It all comes down to practice. It is true when Ravi and Chris both said pacing is the most important thing with GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-gmat helped me improve verbal from 35 to 40
January 11 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I am a non-native speaker. Before taking egmat course, i tried manhattan gmat. The SC session for MGMAT is highly rated, but somehow it didnt help me much. My SC was not improved aftering using the MGMAT SC. I read from gmat-club that egmat is really good for non-native speakers, so i started using egmat. At first, i only chose the verbal online courses. Later i found my verbal, especially SC and RC, greatly improved aftering takkng the course, so i added the verbal live prep package. E-gmat is really great for non-native speakers. My verbal improved from 35 to 40. Thanks to e-gmat!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-gmat : One stop for Verbal
January 11 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By solitaryreaper joined: September 23, 2013 | 63 | 18 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Shraddha Jaiswal
When I entered into the GMAT battlefield, I chose a local prep institute without doing any research. I am mentioning this because if you don't do proper research about the prep materials (before you begin studying for GMAT),you'll most certainly end up loosing precious time. I paid a good amount of money to a local prep institute only to realize that they know nothing about GMAT verbal section (lack of structured material, lack of professionalism..they teach you CR in 3 days- sounds funny right !).No wonder I had to abandon my GMAT preparation in the mid-way because verbal (especially SC) became a black-box to me.
After 8-9 months, I gathered the courage to start again. This time I did a lot of online research(forums like GMATclub etc.) because I knew that there is something different to GMAT verbal which we (non-natives) usually don't study in school. After a lot of recommendations , I chose e-gmat liveprep course. And believe me this was the best investment I did towards my ultimate goal - getting a great score in GMAT. I believe as non natives we need a comprehensive /one stop platform that can teach us the intricacies of verbal and that can also prepare us to perform consistently at the top level. The course is very comprehensive and teaches you everything as far GMAT verbal is concerned. I absolutely love the video lectures that are highly interactive.Once you start using e-gmat course , you'll never want to look to any other prep material/book.
- The SC section is class apart. Better than any prep material out there. Period ! SC used to be my weakest section in Verbal. Now it has become a strength. E-gmat has changed my perspective - I can confidently say that SC is the easiest section (in verbal) to ace.
- I think no prep material can teach you how to read. But again e-gmat follows a very structured approach for RC. And the lessons, mock quizzes and the workshops(part of e-gmat liveprep course) helped me tremendously in improving my accuracy and speed.
- CR section is equally good. The pre-thinking approach taught by e-gmat helps in improving speed as well as accuracy. I was able to solve CR problems from OG with an average accuracy of 80% after I finished the CR course.

But apart from the video lessons, what makes e-gmat quite unique is the quality of its live sessions(comes as a part of live-prep course). The concepts that you learn from video files are cemented in the live sessions. Moreover , the sessions are highly interactive. There are quality discussions in the sessions and you can learn a great deal from the experts (and fellow students). I can certainly vouch for the quality of live sessions.
The verbal workshops(again part of liveprep course) keep you on your toes. These are tough tests(sectional as well as complete tests) that are extremely helpful in gauging one's progress.
Internal Forums ( to clarify doubts)are very responsive.

With liveprep course one gets free access to GMATclub and 800score CATs. I am using these tests and believe me it's a great deal.

I can give 100 reasons to buy e-gmat course to nail the verbal section,but it's easy to decide after subscribing to its free trial(which I also did).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good but not enough
January 11 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
I enjoyed the Economist GMAT Tutor Course, especially the online interaction of the program. The adaptability of the program is excellent, and it makes you work harder in tougher sections. Also, it completes all the topics for the GMAT and has plenty of practice questions for each section. However, at the end, when the program enters “Maintance Mode” I found myself redoing questions. Between verbal and quant, I think the Quant section is better, and more complete. While the Verbal section is good, it is easy to find a pattern in the Sentence Correction questions, and the difficulty level is low compared to the real GMAT. Also, for the Reading Comprehension Section you have the same passages over and over again with different questions, which makes it easier to try to guess the answer instead of rereading the passage. Overall, I thought the course was good with a huge questions bank, however it still needs some work to do and a lot to improve. Before taking the GMAT for the second time I thought I was going to improve at least 50 points, but I only improved 20.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
excellent course with clear solutions to practice questions
January 11 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I signed up for the Magoosh Premium course after completing the Magoosh 7 day trial and reading through some of the Magoosh free instructional materials in the Mahoosh GMAT BLOG. So far my experience with Magoosh has been great. You can practice questions and watch video lessons at your own pace. The best benefit of Magoosh is that the explanations given in practice questions are very clear and illustrated in the video and in text. I also highly recommend downloading the Magoosh Apps (Math and Idioms) so that you can practice on the go. These apps are very well designed and contain a plethora of questions to help you prepare. At $99 for 1 year access, Magoosh is a must have for anyone taking the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas!
January 10 | 2015

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 10, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehill
I think the format of Veritas Prep is unbeatable. After asking around, I choose Veritas Prep over Manhattan GMAT. I could not have been more satisfied. I took my class online with
Ethan Todras-Whitehill, and was initially nervous that the online format would not be engaging, however that was not the case with Ethan. Even though the class was online (which I assume is much tougher to instruct than an in-person class), Ethan was able to keep the sessions lively and engaging (they were on both Saturday and Sunday). In the end, I was able to boost my score up by 140 points, which I attribute to the first-class instruction skills of Ethan and the great materials prepared by Veritas.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Real Verbal Transformation
January 10 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 6, 2013 | 1 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I'll straight go to the point. Thank You e-GMAT.
I am an Indian male with a mediocre schooling wrt English. I wouldn't mind conceding that even my basics of English (verbs/nouns) weren't clear when I started on this journey called GMAT. I read Wren n Martin English Grammar to improve. My diagnostic test results were 570. I knew the road ahead is long. Thus I went on and on, from reading Economist to learning grammar from random English grammar websites. 6 months and my first attempt yielded a 620. I was really upset. Then I decided to take-up the e-GMAT course. I had attended their free webinars. I went from 620 to 730 in 4 months. I could have done this in lesser time but due to hectic work hours and I wanted this attempt to be the best yet. e-GMAT really made the difference by teaching right from the "basics". They taught what is important and the strategies were undoubtedly helpful. For me SC became a cake walk.
I think I could have pulled out a 750 but got a bit distracted. Rajat says in one of his webinars that the first 10 questions are important. Indeed they are. At question no 21 I got a RC that was 5 para and of difficulty level I had never practiced before. I knew i was on the right path. But trying to tackle this RC I lost a lot of time. Which forced my to skip 4 questions in the end. But still I managed a 730! Sad but still happy I pushed out a 110 point improvement.
The course is perfect for non-native speakers!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Verbal improvement
January 10 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
Even though I have not yet taken the GMAT I wanted to put in a review for the remarkable course that I signed up for. e-GMAT has improved my verbal skills to new highs that were not achievable by self study or taking some other courses I had signed up for. My verbal has jumped from v28 to v41 by simply focusing and following through the online e-GMAT verbal course. Best thing is there is no books, but simple and graphical representation of course material which is super engaging. I love the SC and the CR (which complements the Power Score CR Bible really well). I would highly recommend the e-GMAT course work.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Best GMAT Instructor: Ravi Sreerama (Veritas Prep)
January 10 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 10, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
To put it simply, Ravi Sreerama is the absolute best! I had the pleasure of enrolling in one of his live online six week GMAT prep courses with Veritas Prep. The curriculum is intense, rigorous, and very well-organized for those who are serious about their GMAT studies. Ravi is an incredibly skilled, talented, and highly intelligent instructor who possesses a rare and unique ability to relate to each and every one of his students. His educational and professional background is a significant asset (he holds both JD and MBA degrees in addition to real world work experience) and he draws upon this expertise to break down tough, abstract content into simple, digestible morsels of information. One of the things I appreciated most was Ravi's candid and multifaceted approach to teaching content. He is in no way one-dimensional. A sign of a great teacher is one who can articulate concepts in more than one way and tailor explanations for the audience being addressed. Ravi's commitment and drive to help others succeed is demonstrated through and through. For example, he manages to teach a three hour lesson while making himself accessible for individual dialogue. He juggles personal messages with his students and shares insightful, relevant content with the class. People like Ravi are few and far between. If you want a remarkable and genuine instructor who will provide you with the tools to be successful and challenge you to best yourself, Ravi is your guy. I can't recommend him highly enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT Verbal
January 10 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By anandankit04 joined: August 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
My English is very bad to start with. I took the gmat test after doing my kind of preparation and got really bad score mostly because of verbal. I wanted to improve but was totally hopeless how to go about preparing, since i had already went through all the gmat material. My conclusion was that it will take take time to improve my verbal. I started reading a lot of novels, economist and other websites that i never liked. It did improve my English a bit but the best thing was when i saw the e-gmat free lectures. It was very helpful for me and now i have found a way to improve my verbal. Best part of e-gmat is they have explained the topics very well with good examples and practice questions. They have explained each and every question. It feels like you are attending a live class. I feel confident that i can get better score in gmat. I used to love maths and used to hate verbal section of the exam. At least i don't hate it that much.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings