Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1334]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Backbone of your self-study regimen
December 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ggggmmmaat joined: July 21, 2014 | 6 | 6 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online  |
I bought all of the MGMAT self-study books, although I only had enough time and energy to get through quant (my main problem area). There is A LOT of information to get through, so prioritize your weaknesses or commit to a LONG study period.

I suggest you combine these with the official question book and an overall GMAT strategy guidebook. I used GMAT Clarity, although I wasn't entirely impressed with it.

Read the MGMAT books to get a refresher on the math concepts, use the official question book to test (and re-test) your knowledge, and use the strategy guidebook to help you break down and organize the questions by concept.

The practice tests are harder than the actual GMAT, which is beneficial in my mind.

The true strength(s) of the self-study course are the strategies for educated guessing. Seriously, they are invaluable and they just might save you.

I can't imagine scoring a 740 on my first try without Manhattan. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fantastic Instructor
December 29 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I spent a lot of time researching the GMAT prep course options available online and decided to go with Veritas Prep. I could not have asked for a better course or Instructor. Veritas Prep subscribers have numerous tools available to them at their convenience and my Instructor, Ravi Sreerama, was both knowledgeable and helpful. He responded to my questions outside of class in a prompt manner and kept our classes engaging. This course and Ravi are definitely worth the price. I'd recommend this course to individuals who are looking for quality content and convenience. I feel very prepared to take the GMAT and could not have done as well on my own.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
From 580 to 660 only because of e-GMAT
December 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By AnjaliRawat joined: December 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
I took my GMAT exam on 10-Dec-14 and scored 660.Though my score still falls below my expectations, it shows a vast improvement from my earlier score.

I took my first GMAT exam in Apr-14 & scored a dismal score of 580. This was without any test prep guidance. After reading couple of reviews on GMAT Club of various test prep companies, I decided to go ahead with e-GMAT. Most of the non-natives have expressed their utmost satisfaction with this course.
I really found this course to be excellent. I also took e-GMAT's Quant course. In my opinion it is also a well designed course. However nothing beats its verbal course. I have been told earlier that there is nothing one can do about RC, but I am glad to say that if one follows e-GMAT process significant improvement in RC is possible. The process technique of e-GMAT is the most novel technique. The instructors team is one of the most diligent team I have ever seen.

Thanks e-GMAT team for all your endeavours & such an excellent course.

Anjali
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Magoosh Prep material
December 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By devikagupta001 joined: November 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh GMAT prep material is something which I was really looking forward too!! Previously I was only referring to GMAT official guides and going to coaching intitute in Pune, India. But was not satisfied with the material!! There was always something which I felt I was missing. Later, one of my friend who was already pursuing GRE Magoosh Prep recommended me. I enrolled in for a week demo classes which helped me in identifying my lacking!!,,I'm really happy with the material they have provided especially of verbal section. The customized practice is the best feature of the software. The way the questions are been segregated according to difficulty gives one a chance to hone grey areas.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Surpassed my expectations
December 26 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By toez89 joined: December 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I hadn't really taken any standardized test before (not even the SAT because I am Canadian) so I was kind of lost on how to prepare for standardized tests. I started with books alone and self-study but found I was not really able to gauge my ability and was therefore not able to hone in on my weaknesses. I was initially hesitant to drop more than $1000 on a course because lets be real, its a lot of money, but the course surpassed my expectations and in the grand scheme of things its worth it and easy to justify.

Both Veritas and Ravi take test preparation to a whole new level. The veritas website provides more resources than you could ever use. There are homework questions on each subject tested and there are real computer adaptive tests that simulate test day, increase your confidence and hone in on your weaknesses. I had follow up questions on some of the homework and online tests and the instructors got back to me in less than 24 hours with great answers.

Those resources were great but Ravi is the real reason I would recommend Veritas. He provides the tough love that many of us need to do well on this course. His belief is that anyone can get 99th percentile on this test so he pushes you to achieve that level of mastery. You find out as prepare that test taking strategies are extremely important once you have mastered the material and Ravi coaches you through all of them. Also, its hard to beat hard to beat an instructor that is better qualified on paper. I believe he holds an MBA, a JD and a 99th percentile on the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
No prep to 770 in 1.5 months
December 26 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 26, 2014 | 8 | 6 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
I was very satisfied with Veritas Prep's online services. I went from never having looked at the GMAT to getting a 770 (50Q, 45V, 8 IR, 6.0 AWA) in only about a month and a half of preparation. I read the prep books (available in hard copy which I liked for writing out math problems or crossing out verbal answers and soft copy which I liked for reading on my iPad and not having to drag around lots of books) cover-to-cover and took 6 of the 10 online practice tests the service offered.

I also like how I get supplementary services I never realized that I signed up for like admissions guides for top MBA programs and a personalized candidacy review. These are major bonuses that my friends who signed up for other in-person courses didn't receive.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Love this product!!
December 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By IVIE1982 joined: September 26, 2014 | 8 | 2 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Math | Location:   Online  |
It allows you to focus on subject areas and then you can customize the questions. It has detailed video explanation and let you know if you're answering easy, hard, or medium questions. I love Magoosh. I NEVER took a Geometry class. I had no idea about Geometry till I tried Magoosh. I am now solving Geometry questions. I love this!! I highly recommend this product to anyone who is looking to learn the fundamentals or for brush ups. The exam bank alone makes this worth the investment. I haven't taken the GMAT exam yet but it beats having to study out of a book. I feel like I am in a class with a professor teaching me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Product to Supplement Studies
December 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By FreedsFreed joined: November 25, 2013 | 24 | 9 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
I started my studies with the MGMAT books. After taking a few practice MGMAT and scoring 650/660s I was disappointed and chose to look for additional study products. I was comparing this to the other online offerings but chose it after testing it out and feeling comfortable with the guided learning. The continuous practice questions strengthened my foundation in the topics.

I found Verbal quite useful and the Quant a little less so. The quant wasn't bad but it didn't feel as thorough as MGMAT or better yet, GMAT Club forums.

If someone takes the course I recommend the following:

1) Take good notes during the lectures. Searching through was quite difficult and not an efficient use of time.
2) Only do practice verbal questions on a mobile device if you don't have pen and paper with you. I thought the mobile features were good but I realized quickly that I wasn't able to put in as much as with a PC or iPad & pen and paper.
3) When answering verbal questions go through each answer even if you are right. This will give you more bang for your time and understanding why an answer is wrong is just as valuable as understanding why one is right.

I found the ability to submit questions not that valuable and the video chats to also not be that valuable.

I would strongly encourage someone to use this as one resource along side MGMAT and/or GMAT Club. I waiting too long to start using the resources of GMAT Club (last 1-2 weeks).

Learning all the materials through the forum, especially for quant is important.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Magoosh Premium
December 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ravs1985 joined: July 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I wanted to take a minute to review the Magoosh premium material for GMAT Club. I have previously used both Veritas and Manhattan GMAT (online course for Veritas and books for Manhattan) and I believe the Magoosh videos are the best prep material I have used to date. I really enjoy being able to select very specifically the lesson that I want to review vs. having to listen to a instructor touch on various topics. It really gives me a structured way to study for the GMAT and understand the concepts. Also, the way the videos are set-up lends itself to really learning the concepts instead of memorizing formulas. I give Magoosh 5 stars!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Program
December 23 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  David Newland
Veritas Prep is a challenging, but excellent curriculum. It moves fast, so you have to keep pace. If you don't have a good foundation of quantitative or verbal skills you will struggle.

The practice questions online are great, and the computer adaptive practice exams that you receive with the course are an essential piece to improving your score.

When comparing I wondered if I should go for the live online class or just the on-demand version with pre-recorded classes. My advice is to go for the live version. The interaction with the instructor and moderator add a lot of value that you don't want to miss.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings