Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [983]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent Program...Easily the best I have seen
June 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By smduncan joined: June 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
After taking the gmat once and achieving a mid-600 score after studying various hard copy books, I decided to go in a different route. I spoke with my admissions consultant and she suggested the Economist GMAT Tutor. I am taking the test again next month so I have a month to complete the 100+ hour course and less than halfway through I can wholeheartedly tell you that it is worth every penny. I am much more confident with my verbal and quant, and am able to study on my own time via the ipad app which works perfectly for people that travel often like myself. Highly recommended, will touch base again with my results in a few weeks! Thanks Economist GMAT tutor!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Instructor (Ravi Sreerama) Leading an Excellent Course
June 21 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By chrisasmar joined: May 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After deciding that I wanted to take a GMAT prep course to help me prepare for the exam, I did plenty of research on the different GMAT prep companies, and decided to go with Veritas Prep. The overall reviews of Veritas were extremely positive, and I realized that one specific instructor, Ravi Sreerama, is regarded highly by so many Veritas Prep students that took his course. I checked to see the next online prep course that Ravi was leading, and I realized that he had an upcoming course that was to take place Saturdays and Sundays from 12:00PM – 3:00PM. I was a bit disappointed, because with working full time, this specific course was going to take up a decent chunk of time right in the middle of the two days that I don’t work, plus I was going to have class on both Mother’s Day and Father’s Day. I went back to the forums and kept reading different reviews, and the ridiculously high numbers of amazing reviews for Ravi led me “suck it up” and take the Saturday/Sunday online course with him.

Before taking the course, Veritas Prep asks its students to take a practice GMAT (GMAT Prep practice test 1), and I scored a 590. I was a bit discouraged, knowing that I had a long way to go in order to reach my goal. I did my best to stay positive, hoping that once I took the prep course, my score would improve significantly (50-70 points), and at that point, self studying would get me the additional 40-60 points to reach my goal of 700+.

The first class was on Saturday, May 10.

Ravi made his goal clear from day one: he wants everyone that takes his course to score in the 99th percentile, and he is willing to do whatever is needed to make that happen.

The Veritas Prep course requires that you complete pre-class “homework” called “Skillbuilders” before taking each class. This is great, because instead of wasting precious time teaching his students content, such as exponent rules or what makes a triangle isosceles, Ravi is able to focus on teaching us how to beat the GMAT. Ravi does an amazing job of teaching his students different test-taking strategies and how to think like the testmaker. I began to notice that even when I had no idea how to start a problem, using Ravi’s advice often allowed me to eliminate answer choices right off the bat, significantly increasing my chances of choosing the correct answer if there was ever an instance where I just needed to guess and move on to the next question. The GMAT is an exam in which there are extreme time pressures – the questions aren’t impossible, and a lot of people would ace the exam if it wasn’t timed; Ravi stresses this fact a lot, and his instruction does wonders with increasing speed while maintaining accuracy.

I have taken two exams since starting the Veritas Prep Course, one after class 10 of 12 and the other after the class was completed; I scored a 700 and a 740 on these! I never dreamed of 110-150 point increases without studying on my own after the class had completed. These increases are certainly attributable to the Veritas Prep course, but even more so they are attributable to Ravi Sreerama, one of the best instructors that I have ever had (including high school, 4 years of undergrad at The University of Michigan, and 2 years of medical school). With about 3 weeks left before my scheduled GMAT, I’m confident that I’ll be able to repay Ravi by helping him achieve his goal – having another one of his students score in the 99th percentile.

Take a Veritas Prep course with Ravi Sreerama. It was undoubtedly one of the best decisions that I have ever made, and I am certain that you will feel the same.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
I was ready to quit pursuing my MBA until I took Ravi Sreerama's class from Veritias Prep!
June 21 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Craigory joined: June 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
My track record with standardized tests has been mediocre throughout my life, so the only reason why I kept holding off on pursuing my MBA is because of the GMAT.

After my company generously offered to pay for my MBA, I finally made the decision this year to go back to school. But given that I last took a math class back in 2001 during my freshman year of college (and it was “business calculus”), I didn’t even know where to begin with my GMAT preparation. Like most people, I started off just buying a book from Amazon to get a feel for the test, and I tried one practice exam.

How did it go? Well, let me put it this way - my reaction after reading the first quantitative question was, “wait…what the heck is an integer?” And it didn’t get much better after that first question.

My score range according to the Kaplan prep book was from 480-510, and I was frustrated, scared, and ready to quit pursuing my MBA only because of the GMAT. But after thinking about it for a few days, I realized I would be the biggest idiot for not trying to improve my lifestyle just because of one test.

After spending countless hours doing my research (lurking on many GMAT message boards, reading testimonials, sampling a few lessons, etc), I was the most impressed with Veritas Prep. I then read the bios of all the instructors, and Ravi Sreerama stood out because of his 5 star rating. I even decided to sacrifice my weekends just to be in Ravi’s class, and it was the best decision I’ve made so far during my MBA journey. If it’s possible to give him 6 stars, I would!

Here is why you must sign up for Ravi’s class under Vertias Prep:
- He knows his material better than most. He has scored consistently in the 99th percentile on both the quant and verbal sections. He also has both a JD and MBA from top schools, but he became a full time GMAT instructor because he enjoys working with students. That speaks volumes about his true passion.
- Great communication style that is easy to follow - Ravi’s communication style is very clear and concise, and he also makes each 3 hour class enjoyable with his great sense of humor and words of wisdom. Those 3 hours fly by, and at the end of each lesson, you feel like you have a much better understanding of the topic.
- Motivation - He will push you hard and will give you tough love because he wants you to do well.
- Hands on approach - Ravi always takes the time to reach out to each of his students. Any time I was struggling or had questions, he was always very helpful. I always wondered how it was even possible for him to juggle 30 plus private chat windows while still teaching the class…

Overall, Veritas Prep is the perfect blend of a great live classroom led by one of the best instructors out there, a full volume of top notch prep books, and plenty of online resources that include about 15 computer adaptive practice tests. After each practice test, you even get a complete analysis of the test, such as areas you should focus on and how you can improve your pacing. I’ve never felt better about going into the GMAT thanks to Veritas Prep, specifically Ravi Sreerama. I highly recommend Vertitas Prep, and I encourage you to sign up for Ravi's class if that works with your schedule. You won't regret it!

BTW, from what I’ve read, each practice exam is a very good indicator of the actual GMAT, and I’m pleased to say that I’ve been consistently breaking 700. Not bad considering I couldn’t even remember the definition of an integer when I first started this process…
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
100 Points Improvement: From 630 to 730
June 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
The first GMAT I took gave me a score of 630. Decent, but not perfect. I had only three weeks to prepare with the official GMAT guide (and nothing else). I knew I could do better with a more systematic approach. I decided to prepare on the computer and went for the Economist GMAT Tutor.

Why? Well, I hate personal tutoring. I have my own pace and I don't like wasting my time with things I have already understood. I like written instructions so that I can take my time to understand them. The Economist Tutor offers me to set my own pace and has an AI that understands how well I understand the GMAT material. The better I am, the harder the questions get and the faster the GMAT Tutor rushes through the topics. I loved it!
Once I completed the GMAT Tutor, I had two weeks to solve some tricky questions from the original book and sharpen my Integrated Reasoning skills with Manhattan GMAT. (Concerning IR, the Economist GMAT Tutor is poor whereas Manhattan Interact is superb).
Still, a poor IR part does not justify taking away a star – therefore, the GMAT Tutor receives a full score. Mine was 730.

But beware: If you consider yourself as someone who needs personal assistance, then the GMAT Tutor might not be right for you. You have to cope with a computer screen that explains you everything. No doubt, the explanations and approaches are beyond perfect. There is even a glimpse of irony that will make you laugh here and then. But if you really need someone “holding your hand” and if you like 1:1 discussions, then perhaps you could sign up for a real-life course (especially when you are in the US). Of course, the GMAT Tutor also includes personal tutoring sessions, but they cannot replace an in-depth personal assistance. None of those online tutorings can.
But if you choose an internet course, choose the Economist!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Believe all the reviews, Ravi Sreerama is really a wonderful teacher!
June 20 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 16, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After doing a lot research on GMAT prep classes I decided to go with Veritas Prep as they seemed to really specialize in the test and their instructors had great reviews. I took the Full Classroom course first and found that to be very helpful and a great introduction to the test. The instructor had taught with other test prep companies and was really good at sharing all the techniques that he knew. He was also very insistent that we purchase and use the Official Guide as well as the Veritas Prep materials. After the course, I took the test and under-performed in the Quant section (which was already my weakness). As a result, I decided to retake the class and, due to class scheduling, opted for the live online class with Ravi Sreerama.

Initially, I was pretty hesitant on taking an online class as I was worried that I would not be as engaged. However, this really was not the case. First of all, Ravi was really helpful about helping me set goals for my test retake. I sent him a very detailed email about my GMAT history and MBA application as a whole and he responded thoroughly and thoughtfully, giving me study structure advice - which I really needed! During the onlne course itself, Ravi really broke the Math problems down and helped me understand the correct thought-process from start to finish. In the end, I was able to raise my GMAT score from a 630 to a 690 and I couldn't be more pleased considering that I've never been a natural "test-taker".


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Verbal Live Prep review
June 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By brunamporto joined: September 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I believe that the course is extremely helpful for any non-native students. The content is really broad and the modules are well structured, so you can break off study sessions into large or small blocks of time, making it much more flexible.
The methodical approach that is teached for each type of question is helpful in both selecting the correct answer and diminishing the time taken to answer each question.
The method of pre-thinking that can be used for critical reason and some types of reading comprehension questions really helps to solve the questions without getting confused by trap answers. The focus that they give on meaning as opposed to grammar also regarding SC questions have also helped me to identify the correct choice faster and more acuratelly.
Moreover, in the live sessions, the instructors explain thoroughly how students should tackle GMAT like question and solve all the students questions, making a very rich debate.
All in all, I recommend the Verbal live prep to anyone who is considering taking a course for the Verbal section.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Good for non natives
June 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nemoramon joined: January 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  |
Coming from Italy, my English isn't the most grammatically correct. However, this product is simple enough for a non native speaker to use. It emphasizes key words and sentence structure. Although everything may sound the same, the smallest change in punctuation can make the biggest difference. I applaud the owners for being so clear and well spoken. I even emailed Zeke a couple of times for some clarification. I've never had to wait more than a day to hear back from him. He is also accessible through Skype, which makes the whole experience very personal. Definitely try out this product if you're not very proficient in English!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
verbal score from 30 to 37 - Thank you E-GMAT
June 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sammathai joined: September 7, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Before I started joined the course , my verbal score was stuck between 30 and 31 and I dreaded the sentence correction section.On December last year, I joined the verbal live prep based on reviews .Initially i was skeptical to the extend the course would help me but after two week into my preparation with help of the course content and session I began to see the changes in approach and my accuracy in sentence correction was boosted from 50% correct to around 90%.As I continued in the course my approach to verbal section change completely it was like i was a new person.

After one and half months into the course. I started getting 36-38 in my verbal score and sentence correction was my strength.The one take away from the course I learnt is the e-gmat process for SC,RC and CR which when perfected will give a better score in the exam.Overall I would highly recommended this course to those who are getting score that is stuck .
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
E-GMAT Review: Verbal Live Prep
June 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By NothingLessThanIVY joined: April 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Hello,

I would like to thank E-gmat for providing such an excellent course. This is undoubtedly the best course available in the market for all non native speakers as well as native speakers. No other course provides you such detailed explanation.
The core focus of this course is building the concepts. The three steps approach to solve sentence correction, critical reasoning and reading comprehension passages is very scientific and mathematical.
Apart from all this, I really improved my accuracy in CR questions from 30 percent to almost 90 percent in just 35 days.
Sentence correction is taught in a manner which is very different from all other providers in the market. Lot of effort is stressed on understanding the meaning of the sentence and then eliminate the grammatical incorrect options. E-gmat sentence correction course has given me confidence of solving any sentence corrections within a time span of 45 seconds.
The reading comprehension approach is very unique. The reading approach keeps readers focused on the passage and the tricks which are taught are the best.

I am very happy with my improvement and would like to thank the entire E-gmat team for helping all the GMAT aspirants to get their dream score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT course = value for money
June 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By tarunverma83 joined: July 25, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Based on one of my friend’s suggestion I had purchased e-GMAT verbal online course. Initially I thought that I was playing gamble with the money I spent. However I was proved wrong when I actually started going through the concepts. I was amazed the way explanations are done on each topic my personal favorite is Sentence Correction section. My accuracy rate for SC was pathetic but after going through the all the SC concepts I am bit confident and started improving on same. However the game turner is the section with full solutions of OG Verbal Prep 2. I started with initial 10 questions by just playing video’s to understand how to apply the e-GMAT strategy end to end on an OG question. Later I start using the pause option to stop the video and start identifying errors from the given sentence and then continue with video to understand where I am going wrong or right this exercise has improved my accuracy rate further. Generally our human tendency is to start looking at answer choice to backup our identified errors BUT that is NOT the case with OG explanations because there are no Answer choices given hence there is no distraction and I have forced myself to identify errors. By the time I finished 110 questions I feel much more confident and I am sure, can apply e-GMAT strategy to identify the errors in a sentence.
I wish if e-GMAT can add get similar OG explanation for CR & RC section also then it would have helped to master in all the areas to crack verbal section like a cake walk….I hope they consider it in coming future.
I am also getting invite from e-GMAT team to attend their free Verbal online sessions, which are also an added advantage where I got a chance to look on how to apply a strategy in a live session. These sessions are really helpful especially the CR “Pre-Thinking”. In a nutshell e-GMAT team is really doing a wonderful job and deserves a pat on their back.
Last not the least, it’s imperative to mention that it needs lot of practice to master all the strategies but if one can do so, he or she can easily obtain 37-40 in Verbal (or may be more). I am also looking forward to target the same score and planning to appear for exam in a month’s time.
Hope you all also take benefit of these courses based on your requirement and achieve your desired scores to get admission in your dream B-School. All the very Best..!!
Tarun
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings