Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1761]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
GMAT Verbal Prep Review
May 30 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By Anonymous joined: October 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
E-gmat verbal live prep is one of the best course for non-native speakers. Have mostly used their SC course and must say their 3 step process for solving the question is really helpful. Initially it takes time to intenalize the process but after practise it becomes easy and is very efficient. Moreover I also like their OG video solutions using 3 step process which gives an opportunity to rectify mistakes made while using the process and strengthen further on the concepts. I further liked their quiz section in which questions are very close to Gmat questions and test the concepts frequently tested on Gmat. I would recommend this course to all serious aspirants. Thanks.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
This is what you need for GMAT
May 29 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By ankurie joined: November 25, 2010 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
Enrolled in for eGMAT's Live Prep course. - Midway through - Review
After taking GMAT for 3 times, I was unable to understand how to improve my verbal score, that is when through GMAT Club a came across a free session by eGMAT.
Live prep first session - SC
I learnt something that always missed - Meaning - context
second, until you complete the fundamentals never run at the time.

It has been a continuous learning since then. I will update this review towards the end of my course, however for now I can say this is the best course I have found for Non Natives. -- Kudos Rajat, Payal!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Perfect course for a perfect score!!!
May 29 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By kul8aks joined: March 2, 2012 | 1 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
Hello Everyone,

Being a non-native speaker and not so good at verbal, I always had a mentality where i considered Verbal to be very difficult. On the other hand I had this itch of acing GMAT that never calmed me and I always tried to improve my verbal score. To start with,I purchased MGMAT SC and CR books, but I eventually ended up with the same result without any significant improvement. Although, MGMAT SC book is good, I was not able to connect with the book. Then I tried to search for better book/resource/course to improve my verbal score and I must say I am lucky enough to end up with one of the best course available today: "E-GMAT Verbal Live Prep".

The course is planned in a such a way that you will always feel comfortable with the content and it always encourages you to move to next level. The way the faculty goes deep into the explanations and make you understand the basic concepts is truly remarkable. The live classes are so interactive that you will learn lot of new concepts not only from faculty but also from your peer group.

E-gmat Verbal live prep course has certainly boosted my confidence in tackling verbal part of GMAT. I would recommend this course to every non-native/native speaker out there who is thinking of 700+ score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
help for non natives english e-gmat
May 29 | 2015

       By divash joined: September 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I am an Indian with 3 years of work experience who decided to give my GMAT in August 2014. however as soon as i attempted English mocks i realized i needed help. I am a Physics graduate so apart from core accounting my maths was pretty okay but English needed major improvement. I am a banker by profession which means I spend more than 14 hours in office. weekends are also sometimes devoted to finishing off official work. thus without any scope to join a live class i decided to check out online courses. I joined the GMAT clubs official GMAT prep course. now this is the best what money can buy in terms of variety and depths of questions but I needed someone to teach me English fundamentals as well. that's when I heard of e-gmat. the course is well balanced with each of SC, RC and CR broken down into small snippets. i completed the video classes soon and started giving timed tests. from my 1st test in which my efficiency was 38% to my latest one in which my efficiency was 80% i saw my huge improvement. the eGMAT Scholaranium- is also a huge benefit as the analytic's guides you in all areas which need improvement.

For all the non natives who are struggling with English I would suggest keeping things simple. there is a lot of free material available out there but most of it is incapable to help the candidate in any meaningful way. i decided to stick to only gmat club official prep tests/mocks and e-gmat, both because they have de cluttered the path to scoring well on GMAT especially the verbal section .
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very good GMAT course
May 29 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: May 29, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
On demand courses from optimus prep were easy to use and had tons of information. The organization was easy to follow, so if I had a question about something specific there was no trouble finding the topic. This included both the quant and the verbal sections. All the information was right there for me to find and use and I could repeat it over and over until I had what I needed. I had the gold package which included 5 hours with a personal GMAT tutor who was super helpful with any questions I had. He helped diagnose my problem areas and gave me extra material for exactly those problems and always responded to my emails promptly. Although I purchased a mostly virtual package, I felt like I could get in contact with a real person anytime I needed. I improved my score by over 100 points by the time I was finished!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A Ray of HOPE in darkness: eGMAT VLP course
May 28 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: May 29, 2014 | 5 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
Hello All,

It's been 2 months since I started preparing for my 2nd attempt of GMAT. I scored 650 in my first attempt last october with V34,Q47.

The reason I could not score decent in quant was mainly due to the fear of exams I have somewhere in the back of my head.However, the reason for not scoring well in Verbal was mainly because I didn't know how to handle CR, RC or SC questions at all. In my first attempt I kept practising questions without devising any strategy or actually understanding the patterns in verbal questions. I kept making the same mistakes in the same areas in SC without any hope for improvement. It was not until my verbal score of 34 in actual GMAT when I realised I needed help in Verbal.

I read the reviews of all the courses available and the one that stood out was eGMAT's Verbal course. I sent an email to Rajat with the issues I had been facing and my expectations from the course. I got the response in couple of hours with the details of the course that would suit my requirements.

With the hope of doing well, I joined the VLP course. I have completed all the modules with couple of quizzes left in each one and I must say that I could have never solved a verbal question with such methodical approach eGMAT explains.

In SC, the difference in the usage of As and Like, the if..else framework, verb -ing and -ed modifiers were eye openers for me.

I used to be scared of bold face CR questions in my first attempt and after going through the videos in CR module I actually enjoy doing the bold face questions. My accuracy in CR has improved tremendously.

The videos in RC module have helped me understand the approach that should be taken to answer each question correctly within the time.

And above all this, eGMAT's pre-thinking approach has helped me frame an answer in my mind even before I look through the answer choices.

I gave GMAT PREP2 last week and scored 750 with Q50, V41. I hope that with the understanding I have gained from eGMAT VLP course, I will maintain this score in all future tests and of course in my actual GMAT.

I can’t wait to explore eGMAT's newly launched scholaranium 2.0.

Thanks eGMAT :):)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
a great resource !!
May 28 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: August 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
Whilst I am still preparing for my GMAT , this course is very helpful in enabling me to absorb the vast amount of material out there. Between my full-time work and family responsibilities, making the most out of the short time you have is crucial- and egmat verbal course does just that.
The sentence correction part is broken down into understandable sub components, which enables easy comprehension. The breakdown of complex sentences allows one to arrive at the answer in fairly short amount of time. While I am yet to try out the reading comprehension tutorial , the renaming components are defitley worth the subscription cost.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
imperfect
May 28 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By Ruhrob joined: May 14, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I bought the three months Economist GMAT Tutor as I wanted to learn as much as possible in the short time I had to prepare for the test: 3 weeks. I completed around 60% of the program, working only with the course and not with the official guids. After around 70-75 hours of studying (including tests), I finished with a score of 690.

What is good about the Economist course:

+ it's very flexible as you can time the sessions individually and take 5 to 60 minutes at once

+ the simulation tests gave a pretty good impression of my progress. The latest one, two days before the actual test, predicted a 680 score, which is just 10 away from my real score
+ despite all the annoying things about the course (see below), I learned alot. I like the way the content is presented and overall, the tips are pretty useful. The GMAT is all about knowing what the GMAC wants to see, this program will tell you

What I did not like about the program:

- the shortest plan for the program is 3 months. I liked the trial version, so I went for the GMAT Tutor even though I just had 3 weeks to learn and couldn't finish the course. Personally, I think it is a little cheeky to make people pay for such a long time in any case
- you cannot choose a particular lesson yourself. I found this pretty annoying in the end when I ran out of time and wanted to pick specific topics that weren't included in the course yet and where I knew I needed improvement. Consequently, I was forced to look up (google) topics elsewhere online. If you don't have the time to take the entire course, that is a real contra.
- the mobile phone app of the program is a nice idea but needs improvement. When my internet wasn't very stable (in the train etc.), the app kept switching from offline to online mode and then mixed up verbal and quant parts all the time. I preferred to learn the verbal part with the app because you don't need to take notes here, but with the mixing up that was pretty useless.

- There are only 3 simulation tests. Paying 500€ for a course, I think it is just ridiculous to limit the number of tests to three. Why would you do this?
- The email communication, including the ask-a-tutor feature, did not work well. I did not get an answer to all of my questions within 24 hours, sometimes it was near 48 hours for them to respond. To give another example: The evening before my GMAT test, after I had already completed the 3 sim tests and 60% of the course, I received the email that I had now finished more than 30% and that I could have a go for the sim tests. The program claims it is so personalized, in this case it failed.

Overall: I think it is a good choice if you have the time to finish the entire course. Still, I think it needs improvement and lastly, looking at the price, I am not really satisfied. For me, that was a real investment and if I spend so much money, I expect a perfect product. The course did not always meet my expectations.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT is the Best
May 28 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: August 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
I am a non-native English speaker and I used to find it difficult cracking verbal section from the beginning. I tried MGMAT and other sources to improve my Verbal skills but I never felt comfortable cracking the exam. I visited GMAT club one day and started reviewing the courses available online as I needed best course available in the market and it should be available online. E-GMAT came as life savior for the requirement I was looking for. I started falling in love with the SC material, the concept files, practice files & detailed explanations. This course not only helped me to over come my worry about verbal but only improved my analysis skills. I learned focusing on meaning for SC. E-GMAT course provides information on where to focus to solve questions and how to identify the conclusion when it comes to CR. This helped me to quickly analyze CR passages and pre-think the answer before analyzing the answer options.

Overall, it is a great tool and it relieved me from my worry that will I be able to overcome the verbal part in GMAT section
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very Solid GMAT course
May 28 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: May 28, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I just bought the basic package from Optimus Prep, because I felt like I didn’t need all the extras. Looking back, I think they would have helped but I’m still very satisfied with what I got for my money. I got 9 practice tests that gave me a lot of insight into my problems plus just general practice. The video classes were so good I really felt like I had a private tutor anyway, but maybe even better because if I needed something repeated I could just go back and watch it again instead of asking the tutor to repeat it. There was no pressure on me to solve problems while someone was waiting on me either. It was easy to contact someone from the company whenever I had a question, and they were always able to get a good answer for me and solve any problems I came across (my own problems, not with their videos!) So altogether, the course was really nice and definitely worth the money. I improved a lot by having the videos with me all the time, and I took the time to watch them whenever I wasn’t doing anything else.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings