Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [735]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent Course
November 16 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Given my work schedule, I knew that it would be fairly difficult to commit to a regular, in-person class schedule, so a course that enabled me to study at my own pace was essential. The Economist GMAT Tutor course's individual modules and adaptive style was exceptionally effective and helpful in reviewing the material. Because it forces you to stay actively engaged in the course, rather than passively teaching you information, this had a strong, positive impact on my retention and understanding of the material.

The course information was extremely well laid out, with numerous great practice questions and examples, and it certainly didn't hurt that there was a fair amount of humor embedded as well to keep things engaging. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Impressive approach and good material
November 16 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 6, 2013 | 19 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
The approach is impressive and it focuses on learning by doing. I mean you will learn a small section in sentence correction, for example, and then you will some questions to practice.

Thanks to the economist, I learned how to tackle reading section correctly. At least, I do not have to spend more than 3 minutes to read all a passage anymore. I usually do initial reading of a short passage in 1.5 mins and of long passage in 2 mins. You can apply initial reading method of the economist to LSAT reading too. Now although I read part of a passage, I still find out purpose and expect contend of each paragraph.

I think the CR section is very good because you will have a lot of questions to practice.

However, I find some part of sentence correct course confused since it sometimes contradicts to knowledge I have got from manhattan SC book. I am not sure which course is totally correct but in many case I find manhattan SC book explain more properly.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Perfect for self-starters
November 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I scored 750, and I felt the software fit my learning style very well. I had only a few months to prepare for the GMAT, and I wanted a course that gave me a lot of freedom to work on my own time, and that adapted to my level of learning. The Economist's course was perfect for me because it estimated my level of learning and began at that point. The practice questions it gave me were very challenging, and I felt that the practice exams were pretty well representative of the real experience.

I liked that the program tracks your progress, and estimates your score based on how you’ve been doing (this feature only becomes available after completion of 10-15% of the course). I also liked that the cost was the lowest of the online options I found.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh a big help for 3rd Time Test Taker
November 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By gej2013 joined: August 27, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I took the GMAT the first time after several months of sales, but I tried to "know" everything. Bombed it.

Second time I took it I used some strategy but focused almost solely on verbal. Did much better but still not where I wanted to be.

I purchased Magoosh after reading several reviews and looking at the trade offs for cost. I have found it was great in reviewing general concepts. The biggest thing for me has been the strategy review videos. I like that I can break down my performance by several criteria. To have the specific videos that deal with questions I got wrong has helped quite a bit.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
V30 to V41 - Thank you e-GMAT
November 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By sarmisthadatta joined: February 12, 2013 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I chose e-GMAT at an early stage of preparation and I am glad I did so. The course is very comprehensive and it sticks to a single “process”. What I like about the course is that it keeps things simple and there is no need to memorize rules.

The e-GMAT process (3-step in SC, Prethinking in CR, and Reading Strategies in RC) is extremely useful under the exam conditions. It shows that the PROCESS NEVER FAILS even when we are under pressure.

The Live sessions are fantastic – they start from where the Concept Files have ended and take you to that 750+ level.

The workshops are real eye openers – they show you where you are lagging and help you to achieve your dream score.

The faculty is of top quality and always ready to help you. Whenever I had a doubt I could get it cleared by e-GMAT experts. The replies were well researched and thoroughly explained.

Overall, I owe a lot to e-GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thanks Magoosh
November 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Well, I heard about Magoosh from my friend and I tried the trial pack for a week and found it to be really good.

I went on to purchase the premium package and the videos in that were fantastic. It helped me understand a lot of topis in a better way,the critical reasoning part was fabulous.I'm planning to give the Gmat a crack by the end of december 2013 and it hope I come up with a good score. I've been doing the practice tests under the Beta feature in Magoosh and it gives us the experience of taking an actual Gmat test sans the IR and AWA.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Achieved the score I needed !
November 12 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By erinkiang88 joined: August 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  |
Like most immigrants, I came to America with the intention of achieving a better life for myself and my family. However, when I got off the plane in 2006, I did not speak a lick of English. After 4 years of high school ESL classes, and 2 years of community college, I realized that my reading skills were still not up to par with the average scores for Kellogg School of Management. It seemed as if, no matter how hard I tried, I could not understand the basis of what I was reading.

The reading pills were definitely a step in the right direction, as I began to think like Zeke. It was nice to see him dissect the passage, sentence by sentence, and word for word. Eventually I got used to this kind of mindset and saw a tremendous change in my scores. I'm hoping that this score, alongside the rest of my application will get me into Kellogg! Best of luck to you all!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
You don't need any other program.
November 12 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 29, 2013 | 2 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  190 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
Thanks to Manhattan GMAT and Ron Purewal's "Thursdays with Ron" lectures, I was able to boost my score from a 580 to a 770. 9 books that Manhattan GMAT has to offer fill you in on the basics you need to ace the GMAT. If you need to refine your study plan even further, you can get the Manhattan Advanced GMAT Quant book and easily get accustomed to the patterns prevalent in Quant section of the GMAT.

If you have to choose one course, choose Manhattan. The books are amazing, and the instructors are more than happy to help you if you have any problems during your journey to the perfect score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas Rocks!!!
November 12 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 19, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Megan Kucik
I started this journey several months ago. I reviewed all the major test preps, attended several trial courses, and based on the results of my GMAT diagnostic in the official guide (all average ranges except for DS which was below average) decided I needed to take the course with the most material and instruction time (Veritas).

I must say from beginning to end it rocked! The instructor was very knowledgeable and willing to work problems multiple ways. From day one, a strong emphasis was placed on strategy and not just mastering concepts. For a person like me that's been out of school for over 8 years, I found it to be the best approach. I was initially scoring in the mid 500s prior to Veritas, but can honestly say I feel confident to hit at least in the mid 600s today (as that was the result of my last practice exam). My last course was last week, so I'm spending the next two weeks reviewing, taking practice tests and completing all the questions in the OG at least twice! Veritas has boasted my confidence, and turned this GMAT experience FUN!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thank you note to e-gmat
November 12 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By SRG13 joined: January 16, 2013 | 17 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
An excellent course, especially for non-natives, and a guaranteed score improvement is what e-gmat is. After my fiasco in my first attempt , I registered for e-gmat. Immediately after going through few of their course materials I knew I was at the right place.

About the course structure :

1) Structured and well defined.
2) Importance to meaning and logic.
3) No shortcuts.

Of the 3 verbal courses SC was awesome. E-gmat's stress on meaning really does the trick and will really help you nail SCs. Payal's meaning session is one of the best sessions I have attended. Though the approach would take time, once mastered ,will really help you solve Sc qts at a much faster rate and accuracy.

Regarding CR , Rajat will help you get at ease with the concepts and solving questions. Pre-thinking is an excellent technique to solve CR and helped me get through my exam fairly quickly.

Rc sessions by Shraddha are wonderful. They helped me improve my accuracy , most of all understand and get involved with the passages. I was even able to solve a 5-6 para passage that I got in my exam, thanks to Shraddha.

And of course , Krishna's and Chiranjeev's sessions were good too.

I owe my 140 point improvement to egmat and would recommend it to any non-native,especially the re-takers, who aspire 700+.

Thank you guys for an excellent course and please continue the same.

Thanks,
Sandeep


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings