Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [952]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Egmat online learning is the best for Verbal
May 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By deepikapurple joined: November 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I signed up for the Verbal Live Prep program from eGmat and was immediately bowled over by the fantastic videos which cover every topic which is tested on the GMAT for Verbal.
I started with a VA score of 29 a month ago and have now reached 36, and this increase in score I completely attribute to Egmat videos and live sessions. I have not referred to any books but completely rely only on egmat for Verbal.
I have a low attention span and have suffered a lot due to this throughout my school and college studies. Egmat is awesome for people like me who get bored with studying from a traditional text book. Add to this that, now I am a working professional who has to put in close to 14-15 hours in a stressful IT job everyday, the very thought of books and getting back to grammer fundamentals is enough to make me miserable.
I am devoting an hour everyday after work in reviewing the Egmat lessons and I like the fact that this single prep course takes care of all my Verbal needs of RC, SC and CR along with IR too.
The video lessons are available on every concept and I like that it gives me a diagnostic test and then works on the concept with examples and then finally gives me a test at the end of the lesson, which actually tells me how much I have actually understood and can apply to a question. I work on questions from OG 13 after completing a concept and I am thrilled to say that SC , CR and RC is finally starting to make sense.
Thank you eGMAT for launching the Verbal course for natives like me who had earlier relied on just whether a sentence sounded correct to answer SC questions.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Verbal for Non Natives
May 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By adityagupta27 joined: September 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
As the Tag line says Verbal for Non-Natives

I was a below avg student in English, I always used to wonder what is this argument, reasoning, etc. After I got enrolled for e-Gmat Verbal Online course all my basic were cleared and was able to understand difficult text in easier way. It not only helped me improve my Gmat score but also improved my overall English.

As per sections

The critical reasoning was very good.
The sentence correction tutorials were exceptional.
The reading comprehension was also very good.

I would recommend this course for all as it helped me improve my verbal in every aspect.

Thanks e-Gmat Team!
Cheers
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very useful practice CATs
May 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By shubhamp joined: May 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GMAT Advantage On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I found the 9 practice CATs you get as part of this course very useful. Helped me get better at timing, and also improved my confidence.
You also get to take one of the CATs at a Pearson testing center. I found this quite useful as well - helped me alleviate test-day jitters.
I did find that the verbal section of the Kaplan tests harder than what I actually saw on the GMAT.
When I started the course, I took my first practice test and scored a 640. Towards the end, I was scoring around 700. On the actual GMAT, I scored 760.
As long as you're able to self-study effectively, the on-demand course is quite good.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Completed only 60% of course
May 06 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By medeslan joined: May 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  |
The online course, along with the material, is quite demanding. However, each segment significantly improved my comprehension of the GMAT. I particularly walked in the second time around confident I could do the verbal portion, whereas the first time, before I took the course, I was dazed and confused. Most study books don't break down all the hidden gems and traps to look for. They leave you to assess your own mess, but Veritas helped to cut down the time in figuring out what I didn't know. I only completed 60% of the course and it still helped me achieve the score I needed, which was above 500. Had I completed everything, I'm confident I would have scored above 600.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent product
May 04 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I did the 7-day trial and I used just two out of the seven days. At the beginning the way the course was showed seemed very odd, but as I spent one more hour on it I immediately made the purchase. Now I know that I did the best choice. The course is very intuitive and easy to keep you on track. You don't feel lost, because you just have to follow the course. They made a very good mix between practice and lessons. As a non-native speaker I feel that I am improving a lot, specially on Sentence Correction.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
650 (Q48,V32) to 730 (Q49,V41)
May 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nanz236 joined: February 7, 2013 | 14 | 12 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Hey guys. I took my GMAT again last week and scored a 730 (Q49,V41). A neat improvement compared to my dismal first attempt 650 (Q48,V32)

Unlike the 2 month or 2 week success stories, mine spanned across 1 full year. I started prep last February, and took GMAT 1 in August. I took a break for a couple of months and started preparing again from November to December.

I signed up for MGMAT class for my first attempt and signed up for e-GMAT for my second. E-GMAT was a crucial factor that helped me to V41. The beautiful SC course and its meaning based approach, helped me master SC and cut down overall time taken to answer the questions. I went through the SC course quite a few times before the process became ingrained.

Critical reasoning (pre-thinking) also helped a lot although I did not attend more than two session (too many distractions in the class), but their online course is nice.

some pointers:
e-GMAT works for non-natives. I was quite doubtful seeing so many good reviews, but now that I have experienced it I would say go for it if verbal is pulling you down.

Some feedback for the e-GMAT team : I found the online sessions were long and way too many distractions in-terms of questions that were asked. With limited prep time for folks, you might want to focus on content delivery as a separate class and a followup tutorial to address questions. That said, the online prep material is perfect and effective.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Optimus Prep On Demand Course for GMAT!
May 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
Although I am used to numbers at work, I was not in touch with high school math for over 7 years. At first I was hesitant that the absence of a live instructor would make the learning process more difficult, especially on topics such as inequalities, probability, DS etc. On top of that, I did not quite connect with the verbal section when I looked up official GMAT study guide. Having used other prep companies and materials, I still was missing the point.

By brushing the basics, I was able to push the scores from 500s to 600s with ease. The trouble started when the scores started hovering around 650. Just below the general thinking hid the dreaded specifics which I was somehow not able to fathom. The scores would not budge no matter how hard I tried and how many hours I worked. One fine day, after weeks of unrewarded labor I had an epiphany. I remembered Einstein’s quote which states that the definition of insanity was repeating an action and expecting different results. Was the pressure of a 700+ driving me insane? I was probably following the wrong strategy.

My search for a mentor/course tailored to my needs led me to Optimus Prep on demand course. This course made what was turning out to be a nightmare a manageable task. Optimus Prep On Demand includes a range of different learning materials to help the student through the course content via his/her preferred learning style and teaches the student how to think like the GMAT test makers. The clarity of thinking the teacher showcases is very impressive given the lack of opportunity to innovate in such a saturated market.

The course content is excellent. It is divided among Quantitative, Verbal, Analytical and Integrated as expected on real test. Each section is sub divided into major components and is complemented with skill builder sections, reviews and section quizzes. Further, the quality of the videos, and the presenters' humor, creates a fun environment from which one walks away with a thorough and deep-rooted understanding of both the content and challenges of the GMAT, and the tools to tackle even the hardest GMAT questions. It really opened my eyes to the strategy that is required to do well on this test instead of just studying and memorizing formulae and techniques.

Optimus on demand gave me just about everything I wanted from a course. I got all the recorded videos and skill building exercises to watch whenever I wanted to. It fit in much better to my hectic schedule versus having to be available for a scheduled class time, and in a way was much better than a live classroom course, though the commitment and ownership required from the student is much more than compared to that of a live course.
I would absolutely recommend Optimus Prep on demand to anyone looking to prepare for the GMAT. The instruction is very clear and deliberate and you are exposed to every concept that appears on the GMAT. The strategies are sound and the information provided is extremely helpful for the real test.

Thank you Optimus Prep for helping me cross the dreaded 700 barrier. Now I can move on to the next part (essays) with a lot of confidence.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Pill First Impressions
April 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rushco22 joined: April 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
I purchased the program 5 days ago, but I am finding it extremely helpful so far. I have only gone through the sentence correction pill at this point, and I purchased all of them, but I feel much more confident in my SC skills now. I went through MGMAT, and even though I have yet to take the actual test, I feel like GMAT Pill is a far better product for actually improving scores. I felt like MGMAT was almost too concerned with teaching concepts, while GMAT Pill teaches you how to actually do the questions, which I am finding much more applicable and useful. I'm definitely glad I bought this program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Taking up prep course does make a huge difference
April 30 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By AmiGMAT joined: October 8, 2013 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took up Veritas course under the instructor, Ravi Sreerama in February 2014. Before taking up the course I was skeptical about online preparation courses. But Ravi changed my views. He is a phenomenal teacher. He knows how to make the student learn with fun. He makes his class very interactive and develops a sense of healthy competition among the students.
Moreover, Veritas provides with a full set of course material and a huge number of practice problems on each topic. Additionally, you get 15+ CAT practice tests which are exact simulation of actual GMAT. Also it gives you 2 hours of homework help daily when you can clear your doubts from the instructors.
Most importantly, this course gives equal stress on both quants and verbal. They guide us for IR and AWA too.
Another good experience with Veritas was its customer service. They are always ready to help you whenever you need them and even they call you themselves to know about your feedback.
When i prepared on my own my GMAT score was 590(Q=49,V=23. After taking up the Veritas course my score increased to 650(Q=46,V=34). My quants score dropped due to my over-confidence, otherwise my score would have been still better.
Overall my experience with Veritas was very satisfactory and I would definitely recommend this course to everyone who want to shine on GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT SC course
April 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By aditir joined: September 2, 2013 | 1 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took my GMAT exam in September 2013 & was not happy with my score. I’m fairly good at Quant, but to score well in verbal, I needed a good Sentence Correction (SC) score. My friends from my GMAT Preparatory Coaching Institute recommended the SC course of e-gmat.
I am a non-native speaker of English & certain nuances of the language have always escaped me for some reason under the pressure of time constraints. I read the Manhattan GMAT Sentence Correction book, and found it very useful, but it could not match the Audio-Visual (AV) approach of e-gmat.
In my view, e-gmat is an excellent course, mainly due to the AV approach of teaching, which is akin to a classroom environment. Sections in any AV module or lesson could be stopped and played again numerous times at any moment for fortifying the conceptual understanding of the topic. Also, examples when played out in an AV format tend to get embedded with the concept better, as compared with classroom study or self-study. Moreover, all topics are summarised in brief PDF’s for quick reviews before exam day.
I recommend anyone having problems in understanding SC concepts to first do e-gmat. For more advanced topics, the Manhattan GMAT sentence correction book can be referred, as one would have already acquired a solid foundation to tackle the advanced topics.​
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings