Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [984]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
e-GMAT course = value for money
June 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By tarunverma83 joined: July 25, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Based on one of my friend’s suggestion I had purchased e-GMAT verbal online course. Initially I thought that I was playing gamble with the money I spent. However I was proved wrong when I actually started going through the concepts. I was amazed the way explanations are done on each topic my personal favorite is Sentence Correction section. My accuracy rate for SC was pathetic but after going through the all the SC concepts I am bit confident and started improving on same. However the game turner is the section with full solutions of OG Verbal Prep 2. I started with initial 10 questions by just playing video’s to understand how to apply the e-GMAT strategy end to end on an OG question. Later I start using the pause option to stop the video and start identifying errors from the given sentence and then continue with video to understand where I am going wrong or right this exercise has improved my accuracy rate further. Generally our human tendency is to start looking at answer choice to backup our identified errors BUT that is NOT the case with OG explanations because there are no Answer choices given hence there is no distraction and I have forced myself to identify errors. By the time I finished 110 questions I feel much more confident and I am sure, can apply e-GMAT strategy to identify the errors in a sentence.
I wish if e-GMAT can add get similar OG explanation for CR & RC section also then it would have helped to master in all the areas to crack verbal section like a cake walk….I hope they consider it in coming future.
I am also getting invite from e-GMAT team to attend their free Verbal online sessions, which are also an added advantage where I got a chance to look on how to apply a strategy in a live session. These sessions are really helpful especially the CR “Pre-Thinking”. In a nutshell e-GMAT team is really doing a wonderful job and deserves a pat on their back.
Last not the least, it’s imperative to mention that it needs lot of practice to master all the strategies but if one can do so, he or she can easily obtain 37-40 in Verbal (or may be more). I am also looking forward to target the same score and planning to appear for exam in a month’s time.
Hope you all also take benefit of these courses based on your requirement and achieve your desired scores to get admission in your dream B-School. All the very Best..!!
Tarun
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT VLP
June 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By kishore1440 joined: October 27, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
i have given my GMAT in NOV 2013 without any preparation as i felt that my CAT 2013 scores may not guarantee an IIM call and the ended up with 610 score (Q50,V22). The GMAT result really frustrated me and then i came to know about e-GMAT VLP through one of my friends. I registered on e-gmat.com and gone through some trial concepts and diagnostic tests and gave me a feeling that i could have attempted the GMAT with proper preparation and i also gone through some of recordings about strategy sessions, which strengthened my belief.Finally, i decided to subscribe to e-gmat course and took VLP in the december 2013.During the period NOV&DEC 2013 i completed MGMAT SC and CR bible, which throw some light on how to approach to sc and cr questions.

I decided strongly to have a good gmat score that can land me into one of my dream B-schools and started the preparation without failing the approach mentioned in the VLP study plan. i started with SC and took me some 20 days (2hrs/day) to complete the course. one thing i missed previously while solving the SC questions was "intended meaning" of the given sentence and i am amazed to see improvement in accuracy as i started following the E-Gmat Process.Initially it took me more time to solve the SC questions with process and solving time comes down to normal levels around 1:30 min when the process becomes intutive. Particularly dealing with modifiers becomes a cake-walk after the concept and application files of e-gmat (Hats-off E-Gmat).

coming to CR, the unique approach suggested by e-gmat is pre-thinking-really handsome.At initial stages of my preparation of CR i felt that prethinking hampers my speed but it improves accuracy a lot and one more thing this course suggest is to identify the premise&conclusion for every CR question( an eye opener for me). After the e-gmat process no jumps between question and answer choices and saves a time a lot and improves the confidence to solve next questions.

Reading comprehension is not a big deal when you mastered E-Gmat SC but the only thing is to pace oneself while comprehending the passage keeping time in mind and POE is quite important for higher lever Reading comprehension questions as i personally feel.

Now i am preparing to take mocks and then go for Final battle "THE GMAT" and will share the post GMAT experience when iam done...
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Good value for practice in an online format
June 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 15, 2010 | 3 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Hello

I have joined the Magoosh GMAT premium course quite a long time back 2010 and just wanted to drop in a note about what I liked and did not like about the course.

Pros:
Very engaging videos especially the Quant practice questions
Explanations are very lucid and easy to understand
the structure and layout of the lessons in the dashboard is very handy and helpful to track about the progress status
around 500 quant question and around 383 Verbal questions

Cons:
The verbal lessons are not at a GMAT level.
The quant lessons could have been better. I felt that we need to include the MGMAT books along with Magoosh course to learn the complete GMAT tested content


Overall I would recommend Magoosh course as the video lessons and especially the practice questions explanations are very engaging especially after a long hard day at work when reading from books is a chore.

I would like to state here that I have appeared for the official GMAT and have scored 690 ( QA:49 VA: 36). Maybe I could have done better in Verbal but sadly this is what I got :(
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth for every GMAT aspirant wishing to excel in Verbal
June 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 12, 2013 | 6 | 2 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Hi

I enrolled in e-gmat course of Verbal Live Prep on one of my friend's advice and trust me that's one of the best things that happened to me.
Like regular Indian students, I have good Quant background and even on my first attempt of Gmat Prep mock exam , i got a quant of 49. Now the only thing that was haunting me was Verbal. Its been long that I read the Sentence Correction and grammatical rules and picking any book from market was also not a good idea since GMAT has laid some special rules in some scenarios which only major Course companies like E-Gmat can tell. The course is very beautifully divided into small sections and every section is a video recording . So it gives a complete feeling of studying and taking lessons in class room.
The approach they take for every question is consistent and makes you believe that the approach can be used to solve any question. The support system for answering the questions is pretty quick too. The live sessions are one of their most interesting thing.
Currently i have gone through SC and CR sections and I am very much satisfied with course and the investment is worth it. I would definitely recommend it to anyone aiming a good Verbal score above or around 40.

Regards
Gurinder
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
focused course
June 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By msp416 joined: May 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I would recommend E-gmat to students who speak English as their second language. The course material seems to be designed from the ground up to cover all the basics that would be required to achieve a good score in GMAT.
The provided course material is very rich in content and easy to understand. The instructors are pretty knowledgeable and help you with your queries. The online assignments available on e-GMAT are a great tool to monitor your own progress. The good thing about the course is that it also allows you to use a grockit for practice. I have personally seen a lot of improvement in my sentence correction abilities by using the e-GMAT method and techniques. Before taking this course I would directly jump on to the answers after reviewing the question for a while but now I am spending much more time analyzing the question for its meaning first by breaking it down into appropriate components.
I haven’t taken the GMAT yet as I have a few sections that I need to go over, but I am sure e-GMAThas made a tremendous difference in my preparation for the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best Online GMAT Prep course
June 11 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Aaron Lin
Really happy with the course so far. Although have not been able to write GMAT yet due to work commitments, but pretty confident that I will score above 700. The best part about this course is that it is adaptive, you can learn each concept at your own pace and it won't move ahead unless you are perfect at it. It keeps giving you surprise questions on the topics that you may have mastered already. Lots of practice questions and mock tests available on the course. Won't have to study anything else. If need be, you can browse through OG 13. Goodluck!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Economist GMAT Tutor Review
June 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Aaron Lin
This course is in my opinion the best "on the go" GMAT reference and it has a very user friendly approach and understandable text. Sample questions appear to have the requisite level of difficulty and the explanations are generally clear.

Not everyything is perfect. For the quantitative section, the program appears to rely too much on plugging in / POE techniques, at the expense of explaining algebraic / equation based approaches. However, the explanations remain sound for those of us that would refer to use a more traditional mathematical approach.

Also, the verbal section seems tedious in some areas and it can be difficult to do one or two reading comprehension questions in isolation.

The Ipad program seems to work well, but the effectiveness of the program without an internet connection is a bit unpredictable. It seems like the program can store some data for offline use, but sometimes this fails. Some increased transparency on this would be helpful. Also, everyone once in a while the text of a question can be "glitchy" (word missing!); this is very annoying and I have had this happen three times. This distracts a lot from the experience. The program also purports to work on iphone but it seems like the text would be WAY too small to make this practical. Also, there is no way to increase the text size in the Ipad program, which can be tedious for a longer study session.

I would not recommend this as a standalone program but this program is fantastic for a fresh look at the key skills and techniques required for a respectable score.

For my prep, I have been using some Manhattan GMAT books and took a live Kaplan course, but the Economist GMAT really has helped a lot in bringing everything together.

Another thing I really like is that the program is recursive -- it loops back to past concepts periodically to confirm you still remember. That is great for those of us that work fulltime and therefore need to split the studying up into chunks.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Boost for Verbal
June 09 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 3, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  170 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
e-GMAT is an excellent source for Verbal. All the concepts tested on the GMAT exam are covered. The SC and CR are the best with explanations to simple as well as complex concept. This couse if done throughly will ensure that you atelast get 38 on Verbal. I really hope that the e-GMAT team also start with the QUANT section so that the students or the candidates do score well and the overall score shoots up to atleast 700. I will rcommend this course to everyone not just Non Native speakers since we cannot go wrong in the final exam. So All the Best everyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Best Verbal Resource for Non-native speakers
June 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By oasis217 joined: November 30, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I am a non-native speaker of English. I started my preparation from Manhattan Guides. While the Quant Guides were extremely helpful, the Sentence Correction and Critical Reasoning were not taking me very far. My fears were confirmed when I got a miserly 26 in my Verbal Score.

After desperately wading through different resources Aristotle Prep, CR Bible, someone recommended me the e-Gmat course. Since I am a working professional with a very hectic schedule, the option was very attractive, but I was little skeptical having always been used to Classroom and book culture. E-Gmat Course was a refreshing surprise.

The thing that differentiates e-Gmat from other courses are

1) Starts you from the very basic level, which are the most Important, and ensures proper grounding through Application Files (very useful, real GMAT questions problem solving) and a great online Study Plan.

2) Takes you to the next level only after you have mastered the earlier levels through Level Qualifying Exercises

3) Very attractive audio-visual lectures with pre and post assessment quizzes

4) Online Verbal Sessions, especially the Verbal Workshop.

While I started from 26, I am currently getting a constant 34-35 in my CATs, I thank the E-Gmat Team for making such a valuable tool. I specially recommend this to working Professionals who have little time in their hectic schedule to fast forward their Preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Start early
June 09 | 2014

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By MWE joined: June 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehi
Start going through the Skillbuilders earlier than the classes start. The classes go so fast and I was struggling to finish the Skillbuilders and homework assigned before the next classes started. Because of the speed I wasn't retaining a lot and was just trying to get through the assignments; I ended up having to push out my test and go through the entire course again on my own so I felt like my time in class was wasted. But I love the online classes, I can pause to write notes, go back and review something the teacher said - all things you cant do when the class is live. You also need a good instructor; Ethan was great at keeping high energy in the class which you need as these courses are 3 hours long!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings