Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1761]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
The best approach and content there is !
May 28 | 2015

       By vpranavanshu91 joined: September 24, 2013 | 12 | 2 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I started my preparation 2 years back.
I took up a Manya Princeton course in bangalore, I ended up with a 620. Being very dissatisfied with the Verbal teaching, I was looking everywhere to build upon on my verbal, i had got a V27.

I took up the verbal online on @e-gmat, I must say I have never come across such organized and quality material which actually convinces you that the GMAT verbal is less about the English and more about logic. This idea is also portrayed by Veritas. First and foremost the PRE-Thinking in CR is a game changer, if you get a hold of it you can crack GMAT. My approach towards the E-Gmat content was good initially, but later i slacked a bit. I was overwhelmed by the content made available to me, and since I did not sign up for the Live Prep, I kinda lacked the execution skills for all the content given to me on the live prep. To this day I regret not having attended the live session. Realizing this I went onto sign up for the Live Prep to help me build my basics and practice, but sadly I was unable to attend even a single session due to some personal issues.
I want to mainly shed light on my 2nd attempt even after I took the course my score dint improve, and trust me I DO NOT attribute my failure to anybody but myself. I realized no matter how much knowledge I have, If I cant execute it well, there isnt much use, so instead of blaming coaching companies after failures I kept my faith and re invested in E-GMAT, I noticed, my failure areas are mainly due to lack of focus, stamina and concentration. If I had practiced my verbal skills a little longer I would've cracked the GMAT, but I hurried and screwed it up. This time I am going to use E-GMAT again, because they were kind enough give me an extension due to me not using my account for over 3 months, after subscribing. I have always had the winning formula with me since the begging I only failed to execute it. I look forward to some support in cracking the GMAT from Payal/Rajat and others this time. hopefully I post a great debrief soon with a V41 ! Thanks @e-gmat !
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Verbal improvement after e-gmat course
May 27 | 2015

       By gmacher joined: November 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
Six months back when I was looking for ways to improve my verbal score, I had exhausted all my resources and having spent quite a lot of money on the exam and related preparation, I was pretty down on cash and resources. But I was determined to take another shot @ the exam.
After reading a lot of reviews I chose the verbal online course.

After taking the course,I can say that I am more confident in selecting/rejecting answer choices .

The rules and ways to attempt the question have been very helpful.

Pros of this course:
1. Very detailed and slow paced online videos to understand each concept with Summaries at the end.
2. Follow up quizzes to test our understanding.
3. Articles and discussion on how to tackle tough questions by applying the same process taught in the course.
4. Scholaranium - a huge collection of questions to prepare and analyze your mistakes.

As this course is quite exhaustive, a certain level of dedicated time is required everyday to finish the course and make the max use of it.

I am a non native English speaker, so this level of detailed explanation certainly helped me improve.
Use of Logical structure and prethinking concept for CR, breaking down paragraphs and summarizing technique for RC, and understanding the meaning strategy for SC were very helpful.

Finally if a detailed process and explanations are required, this course definitely provides them.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Verbal online the best course for non native english speakers
May 27 | 2015

       By candelaria joined: August 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
The verbal online has been an excellent and useful platform to prepare the verbal part of my Gmat. This course helps me to understand the main concepts of the verbal part (mainly SC) and to improve my overall knowledge of the verbal part. The videos and multimedia material have been fundamental for my Gmat learning and practice. I have tried many other GMAT courses in the past year and I feel that the only one that really helped me improve, mainly in SC, was the E-gmat Verbal online. I think it is perfect for non native speakers because it explains very clear and detailed all the rules that are usually hard for non native.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I recommend e-GMAT.
May 27 | 2015

       By TSamu joined: May 7, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I recommend e-GMAT course help me a lot with my study. The course is extremely effective and has many materials that can help you improve your knowledge about the test. I started using the e-GMAT in Nov14 and I had many materials to improve my studying. I research many others schools but I find e-GMAT with very good cost and with many materials. Additionally, the course give you access to Gmat Club Test and 800score that have the practice test and shows you where your weakness to you are study where you really need more attention. So I believe is a very good choice for a course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Chris Kane @ Veritas, great class!!
May 27 | 2015

       By lizcronin1 joined: May 27, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Chris Kane
I took the Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online and I am truly beyond satisfied with the course, teacher and service! With the online course you would think it's not interactive, but it was such an interactive course and required a lot of participation. Chris made the class so much fun and really honed in on key strategies and tips to make sure everyone in the class would have a successful GMAT experience. He was patient, always willing to answer our questions and made sure we were all keeping up with the classes. The online course allowed me to be flexible with my location since my work schedule would definitely not accommodate for an in-class course. This was a great great class!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT On Demand Platinum Package
May 27 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: May 27, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I bought the Platinum package from Optimus Prep because I wanted the extra hours given with the private tutor. I didn’t have access to a tutor in person near where I lived, and I’ve tried online tutoring before for other tests so I was open to the idea.

I wanted the tutor because I was skeptical of the idea of the on demand by itself. But I was surprised at how well the videos were done and how helpful they were all alone. They explained the different questions types for the quantitative and verbal sections and were broken down into a course that was easy to follow and always there for review.

I’m glad I got the tutor anyway, as he was able to help me with specific questions. I’m sure for some people the on demand videos are enough, but I benefit a lot personally from the one on one time with a tutor. It didn’t matter that the meetings were remote. My tutor shared all the documents and information that we needed, and we had a real-time chat window a lot like skype but with a “whiteboard” we could both see and write on. It was a great experience and helped me improve so much.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Importance of process!!!
May 26 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By Anonymous joined: May 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
Being a re-taker it was really difficult to re-start my preparation as earlier, I was very low in confidence while solving the verbal questions. So, I decided to join the verbal live course of e-gmat after attending one of the free webinars.
Honestly, all the sections of verbal were my weakness but SC being the weakest. Starting my preparation with SC I learned the 3-step process of solving the SC questions. So slowly but steadily my confidence boosted and I fearlessly started attacking even complex sentences. To understand the meaning first, then look for the errors and finally POE was really important to solve the SC questions. Key was to rigorously sticking to the PROCESS.
Then for CR, the process of pre-thinking really improved my accuracy in solving the CR especially assumption and evaluate type questions. It is really important to take out 15-20 secs for pre-thinking after understanding the argument before jumping to POE. Pre-thinking is very much important and essential to solve the CR questions. 15-20 secs saved around 45-60 secs of my time.
While solving the RC passages I learned the importance of active reading and paragraph wise understanding. This really boosted my confidence to solve the inference and main idea type questions.
Finally, the question bank of Scholaranium was like the icing on the cake. Over 600 numbers of different GMAT like questions along with different level were really important to know my accuracy and ability level. In Scholaranium, I could create my own verbal test to check my level and to know how much more time I should give to what section. I would really recommend all the GMAT takers to go for this particular course.!! All the best.. 
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best Verbal course available Online
May 25 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By rohanpatel joined: May 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
The e-gmat is the most interesting,lucid and precise way to approach the Verbal section of the Gmat .It not only helps you understand the basic of the questions asked in the test,but also helps you strategies the approach to them as well.The concepts in the critical reasoning specially the pre-thinking has been a great help to me . I have also been greatly influenced by the reading comprehension strategies and the approach in the module.The questions involved in the modules of SC,RC and CR are a must to practice and it also builds ones stamina and confidence. A must have for any GMAT aspirant.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Could be a decent product, just probably not for me
May 25 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By kchung3 joined: October 16, 2012 | 15 | 9 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  |
GMAT Pill was the first course that I purchased for my GMAT study, because of reviews that its method is unique and targets busy professionals who don’t have a whole lot of time to study.
I purchased the 6-Pill combo, who contains everything from verbal to quant to IR.

I began with the Sentence Correction Pill. Lesson videos are divided into 10 core frameworks, which do not correspond exactly to the grammar rules categorization as seen in other review materials. Therefore, while these lessons did give me an idea of what to expect on the GMAT SC, I had trouble having a clear picture of all the grammar rules and concepts that were being tested. In addition, the depth of the discussion on specific grammar rules does not go as deep as in other materials.

For CR, GMAT Pill introduced a unique thinking framework. But with different categories and types of thinking framework, conclusions, and question-types, the problem-solving process does get a bit for me at times. As a result, the problem-solving process wasn’t easily applicable and a lot of effort has to be spent on memorizing the types of framework, conclusion, question types, etc

For RC, I couldn’t comment too much on it, as I believe for this particular section everyone’s reading strategy will be different. A thing to note is that there are a couple videos where we can follow the reading and thinking process of the instructor in answering the questions, and I believe these videos were pretty helpful.

For quant, similar problem persists. I believe the discussion on each topic is not categorized in a way that is easy to follow. The depth of the discussion also left a lot to be desired.

Overall, I do not think GMATPill is a bad product. It is just not for someone like me who need a more thorough discussion on each topic. For someone with solid fundamental on verbal and quant, and usually performs well on standardized tests, I believe GMATPill could be of a good value.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
QLP - High Quality Live Sessions & Practice for GMAT Quant
May 25 | 2015

       By srch joined: December 25, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Japinder Kaur
Quant Live Prep, the much awaited and requested Quant tool for GMAT prep, from the makers of VLP & Verbal Online, has certainly helped me increase my Quant score from 41 (in the mocks) to 47 on the actual GMAT. despite the fact that i couldnt complete the entire module before my scheduled exam date.

Being a biology graduate, my affair with Quant was very limited and mostly scary, what all little Quant i could study was in Hindi medium and that too only till 10th standard, (almost 20 yrs back). Hence, preparing for GMAT Quant proved to be an uphill task for me and my mock scores kept oscillating between Q36 and Q41.

The QLP - Live sessions and concept + application files provided me with deeper insights on solving the GMAT like Quant questions with greater efficiency and ease, especially the number properties I&II and Algebra sessions, and Most of all Ms Japinder has been a fantastic host and a great proctor, who's always made complex stuff simpler to understand and apply.

Gonna re-enroll into the program and looking forward to hit Q50 this time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings