Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1539]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Retake – 640 (IR 5.5, Q49, V27) to 700 (IR 8, Q48, V38)
February 22 | 2015

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By SaiKrishna787 joined: February 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
Though I did not get a very good score unlike many people on this forum, I want to share my experience so that it might help future GMAT aspirants.

For my 1st attempt: 640 (Q49, V27)
Worked very hard almost 2 hr per day on weekdays and 4 hr per day on weekends with below material used for preparation.
For Quant:- Problems on GMAT CLUB and Manhattan GMAT.
For Verbal:- Reviewed Manhattan GMAT SC course and Powerscore CR bible ( only the first few chapters till assumption and not the complete book). Did lot of problems on GMAT Club and OG.

My Mock test scores on Manhattan.
Test 1: – 560,Test 2:- 690 , Test 3:-720 ( In Test 2 & 3, I got 6-8 questions that I already did on GMAT Club)
Due to personal issues I took a 3 -4 month break.

After my break, I started doing problems on GMAT Club forum and OG13. Put a deadline of 1 month and started taking mocks.
Again my Mock test scores on Manhattan.
Test 4:- 660, Test 5:- 700 ( In Test 4 & 5, I got 6-8 questions that I already did on GMAT Club)
MOck Scores on GMAT Prep ( Both GP1 & GP2, In verbal, I got 6-8 questions that I already did on GMAT Club)
GP1:- 720, GP2:- 710

So I wasn’t sure what my real mock score was. Anyways, took the test and I got 640. I felt very dejected after all the hard work I put in). My wife gave me some encouragement to get this right the next time as many people flutter on the test for the first time. So, I started preparing for GMAT second time.

2nd attempt:- 700 (Q48, V38)
I knew I was weak in Verbal and I am OK in quant. So I took E-GMAT course. This course is really helpful because it will helpful you focus on Verbal and will help spend considerable amount of time on verbal.

My Mock scores:-
Manhattan GMAT 6:- 670, Manhattan GMAT 1A:- 710
GMAT PREP 3:- 760 (Q50, V41), GMAT PREP 4:- 720 (Q50, V38)

Final exam score:- 700 (Q48, V38). Though I am little disappointed with my quant score, I am overall happy that I can at-least try to apply to BSchools)

My preparation:-

1) DIDNT DO ANY GMAT PREP PROBLEMS ON ANY FORUMS. You will not be able to evaluate your weaknesses properly.
2) Did OG. However, the key in SC is that you need to know why the wrong answers are wrong. In my first attempt, I tried to get SC answers correct but never bothered to read and understand incorrect answers. This is a big NO.

E-GMAT SC course is very helpful for people like me who nearly spend 12 + hours at work either commuting or working. In the first attempt, I missed few key concepts that this course taught me.So I was able to identify why the incorrect answers are incorrect.
My recommendation on SC:-
E-GMAT SC course ( Must for non-native speakers)


CR:-
Powerscore CR bible & "Pre-think" concept in E-GMAT CR course. Also, I will give little credit to myself for identifying patterns and what will work for me. My biggest weak point is strengthener. So if I am confused about two options, I try to negate both and see which one weakens more. This strategy worked for 70% percent of strengthen questions that I was confused about.
My recommendation on CR:-
E-GMAT CR Concepts
Powerscore CR



Quant:-
GMAT Club problems, very good practice. Avoided all GMAT PREP and Manhattan problems. You just need GMAT Club problems to get a hang on Quant and Manhattan Quant is very hard compared to real GMAT exam but its always a good practice.

What I did wrong on the test
1) Over cautious in first 15 questions on Quant. I did so because because I completed my first quant test way in advance and so I wanted to be very careful the second attempt to improve my quant score from 49 to 50. This backfired this time as I didnt have time to solve almost last 10-12 questions. Felt very horrible during the break.

What I did right on the test
1) Recomposed myself to get verbal right. Applied what I practiced. My score is consistent with my mock scores.

Recommendations:-
1) E-GMAT SC course for people who want to study in their free time and for non-native speakers
2) Analyzed why I got wrong answers wrong on Verbal for SC, CR & RC.
3) Dont change your plan of action during the exam. I did this on Quant and I am disappointed. I always got 50 on Quant but final exam I got 48 because I changed my plan of action in the exam. I took awful lot of time for the first 15 questions to get everything right.
4) I didnt sleep before my first exam. So I took a less than 50% of benadryl. I practiced this before mocks and saw what percentage of tablet worked for me to get sufficient sleep without side effects especially headache.

Mock Test Evaluation:-
Manhattan GMAT:- Very good quant practice. Little on the harder side. If you get 48 on Manhattan Quant, you are likely to get 50 on GMAT exam. Dont trust verbal scores on this test. I used to get all SC questions correct on Manhattan and approximately 50% incorrect on GPREP problems. CR questions are also unlike real GMAT questions. But these tests are MUST because, they challenge your brain for a good 4 hours. Especially drain your brains with harder IR & harder Quant before you reach verbal. For very good practice.

GMAT Prep Mocks:- Real close to real GMAT exam. Cant stress this more.

I guess I completed my very confusing debrief. Hope it will help few people.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thanks e-GMAT for making Verbal so easy for me!!
February 21 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
E-GMAT Verbal online is a very good course for non-native english speakers. When I started my GMAT preparation, I tried multiple verbal courses but I was not very happy with course content and structure. Then I heard about e-GMAT and on trying it, I found it very good. The course is very well structured with very good content. Practice question are very much of GMAT standard and they focus primarily on building strong fundamentals. After trying this course for one month, I started feeling the difference in my verbal concepts. The weekend online sessions are also very informative. I would definitely recommend this course. Thanks a lot e-GMAT team for having such a good course!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT -Best for Verbal
February 21 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By anupbabu joined: August 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
e-GMAT Verbal Online has greatly helped me with a structured and useful content for my GMAT Preparation. I was reasonably strong on GMAT Quant but my Verbal always brought my scores down. I was looking for Verbal Specific Course that was very functional and useful. I found e-GMAT course to be the perfect choice. I am truly happy to have made the right choice. Non Native Speakers can truly make great progress on the Verbal Scores. This is the right product filling the right gap and addresses the need spot on.

I also like the GUI and structured approach .quizzes and level like approach that allows you to move on only after completing certain sections.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Simply the best course for Non-Natives
February 21 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I thoroughly enjoyed learning from the e-gmat verbal online course. Initially I am not clear of the concepts the SC is testing and failed to answer them correctly. The course is very well structured and the best part is the course is less expensive than any other companies has to offer and with the best quality. I think you cannot ask for anything better. When I started my preparation with few popular books in the market, I understood the concepts but struggled to apply them. I came across e-gmat couse in the Gmat club and learned that it is very effective for the non-native speakers. I brought the course and it really paid off. Thank you E-gmat.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Feeling confident thanks to Ravi Sreerama and Veritas Prep
February 20 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By hick32 joined: February 20, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After taking the live on demand course with Ravi Sreerama at Veritas Preps, I feel very confident and that I have the tools necessary to excel on the GMAT. Ravi is an out of this world instructor, who does an excellent job of explaining the concepts and strategies behind attacking each and every question type on the GMAT. I would recommend Ravi's course to anyone at all, but especially to people who want 700 and above scores. Prior to finding Veritas, I had considered going to a live on site class, but after doing a math refresher at a local university, I realized that Veritas would definitely be the way to go. The Veritas course is very flexible and the setup they use does not allow students to hold each other back by taking up the instructor's time individually.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great tool but very long
February 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 20, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
The program is great for studying for the GMAT. I used it to focus mostly on verbal and not on the quant section. Although the software was very useful, it felt as if there was too much study material and repetition wasn't necessary. I also couldn't choose the areas I would have wanted to study. For example I would have wanted the option of reviewing the math concepts and just doing a lot of questions rather than doing a concept then tons of questions. Over all, I would recommend the software for anyone that is trying to study especially someone who has a lot of time on their hands. I also really enjoyed their score tracking so you have an idea of where you would be when you take the actual exam.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Perfected and the best available online Quant Prep course
February 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By JIVTESH216 joined: August 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I registered for the e-gmat course in August'14 after completing the GMAT in Nov'11. I was not happy with my score, and decided to sign up. Prior to this, I went with the Manhattan course. I now see a difference between e-gmat and Manhattan.

I would now say Go for it without second thought! and its Something that is more in depth and user friendly.Earlier I was quite apprehensive of the whole online tutoring format but surprisingly I found e-gmat to be very user friendly and structured. It is neatly sub-divided into groups with topic wise heads ranging in difficulty and have very good quizzes to test your concepts. Quant portion illustrates what excatly Gmat asks for with laying all the stress on the core topics.

I suggest that anyone looking for Online course in Quant , Go for E-GMAT and start preparing. Good Luck.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great value for my money
February 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By tuckschool joined: February 20, 2015 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
GMAT is not an easy test, after all it’s your chance to enter into a top business school and hence the hard work and effort needed to prepare for the test is quite obvious. It is one of the biggest and most important competitive exams across the globe and calls for a continuous and undisturbed dedication for one to cross the 700 mark. One key to achieve a high score is to practice constantly until you haven’t solved all sorts of problems across various difficulty levels. You might just have started to think that you are all set to take the final shot and then your simulation test score again hovers around 680. There is a lot that takes to rank in the world’s top 10% scorers and your dedication and strong will power to never stop and keep preparing is what makes the difference.

Watching videos, taking simulation tests, reading books and GMAT debriefs are significantly important however that is not where the game ends in fact it is just the start. I did all of this and took the test after a seeing a series of 680 to 720 in my simulation test scores. My GMAT test score was no better than my practice test score as I scored 670 on the test. After perusing various GMAT forums I realised that I missed by not strategizing my GMAT prep and that there was a lot more that could have been done. I could have practiced a lot more different problems, learnt various test tricks, could have watched more videos, customised my diagnostic tests etc.
I got to do this and a lot more during my second GMAT attempt while practicing from Optimus GMAT prep.

I enrolled in $299 GMAT on Demand Course and got an entire kit of GMAT prep with endless features. It included a set of 5500 questions with a detailed explanation covering all three sections of GMAT. It included another set of 30 video lessons explaining all concepts and that was extremely helpful as I got to see problems from a different perspective which instilled great amount of confidence in me. One of my favourite features was that I got an opportunity to create and do as many customised GMAT quizzes as I wanted and that gave me tremendous learning ground. I could access my course not only on my desktop but also at any place and at all times on my smart phone and tablet which always kept me geared up at all times.

As time passed and my strike rate evolved I could see that my scores had improved and I was not only getting to know my opportunity areas but was also working on removing them. I just followed the On Demand course syllabus and did not need to refer to any additional book apart from the study material provided by them. My performance on the simulation tests had improved phenomenally and I scored 720 on the GMAT. I suggest all of you who have been away from books for long to take advantage of the expertise of Optimus Prep and achieve your GMAT score target.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Ravi the GMAT Master
February 19 | 2015

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By alexau joined: November 12, 2014 | 85 | 48 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  |
Ravi knows the GMAT like the back of his hand. If you are serious about doing well this is the guy that will push you to do better while building up your confidence. Great facilitator of class discussion (even with an online class) and a superb instructor who truly enjoys what he does.

Ravi was always willing to help out via the private chat and Veritas has truly mastered a system that will help you get the score you want, if you put in the effort. If you do the required work and give yourself ample time to study, you will succeed in conquering the GMAT exam.

Can't say enough great things about this class and strongly recommend it to all who want to be among the top performers.

Will update my review after I get my official score but I feel much more confident in my ability to think like the testmaker and score 700+


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Its all up to you
February 19 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ladysilee3 joined: February 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  David Newland
This course is a lot of work! Not only do you have class but you also have pre class work and homework. All three take at least 3 hours each so prepare yourself to be busy. It is all extremely helpful. Nothing was a waste of time. I was nervous to do on online class but the instructor David Newland made everything much more enjoyable. At times you feel like you really are in the classroom with him. He is serious but will make you laugh and really tries to make sure you understand what he goes over. I would highly recommend him. Veritas will help your score as long as you do the work.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings