Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [922]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
98%ile GMAT Verbal with GMATPILL!
April 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By PKGMATPill joined: April 5, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
Another success story for GMAT Pill. I have aspirations of attending HBS, and as an undergraduate I am applying to the HBS 2+2 Program. I work at a large financial institution in NYC, go to a pretty reputable school, and so I figured I would have a decent shot.

In January, I took the test and only got about halfway through the Quant section before I decided I would cancel my score. The test was a total failure. I decided to try a prep program. When comparing programs, the testimonials for GMAT Pill really won me over and so I decided to give it a shot.

I decided to purchase GMAT Pill and see if I had a chance at getting a decent score. After only a little over a month of preparation, sticking to your 30 day program outline, I was able to get more confident with the different question types. The article that stresses Verbal improvement was what really guided my process. Turns out this held true for test day, as I scored in the 98th percentile for Verbal! My total score came to 730! From cancelled scores to above the averages of even the most competitive programs, I couldn't be happier. Please find score report attached.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Real-time feedback; move at your own pace
April 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I find sitting through multi-hour live sessions very unproductive. I either want the information faster or really want to stop and focus on something. Economist GMAT tutor allows you to go as fast as you'd like. It also offers real-time feedback with each question you answer. Gone are the days of having to flip to the back of the book.

Because everything is done online, it's also easy to track progress. There is a score forecaster as well. Overall this function seems slightly inaccurate (always seems to give a 90 - 100 point range) but it is motivating to see your progression toward your target.

Still, it is not a perfect platform. I wish that it spiraled a bit more. I feel like I haven't seen a geometry question in a few weeks and wonder if I remember them. I haven't made a ton of use of the ask-a-tutor function, but they seem a bit condescending at times.

Overall, I would highly recommend this for the self-motivated crowd.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Flexible and Effective – Veritas Prep
April 05 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I found the Veritas Prep Live Online Course to be user friendly, effective, and accommodating for students with demanding work schedules. The online content (homework problems, solutions, practice exams, etc) is superior to others that I’ve seen, and the online classroom interface was very effective for remote learning. The real difference maker was the instructor, Ravi Sreerama. He takes a personal interest in his students and their desired scores on the GMAT. Despite not being a one-on-one tutoring class, Ravi will make an effort to interact with you during the live classes in private chats, and send follow-up emails if you have specific questions. If you’re shooting for a 720 or better, Ravi is the instructor you need.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Verbal Live Prep by e-GMAT
April 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Being a non native, scoring well on Verbal has been a problem area but e-GMAT's Verbal Live Prep has been the best resource in helping get past it. I like the way the instructors break down a Verbal question, be it SC. CR or RC, the same way as logically as a Quant question. The sessions are very interactive and the tests are built in a way that helps one to take a second and third chance to realize the mistake rather than get to the answer right away. Payal's sessions are the most interesting because she really makes students think hard to get to the right choice and teaches an elimination method that can very well be applied to any context of the question. I would highly recommend it to any non native having trouble scoring well in the Verbal section of the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
620 to 710
April 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By natashk joined: April 4, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
I decided to take the GMAT in late October 2013 with the aim of taking it on January 31st. I signed up for Kaplan On Demand given my upcoming work schedule and the holidays I took my first diagnostic the first week of November and got a 480. I was shocked and honestly pretty discouraged. But after talking to friends and they all assured me they were in a similar boat when they first started. The first go around I just watched the lessons did the practice questions, rinsed and repeated. I think I completed every module and supplementary module possible. After a few weeks of studying I took my first practice test and improved to a 580, pretty encouraged I kept on the same path. Next practice test got a 600. Then studied more, did more practice tests and was consistently getting in the 640 range. In talking to my friends they had all mentioned they were in a similar situation and ended up faring much better on the actual test. So by test day...Feb 6th, I went in and took the test. It was like an out of body experience, I could feel myself losing concentration and it was not a good experience - which was definitely reflected in my score....620. The first thing I did when I got one was sign up to take it again....March 10th. From the actual exam, I knew exactly what I had to do. I took the weekend off (plus a few more days), did a little research and stumbled upon GMAT pill. I was weary of spending an additional $400 on course materials, but I figured it's worth a try....Kaplan seemed to be lacking some things I needed and GMAT pill had a money back gaurantee, so I signed up. I knew I didn't need to study that much more, so over the next 3 weeks of so I really focused on areas I need to improve on (Quant - number properties, algebra; Verbal - sentence correction and reading comprehension). I did the required studying, took some practice tests - honestly my scores didn't change much from before. On test, I knew what to expect....went through the first 2 sections feeling good, got to quant it didn't go terribly, finally seemed to breeze through verbal. When I got my score, I was in SHOCK.....wow....it really did pay off. I think my biggest piece of advice is believe in yourself, it's a test that can be mastered by anyone with practicing in the right way. If I was being honest, I wouldve been okay with anything over 650...I didn't think 700 was achievable, but it is...just find the course that works for you.

GMAT Pill was great, I wanted the SC pill probably 5 times and throughout the test I could hear Zeke's voice talking through the mechanics. It really worked for me and I think it's a straightforward approach to mastering the GMAT. I honestly never dreamt of breaking 700, but I think GMAT pill was exactly what I needed to get there.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Online private tutoring! Very good.
April 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By JeffersonTB joined: April 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
Hi,

I took an online private tutoring package of Optimus Prep and would like to discuss my thoughts here. First of all, I found them on gmatclub and didn’t know them. I compared their offers with other test prep companies and decided to give it a shot.

I took 34 hours of online private tutoring because I wanted to crack 700. It is a lot of money though it is by far cheaper than what others charge. I got an email with instructions and how to continue to get access to the video recordings. They were really comprehensive and I printed out more than 100 pages of course material. I started to watch the lessons at home and found them great. They gave me on overview over all important topic areas you have to know to master the GMAT. The practice questions were really great to train the learned concepts. During the private tutoring lessons I discussed my questions with the tutor and it was really great that I watched the lessons in advance because we were able to spend the time much better. I knew the concepts already and he could help me to fine tune my knowledge. The GMAT practice tests were also good because they gave me the feeling of the real GMAT.

Overall I am very satisfied with online private tutoring and I hope that on test day it pays off.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Optimus Prep`s Recorded On Demand Course Review.Fabulous Product.
April 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
A friend told me that Optimus Prep’s video online course is great stuff and I should give it a try for my GMAT preparation. I took the GMAT once a few months ago and failed (only 550 pointsL ). You can’t imagine how disappointed I was and when my friend said that they have a score improvement or money back guarantee I recognized that I had nothing to lose…

I bought it and started to watch the lessons the very same day. Each day I watched one to two lessons and did all the required assignments. It was really great to see how quickly I became better and better. I just followed the schedule and found it to be logical and well structured. My practice test results were always around 670-710 and I decided to take 12 hours of online private tutoring. This was obviously a good decision since my tutor helped me to get rid of my main weakness (reading comprehension). At least I scored better than before in this area…

Finally I scored a 690 in the test center and I am very happy since I improved by 140 points! I am sure that I can score even better when I will study a bit more!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great verbal prep course for non-natives
April 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By apurv04012014 joined: June 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
e-GMAT courses provide a structured approach for gmat preparation. The study plan provides a great outline on how to split time between grasping concepts vs practicing concepts on problems. For those trying to prepare without a live classroom program from any other test prep company, the study plan will prove to be an invaluable guide. The plan also specifies which questions from the OG should one practice after completion of concept lessons.

I had used the MGMAT and Princeton study guides previously for my previous take but I have now come to feel that the Official Guide, GMAT Prep tests and any one of the courses from eGMAT should be sufficient for the test.

Even though the techniques (reading for the meaning on SC questions or process of pre-thinking for CR) for approaching various sections of the Verbal portion seem rather simplistic, they are instrumental in correctly answering the moderate to higher difficulty level questions. These two approaches take some time to inculcate esp. if one has not done before but eventually help hit the bullseye.

Attending any of the free sessions that eGMAT hosts is a great way to witness (or even gauge) the commitment, effort and passion that the faculty has with the students in the course.

No matter how I do on the re-take in the next few months, I would say that the e-GMAT’s course pedagogy and the faculty commitment are exceptional for a course that is delivered completely online.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
An amazing course!! Go for it without second thought!
April 02 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Abhyany joined: September 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Well I started my GMAT preparation journey by going through the Manhattan GMAT guides and the 3 OG's , though they definitely helped me improve my baseline and work on my weaknesses, I felt that to build up on my vocab score I needed something better. Something that was more in depth and user friendly. My sentence correction was especially bad and I was not getting much help from the guide books, so I tried to find an alternative online. Here I came across E-GMAT which had some very good reviews applauding it, so I thought about giving its SC course a try. Earlier I was quite apprehensive of the whole online tutoring format but surprisingly I found e-gmat to be very user friendly and structured. It was neatly sub-divided into groups topic wise ranging in difficulty and had very good quizzes to test your concepts. I found the support team to be very enthusiastic in giving quick replies and clearing all doubts in depth. Needless to say I was very happy with the investment I made to join this course and built my whole SC base on the tips and tricks provided by this SC course. I am happy to report I got a 690 score on my first try and I owe a great deal of it to E-GMAT. I also got so impressed by the SC course that I also subscribed to its IR course, and benefited immensely by it.
E-GMAT verbal is a great course, and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to boost up his verbal by a high margin.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
From a referral
April 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By arielleyuan12 joined: September 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
I selected GMAT Pill as my plan of attack for the exam based on a referral from my friend. He was taking one of their free practice tests and used me to unlock his score. After getting an invitation, I looked around the website and saw that it was very well developed. Coming from a computer science background, I can attest to the amount of time and effort invested into making the product and the platform.

I must say purchasing the pill combo provides a huge return value, especially since other companies mark up their prices by several hundred dollars more for fewer questions. I even got some money back by referring some of my friends. With a refund guarantee, there really isn't a reason why you shouldn't consider this product.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings