Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [844]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent Course
February 17 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By s4sehgal joined: February 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
Repairing for the GMAT exam, I was lost where to start until I was pointed to Veritas preparation through google search. Although I am from technical background, but was totally rusty with high school maths skills . On top of that, the verbal section made no sense to me when I looked up official GMAT study guide.

Luckily surfing internet on how to prepare for GMAT in a short time, I ended up on Veritas GMAT introduction class. From the very first sentence Brian (the course instructor) made a lot of sense behind the GMAT methodology and how to approach the test logically.

After going through the Veritas on demand course, I can recommend it to anybody who has limited time and resources to prepare for the test. The course content is excellent. It is divided between Quantitative, Verbal, Analytical and Integrated as expected on real test. Each section is sub divided into major components and is complemented with skill builder sections, reviews and section quiz. Most importantly, I really admire the way Veritas instructors explains the logic behind the questions and aid with useful tips to approach the questions strategically and in timely manner.

All in all, I am one satisfied client and am sure there are thousands other like me. One useful tip though: Make sure you practise the GMAT simulated exams before appearing in real one. I lacked this component but will do better on my next try.


Good Luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT CR and SC helped me improve from verbal 16 to 35
February 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By kingb joined: August 24, 2012 | 129 | 63 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took my GMAT last year and scored a disastrous 540. My verbal score was 16. I mostly relied on my ear to catch errors in GMAT SC and on my gut feeling to catch errors on GMAT Cr sections. After my dismal performance in my first attempt I took some time out and analyzed my performance.

First I analyzed my quant preparation. Though I am good at basics, I fail at application in an GMAT exam. So I went through the GMAT club forum and found some useful tips to improve in GMAT quant above 40.
As I am a non-native, I am week in the verbal section of GMAT. I found from many reviews of non-native members of GMAT club who breached the 700 barrier of GMAT that e-GMAT helped them on the verbal part. First I checked out their free lessons to check if they suited my style of learning. After exhausting all the free lessons I am convinced that the e-GMAT course will help me to improve in my verbal score, I signed up for their verbal online course.
I am planning to take the GMAT again in March. After going through the e-GMAT verbal online course, I am constantly scoring over 35-40 in my mocks--I have improved my verbal score from 16 to 35-40 range. This improved my confidence and made me believe that I, too, can cross the coveted 700 mark on the GMAT.
e-GMAT has great Sentence Correction tutorials. The different levels of tests helped me judge my performance from time to time. Examples varying from basics to the most advanced SC concepts helped me understand the various types of errors in sentences.
The sentence-correction course is great for non-natives. e-GMAT's 3-step approach for sc and their emphasis on importance of meaning in sc solving helped me to approach GMAT sc in a organized way which I was missing before.
I highly recommend the e-GMAT course for non-natives who are struggling on the verbal part of the GMAT.

Thank you e-GMAT!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Fantastic Experience. A must for Non-Natives
February 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By khadoosbaby joined: October 11, 2010 | 27 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I was contemplating a verbal course since the time I planned to go for GMAT, but the cost made me think twice. However, when I compared e-GMAT's price with some other courses, I had no choice but to go for e-GMAT and I was pleasantly surprised with the structure of the course. It was paced well and combined with live sessions making it the best course around.
Though I have not attempted the GMAT yet, I am now redoing the entire course and am already seeing mighty improvements. I am quite confident that I will score above V35 come March. I started with V26 3 months ago.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
ON DEMAND COURSE
February 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I can recommend the on-demand course from this company. It covers many concepts and helped me to think in a different way. By that I mean that I am sure that the GMAT tries to trap students in most questions. If you understand the way they think, you know how to answer and which mistakes to avoid. These videos are definitely great. I decided to buy an on-demand course, because I prefer to watch videos and study on my own whenever I have time and feel like learning. It helped me also a lot to make notes from every video and learn them by heart.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
A conscious approach
February 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sethiprashant joined: October 21, 2012 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Chasing 720, I first nailed the GMAT with an official score of 680. Momentarily, I thought I was good, close and just little unlucky but after thorough preparation my score fell to 650 (official score) on the next attempt with verbal part being the case.
That's when I regained my senses and opted for verbal e-GMAT online course, the course is especially for non natives who are not able to grasp the intentions of questions in a short time limit. It gave me the clear picture on how to ease my speed and accuracy in the time constrained paper. I thank the e-GMAT team for transforming my gut oriented approach to a conscious effort.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT comes to my rescue
February 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By srgunti joined: May 9, 2013 | 6 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Every GMAT test taker has a story to tell, a story that begins with an aspiration to graduate from an ivy league Business School, a story that involves chapters of toil, strategies, intense preparation and a positive attitude to retake the test to hit the target score. My story is no different and involves a six yearlong aspiration to graduate from one of the good Business schools.
I have always been comfortable with Quant and my English was “not bad” to say the least and I was confident of a 700, but little did I realize that GMAT was a different ball game all together. The first time I prepared for my GMAT in May 2013, I was scoring well in Quant – as I had expected, but I learnt that verbal in GMAT was the area that will pose hurdles in me achieving the target score.
I took 20+ mock tests and was consistently scoring in the range of 620 – 680 but not close enough to warrant a call from a good school. My Quant scores were pretty good at 47-49 but my verbal scores were very disappointing (20-29), this pulled down the overall scores drastically.
After 3 months of hard work on the test day, I knew what my score would be (based on what I had been scoring in the mock tests). I had scored 640 (Q-48, V-30) and it took me into a state of depression that I might never be able to study at my dream school. I took a month’s break and decided to put more focused efforts in improving my verbal scores. I needed to start with basics, understand the pattern and have a methodology to answer the questions and not rely on my instinct or guesses. I approached my friends who could suggest a good course or material for verbal, many options came up – Kaplan, Manhattan, Princeton and e-GMAT. Even on the blogs including GMAT club, I saw that several people recommended e-GMAT for non-natives.
In August 2013, I took a leap of faith and subscribed to the Verbal Online course by e-GMAT. The subscription was for 6 months which was good enough time for me to master the concepts. I was determined to study harder, focus on the all the concepts of verbal and try to score at least 39 in verbal. However owing to personal emergency, which required my personal attention, I could not continue my preparation until January 2014. My subscription was due to expire in February 2014 and I was in despair as I had not even started my preparation. I was making frantic efforts to finish the modules in a rush, but I wasn’t sure if I was learning anything at all.
I finally decided to write to the e-GMAT team requesting for an extension of my subscription detailing the reasons. I waited for a week, checking my mails every day to see if they had responded. One fine day, I received a mail from e-GMAT team granting me an extension for 2 months. This kind gesture of e-GMAT surely made my day and hopefully helps me improve my verbal scores. There was no way I could have afforded to pay for a renewal but now they have given me a ray of hope to pursue my aim again.
I am planning on giving the second attempt of GMAT test in early May and have started accessing the e-GMAT modules. As I progressed through the course, I realized why e-GMAT is highly recommended for non-natives of English. The entire Verbal content is categorized into sections, and each section is further divided into 2 -3 levels. As you progress through these levels, you are introduced to more and more complicated concepts. The layout of the modules is so structured that the journey through the course is seamless and easy to comprehend. I haven’t started the RC yet, but from what I have seen of SC and CR; e-GMAT has made some of the trickiest topics very simple. The application files at the end of each module take the challenge to another level and expose you to 650+ type questions. I am not a big fan of surprises, even if they are good ones; so these application files ensure that I am not taken aback in the final test.
I hope to complete the remaining modules soon and practice enough that I reach my target score of 39+ in verbal. I totally understand the agony of test takers when they are constantly working at improving their scores but never breach the 650 mark. I wish everyone good luck and highly recommend e-GMAT for non-natives like me who are unable to up their verbal scores.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Go for it..You won't be disappointed
February 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ramkum9 joined: November 6, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I wanted a good and crash course for my GMAT studies. I was searching online for a course that is worth my $$. I came to know about Magoosh and tried the videos. Awesome!! Immediately I was impressed with the quality of the videos online. I could hear and learn anytime anywhere..not only on my laptop but also on my iPhone. So I decided to take the premium package and it was at a discounted price that time. So I took it with confidence. The pace is good, and the course was easy to understand and showed a lot of quick tips. I love it.. I am cracking GMAT definitely.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A Fantastic Product
February 06 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
Veritas Prep's on demand product helped me significantly increase my score in the GMAT. The lead instructor, Brian Galvin, did a fantastic job of helping me build my skills in all areas. However, Brian Galvin's biggest contribution is the depth of knowledge he imparts on test-taking strategies. As a seasoned veteran of the GMAT, Brian helped me develop strategies that enabled me to look at every GMAT problem, no matter the level of difficulty, and swiftly attack it. Brian helps students get over the "intimidation hump" on GMAT problems. Initially, I would freeze up when I saw very tough problems. However, after taking the course, I developed an approach to getting started on problems that I really did not know how to solve. Brian taught me to dive into what I did know about a problem, and then build from there.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Muat have
February 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By bapun11 joined: March 21, 2012 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took the e-GMAT on line course. This is a great course every non native should have. I improved a lot in verbal by using this course. Their three-step process to solving sentence correction questions is very unique. it first makes you learn the meaning then grammar. My accuracy reaches up to 80% in official guide questions. The total package for verbal online is very lucrative. In CR I took time but ASSUMPTION live session is amazing to build core skills. As a whole this course is awesome.
In RC particularly, steps on how to answer inference question are very helpful. I also recommend verbal workshops.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Decent course
February 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By akpkjun joined: February 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I think this is a very decent course. It teaches concepts very well. It claims to adapt according to your learning and present you with more practice on weaker areas. Without boring you I will summarize my experience.

Pros:
1. Very good stable website. No speed issues. Very clean interface.
2. Good walk-through concepts.
3. You get a one-week free trial so that will give you good idea if course works for you.

Cons:
1. Terrible "talk to tutor" program. First of all, it takes a while to make an appointment. Appointments available in the middle of night for me (pacific time zone).
2. I don't think tutors were helpful at all. They came unprepared. It was a waste of time that I took only two classes.
3. I didn't like the fact that you do not have an option to choose the topic to practice questions. I think they have some "choose your topic" but it is very limited and didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings