Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1623]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Good value prep, but not the best around
March 31 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By alexau joined: November 12, 2014 | 85 | 49 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Overall the course was good for the amount paid. $99 is not a ton to spend on test prep and if you are looking to prep for the GMAT on a budget I would definitely recommend Magoosh.

The video explanations to every question were a nice feature that I had not seen from other test prep companies.

The Verbal questions from Magoosh can be very difficult (more difficult than the actual exam). Some of the RC passages were way too long but overall I think it prepped me a decent amount.

Quant questions were about average. Probably at the level of difficulty one could expect to see on the actual exam.

IR had a horrible format, would avoid these on Magoosh and use GMATPrep for IR stuff.

The score predictor and adaptive setting on Magoosh is way off. This is probably the area where most improvement is needed. The one practice test is just a combination of questions from their question bank and I felt that the adaptive algorithm wasn't very accurate. Score predictor gave me a predicted score well below all of my other practice exams and actual score.

Overall, good product for $99. There are better prep companies out there, but be prepared to spend way more money.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Trust the system
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By sodesa joined: February 9, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
When I first started reviewing the GMAT material (official GMAC guide), I didn't know where to begin. I did some diagnostic tests and was disheartened - rusty maths and couldn't get the verbal section right. I thought "maybe the GMAT isn't for me". I looked at the various material - manhattan, kaplan, khan academy, anything I could get my hands on - and felt daunted by the sheer amount of resources available. There's so much material you don't know where and how to begin.

I came across empowerGMAT and made a calculated decision to follow their modules and recommended sequence. Don't doubt, don't second-guess, just go through the material as per suggested. Important point - I made sure I had committed enough time to give myself a shot (80-100 hours) and went through the course, trusting the system.

As the hours racked up and I did practice CATs, I found my score steadily increasing... I think I did about 15 hours and 1 week between each CAT.

To my absolute joy, the best score I recorded was during the actual GMAT test itself. I hit my target score and am now awaiting the results from a couple of the best B-schools.

If you put in the required hours and trust the EmpowerGMAT system, I assure you that your score WILL improve dramatically - trust the system.

I highly recommend EmpowerGMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
A good course
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Dipika123 joined: January 7, 2014 | 19 | 8 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I had joined this course as I was very weak in sentence correction. After confusing myself,using multiple sources to learn the rules, I choose to devote one complete week on exclusively using e-gmat. My hardwork paid off and I choose to rely on e-gmat, along with the official guide+ GMATPrep official question bank to build on my skills. I used e-gmat primarily to learn SC rules and used the official guide to build on my CR and RC skills. A good course for IR as well. Without getting into too much jargons, the course teaches you what you need to know


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-gmat verbal review
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 6, 2014 | 3 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
e-gmat SC is no doubt one of the best online course. The concepts are in a proper order and question seem to be upto the standards. This helped me in cementing the SC concepts learnt from other popular book. The visual effects created to build up the SC concepts are awesome. Moreover, the exercises at the end of the concepts are more useful. And, it has list of all the questions from topic wise for all questions from VR2 and OG13. The supporting staff is very helpful.


CR course is also very close to real gmat.
Best thing about the course is the answer explanation.

My initial score was too bad 510.
I improved to 650.
I have GMAT lineup next month, I am confident of improved score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
E GMAT review
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By kuntal25 joined: May 23, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I am yet to write GMAT and planning to write on May but the course has helped me to improve my SC and RC preparation
The course is highly recommended for anyone who is unable to improve in SC and RC. E gmat has recently introduced scholarinium which helps to know where one stands in terms of improvement in verbal ability. I have also used escholar platform which has questions of different difficulty levels and helped me to understand my areas of weakness
I hope e gmat comes up with more innovative ideas to help non natives for more effective GMAT preparation
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A must purchase for non natives looking for a one source that solves it all!
March 27 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By aakriti7 joined: October 27, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
It is a very focussed and targeted course that deals with all gmat related rules in a structured manner. The strategies explained to deal with all types of problems whether be RC/ CR or SC make problem solving for non native speakers very easy. The practice problems are of very high quality and are very gmat like - which is not something that can be said for many other courses out there. I am experiencing a great improvement in my mock tests from my previous attempt. This product is a must purchase for anyone looking for a one source serves all verbal course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas and Ravi is all you need for GMAT prep !
March 27 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 1, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Veritas as everyone posted, is, without a doubt the best course designed for GMAT. The course is divided into 3 categories .Firstly, skill builders, takes back to your school and refreshes your basics.This is essential to start with. Secondly,homework problems, which not only covers various kinds of problems but makes your foundation strong. Thirdly, mock tests, which is another essential tool to measure your knowledge. Good number of questions to practice with a fairly good standard. Of all, I like the most is the pacing. They make every effort to adapt yourself to the time, which is the MOST critical tool one needs to learn.Overall the course is 5/5.
Ravi, was my instructor and I completely agree with everyone in this Group. He is not only knowledgeable and skillful but he has this great attitude to influence others with his passion . He pushes a lot to get to that extra mile. He teaches clever strategies that makes you think smart. He is truly a great instructor ! Highly recommend him !
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ravi Sreerama and Veritas Testprep methodology awesome
March 27 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By suryaabs joined: March 27, 2015 | 1 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Hi all,

I wanted to write this review heartfelt as I was extremely happy and thrilled with the Veritas course prep and especially with my instructor Ravi Sreerama. First of all, their course content is extremely good. You have umpteen resources available on the online account (once u register) to work with starting from basics to advanced content, techniques, think-like-testmaker strategies etc. The course structure is very well laid out and the problem sets and practice tests are extremely beneficial tools for success.
Talking about Ravi, I really loved every minute of his class. I cant say more how delighted and awakened i'm after his classes. It was an absolute eye-opener in terms of various tips, strategies and simply his way of running the class. He's extremely knowledgeable, knows every bit of the GMAT test content, concepts, strategies and more importantly his unique and fool-proof approach to any type of question. Just by following his strategies and techniques, I have started making great progress in test preparation, cutting down my careless mistakes etc.
I simply urge every aspiring candidate to consider Ravi and Veritas for your Testprep and i'm confident you will feel as thrilled and excited as I'm.

Thanks,
Aravindh
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas Online Course with best instructor Ravi
March 27 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By tqissa joined: October 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I started selfstuding for GMAT as this has always been my preferred course of study all my life but with long working hours and the GMAT style I need something to put me on track as I did not feel much progress on my own and am glad that I made the commitment to join on Veritas Online Course with Ravi Sreerama which really motivates to do your best and explains concepts in ways you never thought so joining his class got be back on track after getting frustrated/lost for a while with self study. Also I never imagined that an online class can be that interactive I think vertitas has done a great job with the interface that they setup. But the course days passes quickly so you need to make sure you have enough time to complete all the pre-lesson prep (skill builder) and post which is the quiz's or you will get overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course
March 26 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By varunsh51 joined: May 4, 2013 | 36 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
Since I am a current e-gmat student, the below are the experiences.

Have used egmat-SC course and I am impressed by their approach. They use a bricks to wall approach, concentrating on the basic SC structure.
They have plenty of SC questions also to check your accuracy. Definitely worth trying out their free section seriously and if you are impressed, you can subscribe to the full course.

Even the CR and RC courses are also very good. In CR they provide a very easy method to answer the questions and the way to approach RC passages is also very nice.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings