Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [968]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Course provided structure and strategic context for succeeding at GMAT
May 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ethan Whitehill
I took the GMAT a few years ago without a clear strategy and without much structure. I took three practice tests the week before and brute-forced my way through it. Taking the Veritas Prep online course with Ethan as the instructor was really beneficial in giving me the structure I needed to effectively prepare for the test. Ethan made each 3 hour online session fly by with his pleasant personality and fun teaching style. The curriculum was thorough and engaging, covering in detail all of the relevant topics of the GMAT without being too dry. The online course gave me the flexibility to receive high quality instruction after work in the comfort of my own home. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone looking to score well on the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Online Prep Review
May 18 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mamarsha joined: May 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I truly enjoyed this class. Although it was an online course, it never felt like it. Ravi was an excellent instructor. He broke down the test to its simplistic way so you could comprehend how/what the test takers are looking for. The course was very thorough in that they covered essentially every section of the test, including sections that my only ask about 4 questions. Ravi also reached out to individuals during the class to ensure they were following the pace, including me which I truly appreciated. Definitely recommend this class to anyone looking to take a different approach to the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
The Best Prep Class with an Amazing Instructor!
May 18 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By msimovski joined: May 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi Sreerama is the best instructor!!! He explained everything in a way that was easy to understand and gives great tips on how to efficiently approach questions on the GMAT. Ravi always ensured that the class was engaged. He is truly passionate about making sure that his students succeed. If you had a question outside of class, Ravi was always available and responded quickly.

Along with the course, there are lesson books that cover each topic on the GMAT in-depth. There are also many homework problems in each lesson book that will help you to prepare for the GMAT.

I highly recommend taking the Veritas Prep course with Ravi!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-GMAT - Guide for non native english speakers
May 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I’d like to thank Rajat for creating this course, especially tailored for non-natives. Although it has just been a couple of months since I registered for the course I have started seeing improvements already. I’m planning to take the GMAT in a month, and I have high hopes of scoring well on it. I would suggest taking both Verbal Live Prep (VPL) and Verbal Online course. Both these courses addresses all key points needed to improve GMAT score. It's Verbal made easy, I hope they come up with a complete GMAT package. E-gmat introduced me to powerful tools such as “Meaning Approach” and “Pre-thinking”. These concepts made solving SC and CR questions easy and fun activity.
I hope everyone, me included, finds success in GMAT with E-gmat.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Economist to Success
May 16 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By pcnemesis joined: April 13, 2014 | 15 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Aaron Lin
I am from one of those places in India where there is no craze for GMAT preparation and hence no scope for joining any physical GMAT course. I heard about the Economist GMAT tutor from a friend of mine, who joined INSEAD France this year. According to him this course was the reason he could jump his score from 650 to 760. Initially I was skeptical, but after I joined the course my approach has changed. Earlier I used to make 6 mistakes in 10 sentence correction questions. Today it is 1 in 20. That after just 25% completion of the course. Me, being an Indian have traditionally thought myself to be strong in Maths. But the approaches taught in the Tutor have been an eye opener. I strongly recommend this to anyone who is seriously preparing for GMAT. Go for it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-gmat : A course worth every penny you spend
May 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By libin123 joined: March 24, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
E-gmat : Verbal for Non-natives

The catchy tagline attracted me to check out the free trial offered by e-gmat. In all other Verbal courses available in the market, you are forced to re-visit your English grammar book after every concept, just to understand the meaning of terms, used to solve the SC problems. For someone, who has always felt that verbal is not his cup of tea; this was the last resort to improve.

Here, the best part is that you don’t need to re-learn your Grammar basics to do SC problems. The concepts have been explained with such utmost clarity that any novice can easily grasp it.

The USP of this course is the 3-step structured approach followed to solve SC,CR & RC problems. Since, I am an engineer, I have always preferred Maths to English, and I have longed for a logical approach to learn verbal.

In verbal questions, I used to solve SC problems just by intuition where my accuracy used to be at 50%. " One simple funda of E-gmat : Selecting a right answer is not important, but having the right reasons to select the right answer should be given utmost impotance ". Following this ideology surely improved my accuracy level tremendously.

Compared to other courses, the highlights of VLP are as follows:-
a)Attractive audio visual content
b)Clear & concise study plan
c)Good structure:- Pre-quiz, Concept explanation & Post-quiz
d)Concepts neatly segregated based on the levels of difficulty

I am a working professional, who rarely finds time to attend the live sessions held on weekends. The access to recordings of these sessions comes in very handy for learning useful problem solving strategies. In case of any doubts, you could always post your query which gets answered within 2 days ( max ).

The only thing in E-gmat, which was not upto the mark was their user interface. I often felt that it was not user-friendly - from a start screen where there used to be no “ Remember me” option to a very old fashioned navigation screen, where you had to refer FAQ’s posted in blogs to find out where the respective sections were located.

However, now the wait is over. I recently got an opportunity to try platform 2.0. I felt that all my concerns were duly addressed.
The BEST in the business just got BETTER.

This is now truly a course which I would strongly recommend to all my friends.

Thank you E-gmat team for your support so far.

Kudos to the entire team, who has managed to create its own benchmark in the GMAT test preparation industry.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
AMAZING Instructor & Great Class!
May 13 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Majohnson joined: May 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi was the absolute best part of this class. I was concerned about the class being online, and was not sure if it was going to be engaging or if I was really going to learn the topics. Ravi was very engaging! He was great at breaking down each subject and question, and he always encouraged us to ask questions in class. He let us use the microphone too!

He was also available outside of the classroom, and encouraged us to email him if we had any questions or needed individual help with our prep. He always responded promptly and challenged us to study hard.

I was very impressed with his teaching, and my Veritas Prep experience could not have been any better!! I highly recommend this course!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A fantactic program for a GMAT re-taker
May 12 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By twehner joined: February 22, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
When I started the Economist program, it was 2-3 months after I had taken my first GMAT. For that first test, I studied my way through the Manhattan book series at my own pace and did some of the OG practice problems. I felt like I didn’t achieve my full potential that time around, since my GMAC practice tests were in the 730 ballpark, but my actual test came out a 690.

I started the Economist prep trial software in January out of curiosity, at that point, not entirely intent on re-taking the test at any given time. However, I was drawn into the platform of the program, which combines adaptive teaching (to what extent, I’m not sure) with progress tracking and score prediction. The fact that the program offered a score increase guarantee of 50 points (with conditions, of course) in a certain period of time (in this case, 3 months) felt like the right kind of commitment I needed – finite time-wise with a very specific goal. After the one-week trial period, in which I appeared to have completed around 10% of the program, I decided to go all the way.

I purchased the program in February and got started with a practice exam (my program included 3 of them). I scored 710 on that exam, meaning, I could base my score improvement on that first score (assuming I met the other conditions, one of which is to complete 90% of the course) – 760 guaranteed? Awesome.

Over the next two months, I spent 5-7 hours per week going through the lessons and practice problems. At times it was annoying to have to click through topics I already knew, but the interspersion of practice problems with new topics is a great feature of the program and constantly keeps you practicing and refreshing your knowledge of previously taught topics.

I felt like the verbal section was particularly strong in the program. It teaches really solid rules for sentence correction (I think this made the biggest difference for me) and guidelines for reading comprehension that helped me save a lot of time. When feeding me verbal practice questions, it seemed to give me mostly SC problems, which I suppose mimics the composition of the real test, but it would have been nice, after I had answered 20 consecutive SC questions correctly (no exaggeration) that it would have given me some critical reasoning or reading comprehension questions. Anyhow, I breezed my way through the bulk of the verbal section in the first two months, spending 1/2 to 2/3 of the time that I spent on quant. I noticed my verbal score on the practice tests (I did official and Manhattan practice tests on the side) making marked improvements, from 38-40 to 42-44. At the end of two months, I had finished all of the lessons in the verbal section (between 70-75% completion, as the program tracks it), leaving only practice problems.

Throughout the program, I had mixed feelings about the way quant is taught. As a detail-oriented person, I was a little annoyed that they were teaching ballparking as a fundamental skill. However, this approach is actually very helpful in brushing off seemingly insurmountable problems without over-dedicating. I learned some new approaches to solving quant problems (both problem solving and data sufficiency) that I think were especially helpful. There were not any remarkable ways of re-learning the fundamental math behind the problems, but the repetitive drilling of practice questions helped a lot to get formulas memorized. While this program may not be as strong as others in teaching test-takers to correctly answer the super-difficult quant questions, I thought it did a good job overall in preparing me for the quant section as a whole, considering all the questions, strategy and timing. At the end of the first two months, I had only finished around half of the quant part of the program, despite having spent significantly more time on it.

Throughout the first two months, I used 3 of the 4 tutoring sessions included in the program. The session basically consists of a 45-minute Skype conversation with a tutor to review an area of your choice. I chose the areas that had been weak in practice tests. While we were not able to cover many questions in that time, as compared with the GMAT practice problems, I found it helpful to discuss in detail the elements of the problems and to learn new strategies for dealing with questions. I don’t consider the tutoring sessions to be a crucial part of the program, but it’s definitely a nice bonus to have.

At the start of my third and final month of the program, I took some time to assess what I needed to do to get where I wanted to go. I had a goal of 760 (within the program, anyway) and needed to complete approximately 40% of the quant and 15% of the verbal in order to meet the 90% threshold for The Economist’s score guarantee. I did notice that progress beyond a certain point (somewhere in the 60-70% range) becomes significantly more difficult to achieve. At some points, I would work diligently for an hour, only to get less than one percent progress. I think this has to do with concept mastery, which makes sense. If I hadn’t mastered the concepts, I should only be able to progress so far. Anyway, it is important to note that progress within this program is not linearly correlated with time spent. I spent 35-40 hours on practice sessions (not including practice tests, of which I took about 8 during the same time period) in the third month, and did not come close to the 90% milestone. However, my practice test results were promising – I had scored in the 740-750 range on the last two Economist tests and a 760 on one official (practice) test. I figured I’d go ahead with my early-May GMAT (my prep program ended in April) and see how it goes, with no score guarantee.

I submitted one practice AWA for review and comment (I still don’t think I’ve received any feedback on it, three weeks later). The program supposedly includes 3 AWA reviews, but I didn’t make use of it to any significant degree. I wrote a few AWAs as part of the practice tests I did leading up to the real test, so felt sufficiently prepared.

I did not come across any integrated reasoning sections as part of the GMAT practice prep. I think there is a short section at the end of the quant lessons (which I did not reach). Anyhow, I didn’t worry too much about it, as I had aced IR on my first GMAT.

So, I went in to take my test on May 3, with a reasonable level of confidence. I had meditated the night before and went for a short run a couple hours before test time. I may not have finished the prep program, but I had a solid foundation and was in the right state of mind. I managed to breeze through the essay (and even have time to review – not normal for me). I felt good about my performance on IR, and although I didn’t finish, I wanted to stay focused on the “important” parts. Quant went as smoothly as it could have. For the more conventional problems, I could quickly pull out the needed weapon (their use fresh in my memory from all the drills and practice tests), strike the problem down, and proceed to the next; for the more exotic quant beasts, I was able to gauge within a reasonable amount of time whether I was worthy of the foe or should take a cheap shot and flee (and live to see another day). I think this this ability to assess quant problems before getting knee-deep in them was what I gained most from the program. For the verbal section, it was more like the last few miles of a marathon than a series of battles. In my first GMAT, I faced mental exhaustion in the verbal section, unable to focus after spending so much energy previously. This time, not so – I managed to pace myself through to the end, finishing in the last 10 seconds. With the solid verbal practice that I gained from The Economist’s program, the challenge was just to stay calm and focused.

Half dreading and half elated about what my result could be, I took the maximum amount of time during the survey questions. The result came up, and it was a 750 (49Q 44V). Phew. I’ll take it.

While I didn’t achieve the 760 that I wasn’t guaranteed by The Economist, I am in every way satisfied with my results (minus the drop in IR score, small matter) and I found it a great way to achieve real results in a set amount of time. It is also far more flexible and cost effective than receiving tutoring from a human. That isn’t to say that personal tutoring isn’t valuable, but for the cost of the program, the amount of information and practice I got is phenomenal.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent course taught by Ravi Sreerama
May 12 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By banerje3 joined: May 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The Veritas Prep online course was a great way to learn how to tackle the GMAT, especially for me who didn't have much preparation before I started taking the class. I learned a lot of techniques and approaches that worked to raise my score from 660 into the 700s. Ravi Sreerama is a phenomenal teacher who put Veritas over the top. He makes a dedicated effort to connect with every student in his class. Each class was heavy with material but Ravi enthusiastic style of teaching kept everyone focused and involved, helping everyone achieve their best score. The coursework was rigorous and extensive, but it ensured that I didn't fall behind in my studies. Finally, all of the study resources were really helpful. The books are pretty long but easy to follow and have a lot of problems to work through. Overall, I would recommend the class to anyone who isn't familiar with the GMAT. There are plenty of other resources out there, but I don't know if I would have done as well without Veritas.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ravi Sreerama a great instructor
May 11 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By interceptor77 joined: September 23, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The Veritas GMAT Preparation Course is a precious tool for the Quantitative and Verbal Sections and above all for any portion of the test. I chose a Veritas On Line Classroom with my instructor Ravi Sreerama who has a unique way to teach, Ravi is a truly master in developing an higher order thinking, he gives you the opportunity to understand every type of problem from any angle with multiple strategies and methods to solve the questions efficiently and quickly. The lessons in class are animated, Ravi is available also to respond to each student in real time and provides you tricks and suggestions for the exam, he also mails you in private in order to know how the things are going for improving your results on the different sections! If you have conflicts schedule or you cannot join the on line classrooms for business reasons or personal matters you have also the opportunity to record the lesson and listen it during your free time. The customer service is attentive and always available, you have also the opportunity to join every day of the week the Live On Line Office Hours. I still have to continue to work hard after the course but if you want to take a Gmat on line classroom I really suggest you to take it with Ravi Sreerama.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings