Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [843]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Verbal Online-The way to go for Non-Natives
February 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Cosmas joined: April 10, 2012 | 45 | 17 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I bought the Verbal Online after having come across recommendations on GMATCLUB and I am pleased to say that even though I haven't taken the test yet, this is one of the best investments I have ever made. I paid for verbal courses before which have disappointingly become mere English lessons but with e-GMAT Verbal Online, I can structure my studies to suit my schedule. The content is excellent and I am glad that after taking the official test and scored a mere V23, I am now scoring in the high 30s. I am hoping that with one more push at RC, I will take my ability to around V40-V43. I also get access to the free live sessions conducted by Payal and Rajat. These are just awesome.

I am really glad that you guys at e-GMAT took your time to structure such a comprehensive course which I will gladly recommend to any non-native aiming for a high score on the GMAT.

I even had not used my subscription and contacted e-GMAT. The company instantly extended my subscription, showing the high customer service standards they uphold. I am really grateful to e-GMAT.

I will shortly be taking my test and am really hoping to nail the GMAT once and for all!

Thanks e-GMAT!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Simple & Versatile
January 31 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By shawnstevees joined: December 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
Within the GMAT world, GMAT Pill is quite known throughout the forums. After all, could this "super deal" be too good to be true? Although priced at roughly $400, the overall package is worth much more. This is great, especially since most college kids, myself included, are spending most of their money on ramen packs. Everything about the product is well organized and detailed. If you know you are struggling with the critical reasoning section, then you can break down the question into different question types. After all, you may only be struggling with "helps explain questions", rather than the entire section. I noticed that this was the case for me. When I was first lured into the product with a free practice test, my critical reasoning section had the lowest grade. However, I was able to answer most of the questions efficiently. The problem lied in the fact that I kept getting the "helps explain" questions wrong. With a simple platform, GMAT Pill makes it easier to pinpoint where you should assess your weaknesses.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Online GMAT Weekend Crash Course - Optimus Prep
January 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By petrapetra joined: January 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep GMAT Weekend Course | Location:   Online  |
I took the online weekend crash course and found the teachers to be very professional and patient. All topics were covered and explained. If someone had questions the teacher explained them in detail. We had many example questions which helped a lot to understand the concepts. I did besides the course several hundreds homework questions and four practice tests. Thus I was well prepared but still learned a lot of useful strategies for timing and how to exclude wrong answers. After the course all my open questions were answered by email. I am satisfied with Optimus Prep because the course was compared fairly priced and I learned a lot of useful methods.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Source for GMAT Preparation
January 28 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By absolvte joined: November 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh is simply amazing. Magoosh provides well-organized lecture videos for every concept tested in GMAT, alongside with problem sets with full video explanation for every problem. These video solutions are my favorite part of Magoosh, since I not only get a chance to test my newly learned concepts, but also learn the most efficient way to approach every problem type. Magoosh also gives you other external resources, such as 1 month, 3 month, math-heavy, verbal heavy study schedules, numerous booklets with essential information, and many more. I've picked up the Premium package, and I sincerely believe that you will get the most bang for your buck if you go with Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Perfect for busy self directed individuals
January 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By anayapc12@gmail.com joined: January 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
The Veritas Prep GMAT on Demand Course is perfect for someone with a busy or unpredictable schedule that makes it hard to attend a live class. The course comes with 12 books divided by sections that come with a skill builder section to practice concepts you should know coming into the course, a lesson section, and homework problems to put together everything you learned. Since there are multiple small books as opposed to a huge one, its easy to carry one around. The on demand videos do an excellent job at explaining the various concepts learned in each lesson and the strategies that should be used for the different question types. Since there are no fixed deadlines (you get a year's access to the online videos) it does require you be more self directed than if you were sitting in on a classroom weekly.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
VLP - A Verbal Savior
January 28 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By gmatmarathon joined: November 25, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took the GMAT on December 2, 2012, and scored 610(44Q, 30V). I realized that if I were going to retake the GMAT, I would need to boost my quant score but would have to work very hard on verbal. During my preparation before taking the GMAT, I was stuck between V28-V30 and didn't know how to improve my verbal score. I did my research online and after reviewing trial files I came to the conclusion that e-GMAT's VLP was the best course available. Contents in VLP have been classified and prepared very meticulously.

SC:
Initially, I didn't get my desired results from e-GMAT's 3-step process on SC questions but persisted for a while and I started to improve my accuracy. After level 2, my accuracy was 70% and after level 3 my accuracy is 85%. This is an amazing improvement for me - a real confidence booster. You can revisit the concepts and quizzes as many times as you want.

CR:
Before coming to e-GMAT, I didn't follow a process to attack a CR question and hence couldn't improve CR much. After e-GMAT's CR course, my accuracy has increased to 70% from 50%. I would like to mention that their Inference and Prethinking sessions are wonderful. Both the sessions help you to align your thinking on the right path for your further CR journey.
Improvement: VLP's CR live sessions are not as elaborate as SC sessions are. E.g. In CR-Inference session, instructors should answer math-based questions more thoroughly as many students don't get how to relate equations/calculations with the stimulus.

RC:
I have attended e-GMAT's RC live sessions and started attempting OG-13 RCs. I can see my accuracy is increasing after every 8-10 passages. If I get inference question incorrect in 4-5 passages, I revisit the concept and session recordings. This approach has helped me to improve my accuracy to 65% from 50%.

If one is diligent and can use e-GMAT's solutions, recordings, forums, and quizzes judiciously, he/she will definitely improve the verbal score to a desired level. I will definitely recommend VLP course to all non-natives.

I have surely gained confidence in verbal and am going to take the GMAT in a month. Wish me luck. :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Wonderful teaching
January 27 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi had great experience in teaching GMAT and knows exactly what to teach for his students. I learned a complete overview about the test.
I strongly recommend veritas prep and especially Ravi. Veritas prep material is a thorough and complete package. Online videos and solutions for complex problems in videos helped me in a great way to understand all the concepts.
Ravi is very friendly and accessible in email and offline chat. Veritas team is dedicated and always helpful when in need.
VeritasPrep provides detailed homework explanation, numerous practice tests and study materials. It gives everything to increase your chances of achieving your goal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Prep: Veritas and Ravi Sreerama
January 26 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By acochran joined: January 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
If you are seeking to succeed on the GMAT, I fully endorse the Veritas Prep Program and specifically Ravi Sreerama who was critical during the review process. Ravi personalized the instruction and tailored the classes for our group. Furthermore, he made himself available via email and over the phone for follow-up conversations. Ravi sincerely took a genuine interest in the success of his students and I believe it paid off immensely. Lastly, Ravi made the process as enjoyable as possible. He instilled humor and fun when appropriate and gave us the comfort to be confident on the exam date. Thank you.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Want to Ace the GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT makes it a lot easier.
January 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By arvindr1234 joined: November 25, 2013 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Prior to enrolling with e-GMAT, I had spent approximately $1,000 on test prep with very poor results.
Mock scores: - Before e-GMAT- V28. After e-GMAT- V36

I stumbled upon on e-GMAT through the GMATclub forums. I read the reviews, was impressed by them, yet was skeptical about signing up with them. I then signed up for a free trail and after 3hrs of learning, I decided to sign up with e-GMAT. (The free trial consists of 1/5th of their course. )

Here are the reasons why e-GMAT is the best prep company for GMAT Verbal.

1). Most cost effective

2). Limits the use of Jargon's to almost NIL.

3). Audio Visual and interactive mode of learning. Reading a SC guide of 300 pages can get really boring and retention post that, not much. With the amount of jargon's used in these guides, learning can get really frustrating.

4) The e-GMAT way to acing Verbal is more about following a structured process that with practice makes solving verbal questions much easier and in lesser time than about memorizing a bunch of rules.

5) Modules are designed in such a way that you first learn a concept and then you learn to apply those concepts. The concepts are broken into levels that are in increasing order of difficulty. After each level your given OG problems pertaining that level to solve. This ensures more practice and review, and helps one clarify doubts pertaining to that level.

6)Exceptional customer and after sale service. Every doubt and query is answered in <24hrs.

7) Verbal workshop at the end of your prep to diagnose where you currently and stand and assess your weakness and strength

8)The 3 live sessions on Meaning and Structure, Pre-thinking and the tactical strategy sessions are very useful and insightful.
A lot of gmat myth's are debunked in the sessions. Moreover, they are free. For the value add one gets from these sessions, its definitely worth the time.

9) Approximately 45 days of using e-GMAT and my verbal raw score has improved by 8 points to V36. A week more and I am sure I'll the V40+ score range.

Hope this helps people decide on choosing the right course, and hands down e-GMAT is by far ahead of competition in Verbal Prep. Moreover, compared with other test prep courses, e-GMAT is most cost effective and requires the least investment.

Cheers,
Arvind.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh GMAT Review
January 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By gyamasak joined: August 27, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh is an awesome tool to prepare for the GMAT. They have video lectures, as well as video explanations that are quite helpful in figuring out why you got a problem wrong.

Overall a great course, but here is my constructive criticism:
The only downside I found was that the daily study plans weren't too organized. They talk about doing the "next 20 problems in the OG" so you really have to keep track of what number you were on. I also think there is a bug in regards to there problems -- once you redo your incorrect problems they show up as correct and boost your overall score. A lot of little things can be improved, but the overall concept is good!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings