Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1387]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Great Prep Course
January 05 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 4, 2014 | 11 | 37 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I bought Magoosh because I felt like the study plan they provided was feasible and I enjoyed the idea of the video lessons. Even though I am an engineer and would need little review on Quant, I bought the whole package as I knew I would still need some math review.

Quant
Magoosh provides great material for the applicants in need of even serious Quant review. The lessons are short and not too hard. The questions are well designed and can get seriously difficult. The explanations are very concise and clear. Very helpful in building the gmat quant mindset.

Verbal
Magoosh provides a comprehensive review of Verbal topics but I still needed some additional courses. I will not comment of the questions given that I am a serious believer in official questions only policy for varbal.

All in all, Magoosh was a great tool for my initial push by giving me some foundation on Verbal, a study plan to follow and some hard Quant questions for the practice and mock.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Online Private Tutoring
January 05 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 5, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Brajesh
I am extremely elated to today as I write my GMAT high score story. I believed that I would need to put in extra hours, work tremendously hard and be smart in my approach of answering questions. To my surprise, I found that even after putting in painstaking efforts my scores were barely crossing the 600 mark, leave aside my dream score of 700. At the time, I enrolled in online private tutoring option at Optimus GMAT prep who guided me through and helped me beat the GMAT with a 710 score.


The first things that Optimus does is gives you a free diagnostic test and based on your performance in the diagnostic tests recommends the number of tutoring hours needed by you to appropriately prepare for the test. I enrolled in the 23 hour online private tutoring package and was glad to see that Optimus private tutoring package comes with a unique 50 points score improvement guarantee failing which they commit to return your money. All tutors at Optimus Prep have scored in the 99th percentile of the actual GMAT to provide the best possible preparation to the students. I could fix the appointments with faculties for online classes as per my schedules both on weekdays and weekends. I could see the impact of the expert guidance from my mentors on my scores which had started to increase and gradually I had started scoring in the range of 680 to 710 on the simulation tests. My final score was 710 and I owe anything above 620 to my tutors at Optimus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
760 GMAT score! Thanks Ravi and Chris!
January 04 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took the 6 week online Veritas course in Aug- Sept 2014. It was intense- in addition to the 6 hours of classes every week, I typically spent 5-6 preparing for the class and doing HW. I say this not to scare you, but to set expectations. This time was definitely well-spent as I ended up with a 99 percentile score of 760 (Q50, V44). The Veritas books, problem sets and practice tests you get with this course are solid and comprehensive. I only took the free GMATPrep tests, outside of the Veritas material.

Ravi did a great job shuffling the class order, making it easier for students to follow along. I was really impressed by how accessible Ravi and Chris were during and after class. When I bombed one of the practice tests 2 weeks before my GMAT, Ravi and Chris were both swift and effective in calming me down and helping me focus on my preparations.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great value
January 04 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By brunora joined: September 5, 2013 | 3 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Pros
- great value
- ideal for self-studying
- 800+ questions segmented by difficulty and topic make it easy to focus on your weakness.
- great statistics based on your answers, easy to identify where to focus.
- lessons covering all possible topics
- mobile app (great to watch classes in the gym or in the bus)
- questions are slightly harder than the official gmat, which is good for training

Cons
- Score prediction has a very wide range and still missed my score on both quant and verbal
- No IR or AWA questions (just lessons)
- No practice exam


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT the best Verbal Interactive course for GMAT takers (MUST for non-natives)
January 04 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Life! joined: October 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
Background

Initial GMAT score 640. Verbal was in low 30's :(
Material used:
OG 13 questions
SC by Aristotle

GMAT 2 score 680. Verbal improved by 2-3 points
At this point I did not even wanted to touch GMAT material anymore. I've got the rules but wasn't applying them correctly, I might apply one or 2 rules and then jump to an answer choice. Wasted hours of my time and effort.

e-GMAT Approach

I had attended one of e-gmat's free webinar where Meghna solved a 700 level SC question, which made complete sense as to how she got us to the correct answer.I took advantage of their coupon code and bought Verbal Live Prep. Finished one module after the other, it seemed I was getting closer and closer to a higher score in Verbal. If you are looking for 700+ score Verbal Online provides ample modules to pick up speed but if you need a little push with your study discipline go all in, get the Verbal Live Prep.

All I had to do was tune out the world and listen to how each question was solved, explaination on creating structure around SC or CR is a life saver! The live prep gives access to live sessions where you get to solve 700+ level questions with fellow GMAT takers, its a good way to gauge where you stand on which topic and take notes on the questions you could not solve. Best error log ever!

I am planning to take my GMAT in another month, using Rajat's tactical strategy for the last month prep before I hit the hot seat, wish me luck :).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Flexibility of e-GMAT
January 04 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By kumaranm joined: May 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I liked the flexibility of delivery. I was able to do the course in my pace. I attended a few strategy sessions online.
Esp for a non-native speaker the sentence correction & critical reasoning was very useful. Was not able to use all the material on my previous attempt. Will be attempting my GMAT & hoping to improve my score. 6 months of online access comes in very useful. Within 10 days, i was able to observe a change for the better, in my approach to Sentence correction questions. It goes a step beyond in detailing why each answer choice is wrong. That helps a lot in improving your performance in future questions, esp avoiding similar pitfalls.
Detailed videos help a lot for sentence correction & reading comprehension.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
EXCELLENT FOR SELF-PACED LEARNERS
January 02 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By smarterchild joined: June 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
For those of us who like to learn at our own pace, Magoosh is PERFECT. I was debating on Magoosh and signing up for a much more expensive GMAT course, but I hated that I couldn't personalize the way I spent my time in the full courses (and we all know how important time is when preparing for the GMAT's!) I was able to look at just video topics that I needed, and in my case, that was just mostly the quant section videos. I love how you can customize your practice sets and there are SO many of them too. Each practice set question has a video explaining the answer and that was really helpful too. I had the mobile app as well for watching videos on my phone, etc. Overall, and excellent cost-effective method to study for those who want a personalized curriculum!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
eGMAT quant live prep
January 02 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Engr2012 joined: March 20, 2014 | 7 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Krishna Chaitanya
eGMAT quant live prep has lived up to the expectations that were created back in August 2014. The main goal of quant live prep being to push people towards scores of 50 or 51 when they are scoring 48+ in quant. This has been evident from the mock scores that I have been able to achieve be it GMATPREP (test 1: q 50, test 2: q 51).

As a part of the one of the most represented groups taking part in the MBA admission process in USA (Indian engineers ), quant comes naturally to most of us, though not many are able to score 50 or 51. eGMAT quant live prep starts with the very basics and does not assume prior knowledge of concepts of quant. This is probably their strongest point. We all know what are prime numbers, factors , multiples etc but to apply them in an official question is a whole different ball game. I admit that I did buy the course back in August itself when it was launched but the course structure did not impress me. Quant live prep 2.0 has now shown that the eGMAT team is actively looking into making the course easy to understand. There is a study plan for the entire course and it starts with the basics of a concept covered. Questions following the concept are of very high quality and they force you to think and apply the concepts learnt. The live sessions are very helpful in reinforcing the very concepts learnt. One last impressive thing about the course is the prompt replies that you get when you post questions in the eGMAT forums.

Although the course is still in its infancy but the team has done a very good job of removing fear of GMAT quant that many people have.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Want to Score High in GMAT?? Go For MAGOOSH
January 01 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By ARCHANASUNDARJEE joined: February 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh is the the the BEST online tutor sitting very next to you.Yo can feel a tutor is nearby you to correct and explain you..Videos,Blog and Question-Answers explanation will make you grow to the next level wherever you are currently.
I always Love to read,Just becoz of Magoosh training materials..


Verbal Explanation or Math explanation gives me lot of confidence to read,examine myself.

I love to read my favorite professor's (Mike Mcgarry) blogs and explanations.. he teaches very nicely and can be easily understandable..


I improved myself a lot and am expecting to score a high marks in GMAT. Wish me for the same..

Happy Reading!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent resource!
December 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By agadodia joined: November 17, 2014 | 1 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Mark Sullivan
Manhattan GMAT has been a great help in preparing for my GMAT exam. I started way back in January 2014 and gave the exam in June. The live online course is a great way for professionals like me to prepare and secure a good score. Mark and Saxon were great in explaining the various concepts in verbal and Quants. The materials provided by MGMAT are the best resources one can have. Even though i started my main preparations after the live course ended, the materials and recordings helped me prepare to the best of my capability and secure a good satisfactory course. I would recomment this to anyone planning to take his/ her GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings