Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [838]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Disappointed but might work for some
January 20 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By jgriffin055 joined: November 17, 2013 | 2 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Overall, I could not recommend this GMAT course. The adaptive format and accessibility are nice and this is about where the positives stop for me.

After completing more than 75% of the course over 100+ hours of studying, I took the real test and was quite disappointed with my score to say the least. While I felt prepared and was scoring in the 600s on the OG tests, I do not hold this program solely accountable.

Some of my frustrations include the inability to select specific lessons, the "tutor" sessions, the score forecast, and the IR preparation. First, as many people have said before, it is not possible to select a certain problem area you are struggling with for review. There isn't even a search feature to go through the small summary tidbits the program does have. Searching for topics is annoying. I gave up and just came to the forums for supplemental info. Another program feature that I found useless was the score forecaster. After completing 75% of the program and completing all 3 simulation tests, my score forecast had a range of 90 points. 90 points on the GMAT is huge and provides no value. Third, the program never introduced me to the IR content. I feel its ridiculous that after 75% of the course this was not discussed.

One of the major disappointments for me was the one-on-on tutoring sessions. 3 of my 4 sessions were USELESS. And I mean completely useless. I spent the 50 minutes watching the tutors solve problems. After asking questions the tutors responded with minutes of "ummmmmm, uhhhhh, hmmmmmm". When an answer was given and I continued to ask questions, sometimes they were answered, other times they weren't. On a specific topic I asked a few follow questions on the tutor said, "I have explained it perfectly. I don't know why you don't understand and I can't do it any other way". Thank you for being helpful and hard working!! The last straw for me was when one of the tutors answered my question by telling me to look in the online forums for the answers. This is unacceptable and a joke. I hope that I just had bad experiences.

These are just some of my negative feelings about the course. Some people have found it helpful and the ability to use the course anywhere is a plus. However, I would recommend using a different course as I am.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good prep with a few growing pains.
January 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By lukep joined: July 9, 2012 | 11 | 27 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I signed up for The Economist GMAT Tutor because I prefer to learn by reading rather than watching videos, and it seemed more convenient to do an online prep program than have to worry about hauling MGMAT books around with me everywhere.

In general I was quite happy with the course. Explanations for concepts are well done, and I felt that I got good practice with the concepts.

A few points to consider:
The real value from the course comes, I think, from being able to ask instructors questions about individual questions or concepts. In the beginning, responses to my questions took a long time…in one case I waited over a week for a response. However, this improved and for the last several months I was getting answers within 24 hours…in some cases, the responses came in less than an hour. So, once the slow response problem was solved, I was quite happy with it.

Something that could be improved is automatically reviewing past concepts. As I worked through the course, some review questions were included, but mostly we worked on new concepts. I guess I needed to individually select the concepts I wanted to work on…but if I'm paying for a program based upon a "smart" algorithm, I feel like it should do it for me. Part of why I paid for the course was so I wouldn't have to make decisions for myself about my prep. Perhaps they could include an option to choose between a "review" session and a "learning" session.

In sum, I was quite happy with the course and would recommend it, but (like pretty much everything) it isn't perfect. I still found myself supplementing the course with work from the OGs or from MGMAT, so for me the course wasn't truly all-inclusive.

I will update this review once I've sat the exam and have my score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Hidden Stone
January 18 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By terrychanster joined: July 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
GMAT Pill is the hidden jewel of prep. It offers so much at the cost of so little. With roughly 400 dollars you get convenience, practice and results.

The product is so convenience that you can take it anywhere you want. At home with a laptop? Download the software. On the go? Download the app. I'm not sure about everyone else but I would much rather carry around my phone then my book.

The product also offers practice. There's a selection of questions to choose there, with explanations for all of them. If there isn't an explanation, you can message Zeke and he'll reply within a day.

Last but not least, you can see results. And that's what everyone is after right?
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-GMAT - best VA course for non-natives
January 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By shyamnair07 joined: January 18, 2013 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I wrote the GMAT on 16th of July and scored a 640 QA 48 V30.

I decided to focus on VA completely. After going through a lot of good reviews, I joined the e-GMAT verbal live prep course with their 4 point improvement guarantee.

The e-GMAT adopts unique strategies to approach SC,CR and RC type questions. My rating of their courses will be SC=CR>RC

The SC course is awesome. The number of questions which can be solved correctly by understanding the meaning of the sentence is inspiring. MEANING+IDENTIFY ERRORS+ELIMINATION is the forte of the SC course.

Same goes with CR. Pre-thinking is another concept which has helped me improve in CR .The course emphasizes the importance of understanding the logical structure and how the conclusion is reached upon and then prethinking before going to the answer choices. This saves a lot of time indeed.

I haven't gone through the RC course completely but it is in similar lines to RC - ie understanding of passage/authors tone/paragraph summary before going to questions.

I have been able to drastically improve my SC scores in mocks after going through the course.

SC skills are helpful in CR and RC and hence overall VA score improvement.

The live sessions are also very comprehensive and analytical.

I would like to recommend the course to anyone who is not able to improve his score in VA from 27-30 to 34-36 or even more.

I will take my GMAT in the next 1-2 months and am hoping to apply the techniques I learned in here...!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Economist GMAT
January 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By karajdahl joined: January 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
So far, I have been quite happy in my experience with the economist GMAT Prep.

Full disclosure: I just took the test for the first time after using the Economist Prep course for about a month. I was not satisfied with my score and plan to take it again after competing the full Economist Prep course.

Pros:
- The course leads the way for you and it feels like you are having an interactive session.
- You can choose the length of the lessons based on how much time you have.
-It really does feel like the course has been specifically tailored to your individual learning style.
-Breaks data sufficiency down in a way that understandable to everyone.

Cons:
-If by the time you take the test, you haven't hit on certain sections of the material, you really can't skip ahead for a brief overview of things you know are going to be on the GMAT. I understand the reason behind this, but it still a slight hindrance not to be able to get to the topics you want in time for your test.

Overall I really value this course. It works for me and my learning style. It's important to note though that if you don't have a full 3 months to devote to GMAT study, you will not get through all the course material. As I said, I'm also not happy with my score yet but I don't really hold the Economist responsible for that.

I will provide further feedback after I take the test again and complete the full course.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-GMAT
January 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
The course offer by e-GMAT is one of the best course in the market compared to other online courses. I took the verbal online course of e-GMAT. Their way of teaching is very pleasant & helped me to get a good score on the verbal section. The Online session & the technique provided by the e-GMAT team is really awesome. This course helped me solve CR questions in less than 2 minutes with 80 - 90 % accuracy. I would recommend a non native English speaker to take on this course while preparing for the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
indredible course!
January 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By lennykes joined: January 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
This course was very good.
I had passed the GMAT ages ago and needed to refresh my 'GMAT skills'. The fact than one can connect whenever and from wherever for the any length of time is very practical.
The course in clear and adaptative so it focuses and keeps coming back on your week points. For example, during a verbal section explanation, you'll be prompted with a quant question you failed earlier. This is very efficient!
The score estimation graph is also very motivating to keep you focused.
Even if I did not need the GMAT in the end, this prep course made it more fun than I had expected.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Know Nothing to Know How!!
January 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By DrBound joined: January 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
Skipping from med school to business school has not been an easy process, BUT thanks to VeritasPrep On-Demand course I'm business savvy!

Before taking the GMAT I was fearful that I would get lost in the business jargon, not with an easy to access online course.

VeritasPrep On-Demand has EVERYTHING needed to be more than ready for test day.

Instructional videos that you can pause and rewind made learning easy and personal.

A ton of practice tests and quizzes helped ease exam-day jitters.

Workbook problems and problem sets secured that the tools I was learning were internalized.

Having DETAILED, even video, explanations of how to work through problems put "the icing on the cake."
VeritasPrep On-Demand course made sure I was well prepared with steady nerves before, during and after the GMAT!

Thanks Veritas!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent Course for Non-Native Speakers
January 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
As a non-native speaker, the verbal section was my greatest challenge during my quest to destroy the GMAT. Prior to finding e-GMAT online, I tried numerous resources but found it difficult to go through all the complex grammar rules.

In e-GMAT, the approach is simple and forces you to understand all concepts in a coherent manner. The pre-assessment quiz and post assessment quiz on each topic enhances your absorption of the material and furthermore explains where you went wrong in a very straight forward way.
In summation, I highly recommend this course and that is especially true for non-native speakers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
very good videos
January 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By vikram4689 joined: June 30, 2011 | 275 | 20 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill SC | Location:   Online  |
this is a very good course. i like the way zeke has all the concept under one roof and uses simple method to make us understand. i am sure you would love his method and would use it to help in your prep for the gmat. sc is an important section and many struggle but after this you will find it better to understand concepts and exceptions (although you need to work for them on your own) this is with every course and this one is not exception. if you need exceptional score work hard and beat the odds. goodluck folks


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings