Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [735]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
GMAT Tutor
October 17 | 2013

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Kelsa031 joined: October 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I started using the GMAT Tutor about 2 months ago and have really been impressed with how much I have learned from it all being an online program. It makes sure to explain each step and then test you on that step. Whenever you choose a wrong answer it doesn't just tell you its wrong it gives a detailed explanation of why that answer choice you chose was wrong and an explanation on the topic to help you choose the next answer choice correctly. Even when you choose the correct answer choice it gives you a breakdown on both the verbal and quantitative section of how that comes to be the right answer.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The best course!!
October 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
No one can teach you all the best strategies as GMAT Tutor does, because there’s no such teacher for all subjects and strategies!! I took Veritas before and there’s no comparison…Veritas’ books still use “old-fashioned” GMAT questions…DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME & MONEY!!
GMAT Tutor dissected Math & Verbal sections and will not teach you unnecessary stuff.
Pros:
• Strategy oriented
• Learn by practicing (a lot!)
• Know your weaknesses (and the course will give you lots of questions to fix them)
• Teachers are usually great in only 1 subject, but this virtual tutor is amazing for both
• Created for those who want a really high score…plenty of hard questions
• Questions are done the same way GMAC does, and updated, which most of the materials in the market (including Official Guide) is not that much
• You don’t need to plan studies, the tutor makes everything for you 

Cons:
• There’s no additional discount as promised for this site
• You CANNOT review what you’ve done, so save screen shots with questions that it will be interesting to review later…nobody memorizes everything that is learned at once and it’s not true that you’ll see similar questions later!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Probably the best verbal course out there in the market.
October 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By alphaalpha joined: January 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I used the e-GMAT verbal online course and was able to score a 750 (Q-50, V-40, IR-8). The e-GMAT course is methodical and very scientific. It made the whole process of learning objective and therefore leave very little scope for mistakes. I had tried to learn all the rules for SC correction but that was an unnecessary overkill. The course gave me direction and I was able to channel my time efficiently. The videos are clear and concise and the quiz at the end of each videos hammers the concept into your brain.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone reading this review. The least you could do is buy the SC and IR course. A 200$ investment in this course will definitely benefit you and I am sure with this course coupled with your hard work, you will be able to achieve a high score.

And a special mention needs to be given to Rajat and his team. They always responded within 24 hours to my mails and addressed my queries in a timely manner.

The only major drawback I could find with this course is the glitches in the software.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
So far so good
October 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By kamilg joined: October 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I have completed around 40% of my course and it has been really good so far. The course is very intuitive and presents simple explanations for math and verbal problems. It also helps you with getting your timing right. What I really like about the course is that you just set the time you want to study and the course will do the rest for you. It will arrange the questions according to your level and increase the difficulty as you make progress. I highly reccomend this course to anybody. The score guarantee makes the course risk free. For me it was money well spent.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Economist gmat tutor: source of motivation
October 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 14, 2013 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I am extremely happy about the Economist GMAT Tutor.

The Verbal section is very well done. It gives you perfect tips that are useful for the reading comprehension, it corrects in a very easy and concise way the sentence correction mistakes, and it explains how to solve critical reasoning questions in the simplest way.

As for the quant section (the one I am worst at) I love that if you answer questions wrong, it presents some other questions of the same type again and again until you get them. It motivates you to keep on going! What I love is in the motivation this program indirectly provides you. With books or other stuff you have to have LOTS of motivation, especially when you see that you answer questions wrong and there is no one to explain why you answered them wrong. With GMAT Economist there is someone ALWAYS explaining to you why you answered that wrong, and telling you how to answer that right, anywhere and anytime and you don't need to wait for the weekly class in order to have your answer (in the case of those attending GMAT classes).

I really like the program overall, it somehow makes studying for the GMAT more enjoyable. It gives you a lot of tips which you may find on the web but they are sparse here and there.

The only thing I think needs improvement is the tutor assistance, it'd be great to have some sort of live chatroom to directly ask questions to a tutor without having to wait 12/48 hours.

In one month I feel as if I have made a good improvement, especially in the Verbal section! I still haven't taken a second test since the first time I tried one (right after I signed up to the program, so with no preparation yet), therefore I cannot state how much my score might improve. In any case I would definitely suggest it to anyone out there.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
excellent
October 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By siwen joined: August 8, 2012 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
This package gave me supreme knowledges to face the GMAT.

Before using this, I thought I had acquired adequate experiences to take the test. However, the result of my first GMAT test didn't go well. I tried to figure out what could be done to enhance my result. Then one day I encountered a recommendation from friend.

Economist GMAT doesn't really push you to "buy" the program at the beginning. Instead, the GMAT Tutor gave students almost 1 week to try it. And what's most important is that GMAT Tutor teaches you, not the content, but the way of thinking to tackle the GMAT questions. After 3 days of the free trial, I decided to buy the App.

Teaching you from the right concept, offering you adequate practical questions and explaining the reasons, this GMAT Tutor is the ONLY application you need.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very Good!
October 13 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Viktorijakm joined: September 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I got myself the premium package and I was surprised how very well instructed the lessons were. Of course, some lessons were too easy for me, because I still remember all those basic things, but it was very useful to remember everything from the start. As for a non-native speaker, it takes more time for me to process each question, and I still have some difficulties in Math, this part is more problematic for me. As long as I am watching these classes, I am starting to get used to the process and calculation techniques. Magoosh taught me very helpful tricks for faster calculations in math and sentence correction in verbal sections.
I will definitely recommend Magoosh to my friends.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Verbal Score improvement form V-22 to V-36. Yet to take my exam. Hope to improve further.
October 13 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Ranjan121 joined: February 13, 2011 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat,Payal,Archana
I would like to share my experience so far with the study curriculum of e-GMAT. I believe my review will be most helpful for non- natives. I am from India a B. Tech and MBA from NMIMS, Mumbai (MBA aspirants from India would know). I have around 4.5 years of post graduate work experience and generally work 60-70 hours a week. I am a FRM holder and CFA Level 3 candidate and have academically done well throughout. I am a credit analyst and frequently required to write reports and do number crunching. Thus, I was a bit overconfident and never thought taming GMAT would be difficult. GMAT humbled me, showed me I was wrong.
1st Attempt (January 7, 2013) (570, Q47, V22): Disaster - I was applying for Autumn 2013 intake for two specific courses, however, as the average work experience of the class was around 7 years I was asked to apply after a minimum of 5 years work experience plus for Autumn 2014 intake. Though I knew this was not my final attempt, since I had already registered for the exam I tried to give it a shot. The resource material used was Manhattan entire strategy guides, and OG. Quant PS was quite easy for FDP, Geometry, word problems and algebra. DS was a bit tricky for number properties.
Sentence correction: Too different from how we are taught English in our schools. We can frame our own sentences which we know are correct and carry with flow. However, when subjected to sentences with different structure finding the correct answer was tricky. I read the Manhattan SC book twice and tried to memorize all the idioms. Though I understood the rules, their application was far far away. Whenever subjected to a complex sentence I would read the entire sentence and was unable to find anything wrong with it. I would read the answer choices, look for splits, madly try to look for parallelism and many other mistakes. Accuracy suffered and timing was poor.
Critical Reasoning: I was okay with the CR from the beginning. The guides helped identifying the types of problems etc. Timing was decent except the only few where I was stuck between 2 choices and had to re-read the question and the choices.
Reading Comprehension: Tough! Solving the problems in time was impossible. I took around 15 mins to solve 4 questions. The guide said make notes, read the 1st para/sentence twice. I followed everything but, still, accuracy was poor and time consumed was highest.
Interactive reasoning: The guide had just a glimpse of what the problems will be like. Not too many problems to solve. I did not know even just before taking the exam that for each individual question you have to answer the sub questions correctly or else you will not be awarded a point for that question.
Exam experience: I did not touch quants or solve any problems for at least 1 to 1.5 months before the exam. I only wanted to focus on verbal and my timing. The argument essay was okay. IR managing time was tricky. Quants though wasted time on few DS questions but still solved all the questions with 3 mins to spare. Took my break. Verbal I had heard the first 10-15 questions are very important, they will decide your overall score. I spent the initial 45- 50 mins with the first 20 questions and from there the disaster was waiting to happen. I submitted the answers to the last few questions even without seeing them.
I was shattered, even with this low level preparation I had expected a score of 640 plus so that I could improve to a 700 plus score in my final attempt. Then at the end of FY13 I started looking for study options. I had long working hours, so classroom programs were not for me. While exploring across GMAT Club I came across the e-GMAT program. I attended one of the free session on SC and strategy and I liked the course at once. I registered for the Verbal live prep program.
Here is the difference that e-GMAT brought to my study program.
Sentence Correction: It is a remarkably well-designed course. I moved finding splits and what sounded correct to finding the errors and looking for meaning. My problem-solving approach has changed in all aspects, now breaking the sentences into clauses and the subsequently looking for errors such as subject verb disagreement, verb, pronouns, structure, modifiers and idioms errors. The structure was set and timing has improved with practice. The applications files and online classes were eye openers, how the concepts were applied to each and every question. I realized at times the split was irrelevant and the sentence had other errors that made it incorrect. While in my prior approach, I used to select the answer choices based on the split. The concept files are amazing and helped in my daily work as well.
Critical Reasoning: The course has been great in improving my accuracy. It gave me tools which can be applied with precision. The new concepts were ABC test for finding the conclusion in case of confusion. I learned a better application of negation test, variance analysis which helped me in assumptions and evaluate type questions. And pre-thinking has become a part of solving the problem. Though I just have one pre- thought answer to question before seeing the options, the process made choosing the final answer easier.
Reading Comprehension: I have tried to internalize the RC passages using the RC strategies. Humanities passages don’t haunt me anymore. Still I need to improve on my timing and accuracy.
Interactive Reasoning: I haven’t seen so much material on IR on any forum. All type of probable questions from graphs, 2 part quants, table, verbal, MSR etc. Though the question on standalone basis are not tough but been familiar with the structure has its own rewards.
Presently, I am almost a month out from taking the GMAT exam, still I believe that e-GMAT course has already made a big difference in my performance in my verbal scores. On my Manhattan mock tests I am able to complete the verbal and IR portion on time. Accuracy has improved and my raw score is hovering around 34- 35. I am trying to improve the same in the range of 37- 40 in my final month.
Wish me luck for my GMAT exam next month. The best part of the course is that it teaches you a new way to look at the problems and helps you to internalize the process and apply it across all questions. I hope my review will be helpful to non natives.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
I am impressed!
October 12 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Abobrov joined: October 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
The economist GMAT prep site is an automated learning portal. Most of the interaction is done via an automated system that produces adapted study materials throughout the sessions. I feel that the generated study material helps me identify and improve my weaknesses. In addition, the explanations are well illustrated and it is easy to navigate to recent progressions. The tutors and / or web site personal are quick to give feedback and support. All in all, I am very satisfied from the teaching method and would recommend it to anyone preparing for the GMAT. Please notice, I haven't taken the GMAT exam yet. Still in stage of preparation!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
eGMAT review
October 11 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By sidinsin joined: March 2, 2013 | 3 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I enrolled for the e-GMAT verbal online and live sessions. Prior to joining e-GMAT, I was using MG and honestly the whole concept of prepositional phrases, SV agreement, LDR for pronouns, SV, modifiers among others was all Greek to me, and my approach was to “use my ears to look for a choice that sounded good," skim through the choices, look for similarities, and guess the answer. There was no strategy.
The e-GMAT course taught me a systematic approach for SC and that GMAT is not so much a test of grammar but that of meaning. The finite rule set approach is what made the course very beneficial. I improved my score from 27 to 37 and am now aiming for 40+ for my GMAT, which I will take in a month. But as, “Rome wasn’t built in day," neither is your GMAT score, e-GMAT will provide you with the tool kit, but in the end it’s all about practice.

All the best
Cheers
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings