Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1761]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent online interactive classes with RAVI
August 21 | 2015

       By ubajgain joined: August 21, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
We all can get any amount of material to study from so many sources available. No matter what the quality of the material is, what truly matters is the instructor's ability to improve your skills. At Veritas Prep I got exactly that from RAVI SREERAMA. His ability to keep me motivated in a brutally 3 hours long class was outstanding. Even though there were 25 to 30 students in an online class, Ravi gave so much of personal attention and kept me motivated. The class is very tempting to participate and this makes the class very interactive.

Also, the online student account is well structured with videos both for skillbuilding and lesson videos, problems and even analysis of practice test results.

I was banging my head on the wall for my poor GMAT performance but now my GMAT scores are improving and most importantly given the present trend, with practice, i firmly believe that i can make it to the 99% percentiler.

Choose Ravi and open the doors to the business school of your choice!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
thanks for the service
August 21 | 2015

       By donCarlo joined: August 21, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I needed my score up by 60 points. And after trying twice and failing at the GMAT I was completely ready to give up. I tried books and exercises and online forums and I was already pretty much out of material to study. When looking for more material and resources I found Optimus Prep. I was worried about buying a product online from and company I couldn’t go talk to in person at the beginning. But after the very first time we got into contact, I felt much better. On the website there is a chat menu, which I used first to talk to someone. After I decided to buy the on demand course I kept in contact with the office people and the tutors as well (I bought the package that came with 5 hours of private GMAT tutor classes online). The tutor was always available and spent several hours extra looking at my tests and AWA essays, that didn’t count for the actual 5 hours of tutoring time. It was really helpful and in the end I improved by 80 points.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
720 (Q48/V40) 94 percentile from Spain
August 21 | 2015

       By Carlosdlantigua joined: August 21, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I am pursuing my major in Economics in Madrid (Spain). As a non-native speaker I was afraid that this could hurt my score specially in the verbal section. I started preparing the GMAT right after springbreak (April 1st). In my first mock exam before buying the e-gmat course I got 600 so I had to work hard because my target schools are Columbia, Booth , HBS and Stanford. On average I spent 7 hours a day working on the gmat. I took my second mock after 3 weeks and got 660. I kept working and one week before the test I got 680 in the (Q49/V34). I spent the last week going through the verbal section of the e-gmat online course and then I went to LA to take the exam.
Quantitative part was ok, the same as in the mock exam. Then I started the verbal section and the questions seemed too easy. I thought that I was doing it wrong because if you have the question right then they become harder, but they seem easy. I left the exam devastated without any hope and then I received the grade: a 720! i could not beleive it. I got 40 in the verbal section (91 percentile) what was completely unexpected and I am sure it was because of that last week I spent working on the e-gmat course.
Now I am working on the essays and I will apply in the first round.
Good luck to everyone
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
From a V 36 to V 44- Thank You e-GMAT !!!!
August 21 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Anuj5589 joined: October 23, 2014 | 4 | 20 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
As a non native, verbal was obviously my weak point while studying for the GMAT. For my first attempt at GMAT, I studied largely from the OG and Manhattan Guides. I ended up on a 710 (Q50, V 36). While giving the GMAT I could make out that I was not confident about my answers in the SC section. I knew I needed to improve on the SC to take my score to a 740+.

While searching for an online prep program, I found that E-GMAT had excellent reviews on almost all the forums including the GMAT club. One of the best reviews that I had heard about the e-GMAT course was that the e-GMAT SC is the best and helps you to achieve 100 % accuracy, but in a longer span of time. Since I had already identified that my area of weakness was SC, I purchased the SC course of e-GMAT and I have to say it never disappointed me.

The following were the highlights of the course :

1.The ease and simplicity with which the modules are explained are very comfortable for non native speakers.
2. The various articles regarding the use of as vs like, due to vs because of, verb-ed modifier vs verb-ing modifier were brilliant and believe me these help in saving a lot of time in GMAT. Knowing the difference in usage of these terms can help you eliminate 2-3 options at once.
3. Its just about the confidence that the e-GMAT SC gives you. You start knowing exactly why the answer is right and why the other options are wrong.

It was the result of this confidence that I ended up with a 770 score (Q51, V44) on my second attempt at GMAT.

A big thanks to the e-GMAT team !!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Target Verbal Achieved - V40!!!
August 20 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By padhy02 joined: January 14, 2013 | 4 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
Hello Folks,

I am writing this review specifically to provide a review on the e-GMAT Verbal Online course and other Verbal pointers from my side.

Background:

Like most non-native speakers, I sucked at GMAT Verbal (still do a little bit, I guess). The first Verbal score I got was in late twenties, which was unacceptable since I had a target score range of 730-750. I figured that I need to score at least 37 on Verbal. I started off with OG and tried to figure out my weaknesses. Definitely SC was the weakest followed by RC and CR in that order.

I figured that I have to get hold of some concrete material to overcome these hurdles. After a lot of deliberation and a few demo classes with many service providers, I chose e-GMAT (I also got a set of GMATclub sets which were AWESOME!!!). The primary reason was an impressive live session I attended which was taken by Payal.
I had 2 months left but I didn't give my 100% to the course. The video lectures were quite amazing but I didn't go through all of them. I scored an occasional 37 or 38 and figured that I might be able to ace in the real test too. BIG Mistake!!!

I got a disappointing verbal result in my exam (aced quant though). And only I was to blame for this. I had to retake the test. This time I thought of giving my 100% to the course. I stuck with e-GMAT for no particular reason. Maybe deep down I felt that my low score was due to my infidelity to the course.
I went through each of the lectures and articles. Made some meticulous notes as well. The video explanations and mini quizzes between the lectures really enhance learning. Also the OG explanations provided are really helpful especially for SC. But the best part about e-GMAT was the Scholaranium tool. I was in love with the tool for its flexibility, explanations and detailed analysis. I made it a point to solve all the questions in the available pool.
This time, I was more confident. I had set myself a target of V40. To my pleasant surprise, I achieved just the same (should have aimed for V42 ;) ).

Apart from OG and a quick glance through MGMAT SC Guide, I didn't use any material for Verbal but for e-GMAT.
I can attribute at least a 6 point improvement of my verbal score to the e-GMAT Verbal Online course.

I would recommend this course to anyone who is targeting a 5-10 point improvement. Consider it this way, the course fee is same as the app fee of a good school. If you get a great score in GMAT, you may as well apply to one school less. So essentially you are not spending anything. :)

General Tips:

Don't be dejected if you get a pathetic verbal score in the initial days or any day for that matter.
You will be frustrated in between for the lack of progress. Keep calm and shut off for a day or two.
Make sure you keep notes - paper-pen, digital, highlighting, anything that works for you. It helps you retain stuff that you listen to.
Finally, practice a lot. Old adage, but true. Make sure practice 10-15 questions or more everyday. It gives you an idea about your accuracy. Try to practice one type on a day either SC or CR or RC. (IIn the GMAT you get approx 13-14 of each type so this helps you gauge your accuracy in each sub-section.

P.S. the folks were considerate enough to extend my subscription by a fortnight to accommodate my GMAT retake.

Pardon me for the long post and unorganized rambling. My head is spinning with my essays these days!

You can PM me for any queries.

Regards,
Abhishek
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ravi Sreerama = simply the best
August 20 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By rprasan1985 joined: July 1, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I have been out of college for several years, and Veritas Prep gave me the foundation I needed to ace the GMAT. It was a very well-structured course, with plenty of reinforcement to make sure we reach the highest levels of understanding of the material. Their philosophy resonated with me, and I found myself enjoying this super fast-paced, highly time-intensive course. The best part of the whole process, of course, was Ravi Sreerama. Words dont do justice to how awesome he was. If you're on the fence, I'd say go for Ravi's course and you will not regret it. It is an expensive course, no doubts about that, and it is not for everyone. If you can afford it, you get high-quality instruction from top-notch instructors, high-quality course materials (better than MGMAT books IMO), excellent practice tests (better than MGMAT, more representative of the real thing), topped off by great customer service. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Absolutely unique!
August 20 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By avik629 joined: March 30, 2013 | 96 | 30 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Of all the other courses that I have taken (magoosh, e-gmat, gmatpill, etc) Economist GMAT was by far the most real 'tutor' experience. The interface, language used to teach actually makes you feel like you are taking a live class. They slowly ease you into the theory, make you familiar with the concepts by testing you with problem snippets & then make you practice. This is done very organically. If you give a wrong answer they immediately show you where you went wrong. All of this is tracked in real-time which shows up in your progress chart. The ability to choose answer options with a 'sureness' rating is unique. I am not entirely sure , but I guess it is used in some algorithm to judge your preparedness. I was totally out of touch with the basics (like I could not tell you if 5:3:4 is a Pythagorean triplet without calculating), and it helped me get to the 650 plus level. Beyond which requires a lot of hard-work (read practice) and less or 'tutoring' in my opinion. Another thing that I liked about it is that, they straight away let you in on the nuanced tricks (like ball park estimation) that help to actually solve problems within time limits (like math problems in 2 min), which is the actual test and can mean the difference between 700 and 760. The tutoring sessions, AWA review & Ask-a -tutor features are a plus.

But all is not well with Economist GMAT. It has some serious drawbacks which I think needs to be rectified.

1.) You can broadly choose which topic you want to study, but you cannot specifically target a section, say, Rate-work problems. Going by their prescribed sequence is good for somebody who doesn't mind a strict curriculum.

2.) Practice tests and tutoring practice problems have same questions with changed numbers (at least in math section). So Practice tests would not be true reflections of your ability.

Essentially, if you have a lot of time or are not sure when to give the test, taking this course is a no brainer. However if you have a fixed deadline, it would take genuine effort to finish everything on this course and reap its true benefits.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Solid GMAT prep for a fair price
August 20 | 2015

       By donPerignion joined: August 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Online  |
I opted for the online private tutoring package from Optimus Prep. I loved the personalized approach and all the interactive material that comes along with the package! For me, this is what really set it apart from other packages from similar companies. If only I had found Optimus Prep first, I could have saved so much time, energy, and mostly money! They offer practice tests and questions that can be sorted by type of question within the verbal or the quantitative sections, and the difficulty level at the same time. For example, I was having a really hard time with parallel structure, especially at the 700+ level. There is so much going on in the sentences at that point that I was getting lost in all of the false clues. My tutor helped me recognize this problem, and we sorted out questions and practiced together until I could recognize it in my sleep. This alone improved my verbal score by a huge percentage!

I finally scored a 720 after starting from 600. Thank you for your help
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
The best decision I have taken foe my prep
August 19 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By sriharsha1258 joined: November 18, 2014 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  190 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
One of the right things I have done in my prep is registering to e-GMAT verbal course. Though I'm not a fan of listening to online presentations, I liked its friendly audio and visual aid. The vdieos are very organised topic wise and helped me understanding the root concepts. The small tests at the end of the every concept helped me in memorizing it very efficiently.

Last and best feature of e-GMAT is their "Scholaranium". It helped me improve my proficiency in an exciting way. It helped me in analysing my mistakes and let me improve gradually but consistently.

Over all I can credit 100% say e-GMAT verbal online for my score
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course!
August 19 | 2015

       By PConditional joined: December 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
As a non-native speaker, I found it very difficult to learn and master the rules of SC only by reading textbooks. The e-GMAT approach is great and conducive to learning! The mix of videos, readings, and frequent drills allowed me to better understand and learn SC rules. Furthermore, I had the opportunity to apply directly my skills on OG questions as e-GMAT provides both a classification of OG questions and a very detailed video solution for each OG question. Overall, the e-GMAT 3-steps approach is very useful to tackle any SC question in under 1min30.
Concerning CR and RC, the e-GMAT pre-thinking process allowed me to get clear thoughts on what to look for in the question or text, greatly increasing my accuracy rate.
I recommend e-GMAT Verbal Online for every non-native speaker that struggles to master GMAT verbal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings