Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [984]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Unvaluable
October 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By leomuzzi joined: October 19, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
The Economist GMAT Tutor offers an incredible experience in the web teaching in a dialog-based structure, which makes things easier. Also, the tips on how to solve the questions are very good, and the fact that it focus on your weaker areas are a bonus.

The "ask-a-tutor" and the live sessions are very nice: the ask-a-tutor can solve the doubts the system couldn't, and the live sessions are for the harder questions. Also, the tutors can act like a guide, to tell you where to go from where you are.

The progress status and the simulation tests complete the package.

On the minus side, I think it should have an option to "keep on the same subject". There are times when you are really enjoying some teaching, and the system suddenly changes the subject completely. Also, the score forecast is not very useful, since the score range it presents is very wide (560-660, for instance).

In the end, money very well spent.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth every penny!
October 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I scored a 660 in gmat and for the retake decided to take magoosh as it was the most cost effective option! For 99 dollars I got everything,literally EVERYTHING from fundamentals to tips and tricks etc.

The way they explain everything in detail with absolute clarity is brilliant! I love the way the solutions to questions are provided.

If you are still confused I would suggest go for the free trial and you ll know what i am talking about.

There response i to all your questions via mail is also very quick and appropriate.

In addition they have also provided a score guarantee of 50 points.

I would say taking magoosh was a very very good decision!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
A fantabulous Verbal online course
October 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By kameshgmat1 joined: January 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Studies show that any learning programs that stimulate multi-senses simultaneously, especially visual and hearing, enhance the learning process. E-gmat correctly uses this approach to reach out to beginners and non-natives.
Each learning module is precisely crafted with utmost attention and care, followed by plethora of quizzes and exercises. Unlike other prep companies, E-gmat focuses heavily on process based learning strategies, which in my view is excellent way of training a gmat aspirant.
Not to mention its excellent live and recorded sessions. Every E-gmat faculty member has done a fantastic job organizing these live sessions and thanks a ton for making my learning experience so joyful
I found very few errors in the gen1 software which I think were addressed in gen2 release.
I would definitely recommend this course to every test taker.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Program!
October 17 | 2014

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehi
I have to be honest. I had my doubts about an on-line GMAT review course being very beneficial. Well, glad to say I was wrong.

Ethan was an excellent instructor. He made the most out of every minute of class time. All lessons were very well structured and the classes were highly interactive. He constantly asked for feedback to gauge our understanding and provided numerous strategies that we were able to employ and see immediate results.

Ethan truly cares about his students and has made himself available for questions even after the class has ended.

I highly recommend Ethan and the Veritas program.

Thanks Ethan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
ETHAN! IS! AWESOME!
October 17 | 2014

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehi
I had already taken the class earlier this year and decided to do a retake. I thought Ethan was really helpful. He broke things down into bite sized chunks, and made all the material memorable. I feel that I have improved. Ethan made his own slides from time to time that enhanced the Veritas curriculum, making his class even more personalized and special. He cares a lot and wants to make sure you understand everything. I recommend him highly.
Ethan taught a unique Data Sufficiency class that changed how I perceive that section of quant. I remember to enjoy the test a little more now. :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ravi to the Rescue
October 17 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  190 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After taking Ravi Sreerama's online course, I improved my score by almost 200 points. The best part about GMAT prep with Veritas is that they take the GMAT and break it down into a manageable and practical solution. With well designed lesson plans, detailed skill builder assignments, and many practice tests, the GMAT provides everything you need to far exceed what you thought was possible.

Ravi makes GMAT questions fun. He is supportive but also challenges his students. It is clear that Ravi enjoys what he does. He makes you look forward to class. He helps you get into the right attitude: the serious, yet fun attitude. And when it's fun, you succeed.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Recommend instructor for Live Course
October 17 | 2014

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Jvarela3636 joined: October 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehi
Ethan was an amazing instructor! He really helped me understand how to back solve problems and use the answer choices to my advantage. He has many useful tricks and handouts to assist you in your studies. He also helped me think like the test maker which has made a huge improvement on my quizzes and practice tests. Even though the class was online, he made you feel like you were there in person. He has a great personality as well which helps you stay in tuned with the class. I would definitely recommend him to anyone interested in taking a live course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh - Integral Part of 560-730 Score Rise
October 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Luggenes joined: August 11, 2014 | 7 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh is a bang-for-your-buck winner in the world of GMAT prep. I used Magoosh in conjunction with MGMAT to score a 6/8/730 (44v 47q) on my GMAT. Magoosh was the foundation and MGMAT was the topping. I was highly verbal skewed at the beginning (never dipped below 87th percentile in any of my practices start to finish and scored 98th percentile on the real deal) so quant was where I needed help, and where Magoosh delivered.

I am 30 years old, and many of the topics on the GMAT, particularly quantitative, I have not seen or graced since high school. Magoosh is perfect for someone like me: a person who needs to refresh or relearn old material and to learn it right the first time. The instructional videos were the foundation for my preparation and during my 10 week study. I watched all the quant videos and about half the verbal. After that preparation I was consistently scoring in the 640-660 range on my practices.

The Magoosh Quant is what really stands out. MGMAT quant answers are often as difficult or more difficult than the actual problem to understand; its just a wall of text and numbers. Magoosh's video guide made the solution clear 99/100 (every now and again the narrator would skip a little too much in his coverage for me, but again my quant skills are probably below average for GMAT Club readers).

The Magoosh verbal is slightly below its quant in quality, but is still very good. My issue with verbal was that when the questions reached the "very hard" difficulty the rationale and reasoning behind the answers became a little dodgy, in my opinion sometimes substituting ambiguity for difficulty. Even still, I did half of all of the Magoosh practice problems and the effort showed in the results.

Magoosh's primary deficit, and in comparison to its cost the deficit is minor, is that it does not take the prospective taker to their 700+ score that we all aim for. As above, after doing all the magoosh lessons I was in the 650 range plus or minus. It was not until I dug well into MGMAT that my score got pushed to 690, then 710, then eventually 730 on the real test. MGMAT has the "holy sh*t that problem is hard" practice questions that prepare you for the hardest issues the GMAC can toss your way, while Magoosh's very top level questions were not always so precise.

Aside form top-notch review and foundational preparation on quant, the most valuable reward of using Magoosh was a fundamental change in thinking process. Watched the hundreds of videos actually trains you to THINK LIKE THE INSTRUCTOR. The narrators are great at explaining their logic, and after 300 videos you learn to channel them and actually find yourself thinking in their voices. Though it sounds a little creepy, it was immensely helpful for me bringing my quant up to the necessary level.

Overall I gave Magoosh 4/5 stars because in order to reach the 720+ score I demanded of myself, I believe MGMAT was a necessary addition to the Magoosh Curriculum. But it was Magoosh that not only supplied 80% of my study materials at only 22% of the total cost, but also gave me the foundational knowledge and confidence to take on MGMAT's rigorous problem set.

Without Magoosh my success would never have happened. I highly recommend the $100 internet access program to all GMAT takers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very helpful to gain confidence quickly
October 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mbaonmymind joined: March 28, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I had previously enrolled for the Verbal Live package - great content but lacked the personal touch. Upon recommendation of a couple of folks who had taken the GMAT recently, I upgraded to the Verbal Live prep which I found immensely useful. Rajat and Payal really help you with your thought process in a simplistic manner in SC.

The CR course really helped get my thought process right and fixed my CR basics problem.

Waiting to get my hands on the their workshops and polish my SC and CR skills further. Will write in a detailed review post my attempt scheduled for later this month.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great product
October 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Excellent preparation. I don't like the videos because sometimes I think they are toos low and I get bored, sometimes too quick and I need to hear it again; here I can really go as fast or slow as I need, even just stop practicing if something else needs addressing, and it doesn't go on without me.

Plus the methods and explanations are great. I would like to have such an assistant for everything I want to learn !!

I did not pass the real GMAT yet but I firmly believe this preparation will improve my score. I really recommend it to anyone interested
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings