Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [953]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
IMPROVED my verbal skills extremely with the course!
September 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By wayne36 joined: September 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I was not good with sentence correction, and I am a native speaker. Certain nuances always escaped me, under the pressure of time constraints. I followed the OG and Manhattan books on SC, and found both to be very useful, but still felt that something was lacking.

I came to know about Optimus Prep from some of my colleagues who had taken the on demand video series from Optimus, and felt really good about it. After some additional research, I decided that I needed a prep course with strong emphasis on verbal. The on demand course from Optimus Prep took my preparation to the next level. The SC concepts that I learned were crystal clear after going through this course. Two other things helped me a lot on SC. Firstly the fact that the course is very heavy on application. There are these application files that don’t teach you anything but to apply what you have learned.

The advantage in Optimus is that the course starts with basic level and moves to advanced level once you gain proficiency in the basic level. The adaptive tests and detailed analytics along with difficulty level question generators make it really convenient to gauge your levels. The topics can be then classified accordingly to the level of difficulty. Another major advantage that I found useful was that the video tutorials give me a clear picture of the concept and the concept directly sat in my mind whereas in MGMAT strategy guides, all the areas are on the same level and the concepts are not supported by enough examples as most of the examples seem to be pretty easy and not actual GMAT like questions. I strictly followed the Optimus process for getting maximum results out of the course.

Being from a background in which the medium of instruction during school was not English, I was able to improve tremendously from the approach and depth the Optimus course had to offer. I can surely say that the improvement in score wouldn't have happened without Optimus.

During my preparation time, I realized how good the verbal part of the on demand course is. Special mention for SC, because I think this is the best course which anybody can take and become comfortable with intricacies of SC- sentence structure, meaning and spotting the errors.SC is structured in very easy to understand mode . Moreover, the videos on SC are superb. In CR, structure and pre-thinking steps gives a solid understanding of the argument. I improved a lot in other sections too. The quant, especially the DS and inequality problems, which can really stump you and destroy your timing, were explained very nicely in the videos. After the lessons, the practice questions helped me fine tune and apply the learning.

In RC, solution technique for Inference question was amazing. I recommend everyone to try out the video series, because it gives you the points where you have to focus (even you have studied full and getting a good score in practice tests).

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their verbal skills in a systematic manner.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-GMAT course review
September 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By tanujab joined: June 20, 2012 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I was preparing for the Gmat for quite a long time though I could not continuously devote time. I saw my scores too be hovering around 630-640 range no matter how much I studied. My maths section was quite ok as I was scoring around 49. But my verbal would hardly improve.

So, I decided to sign up for the E-Gmat live prep course and it has helped me tremendously. Previously I was not sure of even the correct answers that I would mark in SC, But now I can identify the mistakes and be confident about a correct answer. There step by step process is very effective and all the lessons on SC really helps a non native indentify the mistakes correctly.In CR also the pre-thinking method has really helped me. I would do really bad in RC too, but now I feel much comfortable using the E_GMAT steps.

E-GMAT has really helped me boost up my Verbal prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very Satisfied
September 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ayellis joined: August 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Thus far I have been very happy with the Economist GMAT course. I paid $500 and have thus far been using it for several weeks - I am around 45% complete with the quantitative section and 35% done with verbal. I am very solid with my verbal knowledge, and have been happy with the focus thus far on the quantitative work. My only small complaint is that while its adaptive technology is touted upon purchase, there is little evidence of it actually being put in use. Is the adaptiveness actual or in name only? I'd like to see more information on that. Overall I have been happy with the content and with the communications I have been receiving. I have yet to take the GMAT, but am hoping this will be the key to a good performance the first time around. Highly recommended for those who have an on-the-go lifestyle, can afford it, and believe they'd benefit from a course that does the work for them (at least supposedly!).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent
September 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By clemk joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Isaac
Excellent preparation. I don't like the videos because sometimes I think they are toos low and I get bored, sometimes too quick and I need to hear it again; here I can really go as fast or slow as I need, even just stop practicing if something else needs addressing, and it doesn't go on without me.

Plus the methods and explanations are great. I would like to have such an assistant for everything I want to learn !!

I did not yet take the real GMAT. I learn so much though that I am positive that I will improve my score.
Plus learning is pleasurable, which makes it so much easier.
I recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great review prep
September 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
I have been using The Economist GMAT Tutor for a couple of weeks and already love it. The class is self-paced, which is great for me as I have a full-time job and never know when they'll need me to work overtime. I recommend using the free week trial. After my trial was finished, I waited a few days and they sent me an email that gives you 15% off...

The progress bar is great. They show you a "predicted" score based on how much of the course you have completed and how well you scored on your practice tests. They give you 5 full practice tests as well, which ends up being 6 if you take the free simulation test during the trial.

One tip - they use your simulation test (if you take it within the trial period) to determine the score they guarantee for you. Take the simulation test at the end of the trial period so you can get the highest guaranteed score possible.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Economist GMAT Prep Highly Effective
September 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I found the GMAT course to be very effective and accurate in predicting my score. I learned and retained much of the information and loved the computer adaptive approach to the course. At first, I was hesitant in choosing a fully online course but realized it was very convenient to use the app on the go. The lessons are very well presented and the practice exams predicted my real score with 100% accuracy. The tutors were knowledgeable and responded almost immediately to any concerns or questions I had. It is a great course to both review material and learn new material. I highly recommend this course.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent Prep Course
September 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sophiamia joined: September 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I had only a few weeks left for the actual GMAT and my verbal was stuck at 32-33 even after months of studying, though quant was going decent at 48. Also, though I did pretty neat in the practice problems, during full length tests I was suffering from repeatability issues. I realized that most of the times the main killer of my verbal score was RC. Sometimes my accuracy was as low as 50%.

I was going crazy about which materials to follow. I had already tried other courses such as Kaplan, MGMAT for RC and found them a bit unsuitable for my style of study. Since I am not a voracious reader, I had always struggled to comprehend a long or unfamiliar passage. I tried Aristotle RC and was extremely demotivated with my speed as well as accuracy as evidenced by the result of the tests in these materials. I used to think that with my convent education and a BTech would see me through but the test told me otherwise. At this time, all I could hope for was to get close to 700. Giving up was not something I was ready for, though a lot of people told me that I should focus on my career and current job, and I could get better returns.

So I reluctantly decided that I should buy a prep course some of the established companies. But after I saw the prices, I decided to look elsewhere. I saw that many people were recommending Optimus. I came across Optimus, through some posts in GMAT Club, quite late in my preparation cycle. I had completed OG and a few other materials like Aristotle and improved my accuracy to 75% in verbal but that was not sufficient.

Optimus has an extremely pragmatic approach of discarding wrong options, a technique that helped me to improve my score. Equipped with rigorous preparation through OG and Optimus and other resources I attempted GMAT again and I scored 740, 750 & 730 in the last 3 mock tests I tried. Concepts were explained like teaching kids at elementary level, so they are hard coded in your memory. Their approach to tackle questions was really strong, if practiced religiously you will overcome timing issues. Their approach digs the question really deep and there is a very little room left for errors.

One of the best things about the course is the focus on tests after learning the basics. The question generators have a lot of useful settings such as timed and non-timed, adaptive, and other forms of testing. Their question bank is humungous, nearly 6000 questions.
I am using this course since last month and I can surely tell you that it is the one of the best course for non-natives for improving the Verbal score. Course starts from the very basic and goes to the higher level, covering all the important topics of tested on the real GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent!
September 11 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I was brand-new to all things GMAT when deciding to take a course to help my study plan for taking the exam. After some extensive research online, I had narrowed it down to Manhattan and Veritas, but after talking to a representative from Veritas on the phone, my decision was quickly and easily made. Lucky for me, I called at the right time as a course with Ravi was just about to start soon; the representative assured me he's one of the more popular instructors, and after taking his course I could see why. While there is naturally alot of material to cover in a short amount of time in each class session, he goes about it at a good speed for someone of any level to understand. What I personally liked most was his insistence on getting students to score in the 99% ... he wants students to REALLY achieve, not just get by on the test which I appreciated. He offered up many tips and tricks, and helps you look at problems in ways you probably wouldn't have just by doing it on your own. All in all, I'm glad I took a Veritas course...and am especially glad it was with Ravi. Any quick search online will show his name coming up repeatedly as one of, if not the, best instructor for online Veritas courses, and after completing the course with him I can easily see why!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great, quality course
September 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ras1212 joined: September 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  brandon Pierpont
It is a safe bet to guarantee that this course will raise your score a significant amount. But as with everything, it goes down to how you treat it. Pay attention and ask questions in the lesson, utilize the supplemental material online, and take your time through the lesson books and you will definitely be in good standing to get a high score on the GMAT. The instructor was great, friendly, and helpful. I was very impressed with the quality that the lesson books had and with how thorough they were. The convenience of having it be an online class also is nice. There are no gimmicks to the online structure, it works well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh GMAT Prep (Premium Subscription)
September 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By danayerace joined: July 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I tried the free trial of Magoosh when I joined the GMAT Club in preparation of my upcoming GMAT exam. I found the videos extremely helpful, short and sweet, each one about 10 minutes in length. The lessons are laid out very logically and the flow is easy to follow. Quizzes are at the ends of the groups of lessons and are a great way to gauge how much information you are absorbing. I particularly like the ability to take notes in each of the lessons, practice lots of varied questions, complete flash cards (great app for your phone is available), and log onto Magoosh from anywhere and it is all saved. I'd recommend using this software to help review major topics, practice questions and get 2 more practice exams.

You can even use this link to sign up yourself and I'll get a referral bonus!
--> http://gmat.magoosh.com/invite/U7SHSD

Hope this was helpful :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings