Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1778]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
600 ->750 I loved Empowergmat. I’m recommending it to everyone!
August 23 | 2015

       By mycenae joined: August 23, 2015 | 2 | 4 | native speaker
Improvement:  160 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
I want to start off by saying I like to do things my way. I’ve never needed help and I’ve never asked for it. I self-studied on the SAT and scored 2270, I also self-studied on the ACT and scored 34, and I was convinced that I could self-study to a high score on the GMAT. Totally wrong. I had to paint myself into a corner (which was really embarrassing at the time) and eventually suck it up and ask for help to hit my goals.

Back at the end of February, I started off with Official downloadable material, the Manhattan books, the Kaplan Premiere book (and the CATs that came with those books) and the 2015 Official Guide.

After a month of light study and two months of consistent study, I was scoring okay – low 600s on all my CATs, but I had a pacing problem in every section (except for the essay) and I just couldn’t get past 640.

After looking through all the major company offerings and trying out the freebies, I chose Empowergmat. I like the way their guys teach everything – they make it all seem really easy and they exposed me to a lot subtle strategies and insider tips that I hadn’t realized on my own.

I chose the Total Score Booster Plan but gave myself 2 months to work on it since I knew I wanted to do some extra work on sentence corrections and reading comp to raise my verbal score. I picked up 50 points in the first 3 weeks and consistently scored above 700, including on both the Exam Pack CATs.

After following the course plan, the official GMAT felt like a formality – I knew what to expect, so when I took the test I just did what I was trained to do. The whole test felt ‘good’ and none of the problems that had plagued me in my earlier CATs happened. When the score came up, I wanted to scream with excitement, but I kept my cool, said goodbye to the lady, and quietly walked out with the best GMAT score I’d ever earned ON THE REAL THING! I owe it to Empowergmat. I’m recommending it to everyone.

My advice for anyone who feels like they’re just not improving: Books can be great to get exposure to the GMAT and practice questions, but they are limited in what they can offer. Empower made the difference.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-GMAT verbal live prep
August 23 | 2015

       By mohitmohansahu joined: August 19, 2014 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
In the process of achieving perfection in any particular area, one has to simultaneously learn many basic fundamentals and un-learn the wrong concepts and myths gathered through misconception. E GMAT's verbal live prep is a comprehensive tool which is structured in an organised manner to help non natives ace the verbal domain of GMAT. The video tutorials are content- heavy and focus on application of basic concepts. The methodical approach ingrained by the slides and the articles actually make the meticulous task of approaching any particular section very easy. The tutors have always emphasized on the significance of developing a strategy while attacking a question. They focus on getting the concepts internalized and as result of which, time management does become a lot easier than expected. Thank you EGMAT for coming up with such a systematic framework for helping non natives.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
E-GMAT for quantitatively gifted users
August 22 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Rajeev1981 joined: November 13, 2010 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
Review of E-GMAT

To be honest, compared to the approach taken by most non-native students, I had a different plan. When I first started preparing from the GMAT I decided to decode the test. If anyone even cursorily goes over the scoring matrix, he or she will realize that on GMAT the importance or the sensitivity of one’s quant score is less than the sensitivity of the verbal score. One’s overall GMAT percentile score will closely reflect one’s verbal percentile score. Scoring a 49/50 on quant will impact your score but not that much, but scoring a 37-40 will boost your score immensely. Therefore, I decided to start working on verbal first and spent 70 pct of my time preparing for verbal.
When I started with verbal I found two things: verbal really is a test of your logical and critical reasoning and the test makers want you to know the nuances of grammar usage. So I started looking for a training course which was taught these skills.
When I came across E-GMAT I found that it fit the bill perfectly.

In E-GMAT, the concepts are explained lucidly and numerous examples are provided. I thoroughly enjoyed the section tests. They did not focus on SC from a grammar point of view, rather they emphasized meaning first – that’s really important. Then, they provided numerous drills for each section of the test: parallel structure, comparisons, S-V agreement etc.. I have always believed in the adage – “practice makes a man perfect”. I also liked their quant classes, and they rightly focus on number properties. They remove a lot of the clutter and drill those concepts which will be tested. On test day, number properties will be tested heavily so one needs to master that if one hopes to do well. E-GMAT again comes up trumps on doing that.

Their unique method of delivering classes online makes it easy for students to study those classes even when they are working. Their support team responds almost instantly, which is a big plus. Rajat also provides support and inputs personally which tells me that he is totally involved in this and he loves to see his students succeed.

I really hate the term non-native, so I would much rather use the term “Quantitatively gifted”. For quantitatively gifted students, I would strongly recommend both the E-GMAT quant and verbal sections. Even though we assume that we know quant, the test’s orientation is different therefore, it makes a lot of sense to get direction from an expert. On the verbal side, by studying the E-GMAT courses, one can build a repertoire of skills and techniques so essential to success on the test.
Finally, trust Rajat’s inputs, he puts a lot of time researching the test content, the scoring pattern and his team so far has its eyes right on the money! I wish all students great success on the GMAT. For the quantitatively gifted students like me, believe in yourself - you can kill the verbal section and E-GMAT will show you how to do it.

For team E-GMAT: Keep it going guys I wish you all great success in the future as well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
One of the best verbal courses
August 22 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By shasmal joined: February 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
I had a lot of trouble with sentence correction, and I am a native speaker. Certain nuances always escaped me for some reason under the pressure of time constraints. I read the Manhattan Gmat Sentence Correction book, and found it very useful, but did not have a bricks to wall approach.

e-GMAT is an excellent source for Verbal. All the concepts tested on the GMAT exam are covered. The SC and CR are the best with explanations to simple as well as complex concept. This course if done thoroughly will ensure that you at least get 38 on Verbal.

I highly recommend this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
If you are serious about the GMAT...
August 22 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
       By mendenhb joined: August 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The course is very organized, and teaches you meaningful techniques for taking the GMAT. What set this course above and beyond for me was my teacher - Ravi Sreerama. Ravi is not afraid to hold people accountable for their mistakes (especially repeated ones), and does so in good nature. He truly has a passion for his job, which is easy to see. Most importantly, he wants to see his students crush the exam. Combining these qualities with his obvious knowledge for the test. I would say it's a no brainer that you should take a prep course with this guy.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Straight up and very effective course
August 22 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By aadosani joined: August 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi was the man. He knew his stuff cold and made sure that each of his students did as well. He wouldn't sugar coat anything if you did something wrong but would make sure to point out mistakes so you can learn from this. His teaching style, especially in the quant section, was extremely helpful for me. Would HIGHLY recommend taking one of his classes for GMAT prep. The live online is definitely the way to go if you can't attend in person as I used the on-demand course previously and regretted it big time. Veritas was kind enough to take that into consideration when pricing my live online course. Tl;dr - Take the live online course with Ravi!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
First Attempt - 710
August 22 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By majianurag joined: February 17, 2015 | 6 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Gave my GMAT on 2nd Aug, 2015. First Attempt.
Score - 710. Q49, V36.
Preparation time : 3 months, 3-4 hours a week.

I used the Magoosh GMAT prep since it seemed to be the cheapest prep option around. The video explanations were intuitive and the lessons were quite clear in explanation.
Also, the score predictions were spot on since I received the same combination of scores for my last two GMAT mocks on Magoosh.
My scores on Official GMAT test prep were :
1st attempt : 700
2nd attempt : 710

I hoped to up the game on D-day, but for some reason could not do the same, especially in the Quant section where I was pushing for a Q51. I did not expect much in Verbal, the scores were consistent with what I had been achieving with Magoosh and other prep material. In all, a decent and happy learning experience.


The team is super enthusiastic about giving advice and answering queries as evidenced by their active blog. Does not seem to function as a corporate which I think other test prep providers might. Love that part about the MAGOOSH team!

I would recommend Magoosh to anyone who is looking for value for money in their GMAT test prep material.
Cheers!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT VLP is beyond the traditional verbal course. GMAT 720
August 21 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By naren87 joined: June 11, 2013 | 25 | 3 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Shraddha Jaiswal
I took the e-GMAT VLP to learn GMAT specific concepts and tips and tricks to crack the verbal component. Well, I hope this is what we all look for, that unmentioned secret tricks of the game, but eGMAT verbal is beyond that. As a non-native English speaker, the language is not taught to us the same way as it is in other English speaking countries. eGMAT verbal complements that traditional teaching and gives you a comprehensive understanding of the language. This i feel is a differentiating factor from other courses. I can guarantee you that if you follow the course structure as it is prescribed, you will be happy of making a good decision and probably the best decision for improving your verbal score.In my case, I read the articles on economist and nytimes to apply the concepts i learnt.

On the day of my exam, I was down with fever and was feeling miserable ( talk of Murphy's law :-/). I was getting through each section with a sense of dissatisfaction for not being able to concentrate. I could see that in verbal, I was not able to give more time to sentence correction( the long underlined sentences were very difficult to concentrate with watering eyes and a headache). And at the end i managed a V37 to score a 720. If not for the course I am sure my score at the max would be around 30.

So to sum it up, VLP is the best verbal course for non-natives and one of the best courses for anyone in general. You will not regret it for sure.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent online interactive classes with RAVI
August 21 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
       By ubajgain joined: August 21, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
We all can get any amount of material to study from so many sources available. No matter what the quality of the material is, what truly matters is the instructor's ability to improve your skills. At Veritas Prep I got exactly that from RAVI SREERAMA. His ability to keep me motivated in a brutally 3 hours long class was outstanding. Even though there were 25 to 30 students in an online class, Ravi gave so much of personal attention and kept me motivated. The class is very tempting to participate and this makes the class very interactive.

Also, the online student account is well structured with videos both for skillbuilding and lesson videos, problems and even analysis of practice test results.

I was banging my head on the wall for my poor GMAT performance but now my GMAT scores are improving and most importantly given the present trend, with practice, i firmly believe that i can make it to the 99% percentiler.

Choose Ravi and open the doors to the business school of your choice!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
thanks for the service
August 21 | 2015

       By donCarlo joined: August 21, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I needed my score up by 60 points. And after trying twice and failing at the GMAT I was completely ready to give up. I tried books and exercises and online forums and I was already pretty much out of material to study. When looking for more material and resources I found Optimus Prep. I was worried about buying a product online from and company I couldn’t go talk to in person at the beginning. But after the very first time we got into contact, I felt much better. On the website there is a chat menu, which I used first to talk to someone. After I decided to buy the on demand course I kept in contact with the office people and the tutors as well (I bought the package that came with 5 hours of private GMAT tutor classes online). The tutor was always available and spent several hours extra looking at my tests and AWA essays, that didn’t count for the actual 5 hours of tutoring time. It was really helpful and in the end I improved by 80 points.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings