Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [932]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Optimus GMAT on Demand. All content covered. Final score 720.
September 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
If someone asked me to summarize Optimus GMAT Prep, it would be simply do that in one word and that would be 'extraordinary'. I am on top of the world and anyone who scores 720 after an average academic endeavor at school and college would be. I was never a scholar and scored at an average scale or slightly above as long as I remember. i wanted to give a direction to my career.. Getting admitted to one of the top Business schools could be just the right start towards my journey of success and excellence. My search for a great online coaching institute ended at Optimus GMAT Prep.

I took the Optimus on Demand course which includes an extensive series of videos covering all the verbal and quantitative skills tested by the exam. The website also features extensive homework problems with detailed explanations and 9 adaptive practice tests. The Optimus on Demand package also includes the study books which complement the online materials. Overall, I think the Optimus on demand package is a great value and provides hours of study materials.

The wide range of videos, online coaching and simulation tests offered by Optimus prep suits the training needs of everyone by giving the option of customizing to the needs of all students. The books from Optimus are a good return on investment on top of which the videos, discussion forums complete the entire package.
You have a wide range of 5500 questions to practice from, as well as 9 CATs. The adaptive tests are highlights of the course, as one can train on several different training wheels.

The web-based instruction is a highly effective and efficient method of communication and instructions. Problem sets can be completed on your own time, additionally the ability to create your own exams by using the exam generator utilizing various parameters such as custom difficulty level, timing, and section or knowledge area is really something.

I'll list out some pros and cons below:

Pros:

- The 9 practice CATs were really useful. Helped me correct my timing issues, and build confidence as I saw my score go up from 640 to 700 during the CATs, and finally a 720 on the actual GMAT.
- Adaptive tests and custom exam generator was a hoot and a half!
- Quiz bank with over 5000 questions and live feeds on what others are doing.
- Gaming type level advances were fun
- The student interface is attractive and keeps track of your progress
- Multiple formats such as PC, Ipad phone etc. took care of the mobility issue
- Price factor of $499 with the GMAT Club discount

Cons:

- There were few initial web glitches which were sorted out in time
- Practice CATs are tougher than the real deal, which may be good in a way for some people.

Overall I think my money was well spent and I thank Optimus for giving me the best ROI ever!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The e-GMAT Verbal live
September 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rathsurya joined: February 28, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I am a verbal live prep customer of e-GMAT. Before e-GMAT I had joined a well-recognized (indian) GMAT coaching institute. During my previous attempt I had gone through numerous materials form different sources. For my fellow GMAT aspirants I would like to highlight some strong areas of e-GMAT SC so that it will be helpful for you.
SC: Before e-GMAT I thought that you need to a grammarian in order to do well on SC, and people like us (non natives) can’t do well on SC. However, after going though e-GMAT live classes and online materials, I found that if you follow the procedure and crack the meaning, you can achieve 90-100% accuracy. The few things I like the most about e-GMAT SC
. Focus on meaning
. use of sentence structure for comprehension and error detection
. The 3-steps process.
I am yet to give my second attempt. Once I am done, I will let you know the e-GMAT impact with more details….
Cheers
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course
September 01 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By jsritenour joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  David Newland
Thought the course was great and have recommended it to friends. I didn't take a practice GMAT until about six weeks in, so I have no idea where I would have tested without the course, but I ended up scoring a 750 on the actual exam. No way I could have done that without Veritas Prep.

The classes were truly enjoyable, David was very entertaining and for the most part kept everyone moving along. The skillbuider sections in the beginning of the lesson books really helped with this as well, as it allowed everyone to have a basic level of knowledge on the subject. This prevented us from wasting too much class time going over the real simple stuff.

David has obviously been teaching the GMAT for a long time and knows what mistakes and traps everyone falls for. It was great learning from his experience.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing course for non-natives
September 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 4, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I kept reading about various reviews before starting the GMAT preparation and in spite of all the great reviews, I was not confident how much would e-GMAT course be helpful to me. It is only after you take the course that you understand the potential of this very well though-through and researched training program. It is not just another verbal basics training but completely inline with what GMAT requires you to learn and master. I am really glad that I opted for this course at the right time and this program really gave me the required knowledge and confidence to deal with the much dreaded Verbal section on the real GMAT.
I am yet to face the real GMAT and will post another review once I have taken the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT th 'e'- BEST !!
September 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By earnit joined: March 6, 2014 | 48 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I always believed and was also told that SC and CR can only be successfully tackled with MGMAT books etc. Being a working professional, picking up a book in office was next to impossible and by the time i reached home, picking up a book and studying seemed even more tough.

It was through a friend i got to know of e-GMAT Verbal Online course. I gave it a shot. I experienced brilliant encapsulation of concepts, systematically arranged in a comprehensive manner. Apart from that, what followed was a rich and interactive user interface that made learning interesting. Online Study was never worth this while.

Thanks to e-GMAT founders and team for coming up with such an interesting and innovative form of GMAT Preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-gmat Verbal
August 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By WaterFlowsUp joined: June 4, 2013 | 337 | 154 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I joined e-gmat around 10 days back. Since then i am a huge fan of the e-gmat family. The course structure is segregated in such a way that one can cover all the required concepts one needs to apply on a gmat question.
SC as reviewed by everyone else is out of the world. The concepts are designed in a such a way that a noob can also crack the gmat SC after going through their module.
CR- their idea of pre-thinking is a superhit. I am still going through the CR module and till now i am quite impressed with the flow.
RC - I am yet to start their RC module.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
E-GMAT is the best for Non native speakers
August 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Mohitbhatia880 joined: March 17, 2012 | 7 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I signed up VLP for the sentence correction and critical reasoning sections. I would recommend this course for a non-native speaker as it helps to understand basic things through its extensive online module course and then discussions during online classes.

E-GMAT can be useful because after each lesson there are quizzes to complete which for that moment makes you completely engrossed in the topic and cover every aspect. The quizzes re-enforces the lessons. Personally, I feel that E_GMAT is more detailed in teaching both SC and CR. It teaches you the application, not just the rules.

For SC, understanding the meaning, then breaking of sentences into clauses and then identifying the errors is a technique no other course teaches you.

CR is again taught by an experienced team with a very simple formula. Understand the argument and pre-think the assumption. I bet 95% of times if you pre-think the assumption, you will get a correct answer.


Key highlights of E-GMAT:

Covers key areas in sentence correction for the GMAT
Different levels to complete before moving to next one
Can access online recording anytime
Attend classes in any batch
New CR quizzes started by them are very good.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Exceptional Course for non Natives
August 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Revenge2014 joined: September 3, 2012 | 9 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
e-gmat has helped me in a long way in improving my verbal score from 24 to 35 (11 points improvement). The Verbal Live prep is exclusively design for those who lacks in basics and has a very simple language and examples to make a student grasp the fundamentals. The Workshops included in this course are really an eye opener and gives a final kick to your preparations. Moreover, SC with emphasis on understanding the meaning rather than divulging into terms is unique approach and is a differentiating factor. ihave been greatly benefited by this and its a must for anyone struggling in verbal.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very good & professional GMAT on demand course.
August 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By elenatia joined: August 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
What really attracted me was honestly, the price. For $499, one could access 5000+ questions and detailed explanations covering Quantitative, Verbal, and I.R. which included 30 video lessons and 9 full GMAT simulations with formats ranging from PC, Mac, iPad and even iPhone. They guaranteed 50 points GMAT score improvement or full refund. They claimed that their system tracked and analyzed an individual’s performance at the lowest level, identifying one’s specific strengths and weaknesses and generating recommendations based on the performance. I took a feedback from some other people on GMAT Club who went for it, to validate such tall claims, was convinced by the feedback and I felt the quality was worth a try. I subscribed to the Optimus Prep GMAT on demand course and could not have been happier with it. As with all study programs, the extent to which your score improves is ultimately a function of the student’s effort and discipline. That being said, it is my opinion that if you work diligently with the Optimus Prep GMAT materials your scores will improve substantially. The study materials include all the information that one needs to score a 700+. I found the video instructors to be knowledgeable and professional. What I saw as especially helpful were the techniques Optimus Prep employed to approach different styles of problems. To be clear, you can learn to answer any GMAT problem if you master the Optimus Prep study material. Towards the end of my studying, however, I learned to more efficiently apply these techniques to the point where you could narrow your answer down to two possible choices, or even one, without even doing the problem. Essentially, it teaches you how the GMAT tries to trick you and makes you more aware of what trick answer choices look like. This dramatically improved my accuracy and timing issues. Compared to other online courses service Optimus Prep on demand holds a few considerable advantages. The online materials are way more comprehensive. In addition to 9 algorithmic adaptive practice tests, there were endless question banks, and exam generators with more than 5000 practice problems to reinforce the material that was covered in the videos. All in all I couldn’t be more pleased. After taking the course, I studied for another 5 weeks focusing on the techniques and earned a 700+ score. If you are in search of a product that will include everything from GMAT exam introduction all the way through advanced techniques for 700+ scores you want Optimus Prep on demand series.

Optimus Prep offers a wealth of options for you to learn and master all topics covered on the exam. From the extensive Optimus Prep strategy guides to the challenging CAT prep tests, students have access to a variety of different study tools to work on all topics tested on the GMAT. Based on my experience, I would confidently say that you will never get such value for money from any other established course in the market. I am on to the next step, and if I had to take the GMAT again, I would prefer to go with Optimus Prep on demand.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
My review about the On Demand Online Prep Course. Fantastic Program/Guide for self-preparation!
August 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By JuriB joined: August 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I can't say enough wonderful things about Optimus prep GMAT! I scored a 750 and was admitted to three Top 5 b-schools - none of which would have been possible without Optimus prep's excellent program. I would highly recommend Optimus prep to anyone heading down the b-school route.

During the on class room course I had taken earlier course, we were not reviewing the material, most of the time, we were just doing problems, they have a lot of resources to approach the problems and more interactive. I was aiming for 700+ and I found the level of the course was targeted more towards average GMAT scores, the explanations were slow and very detailed, I am a quick learner, and I was bored most of the time during the sessions.

Optimus prep's materials are the best; the online CATs alone are worth the fees. That said, you have to do the work on your own. Don't underestimate the amount of time and effort it takes to increase your score significantly. Everything you need is in Optimus prep's materials, but you are ultimately responsible for your own success.

Even if I had the materials, I wouldn’t have been able to put together the weekly lists of practice questions on my own. Optimus on demand tells you exactly how to fill those 15 hours a week spent studying. I wouldn’t say that the teaching is the strength of the course, and NOT because the web instructor great. They clearly have subject mastery and, more uniquely, are really personable and committed. They have a weird passion and enthusiasm for the GMAT, which is inspiring.

The web-based instruction is a very effective method of communication and instruction. Problem sets can be completed on your own time , additionally you can create your own exams by using the exam generator which has various parameters such as custom difficulty level, timing, section or knowledge area and you can also see what others are doing, which gives a sense of community .

The method of instruction focuses on "practicing" key concepts that are tested on the GMAT and learning the most time-efficient tips and tricks to solve these concepts, this is particularly helpful on the Data Sufficiency problems and Sentence Correction problems on the GMAT. Those two types of problems were my primary weaknesses when beginning the GMAT process, but Optimus prep GMAT helped me turn those weaknesses into strengths. Through consistent and disciplined practice of these problems, I was able to quickly recognize a concept and immediately decide which method to use in solving that particular problem.

Overall, Optimus prep GMAT is an enabler that will definitely help any MBA prospect set conditions for success on the GMAT. But at the end of the day, rolling up your sleeves and putting some good old fashioned elbow grease into studying the concepts that Optimus prep GMAT teaches you is still absolutely necessary to achieve the results that you want, but I would not be satisfied with my GMAT without taking the On Demand Online Prep Course.
I definitely think the course is worth the money and time investment. I've heard from many people that if you want the best in GMAT prep, then go with Optimus prep. If I had to pay the same price for a GMAT prep course, I would definitely choose Optimus prep all over again.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings