Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [983]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Time is of the essence
October 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By amandabonifaz joined: March 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  |
If you're like me, schoolwork, clubs and work take up the bulk of your bulk of your day. By the end of it, all you want to do is kick back and relax. But before you know it, it's time to go to sleep and you still haven't studied for the GMAT yet. This was a reoccurring issue for me, especially since the exam date was slowly approaching. Eventually, with about a month and a half left, I understandable began to panic. After all, this was the exam that students prepped months and years before taking. How was I going to bs such a large quantity of time in a month and a half? After a distressed post on twitter, I received a comment about GMAT Pill's study plan. And god bless for them, that it was already structured. After downloading their app, I use every opportunity I had to prep myself. Sometimes having a little routine can help you make progress. This was especially true throughout my month and a half of studying. The progress tracker available on the company's website greatly boosted my confident. I could see the number of questions I got correctly, slowly increasing. Needless to say, I felt greatly prepared for the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great class, amazing instructor!
October 09 | 2014

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehi
Veritas was a great prep course for the GMAT. The materials are very helpful and the practice tests had a great breakdown of scoring trends and analysis. Very helpful! Also, the live online course is a very handy tool for those who travel or find it difficult to get to a class center.

As far as instructors go, Ethan Todras-Whitehill was the best! Ethan TW did a great job of keeping the class engaged (even on a weekend morning) and was a great overall instructor. His lessons were very clear, thorough, and lively. He encouraged questions and participation and he was very accessible (even after the course ended). I will also never watch the Princess Bride the same again!

Great instructor, great materials, great course!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
200 points-increase! Highly recommended!
October 08 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By lmboston joined: November 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I recently completed the Veritas online course taught by Ravi Sreerama.The structure of the course was excellent, and Ravi was beyond amazing. The class covers 12 important topics, there's lots of homework available, 10 practice tests, and lesson videos available for you to review at any time. I absolutely loved the Skill Builder part on each topic, especially for the quant part. It laterally explains math to you like you've never seen it before, lol, and that was exactly the kind of review I needed. Before enrolling in this class I did my research and I was a bit skeptical about the great reviews posted about Veritasprep. But now, after taking the class, I am convinced that the five star reviews are a hundred percent accurate. Honestly I was hoping to get 50 points improvement for the most, since that was what most reviews say about Gmat prep courses .Well… I took the real Gmat yesterday and my score was 200 points higher than the score of the first official Gmat test I took, for which I studied on my own (big mistake).

What I learned from this course and from Ravi is that if you are dedicated to the process and you put the work in, you WILL see positive results. If you think that people who score high on the Gmat are simply not the average people or they are smarter than YOU, think again! Scoring high on the Gmat it’s totally doable, and great courses like the Veritasprep course and instructors like Ravi are there to help you make it.

I’m glad I took this class and I highly recommend Veritas and Ravi for your GMAT preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course
October 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By vatsal1988 joined: June 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
The e-gmat course is the one stop point for any GMAT test taker. Its unique methodology of online preparation is something that will help both native and non native test taker. The course accustoms you to a level of less difficulty to high difficulty in gradual manner.

For past few months, I have seen visible improvement in my mock score. I particularly like the Live Prep and the online workshops. For anyone looking for subscription, I would definitely recommend a combo of Live Prep and Workshops.

The added advantage is additional material from 800score.com and GMAT club. I would say it's bang for the buck or even more!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT- A great resource and guide
October 08 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By arunspanda joined: October 4, 2013 | 123 | 45 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
This year in March, I felt bad after my poor performance in GMAT Prep-I. I scored 630 with V27 and Q49. Immediately, I focused my preparation on Verbal. As a non-native speaker, I was very slow in choosing the correct choice in SC. Even though I had MGMAT SC strategy guide, I was not able to apply the concepts in the mock test. In order to make up my verbal, I enrolled myself in the e-GMAT SC course. I was amazed to find the concepts nicely organised and structured. As I progressed learning important concepts with GMAT-like sentence example, I could understand the sentence structure. The OG explanation became clear. The course trained me to focus on sentence meaning. The course helped me to understand how to analyse the sentence by breaking it into clauses and then think on logic to build their relation. I gained confidence after I scored V35 in GMAT prep-II. I will be appearing GMAT on 15th November and I eagerly hope to reach a target score of V40 with the help of e-GMAT.

Thanks e-GMAT team.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course for non native GMAT test takers
October 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By abdqureshi joined: October 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
The course was absolutely great - when i started off i had absolutely no idea about the sentence correction and i was lost. I thought maybe i could never do the SC and my verbal could not go beyond 15. When i took my first diagnostic i scored 9 and after working very hard i was at 17 but then i came across egmat and after preparing for 3 months i am now hovering around 36 - a huge jump. I would definitely recommend non native speakers to go for this course :) I have studied from many other books and sources but found egmat to be the best by far. Thanks egmat team.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
The best online courses available for non natives
October 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ObsessedWithGMAT joined: January 30, 2011 | 9 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
The egamt course is one of the best online courses available in the market.

The SC course in particular is great.
I can certainly tell you that e-gamt 3 step process is the best way to approach SC questions.
(I have been to couple of gmat classes and also have attended other companies' online courses -the trail courses)

Understanding the meaning is the key and following the e-gamt 3 step process, one can certainly finish SC questions with ease.
Remember that vertical reading for splits and just studying the grammar rule alone wont help you crack 700 level questions.

All the concepts will be explained and at the end of each concept file there will be a quiz that is really helpful to test our skills.
(This is not only for the SC section, but also for CR and RC sections.)

The best part about the Live prep is that you get to attend sessions that are very very important. Concepts will be explained and tutors will solve 700 level questions with you. The best of the tutors will be there to help you.

I will recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve get a big score in the GMAT.

In short, I would describe the course as worthwhile and well worth the money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-gmat course review
October 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sunnymantri joined: June 11, 2013 | 3 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Dear GMAT Club Members

Background:

I took my GMAT exam a few months ago and scored a 600 (Q49, V26).

You do not have to be a rocket scientist to guess that I am a non-native English speaker. However, I never thought this would happen with me because –firstly, I am a voracious reader (English), secondly, I have been working in an English speaking country for past 3.5 years and finally my IELTS score, which I took a month before taking GMAT, was 8.5 with a perfect score 9 in speaking, listening and reading.

I spent hundreds of hours to improve my SC but to no avail. I could not understand why.

About a month after the exam, I started looking for an online course which would emphasis on verbal section particularly SC. There are lot of prep companies out there and many of them are really good, however one needs to choose based on what may work for them. Sometimes the sheer volume of prep companies makes this choice very hard for us.

E-gmat course: As you may be aware that it is an online e-learning tool which focuses on verbal section of GMAT (Quant is new so don’t know much about it). The company claims to have receive the highest positive reviews by customers on GMAT club. Given the quality of their course, I do not have any doubts about their claim.

I have listed the good and bad parts of the course which may help you make a decision.

What works:
- Content – E-gmat verbal has an awesome online content. They have nailed it. They have covered even small topics in great depth. Each topic has an online pre and post assessment quizzes, which helps you quickly see improvements in your understanding.

- Explanation – The content delivery is structured, consistent and most importantly is very effective. I loved their three step approach in SC. I was bit sceptical about their approach initially but when started applying it, I could see the results. My mock test verbal results have improved significantly and I now easily score above 36 ( highest 42, average 38).

- Blogs – I believe they are single biggest source of online article on tricky verbal concepts except GMAT club.

- Support - Their support team is also very great. Why, because it responds quickly (generally in a day’s time) with detailed solution to your question or problem. I have asked personal queries about strategy etc to Rajat and he got back to me in a day’s time with a detailed advice.

- Cost - $199, which I think is reasonable and fair.

- Free online sessions: E-gmat offers a lot of free verbal and strategies online sessions in which you can actually get a feel of virtual class room experience. I attended few and found them to be very useful. Specially the strategy session which has really useful tips.

I must have got you into thinking that e-gmat can’t do anything wrong. Unfortunately, like with all things, there is a flip side.

What does not work

- Website : The e-gmat website is a huge let down. The website is really clunky and very horribly designed. Even though it has nice look and feel to it , navigating through the website, hopping from video to another video is a night mare. One such example: You have type your bloody password every time you open e-gmat in a new tab. I think the designers never heard about the concept of called cookies !! They have recently moved from platform 1.0 to platform 2.0 but that hasn’t made any difference. It is still horrible. May they can take cue from Magoosh’s website - its sleek, elegant, simple and very user friendly.

- Questions : Though the e-gmat offers you heaps of concept files (questions are lumped into groups) to hone your skills but I have doubts about their claim of number of questions they offer (half of them are from their partner sites such as GMAT club test and 800score.com ) . There is no way you can tell that the number of questions you have got right, wrong etc. at given point in time. In fact if you want to revisit a specific question you can’t do that, you have to search through concept files, search for your question which is really tedious.

- Timing of sessions : Most of the free sessions are conducted at 7:30 pm IST which is 11:00 PM AEST. For me it was incredibly hard to attend those sessions live (recording links are made available the very next day). I know this might not be a problem to most of the other e-gmat users.

I personally believe if you are weak at Verbal then perhaps e-gmat verbal online is the best online course out in the market.

I am going to take the test again in November and hopefully score my dream score of 750 plus (I know, I know it’s very hard).

Wish me luck.

Thanks,
Sunny
P.S. GMATclub rocks !
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT Verbal live course review
October 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By SHREYADUBEY joined: December 15, 2013 | 6 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Hi All,

I have taken egmat course and I found it very good for the preparation of GMAT.
It has started explaining the verbal from very basic and after explaining every grammar
rules, there are quizzes of GMAT level. egmat has covered each and every topics of
verbal and has explained in such a way that anyone can understand it and remember it.

I was weak in Verbal ,however after taking the course I am confident about my verbal now.
Before taking egmat course ,I was confused between egmat and Crackverbal, however I am
very happy now that I opted for e-GMAT course.This is the best course for GMAT.

e-GMAT has made my verbal strong.
Thank you very much e-GMAT :)

I have planned to give GMAT on November 2014, this confident is because of e-GMAT course :)

Thanks,
Shreya
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good for Math, but still to basic if you want to hit 700
October 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By GMAT17325 joined: June 7, 2014 | 8 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Pros:
-Math videos are representative and include cool tricks for the test
-video lessons are short and easy to follow- especially great for learning after a full-time job.
-the predictor score for the math was representative of what I actually got.

Cons:
-Verbal questions are too easy and not representative.
-I was only able to generate two practice test from the test pool.
-the predictor for verbal is not very accurate as i was more than 15 points off for my verbal.


In summary, I took this course to for the 50 points increase. Sadly, after 2 more month of studying, I got the same scale score and only increased my total score by 10 points. If you are looking to break the 700 barrier, this course is too basic for you. I will be looking into additional resources for help. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings