Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1036]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
E-GMAT is the best for Non native speakers
November 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Mohitbhatia880 joined: March 17, 2012 | 7 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I signed up VLP for the sentence correction and critical reasoning sections. I would recommend this course for a non-native speaker as it helps to understand basic things through its extensive online module course and then discussions during online classes.

E-GMAT can be useful because after each lesson there are quizzes to complete which for that moment makes you completely engrossed in the topic and cover every aspect. The quizzes re-enforces the lessons. Personally, I feel that E_GMAT is more detailed in teaching both SC and CR. It teaches you the application, not just the rules.

For SC, understanding the meaning, then breaking of sentences into clauses and then identifying the errors is a technique no other course teaches you.

CR is again taught by an experienced team with a very simple formula. Understand the argument and pre-think the assumption. I bet 95% of times if you pre-think the assumption, you will get a correct answer.


Key highlights of E-GMAT:

Covers key areas in sentence correction for the GMAT
Different levels to complete before moving to next one
Can access online recording anytime
Attend classes in any batch
New CR quizzes started by them are very good.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Must for non-natives to gain confidence in verbal
November 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 21, 2012 | 1 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I must thank e-gmat team for the Excellent course and support provided. Verbal was weak area because of Sentence Correction. I was practicing OG, kaplan and other courses, but was unable to improve in SC. At this juncue i came across e-gmat and an over-whelming response in GmatClub.com. Without any delay i wrote to e-gmat team and explained my situation in SC. They suggested me try the course for free and attend few webinars and take my decision. Gotta tell you the first SC webinar on SC was simply amazing and my doubts got clarified and purchased the VLP. VLP would be useful for people who are bored of reading and don't grasp he content. The video approach was very good and the pictorial way of teaching is phenomenal. For me, i could easily get what is being told with the help of pictures and audio.
Best about SC : Understand the meaning and meaning is everything to select correct answer choice.
Best about CR: Pre-thinking comes in real handy, but you gotta practice pre-thinking.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
GREAT EXPERIENCE
November 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By erikbsteele joined: November 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  brandon Pierpont
If you're looking for a convenient and flexible way to understand the fundamentals of GMAT, then the online veritas course is perfect. Even though you're not in class you are easily able to ask questions and receive quick responses from your instructor. I would definitely take it again if I needed a review.

The slides follow along with assigned books so well and the pace is perfect for people who don't like wasting time (6 weeks about). You are constantly doing examples to thoroughly understand the subjects at hand, which is explained by the teacher afterward.

A side bonus is you get two 7 minute breaks! POPCORN

If you are lucky enough to get Brandon Pierpont as your instructor, you will do just fine.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Boon for non native speakers
November 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sailorshinde joined: October 22, 2013 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I was advised to use e-gmat for my verbal prep by a Columbia Alum. So I took it up straight away after being on a few of Rajat's free sessions. This is when I decided to take e-gmat.

What I totally loved were the examples and the videos. It made a lot of sense and for someone who was always on the move it was worth every penny. Secondly, when I decided to postpone my exam date they were very helpful in deactivating and then reactivating the subscription.

This course truly gives value for money for the non-native speaker. There are so many small nuances in our English that we always fall in the GMAT traps. Verbal is more important for a good score than is quant.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
A must have boon for every non native english GMAT aspirants
November 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By tarunmsr joined: April 2, 2011 | 3 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Hello Everyone,

I am a non native GMAT aspirant from Engineering background.
Hence, being from engg. background, I had little or no issues with the PS & DS (Maths) part.
Nonetheless, I had serious issues with verbal part(specially sentence correction).
Its a win-win situation for non natives.

Then I took e-GMAT course and thing started to change henceforth. I improved my error finding on SC questions, my overall reading and understanding skill improved significantly.

This is a good course and an excellent one for non natives. The course has been divided onto 3 to 4 main topics -each focussing on various aspects/topics of S0 that even a laymen could understand and improve.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great product for self-studying
November 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By borneangel joined: November 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
After I signed up for the free trial account I was convinced that this course can help me to prepare efficiently for the GMAT. The interface was clear and easy to follow. The lessons helped me to understand the maths behind the questions and the verbal rules and lists of formulas were also very helpful. I practiced every day for about 6 hours and after 6 weeks I scored around 700 in the practice tests.

Because I had some weaknesses were the course didn’t help me I decided to take 5 hours of private tutoring. I was able to ask a few questions during these lessons and it helped me understanding the problems with absolute values or roots way better.

I also learned a few strategies how to use the time and how to deal with stress. Then I went to the test center and scored 700. I was satisfied with my score but I have also to say that the practice tests were a bit easier than the real GMAT. My tutor told me this is because of stress and pressure on test day. Anyway, I scored 700 and just spent $299. ;-)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Superb SC Course
November 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By kp1989 joined: September 3, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I had written the GMAT twice, each time I saw minor improvement in my verbal score. After reading various sc articles on gmatclub, for my final attempt I finally decided to jump on E-gmat's verbal course. I competed the SC module and in my view Egmat's SC process has by far been the most effective way for tackling SC. Seeing my improvement in SC, I have also subscribed to RC, CR and Quant.

The website is extremely user friendly and the support provided is excellent. Any emails sent to Egmat is quickly responded to(I never had to wait more then an hour).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great value, but not a standalone prep course
November 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Crazyarmo1 joined: November 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh is a really affordable, easy to use, even fun prep site for the GMAT. Each question has a thorough, easy to understand answer explanation in both text and video form. New tests are automatically generated, so I was able to take a test each day for 2 months leading up to my exam. When I started I was probably at a 650 skill level and I ended up getting a 750.

The only complaint I have about Magoosh is that the questions, especially in the Quant section, are slightly easier than the actual test. They do offer a selection of "Very Hard" rated questions that are good to practice with, but there are too few of them. For example, there were only 3 Very Hard Algebra problems.

I would highly recommend Magoosh to anyone studying for the GMAT, but I would recommend complementing it with another resource, like a Kaplan book, or practice tests. I would also urge Magoosh to add to their question bank, especially the Very Hard questions.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT is an excellent source for preparing Verbal section of GMAT
November 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 16, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
e-GMAT is an excellent source for preparing Verbal section of GMAT. The SC and CR are the best - with explanations to simple as well as complex concepts, and the step process of splitting the long sentence to different clauses and attacking each clause separately is awesome. In addition the audio explanation of OG solutions following e-gmat method is really helpful as it solidifies the SC concepts learned in different sections of the course. I hope e-gmat ADD's few more audio explanations of OG questions.
I will recommend this course to everyone who is preparing for GMAT or otherwise who wants to improve on his or her writing skills.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome course!
November 04 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By are2125 joined: November 4, 2014 | 1 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
The on-demand course offered by Veritas Prep was just what I was looking for. It offered me to study at my own pace, off-hours, and challenge myself in areas that I knew I needed help with. The virtual instructors were extremely engaging and fun to listen to, and definitely helped me in remembering the GMAT lessons long after finishing the course. Brian loves using sports analogies, and if you're the type of person who needs complex problems to be broken down into easy to understand scenarios, Brian is a really effective instructor for you. Also, the office hours are great for following up on challenging problem sets and getting one on one attention.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings