Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1761]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Personalized Affordable GMAT Test Prep
August 13 | 2015

       By theduzzi813 joined: July 12, 2015 | 4 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
When I decided to study for the GMAT, I knew that I needed personalized instruction at an affordable cost. I wanted to supplement my book study with an online, on-demand resource which would provide me some of the techniques and answers that could not be gleaned from self-study. I started my study with a 670 diagnostic test, and I scored a 720 just four weeks later. EMPOWERgmat proved to be the perfect resource.

EMPOWERgmat is an incredibly affordable option which personalizes your study by providing multiple bite-sized chunks in the topics that you want to learn. It requires you to be an active participant in your learning. This style is not for everyone, but after studying for other standardized test, I believe that active studying is the key to test prep mastery. For me, I could optimize my busy schedule with mini-lessons in the topics that confused me. I could ignore or skim the lessons that I had mastered. EMPOWERgmat gives you the perfect tricks and techniques, taught by master teachers in mini-videos, after you attempt real practice problems. EMPOWERgmat relies on the Official Guide questions, which allows you to re-visit some of these questions for a second or third time, but under a different focus. Here, EMPOWERgmat teachers will teach you the most efficient, more effective way to answer these questions. Mastering their techniques will allow you to replicate this success on test day.

My main criticism of this program was the last of Computer Adaptive Tests ("CATs") included in the program. Purchasing these CATs separately increased the price, but only marginally, and the overall cost for this study method was still much cheaper than many competing options. The next step is for EMPOWERgmat to include CATs in its program; I would gladly pay extra with this additional perk.

Overall, EMPOWERgmat is right for you if you like to customize your studying, learn tricks from the masters of the GMAT, and save money for your celebratory champagne. Thanks, EMPOWERgmat, for helping me into the 700+ Club.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
An Awesome Course to truly bolster your score
August 13 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By canarenravishankar joined: September 25, 2012 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I signed up for the Magoosh GMAT Premium course and have truly stumbled across a treasure chest which offers a truly comprehensive set of resources to prepare for a competitive exam
Few things which I truly liked about the course are (1)The large number of questions available on the question bank covering difficulty areas ranging from easy - very difficult (Truly a confidence booster for a person wanting comprehensive coverage of all topics tested)
(2)The magoosh software also comes with a score predictor which predicts the most likely quant and verbal score based on the number of questions answered correctly
(3)The interface is truly terrific with a pacer (allowing specific comparisons with all the users who have answered the question)
(4)All the questions are accompanied with video explanations
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
It might be very helpful for some
August 12 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By cssmarimo joined: May 2, 2013 | 25 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
The algorithm is very good, but I have some concerns about the contents.


If you don’t know anything about this course, I will explain it to you by my words. This is not a typical course that you can go back and review things. The algorithm decides what you need to study and focus on your weakness. For example, for the first several weeks, you will receive a lesson-type-of-contents and you will learn the rules and techniques. And meanwhile, you will get some related questions. And algorithm kicks off and knows what your weakness and your strengths. And start focusing on your weakness till you really get them. At the end, if you don’t like to think what to study, this program might be very helpful, but if you want to control whatever you want to study, this might not be your thing. Yes, you can actually pick what topic you want to do, but that tool is really limited. After going through 5 questions, you will not have a choice anymore.



Second, actual tutors. They are simply useless. Sometimes, they are kind of useful, especially in math section, but for verbal, personally, I literally stopped using it because they really didn’t help me much.



Third, verbal section. They teach the basic concepts and some interesting techniques, but not all. And sometimes they seemed to contradict with OG and Manhattan, for example. And when I pointed that out, tutors never gave me a satisfying answer. Since I am not native, I’m not sure whether I was missing something or they simply didn’t know what they were talking about.



Fourth, quant. Since my score had been 49 or 50 in the actual GMAT test, my score didn’t improve at all, but I guess for some people it might be very helpful because there are SO MUCH problems you encounter. If you are below 48, I think it is worth doing 90% of the problems.



The only thing that I thought it was helpful was that I had this feeling that I need to study more and more to reach 90%, and thus it made me really study… To get to 50% is pretty easy. You can do it within a month, pretty easy. But after 50% it takes about 3 times longer to finish another 50%, so be aware of that if you are planning to take this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-Gmat Verbal Review
August 12 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By rt31 joined: August 8, 2013 | 3 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
In my first attempt, I could not improve my Verbal Score beyond 27 using MGMAT and I wanted a solid coaching on SC, CR and RC fundamentals. While I was searching for verbal courses on GMAT Club I came across e-gmat free articles and free videos and I really liked the approach of solving the verbal questions. What I found was amazing, though the same concepts are covered in MGMAT verbal books somehow I was able to grasp and learn more from e-gmat video lectures and was able to solve the same questions with so much ease.
I personally think for non-natives e-gmat approach works better than any other gmat courses available on the market, at least for me it worked.
The live sessions by Rajat and Payal were very interactive in nature and helped me to strengthen my concepts. After going through the course, I was able to solve most official questions easily. The program is designed in such a way that students can progress at their own pace and can attend multiple sessions and there are tons of questions available for practice.

I really recommend this course if you are a non-native and struggling with the Verbal part of the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep course
August 12 | 2015

       By atlanta joined: July 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep course has helped to boost my confidence in the verbal part.The course is well structured and is designed in such a way to make the learning process easy and interesting.All modules covered in the verbal session are of great quality.The modifier lessons in SC were of great use to understand the nuances of verbing and verbed modifiers.In CR the emphasis on prethinking part helped a lot to eliminate the wrong choices for the right reason.The methodical approach followed in Bold face questions like linking roles of different statements with the conclusion helped to save a lot of time while evaluating the answer choices.Overall my learning experience with the verbal live prep course has been extremely good , and I suggest this course to all gmat aspirants.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT Quant Live Prep course
August 12 | 2015

       By atlanta joined: July 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I am completly satisfied with the e-GMAT Quant Live Prep course.Topics on number properties, Inequalities and probabIlity are the best.The good part about the course is that there are very few formulas to remember and mostly it is the application of these basic formulas.Live sessions are really good pointing out the pitfalls often encountered in DS questions.Sessions taken by Japinder and Krishna were really good.They teaches you the right approach for each question type.This has helped to save a lot of time.I would suggest this course to anyone who wants to improve their quant score in a short span of time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT Quant Live Prep review
August 12 | 2015

       By rkhannagmat joined: October 19, 2014 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
GMAT Quant LIVE-prep course is a great help for those scoring in the range of q 45. It helps to increase confidence in test taking abilities with techniques and tricks to remember certain strategies so as to aim for q50. The course was extremely helpful and provided great explanations of the answers.
I would definitely recommend the weekend quantitative course to anyone struggling with the math portion!
Prior to attending this course I had done a few practice exams, but I was having difficulty with several sections of the material. With enrolling the e-GMAT Quant LIVE -Prep course, I felt much more comfortable with taking the GMAT for real. e-GMAT does a good job of showing you which portions are important, and has a comprehensive set of practice equations. I hope to complete learning and practice all the chapters and expecting my final test score to be excellent
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep review
August 12 | 2015

       By rkhannagmat joined: October 19, 2014 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I registered for e-gmat’s VLP course in early 2015. The eGMAT’s 3 step approach to SC and foundation concepts in CR are good.
Earlier in CR Qs I used to jump directly on to the options in order to evaluate the choices. This method took more time and my accuracy did not improve beyond 70%. Then I followed foundation concepts in CR. Initially I struggled with time but soon my accuracy and timings improved. Pre-thinking in CR’s helps you to understand the core of the argument, thereby making it easier to evaluate the answer choices.
The importance of the meaning in SC Q’s and the 3 step approach is one of the best methods I have come across. My SC strike rate has increased and now I am more confident while marking the answers.
Moreover, the Scholaranium – a quiz platform which has been launched recently, gives you the ability to measure your weaknesses in different areas and provides you with lots a practice questions that too with awesome explanations and statistics.
Finally, the live sessions, which are conducted by their superb faculty, provide you with great insights on common traps. All the SC live sessions and CR pre thinking session were an eye opener for me.
I would highly recommend the verbal course to anyone who wants to crack verbal in GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Comprehensive and Effective!
August 11 | 2015

       By ankitasinha joined: November 19, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
When i started preparing for GMAT i was at loss( what to study and how to study)but e-gmat courses really helped .Its a comprehensive course which encompasses everything you ought to know.The course is designed in an efficient and interactive manner which ensures learning. The concepts that are taught in e-gmat course is very effective and helps a lot in tackling the problems.Live classes are especially helpful as they not only help in consolidating the concepts one have built so far but also help in identifying weak spots that needs attention.I would easily recommend this course to anyone who is interested in taking GMAT.

Happy learning!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Verbal Online - good improvement in SC
August 11 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By ash99 joined: April 12, 2013 | 38 | 11 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
e-GMAT Verbal Online is a comprehensive package that includes sentence correction, reading comprehension and critical reasoning in a way that is easy to remember(i believe that the methods and strategies used in this course are good). Its Sentence Correction is best designed for non native speakers.The course is structured in such a way that you need no additional study material.Make sure you go through the course as it is structured.Don't rush otherwise you will mess up things

I would recommend this course to anyone who wishes to improve their verbal score especially SC. All the best!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings