Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [978]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
The best online courses available for non natives
October 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ObsessedWithGMAT joined: January 30, 2011 | 9 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
The egamt course is one of the best online courses available in the market.

The SC course in particular is great.
I can certainly tell you that e-gamt 3 step process is the best way to approach SC questions.
(I have been to couple of gmat classes and also have attended other companies' online courses -the trail courses)

Understanding the meaning is the key and following the e-gamt 3 step process, one can certainly finish SC questions with ease.
Remember that vertical reading for splits and just studying the grammar rule alone wont help you crack 700 level questions.

All the concepts will be explained and at the end of each concept file there will be a quiz that is really helpful to test our skills.
(This is not only for the SC section, but also for CR and RC sections.)

The best part about the Live prep is that you get to attend sessions that are very very important. Concepts will be explained and tutors will solve 700 level questions with you. The best of the tutors will be there to help you.

I will recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve get a big score in the GMAT.

In short, I would describe the course as worthwhile and well worth the money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-gmat course review
October 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sunnymantri joined: June 11, 2013 | 3 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Dear GMAT Club Members

Background:

I took my GMAT exam a few months ago and scored a 600 (Q49, V26).

You do not have to be a rocket scientist to guess that I am a non-native English speaker. However, I never thought this would happen with me because –firstly, I am a voracious reader (English), secondly, I have been working in an English speaking country for past 3.5 years and finally my IELTS score, which I took a month before taking GMAT, was 8.5 with a perfect score 9 in speaking, listening and reading.

I spent hundreds of hours to improve my SC but to no avail. I could not understand why.

About a month after the exam, I started looking for an online course which would emphasis on verbal section particularly SC. There are lot of prep companies out there and many of them are really good, however one needs to choose based on what may work for them. Sometimes the sheer volume of prep companies makes this choice very hard for us.

E-gmat course: As you may be aware that it is an online e-learning tool which focuses on verbal section of GMAT (Quant is new so don’t know much about it). The company claims to have receive the highest positive reviews by customers on GMAT club. Given the quality of their course, I do not have any doubts about their claim.

I have listed the good and bad parts of the course which may help you make a decision.

What works:
- Content – E-gmat verbal has an awesome online content. They have nailed it. They have covered even small topics in great depth. Each topic has an online pre and post assessment quizzes, which helps you quickly see improvements in your understanding.

- Explanation – The content delivery is structured, consistent and most importantly is very effective. I loved their three step approach in SC. I was bit sceptical about their approach initially but when started applying it, I could see the results. My mock test verbal results have improved significantly and I now easily score above 36 ( highest 42, average 38).

- Blogs – I believe they are single biggest source of online article on tricky verbal concepts except GMAT club.

- Support - Their support team is also very great. Why, because it responds quickly (generally in a day’s time) with detailed solution to your question or problem. I have asked personal queries about strategy etc to Rajat and he got back to me in a day’s time with a detailed advice.

- Cost - $199, which I think is reasonable and fair.

- Free online sessions: E-gmat offers a lot of free verbal and strategies online sessions in which you can actually get a feel of virtual class room experience. I attended few and found them to be very useful. Specially the strategy session which has really useful tips.

I must have got you into thinking that e-gmat can’t do anything wrong. Unfortunately, like with all things, there is a flip side.

What does not work

- Website : The e-gmat website is a huge let down. The website is really clunky and very horribly designed. Even though it has nice look and feel to it , navigating through the website, hopping from video to another video is a night mare. One such example: You have type your bloody password every time you open e-gmat in a new tab. I think the designers never heard about the concept of called cookies !! They have recently moved from platform 1.0 to platform 2.0 but that hasn’t made any difference. It is still horrible. May they can take cue from Magoosh’s website - its sleek, elegant, simple and very user friendly.

- Questions : Though the e-gmat offers you heaps of concept files (questions are lumped into groups) to hone your skills but I have doubts about their claim of number of questions they offer (half of them are from their partner sites such as GMAT club test and 800score.com ) . There is no way you can tell that the number of questions you have got right, wrong etc. at given point in time. In fact if you want to revisit a specific question you can’t do that, you have to search through concept files, search for your question which is really tedious.

- Timing of sessions : Most of the free sessions are conducted at 7:30 pm IST which is 11:00 PM AEST. For me it was incredibly hard to attend those sessions live (recording links are made available the very next day). I know this might not be a problem to most of the other e-gmat users.

I personally believe if you are weak at Verbal then perhaps e-gmat verbal online is the best online course out in the market.

I am going to take the test again in November and hopefully score my dream score of 750 plus (I know, I know it’s very hard).

Wish me luck.

Thanks,
Sunny
P.S. GMATclub rocks !
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT Verbal live course review
October 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By SHREYADUBEY joined: December 15, 2013 | 6 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Hi All,

I have taken egmat course and I found it very good for the preparation of GMAT.
It has started explaining the verbal from very basic and after explaining every grammar
rules, there are quizzes of GMAT level. egmat has covered each and every topics of
verbal and has explained in such a way that anyone can understand it and remember it.

I was weak in Verbal ,however after taking the course I am confident about my verbal now.
Before taking egmat course ,I was confused between egmat and Crackverbal, however I am
very happy now that I opted for e-GMAT course.This is the best course for GMAT.

e-GMAT has made my verbal strong.
Thank you very much e-GMAT :)

I have planned to give GMAT on November 2014, this confident is because of e-GMAT course :)

Thanks,
Shreya
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good for Math, but still to basic if you want to hit 700
October 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By GMAT17325 joined: June 7, 2014 | 8 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Pros:
-Math videos are representative and include cool tricks for the test
-video lessons are short and easy to follow- especially great for learning after a full-time job.
-the predictor score for the math was representative of what I actually got.

Cons:
-Verbal questions are too easy and not representative.
-I was only able to generate two practice test from the test pool.
-the predictor for verbal is not very accurate as i was more than 15 points off for my verbal.


In summary, I took this course to for the 50 points increase. Sadly, after 2 more month of studying, I got the same scale score and only increased my total score by 10 points. If you are looking to break the 700 barrier, this course is too basic for you. I will be looking into additional resources for help. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
It didn't really work for me
October 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 12, 2014 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
I had a 45 days to prepare for th GMAT, thats when I came across The GMAT Tutor. I was trying to find a good GMAT prep material that would help me cover topics quicklyI really loved the 7 day trial experience.But there is a downside. There are a few positive and negatives points about this course.
_________________________________________________________________
Quant - The syllabus covers everything. If you choose to select manual pilot you can finish the portion in 10 days. The Number chapter was the best. It covered every basic rule and has a good question set. Which also helped me crack most the DS questions.
In Auto mode - if you get the problems incorrect, the GMAT Tutor keeps giving more practise problems. So time taken to cover the syllabus increases based on the questions you get right.

overall experience with the Quant section was good
_________________________________________________________________
Verbal -
SC - This has been broken down in easy lessons. But on the downside. I noticed a lot of practice problems are repetitive. They have the same logic but different words.

RC - When it comes to practice problems it gives a different RC passage for every question. This is something i didn't like. If it could actually follow the GMAT pattern where it presents a set of question for one RC.

CR - Good set of practice problems.

overall experience with the Verbal section - unhappy
_________________________________________________________

At 75% - all topics are covered. Now comes the practice. The verbal practice was totally useless(it gets really boring answering the same questions over and over again). The Quant section has many repetitive questions.

_________________________________________________
Now the most important part

The "Sim Test " - these test are totally NOT up to the mark .
Reasons

1. The difficulty level of easy, medium and hard questions are not balanced.
2. Scoring is weird
3. The most annoying part was the same questions that are in the practice questions(while covering topics) appear in the test . I saw a the same RC in the 2 of Sim Test.
4. Quant totally not up to the mark. (The actual GMAT questions are harder comparatively)


This prep material is good to get you through the GMAT topics. But I WOULD NOT recommend this for practice.
There are better prep materials in the market that could get you 700+

_________________________________________________________

I'm writing this review after giving my actual GMAT. I got a horrible score, not worth mentioning(Yes, its that bad). The GMAT Tutor (its adaptive nature) didn't work for me.

Now I plan to retake the GMAT again. This time I'll be sure to not just depend on one prep material.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-gmat the door to GMAT success
October 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By madmonkmaya joined: May 27, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I was recommended by a friend to go for the e-gmat course. Initially i wondered what more can this course provide but when i checked it out , it was an all new experience. The way the e-gmat people treat us is great and the way the course is designed is how it should be done.
Sentence Correction is the strongest part of the course and i feel SC is where most of the non native students fell the maximum pain , but SC is explained wonderfully well and all the concepts become very clear.
Reading comprehension is divided in such a way that the passage becomes small portions and it becomes easy to get over them and get the correct answers.
Critical reason is for some the easiest part, but for others the most difficult nut to crack. The e-gmat process explains everything in detail, and the most difficult problems become the easiest to solve.
Integrated Reasoning is explained in detail and cover all the portions.
The visual graphics makes learning fun and makes a solid base for the clarity of concepts.
I am still preparing for the exam but i am sure the knowledge that i have gained from this course will help me achieve my target score.
E-gmat provides free trail for some of its services. Anyone, who is looking to buy an online gmat prep course should opt for the e-gmat course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
In verbal you can think like maths using E-GMAT course.
October 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Amit9687 joined: October 3, 2013 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
For 6 months, I had prepared using MGMAT and other popular text books such as Powerscore,Aristotal 99 RC etc, but when I gave my mock I could not even cross 650 mark. After analysing my mocks I realized that I was doing lot of mistakes in SC, specially in the area of modifier and comparison. Even after doing MGMAT for 3 times I could not figure out the root cause, which made me frustrated.
Then I came across E-GMAT course. I initially purchased only SC part as this was the area dreading me the most. After going through foundation and SV module,I realized that I learned application of lot of concepts ,which I saw somewhere in MGMAT books but did not knew how to use them.The best part of E-GMAT is that they teach how to approach in a step by step process ,which is very helpful and make you feel confident while marking answer choice during exam. Also all their videos are short, lucid, interactive and teach how to apply their 3 step process so that your brain start functioning in a structure manner. I have almost finished my SC course and to be very honest I have now start enjoying solving SC problem, which dreaded me at one time, like maths problem .My accuracy has also improved a lot.
I was so tempted by my SC progress that I upgraded my course to verbal live. So far I have done Foundation and Inference concept ,resulting in a very good understanding of structure of CR passages . Also Live sessions are very helpful as you can practice how to apply concepts taught in modules. In Live sessions you also get a chance to attend workshop ,which provide a very good analysis of your weak areas and provide ways to improve over them.
Overall E-GMAT course has given me a confidence that with right approach and sufficient practice I can score well in verbal .
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A perfect course for Non-natives
October 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rajsinghal71 joined: July 28, 2013 | 3 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Dear all,

To start with my background, I did my schooling from Hindi medium. Last year, I decided to write the GMAT exam so I registered for classroom program from ThePrincetonreview. In Dec 2013, I wrote the exam and I ended up with a score of 580( q-51, v-19). I was shocked with my verbal score.I realized that Princeton program was of little help for me as it does not provide any approach for verbal questions. I did prepare for CAT so quant was like a cake walk for me.

We , Indians love the word “free” so before writing the exam, I registered for E-gmat free classes and attended free sessions. Though, I loved their strategies for Cr-prethinking, SC- 3 step and RC- 7 points but I did not follow the same in the exam . After the exam, I knew where do I need to improve and how.
I registered for e-gmat verbal live prep course. I must admit that this course has been very useful for me in all three types of questions.

Reading- Before registering for the course, I was not an active reader. The RC strategy sessions taught me how should we read effectively . Today, I read all leading magazines such as TheEconomist, Scientific American etc. I just love their strategy so much that today, whenever, I read any articles from these magazines , I just follow RC strategy. Now, the strategy has been part of my reading style. It has not only improved my comprehension skills but also reading speed.

Sentence correction- Before writing the exam, I used to think that sc is all about grammer rules. Once you learn all grammar rules, you can master in sc but after the blunder in exam and after following e-gmat sc-meaning based approach , I realized that I was wrong. Grammer based approach might work in easy sc questions, but once you are getting tougher questions, most of the questions will be based on meaning and here, E-gmat sc course will help you , not Manhattan sc book.

Critical reasoning- I would strongly recommend e-gmat –prethinking approach if one wants to do good in CR. It has not only improved my accuracy but also solved timing issue.
I will be writing Gmat next month and I aim for 760. My sincerely thanks to E-GMAT team for coming up
Such an effective and useful course for non-natives.

Regards,
Rajan
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Why e-GMAT~
October 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By vikingh joined: June 15, 2013 | 1 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I joined this course because it guaranteed a quant score up to Q50. I was scoring Q46-48 before I took this course. So thought of giving it a try to see I could better my quant score further. I must admit that, this course has been the best guidance that I could have ever got to achieve Q49 and better. I took 3 mock tests in past few days and I have scored Q48(Veritas Prep),Q50(Kaplan) and Q51(Kaplan) respectively.

e-gmat quant course focused on different approaches to solve a problem, will help one in thinking smart rather than just asking to mug up a list of formulas and strategies. After attending NP1 and NPII live sessions I understood how rusty my number properties concepts were but with their clear and detailed explanations I was able to understand the Hard DS questions easily. I will rate the course 9/10. Hope to see a lesson on DS concepts :)

Thanks Team e-GMAT for all your efforts.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Structured Approach Leads To Fantastic Results
October 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By solerenegade joined: July 16, 2011 | 56 | 36 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I had written the GMAT twice and both times, I had come up short in the Verbal section. I considered myself fairly good at English and was reluctant to seek help or spend money on a prep course. However, when planning my third take, I decided to check out the free videos from different companies, just so to have a good pool of resources at my disposal. My biggest needs from a verbal prep point of view, were to change my approach and be regimented, as I needed to write the exam in 2 months' time. I tried video lessons offered by e-gmat, Magoosh and GMAT Pill. I was very happily surprised by the style of tutoring on the e-gmat video. Hesitant though I was, after exchanging a few e-mails with Rajat, one of the founders of e-gmat, and attending a free webinar hosted by him, I gave in to the idea of purchasing the Verbal Live Prep Course. Along with the course, I also got access to GMAT CLUB Tests, which I used extensively for Quant, and 800 score tests, which I did not use at all.

The e-gmat verbal Live Prep Course is divided into sections - CR, RC and SC. Each section is further divided into modules covering a specific concept. The concept/lessons in each module are video/slide lessons with a voice over, and can last up to 30 minutes. There are intermittent quizzes in between as well to gauge your progress. On weekends, 'live sessions' or classes are conducted by an e-gmat expert on an interactive webinar. A schedule is already given in advance which details all the modules that need to be completed before attending the live session.

The first thing that I realized while studying on the e-gmat course was that the Verbal section is not a test of English skills; it is majorly a test of logic and understanding the importance of clear and concise communication. The course builds on this foundation in a very structured manner.

I used the CR and SC section the most as RC was never an issue for me. The live sessions are a very good place to clear any lingering doubts while refreshing and consolidating the concepts learned. A very good feature of the course is the Live Workshop - which simulates a test like environment and tries to pin point areas where more focus is needed.
I completed the course, or rather portions of the course (since I did not touch RC) in about 1.5 months. Since the subscription is valid for 6 months, I used the course for revisions during the last 2 weeks of my prep. By the time I was done, I was able to implement the 'pre-thinking' and 'meaning' frame work on CR and SC questions quite easily.

I think the course really helped me 'un-learn' my old approach and learn a new way to tackle the Verbal section. I was able to get my score up from 35 to 42 and all credit must go to e-gmat. I have even incorporated some of the concepts in my day to day work as well while writing emails, and conversing with people, as colloquial English is 'error ridden' and does not necessarily follow the rules of the language.

I chose the course not because I am a 'non-native' but because I really liked the step by step structured approach that e-gmat offered. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to do well on the Verbal section of the GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings