Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1398]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Very good teaching
March 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 18, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Hi All,
I recently purchased magoosh after a lot of online research about which course is the best. I check a lot of them like Kaplan, veritas, gmat pill etc. Magoosh is the best one that i have seen till date.
The best part is, after each question there is a video about the solution.In the solution video the instructor solves it in real time in front of us, this not only helps us to find the solution but also helps us on how to approach the problem in a super fast manner.

One More thing that they have are the filters after every test that you take. Lot of filters. You can find flagged questions, incorrect questions, questions in which you took more time and a lot of other stuff.

All of this only @ $99. This is the cheapest by far.

Great Work from Magoosh
Thanks
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Much better than expected.
March 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Milind joined: November 8, 2009 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Positives -
1. Video explanations for each and every concept really helps to understand the concept in detail.
2. Great content - besides the subject related videos, the strategy videos in relevant sections are literally the game changer.
3. Practice questions - powered by some great practice questions.
4. Dashboard provides great insight of your preparation.
5. Another great feature is the timer for each question, that compares your average time with the general average. So you get to know, how much one needs to improve.
Not so positive -
1. Probably, there could be more than one full length practice.
By 5-6 practice tests the entire package will become at par (if not better) than the best in the business.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Cheap is good
March 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By clapo93 joined: February 8, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I've heard about magoosh on this forum and at the beginning I was a bit diffident because of the so little price, but I have only two month to prepare and it seems to me the quickest online course.
Now that I've tried magoosh and I've done the GMAT I have to say that it has been a very powerful tool in my preparation.
The best part is the quantitative one very detailed and well explained with a clear voice.
Also verbal part is good but maybe designed for native speaker.
The only negative thing to underline are the CATs that in my opinion are not very similar to the official ones.
Thus I really suggest this course to people who have little time and don't want to spend much money.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
eGMAT Verbal Live Prep
March 17 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By poonia001 joined: December 24, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Shraddha Jaiswal
Dear All,

I have used the services of eGMAT through their Verbal Live Prep Program. Verbal Live Prep Program is one of the world's most comprehensive prep program for the GMAT prep.

Before taking the Verbal Live Prep Program, I had written the GMAT once. Now, looking back to how prepared or rather under-prepared I was to tackle the Verbal Section of the GMAT, I am not surprised that I had not prepared well for my first attempt.

Specifically, the Verbal Live Prep Program focuses on building strong concepts or fundamentals in the beginning of the course. The regular webinars encourage one to practice well and to overcome conceptual challenges that one may be facing. There is a strong focus on following the eGMAT process, which is the key to scoring high on the actual GMAT.

The latest product, Scholaranium is going to be the game changer for the test prep industry. Rajat's focus on assessing one's ability pays rich dividends when it comes to focusing on specific areas of improvement.

Overall, the Verbal Live Prep Program is highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Empower GMAT Testimonial- Crush the GMAT!
March 17 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Racer87 joined: March 16, 2013 | 13 | 11 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
Hello All,

I posted a similar version of this message back in October, but I am excited to see Empower as an official GMAT Club partner so I am re-posting my review of the course in hopes to help others think of alternative study options to reach their score potential!

Summary of my background:

Undergrad: Top 50 school on East Coast
Major: Communications (i.e. non quant or STEM)
Career: A few years in financial services and currently working in education management

Final GMAT Score (September 2014)
Total: 700
Quant: 47
Verbal: 39
IR: 6/8
AWA: 6/6

I literally studied for the GMAT for over a year. I originally signed up for a big test prep company (Manhattan GMAT) late in the summer of 2013 and took the full live course. I went to every session and tried to follow all the homework, but didn't feel like their course was the most appropriate learning technique for me. It was very formulaic and the concepts weren't breaking through for me. Nothing against my Manhattan instructor (he was excellent), I just felt like the group classes weren't the best learning environment for me as everyone in the class was at very different stages/ability levels at the time. In January of 2014 I scored a 600 on my first attempt (Q35, V37). Although not bad for a first attempt, I knew that this score wasn't really good enough to get into any of my dream schools in the top-15. While my verbal was in the 80%, my quant was really weak only in the 30th percentile range.

I took a month or two off and then started studying again in March. This time I tried to self-study and then use a professional "tutor" for some one-on-one instruction via Skype. Quant was my major weak area, and I tried to spend most of my time studying this section, but it seemed like I couldn't break through even with the tutors help. My approach to word problems was shaky and I didn't feel confident at all on DS. I took the exam for the 2nd time in June and scored a 610 (Q35 V38). I was devastated and started to think that a top GMAT score just wasn't in the cards for me.

Around the same time, I heard about EmpowerGMAT through a good friend of mine. She raved about the course so I decided to take the plunge and give it a shot as a sort of a last resort (I had already spent a lot of $$$ on GMAT Prep so I was very skeptical). I signed up in July 2014 and used Empower for approximately 3 months until I took my exam at the end of September 2014.

The Empower Quant modules literally changed everything for me! I finally started to understand how to approach and ATTACK problems. I finally got the idea that I needed to write everything on the pad and stop trying to do Math in my head.

Empower teaches you tactics of how to approach all types of problems to maximize efficiency on test day. Furthermore, it really goes into a lot of detail about question types and which ones really matter (in terms of your score) and which ones likely count for very little. This was huge for me as I was able to focus on the Quant topics that accounted for the highest point proportion and prioritize my studying time. This also gave me a much better idea of which questions I should be strategically eliminating on test day to remain on time as I always had a pacing problem on Quant as well. For the first time on Test Day, I was able to fully complete the Quant section without rushing to pick random answers at the end. I know this was huge in terms of my overall score on the section. As you can see I jumped from Q35 to Q47 in one exam which is a massive improvement.

The Verbal sections were very solid also. I was already pretty strong in this area, but I thought their SC framework helped me get sharper on identifying splits and errors. And they have a good fundamental approach to CR questions which I think is really valuable to those who may be struggling in that area of the test.

I knew from my practice that my scores would trend up but still wasn't expecting a 700 to be honest. I think that besides the actual tactical approach to the exam, I realized how important the mental aspect was. I started looking at the test as a challenge to attack! One of the best things Empower taught me is how to be MENTALLY FIT during the exam, ready to attack the test. I sat up straight, kept good posture, took my breaks, and did a few breathing exercises during the exam to keep me calm. To use Empower's line, I starting to think like an "assassin". I realized that although these small tricks may seem trivial, everything counts when you are trying to maximize your performance on a high-stakes exam such as the GMAT! As they say, luck is when preparation meets opportunity. I am a true believer of that after my GMAT journey.

I'm sharing my testimonial in hope that it convinces some of you to KEEP PUSHING and DON'T GIVE UP. I spent over a year studying for this exam and there were definite moments of serious self-doubt about whether I could do this (even though I have always done well in school). This exam for many is more about perseverance and dedication rather than luck and natural intelligence.

I hope you all continue to keep fighting on your journey and please consider using EMPOWER GMAT for your preparation (especially if you are someone like me who used other prep resources to no avail). EMPOWER was literally a GAME CHANGER for me and I know it can be for some others.

I applied to schools in the 2nd round this year and so far here are my results:

Yale (admitted with scholarship)
Michigan (admitted with scholarship)
Berkeley (admitted)
Kellogg (still TBD)

All the best in your journey!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Egmat Verbal review
March 17 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 17, 2012 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
Hi Guys,
I heard lot of good reviews about the course so I took this course.
I have started doing this E- Gmat verbal course, though I have not taken the full course till now but whatever I have done. I feel confident about the course. The way video and exercise are made, they are self explanatory ( Easy to understand) . It also covers all the topic. Yes this course is definitely good for non native speakers

I hope, I will improve on my verbal part after this course. Will definitely write my full review once everything is done. Keeping my finger crossed.

Thanks and regards
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Best course for verbal GMAT
March 16 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By vivekgade1 joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
I took up E-GMAT live prep as suggested by my friend who had opted it before and succeeded to score 720 on GMAT. I registered the course in september 2014. Since then it has been a great help to boost my confidence in GMAT. The live sessions and interaction with the lecturers has been of great aid!!

The section-wise videos provide a deep insight if how to tackle a question and will provide suitable techniques to solve the questions. The lectures, which are conducted by professionals go hand in hand with the section-wise tutorials and give a complete explanation to all the concepts.

I will suggest e-gmat live prep to those who have an zeal to improve their GMAT english scores drastically.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A must course for all
March 16 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By ankita31 joined: November 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  180 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I am an native English speaker, however during my pre, I realised there are some mistakes I was making in the Verbal section in GMAT, which I was unable to understand. I tried many courses online, but none of them really helped me, and my score in verbal was consistently low.
Then, on my friend's suggestion and GMAT Club reviews, I came across e-GMAT,which changed my perspective of VERBAL completely. The way in which it is divided in topics, with test after every topic. And an explanation after each question, made it even more interesting and self-explanatory. And most importantly, it suggested me ways to reach the answer, in the shortest amount of time.
It is a must for all who wish to succeed in the Verbal section of GMAT
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
good course @ decent price
March 14 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By joshi04 joined: June 2, 2014 | 7 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh provided a very structured and comprehensive study plan. The video explanations are one of the best in the market.
The best part is that one can select the questions as per the difficulty level and subject. The questions can be done in set of 25, 30, 41 question etc.. This not only helps in building the stamina but also in handling the timing issues.
The support from magoosh instructors are extensive. One can expect the replies, feedbacks or suggestions in a day or two.
Though, I could not get the expected score, I would definitely recommend the Magoosh premium course for the planned and comprehensive preparation for GMAT.

One more thing to add, since I bought magoosh only for verbal, but unfortunately the score dropped. i got the full amount refunded, even though I did not watch all quant videos.

And yes, I am going to retake the test and that too with Magoosh.

All the best for preparations...
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great test prep, very affordable - try this first before paying big money for prep
March 14 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By adraybuck joined: December 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Start with Magoosh first, before you spend big money on test prep.
I regret shelling out $1,200 last year, as I found Magoosh to be a superior test prep company, with much more affordable pricing (I got the sale price of $99, full price is still great at $299).

I really like Magoosh's approach - the focus is building a rock solid foundation of Math and English skills, and THEN learning how to apply these skills to GMAT strategy. I have tested highly with Verbal from the start, but Quant was a real struggle for me before Magoosh.

There are several unique components of Magoosh test prep that blew my previous $1,200 test prep out of the water: video explanation of EVERY Quant and Verbal question in their database; Quant and Verbal flashcard apps (to break up the monotony of studying); blog posts (again, helps break up monotony of studying and provides further insight into specific question topics).

Highly recommend. I started on the lower end (450), and I have tested at 540 after 1.5 months of study. I intend to continue studying with Magoosh, with a goal of 650-700 by the end of this summer.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings