Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [738]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
From 420 to 600 in two months. Magoosh
March 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 13, 2013 | 6 | 8 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  180 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I am here to rate magoosh, because I think this course really deserve a great raking. I’m not an English native speaker, and I don’t have a traditional math career, actually I am graphic designer. Besides from some geometry and statistics, which I do with excel I haven’t use general math in 15 years, so you can imagine how bad it was.

420 17Q-28V 15/12/2013 Official software (No study at all)
03/01/2014 Started studying with Magoosh and OG
490 29Q-28V 29/01 Official software
490 26Q-32V 09/02 Magoosh
580 42Q-31V 09/02 Kaplan
580 32Q-38V 12/02 Magoosh
630 39Q-37V 14/02 Manhattan
570 31Q-37V 24/02 OG software
650 47Q-34V 05/03 Princetown
600 37Q-35V 08/03 Real GMAT

First, I would like to talk about the variety of resources: videos for every OG question, blog, schedules, etc. And they keep growing, every week I received an email with something new. One time there were flashcards and the last time was a nice surprise: They sent me 100 free video lessons for the TOEFL, because I wrote in my profile that I am going to take it.

Second, the great customer service, each time I had a question, I got a response in one day with the perfect explanation or the link to the video answer.

Third, the clear schedule which helps you stays focus. I did the schedule for “one month study program”. It was a lot of work with the Magoosh website and the OG 13th. The second moth, after I finish the program and did all the PS and SC I had in Magoosh and the OG 13 (my weak points), I did all the SC in the OG verbal review, the free trial Economics Tutor and went through half the Manhattan Word Problems book.

At the end I landed 600, I got greedy in math... things got harder and longer and didn't have a lot of time at the end. Right now, I'm taking some days off while I study for the TOEFL and decide if I'm retaking it or not (I don't need a 700's score). And if I do retake it, I need to think how to gain those 50 points I want. I think I have the potential and the tools to improve but I only have until april 30th, so we’ll see. I started looking at some videos at the Magoosh website and I see them with new eyes.

Finally, I just want to say thanks to Magoosh for making this quality Prep at an affordable price. I can picture myself all alone, trying to understand the quant explanations in the OG while looking up the concepts in Wikipedia, and it’s a sad picture.

Good luck and remember we need to practice a lot but the most important part is the quality. Magoosh have a video explanation not only for the OG problems, but also for every exercise in its website. I saw every single explanation video in Magoosh even if I did the problem right, that's how I learned so fast.

Conclusion: I will encourage everyone, to at least take the free trial, and see if it fits them.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Step by Step Learning
March 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 4, 2013 | 11 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Hi friends,

Just wanted to share my views on e-gmat's Verbal Live program. I had been doing verbal prep from the most known resources in the GMAT prep. market when a friend introduced me to the Verbal Live prep. It was only when I subscribed to the course I realized how deep GMAT Verbal preparation is supposed to be, i.e. the program not only covers the basics but also teaches in a structured manner the application bit, especially from the non-natives' point of view.

Most of us who are going to take the GMAT have been out of touch of English grammar since our school days, E-GMAT takes that in consideration before deep diving into the application of the concepts and hence the learning is even more effective.

Wish you good luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Improved a lot, still improving to beat the GMAT
March 12 | 2014

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mainbhidhruv joined: November 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I was devastated when I got a 610 in my first attempt at GMAT
( Q50 V23 IR7). It was clear to me that this score would not take me anywhere as far as my target schools are concerned. Verbal was a nightmare for me as is evident from my GMAT score. In order to give one more shot, I tried reading MGMAT verbal guides with not much improvement. One of my friend suggested to refer the online demo videos of e-gmat SC,CR courses which are available for free. I tried and found it a more interesting way to study as I was more focused and was enjoying this new way of audio-visual learning (new for me as I had always studied from books usually). I was able to solve the OG questions based on the topics. This made me want to order the full Verbal online course. After a few days of studying, I found my scores increasing in Verbal Section and now I am continuosly scoring in the low 30s. Though I would like to increase this further before attempting GMAT again.

The things which I like the most is the pre-thinking approach to solve CR question apart from the SC concepts and "understanding the meaning" approach for solving and applying rules to SC questions. I found RC equally good.

Hoping for best for my next GMAT but want to thank e-gmat team for helping me increase my Verbal score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
March 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 2, 2009 | 485 | 93 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
e-GMAT Verbal is useful for a non-native student particularly if one needs to learn the basics.
The course is very well prepared and presented. I really feel it requires experts to brainstorm for months to prepare such content and mock questions. Each section has levels and requires you to score the required accuracy to move to the next level. This makes sure that you are clear with each concept.
SC : I feel this is the best section in the e-GMAT course. The way each concept is explained is mind blowing. Needless to say, my accuracy increased after completing SC from e-GMAT.
RC: The reading strategies are explained very well. I feel RC requires the student to understand and deduce his/her own comfortable way to deal with it.

CR: I personally feel CR is my strength (with a good accuracy), so I did not really refer to e-GMAT. Therefore, I cannot comment on this

Live Prep Sessions: The workshops and strategy sessions are really really good. Try to attend one free session because it will surely help you to improve your strategy.
I'm planning on taking my GMAT very soon, eagerly waiting to post the final review
Positives :
1) The course content in e-GMAT
2) e-GMAT tutors
3) The posts they post in GC are awesome
4) The question bank
Negatives
1) I found a few minute errors in the software
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
One of the best Verbal course available for GMAT
March 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By krisvija joined: August 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat,Payal,Archana
One of the best Verbal course available in the market. I had started preparation with Manhattan and finally landed here and I am glad I made this choice. The content is very crisp and to the point. I would advise everyone to take the trial. I especially like the SC section. They go into details. I also liked the response they give which, in my case, was many times within a couple of hours which is fantastic.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Product to understand the concepts!!
March 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 24, 2011 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I have taken GMAT twice in the past, with almost no improvement on my verbal score. The only thing I did differently for my second attempt was that I wrote all the grammar rules, attempted another 1000 questions and did a few more mock tests. The result was dismal. After an year long break, I decided to embark on the GMAT wagon again but this time I didn't want to follow my footsteps.
In my previous attempts I tried question banks of almost all the major GMAT courses available in the market. This time I wanted to start pedantically. I started with the e-gmat verbal score and within a matter of couple of months I see a remarkable difference in my performance on verbal. The way each and every concept has been explained, along with the exercises, helped me gauge my performance whilst I learned new skills. Although, the key to success lies in repetition. I did the same concept over and over umpteen times to master it. I am looking forward to taking my GMAT, and this time I am confident to score much higher than my previous scores. Thank You e-gmat for the course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent Course for Non Natives
March 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By vivekisthere joined: April 21, 2013 | 9 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I am a Non native speaker and verbal has been my weak area ever since I started with my preparations. I read all excellent reviews about E-Gmat and started with the free trail. After going through the course material and attending free sessions by Rajat and Payal I had no doubts about joining the course.

After completing the lessons and the online sessions I have noticed a great improvement in my approach towards the Verbal questions (SC, CR and RC). My accuracy has improved a great deal because I am confident about the answers I mark as I know the right reason for choosing the correct option and able to discard the incorrect choices.

The workshops are a real plus as they help you evaluate your relative performance under strict time conditions and show how you performed as compared with rest of the people from your batch. They also hep you formulate you strategy going forward and expose the weak areas you need to work on.

In a nutshell it is a perfect course for non natives who are looking to improve their verbal score.

Wish me luck as I am taking my GMAT in April and will post my experiences in an another detailed review.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very helpful!
March 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By tchandok joined: February 11, 2014 | 1 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I've been using Magoosh for about 3 weeks now. I enjoy learning by watching videos, as opposed to just reading. The video lessons are great. I've been on the 1 month study schedule and it has been a very rigorous, all encompassing experience. I've already recommended this product to my friends who are taking the GMAT and the GRE. I will be taking the GMAT in 1 week. I feel quite confident since I have had the opportunity to thoroughly review every section of the Quant and Verbal section through the online videos provided. It is easy to take notes while watching the videos, and this helps me go over topics that I find challenging. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Purely Awesome
March 08 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By bijan1234 joined: March 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Casey Frandrup
This course has helped me tremendously. I was a bit skeptical about taking an online course from a company I have had heard so little about. However, after plenty of research, I decided to sign up. The course could not have been more enjoyable. Although I needed more time to study after the 6 weeks were over I am still able to access the lessons online and to teach myself the material at my own pace. My instructor, Casey, was very interactive and tried her best to present the course in the most understandable fashion. The Veritas question bank alone is worth signing up for the course. It will let you create your own official practice set so you will be able to focus on your weakest areas.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-gmat verbal worth the money
March 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By desilog joined: February 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I signed up for e-GMAT verbal live prep to boost my verbal preparation. So far I have found that CR and SC components of the course are excellent. I am not sure the course is really very helpful in preparation for RC. I have seen significant improvement in my thinking process, and my overall accuracy has improved by at least 15-20%. The workshops are good, but they seem to be mostly skewed towards harder questions. Although I found that the preparation material is excellent quality, I recommend making the workshops a bit more balanced and adding more timed quizzes to the preparation material.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings