Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1386]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Good for Math, but still to basic if you want to hit 700
March 02 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 7, 2014 | 69 | 4 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Pros:
-Math videos are representative and include cool tricks for the test
-video lessons are short and easy to follow- especially great for learning after a full-time job.
-the predictor score for the math was representative of what I actually got.

Cons:
-Verbal questions are too easy and not representative.
-I was only able to generate two practice test from the test pool.
-the predictor for verbal is not very accurate as i was more than 15 points off for my verbal.


In summary, I took this course to for the 50 points increase. Sadly, after 2 more month of studying, I got the same scale score and only increased my total score by 10 points. If you are looking to break the 700 barrier, this course is too basic for you. I will be looking into additional resources for help. Hope this helps.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Prep online
March 02 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By BSMSUFL17 joined: January 21, 2013 | 5 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I have struggled with the Verbal section of the GMAT for a while now, but Ravi has helped me understand how to tackle those problems in a structured way. My scores on the Quant section also improved because Ravi showed us how to save time by avoiding computation and dumbing things down.

Ravi is just an amazing instructor who knows how to teach the class to help you get to the next level. He is very straightforward and honest which are qualities that I was looking for in a instructor. I would recommend anyone to take the class with Ravi if you really want to see an improvement on your scores.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent verbal guide
March 02 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I have been using egmat's verbal online guide for a few months now and i have to say that this is by far the best guide that i have used.

The sentence correction section is absolutely brilliant and is unmatched. The sections are very detailed and very clear.
The critical reasoning section and the reading comprehension section are also very well made! The reading comprehension guide is probably one of the few good guides that exist.

The course has been tailor made for non-natives and i highly recommend this guide. It's probably the best one there is on the internet!
Definitely worth the money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Online Course for GMAT
March 01 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By tusharkhatri18 joined: October 17, 2013 | 16 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
Being a non-native speaker of English, I always had the trouble with Verbal part of GMAT. The options of CR looked to me almost identical and the language of RC was confusing.
Then at one point of time, I attended a free webinar from Meghna Mam. She gave some phenomenal tips to tackle Verbal GMAT - meaning strategy for SC, prethinking strategy for CR and summary strategy for RC. Thereafter I bought the Verbal Online course of e-GMAT, which I think the best decision I made as far as preparation of GMAT is concerned. The videos in the course were fantastic and so the questions given there.
But the best thing I liked about e-GMAT is the kind of support I got from their faculties. It would be a real dishonesty for me if I don't mention the contribution of Neeti Mam and Meghna Mam for clearing my doubts. They cleared my doubts till the time the strategy or concept behind the question gets stick into my head. The best approach was from Neeti Mam - she never answered my doubts, but instead gave me hints to figure out answer by myself.
Overall, I am really impressed by the course and will recommend to any future test taker for GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Magoosh GMAT Review
March 01 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Miles2015 joined: March 1, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I signed up for the Magoosh Premium package a few months back and used it pretty much exclusively during my GMAT Studies. I really liked the video format for learning material, specifically the quant videos, which were great. The verbal section of Magoosh did not appeal to me and I found the videos to be boring, but verbal has always been my strong area so that did not bother me. The best part of the Magoosh product is their question bank which provides hundreds of GMAT type problems of various difficulty levels. Overall I think Magoosh was a great product, and while it did not get me to the 700 level, it gave me a good base to continue to improve upon.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Pretty good course and worth every penny
February 27 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By sivaram joined: February 6, 2012 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I registered for verbal online course few months back. As a non-native speaker, I feel the course really helped me in getting basics right and prepare better for the test. While the videos on various topics are very detailed, the structured approach helped in learning every topic without much of hastles.
I also had a chance to try out e-gmat scholaranium (meant to identify strengths and weaknesses. I must say the questions are really good and i feel this course can help a serious test taker in identifying the weak spots and thus enable him/her to prepare better for the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Economist GMAT Tutor
February 27 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By cezar9 joined: October 29, 2012 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
I have used GMAT prep products from several companies including MGMAT(purchased all the verbal and quant books), Knewton(online GMAT course), Magoosh(quant and verbal). My current GMAT score is 680; however, I thought that I could do better and decided to use Economist's score guarantee and give the exam another try. So far, I have completed about half of the course and I see some pros and cons. I will start with the cons. I use their app a lot because I like to study on my iPad but I don't see a functionality in the app to ask a tutor about the specific question that I am currently working on ( this feature is available if you are studying on regular PC) and after I move on I can't go back to the same specific question so if I accidentally press the continue button I won't be able to go back and revisit the question. A big con for me is that I can not go back if I wanted to revisit a specific question or topic. Also, for someone who already scored 680, most of the course so far is a waste of time because I had to go through some very basic material. Another big thing for me is the lack of video instructions which I find very useful when studying. Overall, If you scored 620 or less you will find this course very helpful and will most likely see an improvement in your score if you complete the required curriculum. If you get a question wrong, the software will keep giving you similar questions until you master the topic and start getting the questions right. Customer service so far has been top notch and I have always received responses to my questions very promptly. I have also received several email reminders from tutors regarding the progress of my study plan. Overall, if you have the money to spend I believe that you can get a lot out of their platform. It is also nice that they have money back guarantee promise. However, I can not speak for the ease of getting a refund because I have not taken the exam yet and I have not been through the process of asking for a refund yet. Also, I am still not completely convinced that it worth that premium compared to some of the cheaper prep platforms such as Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Verbal LIVE PREP
February 27 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
Being a non-native and struggling with Verbal part of the GMAT, looked at most of the GMAT blogs for the best GMAT Verbal training provider within a reasonable price. I found e-GMAT Verbal Liveprep, attended the free sessions and it was a no brainer to go ahead and purchase the Verbal LIVE prep Couse. It took some time to get familiar with e-gmat format, e.g.: custom dashboard and other resources. Once I got used to the format, it was very interesting to learn the essential concepts in SC, RC and CR sections of their course. This helped me to pace up and instill confidence with handling the SC questions. In a short amount of time, I was able to make progress with Level I, II & III concepts by following through a number of the SC videos in the course. After going through the courses a few times, I'm able to follow the process (e.g.: pre-thinking) and make the right choice for the right reason. This is very important with Sentence Correction and saves times for CR & RC as well.

Another added advantage with e-GMAT Verbal LIVE PREP is the free access to Grockit GMAT full membership for a year. This helps to practice both Quant & Verbal questions and able to set up a study plan and measure the performance. I am yet to attempt the GMAT and hoping to score 700+ with a good verbal score. Overall, e-GMAT team makes every attempt to provide the best Verbal training starting from basic concepts with lucid explanation.

Thanks
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep - A worthy investment!
February 27 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By r5 joined: April 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I started my preparations an year back. I had OG 12 edition with me and i was looking for an online course specifically for Verbal section. Being an engineer i backed myself in regards to mathematics portion. I came across few options and decided to go with e-GMAT verbal Live prep course.
I would like to state my observations regarding the course:
1) Simplicity: The language with which the course has been explained throughout is easy to understand. Its well paced and balanced.
2) Structure: Entire portion of Verbal in GMAT is segmented nicely into little chunks, thereby making it easy for anyone to gauge the course level and one's standing at it.
3) Complete Coverage: I was particularly impressed by noticing that if i complete the course as its designed,i would not miss out on any concept. The course entails entire syllabus divided into little chunks. for example- The third topic in e GMAT SC course is Subject Verb agreement. the SV sections consists of-
a) SV- Makes sense
b) SV-Agree in number
c) SV-Always singular subjects
d) SV-Words that change number
e) SV- Concept Quiz
f) SV- Application File
g) SV- Practice File
h) SV- OG Quiz
One can easily make out the sheer length and breadth e-GMAT course covers.
4) OG Solved in Detail- All the questions of Official guide(more than 400) have been solved in the course with detailed explanation. This means if i apologize for stating the obvious- if you solve e GMAT verbal Live prep questions you will have automatically solved OG.
5) Practice Tests: Sheer number of practice tests is something which stands out. There is a practice test at the end of every topic.
6) Significant Increase in verbal scores of GMAT practice test:
My GMATPrep1 score-640
CAT1 score-620
after almost an year of using the material the scores:
GMATPrep2 - 700
CAT2 score- 690

I am still in pursuit of a good GMAT score.My test date is in a months time.
Hope this post helps!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Verbal Live Prep
February 25 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By gmattoiimahd joined: February 25, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
The Verbal live course from e-GMAT is an excellent course for any person preparing for GMAT verbal. It’s especially designed for non-native speakers.
The approach it follows is very user friendly. It clearly explains you each and every concept in a very detailed yet simple way supported by examples wherever required. The detailed explanation of each answer choice and the process it follows develops an in depth understanding. The way to approach any problem, the steps required and the method to eliminate wrong answers are absolutely fabulous.
Really loved the course and the adopted methodology. Great work done in creation of this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings