Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1702]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
e-GMAT : easy-Gmat!!
June 29 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: August 24, 2013 | 2 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Shraddha Jaiswal
After doing a lot of research, I decided to go with Egmat. I must say that it is my best decision in the context of my GMAT preparation. The course is well structured and covers the GMAT subject very well. As a working professional, I feel extremely comfortable in taking the course when I want and where I want. My verbal score improved drastically. I now feel more confident handling the verbal section.The content is easier to understand and solid in depth of understanding. It significantly reduced the time I took to answer each question. I would highly recommend e-GMAT course for all non-native speakers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Really good value for money
June 29 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Anonymous joined: March 30, 2015 | 12 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I was initially using other books for my study (MGMAT books) which were really good. However, I ran into Magoosh and that really helped me in a couple of ways: 1) their problems are excelent (sometimes, it is very easy to find poor GMAT problems in the internet, especially in the sentence correction area); 2) their maths videos were really really useful to me and in some areas were more insightful that the MGMAT books; and 3) it was really easy for me to go online and do a couple of verbal problems whenever I had 5 free minutes at work.

I did not use the verbal videos (I did use the verbal problems) because I though I did not need them as much and because I though they were a bit dense.

I asked them for help re two problems twice and they replied within 24 hours.

I am not saying Magoosh will replace hard work. There are no shortcuts in the GMAT. I am saying that, in my opinion, I would not have got 730 in my first try if it was not for magoosh (amongsts other things, obviosuly).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
490 to 740, Anyone taking the GMAT should use EMPOWER
June 28 | 2015

       By TheViceroy joined: May 6, 2015 | 6 | 6 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
If you're considering taking a course for the GMAT, take EMPOWERgmat. I had a chance to feel around with the other courses, and EMPOWERgmat is AWESOME!

I underestimated the test at first. I ordered the GMAT Official Guide, and downloaded the official tests, and was foolhardy about how the GMAT was going to play out. I can tell you exactly why I felt that way too. I tried a few questions here and there and I got most of them right, so I naturally tried to extrapolate "I got this!". No, I didn't. I ate it, and wasted about 2 or 3 weeks doing unstructured practice questions out of the Official Guide, and my 2nd practice test score was almost exactly the same (490 and 500). It was so deflating.

I needed more structure. I signed up for the EMPOWERgmat and now I want to tell the whole world about it. AWESOME! If you're serious about beating the GMAT then you need to add that program to your arsenal now. My confidence grew right from the start. From the intro all the way up to the last lesson, you feel you've had a team of GMAT ninjas with you the whole way.

Final Score: 740 Q47 V45 IR6


General Things That Helped Me Improve On Quant
Quant was by far my biggest concern. I did okay in financial accounting in college, but that's about it for me for the last 5 years. I started out in the low 30s, so I needed a serious upgrade on quant. I followed the EMPOWERgmat program systematically, so I built up my math background and strategy concurrently. I also spent a lot of time investigating my mistakes and watching the explanation videos religiously. I shed stupid old habits like getting caught up on a question for 7 minutes, and was instead saved by triage. I learned that in many questions, algebra is for suckers and that the test it tactic is so much faster.

General Things That Helped Me Crush Verbal
Here are the things that I worked on methodically to crush GMAT Verbal:
- Not skimming. I've read about some people who advocate reading certain sections of a passage, or getting too hung up on keywords. I think that's dumb. There are way too many questions you just couldn't answer if you skim. I paid crazy attention to everything I read. I pretended that the clock wasn't even running when I read, even during the real test. The surprising thing is that although it felt like I was moving slower, my pacing was actually a little bit better because I was able to cut out a lot of re-reading. Most importantly, the amount of interest that I put into the prompts and passages felt really good. There's a certain sense of comprehension that I know if I can get, I'm going to nail the question and the more I’m interested, the more I feel like I can grasp the material.
- I also think it's important to use all of your time, and resist the urge to try to finish early, and invest it in the right places.
- With RC and CR I had a bit of an odd situation because I prepped a little for the LSAT when I was in college. Since I still had those books, they gave me some extra practice, but LSAT CR and RC are noticeably harder than GMAT CR and RC and there were a lot of things I saw in the LSAT materials that never showed up in my GMAT practice (and not on the GMAT either). I went from 31 to consistently 42 or better consistently on my practice CATs, and even as high as 45 on Exam Pack 1. I’d say that was really due to using the right tactics tough. The CR box, and RC ladder helped to make CR and RC really easy to manage.
- You want to get to a point where you know exactly what each type of CR and RC question wants you to do, and that you know the patterns of the wrong answers. At first it might seem like a blur, but you want to get to a point that you just know what kind of information you're looking for.
- You have to know your SC errors cold and you know how to identify each one from the answers and the original sentence itself.

If you take EMPOWER, you'll crush the GMAT too. You'd have to try not to. I can't say enough good things.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Made EASY!
June 27 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By mtensley joined: June 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi made understanding the GMAT EASY! I've taken several courses before through several different companies and Ravi was the only instructor to get me over the hump. He is passionate about his students and their success and it's evident in every single class. Not only does he make the material easy to comprehend, he also makes it so that you understand what you're doing wrong and what you're doing right - both of which are equally important. If you have the chance, take a course with Ravi. He will help you get the score that you want! You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
best prep materials for the budget test-taker
June 27 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By Anonymous joined: June 4, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
All the video lessons are very helpful. I have actually found the Critical Reasoning to be most helpful. The Grammar videos are also very detailed and very focused on GMAT question types. The most interesting is the quiz after each module, this really is a warm-up before practicing Official Guide. Furthermore, explanations of every question in the quiz and lesson are excellent. The GMAT is really a test of applications, and during the practice, students must identify their mistakes in every question they attempt wrong. So, the Magoosh premium is really a great learning and practice resource for test-takers. Most importantly, this is the most cost-effective resource in the market. I highly recommend Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
EGMAT Verbal Online helps a lot!
June 26 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By yafengzhang joined: January 8, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
Dear All,

I tried Gmat exam twice already. At that time, I just used official books to study and prepare for the exam. I couldn’t get a good score. I have realized that I definitely need some helps. After I decided to take online class, I did lots of research and then found eGMAT is the best one for me, a non-native student.
EGMAT Verbal Online Course is really a good resource! It explains three verbal sections (Sentence Correction, Critical Reasoning, Reading Compression) and Integrated Reasoning in a very useful way in its videos and relevant materials. Especially, the sentence correction part gives clear explanation of all the commonly tested topics on the GMAT. Some tricks and tips that can be used in GMAT exam are really useful.

After going through the course I started to feel comfortable in Verbal section. I am doing consistently well in my practice tests and I confident to get a satisfied score in my next attempt at the GMAT.

I would highly recommend eGMAT t to all, and good luck to everyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Verbal Online
June 26 | 2015

       By vijaybandi joined: July 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I have started my preparation with OG, and also registered with a local test prep company and continued my preparation. After good 45 days of preparation, I still had problems with the basic concepts of Sentence Correction, RC and CR.

The eGMAT verbal online has been very helpful, especially the eGMAT appraoch helped me improve my sentence correction. Also the eGMATs' approach for CR and RC are extremely easy to understand and easy to apply in the exam, especially for non-natives.

I am confident than ever about my verbal, now and giving my GMAT in a few weeks from now.

I would definitely recommend the Verbal Online course

Vijay
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great online experience!
June 25 | 2015

       By Bill Rasoul joined: June 25, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I have taken many prep courses in the past and Ravi is one of the best instructors I've had. The overall Veritas curriculum is relatively easy to follow and does a great job of breaking down the methodology behind tackling GMAT questions. Ravi only enhances this experience by not only clarifying a lot of these points, but also bringing his own techniques to the classroom. He is responsive and gives attention to every single student, provided you take advantage of his time. I'm not going to lie, this class is very rigorous and you MUST stay on top of the material to get everything out of it. If you do, it is an experience well worth the money. Not only does it help on the GMAT, but it provides insight into tackling problems in general.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Best Verbal material
June 25 | 2015

       By divya1915 joined: December 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Japinder Kaur
I have used EGmat course for a while now. I could see a tremendous improvement. In a day i can spend only a few hours for Gmat. For my verbal preparation i follow only EGmat. The course is well structured and i feel like studying in a classroom atmosphere. This course is well designed for non natives. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is taking GMAT. Don't waste time in researching which material to use to study. Simply register in EGmat and follow the course. Also go with verbal live prep as this course in very interactive and you have someone to clear your doubts. These instructors are very active and you will get a reply for your doubt very quickly.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
An invaluable resource!
June 23 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By GHP joined: February 3, 2014 | 5 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I took my first GMAT exam in February 2014, with disappointing results. After a year of not studying/thinking about business school, I decided to give the GMAT another go.

I signed up for Magoosh Premium to compliment the MGMAT strategy guides. I followed Mike's comprehensive 12-week study plan for advanced students. The Magoosh question bank and video lessons were extremely helpful. I particularly liked the feature that allowed you go move from the question bank to a relevant lesson, and back, without losing your place. The results summary on the dashboard helped me track my progress and provided a much needed confidence boost heading into test day.

I ultimately scored 730 on the real thing. I do not think I could have done that without the supporting material provided by Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings