Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [735]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
GMAT on demand course - Great product!
March 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By jasontt joined: March 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I am very satisfied. This course has everything necessary to succeed in the GMAT. The video clips are detailed and explain everything from scratch. The homework questions are great to practice the learned material. The GMAT practice tests are also valuable to see how good you are. I found it good that there are three different tutors as it would be too boring to watch just one face for 60 hours. ;-) For this price it is more than enough. I had to score at least 650 and by just watching the course and do the assignments I scored without extreme preparation 680. I am sure I would score at or above 700 when I would practice a bit more or take one of their private tutors. It is a brilliant product and you should take it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome Online Course
March 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rishabh2013 joined: May 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took the GMAT on April 12, 2013. My score was a 580. eGMAT Verbal Live Prep helped me improve 100 points till now. The instructors Shraddha,Payal, Rajat are awesome. It's difficult to keep someone captivated for three hours online, but they do. They really emphasize getting rid of silly mistakes, thinking critically, and engaging their students one on one through chat.

The methodology adopted is completely different here. Here, I learned the actual way to crack the questions, i.e. CR questions through Prethinking. Prethinking is a very useful tool,adopting makes the answer jumping out.

The eGMAT 3 steps process which they teach is working wonderful while cracking questions.
I have one more month for my D-day and strictly following Rajat’s strategy session 2 on how to fine tune your preparation in the last 1 month before GMAT.
My present improvement in score 26V to 34V & hoping to reach upto 40V.

I highly recommend e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep. and I highly recommend taking the course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great teacher had a few tricks up his sleave
March 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Brettlev joined: March 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  160 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
First off, Ravi was a fantastic teacher. Not only was his voice intriguing enough to maintain focus, but he truly cared. If I wasn't answering enough questions he would reach out in a private chat and discuss it with me. He provided resources and constant encouragement. I never met the guy face to face, but if I did I would buy him a drink (or dinner if that's not his thing).

The course prepared me to focus on my areas of weakness and learn how to best approach each question. I avoided the trap answers on my test and performed as well as I could have expected considering I hadn't taken a math course in over 10 years. My English degree gave me confidence about my verbal skills but I quickly realized how much improvement I made throughout the course. My verbal percentile was in the high 80's according to my test score. The biggest surprise was scoring in the 93rd percentile on Integrated Reasoning. Going from a pre-course 480 to a 640 was remarkable.

The software itself was fairly impressive aside from a few minor details. As someone who has been designing software professionally for 3 years, I can't imagine another company living up to Veritas Prep. Occasionally there were some mistakes in the content but they never detracted from my learning experience.

I have already recommended Veritas Prep to my friends seeking an MBA and will continue to do so. The price is right and the improvement speaks for itself.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Verbal Live Prep - A 'lighthouse' for non-natives
February 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By VikramJS joined: December 23, 2012 | 7 | 2 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat,Payal,Archana
I would like to extend my profound gratitude towards the entire e-GMAT team for their support and guidance during my GMAT preparation so far.

I am using VLP since past few months and have observed a remarkable improvement both in my confidence to attempt verbal questions and in my accuracy. Some of the most striking advantages that I have experienced while using this course are:

[1] Process/Strategy:

Earlier my strategy for verbal Qs was to solve them based on my 'gut feeling' , shortcuts and 'tuned ear' (for SC). This was clearly a flawed approach and was leading me nowhere. VLP, on the other hand, has now equipped me with a well defined process to approach each question in the verbal section. In addition to improving my accuracy and speed it has taken my confidence to another level. And since I feel more confident while attempting each question it helps me remain more calm and focused during mocks.

[2] Live Session - to learn from others' mistakes

It happens a lot of times that one does not come across certain gaps in his/her understanding and application of the concepts until he/she sees others doing such mistakes. The live session takes care of this aspect of GMAT verbal preparation. I have learned a lot from others' mistakes and doubts and has immensely helped me in plugging loopholes in my understanding of the concepts.

We (non natives) know that verbal is usually our Achilles heel and we need to travel an extra mile to match up with the tough competition out there. So I would strongly recommend VLP to all those non-natives who are really serious about scoring high on GMAT.

All the best for your preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Worth every penny
February 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 24, 2011 | 1 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
Finally, the very first step of this long journey is finally over.

I want to share how I finished my journey and let others know that this is a man-made test, which means that it can be conquered using man-made brains.
I am not a US native, although I did study in US. Nonetheless, like other international students, overcoming the verbal section was the most challenging part of the test.
Here is my story & some of the methods that I found to be useful

Materials used
OG 12/13
Gmatclub
GMATpill

For the first test, I used strictly OG12/13 and used study materials I got from my friends and coworkers (these include random cheatsheets, formula sheets and guidelines from unknown brands)
I frequently score higher than 600 on my diagnostic test:
1st MGMAT: 640
2nd MGMAT: 670
3rd MGMAT: 680
4th MGMAT: 690

After 3 months of studying, I gave it a real shot, to a disappointing result: 600

After more practicing, I started to realize there were some problems with my studying habits as well as the studying materials I used.
So I decided to try a different approach and make some investment.
2 months and a few days later, when I took the test again, my score improved significantly 700 (50q,38v).

I made several changes in my study approach -- e.g. from studying 30 mins the morning to purchasing new products and etc.
Here are the changes that I want to give credit to:

1) GMATclub
Be active with this club. Go to verbal & quant section discussion forums and read people's comments. Those comments can be helpful (or unhelpful) but once you keep reading them and join their discussion, you develop a strong sense in knowing what are considered "good" answers and "bad" answers just by being "active in the debate."

2) GMATPill

Try to make some investment. There is a reason why people buy these for money. I was very reluctant to buy these products (from my SAT experience I was very skeptical of these products)
But it proved me wrong. Watching the videos and learning the step by step thinking process of Zeke (the creator) really helped me solidify my framework in approaching each sections.
My strongest weakness was in SC & my second was in CR.
Watching Zeke solve problems through the videos allowed me to visualize and, most importantly, taught me how to be confident.
Also, keep watching the videos over and over again. Don't stop.

One recommendation from Zeke that really helped me understand SC section is:
Cutting the fluff. Fluff is the stuff (e.g. not-underlined portion of prepositional phrases or descriptive phrases) that you don't really need to understand. I saved so much time just learning to "cut the fluff". This sounds simple, but it took some practice and patience for me.

3) Review wrong answers
Keep track why you missed certain question and review EVERY answer choices, and why they are wrong/right

4) Keep trying
There will be days when you miss 15 questions in a row. Or score possibly the lowest ever.
But this is a man-made test, and this test is not meant to throw you mysterious problems with no logic behind them.
GMAT will be throwing the same baseball, except in different style: straight, curve balls, change-ups etc etc.
There is a framework to EVERY PROBLEM. Don't try to outfox the system.. just try to honestly develop the frameworks and learn how to use them as tools.
And please don't give up.


Good to you all, and please don't give up.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Step by Step process to taming GMAT!
February 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By aniruddhaverma joined: March 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
The GMAT is a complicated journey, especially if English is not your first language. There are so many things from study material, practice tests, strategies, etc., that it takes a while (a lot of time) before you can sit with the right study material and know the exact course of action to follow (that suits) with a strategy that suit you.
Verbal Online course from eGMAT provides all this and more. It is my bible for GMAT preparation. The course is sufficient for any GMAT preparation and leaves you with a feeling of accomplishment with each milestone you pass. I have not been worried about revising because the program is set in a way that you revisit certain ideas and concepts again.
Verbal has been a pain point for me and I can already feel an improvement. I suggest this program to all my friends preparing for GMAT.
I still have some time to go before I take my GMAT. I hope I can translate all my confidence and knowledge from this program on the final day!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent
February 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Susiepres joined: February 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  |
As a single mother of two, there isn't much time to go around for idle studying. However the desire to led a better life led me to search for more convenient alternatives. After looking through google, I found the very effective GMAT Pill. With the study app and Zeke's study plan, I was able to keep on track with my work. Whether I'm in the train or at home, I am always learning different techniques to approach a question. The most helpful would definitely be the tutorials to the tricky ds section. Definitely consider this product if you're pressed for time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The best!
February 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By vaibhavi2904 joined: December 27, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh has amazing video lessons that help brush up on the things we learnt in high school. Even the explanation of the questions are in videos.. unlike that of other courses. Magoosh really spoiled me in that sense!

The app was also wonderful! I would see the videos while on the move too!

Helpful, friendly, interactive.. these are just a few of the adjectives to describe those who work at Magoosh! Their prompt replies to my queries made me feel like it was personal tutoring.

I strongly recommend Magoosh to anyone who plans on taking the GMAT. They are coming up with new features like the flash cards and also TOEFL!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Kaplan has great practice tests
February 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By gej2013 joined: August 27, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GMAT Advantage Online Course | Location:   Online  |
This was my first test prep resource. I just bought the Kaplan GMAT Premier 2012-13 book and logged into the website. I thought I could just study on my own and do very well. I tried to memorize all the shortcuts as well as the information in the books.

Unfortunately,that is completely the wrong way to go about it.

Luckily there are several quizzes and CAT test online. I took all 7 quizzes, IR practice sets, and online essays. These were invaluable in understanding how the format of the test worked. I really capitalized on these tests on my second go round.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Improved 100 points in 6 weeks.
February 27 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By cschickel joined: February 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took the GMAT on my own in January. My score was a 610. Veritas helped me improve 100 points. My instructor was Ravi Sreerama and he was amazing. It's difficult to keep someone captivated for three hours online, but he did. Ravi really emphasized getting rid of silly mistakes, thinking critically, and engaging his students one on one through chat. Ravi is extremely knowledgeable and teaches the Veritas Material with ease. He knows what he's talking about and what to emphasize.

I cannot attest to whether Veritas is better than Manhattan, but Veritas worked for me. I thought they did a good job emphasizing how to approach the test, especially basics that make the quantitative section easier. I wound up using a lot of the basic tricks that get you out of a question in a few seconds during the actual exam. The verbal section was also phenomenal as I was able to refresh my verbal skills and see the bigger picture and what clues to look out for in sentence correction.

I highly recommend Veritas and I highly recommend taking the course with Ravi.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings