Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1447]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
e-GMAT SC is beyond comparison
March 22 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I just started taking this course and have already gained confidence in solving CR and SC questions. I see a drastic improvement in my approach to attack these questions and the logical way taught in e-GMAT SC is beyond comparison in my view. The course enables you to systematically handle these questions, which is more like what you do for any logical problem rather than just memorizing set of rules. The biggest advantage is the focus on step by step process for cracking down a complex problem, which makes your job easier. I recommend this course to everyone. All the best!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best decision…EmpowerGMAT ROCKS!
March 22 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By HelloHBS joined: March 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  170 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
The course was amazing! I had a chance to explore some other resources before choosing EmpowerGMAT such as Magoosh and GMAT Pill, and what I think should be apparent to everybody is at the teaching style of the Empower instructors is very different. The tone is more like an insider coach who is active, energetic and is rooting for you. For me, that's the only way it has to be because I don't have the patience or the time to deal with a monotone Ferris Bueller style lecture.

The way Rich explains how to use test it and the rest of the math is unbelievable. I can tell you that single-handedly revolutionized the way I approach the quantitative section. On verbal I didn't even know that it was possible to have tactics, but Max's tactics are really powerful. The CR box makes it very clear how to break down each question type in CR in terms of the actual information that you need to be thinking to get the questions right. They also stress something I really needed to hear: don't just be familiar with the different question sub-types, be an expert. That really resonated with me. I also used to be terrified of RC passages. I used to think that the way to get past RC passages was to skim through the details and try my best to get through the answers. I was so wrong. Empower burned it in my head that skimming is a recipe to just be OK. If you are serious about beating RC, you have to learn how to actually read the passages to navigate the intimidating stuff. It takes a lot of courage to invest more time in your reading, but you I make it back by answering the questions faster. That among so many other things such a difference. By the time I took the test, I had no problem with any of the 4 RC passages I saw.

All in, Empower. I can't say enough about it. I think it single-handedly will be the reason why I get into the business school I want to go to, and who knows how much getting a top 10 MBA is going to earn. Time will tell, but I feel pretty confident that the ROI will be off the chart. Thank you Empower! Thank you Max! Thank you Rich!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very well structured
March 22 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By thepotenza joined: July 6, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I registered for the e-gmat course in December'14 after completing the GMAT in Dec'14. I was not happy with my score, and decided to sign up. Prior to this, I went with the different course. I see a difference between e-gmat and Others. Personally, I feel that e-gmat is more detailed in teaching both Quant and Verbal. It teaches you the application, not just the rules. I can't comment on Word problems yet, as I just missed the session on word problems. The live sessions are great. Payal does a great job answering questions and going through the content. I am glad I found the course. I'm already seeing an improvement in my verbal accuracy. Thanks to e-gmat! My next GMAT exam is four weeks away, I'll continue to spend time going through their content!

The course is very well structured and makes you think logically even while reading the question.
I am still preparing for the exam, and can already see consuming lesser time in even understanding the question.
Number properties approach is all-together explained in so simple and basic format that it has started to look like a piece of cake.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I loved EMPOWER GMAT
March 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Tribecagal joined: March 20, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  190 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
"I went from a 520 to a 710 over the course of about 3 months. What more can I say? Other than the fact that the lesson files are must be pretty big because sometimes it takes a long time to load, the EMPOWER GMAT course is by far the best thing out there. And for the price it's crazy! The should actually consider upping the price. It's that good.

I almost defaulted into a big name course, so I feel extremely lucky to have discovered EMPOWER. There's no question EMPOWER schools the other courses from what I've seen. The lessons were engaging, really informative, and practical. The email support especially from Brian and Stacy was super fast. If you're prepping for the GMAT from scratch you have to take EMPOWER! I'd go as far as to say you'd be a fool not to."
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Value for Money!!!
March 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By priyamayilsamy joined: August 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Japinder Kaur
I registered for e-GMAT complete course in Oct,14 after completing my first GMAT attempt and failing miserably with a score of 540(Q41,V23). I stumbled upon e-GMAT though GMAT club forums and decided to join. The course was worth the money I spent on it. I was not sure whether I would improve when I started but the course was designed so well that I could easily grasp the techniques and apply them. Initially it takes time to apply the concepts for every question since it is time consuming but when you practice a lot of questions together with the OG guide questions which e-GMAT recommends, applying the principles becomes an integral part while you solve the questions. The workshops are strikingly useful to judge yourself and to improve your weak areas. Moreover there are sufficient questions neatly subdivided into groups to help practice efficiently. When you follow the course step by step regularly you will see an automatic score improvement which is unbelievable. My quant score has improved in the mock tests to Q50 and my verbal score to V32.
My GMAT exam is just a few weeks away and I am quite confident that I will score well and will write a success story .


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT 730! Thank you EMPOWERgmat!
March 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 18, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  190 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
"The EMPOWERgmat course made it simple. There's a lot of material in the course, so you're going to have to really plan out your schedule wisely, but I followed their three-month study plan, and it mapped everything out by stages, which made the course easy to follow.
I really enjoyed the course. It was very we neatly laid in terms of the basic content, the tactics such as test it, and the intangibles like CAT pacing, and the psychological advice for test day in the podcasts. For example, the content goes through all of the basic algebra, but not just algebra for the sake of algebra. Algebra for the GMAT. The same is true for the sentence correction rules, geometry etc. Then, what's so cool is that you really get to know the logic behind the questions. For me, learning the critical reasoning questions tactics made it night and day. I aways seemed to narrow down to two answers and pick the wrong one so often. EMPOWERgmat trained me to think like a GMAT pro. By the time I was ready to write the real exam, I was nearly perfect on CR on my practice CATS. I learned how to break down the questions, choose the best approach to get to the answer fastest, and sometimes that includes triage which blew my mind. On RC, you have to learn how to read the passages to understand that it's actually not about the detail, it's actually about the role the details play. For me that was a very important breakthrough. My performance in RC also skyrocketed after 2 to 3 CATS

I recommend EMPOWERgmat to everyone, and when I ask them how it's going, they all say the same things I am. If only I were on commission.

I've written thank you notes to Rich and Max and I'm happy to add my review here! You guys rock!! Keep doing what you're doing!"
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
490 to 770 - Empowergmat Made Me A GMAT Killer!
March 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By joshcmba joined: March 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   EMPOWERgmat Online Course | Location:   Online  |
I studied with Empowergmat for 3 months and was able to accomplish something that I never thought was possible. I’ve never been a great tester, but with Rich’s and Max’s guidance I went from a 490 to a 770. On my official GMAT, I felt like Neo in The Matrix. I was ready for everything, used my training and even dumped 4 questions on purpose. There are so many little secrets that you’ll learn with this course that you really just have to stay calm, follow the lessons and do enough practice. Empower has literally changed my life. I’m looking at scholarships and getting really excited to apply this fall. If I can do it, anyone can do it!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT Review
March 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By ptej joined: August 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I Found it really very useful. It was regular like the Princeton courses. I wish i get a more practice questions not only from official guide but from other books too. I have practised the Official guide twice, so i am aware of the answers well.

Overall, other the above suggestion, i am able to get completely thorough with the course. The Sentence correction section was very simple and understanding. The Reading Comphrension was understanding but expected more analysis on it. The most interesting to me is the critical reasoning section. I really had interesting topics while going through the section. As told earlier, the practice questions are from the same official guide which i have already practised a couple of times.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very Satisfied
March 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By ayellis joined: August 10, 2014 | 9 | 6 | native speaker
Improvement:  160 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
Thus far I have been very happy with the Economist GMAT course. I paid $500 and have thus far been using it for several weeks - I am around 45% complete with the quantitative section and 35% done with verbal. I am very solid with my verbal knowledge, and have been happy with the focus thus far on the quantitative work. My only small complaint is that while its adaptive technology is touted upon purchase, there is little evidence of it actually being put in use. Is the adaptiveness actual or in name only? I'd like to see more information on that. Overall I have been happy with the content and with the communications I have been receiving. I have yet to take the GMAT, but am hoping this will be the key to a good performance the first time around. Highly recommended for those who have an on-the-go lifestyle, can afford it, and believe they'd benefit from a course that does the work for them (at least supposedly!).

UPDATE: After taking the official GMAT, I ended up with a 160 point improvement from my first practice test to the actual GMAT, going from 550 to 710. I was shooting for 720 - though I guess I was happy with anything over 700, and really I should be thankful to have made it as far as I did. There were some things emphasized by The Economist that were not included in the GMAT at all, but overall I feel like it was well worth the money and my time was used wisely. I was also featured on their blog - so check out more of my thoughts, as edited by them, here: https://gmat.economist.com/blog/student-stories/how-andrew-conquered-gmat-full-time-job


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Quant & SC Good, Verbal Not so Good
March 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By HamzaSyed joined: February 8, 2015 | 3 | 2 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Quant:

Great. Explanations come in two forms: video, text. FOR ALL questions. So you can learn while feeling relaxed and not putting strain on eye (reading). Explanations are good and corresponding video lessons are attached!!!

SC:

Good. Points out and explains every split and thing and again, corresponding videos are attached with EVERY QUESTION...JUST LIKE IT IS IN QUANT!!!

RC:

I found the passages to be way too long, convoluted, rich with weird words and dates. Couldn't learn much.

CR:

Could not learn much here. Very boring and frustrating. Explanations are not well enough. Wrong answer types are not explained.

(CR and RC also have very limited video lessons as compared to SC and Quant. My rough guess is that they together account for arround 10% of total video lessons. This is also because of nature of these two sections.)

Practice Review: Very well detailed and customizable. You can look into and compare results based on question type, topic/subject, average timing taken to solve the questions, when the question was taken, flagged, etc. Very good.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings