Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [892]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
AMAZING
July 10 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  brandon Pierpont
Veritas not just gives you tools to get ready for the GMAT but they also explain to you the philosophy behind this exam. For me, this is a key in my studies. I used to have Kaplan method and I think that it was non-personal at all. As a non-traditional student, I needed to find a course that could understand my background and that gives me more tools that are specific to my targets. Veritas does this throughout out an excellent customer service. They called me and email me at least twice a week to keep tracking of my performance. AMAZING
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thanks E-gmat
July 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sameertaneja joined: January 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
After wondering through various sites and forums for the good GMAT prep course I came across e-gmat.
The most difficult part of an online course is to figure out whether it will be a right fit for you. Most of the courses provide limited free access, so that a person can get a look and feel of their material. But for me that was not enough. Thanks to E-gmat that their limited access is good enough to make up your mind without any ambiguity. They not only provide free trial for SC, RC & CR but also to some of their Webinar sessions.
webinar on boldface was an amazing . It taught a very simple and effective approach to tackle complex looking bold face CR passages.
This strengthen my trust in E-gmat and I finally purchased their Verbal Online Course.
RC was my biggest pain area. I was able to manage a descent score in RC but I was taking more than average time to solve a passage. I went across many books and read lot of articles on forums but none of the techniques worked for me. But e-Gmat course is Superb. Their step by step procedure to comprehend a passage and techniques to get completely engross in a passage really clicked .
Their SC explanations, especially breaking the sentences into clauses, helped me to solve some complex SC questions like a charm.
Highlights for this Course :
1) a very nicely knitted course structure and plan.
2) Extensive explanation of some difficult rules in a simple and clear language , advantage for non Natives, backed by practical explanations on some Questions, is outstanding.
3) Pre and Post Assessment Quizzes, are the quantifiable measures to access one's progress on a topic.
4) SC technique to break down complex and long sentence into small clauses and then analyze for the correctness of a sentence makes SC piece of cake.
5) Prompt response to your queries.
After Applying E-gmat's techniques I could feel a drastic difference in my verbal practice score from 25- 28 to 36 - 38 V
I wish if e-Gmat team can add some more practice questions in each section, then it will act as one stop shop for GMAT verbal practice. Hope E-gmat team will work on it.
I strongly recommend e-gmat to all the students who are looking for an enhancement in their Verbal Score.
All the best friends with your preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Fantastic review!
July 08 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
I checked with a number of providers before selecting Veritas prep and I have not been disappointed. The material is well organized with a touch up on old skills, a challenging lesson and then lots of homework to practice. The program really teaches you how to successfully work through problems and as they say 'think like the test maker'. I have found that the practice problems range from low skill to high which has been nice. I was originally afraid of only seeing difficult questions and then missing easy questions on the test because of out thinking myself. However, they have done an excellent job providing an array of questions levels. The support has been excellent as well in regards to any help that I have requested. Quick responses and helpful people.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
July 08 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By RajanGanti joined: January 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took this course sometime in Jan, 2014. Was very skeptical about an online course. But e-GMAT course proved otherwise. It is very useful for all non native speakers. Even though I haven't given my exam yet, I can see a tremendous improvement of 8-10 points in Verbal.

Software used for the training is pretty fluid. Instructors are knowledgeable. Approach is very structured.
The best part that I liked about e-GMAT is that for any given question, instructors not only explain why a given answer choice is right but also explain why a given answer choice is not right.

It is very important to know why an answer choice is incorrect.


I would suggest e-GMAT for all non native speakers especially SENTENCE CORRECTION.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Improved from VA 30 (Overall 650) to VA 35 (Overall 700)
July 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nellyP joined: September 27, 2010 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I have given my exam on 27th June 2014. I was able to score the magic number of 700. Credit goes to the awesome course created by e-GMAT. In all my earlier attempts (4) I never crossed 30 in VA. When I took e-GMAT course, it improved my confidence level in VA section.

If I look back and see what was different this time from my earlier attempts, I see it was the confidence level. I have an issue of anxiety and nervousness in the exam. If I am not able to answer one question in exam, nervousness starts building up. This was the factor that was taking toll in earlier attempts. Simple concepts in e-GMAT course, such as Understanding the meaning in SC, finding out of scope answers in RC and CR, were key for boosting the confidence.

I did not even complete the OG this time, not even MGMAT guides. The only source of VA preparation was e-GMAT course.

Once again I am very thankful to the e-GMAT team for creating such a helpful course , especially for the non-natives.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Valuable Experience
July 04 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By shadabahmadster joined: March 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
This class was extremely useful as it taught key strategies on how to do well on the GMAT. These strategies have helped me overcome my biggest obstacle - Time.

Before taking this course, I was always struggling with time on the Quant section. Having an Engineering background wasn't as helpful as one would think. But with the help of Ravi's strategies and time saving techniques, I was able to overcome this. My score has increased dramatically on the Practice Tests as a result.

Ravi was extremely helpful and he would communicate with students on a one on one basis during the class to address their areas of weakness. This proved to be one of the most helpful aspects of the class. All in all, Ravi has been instrumental in the increase in my GMAT score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Thanks a Ton E-gmat for helping me score V40 from V28.
July 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Digvijay01 joined: October 26, 2013 | 22 | 19 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
After I failed miserably in my first attempt at GMAT (610, V28), it was clear that verbal is the point of pain for me. After researching for a while, attending E-Gmat’s free webinars and trying their free trial course, I decided to place my trust in them and bought their Verbal Online Course.
They sent me a study plan and for next 6 weeks, I followed that study plan religiously. I started with SC and CR to improve and then to RC.
Once done, I attended couple of strategy sessions by Rajat from E-gmat to formulate my strategy. One thing stuck with me-Although verbal will boost score by more points, improving in quant will also help. As quant is strength for us, we should use it to our advantage. This helped me to keep practicing my Quant skills too and helped me improve from Q46-Q49.
All in all E-gmat offers a very good course especially for non-natives. This is due to simple reason that the language they use and their voice tone and accent are very familiar to us and helps grasp things more quickly and for longer time. Another plus point is that they have broken the course into small manageable chunks reducing the complexity.
Some area of improvement can be RC course I think. The methodology is good but not from test perspective. For both CR and RC there should be some guidelines on how to comprehend in a certain time. I found such note taking directives in Manhattan CR book and loved it.
But still this course was worth every penny.
In the end, they can just provide guidelines, cost materials and question banks. The main responsibility lays with us how to utilize them and how to make the best use of the course. For example, my accuracy in RC increased when I was done with all RC in both OG’13 and Verbal review. So, a great course with your dedication and perseverance can produce great results.
Hope this helps.
Regards
Digvijay


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course and Even Better Instructor! (Ravi)
July 01 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi, my instructor, was passionate and extremely knowledgeable about the material. He actually cares about your progress and personally checked in through email to make sure that I was on track. Even more important though, he really knows his stuff! It is clear he is an experienced instructor.

The Veritas Prep Online course was perfect for my needs. They offered online courses on the weekends so the class would not interfere with my work schedule and the course format, in which you started with a skill builder prior to the lesson and then followed up with a plethora of homework problems, fit my learning style. One of the features that was particularly useful was the availability of homework problems online so that I could track my progress, incorrect responses, and time spent on each problem. This came in handy the month after the course ended when I reviewed all the problems on my own.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
The course is good. But can be improved.
July 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Digvijay01 joined: October 26, 2013 | 22 | 19 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
So late in Oct last year, I decided to enroll in a course to streamline my GMAT prep. I researched a bit and after trying Eco-Gmat's free trial for 2-3 days, I decided to enroll in their course.

I liked their system and other support that they provide. In the end, I couldn't get the results I was aspiring for , but I can't blame that on this course. I did improved in mocks, but failed to deliver in real time.

Nevertheless, I am providing brief review of each section of the course that might help other people to evaluate this course.

Essays: The template and the tips provided were awesome. My course had option of submitting 4 essays and getting feedback on them. I received good feedback from the instructors. I scored 5 and 5.5 on real tests using same template and tips.

QA: Quant was pretty good. It helped me review all topics and provided good tips to tackle certain kind of Qs in shortest of time. The approach to DS was awesome. It helped me attack DS Qs with Max accuracy.

VA: Verbal section is pretty decent. Their processes are quite good. One need to internalize the processes and other ways of tackling certain Qs to get maximum results. Their RC section helped me a lot. Their approach to the passage and Qs is simple and intuitive and is focused on getting max result in min. time. Only drawback was one has to read an RC passage again and again to answer Qs which pop-out randomly. It sometimes gets irritating.

SimTests: Simtests were alright. They share a lot of Qs pool with the course you attempt. As I attempted these after completing 70-80% , I couldn't get much out of these. Also, they only contain QA and VA section and no IR or Essay sections. These tests should be taken as more of practice tests and not mocks.

Support and Interface: Interface was pretty nice. I liked its interactive nature. Also, they have a feature where you can ask a Qs for some practice problem or a concept and tutors will get back to you in 24 hours. I got my doubts cleared on time. Only drawbacks are--you can't skip and focus on your weak areas, you don't have Qs bank, you can't review a concept in its entirety although summaries are available.

All in all, its still a good course and can be bought if someone is starting out. Also, non-natives might not benefit much from VA section of this. So, reiterating the my title--The course is good, but can be improved.

Hope this helps. Kindly let me know if you have any Qs.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
EGMAT Live Prep Course
June 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By TripleB joined: May 25, 2010 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
My dream of going to a top B school started some 4yrs back. I bought OG 12 and few other books for my preparation initially. But I left my preparation in between.

Before EGMAT I followed few books and I clearly missed important things during the prep and my approach towards SC was so different that I used to hit around 50% questions right.Since a score of 700 on GMAT is so common now. I felt like I should beat the GMAT and I joined EGMAT Live Prep in Jan 2014 after scrutinizing the reviews in GMAT Club.
Now I feel Its my Best Buy.

I feel that e-gmat is more detailed in teaching both SC and CR & You get to know the nuances to beat the GMAT verbal. It teaches you the application with no grammar jargon s

The SC live sessions are unbeatable. After each live session I felt more and more confident and comfortable with the application.In Short SC live session is the best in the market for Non Natives like me.

Session on "Prethinking" in CR and "how to takle with Large complex passages" in RC are eye openers.

Integrated reasoning is too good. You just need to complete EGMAT course work with no extra effort.

The main advantages of EGMAT
1) Exceptional Instructors - They are just a mail away and they are best in what they do.After Shradda's SC live sessions.. SC is a cake walk.. Thanks Shradda.
2)Online Course work- Highly interactive,assessment at every level of preperation and can be taken at any point of time.


Few recommendations/requests
1) EGMAT should start Quants too.
2) CR & RC OG verbal explanation videos inclusion would be of great help.

I am taking the GMAT next month and I will get back with the score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings