Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1207]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Great value
January 04 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By brunora joined: September 5, 2013 | 3 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Pros
- great value
- ideal for self-studying
- 800+ questions segmented by difficulty and topic make it easy to focus on your weakness.
- great statistics based on your answers, easy to identify where to focus.
- lessons covering all possible topics
- mobile app (great to watch classes in the gym or in the bus)
- questions are slightly harder than the official gmat, which is good for training

Cons
- Score prediction has a very wide range and still missed my score on both quant and verbal
- No IR or AWA questions (just lessons)
- No practice exam


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT the best Verbal Interactive course for GMAT takers (MUST for non-natives)
January 04 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Life! joined: October 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
Background

Initial GMAT score 640. Verbal was in low 30's :(
Material used:
OG 13 questions
SC by Aristotle

GMAT 2 score 680. Verbal improved by 2-3 points
At this point I did not even wanted to touch GMAT material anymore. I've got the rules but wasn't applying them correctly, I might apply one or 2 rules and then jump to an answer choice. Wasted hours of my time and effort.

e-GMAT Approach

I had attended one of e-gmat's free webinar where Meghna solved a 700 level SC question, which made complete sense as to how she got us to the correct answer.I took advantage of their coupon code and bought Verbal Live Prep. Finished one module after the other, it seemed I was getting closer and closer to a higher score in Verbal. If you are looking for 700+ score Verbal Online provides ample modules to pick up speed but if you need a little push with your study discipline go all in, get the Verbal Live Prep.

All I had to do was tune out the world and listen to how each question was solved, explaination on creating structure around SC or CR is a life saver! The live prep gives access to live sessions where you get to solve 700+ level questions with fellow GMAT takers, its a good way to gauge where you stand on which topic and take notes on the questions you could not solve. Best error log ever!

I am planning to take my GMAT in another month, using Rajat's tactical strategy for the last month prep before I hit the hot seat, wish me luck :).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Flexibility of e-GMAT
January 04 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By kumaranm joined: May 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I liked the flexibility of delivery. I was able to do the course in my pace. I attended a few strategy sessions online.
Esp for a non-native speaker the sentence correction & critical reasoning was very useful. Was not able to use all the material on my previous attempt. Will be attempting my GMAT & hoping to improve my score. 6 months of online access comes in very useful. Within 10 days, i was able to observe a change for the better, in my approach to Sentence correction questions. It goes a step beyond in detailing why each answer choice is wrong. That helps a lot in improving your performance in future questions, esp avoiding similar pitfalls.
Detailed videos help a lot for sentence correction & reading comprehension.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
EXCELLENT FOR SELF-PACED LEARNERS
January 02 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By smarterchild joined: June 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
For those of us who like to learn at our own pace, Magoosh is PERFECT. I was debating on Magoosh and signing up for a much more expensive GMAT course, but I hated that I couldn't personalize the way I spent my time in the full courses (and we all know how important time is when preparing for the GMAT's!) I was able to look at just video topics that I needed, and in my case, that was just mostly the quant section videos. I love how you can customize your practice sets and there are SO many of them too. Each practice set question has a video explaining the answer and that was really helpful too. I had the mobile app as well for watching videos on my phone, etc. Overall, and excellent cost-effective method to study for those who want a personalized curriculum!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
eGMAT quant live prep
January 02 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Engr2012 joined: March 20, 2014 | 7 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Quant Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Krishna Chaitanya
eGMAT quant live prep has lived up to the expectations that were created back in August 2014. The main goal of quant live prep being to push people towards scores of 50 or 51 when they are scoring 48+ in quant. This has been evident from the mock scores that I have been able to achieve be it GMATPREP (test 1: q 50, test 2: q 51).

As a part of the one of the most represented groups taking part in the MBA admission process in USA (Indian engineers ), quant comes naturally to most of us, though not many are able to score 50 or 51. eGMAT quant live prep starts with the very basics and does not assume prior knowledge of concepts of quant. This is probably their strongest point. We all know what are prime numbers, factors , multiples etc but to apply them in an official question is a whole different ball game. I admit that I did buy the course back in August itself when it was launched but the course structure did not impress me. Quant live prep 2.0 has now shown that the eGMAT team is actively looking into making the course easy to understand. There is a study plan for the entire course and it starts with the basics of a concept covered. Questions following the concept are of very high quality and they force you to think and apply the concepts learnt. The live sessions are very helpful in reinforcing the very concepts learnt. One last impressive thing about the course is the prompt replies that you get when you post questions in the eGMAT forums.

Although the course is still in its infancy but the team has done a very good job of removing fear of GMAT quant that many people have.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Want to Score High in GMAT?? Go For MAGOOSH
January 01 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By ARCHANASUNDARJEE joined: February 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh is the the the BEST online tutor sitting very next to you.Yo can feel a tutor is nearby you to correct and explain you..Videos,Blog and Question-Answers explanation will make you grow to the next level wherever you are currently.
I always Love to read,Just becoz of Magoosh training materials..


Verbal Explanation or Math explanation gives me lot of confidence to read,examine myself.

I love to read my favorite professor's (Mike Mcgarry) blogs and explanations.. he teaches very nicely and can be easily understandable..


I improved myself a lot and am expecting to score a high marks in GMAT. Wish me for the same..

Happy Reading!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent resource!
December 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By agadodia joined: November 17, 2014 | 1 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Mark Sullivan
Manhattan GMAT has been a great help in preparing for my GMAT exam. I started way back in January 2014 and gave the exam in June. The live online course is a great way for professionals like me to prepare and secure a good score. Mark and Saxon were great in explaining the various concepts in verbal and Quants. The materials provided by MGMAT are the best resources one can have. Even though i started my main preparations after the live course ended, the materials and recordings helped me prepare to the best of my capability and secure a good satisfactory course. I would recomment this to anyone planning to take his/ her GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Value for money! : 510 to 620
December 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mehtajay93 joined: July 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I signed up for Magoosh after reading about it on this very website. For 99 dollars, I got access to all the videos and practice questions. Going by the rate, this deal was a steal!

Coming to the content, I think Magoosh's practice questions are perfect. They reflect the actual GMAT exam content.

The Quant videos are bang on. They've managed to cover almost everything. The videos are short, minimal in nature and very easy to understand.

Their Verbal videos are great too, but I feel they should work more on the Critical Reasoning section. It is one of the most difficult parts of the GMAT, and students could do a lot more with explanations of that topic.

In addition to all this, their blog is a treat for all GMAT students. Study Plans, book reviews, tips and tricks. You name it, and they have it.

All in all, a great product. Be rest assured, I'm going to be recommending this to anyone I come across who needs help with preparation for the GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
GMAT debrief; e-GMAT verbal online
December 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By harshaiit joined: February 22, 2014 | 28 | 8 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
Hello Folks,

I appeared for GMAT on 9th Dec '14. I scored 710 (Q51 V34 AWA 6.0 and 5 on that section I can't remember the name). Anyways, this debrief will layout the resources I used, time I spent and my opinion about the whole thing.

Resources:
MGMAT Math books - Very useful to refresh the basics
GMAT Club - Quizzes - extremely useful - Highly recommended
e-GMAT Verbal Online - Highly recommended for non-native speakers. I will write a separate note about this.
800 Tests: Recommended to get into the groove. Take these tests seriously but not the scores, don't worry about what you score
OG 13 - Cover to cover
Verbal Review 2ed - Cover to cover
Quant Review 2ed - Cover to cover
Time:
I started my preparation in Aug '13 and the first thing I did was to purchase the OG'13 book from Amazon, got it shipped and slept over it till Feb '14 (work issues). The next thing I did was to get serious about my goals and buy MGMAT set of 10 books and slept over again till July '14. I should remind that I was preparing on and off in an unstructured way. I signed up for e-GMAT in May'14 and attended a few sessions run by Rajat, Payal and team. I wasn't aware of the details behind verbal. I realized it is not run of the mill test and got serious about verbal prep and went over each and every online lesson till Sept'14. I been working for about 9 years now and my attention span is of a 2-year old (largely due to emails, projects and the life on fast track during my work days). The training that e-GMAT provided was a life changing experience. I left all the grammar, reasoning, RC habits during the course of my work (who cares about grammar anyways while writing emails or preparing a presentation, RC? I don't know of anyone reading more than 2 liner emails, forget about 700 word paragraphs, reasoning? nobody cares - Ok, enough of the rant about work). e-GMAT helped me update my verbal skills and I was back in form (the last time I gave any serious test was in 2003 - GRE, CAT etc). I was consistently scoring around 40 in all my tests.

Needless to say, Math was a cakewalk.

Test Day: 3:30 PM - worst possible slot. AWA was cool. I used the template by chineseburned (take a bow). Next up was that awful topic and my score reflected my liking for it.
Math - was damn hard. The tests and quizzes were no where near the difficulty level I faced. I thought I screwed it up badly. I used the whole 75 mins allotted for Quant. A point to note is that I never used more than 45 mins to complete the 37 questions during my mock tests. So, considering that, I felt humbled and sad after those stressful 75 mins.
Took the 8 min break. My advise - take it. Take a walk, stretch, eat something, smoke etc.
Verbal - I don't know what to say, I never imagined I would score 34. One thing I learned is that the algorithm can't be beaten (sorry beat the gmat), it finds out your skills that you acquired over your lifetime (thanks Liam Neeson) and puts you where you are supposed to be.

Final Words:
Anyways, it has been a great learning experience and I was able to get over something that I have been procrastinating for over 6 months. Now that GMAT is out of the way, I am off to the next step - lengthy essays and application forms. I hate this aspect of the application process. I wish there was one form that I could fill for all colleges and get over it. Okay, I think I rambled enough.

Thanks GMATCLUB and e-GMAT. I wish all the future applicants great success.

To the GMATClub team: I am hiding my name and personal details on my score card. Hope that is okay.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh GMAT Prep (Premium Subscription)
December 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By hotfla5h joined: July 22, 2014 | 1 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
You can use this link to sign up yourself and I'll get a referral bonus!
--> http://gmat.magoosh.com/invite/U7SHSD

I tried the free trial of Magoosh when I joined the GMAT Club in preparation of my upcoming GMAT exam. I found the videos extremely helpful, short and sweet, each one about 10 minutes in length. The lessons are laid out very logically and the flow is easy to follow. Quizzes are at the ends of the groups of lessons and are a great way to gauge how much information you are absorbing. I particularly like the ability to take notes in each of the lessons, practice lots of varied questions, complete flash cards (great app for your phone is available), and log onto Magoosh from anywhere and it is all saved. I'd recommend using this software to help review major topics, practice questions and get 2 more practice exams.

Also, Magoosh is great with asking for feedback and responding to it. I was having some trouble and emailed them, got a response back on a Sunday!

You can use this link to sign up yourself and I'll get a referral bonus!
--> http://gmat.magoosh.com/invite/U7SHSD

Hope this was helpful :)


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings