Boston (Fin District), MA USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [13]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
David was very helpful and enthusiastic
November 24 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Boston (Fin District), MA USA  |
David was a very helpful and enthusiastic tutor. It was great to review the problems I got wrong on my practice tests with him to see how he would choose to answer the same question. I left each session with David feeling better about my chances on the GMAT than before. Before meeting with David I was scoring in the high 600s. By the time I took my test I had been consistently scoring in the low 700s on practice tests and ended up with the 710 I wanted on game dy. David was great to work with, very flexible to meet with and cared a lot about my success.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Poor course scheduling and cancellation communication resulted in delaying applications
October 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mbauer978 joined: October 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Boston (Fin District), MA USA  |
For those with busy work schedules and inflexibility in application deadlines, beware. Veritas' ineptitudes in course scheduling, planning, and communications of changes can leave you SOL and waiting to apply to grad school until next year.

Working with Veritas was a logistical nightmare for me. I enrolled in a session of the GMAT in-person course nearly two months prior its start date. I arrive to the location at the time stated for the class (a hotel's conference center) to find that there is no record of the class meeting. I call Veritas, but am unable to get in touch with anyone as their customer service department is not staffed on Saturdays (nor is open during normal business hours for the East Coast.) I send a message to their customer service account, but don't hear anything back either.

Monday rolls around, and I call to figure out what happened to the class on Saturday. I'm told that the session of the class was cancelled in it's entirety due to low enrollment and that an email had been sent 2 DAYS PRIOR to the start of the class stating this. I go back and find the email in my junk folder, with no mention of the cancellation in the subject line. I go on to read the email and find that the email requests acknowledgement of the message being received. Veritas had not heard from me as I didn't see the email until after the class was supposed to meet. They claimed they left me a voicemail, but I received no such thing. I would have expected better follow-up given the fact there was such low attendance to the class, but that was not the case.

To rectify the situation, they offered an alternative online class (even though I paid a premium for in-person training) or a class that would meet after my exam date and application deadlines.

Their poor planning and communication resulted in my decision to push out the round of deadlines I planned on applying to, putting me back an entire semester's opportunity for classes.

Don't let this happen to you too!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Pretty good
September 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Boston (Fin District), MA USA  |
The course is good if you take full advantage of the course. Each book goes over different topics found on the GMAT, and these were helpful. My instructor was knowledgable about the business school admission process, which was helpful.
However, my official GMAT score was lower than the scores of my Veritas Prep practice exams. The questions on the practice exams did not seem as difficult as the questions found on the real official exam. I will definitely be taking the GMAT again but may take a different prep course for future preparation.
I would recommend Veritas Prep for GMAT preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great class, worth the money
August 21 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By sarahmerion joined: August 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Boston (Fin District), MA USA  |
This prep class was wonderful for many reasons. Among them...

1) The books are top notch. They are easy to follow and structured incredibly logically. They include easily digestible text and great tips and tricks.

2) The online materials are fabulous. I can download the books onto any mobile device, access answers to homework sets, visit "office hours" with instructors, and watch live online classes again if I missed a class.

3) The live instruction with instructor Mark was great. He was clear, succinct, and explained everything super well.

4) Going to a physical class forced me to study, which is why I really liked the in person class.

5) The best is that you have access to your materials for 1 year after your start date of your class, even the office hours with instructors.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Essential for the GMAT
June 16 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Shines joined: June 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Boston (Fin District), MA USA  | Taught by:  Dave Goldstein
I have not taken the official test yet however, my practice scores have already increased by 50 points. Dave was a great teach and made class enjoyable with little jokes and fun GMAT facts. He made sure that every question was answered either during class or after the standard portion of the class was over. This class walks you through a lot of little tricks that can turn 3 minute questions into 30 second questions. An example of this would be using a number line for weighted averages instead of doing it algebraically. The 90 seconds saved on these types of questions can be used elsewhere. I would definitely recommend this class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent for any level of preparedness
January 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By maltbiet joined: January 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Boston (Fin District), MA USA  | Taught by:  Dave Goldstein
I as extremely impressed with the level of service and teaching I received throughout (and beyond) my Veritas Prep MBA course (full length, in-person). The provided class and study materials are thorough, well written, and sufficient for test takers regardless of their preparedness.

Veritas will set you up with both 12+ workbooks (one for each class, covering each topic area of the GMAT) that offer both instruction and practice problems and accompanying solutions explained. On top of this, you'll be given 1 year of access to Veritas' online resources. These include video tutorials (should you miss a class or want a refresher), multiple sample problems, links to additional resources, and more. Months after completing the class, I'm still using these online tools.

The instructor (Dave) was a GMAT genius and an excellent teacher. Not only have answers for every GMAT-related question our class asked but he managed to engage a class of thirty students, all of varying qual and quant abilities, with poise. Approachable, knowledgeable, friendly. Dave was exceptional.

I strongly recommend Veritas Prep. I feel well supported as I prepare for the GMAT and the business school application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas-Full Course In Person
March 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By andrews123 joined: March 3, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Boston (Fin District), MA USA  | Taught by:  Dave Goldstein
I went into the whole process thinking I wanted to dedicate 2 full months of learning in class, studying on the side, and taking as many practice tests as possible - with the goal of taking the gmat once and being done. I started in the middle of winter when the snow was falling and there were less distractions associated with spring/summer/fall activities. I did the 3 hour sessions with Dave two days a week and found them to be very beneficial.

Dave is just a good person with the students best interests at heart. He is there to help in any way he can and give us the necessary skills to master the gmat. I liked the course layout of breaking down the types of disciplines (arith, geometry, reading comp, stats, etc) at the start, followed by the later sessions of piecing it all together (advanced verbal, advanced word problems, etc). This gave us the ability to see the strategies and employ them in class and on our own before we brought it together later in the course.

The time went by really fast - 2 months seems like a good chunk of time to dedicate energy to master, but in reality it goes by very fast. I'd recommend giving yourself a few weeks to a month of time after the course before taking the exam. I gave myself a week and a half and felt a little crunched at the end trying to synthesize everything I learned and apply it on practice tests. I also felt I didn't dedicate (nor did Veritas course) to the integrated reasoning or the essay. I wish I had a little more time to practice the essays, even though that is not the most important of sections on the exam.

Dave did a good job of breaking down the classes as well, starting with problems from the previous class to test our aptitude and what we remembered. He then dove into the class itself and we would do strategy, a few examples together, and then a few alone and then work through them. He always gave multiple ways to answer questions and always added takeaways for us to use more globally to answer later questions. I found this method of teaching very effective for me personally.

Overall, I'd rate the course very highly and would recommend it to others. My score improved 100 points exactly from where I was on my first dry run practice test. I also found that I am naturally more of a quantitative person but did much better on the verbal. I felt that this course is directly to credit for that increase in verbal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Value
January 05 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 5, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Boston (Fin District), MA USA  | Taught by:  Dave Goldstein
My experience with this course was excellent. I had taken the GMAT without any formal prep in Oct 2009 and didn't do as well as I had hoped. I learned some crucial tips and tricks in this course as well as how and what to study.

The day-to-day course hours may seem long but the instructor makes the time fly by. We always started and ended on time with the option of staying late to review extra questions. If you're looking to start from scratch or if you need a brief review of some trouble spots, I would highly recommend this course. It's well worth it!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
amazing
December 10 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By lji810 joined: December 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Boston (Fin District), MA USA  |
i took this course last summer and it was awesome. the instructor really knew his stuff. he was very comfortable in front of the class and answered any and all questions. there was literally not a single question that he was stumped on. he taught us how to systematically break down a question and answer it correctly. i was aiming for 700+ so i didnt want to be bored with the fundamentals but turns out those fundamentals really helped me build on more difficult questions. its kind of pricey but totally worth it since the books break down into very specific sections and in person office hours are the best.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Tutoring is a great investment - Get David Newland
October 14 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By AJ12 joined: October 14, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Boston (Fin District), MA USA  | Taught by:  David Newland
I would recommend online tutoring to anyone who is serious about maximizing their preparation time. Group courses are useful, but tutoring allows you to learn at your pace and to focus on those question types which give you the most difficulty. It is the most efficient way to fix your weaknesses. The GMAT is not difficult if you prepare correctly.

I paid for 28 hours of online tutoring with Veritas. I was assigned David Newland as my instructor. It was the best money I could have spent. Within six weeks of working with David, I scored 770 and 760 on the GMAT Prep Software PP1 and PP2 tests. On the real exam I scored 700 (90%), comprising Quant 47 (73%) and Verbal 39 (88%). The drop between the PP tests and the real test was mostly due to nerves and bad time management on the day.

Could I have scored 700+ without David? Probably not given I only had six weeks to prepare. David was excellent. With 8+ years of GMAT experience he knows how to solve every question the test can throw at you. He explained methodology in a clear and easy to apply fashion. He was also flexible and we could frequently schedule sessions on short notice.

The GMAT is one of the most important aspects of your MBA application. Yes the rest of your application matters, but in reality if you want to be competitive in applying to the good schools you need a strong GMAT.

Tutoring is worth it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings