Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [14]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Review GMAT private tutoring package 30 hrs
January 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA  |
I chose Optimus Prep because a friend of mine was a former customer. He told me that they have good tutors and are not so expensive like others. I was also interested in Kaplan test prep but I read in the internet that their tutors are not the best and have only scored in the 90th percentile. Since I tried to score above 700 to apply for some Ivy League schools I wanted to have the very best tutors. I contacted the customer support of Optimus Prep and found them to be friendly and helpful. They sent me a CAT code and I took a free diagnostic exam at home. The results were 590 which is slightly above average as I was told. I had learned some stuff by reading the books but was eager to improve my GMAT score with the help of a pro tutor.
My lessons took place in Chicago. I took the 30 hours package and later additional 10 hours. My tutor helped in every aspect of the GMAT, from concepts over time management strategies to Integrated Reasoning. I was very satisfied and took more and more of the included CAT codes. My GMAT Scores from the CAT codes came closer to the 700 bench mark. After my lessons were over I repeated the learned concepts and finally took my first real GMAT exam scoring a 710! I am more than happy that I achieved my goal after only two months of intensive learning!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Outstanding Course
January 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By cgoods joined: January 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA  | Taught by:  Keith Blume
Manhattan GMAT is an outstanding course for people that are dedicated to working hard enough to get their desired score. The course teaches the fundamentals of solving all problems, and the extra resources provided ensure that all students have access to upper level questions and an opportunity to score in the 700+ range. Prior to taking Manhattan GMAT, I was scoring in the 500-600 range. Afterward, I was consistently in the 700-760 range. They drill timing and analysis of problems, which allows students to tackle even the hardest of problems. I would recommend the course to anyone that is looking to score high enough on the GMAT to get into top 10 business schools.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course
October 22 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA  | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
Overall it was a great course. I hadn't done much studying going in, but left feeling confident. The instructor was great. Went to Stanford for his BA and MBA then worked at Apple. Not only was he extraordinarily intelligent but had a knack for communicating. He didn't get caught up in the weeds of the GMAT and really focused on the macro issues people had. He pulled everyone aside for a one-on-one coaching lesson to talk about their strengths and weaknesses. He always kept the lectures moving at a swift speed and if a student struggled with a topic he would see them after class. He also seemed passionate about what he was doing, which was refreshing. Great course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Framework - Fundamentals - Focus!!! Manhattan GMAT has it all!!!
July 08 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By delgasx joined: July 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA  | Taught by:  Keith Blume
Manhattan GMAT's prep course gave me the preparation and confidence I needed to succeed - and I'll consider my 730 a success! The framework helped me organize the GMAT topics into digestable pieces so I could quickly see which areas I needed to focus on most. The quantitative drill set workbooks proved invaluable in helping me shake off the rust on my math fundamentals. And the strategies taught in the classroom helped me focus my time on the exam. I particularly loved the interactive class format where we were timed on practice problems one at a time and got to see where we (classmates and I) got tripped up so we could also learn from each other's mistakes.

Keith Blume is a great instructor who was able to think through problems and solutions from multiple perspectives on the spot to test alternate approaches considered by the students. I strongly recommend Manhattam GMAT if you want to challenge yourself to a high score!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Invaluable preparation
May 21 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 17, 2012 | 22 | 7 | native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA  | Taught by:  Angela Guido
Preparing for the GMAT obviously goes without saying. But many are understandably apprehensive about paying $1000+ for an in-person course on top of $250 per GMAT session, etc. I certainly was one of those people. But think of it this way: a bump in your GMAT score, which is probably inevitable with a good course/instructor, can mean the difference between so many things: a safety school vs. a dream school; paying sticker vs. receiving a scholarship; confidence going into the app season vs. apprehension about candidacy; etc. So the money should easily be rationalized given the huge importance of your GMAT score.

But which to take?? I spent a lot of time researching programs and it was clear that Manhattan GMAT had an edge, first and foremost because of its superior print materials. Not to say that other programs don't put out good stuff -- they do -- but MGMAT really seemed to have an edge. Full disclosure, I previously had taken an LSAT course with Angela, so I was confident in her ability to teach. So I chose MGMAT and was extremely pleased. Certainly you could use the MGMAT print materials alone, but augmenting those w/ a strict lesson plan and interactive weekly classes meant the difference between an active/engaged and a passive/solitary style of preparation. I am biased, obviously, but I really believe the former is worth its weight in gold, and MGMAT is the way to go.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT: Worth the Investment
February 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 3, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA  | Taught by:  Dan Bartz
Fantastic course. Although time intensive, the preparation was great (and a good prep for actually applying to a part-time MBA program). I took the test once on my own without enough preparation and did not get the score I wanted. I took the Manhattan course and retook the test about 2 weeks after the class was over -- and my score improved by 100 points. I decided on the in-class sessions to force some discipline upon myself.

The instructor was the highlight. He was so patient in class and followed up with emails each week. The class taught so many techniques to solve both the quant and verbal sections. On the verbal section topics, I was most impressed with how the course broke down Critical Reasoning. You learned how to truly read and answer the question. For the quant, the class opened my eyes to the various ways to think about the problems. It's a well designed course with more resources than you could ever utilize; but the options ensure every student will be able to get what they need.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
620 to 750
October 19 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By mport1 joined: June 3, 2012 | 11 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA  | Taught by:  Chris Brusznicki
Manhattan GMAT was an excellent course and I highly recommend it to everyone. Their instructors are very strong in teaching both Verbal and Quant. Chris Brusznicki in particular was excellent. I was able to increase my score from 620 to 750 with their help.

Their materials are also by far the best I've found out of all the other GMAT prep companies. In addition, their online tools such as their companion to the Official Guide were extremely helpful in my preparation. I really think the course is definitely worth the money, and I think it is the best you can find out there.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT 9 course review
August 14 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA  | Taught by:  Viren Tellis
Overall, I think Manhattan GMAT is a great program dedicated to helping students obtain their personal best scores.

I took the 9 week in person class at the Chicago-Evanston location. While the time commitment and work load were demanding, I think it really helped me stay on top of my studies and focus. Being in a classroom helped me focus during class; other than that though, I am not really sure if the in person class is significantly better than the online class, since the instructors and work load are the same. Looking back, I probably could have benefitted the same amount from the online course. But like I said, being in an actual classroom helped me zero in on the material being presented and not get easily distracted.

What stands out to me, however, is not necessarily the course itself but the course materials. They literally provide you with EVERYTHING you will need to study. From study guides which explain topics in detail to an online practice question tracking system to 6 online exams-- this course really covers it all. I never felt as if I didn't have the materials to succeed- it was just a matter of me utilizing them often. Even purchasing the materials alone will drastically help you improve your score.

After the 9 week course, I waited 3 weeks and then took my GMAT exam. This exam did not go as according to my plan. I had been consistently scoring upper 600s on my practice tests, and then scored significantly lower on my actual exam (640). Needless to say, I was a bit upset. However, Manhattan GMAT did not abandon me once my course was over. They offer a free post-exam assessment for individuals who feel they did not perform to their best ability on the exam. In this one hour session, an instructor who had previously reviewed all my practice tests and exam scores helped me identify the specific areas I needed to improve upon, as well as practical things I could do to improve my score. For the next 30 days, I really buckled down and focused on the areas I was weak in, as opposed to just covering ALL the material again. This ended up paying off!

I was very pleased with my score in the end-- it was my target score all along and I reached it. I know I couldn't have gotten there without the guided help from Manhattan GMAT.

Tips-- be sure to use the OG Archer tracking system from Manhattan GMAT; also, before you take the test make sure to download the free GMAC material and practice exams since those are exactly the same format as the test so you can get familiar.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Private Tutor Session with Keith
August 02 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By kpark joined: August 2, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA  | Taught by:  Keith Blume
I only had 5 hours of private tutor time with Keith of Manhattan GMAT Chicago, and I improved my score by 50 points (from 650 to 700). I had spent about 3 months of self-study (including 2 online math fundamentals courses from Manhattan GMAT) and scored a 650. I had scored in the 50th percentile for math and 91st percentile for verbal. Needless to say, my quant needed work!

I studied for another 6 weeks on my own and did worse (620 overall with only a slight improvement in my quant and obviously worse on verbal). Needless to say, I was frustrated and defeated. I chose to meet with a private tutor vs. a prep class because I didn't want to invest another 9 weeks into studying.

I met with Keith for 5 hours total and focused solely on quant. From the first meeting, he diagnosed my issues (apparently I was studying TOO much) and taught me a few concepts that I kept getting tripped up on. I actually took the next 5 weeks very easy. I did one practice test, met two additional times with Keith and studied about 3 hours the week of the test. My score improved to 700 (71st percentile quant; 88th percentile verbal). Perhaps just not studying was really the key for me, but I wouldn't have felt comfortable enough to stop studying without Keith's belief in my ability.

I will also say though that at least 4-5 concepts we covered appeared on my quant section on test day - so that definitely did help! Both Keith's knowledge and encouragement were crucial to my success.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
If you have to pick one look no further this is it
July 19 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mirfan2 joined: December 22, 2009 | 108 | 11 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA  | Taught by:  Liz Moliski
I did some research and asked around about other courses and the most positive I kept hearing about was Manhattan, minus the cost. It is expensive, but it was worth it because I had heard many success stories from others and I knew I needed a top score. I have taken the course twice, both in-person and online.

The in-person class was great, the instructor (Liz) was incredibly smart. She explained all nuances of an entire class of problems while explaining the answer choices. Her focus was all about why the wrong answer is wrong and why the right answer is right. She would also go over tips to improve guessing odds and she wouldn't stop there, she would make sure that all different methods of approaching the question have been exhausted and beaten to death.

The books are very good and many will recommend just to buy those whether or not you take the course. If you're tight on money that might not be a bad idea, because you get access to their online tests if you simply purchase a book. The books help give the same unique way of tackling all the different problem types that they discuss in class. The OG Archer explanations are also way better than in the official guide itself.


Overall the course helped force me to push myself, do the practice, come to class, and ultimately know the best way to tackle the whole process. Expert advice every step of the way. In a Nutshell MGMAT is the best period, but opt for the in-person class it because I feel its a million times better than the online version.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings