Chicago-Wacker, IL USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [15]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Great overview of what you need to know, and some valuable tips and tricks to up your score.
December 17 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA  | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
Great overview of what you will need to know for the course. The instructor was very knowledgeable of GMAT content and had a very engaging teaching style. I suggest taking the 2 day a week course vs the 1 day a week. There is too much content to fit it into 1 class period per week.

Not only do you get to go over the entirety of the GMAT course work, you also have access to multiple practice tests, online support, and office hours. They also offer you the ability to take the course again if you do not feel confident, free of charge. By far the best value for your money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best course out there
October 21 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA  | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
I took the 6 week full course with Kevin.

As long as you keep up with the homework and class material you will definitely see a 150-200 point score improvement. They teach you the techniques you will require to answer each question correctly and within the given time.

The math techniques that they teach you are very helpful in answering questions.

Don't look at the price for this course it will be the best investment you will make in your life. I took the MGMAT course before but that did not help as much as the Veritas Prep course.

Oh and you can retake the course within one year without paying anything extra.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Class
October 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA  | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
This was an excellent class. The instructor Kevin did a great job breaking down the material in many different ways. This class started with the absolute basics of arithmatic and verbal so regardless of the level the student is, the class will cover everything you need to know. This was helpful to me because I am so far removed from all schooling. Kevin, the instructor, was very accommodating of everyone's academic level but challenged students at the same time. If you do the homework and come to the class prepared with questions about what you are struggling with, there is no reason not to do well on the GMAT with this instructor. Kevin keeps the class attention very easily and relates the material to real world situations which creates and easy understanding. He gives plenty of instruction on how to take the test and strategies on taking the test that will be very useful.

Kevin will point out what he thinks your strengths and weaknesses are. There is not much substance here and is mostly basing it off of your profession. If English is your second language, he will most likely tell you that you will be great at math even if you struggle with it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Experience with MGMAT
May 16 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA  | Taught by:  Keith Blume
I took the 9-week course a couple of months ago with Keith Blume, who is a fantastic instructor. The class sessions provided helpful, structured exposure to material that I hadn't seen in years, enabling me to then study effectively and efficiently on my own. The most important part of preparing for the GMAT is the effort you put into studying on your own time, and I found that the MGMAT classes were indispensable to my ability to study well for the GMAT.

In addition to the actual class sessions, MGMAT also provides a number of excellent study materials such as strategy guides and online resources. One of the online resources that I found to be especially useful is a platform into which you can enter your timed answers to Official Guide problems to track your progress. The platform then generates statistics that pinpoint the subject areas and question types you need to focus on most in terms of both accuracy and timing.

I'm very satisfied with the experience I had with Manhattan GMAT and I would recommend the course to anyone who's serious about improving his or her GMAT score. Even if you're already scoring well, MGMAT can help you do better - I took the actual GMAT last week and scored a 790 (51Q, 51V).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Worth the Cost
March 11 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA  |
Kevin was more than I expected as an instructor. It is hard enough to engage over thirty 20+ year olds for 3 hours, but he was able to get participation from everyone throughout the course. He truly cared about your individual progress and doing everything in his power to increase your understanding.

The course material Veritas provides is well worth the cost. The books, online resources, practice tests, and admissions counseling were even more helpful than the actual classes. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in taking the GMAT. The only thing I would improve is better directions on where the class was being taken and parking/transportation options for the Gleacher Center in Chicago.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Experince
February 09 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA  | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
After taking the full day class on Saturdays in Evanston, I would highly recommend Kevin Richardson of Veritas Prep.

Veritas has a lot to offer. They offer many practice problems of every type of question you may encounter on the actual test, 15 full practice exams, a live help line each evening and a great classroom experience. Kevin was great, he spent a tremendous amount of time going over the important material in class and making sure each individual received the attention he or she deserved. Kevin has the ability to explain a concept at many different levels. He can connect with the individual shooting for a 760 just as well as the individual shooting for a 600. He helped me improve my understanding of the GMAT tremendously. I now understand how to approach the test and how to do well on the exam. Because of his ability to clearly articulate the material I was able to improve my score.

If you are preparing for the GMAT I would highly recommend you take the Veritas Prep course with Kevin.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very helpful 6 week class for quick cramming
January 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA  | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
As I was on a short deadline to take the GMAT and apply to schools, I chose Veritas Prep because it had a 6 week course that met twice a week for 3 hours per session rather than the 12 week course that most prep companies offer.

I was impressed with the breadth and depth we covered during those 6 weeks. Our instructor, Kevin Richardson, was very good at managing and catering to the varying degrees of understanding from the ~25 students in the class. Specific to me, he provided key shortcuts to use on more difficult problems which I previously would have wasted time solving completely. Additionally, Kevin also had a great, natural sense of areas where specific people would struggle and would point out hints to people individually.

To get the most out of the 6 week class, my advice would be to make sure you keep up with the homework and really follow the guidelines on the Veritas Prep website. Do the homework before class to make sure you get the most out of the homework review and so that you can be prepared with questions specific to you. Also, take advantage of the online help Veritas Prep provides and the 15 practice exams they offer. I only got through 5 of them due to the short time frame I had, but found them incredibly helpful in my preparation since they include explanations of why each problem is answered in a certain way.

All in, I thought this class was excellent and tremendously assisted in my short preparation for the exam. Additionally, their career services staff were also helpful and willing to assist in any way possible. Everyone was very attentive, making it an overall excellent experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Prep Course and Quant for Beginners
December 19 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By katey joined: December 19, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA  | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
If you are a beginner in quant like I was, go for Manhattan GMAT - their strategy books are hugely helpful and give you a roadmap to learn what you need to knew. The online CAT assessments helped me identify my target areas. When I had a case of text anxiety and didn't do as well on my first exam, they did a one hour session with me to reset my study plan for the next exam. This really helped me zone in on why I didn't perform as well as I expected to on test day. They recommended I start taking tests in less comfortable atmospheres since test day would be a new environment and it really worked! I was very happy with my final score - 690 - which was my target score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great course!
September 18 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 18, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA  | Taught by:  Steffi Spear
I really enjoyed the Veritas Prep course. I started the course with a basic understanding of the GMAT & left feeling completely prepared. My instructor truly had great teaching skills, and knew the material well. Specifically, her background as an educator and knowledge of how to break down the material in a honest thoughtful way, made the class worthwhile.

The Vertias course material was convenient and easy to use. I really liked the TruTrack online resources for practice tests. The online hub allowed me to take multiple practice tests and track my progress. I would highly recommend this course to folks of varying levels trying to ace the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Gleecher Center
August 16 | 2012

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Karite joined: November 11, 2011 | 49 | 12 | native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA  | Taught by:  Frankie Beecroft
I signed up for the in person class located in the Gleecher Center. I started the course in May 2012. The class was supposed to help me to gain a better understanding of the GMAT. The problems in the workbooks are very similar to the actual GMAT problems and the On-Demand classes were very informative and helpful. You can always go back and watch the lessons again.

I gave Veritas Prep a very low score because the instructor for the course did a very poor job. The individual was always second guessing themselves and he or she did not seem thrilled to be teaching. At first the class started out very well but it went down hill from there. We went into the class somewhat confused and left out even more confused.

I did contact Veritas Prep regarding the situation and they offered me a retake. But why should the students have to retake the course because of a poor performance by their instructor. We expected more from a company with a reputation such as Veritas Prep. I cannot recommend this course because of my experience with them. And I did read the reviews and most of them were good.

PROS:
• Workbook problems are similar to GMAT problems
• On Demand classes are very useful.
• Retake Policy

CONS:
• The workbooks are instructor driven and you cannot self study with them because most of them consist of practice problems. Note: The workbooks have lots of space so the students can write in them.
• Veritas Tests are not representative to the actual GMAT
• No IR section
• Our instructor told us that he or she only takes practice tests to stay up to date.
• There are 14 workbooks for the class.
• Instructor’s lack of availability after class and lack of response when responding to emails.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings