DC Area, DC USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [11]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Helpful course
January 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  |
If I could describe my experience with the Veritas instructor in one word it would be Professional. Over the course of the three weekends that we met he led the Veritas GMAT prep-class with a high a degree of competence and a teaching style built off positive reinforcement and one-on-one engagement. He is enthusiastic about the material and very approachable, which created a good learning environment for me that was both fun and motivating.

The course is fast paced and I would recommend to anyone interested in taking the course to review the material before coming to class so you're not lost in the instruction. Also, the instructor was there to answer any of my questions before and after class so bring your questions to class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Teacher, Great Course, Great Results
November 13 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Eric Maltzer
Taking a Veritas Prep GMAT course with Eric Maltzer is the best thing you can possibly do to fully prepare for the GMAT and achieve your highest possible score.

Veritas is the real deal when it comes to GMAT test prep. I was extremely impressed with the resources available to me. The books, problem sets and online lessons are all very useful tools, as are the 15 realistic practice CAT exams that are available.

If you are looking for a knowledgeable, energetic, hilarious and caring teacher, Eric is your man. You will learn more about the GMAT exam and the test taking experience from Eric than from any book or website. The lessons and strategies that Eric teaches get results. You can tell Eric truly cares about each one of his students - he took the time both before and after each class to answer questions, meet with students, and coach us every step of the way. He did not have to spend so much time outside of class with us, but the fact that he did really proved how much he wanted us to succeed.

If you are looking for magic tricks and cheap guessing strategies, then Veritas is not for you. If you really want to understand the ins and outs of the exam, and how to answer every possible question that the GMAT can throw at you, then sign up for a Veritas Prep course and, if you can, request Eric Maltzer as your teacher. You will not be disappointed.

Good Luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course
October 22 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By StacyKirsch joined: October 22, 2012 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Eric Maltzer
Eric's enthusiasm and support were exactly what I needed. He really cares about his students and is willing to help out every student in any way possible.

Initially the idea of sitting in a classroom for 3 hours a night listening to a GMAT instructor sounded daunting, but the class was nothing like what I expected. Eric teaching style was actually extremely engaging - the class actually flew by. He is a great teacher and made the concepts easy to grasp and remember.

Veritas is great because they provide you with tons of practice problems and practice tests. Both the problems and tests come in either paperback book format or online. I liked having the books for taking notes in class and I liked having the online access because I could do practice problems anywhere that I had access to a computer (I didn't always have to carry around tons of heavy books!!)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GREAT COURSE, PROVEN METHODS
July 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Marcus Hedahl
Manhattan GMAT is truly best in class. The professors are organized, intelligent, and engaging. They provide great materials, but also help you to tailor the course to your appetite and capacity.

I found the quant review to be particularly helpful and that was where I improved most. The materials are thorough and easy to digest. They also provide a great number of practice questions and the professors guide you well to the problems that meet your skill level. Staff is easily accessible and responsive.

I would definitely recommend this class to a friend and have already done so! Manhattan GMAT is great.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Highly recommended
June 23 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 23, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Marcus Hedahl
This course gives you all the tools to excel on the GMAT, and I would strongly recommend this course to anyone who wants to get a 700+.

Marcus was an amazing instructor and kept the class lively for the students (which is hard to do for a 3-hour period after a long day at work). He is also incredibly smart and really knows his GMAT. I was consistently impressed with his teaching ability. The material was extensive so I felt like Manhattan GMAT gave me all the resources I could ask for in preparation for the test.

However, you can't expect to just go to class and then get a great score on the GMAT. You also have to put in a lot of work outside of the class, which Manhattan GMAT readily admits. After I took the course, I took the test for the first time and did poorly (640) although I was scoring a 700 on my practice tests. I was really upset. However, as instructed by Marcus, I set up my post-course assessment with Manhattan GMAT, which is a 45 minute phone call with a special instructor to talk about how to improve your score the next go-around. I received wonderful instruction that included a concrete study plan in preparation for the second try. One month later, I got a 720!!!

THANK YOU, MANHATTAN GMAT!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT Course
June 22 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By bbig11 joined: February 7, 2012 | 4 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Joseph Martin
The 9 week class is a very very good class. It is a great way to get started studying. You cover all of the basics and really entrench yourself in the studying process. The structure provided by the class set me up to continue studying for the test 5+ weeks after the class ended as you get in the happen of studying a certain amount everyday/several times a week.

One thing I will say is that when I did take the 2 free GMAT prep tests and then the actual GMAT (in addition to the 6 Manhattan practices), I did notice a pretty big difference between the two (Manhattan vs. Gmat prep).

Manhattan Quant is much more difficult and calculation driven than Gmat prep and actual gmat. This is a good thing. If you can get to a point where you are doing well on your manhattan quant sections, you will be fine on the gmat, because I found it much theory based (number properties etc.) than the manhattan tests.

On the Manhattan Verbals, I was having no problems at all (44-45s on all practices) as I got into Gmat prep and the actual gmat, my verbal score dropped 2-4 points. I'm not sure of the reason why. I did notice that some of the critical reasoning questions are structured differently in the GMAT prep/GMAT tests than in Manhattan. I think that the Manhattan tests were much more blatant about what kind of CR question you were tackling.

Ultimately between my first Manhattan practice and my last GMAT prep practice i had a 140 point difference. On test day, I screwed up verbal and ended up with a 80 point improvement.

scores:
manhattan 1: 630
manhattan 2: 690
manhattan 3: 750 (don't have breakouts now, but was getting significantly higher on verbal than math on all of these tests. Got 2 45V and 1 44).
manhattan 4: 700
manhattan 5: 720
manhattan 6: 740
gmat prep 1: 720
gmat prep 2: 750 (50Q, 42V)
Actual Gmat: 710 (46Q, 40V)
*Update Gmat 2: 730 (46Q, 44V)

(i have the breakouts of the other tests at home and can update them later)

Overall, I think Manhattan is a great course and will prepare you for the gmat, specifically the quant section.

Update: I retook the GMAT a month later and improved my verbal 4 points to get the 730 i was looking for.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Manhattan GMAT is the best.
June 04 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 4, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Mark Porath
I definitely think this course was worth the money because of the teaching quality and sheer amount of resources that are provided to students.

They give you a mountain of books and expect you to review a lot of content each week, but I never felt overwhelmed. The in-person classes were the best option for me because it made me stick to a formal study plan versus preparing on my own. The recently added "video explanations" on the website were extremely helpful as well.

Overall, I would definitely recommend Manhattan GMAT to anyone who is serious about putting in some significant time and effort and seeing results.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT is great
May 14 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 14, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Joseph Martin
In researching GMAT courses to take, I read many reviews and talked to a few people. Most people said Manhattan GMAT was the best, and the reviews were certainly excellent. I signed up, hoping it was worth the price.

It was. MGMAT's 9-week live course isn't cheap, but it is excellent. I highly recommend it if you are serious about getting a top score (I got a 740). The written strategy guides are good, the OG Archer is a must-have resource (the other online resources are pretty good, too), and my instructor was excellent. He was funny, enthusiastic, very smart, and very able to break down complex problems into bite sized chunks.

Ultimately, your score really depends on the work you put into studying for the test. With discipline, focus, and a few months of your life dedicated to studying, you can do very well on the GMAT. But having a top notch instructor and a solid curriculum really help too. If you're serious about getting an excellent score, I highly recommend Manhattan GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very Thorough
May 08 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 8, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  |
The tutor was extremely knowledgeable about the GMAT and made sure to keep the 3 hours as interesting as possible. In addition to learning the material, we also learned many little tricks and tips that are necessary to do well on the GMAT. The prep books are extremely thorough and do a good job of covering everything from the basics all the way up to what a 700 level question would look like. I have not taken the test yet, but I know my score will improve from my diagnostic test due to the preparation that I received from the Vertias Prep course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
In two months I went from having no idea what was on the GMAT to scoring 750.
April 17 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By DNidess joined: April 17, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  |
I knew from the first class that Veritas was going to be worth my time and money and I was not disappointed. The course breaks down the different GMAT sections into major sub-topics and gives you techniques to solve every type of question in a timely manner. I know that I would not have figured most of these out on my own.

My instructor, Anthony, was an expert on the subject and, more importantly, could convey it succinctly and in a manner that made it very easy to pick up. He kept the classes interesting; it never seemed like a trial to sit through the seven hours on Saturday, and he even made himself available to answer questions after the course had finished. As a professional teacher myself, I consider his abilities to be top of the line.

Although the instruction was the centerpiece of the course, the additional materials also made a huge difference. The hundreds of questions in each book and the many practice tests and performance trackers on the website were key to getting in the necessary ‘reps’. By the time I actually took the GMAT I felt completely comfortable with the types of questions on it, the curves used to throw you off, and the time constraints.

I would recommend Veritas and Anthony to anybody who is serious about doing well on the GMAT. If I had not gotten the score I wanted the first time through, I would have instantly gone through their course again to further improve. But that wasn't necessary. Once was plenty.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings