DC Area, DC USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [19]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Great experience through Princeton Review
May 05 | 2015

       By nmd0119 joined: May 5, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  160 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Aubri OConnor
I was assigned to Aubri as my private tutor. The first session we spent analyzing a test I took prior to the first session, which would show where I needed improvement. As for most folks, it was my quantitative that needed improvement. Aubri then worked through the basics of the quant section with me, and discovered a few things that were tricking me up. She helped me to understand what I was doing wrong, how to correct it, and how to eliminate future mistakes.

Aubri is enthusiastic and passionate about her work, and it showed through in the private tutoring session. I highly recommend private tutoring to anyone who is looking to get the extra edge on their GMAT score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing
April 23 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
       By JohnnyKipling joined: April 23, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Anthony was amazing. He is an incredible instructor and I think the he truly cared about my improvement. My first two GMAT scores were 660 and 680. I was really hoping to get over 700 so I decided to take a class and tutoring with him. I recently took the GMAT and achieved a 710 and I truly believe it of Anthony. I would absolutely recommend him to anyone who is interested in taking a GMAT class. He does a great job leading class discussions and does a great job explain concepts in multiple ways so that everyone can understand challenging or difficult problems.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Anthony was a great teacher
March 10 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: March 10, 2015 | 5 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I took the GMAT course with Anthony 1.5 times. The first time I was unable to complete the course due to extenuating circumstances, but I had such a great experience with Anthony's teaching style that I made sure to look for his name when signing up for the (free) retake.

Anthony is extremely knowledgeable about math and it makes the course more interesting because we were able to ask 'what if' type questions which he always had a response for. He was able to make material which is typically boring at least tolerable. He also provides one-on-one hints while doing practice problems during class, which were helpful in remembering common traps in the questions.

Finally, Anthony offers his personal contact information and availability for help with problems during and after the class. He gave me advice on the timeline for studying after course and helped me with solutions for problems on the official GMAC practice tests when I couldn't figure it out. I would strong recommend taking the course with Anthony.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Quality instructor, quality course
January 03 | 2015

       By wilwos joined: January 3, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Though my GMAT score was extremely poor, I am rating the course as well as Anthony very high. Anthony is a great instructor who shows a vested interest in his students. Rather than simply going through the book, Anthony seeks to provide additional value. He offers different way to solve problems than are shown in the book. With that you see multiple methods to solve the same problem. I like to think of this as having an adjustable wrench. My course was slated to last three hours per meeting, but there was once or twice out of our twelve meetings where the class ended on time. Anthony took many questions from students and was never in a hurry to leave class even when it ended closer to 1030pm than 10pm.

If you have the means and the drive to do well on the GMAT, a course with Anthony is a sound investment. My score on test day was just a bad day and I probably took the exam later than I should have. My score is not representative of my success in the class. My baseline score was a 590 and on a practice exam 1 week after the class I scored a 700.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Can't Go Wrong with Anthony Ritz and Veritas
December 31 | 2014

       By dbrianbunch joined: December 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Anthony Ritz was a fantastic instructor. Somehow he managed to hold my attention through six all-day courses, relaying tons of strategies and techniques for answering GMAT questions. He truly cares about every student in his classes and is endlessly patient. I actually started to look forward to classes after one or two sessions. He was also non-judgmental, which was important to me, since my practice test score was pretty low - particularly in the quantitative section. Instead of dismissing my needs, he seemed to be more patient and spend more time on quantitative material. I could not have asked for a better instructor.

Results: I improved my score by 70 points and received perfect scores on the verbal and essay portions of the GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Can't be Beat
December 15 | 2014

       By rdbsailor81 joined: December 15, 2014 | 1 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Veritas Prep gets it all right - Customer Service, Prep Material, and Instructors.

Customer Service - you have to call to enroll in a class. I was annoyed at first. But then I got it. It's the first step to a very positive, customer-oriented experience. They WANT to care about you. And you get a real person who will walk you through everything. It couldn't have been a more pleasant experience. You get assigned a personal representative and he or she will be there for you with ANY questions during the class and even after if needed.

Prep Material - hands down the best out there. The closest in my opinion is Manhattan GMAT which I used for self-study before enrolling in Veritas. Veritas is much more user-friendly (print and online) and is broken down better into specific learning modules.

Instructors - brilliant and caring. I assumed my instructor, Anthony Ritz, would be qualified (In fact, he literally is brilliant). But more than that, Anthony cares. And I choose the present verb tense on purpose. It was apparent from the very first class that Anthony is committed to helping his students excel on the GMAT. Is he a bit quirky? Yes! But that's half the fun of the class. (Veritas seems to have a thing company-wide for 90's cultural references. Anthony is no exception.) For a six-week class that could be very dry and boring without the right leadership, Anthony delivered the perfect mix of teaching and fun. But the relationship isn't over. I can still email him. He wants to know when each of his students take the GMAT and how we do. He STILL cares. It's not over just because class is over.

Veritas has fulfilled it's end of the bargain above and beyond expectations. I have much more studying to do, but the end result of re-taking the GMAT is on me - I can imagine no better prep than what has been given me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Good experience with Veritas
November 09 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By Anonymous joined: November 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
The first thing surprised me was the delivered box containing 12 boxes. Every book is detailed, including skill builder and homework problems. The skill builder lists all the things you need to know before going to class, and the homework problems give you a clear sense of what will be on the GMAT test.
I took the weekend course on Sat. from 10-5 pm. My instructor was Anthony, who was really organized and interesting. In the class, he tried to make sure everyone followed and give time for questions. Because our class was at weekend, we would always grab some food together with Anthony during the lunch time. Also, during break, he would like to answer extra questions. In general, he was an excellent instructor.
Because I am an international student, English is not my native language. At first I would have some concerns about reading comprehensions and critical reasoning kind of stuffs. However, I think Anthony made the material very clear and I can totally understand how to solve each problem.
By the way, because it was my first time to encounter the GMAT Test and I have not taken any real-test before, I cannot list my improvement on scores. But I highly recommend Veritas to those who are planning to take a GMAT Course. I think you can learn a lot through Veritas.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome Course, Killer Resources
November 04 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By mdharmon89 joined: October 6, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
The Veritas Prep GMAT course was everything I could have hoped for. Not only was the coursework comprehensive, it was paced well and presented in a very user-friendly manner. The course teacher, Anthony, has a level of understanding of the content in the GMAT that exceeded every expectation I had going in. His ability to translate that wealth of knowledge into usable tips and tricks gave me the competitive edge I need to take on the GMAT with confidence. My best practice test before the course was only about a 540 and before I'd finished the class I scored a 660. Worth every penny.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Helpful course
January 03 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: January 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  |
If I could describe my experience with the Veritas instructor in one word it would be Professional. Over the course of the three weekends that we met he led the Veritas GMAT prep-class with a high a degree of competence and a teaching style built off positive reinforcement and one-on-one engagement. He is enthusiastic about the material and very approachable, which created a good learning environment for me that was both fun and motivating.

The course is fast paced and I would recommend to anyone interested in taking the course to review the material before coming to class so you're not lost in the instruction. Also, the instructor was there to answer any of my questions before and after class so bring your questions to class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Teacher, Great Course, Great Results
November 13 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By Anonymous joined: October 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA  | Taught by:  Eric Maltzer
Taking a Veritas Prep GMAT course with Eric Maltzer is the best thing you can possibly do to fully prepare for the GMAT and achieve your highest possible score.

Veritas is the real deal when it comes to GMAT test prep. I was extremely impressed with the resources available to me. The books, problem sets and online lessons are all very useful tools, as are the 15 realistic practice CAT exams that are available.

If you are looking for a knowledgeable, energetic, hilarious and caring teacher, Eric is your man. You will learn more about the GMAT exam and the test taking experience from Eric than from any book or website. The lessons and strategies that Eric teaches get results. You can tell Eric truly cares about each one of his students - he took the time both before and after each class to answer questions, meet with students, and coach us every step of the way. He did not have to spend so much time outside of class with us, but the fact that he did really proved how much he wanted us to succeed.

If you are looking for magic tricks and cheap guessing strategies, then Veritas is not for you. If you really want to understand the ins and outs of the exam, and how to answer every possible question that the GMAT can throw at you, then sign up for a Veritas Prep course and, if you can, request Eric Maltzer as your teacher. You will not be disappointed.

Good Luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings