London, United Kingdom GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [9]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Reasonable improvement
March 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 21, 2013 | 253 | 48 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   London, United Kingdom  |
I took the package with the live class, online class and private tuition.

Good thing about Kaplan is if we sign up the private tuition package, we can attend live classes and live online classes as many times as we want to.
It also includes the recorded classes, online Quiz Banks and 9 CATs. We can reset CATs once and still get higher score guarantee offer. (50 point)

My overall review to the Kaplan course is the quality of live class depends on the tutor. They have excellent tutor when I attended (maybe still there).
He has 800score and what he taught us was phenomenal. Luckily, my tutor was him and my basic concept of GMAT developed from his approach to GMAT.

In terms of my GMAT score, it did improved, but not as much as I expected. I found the Kaplan SC and RC questions are not exactly same style as the actual GMAT. If I knew about it, I would have improved more.
I hope this review helps your choice for the Prep-school.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
January 2014, London Private Tutoring 1:1 Lessons
February 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   London, United Kingdom  |
I am very satisfied with my GMAT preparation so far and can recommend Optimus. The tutor is always very professional and I saw a copy of his own GMAT score in one of the lessons. The GMAT simulations are very valuable since I can practice all concepts under realistic conditions. The on-demand course, which I got as part of my package, was really good and very complete. It helped a lot to prepare for the lessons and my tutor showed me even more tips and tricks for the verbal part. I had difficulties with understanding texts in the reading comprehension section. Reading many scientific articles as suggested by my tutor had a great impact! I scored a 700 and will retake the GMAT to improve my scoreā€¦
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Tutor!
January 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   London, United Kingdom  |
I definitely recommend Optimus Prep. It was really easy to sign up and I got a private tutor for a very affordable price. They were also very flexible on timing and I was able to do schedule the lessons around my work schedule. Of course the important part was the tutoring and it was great. My tutor was a really nice guy who understood the GMAT and also understood how to teach the GMAT. I was really bad at data sufficiency problems and he helped me figure out some better strategies. My math score ended up improving quite a bit and my total score went up 120 points! So it was totally worth it and Optimus Prep is the way to go.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Well structured
October 21 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 25, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   London, United Kingdom  | Taught by:  David Chambers
David Chambers is an awesome teacher. He has in depth knowledge about the exam and is a great teacher. Veritas study material is really helpful and covers all the possible question types. Also, the team at Veritas is easy to reach and always eager to help.

The online solution sets and videos are very helpful and provide very structured explanation to all the questions. I personally found this the most important part of the course.

The course also covers the new Analytical writing and critical reasoning segment of the exam.

I would definitely recommend this to all test takers and I can assure it will greatly benefit your score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
from 540 to 670
July 10 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   London, United Kingdom  | Taught by:  David Chambers
Great course. Fantastic teacher. I found the material and tips extremely helpful. The course was very intense with lots of homework and prep work before and after each lesson but I think it's the only way to ensure that everything discussed during the lesson is absorbed.

David is a real expert on GMAT and had a very approachable way of explaining how to tackle every question. Having done some prep work before the course I was quite familiar with the theoretical knowledge required to attempt both quant and verbal sections but during the course I learned how to take shortcuts in order to answer questions quicker and how to avoid falling into traps and pick the correct answer instead of the most tempting one. David also helped me to overcome the timing issue by showing me how to reduce time spent on each question. Moreover I really enjoyed the classes, the atmosphere and the discussions and ideas that were shared by other students.

I would definitely recommend this course. Thank you David and Veritas.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
90 points+ and great verbal improvement
May 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   London, United Kingdom  | Taught by:  David Chambers
I'm an Italian guy actually living in London (UK) and wishing to continue my studies here.
While i was quite strong in the quantitative section, i had many problems to engage with the verbal.
The VeritasPrep course really helped me to fill the gap. The teacher, with his very understandable method, was really helpful and able to explain every single questions or issues that emerged during the lesson. He used to offer several different approaches for any questions, in order to leave the final (and personal) evaluation, about which of them was the most effective, to each student.

>The material provided is appropriated and challenging. The ''questions bank'' is ample and well organized in different small sections, thus really comfortable; the books are respectable and easy to understand and finally the simulation tests are 15 and very useful to settle into the ''official test situation''.

I really had a good experience with VeritasPrep, that is why I recommend it to every students that want to do well on the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Good course but not for those aiming over 690
April 29 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 18, 2012 | 48 | 14 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   London, United Kingdom  | Taught by:  Marianna Parker
Overall you get what you expect from Kaplan. They know what they are doing when it comes to tutoring and their online facility is excellent. Generally Kaplan is very professional and very quick and flexible. The staff understand that most of us have very busy schedules and try to make it as easy as possible.

However, the issue I had with them was the fact that the course was a bit unstructured. My instructor was brilliant but at times I would ask her why are we got answer "A" and the answer would be "it is my GMAT instinct"; of course we would sit down and try and find a proof of the concept, but I just felt that for the amount of money I was paying a more structured syllabus would have been great.

My tutor was a maths guru, however when it came to language she was amazing with CR an RC but on the other hand although she could answer all the SC questions correct, sometimes she couldn't explain why. This would have to do with the fact that she was an american, so the sentences would sound right, but nevertheless i was still left scratching my head.

That being said she made me get my RC and CR scores up, and I was virtually flawless; but then again my main weakness was SC and just ended up using Manhattans SC book.

Overall it is a great tutoring company, but I give them 3 stars as foe the price they charge I expected more.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep Full Course - London
September 23 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By mariodj joined: March 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   London, United Kingdom  | Taught by:  Amit Kakkad
I am very pleased with the Veritas Gmat Full course which I attended this summer, and consider it to be a very good investment towards my overall GMAT score and subsequent professional career.

In particular would like to highlight that Amit, our instructor, was extremely good in providing us with the right tools in learning, understanding and cracking the test. Example is I found out very useful the SWIMMER technic in approaching CR questions, and feel now much more confident in facing the verbal part.

Further Amit managed to add to every lesson the right sense of humour and positive attitude which made the 3 hours session much more interesting and easy to comprehend. In conclusion I would be please to recommend Veritas to other GMAT takers.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Smart instructor & well-structured program
March 15 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 15, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   London, United Kingdom  | Taught by:  Robert Wilburn
I completed the ManhattanGMAT program in London. After taking test classes with both Kaplan and ManhattanGMAT, I would MGMAT to have not only better educated and more engaging instructors, but also a more serious and advanced group of other students. The classroom courses were a good mix of lecture and examples and - at three hours - passed quite quickly. The online materials, particularly the practice tests, were incredibly valuable, as were the books that you received on each individual topic covered in the tests. After a couple additional months of study following the course, I scored above my target score on the first time taking the test, thanks in large part to the quality of the manhattan GMAT program. I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings