Los Angeles, CA USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [92]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent Classroom Course, 110pt improvement
March 14 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By brWFU joined: March 14, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ryan McGorman
I took a 6 week classroom course with Ryan McGorman. I can not recommend this course highly enough. My score improved by 110 points! (this is based on a gmac practice test week 1 and the official exam week 7).

The Veritas course materials break down the immense amount of information into realistic problem sets. Each class session builds on the last. It is vital not to miss a class. The practice tests and additional resources offered on the Veritas site helped in my GMAT prep and in my MBA planning. The practice tests seemed to accurately reflect the actual exam.

My instructor, Ryan, was genuinely interested in our success. He encouraged class participation so we understood the concepts more deeply. He was positive and created an encouraging environment. I am so glad I took his course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Review Course and Instructor
February 06 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By sandeepsingh3325 joined: February 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I decided to take Ravi's GMAT prep course through Veritas after reading great reviews online. I had many courses to chose from and I felt that this was the best one more me. The course was twice a week and we covered all the material necessary in the short amount of time. I want to give Ravi full credit for this course. He made efficient use of the class time and made sure that all topics were covered clearly. Even though I reviewed the material prior to coming into class, I felt that just hearing the strategies from Ravi (which differed sometimes from the book) was vital to my success. Overall, he was very energized during the course (which was at night). If you're studying for the GMAT, then you should definitely consider Veritas and Ravi.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas is excellent, Ravi is the best
January 12 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By efg015 joined: January 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I would highly recommend Veritas Prep to anyone considering a full GMAT prep class. The customer service team was very helpful, responsive, and easy to work with. I was able to sample the first class of the course before paying for the course, and customer service made sure I had all the materials I needed to be prepared for that first class which was very appreciated. They also made sure to follow up throughout the course to make sure everything was going well.

I think the best part of Veritas is that along with the in-person class, you are given access to an online student account for 1 full year. The student account includes quizzes, problem sets, homework problem solutions, 7 full practice tests, and full videos for every lesson of the class to review. In addition, all the books were available for download to tablets/mobile devices through the online account. There was also access to comprehensive top MBA Programs guides. I took advantage of all these resources, and the experience wouldn't have been the same without them.

What made my class stand out the most, however, was my instructor RAVI. Ravi is among the best teachers I have ever had, and his true and deep understanding of the GMAT makes him an invaluable resource when preparing for this exam. Ravi was also able to control and lead the class of about 20 students while still giving a certain amount of personal attention to every student - I definitely did not have this caliber of a teacher in my Kaplan SAT prep class. His control of the class, and easy to understand and apply GMAT tricks made each 3 hour session fly by. I was nervous about signing up for a 7PM-10PM class twice a week after work, but I was amazed to find that solely due to Ravi's teaching style the class flew by, and I nearly always felt at the end of the class that I could continue learning/practicing for another hour at least. I cannot say enough good things about Ravi. He made me feel so much more confident about a test I was fearful of, and on test day his words "do it right, do it once" resonated as I went through every single problem and successfully got a score I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course
December 31 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The Vertias program was great. It was A LOT of information to go through, but Ravi made it manageable and gave some great test taking advice throughout the program. The GMAT test makers make this test to trick you, but Ravi does an amazing job at pointing out the common ways they do this and shows you time saving methods to get around them. Some that differ from even the book. I was really nervous about the quant section. I haven't touched math in almost 16 years, but Ravi shows you ways of doing the problem without having to do crazy math, to a point I felt like I could actually handle this section. You obviously have to put in the time to re-learn the basics, but Ravi's technique demystifies the GMATs and leaves you well armed for success. He is also am amazing coach and is always willing to answer your questions. If you have the opportunity to work with Ravi on getting ready for this exam - do it!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas Prep is Great!!
December 26 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mrkhanna joined: December 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi is absolutely brilliant! I did not take the GMAT before starting the course and I am glad I didn't. The way of thinking is much different than conventional tests and Ravi did a great job at teaching those concepts. I would recommend him specifically, so do yourself a favor and take this course.

The Verbal and Math sections he covers are extremely helpful, but be sure to do the skill builders before each lesson. I am excited to study more and take the Gmat in the near future with the vital test taking tools that Ravi has taught me.

Good luck everyone!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommended Efficient Course
December 16 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By bobkat joined: August 23, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
As an older applicant, I’ve been a little apprehensive of applying to B-School only because of the GMAT. In my research process, I’ve read great reviews on both the course, and the instructor, to finally give preparing for the GMAT a shot. First of all, I’m glad the reviews were out there (they are indeed accurate), and second of all, I get to contribute to the reviews myself to hopefully encourage those in my same position (30+ years old) to give it a go. The course is structured in a way, where, if you do what is being asked (which is fairly reasonable), and you stay on track, you’ll pick up any shortfall in knowledge, and employ strategies provided through the curriculum to tackle on the problems. Going into the test with a plan is half the battle: the Veritas prep is an all inclusive, logical, and efficient plan. Ravi (my instructor) was a big part of the experience. He provided great live explanations of the most commonly wrong answers, and also dipped into his bank of experience regarding what stumps most students. Lastly, he brought the material to life, which is what I needed most. From the get-go, he approaches the students with an email to cover administrative issues, so when the time comes, the class session is focused mainly on what matters, strategy.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course, Great Instructor!
December 16 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By elledee joined: December 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After I took the GMAT and realized I needed guided improvement, I did some research and decided that Veritas's course with instructor, Ravi Sreerama, would be the best choice. Now finished with the course, I must say that my expectations were matched, if not surpassed.
Being extremely smart, yet knowing how to adapt his explanations to our levels, Ravi taught us the "ins and outs" of the GMAT in a wholesome, simplistic manner. Most importantly, he emphasized how we should leverage answer choices - many times demonstrating how the answers could be found within a minute just through thinking like the test maker. Applying these techniques to practice questions in class and at home, I was happy to see how effective they were in choosing the correct answer. In addition, Ravi encouraged us to go beyond our comfort levels in order to prepare us for the time rigors of test day. For example, he stressed doing mental math whenever possible and solving algebraic equations with only one step. And his constant encouragement that we all have the capability to score in the 99th percentile also helped my confidence level.
Although I have not yet retaken the actual GMAT, my score has jumped 100 points on my most recent practice test. Even at work, my boss noticed that I was processing tasks more quickly than usual and I answered that my stronger work performance had to do with the class I was taking. So, based on my experience, I would HIGHLY recommend the Veritas course with Ravi to people looking to invest in their GMAT scores and future careers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great!
December 16 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The Veritas books and also the online account are extremely helpful. The practice tests seem to be pretty accurate concerning score and there are plenty of them online. It's great that you can access the online questions and tests for a year. I also liked the online office hours every day (also Sunday!!).

Ravi Sreerama is the perfect teacher. He always made sure we understood everything. We were about 20 people in class and after us saying our name just once he knew all of us by name, which made this experience even more personal. I can definitely recommend Veritas and especially Ravi to anybody!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course, Better Instructor!
December 15 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By SnapperTams joined: December 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Veritas Prep's arsenal of tools was so vast that I still haven't been able to explore them all! As a future JD/MBA student who took the LSAT first, I've had my fair share of standardized test prep. Veritas has a well structured program: 12 classes, 12 books, with each containing pre-class homework, the class lesson itself, and finally post-class homework. One of my favorite online features allows all students to login and receive detailed homework help for all problems from all lessons.
While Veritas was great, I want to ensure that it does not overshadow our instructor, Ravi. He made great efforts to ensure that we each received the time and attention we required, which is not always easy to do with a class that had over 15 students. He is energetic and truly passionate about teaching. He often joked around with us in class, but also had a stern presence about him that encouraged us to focus on limiting silly errors. He embraces mistakes, believing that every time a mistake is made it presents an opportunity for us to learn from it and thus never make that same mistake again on homework problems, practice tests, and ultimately on test day. He stresses the importance of pacing on this test and teaches little tricks that help students stay focused on the test while always being aware of timing. Ravi has already played a huge role in my progress as a GMAT test taker, and I will be able to credit much of my success on the test to his tireless efforts!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT learning experience with Veritas
December 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rkochher6139 joined: November 4, 2014 | 4 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Andrew Brotzman
I got my GMAT training from Veritas. Their books and website is very well organized. My instructor was very knowledgeable , helpful and patient. There was no last minute changes in schedule. Entire course maintains a balance of Quant and Verbal. Veritas has instructors online if someone needs help with homework. I am impressed with their teaching method and course. I was also made to contacts with other students and form student group to do our homework together. Instructor also shared a lot of time management and prepration techniques. The best thing is that your online account is valid for 1 year.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings