Los Angeles, CA USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [51]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Veritas Prep - Well Worth the $
January 02 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By slumperino joined: November 27, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
I took the Veritas Prep course and I stongly suggest you do the same. I've always done well on standardized tests, but have never taken a test like the gmat which really focuses on logical reasoning and problem solving strategies. Veritas Prep provided a great platform for exactly that - it provides concise strategies for approaching the various problem types and allows you to quickly recognize the question type and the appropriate approach to solving the problem in a reasonable amount of time. This is instrumental to performing well on the GMAT.

My instructor, Travis Morgan, was great and kept the class engaged and on point. I performed well on the test and felt very comfortable given the resources made available to me through Veritas Prep. The practice tests were good though scores seemed on the low side (the official GMAC practice tests are always the best). The lessons were great. Veritas has a great team who is sincerely dedicated to the success of their students.

Great program! Thanks Veritas!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan good for SC and math but lacking in other verbal sections
December 31 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 23, 2012 | 4 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Patrick Tyrrell
I took the 9 week course and studied very intensely for a month after the course. I got a 540 on the actual GMAT exam because I scored well in the math with a 44. I started with a 37 on practice tests in math so I believe that Manhattan had good math strategy. However, Manhattan really lacks in the verbal section so I am going to look for another company before I retake the GMAT.

My verbal score on their exams really fluctuated with the highest being a 37 and on the actual exam I got a 21. Their SC section was good but just knowing that is not enough to bring up your verbal score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
raised my score by 100 points!
December 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
I highly recommended Veritas Prep. I took the Kaplan course previously and it cannot even compare to the structure and the kind of material that Veritas offers. Their online portal is very helpful and offers videos, numerous practice exams, drills and quizzes for each subject.

If you decide to sign up, request Travis Morgan as your instructor. He's very enthusiastic about teaching the material and has a lot of helpful pointers. He also ensures you are understanding the matter as the class progresses.

The practice exams that Veritas offer are a lot harder than the GMAC ones, which could be a good thing in helping you prepare for the actual GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep (VP) Fall 2012 - Santa Monica
December 10 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By qzhou joined: December 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
I took the Full Course with Travis Morgan at the Santa Monica location Oct - Nov 2012 (6 weeks total).

Going into the class, I had no previous GMAT instructions, took one diagnostics test, and was a year out of college, and 2-3 years out of my last quant-heavy course. I needed help with quant.

So my course review will be divided into the following sections:
1. Quant
2. Verbal
3. Instructor

Quant - I needed a refresher on some basic math concepts like exponents and properties of integers. VP asks you to review these concepts prior to each quant class by going through their Skills-Builder section on your own. I thought it was a helpful review of things I have not thought about for a long time. The instructor then teaches some of those concepts through practice problems in class, but mostly, our time in class focused on thinking about the problems critically and learning how to do math without doing math. I thought the pace of the class was average.

Verbal - the most helpful part was the critical reasoning part where VP gives you a guideline how to tackle some specific question types. I was already scoring pretty high on verbal so the most important takeaway for me was just the techniques and shortcuts.

Instructor - Travis was great - energetic, knowledgeable, patient, and good at explaining the concepts. I would definitely try to take it with him if you can. BUT all VP instructors should be great because VP has a strict hiring policy.

I would definitely recommend VP!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Class and Instructor! Well worth the time and money
November 30 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By lmcken joined: November 30, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
I haven't taken the GMAT, and this will be my first time taking it, so I will come back and let you know how I did ;) However, I am thoroughly pleased with the class. It's intense - very fast paced - but that made it even more important to stay caught up, thus forcing you to study more and harder.

I took this class in Santa Monica, and it was M/W nights for 6 weeks. My instructor was Travis Morgan and he was simply amazing! 3 hours of class directly after a full work day is a tough time frame for me to productive, but Travis made it easy to be engaged. He taught each concept very thoroughly, took the time to go through any questions and made sure we all understood and was always available by email or otherwise to help out further with any skillbuilder/homework questions. He was hilarious and entertaining, which helped out quite a bit.
There were a number of classes in the area available within similar timeframes, and you were more than welcome to jump around as needed. Also available is a number of online resources, including online lectures in case you missed any - which I needed to use a few times.

It was an extremely helpful class, and I recommend the Veritas Prep Course, and more specifically Travis, to anyone who might be interested.

I plan on taking the GMAT by the end of January, so I will report back on my improvement from the pre-class practice test!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fantastic Course!
November 29 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By cseibert joined: November 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
If you are looking for a GMAT prep course, look no further! Veritas prep was extremely helpful. From the moment I signed up the guys at Veritas made everything very convenient. They overnighted my books to me because I signed up last minute and made themselves available for questions at any time. They understand that most of us are very busy with work and were flexible with attending classes on different nights.

My instructor, Travis Morgan, was phenomenal. He was able to teach difficult concepts in simple ways so that everyone could understand. Veritas dissects the GMAT so that you know exactly what to expect and gives many helpful hints so that you know how to think like the test makers. The books that come with the course actually explain short cuts to doing the problems and walk you through step-by-step.

Seriously everyone in my class was very happy with the course and felt that it was well worth the money. Veritas also allows you to repeat the course free of charge for the first year after your class!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Instructor, Great Course!
November 16 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By srosas86 joined: November 16, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After months of unproductive self study and 1 dismal GMAT score, I decided to make an investment in a prep course. Of course, I wasn’t sure whether my investment would pay off. I decided to take Veritas Prep after doing some research and asking a few friends who had conquered the GMAT. I can honestly say, that Veritas Prep was an excellent choice.

Our instructor Ravi Sreerama was instrumental to my break-through on the GMAT. Not only did he build up my confidence and give us some extremely helpful strategies, but he trained us to be GMAT beasts! Honestly, if you’re looking for a great course and great prep materials, go with Veritas Prep. I’d also strongly encourage you to ask what days Ravi teaches – you won’t regret it. My GMAT test is less than 10 days away, but I’m feeling good about it thanks to Veritas Prep and Ravi!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Works!
November 12 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By minihan joined: November 12, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Bill Robinson
Veritas Prep classes have been very influential in increasing not only my GMAT score but my confidence approaching the test itself. I took at least 4 practice exams after having studied on my own for several weeks and even took another competitor's class before turning to Veritas.

The choice was easy after that. 2 weeks after starting at Veritas I improved my score by 40 points, and by the end of the class had improved it by 90 points, and if I can combine the best Quant and Verbal I've had in the same sitting I'll have shown a 160 point jump!

A lot of this goes to my instructor's help, guidance and patience along the wall. Bill is crazy brilliant and approachable all the same, relating to the class and myself very easily and making the course fly by.

The staff is also very accommodating and professional. If you're studying for the GMAT, Veritas is Highly Recommended!

- M
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
560-710-760 Finally Done
November 11 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Danbstn joined: September 14, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I just took the GMAT yesterday and got a 760 Q49 V44. Overall I am happy with the score, I know I should be ecstatic but I keep thinking about the mistakes I made.

So my GMAT journey began about six months ago. I decided to take the GMAT after I interviewed with a school and they said I needed a 650 to be considered a competitive candidate. I have been out of school for more than 10 years and did not have a strong academic background to begin with so I knew I needed help. I looked for a prep class on the internet and decided to go with Veritas. My initial reasons for choosing them were because the time frame and location fit perfectly into my plan.

I enrolled in the live course in Santa Monica. The class was small, only four of us which was great. The books were well written and I learned a lot.

I have to say the best part of the course was the instructor. His name is Ravi Sreerama and he is one of the best teachers I ever had. He broke down the problems in a way that made them easy to understand. Not only was he great at teaching but he gave me the encouragement and motivation that I needed to reach my goals. I took my first practice test about halfway through the course and it did not look good. I was averaging about 560. I didn't know if I would make it. I continued to study about 2 hours a day and by the time the class finished I was testing in the high 600s.

I continued to study for two weeks after the course ended and then took the test. I was so nervous that I barely slept for two days before the test. I ended up with a 710, Q46 V42. I was happy with the score but I knew I could do better. I had to focus on work for the next three months so I put the GMAT out of my mind. Then I decided to study again and retake the test. It was not a decision I took lightly, to retake the test after getting above 700 is usually not a good idea but in my case with my weak academic background I decided it was necessary if I wanted to go to a to 10 school.

This time I studied using Manhattan GMAT materials because I already did most of the questions from Veritas. I studied in all my free time which wasn't much and after two months I retook it and got a 760.

The only thing I did not like about Veritas was their technique for sentence correction. I thought the Manhattan Sentence Correction Guide was better, at least for me it was. Also, I think they should put a greater emphasis on the OG guides and problem sets. These were essential to my success. I did almost every problem in the OG13 edition and OG Quant. The GMAT Prep question pack was also great. Overall I think Veritas was well worth the money and I was very satisfied with the live course. The quality of their instructor was great and I don't think I would have gotten a 760 if it was not for Ravi Sreerama.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great teacher
November 07 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi sets you up from day 1 with a process to succeed. He drives home the point of learning from your mistakes. If you are dedicated to the process and you put the work in you will almost certainly see positive results. Ravi keeps class interesting with nice anecdotes and gets everyone participating. He's great at showing you what will be the best bang for the buck to study time-wise. Most importantly he cares about your individual success as a student and is willing to help you out when you have specific problems. I know I was having a lot of issues a few days before the test and Ravi gave me some good advice to keep me calm for test day.

The course in general is pretty good for overall review. The books explain concepts well and are organized intuitively. The HW format is nice because it gets you in the habit of answering questions on a computer screen. I also found the practice tests to be fairly accurate to the real deal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings