Los Angeles, CA USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [70]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
GMAT prep course, round 1
October 17 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 17, 2013 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
Where to begin...
There is a lot of material to cover in just 6 weeks and that's quite possibly a huge understatement. In terms of the strategy of Veritas Prep, I think their approach and method is awesome. Travis did a wonderful job of being engaging and giving some life & excitement to what might normally be painful material to re-visit. I think it's most important to note that these courses focus strictly on testing strategy and how to attack the GMAT given what's known about the way they ask questions and try to fool you. The course is in no way a refresher course for math that you haven't done for 8 years (ahem, right here, yours truly!). My verbal strategy improvement was awesome. Unfortunately for every increase I saw in verbal, I saw, and am still seeing, a decrease in quant. It sucks....
I don't blame this on the course, obviously, but the quant sections have a lot of material to cover and no matter how well you learn the strategies of the test, make sure you are working on the skill builders (in the books provided) to brush up on your math and whatever else you may be rusty on.

I really really enjoyed taking this class and think I am going to have another go at it. I am not quite where I want to be with my score and I can't seem to beat the score I got on the GMAT practice exams from when I began the course. It's been a few months and I've been studying on my own, and I'm just not to the point where I'm ready to take the REAL test. I plan to brush up once more with the Vertias Prep strategies, once I feel I am where I need to be with my additional skills, and then attack the GMAT to the best of my ability.

The Vertias Prep website and resources are awesome. They are available to you up to a year after you take the course and everything on the site is very helpful. There are lots of problems to work through, practice exams, etc. It really adds to the value of what you're getting for the price of taking this course.
The books are helpful as well, but more so in conjunction with the class and your own note taking.

I haven't taken any other courses, so I can't speak for them and their strengths or weaknesses. However, I can say that I feel the money spent on Vertias Prep was well spent and I hope that I can see a boost in my score to solidify this notion even further!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
DON't RECOMEND
October 16 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By sasawa363 joined: October 16, 2013 | 2 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GMAT Advantage Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  |
I paid $1,450 for this Kaplan GMAT Preparation, attended all classes, read books, did Practice sets, but at the exam day I got a horrible score. I never could have expected such a lower score after KAPLAN CATS.
The money back guarantee option is a scam, they found 100 excuses to not give the money back. Talked to representatives and supervisors-no result, going to file small claim case in a court!
My scores at CAT's were 150 points more than on the actual test!
Don't waste your money.
This program does not work, they will not pay you your money back.
Get online practice but not at KAPLAN.
Good Luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Why Ravi is the best instructor ever!!!!
September 30 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By dgarcia1188@yahoo.com joined: September 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I picked Veritas Prep over other programs because I heard they were the best. After taking the course I realized it is not only the methods and tips they give their students to succeed, but amazing instructors. Ravi Sreerama is the best instructor I've ever had. He not only makes class fun, but also really cares about his students. Ravi even stayed after with me one night so I would fully grasp data sufficiency. In one month with him, I increased my score 100 points! The night before the exam, he even emailed me to try and calm my pre GMAT nerves. Ravi is not only an asset to Veritas but to any student in his class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing
September 09 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
At first, I was hestitant about taking a GMAT course, but after taking the course with Ravi Sreerama from Veritas Prep, I was really impressed. He was very practical and logical when teaching. He slowed down and answered everyone's questions thoroughly, but he also got through all the lessons in time. Ravi actually cares to make sure everybody understands the info. Definitely don't be scared to ask questions during class. The environment is very friendly. So if you choose veritas, choose RAVI.

Without a doubt.....if you are looking for a GMAT course or want a GMAT private tutor, choose RAVI SREERAMA!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
I highly recommend Veritas Prep!
August 22 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By thomasnguyen04 joined: May 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi Sreerama is a great instructor, and I really enjoyed taking his GMAT courses through Veritas Prep. His lectures were interesting, and he discussed about great strategies to approach various GMAT problems. Ravi was also approachable and connected well with the students. Whenever I had a question, I could ask Ravi for assistance. Ravi wants his students to do well on the GMAT. Veritas Prep is a great test preparation program with wonderful study materials, online resources, and practice tests. I learned a lot in Ravi’s class, and I would recommend his class to students who are preparing for the GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
AWESOME
August 22 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By gotmewaiting2013 joined: July 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
This course is absolutely amazing primarily due to the instructor Ravi. His approach to the subject matter is excellent and his personality makes learning fun. Even though it's tough to try to go through this material late in the evenings from 7-10, Ravi kept the energy level high and us students engaged. I also like the number of practice tests the course afforded and the option to have feedback. Even the on-line material was useful and plentiful. There was even flexibility in taking a lesson you missed in one of the Saturday classes. I highly recommend this course to anyone that is preparing for the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Ravi S. And Veritas Prep course
August 01 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By lcharm joined: October 25, 2012 | 28 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I joined Ravi's course in spring of 2012. My Gmat score at the time was around 590.

Ravi's course helped me out a lot. Not only is he extremely smart and knowledgable in the GMAT test and how to teach it, he is also a caring individual who wants you to do well.

Coming out of another course (the Princeton Review), I found Ravi's approach, especially the math portion, to be extremely refreshing. He has the knack of explaining strategies very well. This helped me to see things in two different perspectives and helped my math score a great deal.

In terms of verbal, his approach was different as well and he taught me many shortcuts that would improve my time.

My score eventually peaked at 640, with Math a 43.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Full Course in Santa Monica
July 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 31, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
I was a bit hesitant to take a GMAT class instead of getting a random tutor. Veritas has a VERY strong curriculum, polite staff, and teachers who care. Most of the time, my teacher was Travis. Probably one of the most engaging and thoughtful teachers I have ever had. He'd come early, and stay as late as anyone needed, sometimes even until around 11pm.

We also had another teacher named Brian for some of the quant days - one of the best quant guys around.

The homework was thorough, amount of practice exams more than enough, and their online portal is extremely resourceful. I actually respect the GMAT as a test because of Veritas - that's something.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Intense Course
July 22 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By masha522143 joined: July 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Mark Porath
First of all, the location, convenience of parking and complimentary coffee provided by the hotel in the mornings was a huge plus. Besides these additional benefits, I am mostly grateful for the instructor chosen to give this course. At the very beginning of the first class I expressed that I have a language barrier, which may impose a difficulty for me to comprehend and move at the same speed as other students. Not only did the instructor ease my worries, assuring me that terminology and math specific language will be covered in the coming classes, but also made me feel optimistic, letting me know that there are plenty of on-line resources for me to catch up at my own speed outside the classes. It was very relieving to have the instructor with a very personable attitude who was always available before and after the classes to go over problems I had difficulties with. Not once did he show a sign of irritation or superiority to none of the students, which was very motivating and encouraging. All my emails with various questions were answered fully and refreshed in the classroom.
Secondly, I have gained the perspective and the direction for my at-home preparation. I have been studying successfully and gained a lot of perspective throughout the study materials and the guidance provided by our great instructor. The books, on demand classes and Veritas app have certainly integrated into my daily activities so that I am able to study at work, at home and even engage my son in learning with me. I am certainly looking forward to my complimentary course re-take in a few months and, hopefully, taking a test thereafter.
I definitely feel that I got my money’s worth. Please make sure to reward your diligent instructor who surely gives your company a competitive advantage. I truly am glad I chose Veritas over other competitor GMAT prep companies.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Incredible!
July 10 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I don't think you could find a better test course than the Veritas course. The material was thorough but to the point. It went over everything you could possibly want for the GMAT and had TONS of practice questions.

The course location was right off the 405 so it wasn't tough to get there. You had to pay for parking, but it was only $2 if you went across the street to the shopping center.

When I took the exam, they were doing construction in the next room, so I highly recommend you take ear plugs to the exam just in case something like this happens to you.

The instructor, Ravi Sreerama, was amazing! He gave us all kinds of little tips along the way that improved my confidence when I got to tough questions on the exam. He was funny, nice, and chill, but he made sure everyone in the class REALLY understood what was happening.

I had never taken the GMAT before, but with very little studying other than the Veritas material and reviewing the tips Ravi gave us, I have potential to get in anywhere!

If you take a course, take Veritas. And MAKE SURE you take the course from RAVI !!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings