New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [11]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Key to 700+ Score
December 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 23, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  David Mahler
Manhattan GMAT is the best decision that I made during my business school application process. In 4 months, I went from a 520 on my first practice test (20% in Quant) to a 710 (76% in Quant) on the actual test. It was my first and only time taking the test. Manhattan GMAT breaks down the content and builds on the material it a way that makes studying manageable and even enjoyable at times. I attended class in person in NYC, which I found very helpful for staying on track. My instructor was top notch and helpful out of class as well. They also provide an NYC testing center to take practice tests in a test day environment, which helped ease test day stress. I benefited the most from the endless online materials and instructional videos. I am convinced that if you go to class, do the homework, and take the practice tests, that Manhattan GMAT is all you need to get a great score on the GMAT. Totally worth it.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Private Tutoring Review
December 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Brajesh
I heard great feedback about Optimus test prep from one of my friends in the U.S while I was preparing for the GMAT test and was looking for a private tutoring option. There is a wide range of options offered by Optimus depending upon one’s needs. They offer private tutoring packages starting from an hour to 34 hours and are fairly priced between $120 and $3060. I enrolled in the 12 hours package and benefited a great deal by increasing my scores by 70 points.
They have an amazing faculty who make the GMAT prep a memorable and interesting experience. The faculties take the ownership of improving your scores and that’s why they even offer a 100% score improvement guarantee, which means that Optimus will refund all your money if there isn’t any improvement.

I had started scoring above 660 before joining Optimus and firmly believed that there is no way that I would not see a constant improvement if I practice diligently on my own for the test but soon I discovered that I was wrong. My scores had table landed and would not move. My score graph had become stagnant and I didn’t know what to do next. Then after much research I took the private tutoring package from Optimus. My learning process started as soon as I started to attend their online classes. It is highly commendable to see the way their trainers extend individualised attention to its students, they identify the strengths and opportunity areas of students and provide effective coaching and counselling on how to improve on them. Their folks demonstrate immense knowledge and command over the subject matter which shows in the way which they custom design the course for each of their students depending upon their ability.

I scored 730 in GMAT and am highly appreciative of Optimus. They are the veterans in GMAT prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
The Best for a Reason!
July 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  David Mahler
Boy am I glad I signed up to take this course. Without a doubt, Manhattan GMAT is the best in the biz. Yea, it's pricey, but for a reason. Their instructors and curriculum are bar none the best. The best parts of the courses are the extremely detailed syllabus which was really helpful for me to review after the course along with a list of more challenging questions to tackle for those looking for an even higher score (700+). In addition, the material on their website is phenomenal. You get a whole suite of study materials including printable flashcards, workshops, "Archer" which keeps track of the problems you attempt in the Official GMAT Guide, and more! My only comment is that the practice tests seemed to be a little too difficult - I scored about 50 points lower on them than other practice tests I took, but then again I guess making it harder helped me get a great score on the actual test.

My instructor Dave Mahler, was excellent at keeping the class on track and was able to answer a myriad of questions I threw at him.

I highly recommend these guys if you're a high scorer looking to get into the top 20 b-schools!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome experience
July 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By alexhendricks joined: July 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  David Mahler
I was initially pretty hesitant to sign up for a GMAT prep class, since I tend to prefer one-on-one tutoring, but I felt like it was worth a try and if I wanted to supplement it with one-on-one, I could do that. I ended up not needing the additional prep since the class was so helpful.

The class is split pretty evenly between Verbal and Quant, but Reading Comp is only taught touched on during one class, so that's something to do more of on your own time. My instructor, Dave, was particularly helpful for Quant, providing tips on how to set up a problem properly to maximize time.

Given that the class is only 3 hours each week, the majority of work has to be done outside of class, so it's up to each individual to put in the work. The HW syllabus is great in that it builds on itself and the GMAT online Navigator provide really thorough explanations and difficulty scale for each of the problems. There are additional resources and drill sets that were great for the days leading up to the test to stay fresh without over-exerting.

I would recommend Dave as he was always available by email and after class for additional questions and therapy sessions (since a breakdown is almost inevitable in this process). He moved quickly but was always willing to go back and ensure the class got the basics.

In my personal experience, the practice tests are helpful for timing purposes but the problems are a bit harder than the actual GMAT (particularly the IR and Verbal sections).

Overall, great experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Best Comprehensive Review Course Available
August 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Kmarkley joined: November 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
The Manhattan GMAT Review Course gave me the confidence I needed to improve my score, and provided me with the tools to create my own personalized test strategy. From studying to reviewing and then actually preparing for test day, the instructors and materials were clear, concise, and helped me to streamline my approach. I recommend this course for anyone prepared to take an intensive approach to studying for the test, and found it was particularly useful for people working full time as I would have struggled to study on my own without a plan. The MGMAT class and instructors helped me to surpass my GMAT goal, and helped me stay upbeat and focused throughout the entire process. If you want to see real results, and are willing to put in the time on your end, this is the most efficient way to do so!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Broke 700- They know what they're doing!
May 30 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
The path to success on the GMAT is time and preparation; and the Manhattan GMAT course sets up its students to do just that. The syllabus is one of the best tools they provide, to guide and focus studying early on when it would be easy to slack off. The value of time in the classroom varies on the teacher, but working through each question timed is crucial.

Timing was my main problem, and in my post course assessment review, I had the most helpful workshop with a woman who had analyzed all my practice tests to date and we came up with a strategy based on that for test day to conquer the timing issue.

Maybe this was not the intention of MGMAT and I'm giving them too much credit, but for whatever reason, my practice tests through their site (and GMAC as well), didn't yield as near a high a score as I got on test day.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
MGMAT Review
May 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By JRW92486 joined: April 17, 2013 | 2 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Overall I would strongly recommend purchasing the MGMAT 9 Session Course. It was well worth the money. I actually did the online course because I travel for work and the platform was great. I did not feel like anything was lost not phsyically being in class. What the MGMAT does so well is teach you HOW to study and also guide you and guage your progress as you go.

They provide in class sessions that go over problems and teach important principles in both quant and verbal. The sentence correction work was extremely useful. The guide they give details exactly what problems you should be working on each week and is really helpful to keep you following a path and not becoming inconsistent with studying. This is vital.

Whenever I had questions or concerns my instructors answered them promptly and even helped with a post-9 class session study road map to keep me in my study habits up until test day.

In total:
Overall: 750
Quant: 48
Verbal: 44
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
ManhattanGMAT is Wonderful!
February 22 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Dan Lerman
I enrolled in a Manhattan GMAT course after my college recommended it. My instructor was extremely knowledgeable and made the three hour class very pleasant. The study guides Manhattan GMAT publishes were also very helpful.

One thing I would note is that it is very important to keep up with the homework between each class. I definitely would not have achieved a 740 without doing all the practice problems each week. Also, it is a good idea to give yourself a few weeks to study after you complete the course (I took 3 weeks) before you take the exam so you can really focus on areas you have trouble with.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Fantastic Experience
November 15 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By llapin joined: November 15, 2012 | 13 | 3 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I decided to enroll in Manhattan GMAT after reading positive online reviews when I was doing course research, and I'm so glad I did. The instructors are dynamic, approachable, and somehow manage to make GMAT material interesting. You can tell that they have a real passion for the subject matter, which helps to inspire enthusiasm among the students even when they're fighting feelings of stress and discouragement.

I also appreciate how easy the process of taking make-up classes was, because it's very unlikely that someone can attend the same 3-hour class 9 weeks in a row without having some sort of conflict.

I definitely recommend MGMAT to anyone willing to put in the time and effort to stay on top of the material.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent course for serious GMAT aspirants
September 20 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By tprakash joined: September 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Lower Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I took my diagnostic in June and scored a 600. I was ambitious about a good score, and I had to do it in about 2 months amidst a very heavy workload. I needed a good coach and that's when I enrolled in the Manhattan GMAT 9 session course.

First of all, this is a very detailed and demanding course. From the first look at its curriculum it was pretty clear to me that this company knew the art and science of turning a novice into a master on this exam. The material is exhaustive and intuitive - it really captures the naunces of the varied thought processes that different people follow while solving a problem, and then tells you how to hone your unique way of thinking. I found that particularly helpful as most people have a particular style of doing things, and some approaches resonate with that style while some don’t.

The classroom course does not take the traditional theory-to-questions approach. Mind it that you would be expected to do the formal studying yourself. The classroom sessions explore the theoretical aspects of the course mainly through carefully chosen questions that well-exemplify the concepts involved.
Personally, I liked this approach as concepts are presented and learned un-detached from the contexts and situations where they'll be applied to, and are thus easier to remember.

The course is ultimately about honing your intuitions to razor-sharpness and set you up with a viable plan on how you're going to attempt your exam. The best thing - there's always a plenty of help available around for whatever you might need it.

My instructor was not only a master of the subject but also very involved with my success. He gave me some very good advice with some unique problems that was keeping my score low in the exam while I was coming out with flying colours while attempting practice problems. I finally took the exam on 8th of September and scored a 730.

I would highly recommended score for anyone seeking to score a 700+. And lastly, there's a lot of free stuff that'll come along with the any course - classroom or self study. They conduct a lot of free sessions, not just on GMAT but the whole application process. It's expensive, but totally worth the money!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings