New York (Manhattan), NY USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [62]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Worth It
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I took Manhattan GMAT because I'd heard primarily through word of mouth that it is the best GMAT course out there, and I was definitely satisfied with both the course and my resulting GMAT score (740). The course was laid out very well, and I felt like I always knew exactly how and what to study. There was more material to work with and study than I could process, which I thought was a good thing. I was fortunate enough to achieve my target score on my first attempt, and I honestly do not think I would have been able to do that without the structure and the materials that came along with the Manhattan GMAT Course. Also, Jonathan was a great instructor. He was very insightful and had an answer to every question asked throughout the 9 week course. Most importantly, he was very engaging and approachable. I would definitely recommend this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course to Add Structure to Studying
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I decided to take the GMAT pretty late in the game, so I figured I needed a course to keep my attention focused. Manhattan was highly recommended and I have to agree.

I started at a 590 on my first practice, I and got a 700 on my first real exam. The key for me was just diving into the types of problems I was missing and learning everything I could about those topics in particular. This is generally how we were taught to study.

I wish I had done a better job of keeping up with the homework and structure set by the course, as I think it definitely helps to learn the same things at home as in class


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Fantastic teacher
August 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Rob was a tremendous teacher who made the material enjoyable, which was not what I expected going into this process. His relaxing demeanor made it easy to related to the challenging material and concentrate on the important areas for me individually to focus on.

Math was always a strong suit but he enabled me to expand on my core competencies to become a student capable of higher scores on thr quant section.

Verbal was an area of weakness where we concentrated on core concepts to apply to the different areas. It was extremely helpful and I would recommend rob to anyone interested in taking the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Low 500 to 750!
August 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By PeterHAllen joined: November 8, 2013 | 74 | 157 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Gregg Lachow
I went from a low 500 GMAT score to a 750. If your goal is to get a top GMAT score than you have to use Manhattan GMAT. Just google it, every site you find will tell you that Manhattan GMAT is the best. I took the in person course with Gregg Lachow in NYC. He was fantastic, super smart guy who knew how to explain things in a way for all to understand. What separates Manhattan GMAT from other test prep companies is that they do not just teach tips and tricks but instead teach how to confidently solve each type of problem. They seem to fully grasp how the test makers think and teach the material in a way that guarantees success. I could not have done it without them. If you are serious about the GMAT then go for Manhattan GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Manhattan GMAT Review
July 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ericweiss17 joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I enrolled in the 10 week evening prep course knowing that I would find it nearly impossible to dedicate the time required to do well on the GMAT without some kind of driving force. Manhattan GMAT was the perfect solution. Our teacher, Jonathan Schneider, was knowledgeable, approachable and incredibly engaging. The in-course syllabus set the groundwork for success, and the post-course practice delivered the results I needed. Overall, my score increased 120 points from the diagnostic

Manhattan GMAT properly stresses the most important and most difficult aspects of the exam without neglecting the "little things" than can mean the difference between a 690 and 700. The practice exams are also great, and, while harder than the actual test (in my opinion), allow you to get a feel for what test day will feel like


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Course
June 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  190 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Ceilidh Erickson
The course was fantastic. It focused on teaching you how to beat the test efficiently and to best improve your score. My teacher did a great job of both explaining the "right" way to do a problem and then exploring other more efficient ways to do it. She gave us a lot of tips throughout the class about taking the test/time management/etc. With the 9 session class, you also get a free consulting session which was extremely helpful. Because Manhattan GMAT has very sophisticated tracking software, he was able to see exactly where I was going wrong and gave me very specific feedback/tips that very much helped my strategy and approach to the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Outstanding Course and Resource
June 18 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By luggy joined: June 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Joseph Dise
This course was phenomenal for a variety of reasons. They provide you with so many great resources to use: from HW problems, one on one assistance, accurate GMAT tests, to help with the MBA admissions process.

You can tell they genuinely care about their students from their follow-up and dedication to making sure you understand everything. My instructor Joe was great, and has even offered to critique and review our practice tests after the class has completed.

There are really no negatives I have to say about this class. Prior to taking it, my scores were horrible and I had no direction. Now, I have purpose when taking the test, and am armed with the tools/tricks to get through even the stickiest problems.

My score jumped approximately 200 points from the start to finish of this 6 week course. Well worth the investment and a great tool.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan Private Math Tutoring
May 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 19, 2013 | 31 | 9 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Mark Sullivan
I took about 5 sessions of private tutoring with Manhattan GMAT. My tutor was helpful, but to really get your score up, I think you would need a great deal of tutoring, much of the session is going over strategy and score trends, kind of annoying when you are paying so much per hour, and my score actually went down after I started with the tutor. The tutoring was in math, and although I felt that it was helpful, it was not that helpful and the tutor Mark did not always show the fastest way to solve the problem, like the 3-4-5 triangle, etc. Not a total waste but not for the faint of heart with their wallet.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Tutoring with Brandon Pierpont, Manhattan
April 03 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By EMP joined: April 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
Brandon is so helpful. He reached out shortly after I'd signed up for tutoring to set up an initial phone call during which we discussed my test history and goals. Brandon was incredibly flexible working around my schedule. He had a fantastic work space where he met me at crazy times (literally pre-dawn) without complaint.

Brandon explained a number of difficult quant problems with utmost patience, offering alternate explanations and recommending complementary course materials when I was confused. Seeing that I'd completed most of the book problems, Brandon came up with a worksheet of problems I hadn't seen before.

This was truly a fun and educational experience. Brandon is no longer local to nyc but he's available for online tutoring at which I'm sure he will excel. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course- Brandon is a great teacher
March 14 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I did not know what to expect from the GMAT before starting the course, but now that I have taken it, it is obvious that the people at Veritas really know what they are doing. The course was very comprehensive in the different sections and types of questions that it covered. Also, the location for the classes seemed questionable at first, but it ended up being super convenient. Overall, I don't have anything negative to say about the course, and I hope all the best for Brandon because he was a pleasure to work with. Best of luck to everyone choosing a course and taking the test!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings