New York (Manhattan), NY USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [78]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Unbelievable 1-1 tutor
August 05 | 2015

       By lowcarbramennoodles joined: August 5, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Ceilidh Erickson
I had a tough time deciding whether or not to do private tutoring. On the one hand, it's expensive. Hundreds of bucks an hour. On the other hand, I wanted to push my score up from acceptable to above average for my target schools. I bit the bullet.

I took Manhattan GMAT's in-person class and had a great experience with the teacher, Ceilidh. She gave us great advice on when to take the test, how to prepare for it, and study habits (she's written tons of articles on it). She was traveling this summer, so I literally planned my test dates around her available.

We got together for 4.5 hours and really dissected everything, from my GMAT/MGMAT practices exams to specific problems or areas. She helped me use MGMAT's awesome online tool to find, target, and fix any deficiencies I had. She gave me more strategies on test day, including guessing. Who knew, but guessing twice really shot my score up.

With Ceilidh's help, I was better prepared mentally and physically than I would have been otherwise. I can't thank her enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course, teacher, & fellow students
August 05 | 2015

       By lowcarbramennoodles joined: August 5, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Ceilidh Erickson
Ceilidh isn't a great GMAT teacher; she's a great teacher. She naturally puts people at ease, challenges them, and creates an environment where we can learn from her and each other.

I took the in-person course at 6 pm on Thursdays. Everyone showed up chipper and ready to go. We engaged with Ceilidh and with each other, not just looking for an answer, but all the ways to get there.

The books and course were excellent at covering strategies and tactics, but also for learning the material. When I hit tough questions on the test, I was able to fall back on a really firm foundation.

I like Manhattan GMAT, but I think Ceilidh is aces. Her class is 100% worth your time, energy, and money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Manhattan Prep is the way to go
July 27 | 2015

       By jchoudh joined: January 11, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
Jonathan Schneider is truly an amazing teacher. The 9-week 3-hour course helped me overcome so many of my fears of the GMAT. I took the GMAT once and received a 710 - quite a bump from my first practice score of 580.

Jonathan was always helpful in analyzing my strengths and weaknesses and in teaching the material. I loved how the class not only taught content but also frameworks/methodologies for thinking through the test.

From the class alone, my weaknesses in Data Sufficiency and Word Problems were very quickly strengthened. I ended up getting a 51 in Data Sufficiency (via the comprehensive score report) - which was much better than my expectations. In verbal, I was able to close the gap on my weaknesses in Sentence Correction through the class & follow on work.

This class in addition to the Manhattan Prep material is second to none. Jonathan has I highly recommended it to any serious GMAT taker
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Brandon Pierpont was excellent!
June 29 | 2015

       By laurk12 joined: June 29, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Brandon Pierpont
I could not be happier with my experience with Brandon. Not only was he patient teaching me the necessary skills I needed to do well on the GMAT, but he was super encouraging when I would hit a rough spot. He was serious when he needed to be but could also joke around when I needed some comedic relief. And since I was working full time while studying for the test, he was very flexible in scheduling each of our sessions. I honestly believe I would not have done as well as I did without him. I would highly recommend him!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Fun and Productive!!!
May 22 | 2015

       By Karenburgos joined: May 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I took a 6-week class with David Ingber and it is amazing how in such a short time you can learn so many valuable techniques to take the test. I hadn’t been to a classroom, as a student, in about 8 years so I went to my first class kind of nervous; it did not last much since David’s teaching methodology makes you feel confident and keeps you motivated. His classes are not only fun but also very productive; they are very dynamic, interactive and different all the time. David is truly a great instructor! I highly recommend the course with David to people who are starting the gmat adventure and for people who already went through it and want to improve their score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Prep
March 11 | 2015

       By enjayyy joined: March 11, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I completed the 9-course prep class and then studied independently for 3 months. I needed the prep course because as I am still in college I didn't exactly understand what the GMAT was testing. If you're someone who needs structure or needs a study partner, its highly recommendable to take the course, otherwise I 100% recommend purchasing the books. I know I wouldn't of scored a 700 on my GMAT without them. I recommend learning the ins and outs of every one of their workbooks including the foundations. After you thoroughly understand the concepts, go through the official GMAT review books testing yourself with time constraints and referencing the Manhattan GMAT review books while reviewing problems. Everyday make sure to allocate time to not only quant but all aspects of the verbal because the verbal is something where practice makes perfect since its not as conceptual. For quant make sure to recognize where you can use the Manhattan GMAT shortcuts because they will save you a lot of time on game day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great course and a wonderful instructor
March 03 | 2015

       By ingutte2000 joined: March 3, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Josh Klemme
I took an Intensive Weekend Course with Josh Klemme and I loved it. Professor was excellent. Josh was very outgoing and sincerely cared to teach us, so we all would improve. He was really dedicated to his job and made the studying even fun. The class itself was really useful ; I Learned a lot of new techniques for solving gmat tasks and saving time at the same time. Skill builders are excellent. I think they are a great review for those who's been out of school for a while. I feel more relaxed and better prepared for the gmat exam now.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course, amazing professor!!
March 03 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By smeagher61692 joined: March 3, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Josh Klemme
All I can say is WOW! Coming into this course I was expecting a lot. This course surpassed my expectations by far. Josh Klemme is an amazing professor and genuinely wants each and every one of his students to understand the problem and be able to think "like the test maker". He teaches you several ways to attack the problem, encouraging you to have many weapons in your arsenal that you may use on differing questions in order to come to the answer as quick and efficiently as possible. Overall amazing course, worth every penny for GMAT students on every budget. This is an investment worth making. 5 Stars!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
AMAZING!
February 23 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
       By Aygul joined: February 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehill
It was my second time taking courses at Veritas, the first one I just didn't have a chance to finish. I really enjoyed the class, and Ethan did an incredible job at explaining strategies and right ways of dealing with various questions. He made GMAT look completely different and now I tend to think more as a testmaker and predict the right answers.

Moreover, Ethan Todras-Whitehill made every class interesting and theatrical, there is no way you can forget what he taught you. I not only enjoyed the class, but also I learned new ways of how to approach the most difficult and sometimes intimidating questions. Now I can say that I am way much better prepared to take the test.

If you are still thinking of what course to take, choose one with Ethan. He is the best!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great instructor and course!
January 19 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: January 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Eric Caballero
I took the 9 week course starting this summer with Eric and had a great experience. To start, Eric is an extremely dynamic and engaging teacher. He always told funny stories to keep us interested (without detracting from the course material). He also presented problems in such a way that made you question your answers and affirm to yourself why your answer was correct. Eric really got to know each person in the class (somehow he seemed to know everyone's name by the end of the first class) which helped increase accountability. The three hours of class flew by each week.

The structure of the MGMAT syllabus worked well for me. I liked the breakdown of normal assignments, easier assignments and harder assignments. I felt that I had plenty of practice materials from which to work each week. I was surprised that I did not end up taking too many practice tests, but this is likely because I took the GMAT so soon after ending the course.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings