New York (Manhattan), NY USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [62]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Manhattan GMAT Review
July 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ericweiss17 joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I enrolled in the 10 week evening prep course knowing that I would find it nearly impossible to dedicate the time required to do well on the GMAT without some kind of driving force. Manhattan GMAT was the perfect solution. Our teacher, Jonathan Schneider, was knowledgeable, approachable and incredibly engaging. The in-course syllabus set the groundwork for success, and the post-course practice delivered the results I needed. Overall, my score increased 120 points from the diagnostic

Manhattan GMAT properly stresses the most important and most difficult aspects of the exam without neglecting the "little things" than can mean the difference between a 690 and 700. The practice exams are also great, and, while harder than the actual test (in my opinion), allow you to get a feel for what test day will feel like


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Course
June 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  190 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Ceilidh Erickson
The course was fantastic. It focused on teaching you how to beat the test efficiently and to best improve your score. My teacher did a great job of both explaining the "right" way to do a problem and then exploring other more efficient ways to do it. She gave us a lot of tips throughout the class about taking the test/time management/etc. With the 9 session class, you also get a free consulting session which was extremely helpful. Because Manhattan GMAT has very sophisticated tracking software, he was able to see exactly where I was going wrong and gave me very specific feedback/tips that very much helped my strategy and approach to the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Outstanding Course and Resource
June 18 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By luggy joined: June 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Joseph Dise
This course was phenomenal for a variety of reasons. They provide you with so many great resources to use: from HW problems, one on one assistance, accurate GMAT tests, to help with the MBA admissions process.

You can tell they genuinely care about their students from their follow-up and dedication to making sure you understand everything. My instructor Joe was great, and has even offered to critique and review our practice tests after the class has completed.

There are really no negatives I have to say about this class. Prior to taking it, my scores were horrible and I had no direction. Now, I have purpose when taking the test, and am armed with the tools/tricks to get through even the stickiest problems.

My score jumped approximately 200 points from the start to finish of this 6 week course. Well worth the investment and a great tool.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan Private Math Tutoring
May 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 19, 2013 | 31 | 8 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Mark Sullivan
I took about 5 sessions of private tutoring with Manhattan GMAT. My tutor was helpful, but to really get your score up, I think you would need a great deal of tutoring, much of the session is going over strategy and score trends, kind of annoying when you are paying so much per hour, and my score actually went down after I started with the tutor. The tutoring was in math, and although I felt that it was helpful, it was not that helpful and the tutor Mark did not always show the fastest way to solve the problem, like the 3-4-5 triangle, etc. Not a total waste but not for the faint of heart with their wallet.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
GMAT Private Course 23 hours! My experiences with Optimus Prep
April 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I highly recommend my tutor Michael because:

To give a quick overview I increased my GMAT score by a total of 120 points compared to my first GMAT where I studied alone – from 580 to 700 points. My background is in Investment banking and I always had good grades in math in school so I expected I would do well in Quant. That was not the case as I struggled to improve my GMAT quant skills.

I worked with Michael on Quant concepts for the first 5 sessions a 3 hours. Then, I did 2 more sessions of verbal a 4 hours.
Michael analyzed my Optimus Prep GMAT practice test and developed my personal study plan. During our 5 sessions, we covered many different math problems and concepts while focusing more on the problem areas of course. The on demand course lessons I watched at home from the included video course helped a great deal! One important thing he taught me was to approach the quant section with logic and problem solving instead of using purely mathematics. That might seem simple is utterly important though.

Michael explained me for each question type a unique way how exactly to answer the questions in a given structure. It is crucial to think from the perspective of the test makers! Time management was another aspect we focused on while studying. My timing improved a lot and finally the time pressure was no issue at all.

Michael has helped me a lot because by analyzing my diagnostic test results we was able to clearly identify my weakness areas and then he used the 23 hours to eliminate these weaknesses. It was also very important and helpful for me to follow his tips and tricks outside my GMAT prep. He told me to read science fiction books and some magazines to improve my ability to read complex texts. This helped a lot in the RC part of the GMAT.

Michael’s help was the single biggest factor leading to my huge score improvement. I can recommend his private tutoring services and the course video in combination with the practice tests gave me the chance to optimally prepare for the GMAT. There is a huge difference to learn with the help of Michael or to study alone, believe me…

It is a long and rocky way to improve your score but once you made it, it is a great feeling!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Tutoring with Brandon Pierpont, Manhattan
April 03 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By EMP joined: April 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
Brandon is so helpful. He reached out shortly after I'd signed up for tutoring to set up an initial phone call during which we discussed my test history and goals. Brandon was incredibly flexible working around my schedule. He had a fantastic work space where he met me at crazy times (literally pre-dawn) without complaint.

Brandon explained a number of difficult quant problems with utmost patience, offering alternate explanations and recommending complementary course materials when I was confused. Seeing that I'd completed most of the book problems, Brandon came up with a worksheet of problems I hadn't seen before.

This was truly a fun and educational experience. Brandon is no longer local to nyc but he's available for online tutoring at which I'm sure he will excel. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
New York Private Lessons with Optimus Prep - Awesome!
March 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
Hi guys,

I took a private tutoring from Optimus Prep in New York. I found them on GMAT Club and they seemed to have a great offer compared to other test prep companies who charge much more for private tutoring. I think that having an own instructor is in deed the best way to prepare for anything.

I did their diagnostic test at home and scored a 610. It was Ok because I am out of school for 5 years and work in banking. Like most others, I need a 700+ scored to get into one of the leading MBA programs. I watched the online video course and found it a bit old-fashioned though very good in terms of content and comprehension.

This took a while as I did my studies part time next to my job. I did well in the quant part and struggled in the verbal part (like in school). My tutor gave me some tips what to read and how to improve my weak areas from the diagnostic test.

The lessons with the tutor were great. He scored a 760 on the GMAT and showed me the score report when I asked him for proof. He was very friendly and a good explainer. He told me the ins and outs and what to be aware of while answering questions. I did a lot of stupid mistakes at the beginning. The majority was avoidable and the more practice tests I did the better I became.

After 3.5 months of prep time I went to the test center and scored a 710. I am very happy with this score and will apply to some great Business Schools. Hopefully I will be accepted. Thanks a lot to Optimus Prep
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course- Brandon is a great teacher
March 14 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I did not know what to expect from the GMAT before starting the course, but now that I have taken it, it is obvious that the people at Veritas really know what they are doing. The course was very comprehensive in the different sections and types of questions that it covered. Also, the location for the classes seemed questionable at first, but it ended up being super convenient. Overall, I don't have anything negative to say about the course, and I hope all the best for Brandon because he was a pleasure to work with. Best of luck to everyone choosing a course and taking the test!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Jon Schneider & Manhattan GMAT: A+!
March 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Shoot2Skor joined: March 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
Jon was a terrific instructor and the Manhattan GMAT platform was extremely helpful in my test preparation! The online, time practice tests are a great resource to get as many reps as you need.

Consider pros/cons of small/large classes. Popular class times are good, but large classes can move slowly due to student questions of varying levels.

Overall, it was a terrific experience. Very nurturing environment and Jon gave terrific guidance along the way. I missed several classes and was able to make them up at other times at my convenience. Finally, the set of preparation books were comprehensive and, together with the course syllabus, provided a structured test preparation schedule.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly recommended if you need a big improvement and are short on time
March 06 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Felipe_Ucros joined: March 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  170 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
This is the situation that I was in before starting work with Veritas: a 530 score after more than 6 months of studying and a course with another prep company. 19th percentile in Quant. Disaster. Time was running short on my applications and I needed to get that score up, significantly, and do it fast.

I knew that another prep course in a classroom setting was not going to work for me. For one, like many people prepping for the GMAT, it is almost impossible to find time in the schedule, even on nights and weekends, that would work for me over a sustained period of time. And because I was in such dire straits on my Quant, I needed to focus a significant portion of my attention there, and not just the Verbal. I needed flexibility in terms of scheduling and curriculum, and I needed who would focus on sharpening my areas of weakness.

The private tutoring lessons at Veritas did just that for me. I had the pleasure of working with Brandon Pierpont for about three months in prepping for my second test. There was a lot of work to get done and we developed a plan where we would focus on my areas of weakness in Quant while also keeping up my relative strengths in Verbal. Brandon worked around my needs in terms of timing and content both in person and in online sessions. In addition to focusing on making sure that I understood the underlying material, Brandon really helped me work out a strategy on how to approach test based on my abilities and I think that was critical in my significant improvement in my second try. In addition to that, the prep materials Veritas provides were superior to any of the other materials that I worked with (and I looked at many) and gave me the right amount of work to do, and the right balance between content and strategy.

Ultimately, I went into my second test with confidence, with a gameplan and with the tools I needed to get it done. Once the GMAT was not an intimidating experience anymore, my score improved significantly and I got a 700 (Q45 / V40) on the second try. This would not have been nearly close to possible without the work with Brandon and the great resources that Veritas provides. I highly recommend it to anyone who is in a similar situation as me!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings