New York (Manhattan), NY USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [73]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent Prep
March 11 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By enjayyy joined: March 11, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I completed the 9-course prep class and then studied independently for 3 months. I needed the prep course because as I am still in college I didn't exactly understand what the GMAT was testing. If you're someone who needs structure or needs a study partner, its highly recommendable to take the course, otherwise I 100% recommend purchasing the books. I know I wouldn't of scored a 700 on my GMAT without them. I recommend learning the ins and outs of every one of their workbooks including the foundations. After you thoroughly understand the concepts, go through the official GMAT review books testing yourself with time constraints and referencing the Manhattan GMAT review books while reviewing problems. Everyday make sure to allocate time to not only quant but all aspects of the verbal because the verbal is something where practice makes perfect since its not as conceptual. For quant make sure to recognize where you can use the Manhattan GMAT shortcuts because they will save you a lot of time on game day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course and a wonderful instructor
March 03 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By ingutte2000 joined: March 3, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Josh Klemme
I took an Intensive Weekend Course with Josh Klemme and I loved it. Professor was excellent. Josh was very outgoing and sincerely cared to teach us, so we all would improve. He was really dedicated to his job and made the studying even fun. The class itself was really useful ; I Learned a lot of new techniques for solving gmat tasks and saving time at the same time. Skill builders are excellent. I think they are a great review for those who's been out of school for a while. I feel more relaxed and better prepared for the gmat exam now.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great course, amazing professor!!
March 03 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By smeagher61692 joined: March 3, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Josh Klemme
All I can say is WOW! Coming into this course I was expecting a lot. This course surpassed my expectations by far. Josh Klemme is an amazing professor and genuinely wants each and every one of his students to understand the problem and be able to think "like the test maker". He teaches you several ways to attack the problem, encouraging you to have many weapons in your arsenal that you may use on differing questions in order to come to the answer as quick and efficiently as possible. Overall amazing course, worth every penny for GMAT students on every budget. This is an investment worth making. 5 Stars!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
AMAZING!
February 23 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Aygul joined: February 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehill
It was my second time taking courses at Veritas, the first one I just didn't have a chance to finish. I really enjoyed the class, and Ethan did an incredible job at explaining strategies and right ways of dealing with various questions. He made GMAT look completely different and now I tend to think more as a testmaker and predict the right answers.

Moreover, Ethan Todras-Whitehill made every class interesting and theatrical, there is no way you can forget what he taught you. I not only enjoyed the class, but also I learned new ways of how to approach the most difficult and sometimes intimidating questions. Now I can say that I am way much better prepared to take the test.

If you are still thinking of what course to take, choose one with Ethan. He is the best!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great instructor and course!
January 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Eric Caballero
I took the 9 week course starting this summer with Eric and had a great experience. To start, Eric is an extremely dynamic and engaging teacher. He always told funny stories to keep us interested (without detracting from the course material). He also presented problems in such a way that made you question your answers and affirm to yourself why your answer was correct. Eric really got to know each person in the class (somehow he seemed to know everyone's name by the end of the first class) which helped increase accountability. The three hours of class flew by each week.

The structure of the MGMAT syllabus worked well for me. I liked the breakdown of normal assignments, easier assignments and harder assignments. I felt that I had plenty of practice materials from which to work each week. I was surprised that I did not end up taking too many practice tests, but this is likely because I took the GMAT so soon after ending the course.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Couldn't have done it without Ceilidh!
January 17 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Ceilidh Erickson
I highly recommend Manhattan GMAT and Ceilidh for your GMAT prep. Though it was a big investment, I have no regrets. Ceilidh made the material fun and I looked forward to the three hour class after a full day of work--that's a sign of a great instructor! Though there's a set curriculum, Ceilidh definitely catered the content to the particular needs of her students and was always available to answer questions or talk through concerns. She got all of the students to look differently at problems and to push ourselves to try different approaches until we found the strategy that worked best for us. The course and Ceilidh's guidance were definitely key to getting a score that was well above my goal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Manhattan GMAT Review
December 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
Manhattan GMAT is excellent for those seeking a comprehensive course that will push your score to its full potential. My first practice test was disastrous. Manhattan GMAT's classes helped me to shake out all of the dusty old cobwebs known as jr. high math and implement strategic test taking techniques / easy tricks to earn extra points. As a result, my score improved over 200 points (760 on actual exam).

I knew I wanted to be in the over 700 club, an ambitious goal given my first practice test. My teacher was not only knowledgeable, but an encouraging. It takes an enormous amount of work, patience, and stamina, but with Manhattan GMAT's help it is definitely possible!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kim is amazing!
December 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
I am writing to express my sincere gratitude and raving appreciation for your teacher and tutor Kimberly Cabot. I took the online Interact Manhattan GMAT course and, after 4 months of studying, was actually seeing my score get lower and lower. Three days before I was supposed to take the GMAT I scheduled a last minute tutoring session (30 mins) and was lucky enough to get Kimberly as my instructor.

In 30 minutes (which she was patient enough to begin 10 minutes late because of technical difficulties on my end) she completely turned around my approach to the GMAT and, as a result, my score. I received a 700 after scoring no higher than a 660 on any practice exam (the last practice exam I did took before the tutoring session gave me a 620). During our session she quickly and effectively pinpointed what I needed to work on, rephrased my approach to and strategy for the questions, gave me a solid game plan to practice in the few remaining days, and even followed up with a summary file of what we had discussed.

In short, Kimberly effectively and completely turned around my GMAT strategy and my score. I would highly recommend her to any prospective business school applicants, and I am so very grateful!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great class
November 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By orenkidanian joined: November 19, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
I learned a lot from the GMAT instructor in both verbal and in Quantitative Just wish the class wasn't as big as 25 students sometimes. I wish the class was 2 months long but learned things that I never would have learned on my own. very insightful information and highly recommend it. The instructor also did a great job answering all questions that an student had in class too. He was also available through email for additional questions we had. Even thought it was a huge class, I feel that I still got individual attention when I needed it. The instructor gives great pointers to each individual should work on, if you ask him for the help.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent program!
October 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Ceilidh Erickson
Manhattan GMAT's program is excellent and was a huge factor in my success taking the test.

First of all, the quality of the teaching is fantastic. I took a course with Ceilidh and she was awesome. She rightfully focused on ensuring we approached problems and topics in a logical and determined way, and did a great job of pushing students not get hung up on extremely difficult or tricky topics. The trick with the GMAT is knowing when to move on, and not being stubborn. That's the best lesson Ceilidh taught us.

I started off the class getting a 660 in the first CAT (practice test) after our first lesson. While that was an encouraging sign for my starting level, I did not realize how difficult it is to improve one's score without a systematic and structured approach. The course, along with the excellent materials, website, and online supplemental information (such as the Interact lessons), did a great job of honing me in on such an approach.

The one thing I would say is that if you are strong in quant, it is important that you realize that some extra work is necessary to get prepared to face the toughest questions (given the test's adaptive nature). The good news is that Manhattan GMAT has great tools to guide your study towards difficult topics. The Advanced Quant e-book is a definite must, and I would also suggest going through the OG Navigator to create a study schedule build around all the "Harder" and "Devilish" questions in the materials. If you still feel like you need some practice, the "Quest for 750" advanced workshops are helpful (but not absolutely necessary - take them if you need new tips and materials and don't mind spending a bit more).

I ended up getting a 770 on my first try - about 3 months from after the course started. I can't recommend Manhattan GMAT, and in particular my instructor Ceilidh Erickson, enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings