New York (Manhattan), NY USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [58]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
GMAT Private Course 23 hours! My experiences with Optimus Prep
April 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I highly recommend my tutor Michael because:

To give a quick overview I increased my GMAT score by a total of 120 points compared to my first GMAT where I studied alone – from 580 to 700 points. My background is in Investment banking and I always had good grades in math in school so I expected I would do well in Quant. That was not the case as I struggled to improve my GMAT quant skills.

I worked with Michael on Quant concepts for the first 5 sessions a 3 hours. Then, I did 2 more sessions of verbal a 4 hours.
Michael analyzed my Optimus Prep GMAT practice test and developed my personal study plan. During our 5 sessions, we covered many different math problems and concepts while focusing more on the problem areas of course. The on demand course lessons I watched at home from the included video course helped a great deal! One important thing he taught me was to approach the quant section with logic and problem solving instead of using purely mathematics. That might seem simple is utterly important though.

Michael explained me for each question type a unique way how exactly to answer the questions in a given structure. It is crucial to think from the perspective of the test makers! Time management was another aspect we focused on while studying. My timing improved a lot and finally the time pressure was no issue at all.

Michael has helped me a lot because by analyzing my diagnostic test results we was able to clearly identify my weakness areas and then he used the 23 hours to eliminate these weaknesses. It was also very important and helpful for me to follow his tips and tricks outside my GMAT prep. He told me to read science fiction books and some magazines to improve my ability to read complex texts. This helped a lot in the RC part of the GMAT.

Michael’s help was the single biggest factor leading to my huge score improvement. I can recommend his private tutoring services and the course video in combination with the practice tests gave me the chance to optimally prepare for the GMAT. There is a huge difference to learn with the help of Michael or to study alone, believe me…

It is a long and rocky way to improve your score but once you made it, it is a great feeling!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Tutoring with Brandon Pierpont, Manhattan
April 03 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By EMP joined: April 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
Brandon is so helpful. He reached out shortly after I'd signed up for tutoring to set up an initial phone call during which we discussed my test history and goals. Brandon was incredibly flexible working around my schedule. He had a fantastic work space where he met me at crazy times (literally pre-dawn) without complaint.

Brandon explained a number of difficult quant problems with utmost patience, offering alternate explanations and recommending complementary course materials when I was confused. Seeing that I'd completed most of the book problems, Brandon came up with a worksheet of problems I hadn't seen before.

This was truly a fun and educational experience. Brandon is no longer local to nyc but he's available for online tutoring at which I'm sure he will excel. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
New York Private Lessons with Optimus Prep - Awesome!
March 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
Hi guys,

I took a private tutoring from Optimus Prep in New York. I found them on GMAT Club and they seemed to have a great offer compared to other test prep companies who charge much more for private tutoring. I think that having an own instructor is in deed the best way to prepare for anything.

I did their diagnostic test at home and scored a 610. It was Ok because I am out of school for 5 years and work in banking. Like most others, I need a 700+ scored to get into one of the leading MBA programs. I watched the online video course and found it a bit old-fashioned though very good in terms of content and comprehension.

This took a while as I did my studies part time next to my job. I did well in the quant part and struggled in the verbal part (like in school). My tutor gave me some tips what to read and how to improve my weak areas from the diagnostic test.

The lessons with the tutor were great. He scored a 760 on the GMAT and showed me the score report when I asked him for proof. He was very friendly and a good explainer. He told me the ins and outs and what to be aware of while answering questions. I did a lot of stupid mistakes at the beginning. The majority was avoidable and the more practice tests I did the better I became.

After 3.5 months of prep time I went to the test center and scored a 710. I am very happy with this score and will apply to some great Business Schools. Hopefully I will be accepted. Thanks a lot to Optimus Prep
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course- Brandon is a great teacher
March 14 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I did not know what to expect from the GMAT before starting the course, but now that I have taken it, it is obvious that the people at Veritas really know what they are doing. The course was very comprehensive in the different sections and types of questions that it covered. Also, the location for the classes seemed questionable at first, but it ended up being super convenient. Overall, I don't have anything negative to say about the course, and I hope all the best for Brandon because he was a pleasure to work with. Best of luck to everyone choosing a course and taking the test!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Jon Schneider & Manhattan GMAT: A+!
March 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Shoot2Skor joined: March 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
Jon was a terrific instructor and the Manhattan GMAT platform was extremely helpful in my test preparation! The online, time practice tests are a great resource to get as many reps as you need.

Consider pros/cons of small/large classes. Popular class times are good, but large classes can move slowly due to student questions of varying levels.

Overall, it was a terrific experience. Very nurturing environment and Jon gave terrific guidance along the way. I missed several classes and was able to make them up at other times at my convenience. Finally, the set of preparation books were comprehensive and, together with the course syllabus, provided a structured test preparation schedule.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly recommended if you need a big improvement and are short on time
March 06 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Felipe_Ucros joined: March 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  170 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
This is the situation that I was in before starting work with Veritas: a 530 score after more than 6 months of studying and a course with another prep company. 19th percentile in Quant. Disaster. Time was running short on my applications and I needed to get that score up, significantly, and do it fast.

I knew that another prep course in a classroom setting was not going to work for me. For one, like many people prepping for the GMAT, it is almost impossible to find time in the schedule, even on nights and weekends, that would work for me over a sustained period of time. And because I was in such dire straits on my Quant, I needed to focus a significant portion of my attention there, and not just the Verbal. I needed flexibility in terms of scheduling and curriculum, and I needed who would focus on sharpening my areas of weakness.

The private tutoring lessons at Veritas did just that for me. I had the pleasure of working with Brandon Pierpont for about three months in prepping for my second test. There was a lot of work to get done and we developed a plan where we would focus on my areas of weakness in Quant while also keeping up my relative strengths in Verbal. Brandon worked around my needs in terms of timing and content both in person and in online sessions. In addition to focusing on making sure that I understood the underlying material, Brandon really helped me work out a strategy on how to approach test based on my abilities and I think that was critical in my significant improvement in my second try. In addition to that, the prep materials Veritas provides were superior to any of the other materials that I worked with (and I looked at many) and gave me the right amount of work to do, and the right balance between content and strategy.

Ultimately, I went into my second test with confidence, with a gameplan and with the tools I needed to get it done. Once the GMAT was not an intimidating experience anymore, my score improved significantly and I got a 700 (Q45 / V40) on the second try. This would not have been nearly close to possible without the work with Brandon and the great resources that Veritas provides. I highly recommend it to anyone who is in a similar situation as me!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
GMAT private tutoring for fair price
February 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By verischoen joined: February 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I was struggling with the GMAT for more than 6 months. I learned with the help of books and ordered an online recorded course. The online course was of little help since I could not ask any questions. I did the GMAT twice and scored only 550 and 570 points. My target score was 700.

I started to compare GMAT tutoring companies in New York and found Optimus Prep. In contrast to other leaders, they seem to be smaller but still very professional. They answered all emails within a few hours and sent me a free CAT code for the GMAT. Usually this costs $13 and is extremely helpful during the preparation process. I took the 34 hours private tutoring package.

My tutor was very friendly and a true expert in all fields of the GMAT. He showed me some techniques I never heard of before. His style of excluding incorrect answers was very helpful and I could ask him questions via email during the whole prep time. I took more and more GMAT practice test and my score improved all the way up to 670. After finishing my 34-hour package I took advantage of the discounted hour rate for former customers and took 20 hours more. For two weeks I studied like mad and was excited when I achieved for the first time a GMAT simulation score of 710. I took one more GMAT CAT test and scored 700. I knew the time came to do the real deal.

I was very nervous on the test day. It would be very frustrating to fail my target score. When the GMAT started I had a good feeling. I was relatively sure about the first 10 answers. To get long streaks with correct answers is very important for the final score my tutor told me. My weakness was always the verbal part since I am non-native. I practiced a lot and learned many rules for sentence correction. The integrated reasoning was easy for me since this was my strenght.

At the end I scored 700 points in the GMAT. It took several months but when I saw my score I knew it was worth it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Private Tutoring boosted my score 120 points
February 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I took a private tutoring face to face option because I am sure that this is the best way to prepare for the GMAT. At the beginning I thought self prep would be enough but soon got the results for underestimating the different level of the GMAT – only 590 for more than 50 hours of intensive learning…That disappointed me a lot since I always had very good grades in school/college! I decided to give it a second try but this time prepare with experts.

I found Optimus Prep with google and compared them to other test prep companies. They offered a good deal and I bought the course and started to watch the on demand videos. They helped me a lot and, at the end of the video lessons, I had a good understanding of most concepts. After all lessons with my tutor, David, I was well prepared and took it a second time.

I was very nervous because I paid a lot of money and put in a lot of effort. However, I cracked 700 and my investment paid off finally!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas Review
January 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
The course had a lot of practice problems but not enough tactics or tips in the book to help you save time. I learned how to do the problems in class and still needed to figure out quick methods to solve the problems under 2 minutes. I found such helpful hints online or in different books that I used to study such as Kaplan and Princeton Review. I scored about 150 points higher on ALL the practice exams than on the real exam. So I might have to retake the course or get my money back (at least they offer this option)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Terrible at Math and Improved Score by 100 Points in 3 Weeks
January 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I decided to apply to a JD/MBA program last minute and decided to use Veritas Prep to cram for the GMAT. I always thought that I was really bad at math and even worse at taking standardized tests. I worked with Brandon and my score improved by over 100 points in 3 weeks.

I hadn't taken math in 6 years so we really had to start with the most basic concepts, and he was extremely patient and clear when explaining things to me. He was able to improve my score and most importantly my confidence in my ability to do math tremendously. The test taking strategies that Brandon taught me have helped me in school as well.

I would recommend Brandon and Veritas Prep for the GMAT to anyone looking to improve their math and test taking skills in a short amount of time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings