New York (Manhattan), NY USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [62]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Jon Schneider & Manhattan GMAT: A+!
March 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Shoot2Skor joined: March 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
Jon was a terrific instructor and the Manhattan GMAT platform was extremely helpful in my test preparation! The online, time practice tests are a great resource to get as many reps as you need.

Consider pros/cons of small/large classes. Popular class times are good, but large classes can move slowly due to student questions of varying levels.

Overall, it was a terrific experience. Very nurturing environment and Jon gave terrific guidance along the way. I missed several classes and was able to make them up at other times at my convenience. Finally, the set of preparation books were comprehensive and, together with the course syllabus, provided a structured test preparation schedule.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly recommended if you need a big improvement and are short on time
March 06 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Felipe_Ucros joined: March 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  170 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
This is the situation that I was in before starting work with Veritas: a 530 score after more than 6 months of studying and a course with another prep company. 19th percentile in Quant. Disaster. Time was running short on my applications and I needed to get that score up, significantly, and do it fast.

I knew that another prep course in a classroom setting was not going to work for me. For one, like many people prepping for the GMAT, it is almost impossible to find time in the schedule, even on nights and weekends, that would work for me over a sustained period of time. And because I was in such dire straits on my Quant, I needed to focus a significant portion of my attention there, and not just the Verbal. I needed flexibility in terms of scheduling and curriculum, and I needed who would focus on sharpening my areas of weakness.

The private tutoring lessons at Veritas did just that for me. I had the pleasure of working with Brandon Pierpont for about three months in prepping for my second test. There was a lot of work to get done and we developed a plan where we would focus on my areas of weakness in Quant while also keeping up my relative strengths in Verbal. Brandon worked around my needs in terms of timing and content both in person and in online sessions. In addition to focusing on making sure that I understood the underlying material, Brandon really helped me work out a strategy on how to approach test based on my abilities and I think that was critical in my significant improvement in my second try. In addition to that, the prep materials Veritas provides were superior to any of the other materials that I worked with (and I looked at many) and gave me the right amount of work to do, and the right balance between content and strategy.

Ultimately, I went into my second test with confidence, with a gameplan and with the tools I needed to get it done. Once the GMAT was not an intimidating experience anymore, my score improved significantly and I got a 700 (Q45 / V40) on the second try. This would not have been nearly close to possible without the work with Brandon and the great resources that Veritas provides. I highly recommend it to anyone who is in a similar situation as me!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas Review
January 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
The course had a lot of practice problems but not enough tactics or tips in the book to help you save time. I learned how to do the problems in class and still needed to figure out quick methods to solve the problems under 2 minutes. I found such helpful hints online or in different books that I used to study such as Kaplan and Princeton Review. I scored about 150 points higher on ALL the practice exams than on the real exam. So I might have to retake the course or get my money back (at least they offer this option)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Terrible at Math and Improved Score by 100 Points in 3 Weeks
January 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I decided to apply to a JD/MBA program last minute and decided to use Veritas Prep to cram for the GMAT. I always thought that I was really bad at math and even worse at taking standardized tests. I worked with Brandon and my score improved by over 100 points in 3 weeks.

I hadn't taken math in 6 years so we really had to start with the most basic concepts, and he was extremely patient and clear when explaining things to me. He was able to improve my score and most importantly my confidence in my ability to do math tremendously. The test taking strategies that Brandon taught me have helped me in school as well.

I would recommend Brandon and Veritas Prep for the GMAT to anyone looking to improve their math and test taking skills in a short amount of time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Amazing resources and great knowledge (David Mahler FTW)
December 08 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  David Mahler
Manhattan GMAT's course was really really helpful. In addition to well thought out curriculum that helps you go through all the 10+ books efficiently, they have tons of resources available online. There are labs (video guides on specific topics), interactive integrated reasoning materials and practice software.

OG Acher is another great resource, it let's you practice questions, records the time spent and generates reports so you can track your progress. It also has video explanations for many of the official guide questions.

Now, on the instructor, Dave is really amazing, you can tell he knows how the test works. He is able to keep the 3 hours interesting, stress important points and explain concepts efficiently!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas full course review
November 11 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
The course was excellent and our instructor, Brandon Pierpont was engaging, helpful and made a stressful subject matter entertaining.He took the time to help all the students before and after class and really cared that we understood the material. I have used the Manhattan books on my own and they don't compare to the Veritas ones. They are arranged in a way to teach you the pitfalls and mistakes that most students make and the challenging questions were excellent.

It was great to have a step by step guide showing you how to approach the test. I feel more confident then ever in my abilities. The money was absolutely worth it and I would recommend the course to anyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course!
November 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
Veritas was my first forray into the GMAT, and it was simultaneously gradual and fast-paced. As a new student taking this test for the first time, I went in not fully knowing what to expect. However, the instructor--Brandon Pierpont--was extremely encouraging and helpful. He helped students get acclimated to the new thinking pattern that is necessary to tackle the difficult questions. Once our class understood what to expect, we went along at a challenging but doable pace. By the end, I felt prepared and ready to complete the task ahead of me.

The key to a great course definitely lies with the instructor that one chooses. They are the difference between a tense classroom of stressed-out students, and a productive class of ambitious and calm students. Brandon helped make the review program like the latter. I looked forward to each upcoming class because I knew that I would learn new tips and tricks, acquire needed information, and lastly, meet fellow students who quickly became close acquaintances.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Tremendous course with great results
October 02 | 2013

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Gregg Lachow
I could not be happier that I signed up for the Manhattan GMAT course with Gregg Lachow. I took the GMAT with just self-study before the IR section was introduced and received a 700. My goal was to increase my score from one that I felt was good, to a score that was great.

Gregg is a very effective teacher. Without his help, I would not have reached my goal. He does a terrific job of breaking down problems, and can help students to develop the skills needed for the most difficult quant and verbal questions. He even goes out of his way to share insights on the whole MBA application process.

When I took the test, I felt well prepared and confident. I kept Gregg's lessons in mind, and received a 750.

I highly recommend Manhattan GMAT and Gregg. Take his course if you want a great score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great class, highly recommend it
September 23 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 23, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I was very pleased with my experience with Vertias. Each class focuses on a specific part of the GMAT, preparing you for almost any kind of problem. The skillbuilders are great for helping you brush up on the math and verbal skills you haven't used in a while. Brandon is very good at explaining how to approach each problem, making even the most complex ones easily understandable. He was also very responsive via email during the week for homework questions. Vertias also provides detailed solutions for all of their homework problems, on demand video of each class, and loads of other resources in their online center. I haven't taken the test yet but will follow up.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great class, haven't taken GMAT yet, will follow up
September 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By aluk88@gmail.com joined: September 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
This class has been very helpful. The books provided are very helpful and offer lengthy and clear explanations for answer choices. The skillbuilder section helps you remember the basic math and verbal skills gradually. Brandon offers his own personal tricks for getting a high score that are also very effective when solving homework problems. He's super friendly and he makes himself available to students. This course definitely provides a lot of information about the test and points out tricks that I wouldn't have known to look out for if I studied on my own. I haven't taken the exam yet, so I'll follow up on the review with my results.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings