New York (Manhattan), NY USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [62]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
GMAT private tutoring for fair price
February 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By verischoen joined: February 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I was struggling with the GMAT for more than 6 months. I learned with the help of books and ordered an online recorded course. The online course was of little help since I could not ask any questions. I did the GMAT twice and scored only 550 and 570 points. My target score was 700.

I started to compare GMAT tutoring companies in New York and found Optimus Prep. In contrast to other leaders, they seem to be smaller but still very professional. They answered all emails within a few hours and sent me a free CAT code for the GMAT. Usually this costs $13 and is extremely helpful during the preparation process. I took the 34 hours private tutoring package.

My tutor was very friendly and a true expert in all fields of the GMAT. He showed me some techniques I never heard of before. His style of excluding incorrect answers was very helpful and I could ask him questions via email during the whole prep time. I took more and more GMAT practice test and my score improved all the way up to 670. After finishing my 34-hour package I took advantage of the discounted hour rate for former customers and took 20 hours more. For two weeks I studied like mad and was excited when I achieved for the first time a GMAT simulation score of 710. I took one more GMAT CAT test and scored 700. I knew the time came to do the real deal.

I was very nervous on the test day. It would be very frustrating to fail my target score. When the GMAT started I had a good feeling. I was relatively sure about the first 10 answers. To get long streaks with correct answers is very important for the final score my tutor told me. My weakness was always the verbal part since I am non-native. I practiced a lot and learned many rules for sentence correction. The integrated reasoning was easy for me since this was my strenght.

At the end I scored 700 points in the GMAT. It took several months but when I saw my score I knew it was worth it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Private Tutoring boosted my score 120 points
February 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I took a private tutoring face to face option because I am sure that this is the best way to prepare for the GMAT. At the beginning I thought self prep would be enough but soon got the results for underestimating the different level of the GMAT – only 590 for more than 50 hours of intensive learning…That disappointed me a lot since I always had very good grades in school/college! I decided to give it a second try but this time prepare with experts.

I found Optimus Prep with google and compared them to other test prep companies. They offered a good deal and I bought the course and started to watch the on demand videos. They helped me a lot and, at the end of the video lessons, I had a good understanding of most concepts. After all lessons with my tutor, David, I was well prepared and took it a second time.

I was very nervous because I paid a lot of money and put in a lot of effort. However, I cracked 700 and my investment paid off finally!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas Review
January 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
The course had a lot of practice problems but not enough tactics or tips in the book to help you save time. I learned how to do the problems in class and still needed to figure out quick methods to solve the problems under 2 minutes. I found such helpful hints online or in different books that I used to study such as Kaplan and Princeton Review. I scored about 150 points higher on ALL the practice exams than on the real exam. So I might have to retake the course or get my money back (at least they offer this option)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Terrible at Math and Improved Score by 100 Points in 3 Weeks
January 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I decided to apply to a JD/MBA program last minute and decided to use Veritas Prep to cram for the GMAT. I always thought that I was really bad at math and even worse at taking standardized tests. I worked with Brandon and my score improved by over 100 points in 3 weeks.

I hadn't taken math in 6 years so we really had to start with the most basic concepts, and he was extremely patient and clear when explaining things to me. He was able to improve my score and most importantly my confidence in my ability to do math tremendously. The test taking strategies that Brandon taught me have helped me in school as well.

I would recommend Brandon and Veritas Prep for the GMAT to anyone looking to improve their math and test taking skills in a short amount of time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Amazing resources and great knowledge (David Mahler FTW)
December 08 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  David Mahler
Manhattan GMAT's course was really really helpful. In addition to well thought out curriculum that helps you go through all the 10+ books efficiently, they have tons of resources available online. There are labs (video guides on specific topics), interactive integrated reasoning materials and practice software.

OG Acher is another great resource, it let's you practice questions, records the time spent and generates reports so you can track your progress. It also has video explanations for many of the official guide questions.

Now, on the instructor, Dave is really amazing, you can tell he knows how the test works. He is able to keep the 3 hours interesting, stress important points and explain concepts efficiently!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas full course review
November 11 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
The course was excellent and our instructor, Brandon Pierpont was engaging, helpful and made a stressful subject matter entertaining.He took the time to help all the students before and after class and really cared that we understood the material. I have used the Manhattan books on my own and they don't compare to the Veritas ones. They are arranged in a way to teach you the pitfalls and mistakes that most students make and the challenging questions were excellent.

It was great to have a step by step guide showing you how to approach the test. I feel more confident then ever in my abilities. The money was absolutely worth it and I would recommend the course to anyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course!
November 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
Veritas was my first forray into the GMAT, and it was simultaneously gradual and fast-paced. As a new student taking this test for the first time, I went in not fully knowing what to expect. However, the instructor--Brandon Pierpont--was extremely encouraging and helpful. He helped students get acclimated to the new thinking pattern that is necessary to tackle the difficult questions. Once our class understood what to expect, we went along at a challenging but doable pace. By the end, I felt prepared and ready to complete the task ahead of me.

The key to a great course definitely lies with the instructor that one chooses. They are the difference between a tense classroom of stressed-out students, and a productive class of ambitious and calm students. Brandon helped make the review program like the latter. I looked forward to each upcoming class because I knew that I would learn new tips and tricks, acquire needed information, and lastly, meet fellow students who quickly became close acquaintances.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Tremendous course with great results
October 02 | 2013

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Gregg Lachow
I could not be happier that I signed up for the Manhattan GMAT course with Gregg Lachow. I took the GMAT with just self-study before the IR section was introduced and received a 700. My goal was to increase my score from one that I felt was good, to a score that was great.

Gregg is a very effective teacher. Without his help, I would not have reached my goal. He does a terrific job of breaking down problems, and can help students to develop the skills needed for the most difficult quant and verbal questions. He even goes out of his way to share insights on the whole MBA application process.

When I took the test, I felt well prepared and confident. I kept Gregg's lessons in mind, and received a 750.

I highly recommend Manhattan GMAT and Gregg. Take his course if you want a great score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great class, highly recommend it
September 23 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 23, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I was very pleased with my experience with Vertias. Each class focuses on a specific part of the GMAT, preparing you for almost any kind of problem. The skillbuilders are great for helping you brush up on the math and verbal skills you haven't used in a while. Brandon is very good at explaining how to approach each problem, making even the most complex ones easily understandable. He was also very responsive via email during the week for homework questions. Vertias also provides detailed solutions for all of their homework problems, on demand video of each class, and loads of other resources in their online center. I haven't taken the test yet but will follow up.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great class, haven't taken GMAT yet, will follow up
September 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By aluk88@gmail.com joined: September 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
This class has been very helpful. The books provided are very helpful and offer lengthy and clear explanations for answer choices. The skillbuilder section helps you remember the basic math and verbal skills gradually. Brandon offers his own personal tricks for getting a high score that are also very effective when solving homework problems. He's super friendly and he makes himself available to students. This course definitely provides a lot of information about the test and points out tricks that I wouldn't have known to look out for if I studied on my own. I haven't taken the exam yet, so I'll follow up on the review with my results.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings