New York (Manhattan), NY USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [58]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Amazing resources and great knowledge (David Mahler FTW)
December 08 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  David Mahler
Manhattan GMAT's course was really really helpful. In addition to well thought out curriculum that helps you go through all the 10+ books efficiently, they have tons of resources available online. There are labs (video guides on specific topics), interactive integrated reasoning materials and practice software.

OG Acher is another great resource, it let's you practice questions, records the time spent and generates reports so you can track your progress. It also has video explanations for many of the official guide questions.

Now, on the instructor, Dave is really amazing, you can tell he knows how the test works. He is able to keep the 3 hours interesting, stress important points and explain concepts efficiently!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas full course review
November 11 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
The course was excellent and our instructor, Brandon Pierpont was engaging, helpful and made a stressful subject matter entertaining.He took the time to help all the students before and after class and really cared that we understood the material. I have used the Manhattan books on my own and they don't compare to the Veritas ones. They are arranged in a way to teach you the pitfalls and mistakes that most students make and the challenging questions were excellent.

It was great to have a step by step guide showing you how to approach the test. I feel more confident then ever in my abilities. The money was absolutely worth it and I would recommend the course to anyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course!
November 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
Veritas was my first forray into the GMAT, and it was simultaneously gradual and fast-paced. As a new student taking this test for the first time, I went in not fully knowing what to expect. However, the instructor--Brandon Pierpont--was extremely encouraging and helpful. He helped students get acclimated to the new thinking pattern that is necessary to tackle the difficult questions. Once our class understood what to expect, we went along at a challenging but doable pace. By the end, I felt prepared and ready to complete the task ahead of me.

The key to a great course definitely lies with the instructor that one chooses. They are the difference between a tense classroom of stressed-out students, and a productive class of ambitious and calm students. Brandon helped make the review program like the latter. I looked forward to each upcoming class because I knew that I would learn new tips and tricks, acquire needed information, and lastly, meet fellow students who quickly became close acquaintances.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Tremendous course with great results
October 02 | 2013

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Gregg Lachow
I could not be happier that I signed up for the Manhattan GMAT course with Gregg Lachow. I took the GMAT with just self-study before the IR section was introduced and received a 700. My goal was to increase my score from one that I felt was good, to a score that was great.

Gregg is a very effective teacher. Without his help, I would not have reached my goal. He does a terrific job of breaking down problems, and can help students to develop the skills needed for the most difficult quant and verbal questions. He even goes out of his way to share insights on the whole MBA application process.

When I took the test, I felt well prepared and confident. I kept Gregg's lessons in mind, and received a 750.

I highly recommend Manhattan GMAT and Gregg. Take his course if you want a great score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great class, highly recommend it
September 23 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 23, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I was very pleased with my experience with Vertias. Each class focuses on a specific part of the GMAT, preparing you for almost any kind of problem. The skillbuilders are great for helping you brush up on the math and verbal skills you haven't used in a while. Brandon is very good at explaining how to approach each problem, making even the most complex ones easily understandable. He was also very responsive via email during the week for homework questions. Vertias also provides detailed solutions for all of their homework problems, on demand video of each class, and loads of other resources in their online center. I haven't taken the test yet but will follow up.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great class, haven't taken GMAT yet, will follow up
September 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By aluk88@gmail.com joined: September 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
This class has been very helpful. The books provided are very helpful and offer lengthy and clear explanations for answer choices. The skillbuilder section helps you remember the basic math and verbal skills gradually. Brandon offers his own personal tricks for getting a high score that are also very effective when solving homework problems. He's super friendly and he makes himself available to students. This course definitely provides a lot of information about the test and points out tricks that I wouldn't have known to look out for if I studied on my own. I haven't taken the exam yet, so I'll follow up on the review with my results.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Fantastic! Manhattan GMAT gets an '800!'
September 05 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By nosoupforyou joined: August 30, 2013 | 2 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
I could not have been happier with my experience with Manhattan GMAT! Not only because of the outcome -- I scored a 740 (49Q/42V) -- but also because of the experience. Manhattan GMAT made studying for the GMAT far less painful than I thought it could be. Definitely worth the price premium. Manhattan GMAT's core strengths are the quality of its instructors, curriculum & content, and resources.

(I) Instructors: Probably Manhattan GMATs greatest asset. I worked with 3 instructors in person (2 taught my course, 1 was my tutor). I also had limited exposure to an additional 4 instructors (online advanced workshops). I can't say enough good things about each and every one of them. The teachers all utilize the same curriculum, of course. But rather than the instructors having to adjust their personality to the course, they can adjust the course to their personality. Perhaps it is because the instructors are encouraged to make the class their own that the classes are so effective and engaging. For example, two of my instructors could not have been more different: one was extremely energetic and informal, encouraging people to shout out answers to his questions; the other was quiet and more formal, asking that we raise our hands with questions/answers. And yet I learned just as much from one as the other! I suspect that, because each instructor was able to stay true to his own personality, each was as effective as possible.
What also struck me about the instructors was their passion - both for teaching and for their students' success. They were willing to go the extra mile for their students. Finally, the typical 'generic' adjectives apply to the instructors - smart, personable, well-spoken, creative, able to think on their feet, etc.

(II) Curriculum and content: they know the ins & outs of the GMAT better than gmac itself! Well, that's an exaggeration, but you get my point. MGMAT's question banks are completely on-target and mimic the real GMAT questions extremely well. Moreover, after completing the course, I was not only prepared to take the GMAT, but I was also a more educated person. (e.g. I now use the words "less" and "fewer" correctly).

(III) Resources: The books themselves are great, and they are only the tip of the iceberg. My favorites: additional question banks. OG Stopwatch (such a simple concept, and yet such a useful tool). I was also extremely impressed with MGMAT's online platform - the virtual workshops were far more engaging than I thought they would be (what's great is that they staff 2 instructors to 1 online session: one teaches while the other answers questions).
I will say, the sheer quantity of resources started to feel overwhelming at times. No matter how much I prepped, there was always more available for me to do. Listen to the instructors - go for quality over quantity.

---------------------------------

*Note that I took Manhattan GMAT's boot camp. The boot camp is the same curriculum as the regular course, but is on a condensed timeline - it meets every weekday for two weeks and has two instructors that tag-team teach it. I chose the boot camp because it was the only option that met the needs of my schedule. After the boot camp, I spent a number of weeks self-studying, with a few supplemental private tutoring sessions.

If you're taking the boot camp, here is what I would recommend:
-Before the class begins, brush up on your fundamentals of math and get familiar with the exam/materials. The class is a whirlwind two-weeks. Spend that time learning the MGMAT material, not re-learning how to do long division or reading about what a computer adaptive test is.
-When you register for the course, you will be scheduled to take practice exams each weekend. Though that's what the instructors recommend, you are not required to take the exams on this schedule - do what's right for you.

---------------------------------

Good luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT is Phenomenal!!!!
August 12 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
The GMAT was the one thing that was hanging over my head and I had a limited amount of time to study and get it over with in time for first round application due dates which are all approaching in the next 2 months. On top of that, I've never been a fan of standardized tests. I'm not a natural test-taker, and I'm one of those people who has to prepare/study a lot for these things.

I moved to New York on May 4th and then started the course on May 6th. I ended up having to travel a lot in June for work, so I missed 2 classes. I spent all of June trying to catch up/stay on track with the coursework. Balancing work, travel, and preparing for the GMAT was rough, but Manhattan GMAT really makes things easier - specifically because of their high quality content, strategy guides, and instructors.

Manhattan GMAT sets its self apart:

1) Strong quantitative preparation - strategy guides are extensive and detailed.

2) Very thorough verbal - strategy guides re-teach grammar that I don't ever remember learning - very very helpful.

2) Foundations of Math and Verbal books: although it was a pain to start from the very beginning and go through these textbook-like guides, this was a really important part of my preparation. These guides were essential in my journey to a achieving a high score.

3) The course keeps you on track - the teachers are very engaging. Jonathan Schneider is an especially gifted instructor. He has great study techniques that he shared with us in the end. He also has a knack for articulating strategies for both math and verbal - he is an extremely talented and smart teacher who really takes a strong interest in his students. He makes the possibility of a high GMAT score very achievable for everyone who is willing to put in the study hours and work.

4) In my opinion, if you can get through the whole syllabus, and stay intellectually honest with yourself in terms of really reading all the strategy guides/doing the problem sets/practicing/completing practice tests etc - I think Manhattan GMAT over prepares you for the test!

5) The online CAT exams were crucial. Manhattan GMAT really recreates the test experience. They also provide post-practice test metrics and stats that help you figure out where to focus your preparation. You can evaluate your strengths and weak areas in a clear and efficient way. The tests are hard, and really push you to work hard to surpass your previous scores! Between my first couple practice tests and the actual test, I improved my score by 140 points (which I truly thought was impossible before).

With Manhattan GMAT's help, I was able to score in the 99th percentile range for verbal - which greatly boosted my score. I am above a 700 - which is what I originally set out to achieve.

I COULD NOT HAVE DONE THIS WITHOUT MANHATTAN GMAT.

Enough said.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellence
August 08 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By epik joined: August 8, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
It's hard to overstate how well MGMAT does its job. Want to score well on the GMAT? Willing to work hard but looking for the most efficient path to content acquisition? MGMAT is your path. It's not cheap, but what you are paying for is not only top-level 99th percentile instructors (by far the highest paid in the industry) and original curriculum materials drafted and constantly revised by the instructors themselves.

I took the 9-week course, though if you wanted to do it in less time or felt that you could just teach yourself the material I suppose you could just buy the books and online access to the tests. But I do have to say that at least in my class, my teacher (Jen Dziura) gave us specific strategies for some questions that I wouldn't have paid attention to in the curriculum. These strategies for questions in math on rates or in verbal on CR were often ultimately the ones I studied and used in the final test.

I also appreciated the pacing and layout of the content over the 9 weeks. I did the homework every week (which was especially time-consuming at the beginning, as I really needed some work in re-learning my high school math), but just trusted in the schedule and kept going. I made some flashcards and spent some extra time on things that didn't come back as easily, but after the class ended I was impressed by how much of that content stuck as I started doing timed OG problems.

At that point, all I needed to do was tie up loose ends (like memorizing the right triangle rules) and speed it up to get each problem under 2 minutes. I spent 1 month doing OG problems and then took the test, to see a huge improvement on my original score. (From 630 to 770 -- Q50 V46)

The forums are helpful, as are the other online components of the class -- I made use of the "Thursdays with Ron" live online sessions, as well as their online companion to the Official Guide, which allows you to track progress on your OG problems -- giving you not only immediate explanations to questions after you've done them, but also tracking your timing and track record on questions sorted by theme, format, etc.

Also, the practice tests are the best in the business, and in my experience very representative of the actual test. And their systems provide tons of feedback based on your answers to questions to guide your subsequent studying.

MGMAT's method is building content expertise -- no silver bullet, no reliance on "tricks" or "talent." It's a harder path, but the good news is that anyone can learn content, and their materials lay out the best path to do so.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT NYC
July 06 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By pierre13 joined: July 6, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Gregg Lachow
The course led by Gregg Lachow is incredibly helpful. He's an engaging and thoughtful instructor who provides several tools for absorbing the material.

The Manhattan GMAT facilities are top class. They offer realistic testing centers, which help prepare you for the feel of test day. They also provide fantastic online resources, including video tutorials on the essay and IR sections that supplement the classes.

Manhattan GMAT classes are large enough to spur discussion on difficult problems and small enough to allow for individual attention for students.

Thanks to Gregg and Manhattan GMAT for raising my score by 100 points!

710
Q45
V44
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings