New York (Manhattan), NY USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [58]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Highly Recommend
July 04 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Dan Lerman
I took the MGMAT 9-week course with Daniel Lerman and boosted by score from a 610 to a 700. You could certainly take the self-guided study approach, but I found that being part of a community of other students helped keep me on track and motivated. The classes flew. Daniel Lerham has the unique ability to explain concepts, consider outside-the-box problem solving suggestions from the class, and correct errors all while having a great sense of humor and without being condescending. My classmates generally came prepared and asked questions that benefited the group. I recommend keeping up with homework so that you can spend the class mastering the core subjects and spend your post-class study time on strengthening weaknesses and learning trickier problem types.

After studying on my own for a few weeks after the class, I opted to have a private tutoring session to go over tough concepts. I was paired remotely with Jamie Nelson, who was incredible. Beyond helping me out in our scheduled one-on-one session, she went above and beyond by responding to questions over e-mail in the final days before my test. Between the positive experience I had with my two MGMAT instructors, I cannot recommend MGMAT enough.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thanks for all of your help!
June 28 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Steven Jupiter
As an English major who hadn't done math since high school, I am very grateful for Manhattan GMAT's clear instructional style and their breakdown of basic math concepts. The books and syllabus were an excellent complement to the in-class instruction. The extended syllabus's easier and harder options helped me to find additional practice for the areas that I needed. I also found the online labs very helpful for picking up on little tips and tricks. I really enjoyed the class and will definitely recommend it to my friends. Thank you so much Manhattan GMAT for helping me get that magical 7 in front of my score!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
The best prep course you can take
June 04 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By amb7s joined: June 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Ceilidh Erickson
Three years ago I took the Princeton review class and this one is better by 1,000x. They focus on the important elements that can actually improve your score and teach you logic as opposed to memorization. For example, the first time I took the test post-Princeton review I was so worried about memorizing math formulas and idioms that I felt overwhelmed and didn't focus on the right things. With Manhattan GMAT, they teach you the reasoning behind formulas (so you can logically recall as opposed to memorize) and don't get caught up on details (like odd idioms) that could maybe come up on 1 question of the whole test.

Overall, the instructor quality and availability was excellent. Also, the online tools of MGMAT really are differentiating and helpful (aka assessment reports).

I would only recommend MGMAT to people in the future.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Time-Consuming but Worthwhile
May 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 31, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
New applicants may be overwhelmed by the amount of text books they receive after joining the Veritas Prep program, but you will find that the amount of supplemental work that is included for personal studies outside of the classroom is almost as vital as the classes themselves.

I can't speak to all teachers for Veritas, but my trainer was extremely well versed in the GMAT terminologies and had an uncanny ability to reimagine textbook questions with new figures off the top of his head.

Working 9-5 made keeping up with the class and homework a bit of a challenge, but if you stick with the program and track your progress through their site, you'll inevitably improve your score or reach the high score that you desire.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course and good Content
April 22 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jen Begasse
New Brunswick, NJ (Not Listed)

Overall I liked the course. The professor was highly knowledgeable. I did not do as well as I thought, the atmosphere got me nervous, but that is my own fault. The content that is provided is definitely great and covers all aspects. I recommend doing all of the homework and take all of the practice tests provided. There are about 12-15 practice tests which is good practice. Retake policy is great as well. No questions asked they will sign you up for the next one you want to take. The work provided did tend to keep you focused more then I think I would have done on my own.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Manhattan GMAT - Fantastic Course & Instructor!
April 10 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By apagoulatos joined: April 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
The best thing I did in preparing for the GMAT was to take the Manhattan GMAT 9 week prep course. The curriculum was outstanding and paced all of the material well. The strategies and tactics outlined by the study guides, class exercises and instructor were extremely helpful.

Jonathan Schneider was my instructor. Jonathan was not only knowledgeable about all of the topics but also taught them in such a way that made the concepts and theories easy to grasp. When a certain concept was not clicking for a student, Jonathan was able to creatively present the material in a different way to ensure the student grasped the concept. Jonathan was also extremely personable and approachable. Furthermore, Jonathan's teaching style is such that he not only is able to teach the material well, but teaches his students how to best continue to study after the completion of the course. In my opinion, it is that skill that will ultimately determine a student's success on the GMAT. I could not have scored my goal score without Jonathan's instruction. I would highly recommend him as an instructor!

Take the class! You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent instructor and materials - highly recommend Manhattan GMAT
February 05 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By rsears1983 joined: February 5, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  160 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I would highly recommend Manhattan GMAT because of the high quality instruction and materials.

I took the 9-week Manhattan GMAT in-person class in Manhattan, and my instructor was Jonathan Schneider. I was extremely impressed by Jonathan as an instructor, and I would recommend Manhattan GMAT because I would advise other students to take his class. Jonathan was enjoyable and engaging in class, and he clearly had a mastery of the material and cared about student success. I felt extremely lucky that I had such an effective teacher, and even though Manhattan GMAT came well reviewed, Jonathan exceeded my expectations as a teacher. Jonathan was responsive via email, was willing to meet with students before and after class, and even let me tag along with him during his lunch break right before my test to talk me through a difficult subject matter I had missed in class.

The materials were also excellent. It had been 10 full years since I had done any serious math, and my quant score increased by 20 percentiles.

My only complaint is admittedly selfish - I wish we could have spent even more time on the quantitative section. I walked in significantly stronger on the verbal section, however, the techniques taught in the class helped me a great deal even with the verbal section. I got a 700 overall score on the test, but that was largely on my verbal skills being even better than my math skills. I was glad that my verbal score increased significantly as well, but I wish there could be even more of the math materials taught in the class. That said, the course was excellent, and I was very satisfied with my experience.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
From 590 to 740!
January 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  |
After the 9-Session Prep Course, I reviewed for a week before taking the official exam. I sat down confidently that day, believing that I would score at least a 680. However, soon after accepting my scores, I realized that my official score was a disappointing 590.

I took a three day break and re-planned my schedule again. I simply went over the whole set of books again. I wrote every piece of detail I did not know or understand on a note card. I reviewed the note cards at the end of each week and meticulously solved every problem on the OG13 and Quant and Verbal books. By the end of the ninth week, I had around 350 note cards of which I started discarding slowly. When taking the Practice Exams, I also realized that I did relatively well throughout most of the exam. My only problem was that I lost stamina in the second half of the Verbal section. I would get about 80 to 90% of the questions right on the first 20 questions but then nearly 50% of the questions correct in the second half of the questions.

These two changes in my strategy helped me reach a goal well above my expectation: a 740 (Q49/V41).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
720 - excellent!
January 08 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By esdykes joined: August 23, 2012 | 84 | 67 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  David Mahler
I chose to use a prep course because I only had one shot at the GMAT before applying R1. I needed the rigor of a study schedule and accountability of classes (and money!) to force me to study.

My instructor was engaging and had been with MGMAT for awhile meaning he was excellent at addressing questions and leveraging different thought processes in the class to help us all learn. Example - I have a strong quant background (engineer) and he would call on me to answer a question when he knew I didn't have the right answer. This forced me to think through my process out-loud and learn where I went wrong.

Verbal prep helped me significantly with Reading Comprehension - my weakest area. I needed to speed up and the structure of how to read and answer questions was invaluable.

The online tools were probably the most helpful for me. Being able to track specific types of questions I was getting right and wrong along with time was key in my final week of self-guided study before the test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I truly believe I should be the MGMAT spokesperson
October 18 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By nobility3 joined: October 18, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Tommy Wallach
I've been struggling with the GMAT since I started in 2007. I took Kaplan paid over $5000, got a private tutor and did the whole course. The result on the official test was a 480 in 2008. Discouraged I gave up trying to take the GMAT. I hated the damn thing.

But about 1.5 years later I realized I needed to ask the GMAT out on another date. So I signed up for MGMAT. Again same story my diagnostic showed me scoring around 490, so I was kind of hoping for a miracle from my instructor and course. I worked really hard, did everything I could possibly do to get my goal of 660 or higher. I finally take the test and this time score lower than my first test, receiving a score of 470.

Now you can imagine how I felt. I just wasn't good at the GMAT. So discouraged again I contemplated giving up on going to business school. A month later without studying I took a practice cat exam at got a 530. So I'm thinking to myself, okay maybe their is hope. This motivates me to retake MGMAT, but this time online from 9:30-11:30. I work really hard and on my 5th session I'm like what the heck I got $250 to blow let me take the GMAT. So the weekend before Fourth of July, I take the test and get a 570. I'm like wow, I'm amazing.

So I finish the remaining of my course and decide in a few months I might try to retake it again or just apply to a dungeon business school. I continue to work hard and start reviewing my material over and over again. I decide that my score wasn't good enough to go to a top business school, so i promised my self i would take GMAT one last time. I schedule my test for sept 29th, which gave me a month to tweak my skills. I take practice test after practice test and I'm no where I need to be. I can't even break 600. The last practice GMAT prep test I take gets me a score of 530. This is one week going into the exam. But I told myself I worked too hard to not break a 660. So the day of my test, I tell myself to put it all on the line. I take the quant and it’s very difficult, I'm like great here comes another 500. I take the verbal and I feel better. Than it comes down to accepting my score. I hit yes and than the score appears. The score was kind of blurry because I had tears in my eyes. Here I am a grown adult tearing on my score. I got a 680, with a 50 on my quant. I'm like are u kidding me. I still feel like my official score will come back and say “sorry we made a mistake". It's just a relief to have closure. The scary part is I got in the 64% in verbal, a few more questions correct on that section I could of broken 700.

I promise I'm not thinking of taking the test again. But I can tell you with experience if I can go from a 470- 680, than anyone can be taught the GMAT. The structure that MGMAT has is not like no other. Everything you need to obtain a 800 is in the MGMAT curriculum. From the CAT Tests, detailed workbooks and forums, MGMAT does wonders. It just requires sacrifice and dedication.

If anyone needs any guidance please contact me, I want to pay it forward to anyone that wants hope. I'm sure some of you might think that my story is impossible. I'm just like you guys, seeing is believing. So i've attached a picture of my latest score report. Again, i'm more than happy to help anyone.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings