New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [40]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
You gain confidence, one class at a time
August 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ndube joined: February 6, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Before Veritas I did not study to understand the structure of the test nor how to attack each section. After taking the course with Rob and studied the provided material, I was able to reduce my anxiety of setting a test date.

Veritas dives deeper into each section; teaching you how to recognize the relationships of tested subjects/themes and how to notice when those subjects are being tested. The provided material is designed to teach you the building blocks of each tested subject and how to think and execute the material you've learned.

After taking Rob's M/W evening class, I would highly recommend attending a live session. You are giving yourself more access to vital information and how to "crack the code". Rob's unique style of teaching is rare and more importantly he shows you how to develop your cognitive thinking and rely on more than just formulas. He also doesn't try to conform a student, he understands that every person has their own way of learning and retaining information.

He also has great stories!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Focused and Efficient Prep
June 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By lnzava joined: June 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Chris Kane
I took this course after having taken a full 6 week course with Veritas over 8 months ago. I needed a refresher and the ability to focus solely on GMAT prep and not get distracted by other things. This course was able to do that in 6 days. The instructor, Chris Kane, also an author of the Veritas text books is an amazing teacher. He was able to break down complicated concepts with simple examples. He took the time to answer our questions and go through scenarios with us so we understand how the test is made. He has so many years of experience with this exam and it shows. In addition to reviewing the concepts, he provided us with important tips about taking the exam itself (what the proctor and test center are like). He gave us a list of things to do after the course to better prepare ourselves which is great given the limited amount of time I have to prepare. He also gave us insights into the B-school application process. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who is short on time and needs that focus.

I only wish there was more time to review homework. We did spend one of the days just reviewing hw problems from 4 of the books but we never reviewed any problems after that.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas Prep Full Course
May 22 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
I highly enjoyed my in-person full course Veritas Prep GMAT course with Rob. He was very enthusiastic and truly cared about how everyone in the class did on the GMAT. He even was willing to meet with me and discuss any issues outside of class hours. During class we would go over any problems I had issues with which helped when facing similar problems in the future. The in-person class also forced me to come prepared which helped me stick to my study goals and enable me to take my test at the peak of my test taking ability. I would highly recommend taking the in-person Veritas Prep GMAT class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Loved the course
April 07 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By jessie5936 joined: April 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  |
I found at first that Veritas was pretty pricey. But after having gone through the course, I do and would recommend it. I had class 2x per week, online access to tutoring and also test question samples. Besides that the books that we got for the class had more questions and homework. My instructor was Brian, he was very helpful and thorough. I found that I wasnt able to do the online course on my own because couldnt set aside time. This course is great because of the info thats available. If your not going to study or keep up with the course outline then this isnt for you, you have to put in the work.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Essentials provided to help navigate the exam
March 22 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  |
Curriculum was laid broken up in a concise format. Some of the items I find to be a pain to study, were setup to easily comprehend and execute. Brandon was on point with the material, and very knowledgeable. It helped that he also provided real world advice with the exam. I recommend to do the skill builders before each lesson. It really comes down to how much you put in to the course. The instructors can only do so much. I wish they had spent more time on homework review, however there are explanations available online. Try not to fall behind, and take the test immediately after this course!

Best of Luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep
March 21 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By benton joined: March 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  |
I was very impressed with Veritas Prep course. It is very demanding homework-wise but if you are willing to put in the serious effort, then it is the course for you. I recommend staying on top of homeworks and always completing the skill builder. Our instructor would still make a point to review if you had not completed the skill builder but it was good to have the base knowledge. The online resources are also fantastic. There are hundreds of practice questions that covers all of the areas on the GMAT.

I dramatically improved my score 150 points from the start of class to finish (6 weeks).

I would highly recommend Brandon as an instructor-- he did everything to keep us engaged in class and was extremely informative. He was also very willing to help before and after class if you had additional questions-- many instructors would look to leave at 10pm.

Good luck to everyone taking the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Loved My GMAT Course!
February 25 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By lsciuto joined: February 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
This is going to sound really dorky, but honestly, the Veritas GMAT class with Rob Stringham was so good that I looked forward to going to class every Tuesday and Thursday (three hours each, six hours/week total).

First of all, Rob is a fantastic teacher! He has really good energy, he's funny, and, since he's been teaching the GMAT for 10+ years, he is an expert GMAT teacher. Not only does Rob know how to solve any and every problem, but he also takes a very holistic approach to the GMAT. He discusses stress management strategies, study techniques, ways to practice timing, positive reinforcement tactics, and more. From what I've heard, it's unique to have a GMAT teacher such as Rob who's both engaging AND knowledgeable.

Second, the Veritas materials worked really well for me. I would say they're "good" materials, but that might not be true for everyone. For me, however, they're easy to understand and digest, and the practice problems are well-written.

Finally, while I haven't taken the GMAT yet, I have noticed significant improvement in my practice test scores. While practice test scores are not necessarily an accurate predictor of how one will do on the GMAT, they're certainly an important tool to use in preparing for the GMAT, and continuing to improve my practice scores has been great for maintaining motivation.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this course as a GMAT prep option, and I would highly recommend Rob as a teacher.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep Review
January 11 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By jmontellese joined: December 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  |
I participated in Veritas Prep's Full Course from 11/9/13 - 12/14/13 and it was absolutely worth the investment.

Veritas supplies their students with a book for every lesson, and I found the skill builder (pre-work) to be a significant asset. Upon completing the skill builder before class I was provided with a background on where I was struggling / had questions on a given section. The lessons themselves were very good and provided a very detailed description on each question type and test strategies.

Our instructor Brandon, was awesome and very helpful. He was always able to provide a clear understanding of the given topics and answer any questions. He also provided very useful tips and other strategies.

Overall I would highly recommend the the Veritas Prep course. I have yet to take the GMAT so I can not report a post score review. However the skills and increased confidence that I have received are already showing results in my practice problems / practice test results.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Awesome course - recommend it fully
November 25 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 25, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
I took the full course at the Grand Hyatt in NYC. Tuesdays and Thursdays from 7-10pm with Rob Stringham.

I couldn't recommend the course higher. Not only was the program catered to the students, but Rob made each course very personal and walked us through the details on the questions types and how to attack each. He was very effective also in helping us to understand the GMAT from the inside out - how they looked at different sections, what things to focus on for base knowledge, how to pace yourself properly, how to score (i.e. don't try to get everyone question right), among other things.

I thoroughly enjoyed my classmates, the discussions we had, and the teaching.

I also really liked the online program that was provided. Whenever I wanted more explanation on something, I could always go online and get in depth info. There was never a lack of information, which I think is important in a test that is so broad.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course
November 11 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Brian Prestia
I highly recommend this class. Brian is top notch instructor. His level of knowledge of the actual exams helps you really understand how to attack each problem to achieve an 800. He also has handy tips and tricks that are useful in saving time and avoiding killer questions.

Vetiras Prep has great tools as well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings