New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [47]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
A comprehensive review for Veritas
February 24 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By AlexClement7 joined: February 24, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Ethan was my instructor for a week at the Grand Hyatt hotel in Manhattan. At first, I did not know what to expect; I only figured taking the class would help. Little did I know how much I did not know about the GMAT. Ethan made me see the test for what it really was. "You cannot beat the GMAT, but you can only hope to survive it." This was a very radical thought that actually changed my entire perspective about the test. By helping me to understand the GMAT logic, Ethan made me think about problems and approach them in completely different ways. The result; a significant improvement on both quantitative and verbal. I would highly recommend Ethan to be anyones instructor. He can show you things about the GMAT that you would never even have guessed about. He also has the credentials to back up his knowledge. Not only did I leave Veritas with a better mind towards the GMAT, I also left with a better mind towards life. As an instructor, professor, tutor and a friend, Ethan has no equal. To anyone who would like to improve their score, he could be your one and only stop.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course, fantastic instructor
February 24 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By paigeconklin joined: February 24, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Veritas Prep is an amazing resource for anyone taking the GMAT or applying to b-school. The immersion course is intense and extremely valuable. Ethan is the cream-of-the-crop when it comes to teaching strategy, especially Data Sufficiency! You will feel much better about Data Sufficiency after working with Ethan, at least I did! The books and online resources Veritas Prep provides are phenomenal. You can fill your days and nights with endless GMAT problems if thats what gets you going and the Veritas community is extremely supportive. You will learn about multiple testing strategies in the immersion course with Ethan in addition to gaining a network of people to study with. If your looking for a relatively painless way to improve your GMAT score take a class with Ethan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course, Great Teacher!
January 29 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By DareAdeyeri joined: January 29, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehill
I took the 7-day immersion course of Veritas Prep. First I was impressed by the quality of the materials and the excellent customer service - I was dealing with Jenny Tang. In-class was even better. Ethan Todras-Whitehill, the instructor was amazing. He demonstrated uncommon expertise in all the subjects, teaching highly effective and timesaving strategies that cut the stress out of very tough questions. I left class with a deeper understanding of the materials and a broader perspective of what to expect in the actual test. I am even told they are not done with me until I have obtained my desired score on the live test. Of course, I will take Ethan and Veritas prep up on this. I have a high for the immersion experience and I would recommend Veritas Prep and in particular Ethan to anyone seriously thinking of scoring high on the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Rob is a great teacher and Veritas' materials are solid
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 11, 2013 | 1 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Rob is such a great guy - beyond being brilliant and a graduate of one of the best business schools around, he is down-to-earth and genuinely cares about his students' success. On the last day of class we all decided to get lunch together during the one-hour break - the restaurant was slow to process our order and we ended up getting back to class 40 minutes late! Rob stayed an extra hour to make sure we covered all of the material and left knowing what we need to do to perform well on the exam.

Overall, highly recommend this course, instructor, and service!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Highly Recommend the Course
October 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Manhattan GMAT is the company to sign up with if you're aiming for a 700+ score. I signed up for the in-person class option and had Jonathan as an instructor (who I would highly recommend). The course does a fantastic job keeping you on pace and provides many insightful pointers to help maximize your likelihood of success on test day (many of which you won't find using just the books). Jonathan in particular did a great job helping keep the class engaged with what most would consider pretty dry subject matter. The practice tests are also extremely helpful given the structure of the test will be new for most. I definitely felt like it was worth the cost and that it had a positive impact on my score (scored 740).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Jonathan Schneider is the best GMAT instructor you can have
October 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 9, 2014 | 2 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  160 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I took the 9-week class on Wednesday nights which Jonathan Schneider taught. The entire class felt like they clicked with him right away. He is the kind of instructor who gets it. He doesn't go too slow or too fast. He just teaches at a perfect pace.

In my study group of 3, we started with 550-600 in our diagnostic test. Throughout the class, we all made progress and got around 650. All three of us kept getting 630-670 until the end of the class.

Jonathan recommended we took our tests 3-4 weeks after the end of the class, which we did. As expected, we got 660-680. Unsatisfied with those scores, we kept working, and signed up for the test a month later. All three of us had full-time jobs so that was a big commitment. We sent our breakdown and practice test assessments to Jonathan who gave each of us a detailed path to success. I believe this is really where he added a ton of value. He specifically told us what to work on and what not to work on. This made our lives a lot easier. A week later, 2 of us got our first 700+ on a practice, the third one got a 690.

We kept going, refining our weak spots, and finally took our tests 7-8 weeks after the end of the class. We got 710, 720 and 730 respectively, which we were happy with.

The takeaway is Jonathan is an extremely competent in-class instructor who spends time answering questions after hours (almost 24/7) and will be as good as it gets in class. But most importantly, he will spend the time to sit down and reflect on a study plan and give you a detailed strategy as to what you need to tackle to get a great score.

The three of us took the test twice, but we all felt like we would have gotten an even better score had we taken it a third time. It was just a matter of time until we got a 750+.

Jonathan set us up so we would succeed slowly but surely. We didn’t see it for weeks (and some nights we felt pretty desperate) but in the end it all worked out, and this is all thanks to him. Then again, it happened to the three of us, and the only two things we had in common were busy lives and Jonathan Schneider. It’s no coincidence. Jonathan Schneider is the man.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Solid Refresher for those who haven't been in school for a while.
September 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Vigilante joined: September 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Rob Stringham is a fantastic teacher. He has a huge amount of enthusiasm for the material which really makes a difference when it comes to learning new content. Rob made the content fun and engaging.

I haven't been in school for 6 years, and it was definitely difficult getting back in to the academic mindset. I knew I had a ton of work to catch up on and a slew of topics I needed to refresh or even relearn. When I first started looking at GMAT content, I had forgotten things like how to multiply fractions or find a percent increase. Obviously, I had a lot of learning to do.

The Veritas prep course gave a good foundation of knowledge on all of the areas of the GMAT. The set of books were well put together and had a really wide selection of homework problems to tackle. A real highlight of the course for me was the ability to go online through Veritas' web site, track my progress, do questions, and tackle content and practice tests.

I would say that the Veritas practice tests seemed a bit easier than the official GMAT and official practice CATs.

Scores:
430 - GMAT Practice CAT - First attempt at anything GMAT related.
1 month of self study
540 - GMAT Practice CAT2
Veritas prep 6 week course
680 - Veritas Practice Test 1
690 - Veritas Practice Test 2
690 - Veritas Practice Test 3
690 - Veritas Practice Test 4
620 - GMAT Practice CAT3
600 - GMAT Official

For the official GMAT, I definitely froze up on some really easy questions, super easy, and I just couldn't think of how to do the problems. (Simple work-rate problems)

I have rescheduled for next month and plan on getting a 650+
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thumbs Up!!!
September 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  brandon Pierpont
I really recommend this course! The tips that the instructor were really helpful, especially lot of shortcuts helps me saved lot of time. Brandon was available after the class which was great. He really took the time to explain any topic/technique we couldnt easily understand. I also recommend continuing on practicing after the course to keep up with the momentum. Currently, I am working on using those techniques to cut my problem solving in half. I feel like i am still spending lot of time solving problems. I will post more reviews once i have my final gmat result.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
You gain confidence, one class at a time
August 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ndube joined: February 6, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Before Veritas I did not study to understand the structure of the test nor how to attack each section. After taking the course with Rob and studied the provided material, I was able to reduce my anxiety of setting a test date.

Veritas dives deeper into each section; teaching you how to recognize the relationships of tested subjects/themes and how to notice when those subjects are being tested. The provided material is designed to teach you the building blocks of each tested subject and how to think and execute the material you've learned.

After taking Rob's M/W evening class, I would highly recommend attending a live session. You are giving yourself more access to vital information and how to "crack the code". Rob's unique style of teaching is rare and more importantly he shows you how to develop your cognitive thinking and rely on more than just formulas. He also doesn't try to conform a student, he understands that every person has their own way of learning and retaining information.

He also has great stories!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Focused and Efficient Prep
June 03 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By lnzava joined: June 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Chris Kane
I took this course after having taken a full 6 week course with Veritas over 8 months ago. I needed a refresher and the ability to focus solely on GMAT prep and not get distracted by other things. This course was able to do that in 6 days. The instructor, Chris Kane, also an author of the Veritas text books is an amazing teacher. He was able to break down complicated concepts with simple examples. He took the time to answer our questions and go through scenarios with us so we understand how the test is made. He has so many years of experience with this exam and it shows. In addition to reviewing the concepts, he provided us with important tips about taking the exam itself (what the proctor and test center are like). He gave us a list of things to do after the course to better prepare ourselves which is great given the limited amount of time I have to prepare. He also gave us insights into the B-school application process. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who is short on time and needs that focus.

I only wish there was more time to review homework. We did spend one of the days just reviewing hw problems from 4 of the books but we never reviewed any problems after that.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings