New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [39]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Veritas Prep
November 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By tparida joined: November 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  |
I’ve just completed the Full Course and I highly recommend it. I learned a lot even though the class was very fast paced. For example, I struggled a bit with the skillbuilder (exercises you have to complete before coming to class) and the tips and tricks that I learned during class not only helped me with my timing but also understanding certain concepts. The instructor, Brandon Pierpont, was very helpful, thorough, and enthusiastic. He also added a splash of jokes to lighten the intensity and stress of the course. Anyone who is interested in immensely improving your score should definitely take this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great preparation class
November 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By anonymoususer joined: November 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  |
Starting to re-learn everything in my class was difficult, but Brandon made it a lot easier and explained different topics really well. I feel a lot better going into my test than I would have ever felt without this class. I am aspiring to get above a 700 and I really feel like I can do that now. I am now doing well with my quant and verbal as I go through the homework and review all the lesson plans. If I were to walk blindly into the test, I probably would have just walked out frustrated. I know I'll do well now. Brando was awesome.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great overall course
November 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  |
Veritas Prep was a great course. It gave me knowledge into each topic on the GMAT without going into too much detail on specific subjects. It is more a strategy and technique class on how to best take the test, which I really liked. If you feel that you need work on one particular area that you're really struggling with, I would go with a private tutor in addition to the class though.
Brandon Pierpont was a fantastic instructor. He always made himself available after class and was particularly good at explaining the Quant.
I highly recommend Veritas and when I take the test (in 3 weeks) I'm hoping my score reflects my good experience in the class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Unbeatable Preparation
September 21 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Initially, I was reluctant to take a prep course because I did not think the value was worth $1500. After taking my first practice test and getting a 650, though, I decided to entertain the idea. Veritas offered me the opportunity to visit the first class of their course for free and I came away very impressed with the instructor (Rob Stringham) and the course prep materials. I decided to make the investment and saw my practice scores rise to a peak of 740 before ultimately getting a 750 on the actual test, a score that would not have been possible without Rob and Veritas. Rob not only did an outstanding job of teaching the course material but he also excelled in preparing me mentally for the test, giving me the right mindset for preparing for and approaching the test. I could not speak more highly of my experience with Rob and Veritas. Though $1500 is still a lot, I never could have imagined getting a 750 without that investment.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course, Worth the Price
August 26 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By emilyb113 joined: August 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Brian Prestia
This was a really thorough and informative course. The instructor, Brian, was very engaging and really knew everything about the GMAT. I researched many prep course, and this one was by far superior than the others. They really break down the test into easy-to-combat sections, which makes it seem less overwhelming and more manageable. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who is serious about studying and taking the GMAT. The supplemental materials online were also a great help as well, and were a good way to keep track of progress in the course. This course is worth the expense.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Learn how to problem solve, not just take a test!
August 22 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Veritas Prep provides very professional resources to its students in order to make for a successful transition from an average test taker to a successful one.

Rob did a good job in emphasizing the need to learn how to solve and approach the problems. He taught us not to just "eliminate answers to make an educated guess." I feel that this is different from many other test prep centers that simply show you how to "take a test." Rob truly seems to care for his students and wants them to do well. He goes above and beyond in giving extra time to his students. Rob did well in enforcing his main points throughout the course so that we wouldn't forget them.

Overall, I was pleased with the prep course. The course did feel slow at times but it was necessary to accommodate everyone in the class. Good work, Veritas Prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course, Great Teacher!
August 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By jdilman joined: March 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I thought the course was awesome. The books were great, even if you don't remember anything from high school. The roadmap book also gives a ton of great general advice for the whole prep process. The web site had a ton of great tools besides just practice tests and anytime I had a question about a specific resource, I called the office, and it seemed like there was always someone there to help.

I think it's definitely important to do a lot of the recommended readings if you want to get the most out of the class. I found that the people I spoke to who didn't do the homework were more likely to seem a bit lost or confused. But, if you walk in prepared, you know what your weaknesses are and how you want to improve, you can ask better questions.

I must say that our teacher, Jonathan Schneider, was the best. He always explained everything very clearly and made it all easy to understand. He was even extremely helpful and patient outside of the classroom. Obviously you can't expect the teachers to be able to go over specific questions in their free time, but I must have emailed him at least 15 different general study questions and he always answered in a friendly manner within about 24 hours. I kept thinking, "How am I not annoying him yet?"

I took the test about a month after the class and didn't do as well as I'd like to have. I felt like I had an off day and definitely could've prepared better considering I'd been pretty busy at work. I signed up to take the test again in another month and emailed my teacher for a few more tips along the way. He really advised me through the whole process. On attempt 2, I did 50 points better than the first time and 10 points better than my best practice test. All in all I was very happy with my 730 and glad I didn't have to study any more. so yeah, I thought the course was worth it.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT was a great prep experience!
August 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By cgiugale joined: August 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
My score improved 80 points with Manhattan GMAT! My instructor, Jonathan Schneider, was clear and thoughtful during every instruction. He spent extra time before, during, and after class helping me with specific questions I had and was always able to give me concrete, actionable take-aways so that what I learned for one problem I was able to easily apply to other problems. I never felt like I was wasting time during class. Jonathan struck the perfect balance between allowing us enough time to figure out problems on our own, giving us direct instruction and tips, and providing us with multiple ways to think about a problem. In this way concepts were always sticky and problems were memorable. The class gave me the necessary tools and strategies to study efficiently and effectively on my own. The homework was organized, purposeful, and manageable. The online explanations and extra resources were also great. I highly and unreservedly recommend this course and instructor!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great course that teaches strategies for beating the GMAT
August 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Youngster917 joined: August 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Chris Kane
This course aims to teach those above the median. If you need someone to teach you arithmetic skills or practice prime numbers with you, then this course isn't for you. It assumes that you've put in adequate prework going in and that you have a pretty strong grasp of math and grammar. The course concentrates your time on how you figure out exactly what the test is asking you for.

Its a quick-paced class that's engaging and entertaining. I found it very helpful supplementing my personal studies and showing me how to get past the tricky questions. Hopefully, this will be enough to push me from the 90th percentile to the 99th.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
750 GMAT (49Q,44V)
August 05 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mgg234 joined: May 20, 2013 | 538 | 204 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA  | Taught by:  Eric Caballero
I highly recommend Manhattan GMAT, and it helped me get to my target score. The professor was awesome, and it's certainly the best product out there.

A few areas I think it could improve:

1) Advanced courses - The one frustrating thing about the course is that you are with people at all different levels of quant and verbal proficiency. Therefore, even if you are ready to move on, the instructor would be stuck explaining concepts for a long time to someone else. It would be great if they added advanced courses (perhaps requiring 650 or so on a CAT to sign-up), that went at a faster pace and spent more time on 700+ questions.

2) Area of Focus. For whatever reason, I was naturally very good at Verbal, and wanted to focus on Math. The classes in general seemed to be tilted slightly towards Verbal. It would've been cool if I could've had a class that tilted a little more towards Math. I feel like, for the upper level math questions, I had to learn a lot of the tricks on my own through their advanced quant guide.

Overall the course was great though. I got a 680 when I took it 4 years ago, so I'm pretty happy with a 70-point jump (especially since my math skills had degraded since then). I guess it's really hard to tell how much the course helped on its merits, versus how much it just forced me to study a lot - but who cares, I got the score I wanted, and I probably would've studied less if not forced to do HW and Classes.

Definitely recommend taking Eric Caballero. He is really funny, smart, and explains concepts very well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings