Philadelphia, PA USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [16]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Great Course (760 49Q / 46V 8 AWA 6.0 IR)
March 05 | 2015

       By al79philly joined: September 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA  | Taught by:  Abby Berry
Manhattan provided a great deal of value. I was able to score a 760 on my first attempt at the exam. Abby Berry was an excellent teacher and the timelines are laid out well. In addition to the classwork, you get access to the online interact sessions, which provide a second chance to review items where you need extra help. The books are well laid out and provide a lot of practice. GMAT Navigator is an excellent tool to track your progress against the official guide. I only took the test once, but I think they give you access to the materials for 18 months from when you sign up, which seems very fair. Customer support response time is excellent. I wanted access to their advanced quant book and sent an email on a Sunday afternoon. I received a response within an hour.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Incredible resources available
September 02 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: September 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA  | Taught by:  Abby Berry
MGMAT instructors are properly vetted (99%ile) and prepped, the course has been developed and refined over years and years, and the amount of resources are so vast they're simply unusable. The course is expensive, but will doubtless help you to organize your study habits and provide you the resources to effectively target your weaknesses. I came in with strong test content knowledge, but I was impressed with how logically and comprehensively the necessary concepts were taught. As with anything, you'll take out of this class what you put into it - but with MGMAT, there's no ceiling to how much you can put in. From homework, to class sessions, to practice tests, each problem you do provides a data point for attacking your weaknesses. If you're willing to do the work, you can't be disappointed with the resources MGMAT puts at your disposal.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Go with Manhattan GMAT
August 08 | 2014

       By aliyasaigol joined: August 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA  | Taught by:  Abby Berry
I would absolutely recommend the Manhattan GMAT course to anyone considering taking the GMAT. I took the 9-week course on UPenn's campus with instructor Abby Berry. Manhattan GMAT provides you with access to more resources than you could ever need to help you prepare for the test (books, practice exams, one-on-one instructor office hours, and their own set of detailed solutions to old GMAT questions). Not only that, the in-class sessions teach amazing test-taking tips and strategies that ultimately helped me score in the 99th percentile on the GMAT. Manhattan GMAT is truly the way to go if you want to score above 700.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT -- got me to a 740
July 11 | 2014

       By gconway joined: July 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA  | Taught by:  Abby Berry
I took a 9-week course in Spring 2014. The materials provided by Manhattan GMAT are invaluable. I found the set of math books to be extremely helpful -- the books are separated into various topics, such as Fractions/Decimals/Percents or Word Problems, and provide easy-to-follow steps and quick tricks to solve these problems. I had a very limited understanding of these basic math concepts (I hadn't taken a math class in a few years) before taking this course and the books quickly brought me up to competitive levels. The Quant problems are very difficult which also helped prepare me for test day. There are also plenty of practice problems provided both by Manhattan and MBA.com's Official Guide of problems. I found the online resources unrivaled with any other program. The online resources provide a platform for you to time yourself and plug in the answers to problems from the Official Guide and then synthesize all of the data to highlight weak and strong points. The online practice tests have similar tools, such as showing areas where you move too fast or too slowly, or where you need the most work. I found that incredibly helpful as I was able to focus on my problem areas for most of the course and then honed in on my strengths in the days before the exam. The IR sections are incredibly difficult on Manhattan GMAT, but again, they prepared me for test day and I received a score of 8. My instructor for the course (Abby Berry) was professional, energetic and had a genuine interest in each student. She tailored the course to fit the class's needs rather than following a rigid and generic structure which I found very helpful. Manhattan GMAT helped me bring my score to levels competitive with the averages of the top five business schools and I am very satisfied with my outcome. I would highly recommend this course.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Manhattan GMAT FTW
January 12 | 2014

       By CardinalSaint joined: January 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA  | Taught by:  Abby Berry
MGMAT is great class and I would recommend it to anyone. Before picking a class, I asked around and the general consensus was on MGMAT. I had previously tried to study on my own, but was overwhelmed by all the material that needed to be covered. MGMAT broke the material down into manageable steps and really helped me hone in on my problem areas.

The in-person class was more than I could have hoped for and I would and have recommended Abby’s class to anyone that listens. Like many perfectionist, I struggled with skipping problems, but Abby really helped me get over my ego and do what was best for my score. She was also able to teach the class in a manner that worked for people that were all at different levels and never did I feel like we were going too slowly.

Overall the course was great and helped me improve my score from a 640 on my original diagnostic to a 760 on test day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent!
November 11 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By Anonymous joined: May 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA  | Taught by:  Neil Moakley
After taking two other GMAT prep courses two less than stellar official GMAT scores, I decided to take the Veritas Prep live course after reading numerous positive reviews.

My instructor was Neil Moakley and he was did an incredible job at both teaching how to best approach the wide array of both quantitative and verbal questions that appear on the test, as well as to providing insight into the fundamental logic that the GMAT is designed to test. Additionally, the course was extremely well organized and required a large amount of commitment outside of class to reviewing and understanding the material--this forced me to devote a significant amount of time to studying, but was definitely effective in preparing me for the exam. I highly recommend this course!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Philadelphia prep
August 30 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By Vmtp joined: July 4, 2013 | 6 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA  | Taught by:  Neil Moakley
I took the Veritas GMAT prep course with Neil in Philadelphia, PA. I like the way Veritas sets up the course; there are 12 books and 12 classes. Each book contains a skillbuilder, a lesson and homework problems. I think it is really important to review some of the core concepts and Veritas does a great job with that. I haven't actually taken the test yet, because I need some more time to do as many homework problems as possible. I would definitely suggest this course but you have to be disciplined and work a lot on your own. I am glad I took the course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
All You Need for 99th Percentile
August 02 | 2013

       By sberesford joined: August 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA  | Taught by:  Abby Berry
I enrolled with MGMAT specifically to ensure that I achieved a 99th percentile score on test day, and I am glad that I did!

The course provides you with a comprehensive study syllabus and a zillion extra materials to help you practice. Having our instructor, Abby Berry, structure and review everything each week was a huge help in navigating the slew of material. Abby explained everything patiently and thoroughly and helped us all work towards our personal study goals. In the penultimate session, Abby reviewed my CAT exams and gave me some extra study advice, which I believe is what bumped me from a 720 on practice tests to a 770 on test day!

If you are ready to study and have the time to keep up with the MGMAT 9-week syllabus, I recommend it without blinking an eye. The material is all you need to achieve a coveted 99th percentile score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Tremendous Help
May 09 | 2013

       By mherba01 joined: May 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA  | Taught by:  Neil Moakley
The length of the course was just enough amount of time to get a refresher (especially on math subjects) and prepare for the exam. I found it extremely helpful in preparing for the Quant portion of the exam. Having a different Quant subjects reviewed once a week along with practice homework was definitely key.

It was great also to have a relatively small class, which enhanced the dynamics of the classroom, and where Neil was able to provide his undivided attention; it also allowed students to get to know each other and gather together for practice homework assignments. I certainly feel that I wouldn't have been able to acheive my current score and get accepted into my MBA program of choice, without the help of Neil Moakley and Veritas Prep.

Marco H.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Philly
April 28 | 2013

       By arshah1988 joined: April 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA  | Taught by:  Neil Moakley
Neil did a great job of reviewing all the course material. I have not looked at a lot of the topics covered in the GMAT since high school and needed a quick review. Neil was effective in his teaching methods and was very helpful in anyway he could be. I would recommend this course to anyone who is taking the GMAT. The class is located in a UPENN classroom. The supporting course material is also helpful. I often reviewed the online pre recorded classes to go through class material again. I increased my score quite a bit through this class. It goes at a good pace, which is very helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings