San Francisco, CA USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [27]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Kaplan GMAT - Hard on Verbal but Soft on Quant
July 06 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By mich1216 joined: July 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Murl Smith
I recommend everyone to use Kaplan if you're weaker on Verbal. the Quant section simply isn't as difficult as some of the most difficult questions you would get in the 750 range. That said, I supplemented my Kaplan materials with Manhattan math materials and scored 740. I took my class in my office with Murl on the weekends and thought he was very engaging. He took the time to grade our essays as well as provide individual attending when we needed it. I also recommend the practice tests with Kaplan - it allows you to schedule to take them IN-PERSON AT THE TEST CENTER. So while everyone was taking their real test, I got to take my practice tests there twice. This helped to take my nerves off of test day because the testing conditions weren't completely foreign.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Mind Blowing
June 27 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: June 27, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
There are several factors that make a course, a good one. In this case the instructor and the study materials achieved the goal. From the start of the course I learned new things. How to attack a problem, where should I expend my energy and concentration, how to identify incorrect answers, are few of the numerous topics learned. Ravi pushed me to keep on the top of my game. I would recommend the immersion course for people who are looking to change the way they see the test. Although is a test of how you think, instead of what you know, students will learn a lot in order to have the necessary tools to solve every type of problem during the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great tutor
June 26 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: June 26, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took a full week immersion course with Ravi Sreerama. He was great and pushed all of the class during the entire week while also being very human, approachable and motivating.

I was a bit dubious at first as the course videos are decent but could be improved, but the classes with Ravi mad the investment worth it.

Overall Veritas is a bit unintuitive in terms of UX, but pretty good when it comes to getting you to a higher GMAT score. I am happy with the time and money I spent and will recommend them (especially Ravi) to friends who look into doing an MBA.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Insider's Perspective to Approaching the GMAT
January 06 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By allisongomer joined: January 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  160 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
The greatest asset of the course was the instructor, Matt. He knows the GMAT inside and out, and sharing his experience helped my class understand the unique approach the GMAT test-makers take in the ways they create and ask the questions. It's not enough to simply have sample questions and practice tests. To really get a handle on this, it's critical to have an insider's perspective on how to approach a logic-based test like the GMAT. Without Matt's own perspective, there's no way I could have known exactly what to expect or how to properly prepare. I recommend Veritas to anyone who wants the extra edge in preparing for the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Best prep course available
December 22 | 2014

       By luckyseventy7 joined: January 22, 2014 | 36 | 12 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
Manhattan GMAT is the best GMAT prep course available in my opinion if you're trying to get a 700+ score. The strategies and content are all solid. While the other courses I tried out through free sample classes were good, I felt like MGMAT was really meant for those targeting 700+ scores and top schools. If that's not what you're going for, then other courses may be fine. Kim is an awesomely smart and funny teacher. No doubt the course is expensive too. It's important to note that cost wasn't a priority for me so it's not a review for value either. I really think if you have the means and want to do the best possible MGMAT is the way to go, and if the cost is an issue then do the online course or get the books because their books are best too in my opinion.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course worth your money
December 13 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: December 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Laura Cook
Veritas is extremely organized and I felt confident in their ability to help me cultivate the skills and strategies to succeed on the GMAT.

Veritas prep material is engaging and I rarely felt bored.
I was impressed with the well of strategies Veritas has compiled to teach its students, and with its emphasis on strategy over memorization.

Though I do not feel it impacted the quality of the instruction at all, I was slightly disappointed that my instructed did not go to business school herself.

Please note that I chose to take the longest course and it still felt *very* fast. If you take the time and spend the money to take this course, be prepared to put all other commitments aside for a full 6 weeks so you get your time and money's worth.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great course, highly recommend
November 26 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: November 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Cliff Smith
I hadn't taken the exam before this class, and had really only spent a few weeks looking at material so this was a great introduction and overview to the exam at its most basic level. Once we got into the strategies and how to attack the problems, the true value of the class came through. The additional resources are also fantastic and give you the ability to review material or catch up on anything you might have missed. The one-on-one online help sessions also provide another great resource, and any practice tests come back with detailed score reports that you can use to review for the exam. Overall, this is a fantastic resource and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Manhattan GMAT Prep Course
October 09 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: October 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  |
The Manhattan GMAT course was an excellent choice! I was deciding between a number of options, including Kaplan, Princeton, and private tutoring with a 790 scorer. The cost of the Manhattan GMAT course was in between the other two options, and I was convinced by the fact that they have only 99% instructors and by the excellent reviews they had on every review website I looked at. The decision was a very good one. There was a good variety of course times in San Francisco to fit my schedule. The instructor I chose ended up being an excellent teacher. He was very knowledgable about the GMAT, including key tips and tricks about timing, educated guessing techniques, etc. Plus, he was very patient and adept involving everyone in the learning process, and keeping the style and content with a good mix to get the most out of the content. Outside of the classroom, Manhattan provides some awesome prep resources online, available with the course. I used almost every resource, including recorded tutoring sessions, live tutoring sessions, free MBA consultation through MBA Mission, all of the practice exams and practice problems, and the useful diagnostics tools for the both the exams and the official GMAT practice problems (Official GMAT 13th Edition). Great experience, and got a 740 out of it, improved from 600 at the beginning of the course!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas Worth Every Penny
October 03 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By Corbett joined: October 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Dylan Tatz
I loved Veritas! I was originally hesitant about using Veritas because it is more expensive relative to Kaplan and Princeton. But within the first week of class, all my hesitations were gone. Veritas has numerous strategies that made both verbal and quantitative problems much much easier. I originally struggled with critical reasoning questions A LOT! But with the strategies I learned from Veritas, these were the easiest problems in the end.

The online, full-length practice tests were phenomenal, as they help you specifically identify your weaknesses and strengths and better develop pacing. I can't thank Veritas enough. And true to their word, Veritas helped boost my GMAT score over 100 points and allowed me to score above the 95th percentile!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thorough.
September 30 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: September 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Cliff Smith
The review classes are very thorough. Both the in-class and online classes coincide with all the necessary preparations i need to take for the GMAT. The books provided by Veritas helped me focus on each of the subjects discussed. Mr. Cliff Smith gave us a good rundown on the things we would need to remember for the exam. The classroom has a very conducive environment. The location is close enough from my work. Even though that the class is 3 hours long, it was good enough to compliment my study schedule. I highly recommend Veritas prep for anyone who wants to review for the GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings