San Francisco, CA USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [20]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent Manhattan GMAT Prep Course
October 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  |
The Manhattan GMAT course was an excellent choice! I was deciding between a number of options, including Kaplan, Princeton, and private tutoring with a 790 scorer. The cost of the Manhattan GMAT course was in between the other two options, and I was convinced by the fact that they have only 99% instructors and by the excellent reviews they had on every review website I looked at. The decision was a very good one. There was a good variety of course times in San Francisco to fit my schedule. The instructor I chose ended up being an excellent teacher. He was very knowledgable about the GMAT, including key tips and tricks about timing, educated guessing techniques, etc. Plus, he was very patient and adept involving everyone in the learning process, and keeping the style and content with a good mix to get the most out of the content. Outside of the classroom, Manhattan provides some awesome prep resources online, available with the course. I used almost every resource, including recorded tutoring sessions, live tutoring sessions, free MBA consultation through MBA Mission, all of the practice exams and practice problems, and the useful diagnostics tools for the both the exams and the official GMAT practice problems (Official GMAT 13th Edition). Great experience, and got a 740 out of it, improved from 600 at the beginning of the course!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Worth Every Penny
October 03 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Corbett joined: October 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Dylan Tatz
I loved Veritas! I was originally hesitant about using Veritas because it is more expensive relative to Kaplan and Princeton. But within the first week of class, all my hesitations were gone. Veritas has numerous strategies that made both verbal and quantitative problems much much easier. I originally struggled with critical reasoning questions A LOT! But with the strategies I learned from Veritas, these were the easiest problems in the end.

The online, full-length practice tests were phenomenal, as they help you specifically identify your weaknesses and strengths and better develop pacing. I can't thank Veritas enough. And true to their word, Veritas helped boost my GMAT score over 100 points and allowed me to score above the 95th percentile!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Thorough.
September 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Cliff Smith
The review classes are very thorough. Both the in-class and online classes coincide with all the necessary preparations i need to take for the GMAT. The books provided by Veritas helped me focus on each of the subjects discussed. Mr. Cliff Smith gave us a good rundown on the things we would need to remember for the exam. The classroom has a very conducive environment. The location is close enough from my work. Even though that the class is 3 hours long, it was good enough to compliment my study schedule. I highly recommend Veritas prep for anyone who wants to review for the GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommended Pre-Requisite
September 09 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By anniemun joined: September 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Cliff Smith
After much research into all the prep courses for GMAT, I decided on Veritas Prep and will recommend it to everyone. It lived up to every positive review that was out there.

I feel much more prepared than I ever could have been and will go into the GMAT much more confidently. I thoroughly enjoyed each class. Although it was a lot of material to cover in 6 weeks, you have an option to review each book in full detail online. This was one of the main selling points. The online courses are just as effective as the in person courses and you can go at your own pace.

Cliff Smith was an excellent instructor and was very knowledgeable in all subjects. He had special handouts for each lesson book that would give tips/tricks that were very useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Loved Manhatttan Prep
August 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
Manhattan Prep helped me achieve a score I never thought was possible. The instructor and course materials were great!

In fact, I think the course over-prepared me. I had 10 minutes left over on both sections on the actual exam. Also, I did not even do the last question because I was not paying attention and still scored better than I expected.

Definitely take Manhattan Prep if you can! It will boost your score.

Also, on a side note, if you are just graduating college, take the GMAT that summer. You will be much more relieved to get it out of the way and it is good for 5 years!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Rock Solid Program
August 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  |
I had Ryan Jacobs in SF - awesome guy and great instructor. the materials themselves were helpful, but the way of thinking about the test was the most important for me in going ~+100 points in score. Key things that he had us focusing on included the timing around the test as well as thinking strategically about skipping problems to increase speed and overall score.

The lightening rounds were also very helpful as they really put the time pressure on and forced us to think of the faster method to solving problems versus just trying to brute force them.

Ryan has also been a great resource after the course, helping answer follow up questions I had and staying in touch.
Thanks for all the help Ryan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Manhattan GMAT - 5 Stars!
August 07 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By chnster888 joined: August 7, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
I took Manhattan GMAT's in person complete course and had a great experience. Kim, my teacher, was awesome - she was passionate about the subject and was excellent at both explaining the concepts needed for the exam and presenting strategies for dealing with difficult problems. The course materials were great as well – the practice exams were a good simulation of the real thing, the homework was helpful in learning/reviewing the necessary concepts, and the extra problems excellent at providing additional practice. Overall my score improved 110 points from the first diagnostic test that I took, and I ended up scoring in the 99th percentile on the real test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT was great
August 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
The Manhattan GMAT was everything that I needed to prepare for the GMAT. My instructor, Kim, was extremely helpful and guided the small class step by step through challenging problems. The classes are very small, which fosters an interactive experience and allows individuals to ask specific questions. I was able to reach out to my instructor even after the course was over and she was extremely helpful. The online resources were extremely helpful in allowing me to identify my strengths and focus on my weaknesses. I would highly recommend the GMAT class to any students seeking a fun, efficient and effective way to perform well on the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
MATT DOUGLAS, helped me so much!
July 27 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
I took Veritas in person classes in LA and then decided to commit to their homework help tutoring function online because I was struggling with a few quant topics. Veritas has several tutors that do office hours but my favorite, by far, is Matt Douglas. I have never met him in person but he is amazing. The dedication and positivity on his end has been so appreciated. Studying for the GMAT can seem frustrating sometimes, and I often feel burnt out after 3+ months of daily study commitment, but Matt makes it simple. He walks though all questions with the same enthusiasm and has a great sense of humor. He makes sure that every student understands how to approach their error before moving on. He is there every night when you need him. I love him! Thanks for all you do Matt :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Foundation
June 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 3, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
Excellent math foundation! My instructor was knowledgeable and interesting when it came to math. He always took the time to teach the fundamentals through various problems not in the book. The lessons were helpful in challenging the class while taking the time to explain or re-explain concepts if necessary. I believe that the most beneficial aspect of the class was the deep analysis of every homework problem and math fundamentals. The class component was very helpful as well. I was fortunate to have a great teacher and I definitely learned a lot from the class sessions. If you are serious about boosting your score and getting into the schools you want, I highly recommend taking the Veritas GMAT prep course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings