San Francisco, CA USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [12]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent.
January 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
Manhattan GMAT's reputation precedes itself. After hearing about it from all my college friends, I decided to sign up for a formal class with them. What I found was an extremely talented and engaging professor, and extremely well developed teaching methodology, and tons of GMAT experience. All in all, it'd pretty hard to go wrong with the 9 session Manhattan GMAT course, especially since it includes all of the books you need to succeed on the exam, as well as $300 retake course in case you need a refresher later on. What's more, the courses attract many other talented students who want to succeed, so you can organize study groups, or at least be motivated to study hard to succeed in the class as well as on the final exam itself. I highly recommend this class, and hope you find it as helpful as I did.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent experience with Ron P!
September 16 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By lisacuesta joined: May 25, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I had a great experience with MGMAT. My instructor, Ron, was great at teaching a class with people with different needs and at different levels. He focused on the strategies needed to conquer the test and left it to us to work on the content that gave us difficulty outside of the classroom. Ron teaches in a uniquely memorable way. While you are taking the test, you will actually hear him asking you "the three questions" to determine whether or not you should stop working on a problem and move on. I would absolutely recommend MGMAT to a friend taking the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course with Positive Instructor
May 05 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 5, 2013 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
I took the GMAT prep course in SF and thought it was great. Veritas Prep breaks down every aspect of the GMAT into 13 books. I took the time and read through all of them to prepare for my exam. Do all of the practice questions and the homework. All of the lessons are online in case you need to review something, and I was also able to e-mail my instructor. Matt Douglas was also top notch, he explained things in ways that you could understand them and was engaging enough to make the 3 hours at night go by with relative ease.

Unfortunately, my exam didn't go so well. I was really busy at work and bombed the test. Thankfully, I am going back to the Veritas classes and am going to take the test again.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent GMAT Prep Course!
February 28 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
Manhattan GMAT was recommended to me by friends who have gone to the top business schools in the country. Everyone pushed me to get a 700-720+ on the GMAT as a baseline score and told me to enroll in this class. They were absolutely right.

It's impressive how different prep programs can be - I've taken Kaplan and Princeton in the past but Manhattan GMAT is well-designed and well-executed. The course increased my practice exam scores +120 points and got me above the baselines suggested above. Great experience and great value for a process that can otherwise be very unpleasant (I don't know of anyone who loved prepping for and taking the GMAT). Thanks Manhattan GMAT! I would recommend this to anyone I know that is looking to prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Manhattan GMAT
January 23 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Rey Fernandez
I took the Manhattan GMAT class in fall 2011 and had a great instructor, Rey Fernandez. We spent more class time on the math, and what was most helpful was his focus on pointing out common mistakes and strategies to remember concepts.

After my first time taking the test, I was disappointed with my verbal score and completed a post-test evaluation with MGMAT. The team was more than available and after a 30 minute call, we talked through my struggles and developed a game plan to get the score I was aiming for. This was incredibly helpful, and using only the books and materials provided by MGMAT, I was able to raise my score by 50 points.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Comprehensive skills, insights, and perspective to score well.
December 03 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 24, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Cliff Smith
enrolled Sept 13 2012

The instructor was quietly passionate about the material, which made the course engaging through twelve 3-hour sessions. He taught with slides that were well designed and executed. He covered all of the course material and provided useful summary handouts. He knew the material well, sometimes providing alternative solutions to problems.

The curriculum is comprehensive and the study materials (12 course books) are well organized. The books consist of a Skillbuilder to do prior to class, a Lesson section that the instructor more-or-less follows in class, and then homework problems. The problems in the lesson section seemed to be higher than a 75th percentile level of difficulty and were carefully chosen to get a concept across. The homework problems are typically organized, like the GMAC Official Guide, from easier to harder. There are a good number of difficult problems to work on. Homework problems can be done online, in which case the time spent on each problem is tracked. As long as the course is, I don't feel that any time was wasted going through the course materials.

Veritas' online on-demand lesson videos are okay, although not as engaging as those taken in person. VP's practice CATs seemed to me to be about as difficult as the real GMAT. I would not agree with those who suggest that VP's CATs are more difficult, although one section or another would seem easier or harder, so it's important to take several practice CATs (or at least some of the sections).

Overall, Veritas Prep gives you everything you could need outside of your own dedication to expend the effort needed to score well on the GMAT. The course gives you many opportunities to think hard about the nature of your weaknesses and therefore how to strengthen them. The instructor and the curriculum drives home the crucial message not to mistake activity for achievement (although a lot of activity is involved!). I don't' think I could have achieved my score without the help of the Veritas Prep course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Worth the money - especially good prep for math section
October 23 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By JCCH joined: October 23, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
Excellent choice for for someone 2 -3 months away from exam time. I felt that the course brought together some great elements, here are the highlights:

1. Loved that the course was held in an office building in the financial district after hours. It was really convenient to go from work to class twice a week. I only missed one class (and you can have the option to make it up online or by attending another instructor's class) which is largely due to the location - no excuses

2. Great set of prep books - there are 12 in all and you bring one for each class. Nice system, and there are tons of practice questions by topic in each book. I thought that the skill builder and lesson sections were written pretty well too - easy to follow for individual study

3. Great instructor. Matt was particularly effective at teaching the math sections. I have much more confidence in algebra, geometry, and statistics questions than before the course. Would recommend Matt without reservation to anyone - he is truly and expert on the subject matter as well as a really effective teacher and approachable guy.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course & crew
July 13 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By tiffanycorr joined: February 14, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Vincent Chang
I tried the Veritas course as an introduction to the GMAT. It created a wonderful environment and introduction to the exam. The math was skewed towards someone who has a fair conceptual understanding of the sections. The course moved quickly but the homework could allow someone to work at all levels. The verbal was a fantastic overview but again requires much personal investment.

Veritas is a great over-arching review and allows the clients to delve further into GMAT material once the course finishes. I recommend using the course as a jumping off point and spending an additional 3 weeks afterwards to study solo. Another great thing Vince offered was a review and in-depth analysis of a practice GMAT exam. This allows a true external opinion and analysis of the types of questions one may be continually missing.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
review
April 10 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By erica joined: April 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Ron Purewal
I took the Manhattan 9 week course w/ Ron. Great teacher. I front loaded all of the reading so didn't have to do much homework during the class. I'd highly recommend doing that - it really improves your ability to process and participate in class. The class is not separated by advanced vs non so you may find that it lags you if you are already testing well after your first diagnostic. However, the strategy I learned in the class was critical to my test taking abilities and was 110% worth it. 9 weeks was a good amount of time to let the material sink in since I was working full time and unable to focus much during the week. I thought the 8 course books provided great material - better than I've seen elsewhere. However, I did check out some add'l problem sets from other programs just to give myself more exposure.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT is actually fun
February 22 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  170 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA  | Taught by:  Kim Cabot
I highly recommend Kim Cabot's class. She manages to make studying for the test fun - and I could go on about how much I despise the GMAT. Kim is a highly entertaining teacher and extremely intelligent.

Manhattan GMAT is very well organized and the handouts and online resources give its students a huge advantage over a student just studying from the Official Guide.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings