Toronto, Canada GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [18]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Time well spent
April 14 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By marinahanna joined: April 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
Take Bobby Umar’s class! It’s time well spent. Bobby has a real knack for simplifying seemingly difficult concepts and questions. This class has been a great guide to navigating the GMAT. Added bonus: the MBA life lessons.

It has also been helpful to have access to all the online resources at veritasprep.com. The explanations for the homework problem sets have been especially useful. You can also access course lessons online, which I found myself reviewing when I’m studying on my own.

I definitely feel better equipped for the GMAT with the strategies that I picked up in this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT isnt so scary anymore!!
April 11 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Osama Javed joined: April 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
Veritas GMAT prep course is comprehensive and the strategies introduced are critical. The course comprises of 12 3-hour classes and these are filled with valuable content. Spread out over 6 weeks, I found this course to be efficiently laid out in a way that was neither slow nor overwhelming. I had ample time to prepare for the classes and the 3 hour classes were long enough to extract great feedback. The book-set for this course is one of the best resources you can find anywhere. Apart from the concise lessons, these books are loaded with great questions that test you as you progress. The online resources provided were also very helpful. I kept track of my progress and got to review the questions from the books. All in all, my experience with this course has been extremely positive.
My instructor, Bobby Umar, was simply amazing. He certainly had an expert command on the material and gave phenomenal feedback. He is a great speaker and a terrific teacher. He also has an uncanny ability to recalibrate a student’s expectations and fears about the GMAT, making a higher GMAT score seem completely attainable. I found this approach to be extremely effective and motivating, and this was reflected in my improvement. It’s scary and jarring tackling the GMAT prep on your own and it was a relief to have had Bobby as a teacher. So, if you are serious about scoring really high on the GMAT, you should definitely opt for Bobby Umar’s class. He is the man!!

To anyone who is considering Veritas Prep or have reservations because of its price, I cannot recommend it highly enough. It’s absolutely worth the price and I am very glad I took the Veritas GMAT course in Toronto.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Fun Times - Decent Content
November 28 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
I took the Veritas course this fall on the recommendation of a friend who had enjoyed it and subsequently scored well on the GMAT. My experience was much the same.

Bobby is a great guy. He's smart and does his best to make the class entertaining so you can pay attention after a long day at work. In addition to keeping the course material engaging he also gave the class "MBA Life" tips about the overall experience that were always fun. I ended up creating a study group with 5 others from my class (which Bobby encourages) and we went out for drinks a few times. All good on that side of things.

Unfortunately, the downside of all the fun is that during class you very rarely get to the more difficult material at the end of each lesson. Depending on where you are scoring that is not necessarily such a bad thing, but for me it was always a bit of a letdown. Otherwise he is a great teacher and the Veritas material is very strong (I preferred it over both the official guide and the Kaplan books) and easy to follow along with on your own in case you don't get to it in class.

All in all a solid 4 out of 5 and I would recommend it to anyone looking to boost their score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Definitely Recommend Manhattan GMAT!
September 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the Manhattan GMAT 9-week course and I definitely recommend it to others who want do their best. After taking the course I scored 740. Avi, my instructor was really great. He knew how to tailor the course to what students were struggling with and identified the things that could take their scores to the next level. He was also really supportive after the course had ended which was really helpful when I was actually taking the exam. I've already recommended this to some of my friends because I'm convinced that the course is a much more efficient way to study!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Avi Gutman - Toronto Tutor - MGMAT prep
September 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By hcoles joined: September 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I had the best experience with MGMAT and specifically my tutor Avi Gutman. I took both the prep class and added some private tutoring in lead up to my writing date.

I had written the GMAT once before and scored high 600s - but needed to break 700+. I had a miserable experience studying the first time.

Avi made the process interesting and engaging, and I actually understood the underlying themes and concepts - rather than being tied to formulas and cue cards! It was a great process, from registry to the end. Avi was super invested in each of the students in our prep class - he really made sure that you understood and were able to independently problem solve. He always stayed to answer any questions and responded to emails so patiently. Well worth the time and $.

I wrote recently and got my target score- just as planned! And I was easily the most relaxed kid in the test room. Can't recommend him and MGMAT enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly recommend Veritas Prep
June 29 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  180 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
Did not know much about what to expect when I signed up for this course. Based on a short research I figured Veritas Prep will give me the most benefit in a short period of time. Just a few days later I received a box full of course books and other materials (note, headphone, pen...etc). And their website with variety of resources, practice tests, study plans...etc was done very neatly and professionally.

Our instructor Bobby was absolutely great from the start. He brought very pleasant and fun environment and also high energy to every class. He was very knowledgeable with every topic. He was very good.

Overall it's a great course but having classes on Monday then on Wednesday was little stressful. Perhaps Monday and Thursday would be better. Also 3 hour class was not short but for many times it was not enough to fully cover the material in detail. But it is not fair to complain about that since there just are a lot of materials.

I highly recommend this course.
Lots of strategies, great book, great resources, numerous practice tests, and fantastic instructor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course, Great Instructor
June 26 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
Manhattan GMAT and my instructor Avi were both fantastic. MGMAT is structured, provides great study tools and most importantly, utilizes a really effective approach to teaching. My instructor Avi, didn't simply review questions that were in the course book, but instead focused on teaching the underlying principles behind the questions. This helped me learn not to simply answer the questions, but to understand what was being asked and why the answers are what they are. Avi consistently went above and beyond by helping me assess my CAT scores and providing me with advice even after the course was over. He even replied to one of my emails while he was away on vacation in China.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent
April 29 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By mar0427 joined: April 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
Took the course with Avi as my instructor. He is extremely knowledgeable and genuinely interested and excited in the material he teaches. His enthusiasm is contagious and he makes the material seem much more interesting than it is. He makes sure that you understand the basics and change the way you think when you see certain questions, which allows you to solve the question quickly. He is always available before or after class for some extra help if needed. I would highly recommend taking the course with him. I will be taking the GMAT in the near future, so I cannot comment on score improvement at this time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Manhattan GMAT Prep - Great Resource
March 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By jgonsa joined: March 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the in-class 9 week session with Manhattan GMAT Toronto with Avi as my instructor. It was a great course that covered all the foundations to prepare for the GMAT. Avi was great at explaining concepts and really encouraging class discussions. He also was able to explain multiple ways of solving a problem. The concepts/tricks taught in class really help to prepare for the GMAT. I found the course material robust and there is an endless supply of resources for self study.

Overall I would recommend both Avi & Manhattan GMAT in preparing to face the GMAT. Anyone considering taking the GMAT no matter your skill level should consider taking this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth the cost, especially the instructor!
March 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By aac joined: March 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
Upon signing up for the course, I was impressed by immediate access to Veritas' online resources. Throughout the course, the easy to use and thorough selection of practice tests and library of class recordings proved immensely helpful. I was pleasantly surprised by the extremely heavy fedex that arrived containing the course materials.

Bobby was a fantastic instructor who struck the perfect balance of knowledge, humour, and most outstandingly - motivation. He was thorough with the lessons and quick to answer questions - whether quant or verbal. His energy and humour were critical to making the class a success, after all, this was an evening class and our group was coming from long days at the office. Bobby kept our attention and kept things moving.

Throughout the course Bobby was emphatic about ensuring we keep up with materials, create and recreate our study plans, and ultimately write the test. In this regard I believe he really went above the call of duty. I believe that I may not have written the test so soon after the course if it was not for Bobby's motivational words.

I do think it's important to point out that for one of the classes, where Bobby fell ill, we had a replacement instructor. He wasn't bad, but I definitely felt the difference in energy and proficiency between him and our regular instructor. I'd suggest sitting in on the first class before confirming the course if you want to ensure you get a great instructor.

Other details you might like to know:
- The course took place in an office in the downtown core - there was plenty of space and it was far nicer than I expected.
- Our group formed study groups outside the course and became friends, we still get together over 6 months later.
- The veritas materials are fantastic, and you can call their hotline anytime to discuss problems and get questions answered

All in all, this was worth the investment for me. It's not a trivial amount of money, but I highly recommend spending the extra dough to cover all your bases.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings