Toronto, Canada GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [22]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Manhattan GMAT - Best Decision for GMAT Takers
July 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By neiljain21 joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the Manhattan GMAT in-person class with Avi as well as some private tutoring in Toronto and would recommend him to anyone looking to improve their GMAT score. Avi's command of the material is unbelievable, but it is method of teaching that truly separates him from any other teacher I have ever had. In no time, he was able to identify my areas of weakness, shorten the time I spent on each question and improve my overall confidence going into the exam.

With Avi's help, I was able to score a 730 on the official GMAT test. He is continuously willing to help you with any questions, even after your class has ended. Overall, Avi is a great person and a fantastic teacher who truly makes the concepts interesting. I guarantee he will improve the score of anyone willing to put the effort into their preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fast pasted, but effective
June 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
I didnt take the exam yet, but I found the course to be really helpful. I found the class to go really fast through the concepts, so if you havent started studying yet, you might be pretty lost.

My suggestion would be to sign up for the course, go through the books and then go to the class. In my opinion, books were excellent! If you are not currently working, you should be fine with keeping up with the pace, but if you are are, it might be challenging for you.

Also, Verisas provides you with a bunch of prep tests, so once you are done understanding the concepts and practising those, tests are an excellent way to practice.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Awesome GMAT instructor - Bobby Umar!
April 21 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By tejalt joined: April 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
For all of you trying to figure out which class to take for GMAT prep - sign up for Veritas Prep with Bobby Umar! I work full time and was concerned that I wouldn't pay attention during an evening course - Bobby is not only engaging and very knowledgable, but his tips and tricks on the GMAT and general MBA life lessons is fantastic! He will keep you motivated and in tune during the entire course - it is tough to study on your own and the tips that Bobby gives are great for getting through tricky math problems. I highly recommend taking a course with Bobby Umar!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Full Course - Toronto
April 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
If you're willing to put the work in, this course is for you. All theory / foundation is expected to be self-taught, classes focus more on high order thinking, which is great if you're aiming for a very high score.

What turned this course from a good one to a great one was definitely the instructor. Bobby Umar was extremely engaging and hands-on, he genuinely cares about his students and did a great job supporting each of us. He knows just about everything there is to know about the GMAT and has a strong ability to teach / apply that knowledge. He's very charismatic and full of energy - even when the material was a little dense, class was still fun and engaging.

I highly recommend this course!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Time well spent
April 14 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By marinahanna joined: April 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
Take Bobby Umar’s class! It’s time well spent. Bobby has a real knack for simplifying seemingly difficult concepts and questions. This class has been a great guide to navigating the GMAT. Added bonus: the MBA life lessons.

It has also been helpful to have access to all the online resources at veritasprep.com. The explanations for the homework problem sets have been especially useful. You can also access course lessons online, which I found myself reviewing when I’m studying on my own.

I definitely feel better equipped for the GMAT with the strategies that I picked up in this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT isnt so scary anymore!!
April 11 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Osama Javed joined: April 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
Veritas GMAT prep course is comprehensive and the strategies introduced are critical. The course comprises of 12 3-hour classes and these are filled with valuable content. Spread out over 6 weeks, I found this course to be efficiently laid out in a way that was neither slow nor overwhelming. I had ample time to prepare for the classes and the 3 hour classes were long enough to extract great feedback. The book-set for this course is one of the best resources you can find anywhere. Apart from the concise lessons, these books are loaded with great questions that test you as you progress. The online resources provided were also very helpful. I kept track of my progress and got to review the questions from the books. All in all, my experience with this course has been extremely positive.
My instructor, Bobby Umar, was simply amazing. He certainly had an expert command on the material and gave phenomenal feedback. He is a great speaker and a terrific teacher. He also has an uncanny ability to recalibrate a student’s expectations and fears about the GMAT, making a higher GMAT score seem completely attainable. I found this approach to be extremely effective and motivating, and this was reflected in my improvement. It’s scary and jarring tackling the GMAT prep on your own and it was a relief to have had Bobby as a teacher. So, if you are serious about scoring really high on the GMAT, you should definitely opt for Bobby Umar’s class. He is the man!!

To anyone who is considering Veritas Prep or have reservations because of its price, I cannot recommend it highly enough. It’s absolutely worth the price and I am very glad I took the Veritas GMAT course in Toronto.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Fun Times - Decent Content
November 28 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
I took the Veritas course this fall on the recommendation of a friend who had enjoyed it and subsequently scored well on the GMAT. My experience was much the same.

Bobby is a great guy. He's smart and does his best to make the class entertaining so you can pay attention after a long day at work. In addition to keeping the course material engaging he also gave the class "MBA Life" tips about the overall experience that were always fun. I ended up creating a study group with 5 others from my class (which Bobby encourages) and we went out for drinks a few times. All good on that side of things.

Unfortunately, the downside of all the fun is that during class you very rarely get to the more difficult material at the end of each lesson. Depending on where you are scoring that is not necessarily such a bad thing, but for me it was always a bit of a letdown. Otherwise he is a great teacher and the Veritas material is very strong (I preferred it over both the official guide and the Kaplan books) and easy to follow along with on your own in case you don't get to it in class.

All in all a solid 4 out of 5 and I would recommend it to anyone looking to boost their score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Definitely Recommend Manhattan GMAT!
September 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the Manhattan GMAT 9-week course and I definitely recommend it to others who want do their best. After taking the course I scored 740. Avi, my instructor was really great. He knew how to tailor the course to what students were struggling with and identified the things that could take their scores to the next level. He was also really supportive after the course had ended which was really helpful when I was actually taking the exam. I've already recommended this to some of my friends because I'm convinced that the course is a much more efficient way to study!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Avi Gutman - Toronto Tutor - MGMAT prep
September 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By hcoles joined: September 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I had the best experience with MGMAT and specifically my tutor Avi Gutman. I took both the prep class and added some private tutoring in lead up to my writing date.

I had written the GMAT once before and scored high 600s - but needed to break 700+. I had a miserable experience studying the first time.

Avi made the process interesting and engaging, and I actually understood the underlying themes and concepts - rather than being tied to formulas and cue cards! It was a great process, from registry to the end. Avi was super invested in each of the students in our prep class - he really made sure that you understood and were able to independently problem solve. He always stayed to answer any questions and responded to emails so patiently. Well worth the time and $.

I wrote recently and got my target score- just as planned! And I was easily the most relaxed kid in the test room. Can't recommend him and MGMAT enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly recommend Veritas Prep
June 29 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  180 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
Did not know much about what to expect when I signed up for this course. Based on a short research I figured Veritas Prep will give me the most benefit in a short period of time. Just a few days later I received a box full of course books and other materials (note, headphone, pen...etc). And their website with variety of resources, practice tests, study plans...etc was done very neatly and professionally.

Our instructor Bobby was absolutely great from the start. He brought very pleasant and fun environment and also high energy to every class. He was very knowledgeable with every topic. He was very good.

Overall it's a great course but having classes on Monday then on Wednesday was little stressful. Perhaps Monday and Thursday would be better. Also 3 hour class was not short but for many times it was not enough to fully cover the material in detail. But it is not fair to complain about that since there just are a lot of materials.

I highly recommend this course.
Lots of strategies, great book, great resources, numerous practice tests, and fantastic instructor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings