Toronto, Canada GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [19]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Worth the cost, especially the instructor!
March 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By aac joined: March 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
Upon signing up for the course, I was impressed by immediate access to Veritas' online resources. Throughout the course, the easy to use and thorough selection of practice tests and library of class recordings proved immensely helpful. I was pleasantly surprised by the extremely heavy fedex that arrived containing the course materials.

Bobby was a fantastic instructor who struck the perfect balance of knowledge, humour, and most outstandingly - motivation. He was thorough with the lessons and quick to answer questions - whether quant or verbal. His energy and humour were critical to making the class a success, after all, this was an evening class and our group was coming from long days at the office. Bobby kept our attention and kept things moving.

Throughout the course Bobby was emphatic about ensuring we keep up with materials, create and recreate our study plans, and ultimately write the test. In this regard I believe he really went above the call of duty. I believe that I may not have written the test so soon after the course if it was not for Bobby's motivational words.

I do think it's important to point out that for one of the classes, where Bobby fell ill, we had a replacement instructor. He wasn't bad, but I definitely felt the difference in energy and proficiency between him and our regular instructor. I'd suggest sitting in on the first class before confirming the course if you want to ensure you get a great instructor.

Other details you might like to know:
- The course took place in an office in the downtown core - there was plenty of space and it was far nicer than I expected.
- Our group formed study groups outside the course and became friends, we still get together over 6 months later.
- The veritas materials are fantastic, and you can call their hotline anytime to discuss problems and get questions answered

All in all, this was worth the investment for me. It's not a trivial amount of money, but I highly recommend spending the extra dough to cover all your bases.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great teacher!
February 28 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By GEMc joined: February 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
I just completed the Veritas course taught by Bobby Umar in Toronto. I had high expectations going in, given Veritas’ reputation, but Bobby was above and beyond what I expected. Not only is his knowledge of the GMAT material and strategies extensive…he is passionate, inspiring, highly entertaining, and provides tips and value beyond the course material. Further, he is deeply invested in all of his students and their success and is an incredible resource. Highly recommend his course!

Overall Veritas has a really great methodology that is really aimed at getting a high score...and the new materials are really a cut above the rest.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Useful course
February 28 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By janep35 joined: February 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
I took the Veritas GMAT Prep course in January 2013. The instructor, Bobby, was great. He was really motivational which was key since the material is a bit dry (ie: high school math)! But he actually made it fun and he managed to keep energy level up in class and explained the material thoroughly. His anecdotes of MBA life were value-added and put the GMAT into perspective.

The material itself was really comprehensive. Tons of practice questions supplemented by online practice exams. The skillbuilder concept is also a great idea as it refreshes on the basics. I would recommend this class if you are planning to write the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas is great!
February 28 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By mathimath joined: February 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
When I decided to take a GMAT prep course I was very confused at which one would be best. I decided to take the Veritas Prep course after reading great reviews and newspaper articles on the program. I am very happy to say that I believe I made the right choice.

The program was great. Books were thorough and well laid out. The skills and strategies were easy to learn. Grammar is especially difficult for me, but the books were great and I improved greatly on that alone.

The instructor was fabulous. Always upbeat, positive and (the biggest thing) made the class not boring. Great course, I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas GMAT prep Full course- Bobby Umar
February 21 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By girlie joined: February 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
I took Veritas prep course with Bobby Umar. Course lasted for 6 weeks and just ended last Wednesday. I absolutely loved the individual approach! Bobby kept track of my progress and gave valuable advice on how to improve my performance in order to achieve my goal. This was true for every student!

The classes were fun and entertaining! Also, Bobby dedicated a few minutes every class to talk about MBA schools, programs, student life, etc. This was great! Absolutely recommend him as an instructor!
The course taught me different strategies on how to solve the problems effectively and creatively, I would not have done it on my own!

I have not yet taken the GMAT, but will be registering very soon!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT with Bobby Umar
February 05 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By samirchowdhury joined: January 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
The Instructor Bobby Umar is great, has many years of experience with Teaching the GMAT, with a lot of tips and is always there to help students. Made good friend from the course also.

Makes class very entertaining and really pushes his students to do well. And always there to help students even after course hours. Gives advice to students about Career and MBA. Someone who is passionate about motivating his students.

Location is great too, right near Union subway station and Go Transit downtown Toronto.

Veritas gives tons of material to practice both online and from the books and free- retake policy no questions asked!.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
If you're going to do the GMAT, do it the right way!
November 25 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 27, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I tried to study for the GMAT on my own because I thought the course was way too expensive and not worth it. But I ended wasting my time and money, because I didn't even write the exam the first time. I was hovering around 580 and I couldn't get my score any higher. I postponed the exam for 6 months. I sucked it up and enrolled with MGMAT after thoroughly researching several prep courses and attending each of their trial classes.

I had Avi as my instructor and he was absolutely amazing! He was such a dynamic instructor, he was able to make the course material interesting and fun(?). He was able to explain concepts in multiple ways so that if you are stuck on one method, he could save you with another. Not only was he available after class to answer questions, he also responded to emails during the week within an hour! I thought was true dedication of an instructor that cared about my success!

In the end, I am really glad I enrolled with MGMAT. They helped me improve my score by 100 points! If you are serious about going to business school, which is $100k in tuition, then another few thousand bucks is nothing compared to the gains that you will reap in at the end.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas, the tools you need to succeed
July 21 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
My experience with the Veritas Prep course was nothing short of exceptional. Bobby Umar is one of the more talented teachers I have had the privilege to work with and is truly a GMAT veteran. Not only was Bobby able to continuously maintain the attention of the class but he was also able to leverage his extensive knowledge in a way in which resonated with all of the students. Most importantly, Bobby displayed a sincere interest in his students development and was a willing participant in aiding everyone in their individual goals.

Veritas provides their students with an extensive amount of material and resources allowing them to achieve their individual GMAT goals.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas: Thorough and clear
March 12 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 12, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
If you're going to be spending 3 hours, two times a week for 7 weeks after work on studying for the GMATs, it's important that the atmosphere and the instructor is right. I have 14 students in my class and it was the ideal number to have discussions and by the end of it, we became a family. We're all still in touch and are getting together in study sessions. The material that Veritas provided was very thorough and clear. The vocabulary and explanations were to the point which I liked. I'm glad that Veritas allowed me to attend a trial class because that's when I knew I wanted to prepare for the GMATs with Veritas.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings