Toronto, Canada GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [23]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Highly recommend Veritas Prep
June 29 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  180 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
Did not know much about what to expect when I signed up for this course. Based on a short research I figured Veritas Prep will give me the most benefit in a short period of time. Just a few days later I received a box full of course books and other materials (note, headphone, pen...etc). And their website with variety of resources, practice tests, study plans...etc was done very neatly and professionally.

Our instructor Bobby was absolutely great from the start. He brought very pleasant and fun environment and also high energy to every class. He was very knowledgeable with every topic. He was very good.

Overall it's a great course but having classes on Monday then on Wednesday was little stressful. Perhaps Monday and Thursday would be better. Also 3 hour class was not short but for many times it was not enough to fully cover the material in detail. But it is not fair to complain about that since there just are a lot of materials.

I highly recommend this course.
Lots of strategies, great book, great resources, numerous practice tests, and fantastic instructor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course, Great Instructor
June 26 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
Manhattan GMAT and my instructor Avi were both fantastic. MGMAT is structured, provides great study tools and most importantly, utilizes a really effective approach to teaching. My instructor Avi, didn't simply review questions that were in the course book, but instead focused on teaching the underlying principles behind the questions. This helped me learn not to simply answer the questions, but to understand what was being asked and why the answers are what they are. Avi consistently went above and beyond by helping me assess my CAT scores and providing me with advice even after the course was over. He even replied to one of my emails while he was away on vacation in China.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent
April 29 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By mar0427 joined: April 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
Took the course with Avi as my instructor. He is extremely knowledgeable and genuinely interested and excited in the material he teaches. His enthusiasm is contagious and he makes the material seem much more interesting than it is. He makes sure that you understand the basics and change the way you think when you see certain questions, which allows you to solve the question quickly. He is always available before or after class for some extra help if needed. I would highly recommend taking the course with him. I will be taking the GMAT in the near future, so I cannot comment on score improvement at this time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Manhattan GMAT Prep - Great Resource
March 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By jgonsa joined: March 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the in-class 9 week session with Manhattan GMAT Toronto with Avi as my instructor. It was a great course that covered all the foundations to prepare for the GMAT. Avi was great at explaining concepts and really encouraging class discussions. He also was able to explain multiple ways of solving a problem. The concepts/tricks taught in class really help to prepare for the GMAT. I found the course material robust and there is an endless supply of resources for self study.

Overall I would recommend both Avi & Manhattan GMAT in preparing to face the GMAT. Anyone considering taking the GMAT no matter your skill level should consider taking this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Worth the cost, especially the instructor!
March 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By aac joined: March 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
Upon signing up for the course, I was impressed by immediate access to Veritas' online resources. Throughout the course, the easy to use and thorough selection of practice tests and library of class recordings proved immensely helpful. I was pleasantly surprised by the extremely heavy fedex that arrived containing the course materials.

Bobby was a fantastic instructor who struck the perfect balance of knowledge, humour, and most outstandingly - motivation. He was thorough with the lessons and quick to answer questions - whether quant or verbal. His energy and humour were critical to making the class a success, after all, this was an evening class and our group was coming from long days at the office. Bobby kept our attention and kept things moving.

Throughout the course Bobby was emphatic about ensuring we keep up with materials, create and recreate our study plans, and ultimately write the test. In this regard I believe he really went above the call of duty. I believe that I may not have written the test so soon after the course if it was not for Bobby's motivational words.

I do think it's important to point out that for one of the classes, where Bobby fell ill, we had a replacement instructor. He wasn't bad, but I definitely felt the difference in energy and proficiency between him and our regular instructor. I'd suggest sitting in on the first class before confirming the course if you want to ensure you get a great instructor.

Other details you might like to know:
- The course took place in an office in the downtown core - there was plenty of space and it was far nicer than I expected.
- Our group formed study groups outside the course and became friends, we still get together over 6 months later.
- The veritas materials are fantastic, and you can call their hotline anytime to discuss problems and get questions answered

All in all, this was worth the investment for me. It's not a trivial amount of money, but I highly recommend spending the extra dough to cover all your bases.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great teacher!
February 28 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By GEMc joined: February 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
I just completed the Veritas course taught by Bobby Umar in Toronto. I had high expectations going in, given Veritas’ reputation, but Bobby was above and beyond what I expected. Not only is his knowledge of the GMAT material and strategies extensive…he is passionate, inspiring, highly entertaining, and provides tips and value beyond the course material. Further, he is deeply invested in all of his students and their success and is an incredible resource. Highly recommend his course!

Overall Veritas has a really great methodology that is really aimed at getting a high score...and the new materials are really a cut above the rest.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Useful course
February 28 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By janep35 joined: February 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
I took the Veritas GMAT Prep course in January 2013. The instructor, Bobby, was great. He was really motivational which was key since the material is a bit dry (ie: high school math)! But he actually made it fun and he managed to keep energy level up in class and explained the material thoroughly. His anecdotes of MBA life were value-added and put the GMAT into perspective.

The material itself was really comprehensive. Tons of practice questions supplemented by online practice exams. The skillbuilder concept is also a great idea as it refreshes on the basics. I would recommend this class if you are planning to write the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas is great!
February 28 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By mathimath joined: February 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
When I decided to take a GMAT prep course I was very confused at which one would be best. I decided to take the Veritas Prep course after reading great reviews and newspaper articles on the program. I am very happy to say that I believe I made the right choice.

The program was great. Books were thorough and well laid out. The skills and strategies were easy to learn. Grammar is especially difficult for me, but the books were great and I improved greatly on that alone.

The instructor was fabulous. Always upbeat, positive and (the biggest thing) made the class not boring. Great course, I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas GMAT prep Full course- Bobby Umar
February 21 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By girlie joined: February 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
I took Veritas prep course with Bobby Umar. Course lasted for 6 weeks and just ended last Wednesday. I absolutely loved the individual approach! Bobby kept track of my progress and gave valuable advice on how to improve my performance in order to achieve my goal. This was true for every student!

The classes were fun and entertaining! Also, Bobby dedicated a few minutes every class to talk about MBA schools, programs, student life, etc. This was great! Absolutely recommend him as an instructor!
The course taught me different strategies on how to solve the problems effectively and creatively, I would not have done it on my own!

I have not yet taken the GMAT, but will be registering very soon!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT with Bobby Umar
February 05 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By samirchowdhury joined: January 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada  | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
The Instructor Bobby Umar is great, has many years of experience with Teaching the GMAT, with a lot of tips and is always there to help students. Made good friend from the course also.

Makes class very entertaining and really pushes his students to do well. And always there to help students even after course hours. Gives advice to students about Career and MBA. Someone who is passionate about motivating his students.

Location is great too, right near Union subway station and Go Transit downtown Toronto.

Veritas gives tons of material to practice both online and from the books and free- retake policy no questions asked!.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings