Washington, DC USA GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [34]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent
November 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Vertias Prep, while somewhat unestablished, continues making improvements to its program. It provides the tools needed to succeed on the GMAT. My tutor was very attentive to students' needs, and I could tell he really cared. I had majored in Theology and took some business classes before deciding I wanted to get an MBA. If I had taken full advantage of what Veritas provided, I may have performed better on the GMAT exam. Along with Veritas I sought out individual tutoring. After all was said and done, I improved my score by 110 points. Veritas is pricey, and unless you are dedicated to getting an MBA and willing to put in many hours of study, you will not be able to take full advantage of what Veritas offers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Experience.
November 11 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mariaduraballester joined: November 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Taking the GMAT with Veritas was a wonderfu experience. It requires a lot of out-of-classroom preparation but it is deffinitely worth it. Their approach to teaching is very emphasized on achieving excellence and building up on basic concepts in order to be able to fully tackle almost any problem in the GMAT. There are also an unlimited number of online resources which you get access to once registered which are incredibily useful when preparing.

Anthony was also a great contributor to the great experience. He is very helpful is listening to students and covering areas which may have been particularly challenging. He is also very available to contact and always willing to help outside of the classroom with any questions or concerns when studying.

The facilities at the Hilton, where I took the course, were also great. There are plenty of options to eat and the atmosphere was very comfortable. I took the course on the weekends as I did while I was also studying so it was a little challenging to balance everything. Other than that, I would deffinitely recommend anybody who really wants to get the GMAT concepts down and solid, to take the Veritas course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Anthony Ritz was Amazing. Demand him.
November 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I had an amazing time learning from Anthony. He is the perfect mix between nerdy and social. He is smart enough to answer any question but a great teacher who can tell nerdy jokes. I loved working with him, because he was willing to answer any questions during or after class. The one issue was that he would sometimes spend to long with the slower kids in class. (I guess this is a good thing). It was not a problem though. The Hilton was a good location for the class. I would highly recommend Anthony, and that is the only reason I'm writing this review.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas is the best investment in your MBA
October 18 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Veritas is by far the best investment one can make if considering a prep course for the GMAT or LSAT. They begin by teaching you about the true purpose of the exam and how they use both quantitative and qualitative to test these abilities. In essence, they begin the course by explaining to you why the hell the GRE and GMAT use high school level problems to test your post-graduate ability. Once they explain this in their foundational lesson, the rest of the exam makes much more sense. My instructor, Anthony Ritz, was fantastic in not only explaining problems but in constantly reminding you about the foundations of the exam, which brings so much clarity in times of extreme confusion! He is always open to ANY questions and will make sure you understand the material before the class moves on. I even did a few private tutoring sessions with Anthony and he really helped pinpoint my weaknesses in the exam. After a significant amount of work and targeting these weaknesses I have improved in my abilities.

Additionally, Veritas' online instructors (like Brian) are really helpful during the online videos. I missed a class and had to do the online course which I was hesitant to do because I need a person there teaching me the material. I was pleasantly surprised by the online videos which kept me engaged the whole time during the course.

I was a bit concerned about the price at first but it is really worth the money. I previously did a $500 GRE course based off of the Manhattan Prep and after I was done with it I scored the same on my GRE as the day I took it hungover my senior year in college. SO whatever package you get from Veritas is well worth your money. Not only do you get the books, the great teachers and the online sources, but also additional resources such as MBA counseling (another really helpful feature).

You will not regret using Veritas and I guarantee a great experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Gotta Put In The Work
September 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By wwnegley joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  David Chong
I started the MGMAT 9-session course in September 2013 and took the exam in August 2014. To be frank, I didn't really start studying until ~July 2014. The punch-line is this: you MUST do the homework. While I will say I benefited from the class, I did myself a huge disservice to not put in the hours WHILE I was taking the class. That said, the MGMAT books and web system are so strong that I was able to refresh much of what was taught in the class, and advance beyond. Wait until you're in a position to truly dedicate several months, then take the course, and plan on taking the exam a few weeks later. Good luck.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Solid GMAT Course
August 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By laynefletcher joined: August 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
The Class was set up well. I think that they did a good job at introducing the material at a good speed. The materials that were provided, were very thorough. The practice questions were challenging, although I wish they would have provided more 700 level questions. The teacher was very smart, and very dedicated. You could tell that he was genuinely concerned with your performance on the GMAT. He was enjoyable and provided interesting anecdotes. I would recommend this class to a friend. I think that it really helped me figure out exactly where my greatest strengths and weaknesses were. This made test prep a lot easier. The class size was a good size, It was small enough, that I felt all of my questions were answered.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Better than I could have ever hoped
August 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By natlavin joined: August 25, 2014 | 6 | 4 | native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I'm terrible at math - just terrible. I never took it in college. I was really far behind when it came time to get ready for the GMAT. Thankfully, Anthony was an amazing teacher. My scores are up over 100 points on my practice tests, and I feel very confident that I can get an even higher score when I go to the official test center in 2 weeks.

I've been recommending this to everyone who plans on taking the GMAT seriously. Their online resources are great, and the explanations they give for the solutions to homework problems can't be beat.

I had mediocre grades undergrad, so this test is very important to me and I feel very confident about it after going through the 6 week course with Anthony.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Program
August 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By chrblan joined: August 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Pedro Ledesma
I had not taken a standardized test in ten years, nor had I really done any quantitative work since my freshman year of college. My first practice GMAT reflected that; I didn't finish the quantitative portion at all and scored a 640 overall. By the end of the Manhattan GMAT class, I was scoring mid to high 700s on my practice tests, and scored a 760 the second time I took the actual test. I had a rough week the first time I took the test, just a few days after the end of the class) and was not satisfied with my score, so I retook it after studying the class materials for another month, focusing in on my weak points. It is a very comprehensive, well-structured, and effective program. If you need a thorough review, take this class, do the recommended homework assignments, and use the practice tests to identify specific types of problems where you are weak.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Massive Score Improvement!
July 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By msharma550 joined: February 21, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA  | Taught by:  Marcus Hedahl
Washington DC - In Person Class Winter 2014 The GMAT is daunting, no one can deny this. One of the first things MGMAT does is make things manageable and segment the various areas of study. Once you know every possible area you can (and will) be tested on, it becomes easier to find your weaknesses and do targeted studying. 1000 hours of studying is not the same as 100 hours of very targeted prep. I had Marcus Hedahl as my teacher who was an excellent instructor and absolutely hilarious. I will say that I did not love the cold calling but suppose it did keep me engaged throughout a rather long three hour class (after work). The content was there but what was most beneficial to me is the information you cannot get from solo studying but only from someone who lives the GMAT. Marcus at one point told us his ridiculous score and the number of questions wrong he was able to get to still attain this score. Furthermore, he hammered in the point that it's not about getting every question correct but more so about getting those easy/med questions write and getting some (very few) of the harder ones. Against all odds I did well on the test. Not because I am some genius but because I strictly followed the syllabus, stayed focused in class, and dedicated a ton of time outside of class. If I took this class and did well there is no reason why someone else cannot do the same. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Private Tutoring Helpful!
June 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sdemashkieh joined: June 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   Washington, DC USA  |
I had a great experience with Manhattan GMAT. I just did one session with a private tutor (after having used all the Manhattan study materials to get ready for the test via self-study). He was really supportive and gave me great advice for what content areas I should focus on going forward. We only focused on the quant section (as that is the section that was really bringing my score down). Using his study methods, my score went from a 650 to a 760 in just 5 weeks. It was really worth the money. Would definitely recommend using Manhattan GMAT study guides as well as getting a private tutoring session if you want guidance on the best study methods.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings